Kings make early statement

The champion Pampas XV went down to the EP Kings in round one of the Vodacom Cup, while there were notable wins for the Sharks XV, Leopards, Western Province and Griquas.

The Kings trailed the Pampas 20-8 after 24 minutes in Stellenbosch before fighting back to lead 21-20 at half-time. Luke Watson’s side then scored 13 unanswered points in the second half to claim the bonus-point win.

In East London, the Sharks XV ran in six tries to thrash the Border Bulldogs 42-0, Western Province scored five in their 51-22 thrashing of the Boland Kavaliers at Newlands, and the Leopards claimed a comfortable 23-8 win against the Golden Lions in Potchefstroom.

In the final match of the weekend, Griquas beat the Blue Bulls 36-17 at Loftus, with right wing Jannie Boshoff scoring two of his side’s six tries.

There were also wins for the Free State XV against the SWD Eagles, and the Pumas against the Valke.

Vodacom Cup results (Round 1):

Pampas XV 26 (20) – Tries: Ramiro Moyano, Lisandro Gomez Lopez. Conversions: Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias (2). Penalties: Iglesias (4).
EP Kings 34 (21) – Tries: Boetie Brits (2), Jacques Engelbrecht, Shane Gates. Conversions: Falie Oelschig. Penalties: Oelschig (4).

Border Bulldogs 0
Sharks XV 42 (14) – Tries: Jandre Marais (2), Gouws Prinsloo, Lubabalo Mtembu, Brynard Stander, Pieter-Steph du Toit. Conversions: Prinsloo (6).

Leopards 23 (16) – Tries: Hoffmann Maritz, Wian Fourie, Berty Visser. Conversions: George Tossel. Penalties: Andre Pretorius, Tossel.
Golden Lions 16 (6) – Try: Marais Schmidt. Conversion: Schmidt. Penalties: Schmidt (3).

Free State XV 34 (12) – Tries: Barry Geel, Ockert van Zyl, Philip Burger (2), Siphosethu Tom. Conversions: Marco Mason (2), Burger. Penalty: Mason.
SWD Eagles 30 (17) – Tries: Wentsley Scott, Giant Mtyanda, Elric van Vuuren. Conversions: Van Vuuren (3). Penalties: Van Vuuren (3).

Valke 30 (24) – Tries: Johan de Bruin, Willie Odendaal, Coert Cronje. Conversions: Juan Kotzé (3). Penalties: Kotzé (3).
Pumas 55 (29) – Tries: WIlhelm Loock (2), Coenie van Wyk (2), Dewald Pretorius, JW Jonker, Renaldo Bothma, Faf de Klerk. Conversions: JC Roos (6). Penalty: Roos.

Western Province 51 (28) – Tries: Mike Ledwidge, Ederies Arendse, Reuben Johannes, Michael van der Spuy, Pieter Stemmet. Conversions: Demetri Catrakilis (3), Kurt Coleman. Penalties: Catrakilis (6).
Boland Kavaliers 22 (19) – Tries: Franzel September. Conversion: Ricardo Croy. Penalties: Croy (5).

Blue Bulls 17 (10) – Tries: Clayton Blommetjies, Sampie Mastriet. Conversions: Wesley Dunlop, Jurgen Visser. Penalty: Dunlop.
Griquas 36 (19)
– Tries: Jannie Boshoff (2), Mathew Rosslee, Jacques Coetzee, Ligtoring Landman, Rudi Vogt. Conversions: Marnitz Boshoff (3).