Bulls’ bucks please Ludeke
6 Mar 2012
Bulls coach Frans Ludeke says his expectations of a new-look Bulls side surpassed those of some pessimists but cautioned that they were very much a work in progress.
The Bulls lost a string of players to injuries and retirements last year, while a number opted to continue their careers abroad. In the sextet of Victor Matfield, Fourie du Preez, Bakkies Botha, Danie Rossouw, Gurthro Steenkamp and Gary Botha they lost 581 Super Rugby caps as well as an appreciable number of Test caps.
That shearing of experience was expected to undermine their cause, despite the franchise recruiting relatively well and elevating a clutch of talented youngsters from their junior structures. However, through an excellent start which has included convincing victories over the Sharks and Cheetahs, they have thus far defied widely-held expectations for a mediocre season.
Ludeke was cool in his appraisal of his charges, but said he is aware of the belief that the rebuilding would come at a cost and totally disagrees with it. ‘We will never say we expected to start as well as we have. We respect the game and our opponents too much for that. But I will say that we put a lot of hard work in in the pre-season and that work has showed in the opening two games. We didn’t know for sure how it would go but we had a lot of faith in this group,’ Ludeke told keo.co.za.
‘We lost a lot of experienced players and people forget that we have quite a few senior players remaining. A guy like Flip van der Merwe, for example, played a lot of rugby while Bakkies Botha was here. Francois Hougaard has played regularly for the last two years, albeit not at scrumhalf. There are others, like Juandré Kruger who has experience gained from playing in the Premiership. Chiliboy Ralepelle is a Test player even though this is his first season as the starting hooker. So we aren’t a completely new-look side. That has shown in the way the guys have gone about their business in the first two games. The other young players have responded brilliantly to their challenges at this stage.
‘That said we know how results in this tournament can swing. So we are happy with the start but know that there are many, many matches still to play. Consistency is key. Nobody will remember what happened at the start of the season if we don’t keep winning and playing well.’
The Bulls are expected to continue their winning streak this weekend when they host the Blues, who have played poorly and are winless. They have been hammered in their last three visits to Loftus and nothing suggests they will make the exponential improvements they need to record an unlikely result.
However, Ludeke said he still holds the Auckland side in high regard. ‘They could easily have been on the other end of the result against the Crusaders and there were moments in their match against the Chiefs last week that if they had finished better they would have been in with a shout,’ he said.
‘We know it takes one good performance to turn around a season and the Blues will be determined to make that match against us. What has happened before counts for nothing.’
The Blues have been tactically naive in their defeats, often running the ball from deep in their territory, then surrendering possession when carriers are isolated or through handling errors. Ludeke doesn’t expect them to temper their approach but noted their ability to be direct if they choose to.
‘They have some good broken-field runners and we’ll have to be accurate in our kicking to ensure that we don’t feed them. But they also have some big forwards and they’ve shown in the past that they can play through many phases with them if they want to. They are a very balanced side and it will require us to be on top of all areas of our game to beat them.’

123 Comments
6 Mar 2012, 15:09 pm
I have to say the Bulls are looking good but it is early days (this is coming from a Stormer fan). I have a new found respect for Frans Ludeke, this man obviously loves rugby and he’s not too shabby when it comes to coaching either. He never says daft things to the media (unlike AC) and pretty much keeps the engine running. I actually like his style, if he can only get rid of the skop en jaag ….
6 Mar 2012, 15:10 pm
@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-47: Ja. I mean you obviously can’t talk the talk. I’d hope you could walk the walk. Without that you’d be the Cheetahs. Look at their threads. Almost never get more than 20 hits and their team is kuk.
Take us my contrast. Everyone loves talking about us and we have 12 points after 2 games
6 Mar 2012, 15:12 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-52: and we will only get better ….. something for the bully boys to worry about
6 Mar 2012, 15:15 pm
@wing_14(wing_14)-53: Oh they’re plenty worried I can assure you. I mean imagine running out onto Newlands wearing pink?
We’ll treat them like the little b itches they are……
6 Mar 2012, 15:15 pm
@pompies2(pompies2)-42: you’re on a hiding to nothing chap, in 2006 the blue bulls union also thought heyneke meyer would do a better job than jake white hence they pushed for a vote of no confidence in the coach and orchestrated that jake be yanked from the eoyt to come to an bulls fuelled INQUISITION. they were so eager to get meyer in there already.
now when SARU appointed PdV it was the last straw for staunch afrikaner blue bulls supporters like Tac
6 Mar 2012, 15:16 pm
The High Life by Fikile “Legroom” Mbalula.
Sports Minister Fikile Mbalula and his deputy Gert Oosthuizen have taken more flights since 2010 than their counterparts in international relations, The Star reported on Tuesday.
They spent R2.6-million on 345 domestic and international flights since 2010.
That is 186 more flights than the minister and deputy minister of international relations and co-operation.
International Relations and Co-operation Minister Maite Nkoana-Mashabane and her two deputies, Marius Fransman and Ebrahim Ebrahim, took a combined total of 159 domestic and international flights during the same period, said Democratic Alliance MP Winston Rabotapi, according to the publication.
In a reply in Parliament to questions by Rabotapi, Mbalula said that since 1 April 2010 Oosthuizen spent R1.1-million on 105 flights, including 29 international at a cost of R806 293.
Mbalula spent R747 410 on 16 international flights.
Rabotapi has asked that the chairperson of the committee on sport call Mbalula and Oosthuizen to explain their travel expenses.
He also intends asking the Public Protector to investigate the purpose and necessity of the flights, The Star reported.
Lekker.
6 Mar 2012, 15:19 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-54:
HAWU!
That’s fighting talk.
A couple of cervezas with lunch today?
6 Mar 2012, 15:19 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-55: LOL. For someone who likes to argue, he sure doesn’t like to argue when he’s wrong. What happened to courage of your convictions?
6 Mar 2012, 15:21 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-54: Imagine we still had Flo, Sadie and Fourie … three very very good players imo. I used to be a hugh fan of JDV, sadly I think he is past his best. JDJ and Fourie went well as a pair and caused some headaches for many teams. Sadie is a natural talent and Flo is a very good fetcher. Having said that I like Kolisi, very abrasive player as hard as they come. I still feel our backline lacks bite!
6 Mar 2012, 15:21 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-56: Don’t come with your tendencies here. You don’t understand the dynamic.
6 Mar 2012, 15:22 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-52:
huh..?..
have you been working for dr evil’s evil organisation..?
have you been cryogenically frozen in orbit around the moon this past weekend..?
only to return to a future you do not understand..?
did you not witness the running of the bulls on saturday..?..
did you not see the carnage…the slaughter….the mayhem…the coming of the storm..?..
6 Mar 2012, 15:23 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-57: I went to lunch with a bunch of Dutchmen to teazers.
Drank Brandy and coke and stared at what I can’t touch.
Now I’m aggressive and frustrated.
6 Mar 2012, 15:29 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-60:
Still at least he hasn’t visited his drug smuggling ex-pomp overseas in jail.
Yet.
6 Mar 2012, 15:33 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-56: Eish, you don’t want a black diamond to shine.
6 Mar 2012, 15:33 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-63: True hey? I guess things can always get worse…….
6 Mar 2012, 15:34 pm
@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-61: It’s cool bru…..we’re so chilled here in the Cape we can weather any storm…
6 Mar 2012, 15:34 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-62: Why don’t you retire to the latrine for half an hour with one of the Stormers-themed SA Rugby mags? Should sort you out one time shoe shine.
6 Mar 2012, 15:36 pm
@pompies2(pompies2)-58: no, Tac ignores you when you’ve got him..ask Stormersboy
6 Mar 2012, 15:42 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-64:
indeed.
it was wrong of me to burst his condom.
I mean bubble.
6 Mar 2012, 15:43 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-52:
great teams, like great men leave it to others to write a history of their exploits…
to be talked about and whispered ever so gently in hushed tones around the night fire of the braai… on special occasions to mark significant events, among the men folk and with the young boys allowed to listen in, awed as muted as they are…the women safely away, knowing well there stands for them a pride of titans… guarantors of their freedom and dignity.
an honest accounting is laid at such event…talk of daring and dashing bravery….of giants of their time…who stood back for nothing and nobody…who gave their all…in battle grasping out in the face of life and death…for victory…above all else…or death… thus the history and talk of champions is cemented…remembered…created….written.
make your history….and let others write it….
6 Mar 2012, 15:46 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-68:
you mean frank..?
6 Mar 2012, 15:48 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-62:
You actually admit on a public forum to visting places like that?
You with a wife and family?
My estimation of you has declined somewhat after reading that post. Unless it was a joke..
6 Mar 2012, 15:53 pm
good lordy, tac.
its not the 1950′s anymore.
perfectly acceptable business related practice as far as i’m concerned.
6 Mar 2012, 15:59 pm
@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-73: Indeed. You push your morals and values aside for the greater good (feeding your family) for a couple of minutes.
Its like a BEE-deal, really.
6 Mar 2012, 16:02 pm
@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-70: Well when you put it that way………
Carry on then
6 Mar 2012, 16:02 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-74:
I know of another profession in which you have to do something similar.
6 Mar 2012, 16:03 pm
Whoosh have we been transported back to the 1800s?
6 Mar 2012, 16:04 pm
Naughty stormersboy.
Bust in his Bellville Boardroom.
6 Mar 2012, 16:05 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-72: It was a joke.
I was just livening the place up a bit. The place has been deader after the start of the season than it was in the lead up to it?
Or have we already said all there is to say, 2 games in? The usual powerhouses, the Bulls and the Stormers unbeaten, and the rest under-performing and disappointing as usual??
Just thought i’d introduce some light hearted niggle.
6 Mar 2012, 16:06 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-78: lol
6 Mar 2012, 16:06 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-79:
OK.
6 Mar 2012, 16:08 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-79: “The usual powerhouses, the Bulls and the Stormers”
Under usual powerhouses you included the Stormers.
Oh!
You were joking again, of course.
Wicked sense of humour!
Respect.
6 Mar 2012, 16:10 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-82:
Nope. In their world the Stormers are a powerhouse.
I’m not joking.
6 Mar 2012, 16:10 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-81: Besides, it’s not as bad as you make it out to be. It’s not like I took my wife and kids along….
Another joke.
6 Mar 2012, 16:12 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-82: @Tacitus(Deucalion)-83: Yes. True.
That part was definitely not meant to be a joke.
Some things may not be joked about.
6 Mar 2012, 16:16 pm
Anyway as soon as stormersboy said there was no touching we all knew he was joking.
There is always touching in the champagne room.
6 Mar 2012, 16:25 pm
@Taahirah(Taahirah)-74:
believe me i have on numerous occasions. never was comfortable throughout the experiences as its not in my nature to do that and perhaps may also have a little to do with my perception of myself (i know i’m not a good looker by a long shot but instead have a charm, charisma and wit which got me my degrees of luck with the ladies) as being there attended to and danced for by these ladies solely because i’m (i mean the company account, my bosses encouraged this sort of behaviour with and for the little guy buyers in big corparates especially) about to throw a whole lot of money at them.
i find it hard to enjoy the whole thing knowing this. sure i’m paying them to dance for me…thats the point, but at least one wants the fanstasy to have some reasonable grounding in reality. it just always seemed absurd to me on two levels.
anyway, ja..i have done this on ocassion and all for a greater good. one cannot choose the perfect life or job always and just have to get on with business of life and being a provider at times.
with enough experience gained though my go to play was to basically just get the buyers pissed out their minds after a big eat out and then ‘end up’ at an escort agency where i’d get them a full house special while i’d have a few drinks at the bar and chat about life to the ladies. however a lot of them liked the strip club scene.
6 Mar 2012, 16:27 pm
@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-71: yeah Franky Two-Fingers
6 Mar 2012, 16:30 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-79:
oh, in that case please ignore post# 87
6 Mar 2012, 16:31 pm
Anyway Tac a visit to one of the Cape’s leading Gentleman’s Clubs would do you some good.
Bring you out of yourself a bit.
Besides the wine list is suprisingly decent.
@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-87:
A big Eat Out?
Sies you don’t know where they’ve been.
6 Mar 2012, 16:32 pm
@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-87: you went to a strip club? Frankie’s estimation of you has dropped a notch chap…you know Franky ain’t a judgemental bible basher
6 Mar 2012, 16:35 pm
there must be sooooooo much kak to sort out here in SA that HG had more time to blog when he was on Mud Island than here in SnorCity or maybe he is STILL looking for GBS who has the Banshee
6 Mar 2012, 16:38 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-92:
She has been enslaved by GBS’s GBP.
He’s going to need more than a GPS to find her.
6 Mar 2012, 16:40 pm
I mean, where do you think Goeta met his wife, Svetlana?
6 Mar 2012, 16:45 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-90:
i’ve alway been more of a finger food kinda guy… but no seriously man, i had a job with a moerse lot of targets and a moerse lot of pressure to meet those targets (towards this end nothing was off the table as far as the bosses were concerned).
this is the real world and that sort of thing happens everywhere. i could choose to just go without work for a while and risk starving the people dependant on me or to just swallow my soul and concience and just see it out until i found something better.
i wasn’nt being forced into as such and i’m sure neither are the people in these sort of industries…for the most part.
@Transformation(Transformation)-91:
no man transie, this is real life and i was in a place where i had to get on with making some money, regardless. there are worse things to do imo. besides, it really isn’t the farking 1950′s anymore…
6 Mar 2012, 16:51 pm
Tac on his morale high horse again, we not fighting for your approval Tac. If gents want to watch some ladies dancing on a pole then let it be
6 Mar 2012, 16:54 pm
Your precious little blue outfit side are the ones that started with the semi-dressed cheerleaders. Ts ts ts
6 Mar 2012, 17:06 pm
@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-89: lol bust!
6 Mar 2012, 17:15 pm
Taccie no like to lookie at da cookie?
6 Mar 2012, 17:26 pm
@zub(zub)-98:

yip, thats what happens when yu blog with jackals…never type too soon…