Cheetahs’ curse continues in Canberra

GARETH DUNCAN watched Christian Lealiifano kick a last-second penalty to give the Brumbies a 24-23 win over the Cheetahs in Canberra.

With a 23-10 lead early in the second half over a bumbling Brumbies outfit, the Cheetahs looked set to record their third Super Rugby victory in Australasia. However, referee Keith Brown’s strict handling of the scrum and breakdown swung the momentum and saw the Cheetahs heavily penalised in the final quarter. After Pat McCabe’s try, Lealiifano slotted three penalties for the win – the last one coming in the final movement of the game.

Cheetahs captain Adriaan Strauss said he felt hard done by as ‘the decisions went against them’ at the death. However, the Bloemfontein franchise had opportunities to take play out of their half following a Heinrich Brussow steal and a Philip Snyman intercept. A knock-on cancelled Brussow’s efforts, while Snyman looked for support instead of kicking his team out of danger. This saw the Brumbies take advantage of their favourable field position.

Head coach Naka Drotske will be disappointed considering his side had the upper hand against Jake White’s charges for most parts of the match.

The Cheetahs showed good attacking play in the first half, but their finishing let them down. After Henry Speight’s early try for the hosts, the visitors held most of the ascendancy in the first half, but they failed to capitalise from their regular visits to the Brumbies’ red zone. It took a smart run from speedster Willie le Roux for the Bloemfontein franchise to finally cross the chalk as he raced through following a set-piece move from a lineout in midfield.

It was a close contest on the scoreboard, with Johan Goosen and Christian Lealiifano trading penalties. A Goosen three-pointer on the stroke of half-time edged the Cheetahs 13-10 ahead at the break.

The Cheetahs built on their lead early after the restart, with a Tewis de Bruyn try and a Goosen penalty creating a 13-point buffer. However, the tourists imploded as their ill-discipline and poor decision making cost them a famous win. Their overseas curse continues.

95 Comments

• 1.BillTong: Reply to this comment

Yawning dragons (the audience that watches this game!)

• 2.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@BillTong(BillTong)-1:

Pretty entertaining, frenetic rugby pack full of young, exciting youngsters from both sides…

• 3.Hondo: Reply to this comment

That tackles faker and ball dropping Johnson is a disgrace

• 4.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-3:

Aussie commentators and I disagree… marginal error rate to all his pop-passing and off-loads… excellent work-rate on the front-foot… which is exactly why he’s been chosen for this game in these running conditions…

• 5.Transformation: Reply to this comment

brussow pinged, knee on the ground.

• 6.Transformation: Reply to this comment

cheetahs need to calm down on attack & not force these pop passes.

• 7.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Le Roux is one slippery customer… can see why Benjamin is being omitted… Cheetahs definitely the best attacking side in RSA so far… albeit against the weakest Brumbies side in quite some time.

• 8.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-7: ja, the same Brumbies that folded the Force in week 1, then the Force must be uber kak

• 9.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

transie,i see that sarel cilliers lost 31-34 to kearsney last week.they are from dundee and 95 percent black.the kids do not have issues with the schools name…

• 10.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-3:

Shame

He too black for you?

• 11.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-9: what the hell does a school in DUNDEE of all places have to do with me?

• 12.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

f okof dawn,hou op aandag soek

• 13.Transformation: Reply to this comment

why did they make the kid kick from there? 62m

• 14.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Another Johnson’s turn over, number 4 of this match

• 15.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

it is going to be the next big rugby school,just to let you know that black players are being chosen on merit and doing well,then again it will not suit your agenda or victim mentality.

• 16.Transformation: Reply to this comment

johnson needs to bloody protect the ball in contact man! this is bullshit from him.

• 17.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-15: haha ME a victim? go bark up another tree boytie :)

• 18.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-8:

Exactly… did you not watch the hiding they got from the young Cane’s side?

• 19.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-15:

ooo!

Big words!

• 20.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Cheetah’s looking tired now… bench needs to be used…

• 21.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-19:
    moenie met my praat nie papbek.

• 22.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-15: FYI schools like Dale, Queens, Graeme & Selborne have had predominantly black merit teams FOR YEARS. only in Natal is this a novelty…go figure

• 23.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-18: not yet, got it on pvr though

• 24.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-22
    so why are ep and the kings so kak.

• 25.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-24: hahaha :mrgreen:

is that your comeback? 34 – 26 they rolled the previously undefeated Pampas.

• 26.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-23:

Like many teams this year… some excellent young prospects coming through…

• 27.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-21:

Oooo!

Afrikaans!

• 28.Transformation: Reply to this comment

keith brown is really making himself present now…

• 29.Transformation: Reply to this comment

come on cheetahs hold on!

• 30.Transformation: Reply to this comment

what is that contraption in white’s ear?

• 31.Transformation: Reply to this comment

keith brown won this for the brumbies

• 32.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-30:

Water boy had the same…

Entertaining game this… tough for the Cheetahs…

• 33.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this is devastating!

• 34.littlejewhats: Reply to this comment

gutting

• 35.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

And the Australasian fukc nut conspiracy continue. May all you motherfukcers get your day. **** ref, **** commentators, **** crowd. LOL!

• 36.YoMama: Reply to this comment

What is it with New Zealand Referees and Australian Rugby.

THIS IS PATHETIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 37.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Credit to Phil Kearns who more or less said that the Brumbies got away with **** refereeing

• 38.ufo: Reply to this comment

Damn…!!

Cheetahs threw this one away…

• 39.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-38:

How can throw that which is taken out of your hands?

• 40.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

I’m not a Cheetahs fan, but that was a pretty disgusting performance from the ref. Brumbies engaging early on every scrum in the game and not called on it once, then awards the Brumbies some mystery penalties in the last 20 min to hand them the game. And as for the Aussie tv and commentators conveniently ignoring certain incidents and replays…

Very disappointing.

• 41.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-37:

Rubbish… he even pointed out that last penalty…

Cheetah’s chucked this close one through lack of discipline and taking foot off gas…

Reminiscent of last season for them…

22man 85min rugby!

• 42.YoMama: Reply to this comment

The thing that pisses me off the most is how blatant it was. On every scrum the Brumbies went in early and the Cheetahs were penalized.

On the one that was just too obvious, Browneye penalized Strauss for “moving his head”

Isn’t that the same trick that Bryce pulled on the Sharks last year?

• 43.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-41: well if the brumbies never get pinged for early engagement the result has nothing to do with your cliched “22man 85min rugby” piffle. brown was pinging only one side!

• 44.Melchizedek: Reply to this comment

How does Naka Drotske still have a job?

• 45.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

Ref can be very happy with himself after that. I’m pretty sure his orders were to make sure the Brumbies win. Mission accomplished.

• 46.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-42:

Absolutely disgusting. I see a few scribes on Twitter are already for the game to be investigated. Something seemed to click in Keith Brown’s head those last 20min, and he just went on some crazy rampage.

The amount he missed on the side of the Brumbies and “saw” on the side of the Cheetahs was mind-boggling.

• 47.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

The Cheetahs were blatantly cheated but rest assured, the tootless dog,
    Andre Watson will defend the ref. It is high time he gets kicked off the gravy train.
    The refs needs stronger representation.

• 48.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Kak refereeing notwithstanding, the Cheetahs have zero respect for the ball.

2 Minutes from the end they turn over a crucial ball in their 22, and start RUNNING with it. They had the game won, all they needed to do was get out of their half, but instead the guy with the ball tosses a speculative skipp pass out wide, which ends up drifting way forward and straight into Brumbie hands.

How stupid is that? They have this idea that you can score spectacular tries at any time from anywhere, and as a result they play stupid rugby.

That little move cost them the game.

Stupid, stupid, stupid.

• 49.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-41:

No no, the Cheetahs outplayed the Brumbies.

Every time that they weren’t penalized, they scored.

Raaubenheimer penalized for “wrong entry” – straight through the middle.

Cheetahs penalized for using hands in the ruck – after the brumby lying in the ruck raked it back with his foot.

EVERY scrum, the brumbies went in early – Cheetahs penalized.

When the scrum goes through 90deg, the defending team wins the ball – penalty brumbies (and don’t tell me the cheetahs were “walking around” – look at the brumbies loosies…they were going the other way, not holding straight.

10 points to Browneye from Paddy O’Brien and Keith Lawrence.

• 50.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@Melchizedek(Melchizedek)-44:

Simple, he’s a great coach. Call him Midas. He turns veld mud into gold and then does it again the next season after the teams that can’t develop players come shopping.

• 51.Bushboy: Reply to this comment

I am a cheetahs fan and I feel the refereeing was very inconsistent. I don’t mind loosing but not thru the ref’s in consistencies.

• 52.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-45:

He got the Japies.

• 53.Mthokozisi_Big_H_Nozibele: Reply to this comment

What an injustice to the Cheetahs, funny how the scrums were no problem until the Brumbies were about to lose the match in the last quarter of the game.

• 54.BWA: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs robbed in Canberra — Headline on Supersport’s website …. but at the end of the day i guess its Jake 1 – SA 0

• 55.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Irrespective of this result, the Brumbies are sh*t and going nowhere.

• 56.YoMama: Reply to this comment

At the end of the game I was hoping that Strauss would say:

“Er Ja, you Aussies must really be enjoying your Kiwi referees…”

• 57.Tuna: Reply to this comment

Bryce grabbed the gold (best ref) in NZ in 2011. Do we really expect bronze, silver etc to be any better?

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-48: Yeah it was stupid but that silliness didn’t cost them the game. It was the donkey with the whistle. When you get nailed for such BS all the time you do desperate stuff.

• 58.BWA: Reply to this comment

from rugby365 :

The referee blows the Cheetahs for twisting the scrum. That is just plain rubbish, but the Brumbies will take it. Christian Lealiifano slots the penalty and the Brumbies celebrate a 24-23 win. The Cheetahs were robbed, but the Brumbies won’t care how they get the win – any help will do for new coach Jake White and his team. That is full-time. Join us in a few minuites when we head to Dunedin for the encounter between the Highlanders and the Waratahs.

• 59.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-55:

Karma is a killer.

• 60.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Tuna(Tuna)-57:

Well, since they KNEW this clown was blowing them up for every little infringement in their own half, why the hell not get Goosen to kick the ball into the Brumbies 22 and play the game in their half?

But no, like idiots they try to RUN the ball out of their own half.

Boggles the mind.

• 61.BWA: Reply to this comment

lol, SA cricketers sitting in the stands having beer! maybe Morkel needs something stronger, he bowled k@k today ….

• 62.Eish Nuff: Reply to this comment

another manufactured result

• 63.Ngqawa: Reply to this comment

At almost every scrum the Brumbies engaged early & no call from the toss of a ref but when Cheeters hit slightly early, he’s on the whistle. The least said about the last call the better.

• 64.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Usually you have to go to Bisho to get robbed like that!

The Cheetahs do have deficiencies and will lose some games. Games like this though should have been theirs.

For the next week all that we will hear is:

“The Cheetahs have themselves to blame for not closing out the game.”

“South Africans are always whining about referees”

It will add to the frustration and and just make South Africans implode.

After the RWC Bryce show, all South Africans should have united in utter anger and gathered enough woema to moer the blerrie nasals.

It is time that all South Africans from the vet oke in the stands to the rugby administrators stand together and say more.

South Africans are far too willing to bend over and take a spanking from the bullies while they laugh at us.

• 65.YoMama: Reply to this comment

Spineless SuperSport scribes have changed their heading.

Typical weak South Africans. (see last comment above)

Why try to not get the people too riled up? It’s time that we got more riled up and took action.

• 66.BWA: Reply to this comment

Watson is Paddy’s puppet … Paddy was the biggest cheat ever – hated SA teams! … and Hoskins is also a poefter ….

• 67.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@BWA(Dusktill)-58:

Rugby 365 are usually quite good… that must be a ‘ring-in’… last penalty was for not pushing straight… and it was quite clear for all to see lazy players simply walking the scrum ’round’ semi-bound…

• 68.BWA: Reply to this comment

bryce, you know you are behind by 2 points and a penalty will cost you the game … why would you take the risk and not push straight? no one is that stupid … you’d push straight, give them ball on the back foot and force them to go for the drop kick … about only a 10% risk of them being successful!

• 69.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@BWA(Dusktill)-68:

Watch the footage again… clear as daylight… break in concentration in the dying minutes… unfortunately much like last season for the Cheetahs…

22man 85min rugby…

• 70.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

The Cheetahs were mugged in broad daylight, **** that type of mugging doesn’t even happen in Hillbrow, SARU must pull the fack out of this SANZAR nonsense, we can play CC and have our players well rested for the Boks and see were that leaves Australia

• 71.ufo: Reply to this comment

YoMama @ 39

Cheetahs thought they had it won and eased up… common with all saffa sporting teams… and what was most impressive about bulls last week…

We need to be prepared to play flat-out for 90 minutes… and have to up our discipline and accuracy all round…

cheetahs should and could have won this game…

great pity… but only themselves to blame…

• 72.BWA: Reply to this comment

The ref pulled a Pro Legote on himself

• 73.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Officiating is killing the game alone. Too many refs riding on the home crowds Mexican wave. Australian conference is propped up by the reds and the poor officials on the other side. SUPER 15 is only needed by one country and we know who that is.

• 74.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-70:

That will leave the world number two’s playing the world number one’s and the world number 4′s playing themselves back into the stone-age with all their best players long emigrated to ‘paying’ leagues in the NH and SH… smart move eh… doh!

• 75.Jeez: Reply to this comment

And thats why the cheetahs and the lions will once again be the bottom-feeders of the comp. Lions lost a home game to the worst NZ team and the Cheetahs choked, with the help of poor refereeing , against the worst Auz team. ‘The Cheetahs deserved the win’, but thats an old and overplayed song.

Considering the form the Chiefs and the Highlanders are in, the only teams they have a hope in beating are the Force and the Rebels. And who knows if they will be able to beat those teams! Bring on the Kings,but pleaaase get rid of the Lions AND the Cheetahs. Its soo disappointing and pathetic to see the cheetahs loose time and time again. They just dont have what it takes. Id give the Lions a chance, but being bankrupt doesnt help their cause. Id rather see the Kings loose every weekend, but having 3 teams struggling every weekend is a embarrassment. And we want to be the best in the world, loosing so much cant be good for the players confidence and self belief !

• 76.Jeez: Reply to this comment

IMO

• 77.Jeez: Reply to this comment

The refereeing was poor, the brumbies engaged early almost 80% of the time, but the cheetahs got penalized! But they lost because their defense was poor once again. Against a better team they would have been beaten convincingly. They should blame their defense, and neutral parties should complain about the inconsistant and **** refereeing! Players gets sited, but why arent there a ref sighting committee? If the bugger is inconsistant he should at least be told about it. Otherwise the next team, most probably a SA team will be robbed again.

• 78.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-77:
    I picked up the early engagement at the scrums as well. Quite pathetic actually.

• 79.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

How many penalties did the Brumbies get in the last 20 minutes?

@Jeez(Jeez)-77:

Ja but the second last penalty was not for an early engage, it was because Strauss ‘moved his head’… :roll:

• 80.Transformation: Reply to this comment

ashley johnson loses the ball in contact ALL the bloody time: the fourth time he did it led to pat mcCabe’s try! that s(hit is not on!

he isn’t the only cheetahs player that doesn’t protect the ball…

no wonder adriaan strauss’ hair is always shaggy he must be pulling it all the damn time!

• 81.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-79:

yeah, but unfortunately their defense cost them the game against a team that didnt play particularly well…not that penalty.

• 82.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Jeez(Jeez)-81:

You cannot win against a ref intend on making sure the other team wins, defense will get you nowhere.

The reality is that their defense is poor, their ball retention is poor (just ask Trans) and they have a kuk coach but they should have and would have won if not for the ref.

• 83.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

Yapple streudel’ed

• 84.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

so you thought bryce could ref a match to kak and back..?..
    no, there are dark horses riding…

• 85.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-80:
    The Cheetahs were in the game through out and had their chances, it always the case when they play under a referee who is not a S African!
    It may be something to think about!

• 86.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-82:
    When did the Cheetahs manage to win last time under Jonker, Joubert or Mark Lawrence control?
    With a NZ referee the Cheetahs at least were in contention for 80 minutes, taking into account the flying East jet lag and being the visiting team, a loss by 1 point is not bad at all

• 87.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-74: “paying leagues in SH”???
    Where the **** do you think the kiwis and ausies will get enough money to pay their players when SA pulls out? From the gates? Yah right. Just look at your crowd attendance. From tv rights? Yah right, that figure will decrease quickly.
    “Paying league in NH”? Well, I agree with you on that one.
    Fact is, NZ made their bed with the ausies. They sold their souls when they agreed to stuff the Japies because we don’t share their accent, because we don’t share their population make-up, and because they don’t like our coach. WTF was wrong with Peter de Villiers? At least he was funny. ******* racists the whole lot of arsseholes.
    If nz or aus play against any group of terrorists, I’ll support the latter. Have no respect left for those pielkoppies. Soul-less, moral-less bunch.
    LOL. Have a good one.

• 88.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

A case of NZ returning the favor (for WC?). The cycle will continue. Soul-less.

• 89.level: Reply to this comment

Both teams are rubbish . You Africans have short memories. Marius Plonker killed any chance the Canes had against the Stormers

• 90.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Go to hell, Level. We are dealing here with a syndicate of crooked
    refs. Not even lie detector tests and criminal profiling can weed out
    this rot.

• 91.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-64: This should have been done nearly ten years ago! We’ve been losing tests because of refs for a very long time now. The fact that the exposed email about NZ and Aussie refs wanting to “get those jarpies” didn’t lead to an investigation makes the IRB look more than a little dodgey. We all know that every sport is corrupt to some degree; but rugby takes it to a whole new level. When they say it’s New Zealand’s game… I never thought they meant they bought it, lol.

• 92.Alucard: Reply to this comment

@Dazzler(Dazzler)-46: It was a throw-back to the World Cup final!

• 93.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-87:
    You think your team is the only one that gets shafted by poor refereeing?
    As for sailing off to cooler waters leaving us poor Oceanians to fend for ourselves, heard it before, just a fantasy.
    I wasn’t a fan of Pdiv because he was a plonker.
    The ANZAC spirit will hopefully live on well after Ive left this earth, God defend Nz and God bless Australia.

• 94.YoMama: Reply to this comment

http://www.stuff.co.nz/waikato-times/sport/rugby/6521857/Chiefs-bemoan-unequal-treatment-by-ref

• 95.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@level(level)-89:

I doubt any of us will argue with you on that one.

Jonker did the Stormers a favour.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.