Canes hammer feeble Force
9 Mar 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on the Hurricanes’ 46-19 victory over the Force in Perth.
You know that aunt that talks all the time but actually says nothing? This was the Force. The Perth franchise completely bossed possession and territory but were so impotent at the gainline and so static or lateral and predictable in their attacks that the Canes simply fanned out and waited from the next unimaginative play. When the Force erred the Canes were clinical in taking their opportunities, particularly from broken field. Five chances, five tries. Thanks for coming.
The talk from the Force’s camp this week was about staying compact and direct in their attacks. Patience through phases was stressed and high-risk play deep in their half discouraged. The Force, however, looked every bit a team struggling to suppress their natural instinct.
When they played through phases effectively they looked like they would be comfortable winners. But they botched numerous scoring opportunities while in the Canes’ 22m.
The Canes, having come into this match off the back of extensive travel, didn’t ever look like building pressure through structured play. Their primary threat was from broken field and, when, following a turnover, Canes fullback Andre Taylor cut through the defence from within his 22m and made about 60m in a move that culminated in a try for impressive debutant scrumhalf TJ Perenara, their preferred method was made clear.
The Canes are two from three with a couple of home matches to come. They are defying expectations following the departure of a string of All Blacks. For the Force its more of the depressing fare their supporters have become all too used to.
The Force’s troubles extended to their tactical kicking, which was largely imprecise and fed the Canes’ back three with counter-attacking opportunities. The hosts did score through Matt Hogson, but then conceded two tries in five minutes just before the break to leave them trailing 22-10 going down the tunnel.
The Canes effectively sealed the result and four-try bonus point 10 minutes into the second half, this time a scrappy backline move featuring ugly hacks ahead somehow ending in Perenara grabbing a hat-trick.
Two Stannard penalties made it a 10 point game with 20 minutes to play, but Canes reserve Daniel Kirkpatrick put the Canes two converted tries ahead with a three pointer. Cameron Shepherd came close to reducing the deficit but he was bundled into touch in a move that should have stayed close to the breakdown point of the previous phase. That was the best rebuttal the Force could muster, the Canes’ Jason Eaton and Charlie Ngatai rubbed salt into their wounds with late tries.

111 Comments
9 Mar 2012, 14:23 pm
@Tartan(Tartan)-49:
Well that’s because 2 of the Aussie teams are in wooden spoon contention, and the third one is only spared from that thanks to the existence of the first two.
9 Mar 2012, 14:24 pm
@Tartan(Tartan)-49: True. Both away games for the Canes. So the Lions should be about 10 points too good for the Force in Perth, and closer on 20 in Joburg.
9 Mar 2012, 14:24 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-50:
What’s he doing risking the life of his wife and child by venturing into your kind of neigbourhood?
9 Mar 2012, 14:25 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-53: Seker gaan dagga koop.
9 Mar 2012, 14:28 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-54:
Hehe.
But back to my previous line of argument.
I’m not trying to denigrate the Lions here out of spite. I just think they have very poor depth, and if Altman “Fix-it-all” Allers can’t give them R20m to buy some international level players they aren’t gonna go anywhere at Super Rugby level in the next 3 years.
You can’t take on the Crusaders with the team you have at the moment.
9 Mar 2012, 14:29 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-51:
Haha, that’s one way of putting it. Brumbies v Cheetahs will be interesting to say the least.
9 Mar 2012, 14:32 pm
Combined team:
15 Daniller
14 Taute
13 Eberson
12 Doppies
11 Not sure
10 Elton (He proved his superiority against the Cheetahs)
9 Tewis
8 Johnson/Strauss
7Johnson/Strauss
6. Brusow
5. Franco
4. Roodt
3. WP Nel
2 Strauss
1. DoodpoesCoenie
16 CJ
17 Minnie
18 Visagie
19 Raubenheimer
20 Bondisio
21 Goosen
22 The Butcher
Then you have guys like Sias and a host of other guys to give depth.
All in all a pretty good team if you ask me. Lacking in cohesiveness which was always the Cats’ biggest problem.
Anyway that’s my take on it.
9 Mar 2012, 14:33 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-53:
I once ignored Anton Leonard in Woolies – pretended I did not recognize him and he talked louder and louder
As is to say: but you must recognize me
Just realized that all the Bulls players I bump into are always in Woolies; Gary Botha, Werner Kruger (smaller than what I thought he was)
Gary also the ‘harde bek type’ : Pappa het mos nou vir jou gesê jy al genoeg speelgoed sussa
Selfs Johan Ackerman en Hannes Strydom , now those guys are big
I wish I could record the moment when they think you’re not recognizing them
9 Mar 2012, 14:34 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-52:
We’ll see. I do think at some point if the Lions can get a fit first-choice team out there and things click they will really moer some team.
The Force are so bad the Rebels will legitimately be thinking about turning them over, so no reason it won’t be them.
9 Mar 2012, 14:38 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-58: Packing their bags doesn’t count as “bumping into them”.
9 Mar 2012, 14:38 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-58:
Why is everyone talking to you at Woolies? You work behind the till?
Or in the aisles?
9 Mar 2012, 14:39 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-58:
And more importantly, why are you placing your job in jeopardy by ignoring the customers when they talk to you?
9 Mar 2012, 14:41 pm
Family of mine does some bookings for bulls players…….
They are mostly “It is Gary speaking…..BULLS RUGBY PLAYER….” type okes!
They must make sure you know who they are!
9 Mar 2012, 14:43 pm
The Force are kak. You’d never think this team is just back from an SA tour, ‘Canes are going to be quite happy with their points total.
9 Mar 2012, 14:47 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-62:
I’m being deliberate of course
I give you enough grief
I can see you’re ‘skarreling’ to get the insults in
9 Mar 2012, 14:49 pm
Yes Jason Eaton Fantasy points!
@Tartan(Tartan)-64: True. They played two tough games and had to fly against time.
9 Mar 2012, 14:49 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-62:
Tell me now: Dezi or Angelique, and why?
9 Mar 2012, 14:52 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-57:
doodpoesCoenie
9 Mar 2012, 14:56 pm
@Tartan(Tartan)-64: The Force are super kak.
9 Mar 2012, 14:57 pm
@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-68: As he will now forever be known as. At least by me
9 Mar 2012, 14:58 pm
@Tartan(Tartan)-64: Why is kak allowed?
Testicles 1 2 Testicles 1 2 …..*******?
9 Mar 2012, 14:59 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-62: Car park attendants. Go figure.
9 Mar 2012, 15:00 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-71: My test worked
9 Mar 2012, 15:01 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-61: He is obviously the Sheriff at Woolies…..keeping all the lambswool jerseys in check!
9 Mar 2012, 15:03 pm
I think all the rude words that Keo uses is allowed here.
9 Mar 2012, 15:03 pm
Kyk as ek dit my ‘way’ het dan laat skrap ek twee woorde in die Afrikaanse taal, veral hier in die Transvaal en hierdie woorde is:
‘seuna’ en ‘sussa’
Die Kapenaars praat nie so nie sover my kennis strek, maar ek is oop om verkeerd te wees.
Hulle sê mos: iek gaan dorp toe
9 Mar 2012, 15:08 pm
Two from two for me.
Next upset? Cheetahs tomorrow.
9 Mar 2012, 15:09 pm
I realized afterwards that in mentioning ‘Woolies’ some may perceive it as a subtle status message from me
To those who regard it as a privilege to shop at Woolies my response is simply: their prices are not always higher than competitors. In other words you may well feel comfortable shopping at PnP but you could be paying more than for equiv products at Woolies
It’s time to move on the feelings of illegitimacy and shame
9 Mar 2012, 15:10 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-76: lol is that boy and girl? Yip never heard that in Cape Town. Djy wiet dan! lol
9 Mar 2012, 15:11 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-48: you have no interest in whether they succeed or not, yet you took the time to select a team which justifies your view that they are not a good team.i’d say that’s taking interest. i suppose your boiterous nature this week is well earned after the Bulls anihilated the cheetahs last week. Could it be that the Bulls were as good as the Cheetahs were bad and that tomorrows game will give a better indication of the progress.
doos
piel
arse
fuckhead
coon
naai
naaier
holnaai
prick
Good Day almal
9 Mar 2012, 15:13 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-75:
some are blocked and some are not i guess, vulgar/offensive terms.
@willievz(willievz)-77: 0 from 2 for me. i have cheetahs by 3.
@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-81: Tourettes?
9 Mar 2012, 15:14 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-79:
Yeah ‘seuna’ is what you would use to refer to a boy, ‘sussa’ for a little girl, particularly mother to daughter
9 Mar 2012, 15:15 pm
@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-83: why is m o n k e y blocked but not kak? lol
9 Mar 2012, 15:15 pm
@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-81: Skopskiet meets Porra?
9 Mar 2012, 15:17 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-87:
Good spot !!
9 Mar 2012, 15:18 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-86: That sounds like it can get irritating very quickly!
9 Mar 2012, 15:20 pm
@willievz(willievz)-89: Keo clearly doesnt want to insult the *******.
9 Mar 2012, 15:21 pm
kakmonkey
9 Mar 2012, 15:24 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-90:
You must understand one thing: it is easy to criticise people from a distance
Tacitus here for instance would want to vomit when he hears someone using words like ‘djy, djou, verstaan djy’ He really dispises it
Another one will also take offence at the usage of the phrase: ‘sharp-sharp’
And so on. Look I can speak Afrikaner but I merely highlighted those 2 words.
The challenge for us is to become more cross-cultural and be more tolerant even though it may not be our ‘way’
9 Mar 2012, 15:25 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-85:
no he mentioned kak being allowed so i was wondering what words are on the banned list and tried a few.
and yes, i know it was a rhetorical comedy type question by you but thought i’d give an answer any way.
9 Mar 2012, 15:29 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-19: I sooooo hate to agree with you
but I cannot the Sharks need a thinking captain that does not go missing in action and does not have brain farts in the wrong part of the field
9 Mar 2012, 15:31 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-87:
yes, it has obvious racial tones in the new sa so is a no-no, but a kak rugby team is still a kak rugby team… whether in the old sa or the new.
i see neeger is also blocked but i feel its really an american term and is very current and hip even, to use in many settings.
@Beertjie(Beertjie)-88:

and skop says he’s sober when he goes on his rants… not too sure about that…
9 Mar 2012, 15:34 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-92:

ja, will try some:
fuckmonkey
naaimonkey
assmonkey
9 Mar 2012, 15:44 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-93: Ook waar.
9 Mar 2012, 15:44 pm
@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-95:
tac has some strange and confusing type of blood fued love/hate admiration (like in romeo & juliet or the english with the french) thing going on between himself, the bulls and the sharks.
for this reason he gives the sharks all this grudging ‘cowboy at the ok corral / rambo / steven seagal / geronimo to the cavalry’ type nodding respect and talks them up… believing them to be the only real contenders to the bulls in the last decade.
he can be silly at times, but is often called out when being so.. most times…
9 Mar 2012, 15:51 pm
The pathetic Kings are getting another beating. Super 15 pftt