Lions need brains to complement brilliance

JON CARDINELLI writes that the Lions’ key decision-makers will need to lift their standards after a disappointing showing in the loss to the Hurricanes.

There are reasons to feel excited about this Lions side. They have some gifted individual runners that have successfully carried their Currie Cup form through to the Super Rugby competition.

Having said that, is individual brilliance enough to inspire optimism regarding the team’s play-off aspirations? It’s a question that should be asked after the recent defeat, as once again the Lions wowed and disappointed in equal measure.

It’s easy to look at the positives and declare them a sign of progress. The Lions played a high-tempo game against the Hurricanes, and were relatively successful in that they made 10 linebreaks. The stat of 18 offloads also shows that there is a willingness to keep the ball alive and deny the opposition defence time to reset.

But too many of those thrilling breaks anti-climaxed in turnovers. The wrong options were taken and in the aftermath coach John Mitchell lamented the missed opportunities.

This is no new affliction for a Lions Super Rugby side that has perennially entertained with their expansive style but never delivered a measure of consistency nor showed a clinical edge that so often means the difference in tight games.

Mitchell will know that. He has acknowledged that this Lions side has attacking strengths, and it’s clear that he means to amplify them. He has, however, sought to bring a measure of balance to their game. They are already a better defensive side than in previous seasons, but they are yet to show real maturity when it comes to switching from attack to percentage play when the situation demands it.

There were large periods in last Saturday’s match where the Lions opted to keep possession and build an attack from within their own half. It was frustrating to watch as they toiled and fought their way up to the halfway line, stringing together multiple phases before a loose pass or breakdown turnover halted their momentum. There were other occasions when the Hurricanes used that turnover ball to good use, launching a counter-attack and often translating that opportunity into points.

The Lions will come up against a desperate Sharks side at Kings Park this weekend, and they will have to show as much accuracy and tactical smarts as aggression and a willingness to attack. Their pack needs to stand up to that of the Sharks, but then the decision-making of halfbacks Michael Bondesio and Elton Jantjies will be crucial to their cause.

The Lions made a lot of ground with ball-in-hand against the Hurricanes, and there may have been some reluctance to kick too much on the New Zealanders’ dangerous back three. They were also helped by the visitors’ poor defence, which leaked as many as 26 tackles.

The Sharks will be more organised in this regard. Their defence and aggression at the tackle point was much improved when they faced the Stormers last week, and while they are also searching for attacking accuracy, they have the potential to turn turnovers into points. They showed that during the latter stages of their first 2012 fixture against the Bulls when Jacques Botes finished off a great try.

There is enough mongrel in the Lions pack and enough firepower in their backs to unsettle the Sharks. But just how that energy is channelled will determine their success. Jantjies especially will be an important figure as far as the fight for territory is concerned. There may be opportunities to strike from deep, but he must also give his side the opportunity to pressure the Sharks from within the hosts’ half.

His tactical kicking will need to be accurate, and his chasers will be equally important. When the Lions do have a chance to strike with ball-in-hand, individuals will need to show better skill and decision-making than they did against the Hurricanes.

On as many as 20 occasions they relinquished possession. They need to improve in this facet if they hope to build some continuity, and then translate that dominance into points. It won’t be easy against a fired-up Sharks side that is yet to win in 2012, but it’s a more measured and controlled course the Lions will need to follow if they hope to make their mark as real Super Rugby contenders.

Follow JC on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

52 Comments

• 1.Esoteric: Reply to this comment

Dragons!

• 2.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Don’t really have anything to say on this issue.

Then again, I only read the first few and last few paragraps.

Just couldn’t bring myself to give a d*mn.

• 3.seamus: Reply to this comment

What is most concerning abut the Lions S15 campaign is that they have reverted to the dreadful side they have always ( with the exception of 2 semi final appearances under Laurie Mains) been. Dreadful handling, dreadful option taking, bottling under pressure in the last 10 minutes, etc, etc. sure, the opposition is much better than their Currie Cup opponents, but that doesn’t explain their backwards slide

• 4.HHS: Reply to this comment

Versrik nou aan my ouma beskuitjie.

JC writing a Lions piece…… ?

There is pressure on this team to do well in the S15 and you can see it on the field. The players must get their shinz together/calm down and just play their normal game. There is a few problems and hopefully baldy will sort it out.

• 5.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

Hush, my darling, don’t fear, my darling
    The lion sleeps tonight
    Hush, my darling, don’t fear, my darling
    The lion sleeps tonight

……………

• 6.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-4:
    Exactly. They’re trying to run every ball in, and make every marginal pass, and they’re doing it even with low quality ball.

Lions did well in the Currie Cup playing fluid rugby because they were able to express themselves. Now in S15, the joint pressure of being CC champs and the shadow of the Kings is causing frayed nerves, they’ve got to calm down and stop forcing things.

• 7.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

As a home game Sharks should win… As a derby it is anyones game!

• 8.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

Early statistics indicates that attacking play is now penalized more than defensive play. Last year it was the other way. The Lions prefers attacking play and therefore a need to make adjustments.

• 9.PieterJordaan: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-5: Funny and insulting…LOL!!

• 10.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

The lions must lift their game.

They are playing for fewer places when they join the cheetahs.

If they are not careful they end up at the kings.

• 11.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-2: Leave that to the rugby fans.

• 12.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-10: yes imagine if you were Baywatch.

First he gets booted by Derrick Minnie and now he’ll have to make way for Heinrich as well.

Time to take serious stock.

• 13.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Real rugby fans.

*sniff*

• 14.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-13: Kick to the nuts.

• 15.ufo: Reply to this comment

lions should just relax and play as they did in the cc…

in the cc they played with joie de vivre and now they suddenly don’t look like they’re enjoying it at all… that’s what pressure does… but they should just relax and go out to enjoy it… and i reckon things will come right…

what worries me more is the lack of support going to the Coke Can… no offense to Katman and HHS and the few others who support through thick and thin… but by only a handful of people in the country’s most populated region being bothered enough to go to the games, is creating a reason for dropping or merging the lions and saru may well ask… who the heck is going to miss the lions…?

obviously i don’t know what marketing they do… but the lions union has got to do something to get more fans to the venue to at least show that significant numbers support the team…

how deflating must it be for the team to win the cc trophy and then run out into a near empty stadium..? a full ellis park baying for a lion kill will certainly help to motivate the team…

good luck to both teams… may they play exciting running try-scoring rugby that will draw fans when the lions go back to jozi…

• 16.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-15:
    wow! spoken like a stormers’ supporter.
    that’s the worst piece of advice so far today and will take some topping.

• 17.Original-Pierre: Reply to this comment

Sharks are poised for a big one.

I think the Lions could possibly suffer a huge defeat this weekend. Sharks know there will be an uproar in Durban if they lose a third one.

Then again, it will be a wet game and I think Elton`s kicking stats are better than Lambie`s?
    Also Sharks are conceding a lot of penalties at the moment.
    Crowd support will be low in Durban which nullifies the home ground advantage to a certain extend.
    Mark Lawrence haven`t been doing the sharks any favours lately either.

So many factors to consider, I`ll go with my heart for this one!

• 18.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-16: What is wrong with it?

• 19.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Sanctimonious ****.

“Real rugby fans”

Makes me barf.

• 20.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-18:
    if i was a coach and my team played with ‘joy de wie’..(?) i would be the moer in… i would never tell my team to just relax and go enjoy themselves… he reckons things wil ‘sommer come right’..?…

no man, this is advice you give to under 15 schoolboys who really are just playing for passion, fun and the joy of the game.
    this is not advice for grown men playing for a super rugby team in the toughest provincial rugby competition in the world.

• 21.Almost...: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-15:

I agree attendance has always been poor for the Lions during SR ..but I’ve been to the 2 opening games and against the Canes there was a fair whack of people ..many in the boxes too . Thing is Ellis Park is a 80 000 plus staduim so its easy to think its ‘empty’ … Opening week the weather was shocking …yea excuses but there is a vibe amongst the faithful to get to EP.

Losing that match against the Canes did not help the cause though …

• 22.ufo: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-16:

you just topped it…!! :lol:

no… spoken like a south african rugby supporter who has always stated that i’d like to see a strong lions side again… even when they were struggling… and have always said i’d like to see all south african sides strong and klapping the overseas sides…

many coaches and players speak of enjoying playing and ensuring they have fun by running out onto a rugby field and playing a game that we all enjoy but they are lucky enough and talented enough to actually do so professionally…

many players speak of playing while they’re enjoying it… and the time to give up is when they no longer do so…

so i think if you were a coach who didn’t want his players to enjoy playing rugby… you’d certainly be unique… you obviously come from the rudi streuli camp staaldraad school of coaching…

it’s true that the lions looked like they enjoyed playing last year… there were smiles and fist-bumps and winks and high-fives and celebrations… so far this season there just doesn’t seem to be any fun in the team at all…

so yes… i’d say again… the lions should relax and capture the joie de vivre they played the game with last year…

but read it as you will… think what you will… you’re entitled to your opinion…

• 23.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-20: This is not about not taking things seriously – it is about playing you natural game and not letting pressure stifle you. The great players and teams back their instincts and take chances believing they can pull it off. The Reds are a good example. The Lions enjoyed success in the Currie Cup by playing a confident brand of running rugby. They can benefit from a little more structure, but their adventurous style of play should not be sacrificed in the process.

• 24.ufo: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-20:

pull the hair outta your asss man…

@Almost…(Bonobo)-21:

yeah the first week looked okay but last weekend looked really bad on the tv… which is what most people see…

not trying to knock the lions at all… just would love to see things going better for them… and a great crowd always helps the home team…

i believe the lions really do deserve more support form the joziburgers…

• 25.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-15: “in the cc they played with joie de vivre ”

First Lacroix, then Michalak and now this palooka?

• 26.ufo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-25:

they should select the palooka again…! :wink:

• 27.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-19: I think you must have barfed all over your contact lenses. If you can find the words “real rugby fans” in my post I will give you your weight in Keo dollars.
    My post was aimed at the sanctimonious condescending cr ap of posters who go to the effort to tell us they don’t give a damn about articles on teams they don’t support. If you really don’t give a damn why post? This dismissive attitude is what we expect from the likes of Prickboks and his ilk.

• 28.ufo: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-20:

hell… even your hero bakkies talks of enjoying rugby and winks and cracks jokes on the park… and talks about enjoying the game… okay he also talks of enjoying hurting other people… but at least he enjoys it…!!

you should change you nic again… to…

KillJoy was Here… (i_love_u_bakkiesbotha):

• 29.Almost...: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-24:

Yea on TV it looks bad ..its dissapionting when u get to EP and find it so empty ..

Truth is the Lions start winning and it will fill up ..fickle I know .

• 30.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Almost…(Bonobo)-29:

seriously though… the lions are the current cc champs… i would’ve thought that would’ve been good for bringing the fans flocking in this year…

sincerely do hope they turn things around and start winning soon… and well…

• 31.Hoops: Reply to this comment

CC champs….CC champs……most Lions are clinching to that title like it will save them from relegation. Just like some of our Stormers Fans do to our beloved Conference cup!

Reality is the CC was won without Springboks in the comp. (Yes semi and final had some bruised and battered boks back) But the S15 is a different animal all together. I think the Lions will prove that that CC mens as little as the Conference cup of the Stormers come play offs.

I am tired of all this same things over and over.. Be in it to win it. Or else….leave!

• 32.Almost...: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-31:

So you comparing a Currie Cup which is 100 years old to a one year conference cup ..

When did Province last win the CC ..?

You damn right us Lions supporters hold on to that CCwin ..cause frankly thats all we have at present.

Battered and Bruised Boks ..hahaha obviously not enough though.

• 33.Hoops: Reply to this comment

@Almost…(Bonobo)-32:

My point is that every article claim the lions should be winners since they won the CC. Yes it was great for you lions to win it, but be real….that cup is not what it used to be, and also it is not going to win you any games.

The lions need to forget about being CC champs and play their game like they always do. The press normally put more pressure on the teams than anyone else.

Calling them the CC Champs every minute does not help!

I did not compare the two cups either….I just made a point how AC will claim that cup when people ask him when was the last time we won something. It is pathetic!

• 34.grunk: Reply to this comment

The major problem on Friday was the scrumhalf who was wasting both seconds and micro seconds in getting the ball out to either his runners or Jantjies. If you are going to play a high tempo game then this marshalling of all and sundry by the scrum-half all the time is highly dangerous as in most instances – because of the tempo – your presence as the breakdown is less than it should be and either results in turnovers (which is criminal) or slow ball which is just plain stupid as it goes against the strategy.

• 35.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-22:
    fist bumps..?..high fives..?..what, no air punching..?.. :lol:
    look, lets just say you will never coach my laaities in rugby :grin:

but hey, each to his own.

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-23:
    i think we can agree that “This is not about not taking things seriously”…is not in the heyneke meyer book of coaching. i am glad….

@ufo(ufo)-24:
    i did…used it to make a nice brush…for polishing trophies… :grin:

• 36.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-28:

• 37.Almost...: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-33:

Can’t argue with that … I do feel they are playing with that pressure and the fear of relegation must play in the back of their minds.

• 38.Almost...: Reply to this comment

@grunk(grunk)-34:

Losing Jano Vermaak set the Lions back.

• 39.steblooi: Reply to this comment

On Friday I got two distinct impressions during the game:

1)

• 40.steblooi: Reply to this comment

On Friday I got two distinct impressions during the game:

1) The Lions are apparently one of the fittest sides in the competition, but they looked out on their feet. Are they over extended and maybe need a lighter workload during the week?

2) The Lions looked to me like they needed a loss to get the right mentality back. In the CC they were the underdogs and proved a point by winning. Every game they won against one of the big 3 it was headline news. Now, with the expectation that comes with being champions they are struggling to get their minds around the fact that they are no longer underdogs. They need to ‘mature’ into contenders rather than pretenders.

Post game you could see Mitch still sitting in the coaches box, 30 mins after the game. I think he was comtemplating which approach to take – killing them or waiting for them to realise their errors themselves.

Lions to surprise many this year – even the doomsayers will have to swallow their words!

• 41.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-2: Read the first sentence of your post. Couldn’ bring myself to give a damn

Why post a message to say that you have nothing to say? Attentionseeker#

• 42.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Almost…(Bonobo)-38: They still managed to win a CC without him…

• 43.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-27:

implied.

just like I implied you are a sanctimonious emo.

geddit?

• 44.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Fark, finally I get a breather after 2 weeks of mayhem.

Ellis/Coca Park is in Doornfontein. Why would anybody bother to watch a game in that neck of the woods. Its Cape Town’s equivalent of Reiterwaght.

I believe the Lions will come through this season. Mid table at least. Can see Mitchell’s plans coming to fruition.

• 45.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

Mitchell is still trying to make Jantjies play a better game rather than focusing on the rest of players who are adding fkall to Jantjies brilliance.

Mitchell is still wondering how best he can fit Butch into the starting line-up ahead of Jantjies… caught between a rock and a hard place.. desperately wants to be a twat without anybody noticing.

• 46.BWA: Reply to this comment

Elton “Webster” Jantjies is overrated! and it showed against the Canes! He should also stop glue’ing Josh’s beard and ball hair onto his head!

• 47.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-45: I don’t think we’re talking about Jantjies anymore, are we? This is about you and the rest of your refuse collection team. The other guys on the truck are riding on your coattails, aren’t they?

• 48.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@youknowwho(youknowwho)-45: And that is where you are different. You don’t care who notices.

• 49.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-47: No it is about Mitchell and Jantjies… I quite clearly stated that but if you want to dream up some porn then float your own boat

• 50.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-48: I care about everybody… including the stupid okes… How are those shoes ;-)

• 51.youknowwho: Reply to this comment

OK, let me start up the next page

• 52.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-47:
    While I failed to see that ‘brilliance’ I surely know who that ‘brain’ is!
    It’s ridiculous to field Jantjies and Butch in the same line up, it’s an Either Or situation.
    Jantjies needs to get the full backing but then he needs to show improvement at dictating the course in return, against the Cane – which is stronger team than the Cheetahs – he visibly regressed, if that trend continues, Mitchell will have a hot potato on his hands.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.