Stegmann sidelined
9 Mar 2012
The Bulls have suffered a late blow with news that Deon Stegmann will not be available for Saturday’s battle with the Blues.
The Bulls have confirmed that Stegmann has a hamstring injury and will not be risked. CJ Stander will start in the Bulls back row with Gerrit Jan van Velze joining the match 22 as loose forward cover.
Bulls (revised) – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Wynand Olivier, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Pierre Spies (c), 7 Jacques Potgieter, 6 CJ Stander, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Dean Greyling.
Subs: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 19 Gerrit Jan van Velze, 20 Ruan Snyman, 21 Louis Fouché, 22 JJ Engelbrecht.

44 Comments
9 Mar 2012, 20:34 pm
Massive blow.
Not only is the loose trio balance disrupted, but our impact in the last 30 minutes will now be seriously reduced.
Don’t want to be melodramatic, but this could be a game changer.
9 Mar 2012, 20:56 pm
Injuries are part and parcel of rugby.
You just have to deal with it.
9 Mar 2012, 21:14 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-1:
It’s not as if the Lions, Sharks and Stormers don’t have injury problems of theor own.
It’s going to be a long season and this is where the strength in depth of each franchise will be tested. Like the Lions front row being decimated this year. And the Stormers fly half resources being in tatters last year.
You’re right about one thing. Being so melodramatic. The Bulls will still win.
With or without Steggman.
9 Mar 2012, 21:25 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-1:
Wie’s die ander fetchers in die span?
9 Mar 2012, 21:27 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-4:
They haven’t bought one yet.
9 Mar 2012, 21:34 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-5:
Hey, ons werk met kos hier
9 Mar 2012, 21:37 pm
The Bulls currently have Dewald Potgieter, Arno Botha and now Deon Stegman out.
That’s three key loose forwards.
Kind of unlikely to have so many injuries in one position at the same time. Pity about Dewald’s wedding antics, but there you go.
Personally, I would have gone for a fetcher on the bench. Warwick Tecklenburg, to be specific. Just in case the Blues dominate us at the breakdown in Stegmann’s absence.
9 Mar 2012, 21:43 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-7:
You’re right, Tecklenburg played well in last year’s CC
We do have a lot of loosies though, why did they pick Van Velze?
He’s to slow for a flank and to light for a lock and if I remember correctly he was useless in the CC last year
9 Mar 2012, 21:46 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-8:
I don’t rate van Velze, so I’m concerned about this selection. Especially if we get a loose forward injury during the match.
9 Mar 2012, 21:50 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-9:
They should keep the starting flanks on the pitch as long as possible
What happened to Okkie Kruger, he played well in the CC two years ago?
9 Mar 2012, 21:52 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-10:
I forgot about him. He is one of the stars in the Tuks Varsity Cup team at the moment. Playing excellent rugby. I would seriously consider him for the bench.
9 Mar 2012, 21:58 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-10:
CJ Stander will do the same sort of job as Kolisi for the Stormers. Neither are specialist no. 6′s or even pretend to be. But you’ll get 80 mins out each of those laaities. They will perform that role because it’s an opportunity that will be grabbed with both hands.
9 Mar 2012, 22:00 pm
Blues have picked two fetchers for this game.
9 Mar 2012, 22:00 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-11:
Ek onthou hoe besig hy was teen die WP en die Sharks, ons het goed gedoen totdat die Bok spelers teruggekom het
Ek dink ons sou beter gevaar het in die CC semi sonder hulle, die jong outjies was lus vir speel
9 Mar 2012, 22:04 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-13:
HKGK
9 Mar 2012, 22:05 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-13: How effective are fetchers with this new rules. Let’s be honest here, Stegmann, Brussow, Minnie and even Pocock haven’t shined in this tourney so far. Maybe it will change…….
Van Veltze is k.ak…..
9 Mar 2012, 22:06 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-15:
hulle kan gaan kak
9 Mar 2012, 22:09 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-17:
Wie, die Bulls?
Miskien, dit hang net af hoe goed die loosies speel en of hulle die Blues se fetchers kan aanvat
9 Mar 2012, 22:19 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-18:
It’s not ideal losing a player the day before the match. But the Bulls losies will have to adapt and even Potgieter will have to play to the ball more. Not ideal but they’ll have to share the work load.
9 Mar 2012, 22:23 pm
Agile where are you?
9 Mar 2012, 22:25 pm
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-19:
Maybe, they’re still young and fast and they might just do it
I do like Jacques Potgieter (don’t tell Transie but some of my favourite Bulls (actually Ntvl players) came from EP, Pote Fourie and Adri Geldenhuys), he’s like Danie was when he was younger, lighter and faster
9 Mar 2012, 22:26 pm
@Rage(Rage)-20:
He’s rubbing Deap Heat on the hammie
9 Mar 2012, 22:39 pm
@ vicbok..hehe,you joke but I wouldn’t be surprised if that’s really the case!
9 Mar 2012, 23:16 pm
aint they just going down like flies
poor rugger buggers they just don’t make em like they used to
9 Mar 2012, 23:19 pm
Bulls gonna be exposed without Steggies.. this could bode a little bad for Bulletjie blou blou in die bulle kring.. miskien kom n ietsie bietjie dingetjie daar.. oops Oooo gaaaats.!!
9 Mar 2012, 23:30 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-24:
Have you ever heard of Buck Shelford playing with one ball hanging out?
My dad told me of a CC final he saw between Northern Transvaal and WP at Loftus where Louis Schmidt (Uli’s dad, the original Blue Bull) tackled Jannie Engebrecht and broke his right collarbone.
There were no replacements those days and he played and scored two tires with his left hand and the third with his right, broken collarbone of te not, to win the CC
The wings those days were tougher than the locks and props today
9 Mar 2012, 23:36 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-25:
> Bulls gonna be exposed without Steggies.. this could bode a little bad for Bulletjie blou blou in die bulle kring
We’re going to miss Stegmann but we’re going to miss Hougaard’s fast ball, he has improved a lot on SH since the game against the Sharks
> .. miskien kom n ietsie bietjie dingetjie daar.. oops Oooo gaaaats.!!
Ja ons moet nog speel vir punte, ons kry nie vier verniet hierdie week soos julle nie
9 Mar 2012, 23:38 pm
anyway perhaps they were tougher then but rugby become far more physically demanding than it was in the 60′s.. today its a mack truck hitting you at 100 miles per hour for 80 minutes solid and everybody just gotta keep on trucking till the last hooter blows.. Naas botha wouldn’t have lasted half a season under these conditions he would have gone to play skop die balletjie tussen die pale for Dallas Cowboys long before then.
9 Mar 2012, 23:42 pm
Jip Bulletjies last week were outa sight awesome with all pistons pumping on full throttle.. gonna be a little different without Steggies or Hougaard.. somebody gonna have to stand up tall and put their bodies on the line.. Juandre Kruger will do that, Stander will do that, Jacques Potgieter will do that.. but will Pierre Spies do it now that the silent assassin Steggies ain’t there to hit the kiwi’s where it hurts.??
9 Mar 2012, 23:48 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-28:
> anyway perhaps they were tougher then but rugby become far more physically demanding than it was in the 60?
You should read this article, players are getting much bigger and heavier
http://www.beeld.com/Suid-Afrika/Nuus/Koms-van-die-reuse-20120229
Springbok-rugbyspelers het van 1896 tot 2005 af elke dekade 2,03 kg swaarder geword, terwyl hulle van 1975 tot 2005 af elke dekade 4,28 kg swaarder geword het.
De Ridder het gesê van 1896 af tot en met 2005 het hul lengte 0,09 cm per dekade toegeneem, maar van 1975 tot 2005 was dit meer: 1,43 cm per dekade.
Die gemiddelde Springbok was in 1896 ongeveer 1,81 m lank en in 2005 was hulle ongeveer 1,9 m lank.
Wat gewig betref, het hulle in 1896 gemiddeld 79 kg geweeg en in 2005 gemiddeld 102 kg.
Voorspelers het in 1896 gemiddeld 82 kg geweeg en in 2005 gemiddeld 111 kg.
9 Mar 2012, 23:53 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-28:
> Naas botha wouldn’t have lasted half a season under these conditions
Blikxem you guys still have nightmares abour the Nasty Booter eh?
The same could then be said about De Wet Ras and Gerald Bosch and the other flyhalfs
I can’t remember, who was the WP flyhalf at the time?
> he would have gone to play skop die balletjie tussen die pale for Dallas Cowboys long before then.
No, to Rovigo to earn Lira and spyker Eytie poppies
10 Mar 2012, 00:01 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-29:
> Jip Bulletjies last week were outa sight awesome with all pistons pumping on full throttle..
I’ve always wanted us to play fifteen men rugby when possible without losing quality in the forwards
> somebody gonna have to stand up tall and put their bodies on the line.. Juandre Kruger will do that, Stander will do that,
They sure will, that was the problem we had in last year’s S15 when the old Boks used the tournament to rest and didn’t put their bodies on the line
> Jacques Potgieter will do that..
How do you rate him?
He’s a good old fashioned hard man from EP like both Pote’s, Adri and Schalk’s dad
> but will Pierre Spies do it now that the silent assassin Steggies ain’t there to hit the kiwi’s where it hurts.??
Spies last had a good game against the Crusaders in the 2009 semi.
He would be a better super sub than Bobby Skinstead but now were stuck with him as captain
10 Mar 2012, 00:14 am
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-30: dis die ding vandag sou Nasty Booter miskien n super sub gewees.. hy sou amper soos iemand van Sias Ebersohn se gehalte geword het
elke speler moet nou ten minste probeer tackle.. en die vlak van ernstige kragdadigheid van al die voorspelers waar die oorlog by die breakdown vir die oorhesing van balbesit in die moderne spel is heeltemaal n ander soort game as die wat in die amateur verlede was.
10 Mar 2012, 00:25 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-33:
Die spelers word van jongs af al afgerig en gaan op laerskool al gym toe, hulle kan alles doen amper soos krieketspeleres wat uit die akedemies uit kom, almal is all rounders
Die std6 laaities vandag is so groot soos die eerste span spelers toe ek op skool was
Waterkloof het ‘n paar jaar terug stutte gehad wat 120kg geweeg het, ‘n skool span?
Lees wat sê Frik oor hoe hulle ge-oefen het
http://www.beeld.com/Suid-Afrika/Nuus/Andries-sou-my-flenters-hol-20120301
‘Andries sou my flenters hol’
10 Mar 2012, 00:44 am
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-34: Ja dis n hele ander soort spel vandag as die wat in oom Frik se tyd gewees
dis nou slaap tyd die kant .. sien jou ander tyd hier om die draai.
10 Mar 2012, 00:48 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-1: We’ll be fine,but yeah,it’s very disruptive when one loses a fetcher a day before an important game.We’re gonna need someone to slow the ball down at the Blues’ rucks(legally),which Stegmann did brilliantly.But I have full confidence in Stander. It’s his chance now – rather now see if he can sub Stegmann (when injured) than before a semi.Our tight 5 should dominate theirs and then the rest will follow. (I also rate Tecklenberg very highly and would’ve played him tomorrow in Steggies’ place)
10 Mar 2012, 00:50 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-35:
Mooi loop, lekker slaap
Hier is dit net voor 15:00 en ek’s nog by die werk
10 Mar 2012, 00:54 am
@Loftus(Loftus)-36:
Ja we should have played Tecklenburg or even Okkie, let’s hope Gerrit plays like he used to
10 Mar 2012, 01:49 am
Mr Anonymous
10 Mar 2012, 03:11 am
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-37: Hoe gaan dit daar aan die weskus?
10 Mar 2012, 03:42 am
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-40:
Goed
Waar is jy?
10 Mar 2012, 03:51 am
@Love to see a Bok supporter’s prick in my girls Mouth(Closet Bok fan)-39:
Who are you referring to?
The guy that knocked up your ****** sister
What’s her name again?
Sheila Redro?
10 Mar 2012, 14:02 pm
The Invisible Man
10 Mar 2012, 18:14 pm
Dammit!
This guy is the glue that keeps the forwards together.
met was in 2010, in the Game of the Season (at Loftus) where Stegmann stole 5 balls, and in the semi when Steggies made McCaw his bitch second time in a row. Not sure what you’re on about.
CJ came on last week and pilfered a clean ball within 2 minutes, able replacement, but does not have Stegmann’s anticipation or aggression.
Pity, huge blow.
Anyways, who is this prickguy? Is he a New Zealander?
The last time Steggies and Sir Richie McCaw
Steggies seems to have aggrevated his injury at that last ruck where Adrianse grabbed him around the neck at got penalized for it.
So next week’s a bye, and we will see then, but they should give him an extra week probably.