Peters slams Loftus security

Sanzar CEO Greg Peters says steps will be taken to ensure all Super Rugby grounds are more secure after Keven Mealamu was hit by a bottle at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

A plastic bottle was thrown at Mealamu at the end of the fixture against the Bulls, and the culprit then managed to make his way on to the field to confront the Blues captain. The two men had a heated exchange before Bulls wing Bjorn Basson managed to convince the local fan to leave the field.

The incident has been dealt with by the Bulls, who have apologised to the Blues on behalf of the union. A charge of assault has also been laid against the man in question, but as far as Sanzar is concerned, it is an incident that should never have happened and can’t happen again in future.

Peters said he had written to the Bulls for a full report. ‘These incidents are thankfully infrequent but you don’t want any of them,’ he said.

‘We understand police are handling the incident. That’s a separate process, but we will also be making sure that the security provisions the Bulls have in force are reviewed, to ensure they are absolutely the best they can be, because protection, welfare and safety of our players is paramount.

‘If there is anything that can be learned from this incident, it is that we shall be making sure all our grounds are as safe as they possibly can be. You don’t want players having to look over their shoulders and be worried about what is going on behind them.’

185 Comments

• 1.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Typical blue bull supporter behaviour,and people wonder why I don’t go to moftus.
    Atleast there is always 2 box tickets including food and booze available for me for any game at Kingspark,including tests.

• 2.Citizen: Reply to this comment

Its everything at Loftus, not just the drunken fans, the swearing, getting crushed at the gates trying to use their stupid card readers to allow the fans in. Its a mentality thing in Pretoria an attitude of belligerence and arrogance that crosses over to women and children in the fans.The ‘fans’(certain sections of the crowd to be sure) lets use this phrase loosely as they could more easily be called ‘zealots’ have absolutely no respect for anyone other than their own bigoted views and actions..The bottle throwing idiot on the field is a symptom of all that is wrong with certain (boozed up) Blue Bull fans..I’m certainly not going back to the stadium anytime soon.

• 3.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Tacticus has found a new idol.This idiot is a hero in 99% of the bulls fans eyes.

• 4.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Oh dear…

At least this incident has allowed some of the girls here to get a few things off their chests.

• 5.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-4:
    So just wanting to watch rugby without drunk idiots and swearing is a outburst to you?

• 6.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

next up bryce… :grin:

• 7.stew: Reply to this comment

Disgraceful behaviour – has to be dealt with harshly , the Bulls union needs to make an example not good for rugby

• 8.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

Isn’t the surprising thing about this not that it happened, but that it only happened now?

• 9.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Please can we ban the supporter from all venues in SA. We dont want this turning into football.

• 10.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Also, ban the people he came with / was watching with. They should have stopped him as well.

• 11.garth: Reply to this comment

That’s why I moved out of Pretoria. Some crazy mtr-fkrs living there.

• 12.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Remember when Van Zyl tried to tackle the one Kiwi. What venue was that?
    It was shamefull.

• 13.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@BULLET(BULLET)-12:

The almighty KINGS PARK!!!

• 14.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

This happens so seldom I don’t see the big deal at all. Punish the oke and that’s it.

I watched Ross Kemp on gangs with the Polish football hooligans. Now that’s bad.

• 15.garth: Reply to this comment

@BlueBlood(BlueBlood)-14: Why does it always happen in SA and nowhere else? Why is it always an Afrikaaner?

• 16.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Dawn – I thought it was. Horrendous that!
    Blueblood – lets hope that we dont go that way. II say punish him so bad (life ban) that people cringe at the thought.

These players are role models to kids, and should be treated with mutual respect no matter how much we hate to see our teams losing.

• 17.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Garth – Its probably got more to do with booze than anything else.
    Now I dont want beer to be banned from the games, but I would rather see booze banned than rugby turning towards hooliganism.

• 18.garth: Reply to this comment

At the very least they should ban glass bottles and hard spirits. They also need to make an example of this twot.

• 19.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-15:

You got a big wooden spoon out today

• 20.garth: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-19: No man. It’s fcking embarrassing.

• 21.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Piet van Zyl is a blue bull supporter who travelled down to Kings Park to watch the test,his clothing proved that aswell.I say errect high fences at moftus to keep these animals at bay.

• 22.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

Banning booze at soccer matches in Europe hasn’t stopped Holiganism over there. Its a mentality thing. Alcohol is sold freely in Europe at rugby matches and a lot of fans get very drunk at some of the games, they just don’t behave like animals whilst under the influence. I think a big part of it comes from people who have actually plaid the game, have a large amount of respect for the opposition, after having a played a game for 80 minutes and tried to beat the **** out of each other, they then meet up in the bar and have a beer and a chat to each other as friends afterwards. Soccer is pure hate for the opposition in a lot of instances. There are always exceptions.

• 23.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-18:

glass bottles are banned. article says this was a plastic bottle. probably a coke bottle with klippies mixed in.

• 24.Namblack: Reply to this comment

LOL.

Not so long ago everyone on this blog vowed that if Bryce Lawrence was ever to put foot on soil in SA he will be a dead man. Most people were actually serious.

• 25.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

I’m suprised Kevvie didn’t headbutt him.

• 26.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

I reckon they must let the bulls play all their games away.

• 27.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Lol at fernley who thinks he’s liberal and sophisticated because he has a plot by the dam and he is schnacking some indian sheila’s roti.

• 28.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-26:
    tjop…

• 29.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

C unther,I have a stand at the dam,not a plot.

• 30.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

I have never claimed to be liberal,sophisticated,have manners or class.I don’t and still I am better than the common bulls supporters.

• 31.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Woohoo!!

• 32.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Look, my communitycan be broken down roughly as follows:

500 000 people – common Jack Parrow types.
    500 000 people – poor, but churchgoing, salt of the earth types
    1000 000 people – professonal, educated middle class folk
    500 000 – yuppie, liberal “forgot their roots” type of people.

That’s the 2.5 million left in SA.

Then there’s another 500 000 or so overseas, pretty much spread between all 4 groups.

The Bulls have their fare share of categories 1-3, but very few of the last category, who are mostly Stormers fans.

• 33.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-32:

fare = fair.

• 34.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-27: hahahahaha :lol:

• 35.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this thread is just the start i needed to my day!

kak funny! :D

• 36.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-35:

Have you got a CD name for that Queen Latifah number?

Please?

• 37.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Fernley you make the average Bulls supporter look like the Daily Lama.

• 38.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-32:

Where do I fit in???

• 39.Dawn: Reply to this comment

“I have never claimed to be liberal,sophisticated,have manners or class.I don’t and still I am better than the common bulls supporters.”

Classic!

• 40.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-27:
    naughty gunther…
    thats a white card penalty with the issue to be referred to the citing commisioner for suspected foul play :grin:

• 41.BWA: Reply to this comment

Keven watch out on Saturday, Dawn told me that she’s going to throw you with her papsak ….

• 42.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-36: the album is called Black Reign, came out in 1993

• 43.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-32:

Your community?
    Which one is that? I am not sure if I am included or not?

Is it Afrikaner? Previous Advantaged?

Also curious about your definition of middle class?

• 44.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-42:

Dankie

Off to Kalahari I go

• 45.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit(Biscuit)-43:

All I want to know is where I fit in!

• 46.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit(Biscuit)-43:

No, you don’t form part of it.

Your community has a different breakdown.

It’s roughly like this:

500 000 common Fernly types
    500 000 professional middle class people
    500 000 upper class Sandton, southern suburbs types.

That’s the 1.5 million left in SA.

Then there are about half a million or so living in Canada, Aus, NZ and England. Apparently the New SA wasn’t all their liberal sensibilities thought it would be, and they grabbed the earliest available first class ticket outta here after 94.

• 47.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@BULLET(BULLET)-17:

I agree and disagree.

I have witnessed very bad behaviour (violence) close up (a few metres from me without being involved) at Newlands, Loftus and Ellis Park.
    Seen it in Durban but not close.

Have also been subjected to abuse (not banter which is cool) at the same 3 venues

I can say w/o a shadow of a dount.
    1) Everytime there was alcohol involved
    2) On none of the occassions it was beer fueled. It was always spirit fueled. How do I know? I could see what they were drinking and in the case of the abuse I could smell it.

Ban all spirits inside the stadium. People entering already hammered should be chucked out

• 48.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-46:

And me?

• 49.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Sad thing is this idiot will end up spoiling the experience for the rest of us.

prison style fences to be erected.

Sad.

• 50.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-48:

You’re part of yet another community.

Not sure about it’s breakdown, but you’re from the classy part of it, I’m pretty sure.

• 51.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-50:

it’s = its.

• 52.BWA: Reply to this comment

Biscuit, your going to a rugby game … not ballet! grow a pair or watch the game at home with popcorn and pepsi light!

• 53.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-1:
    Stop being a c ock.
    You get these types at every stadium anywhere in the world.

This exact thing happened at Kings Park against the Chiefs a few years ago. Donald was pelted with plastic cups after Keith Clown(the same kak ref from this weekend against the cheetahs) gave a dodgy penalty at the death which meant the Sharks lost by 1 point.

I would suspect the same type of person was guilty of that incident as well. Probably from the Bluff.

Its an unfortanate part of sport and I wish they would find a solution to it.
    After Bryce Lawrence has reffed a game in SA though.

• 54.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@BWA(Dusktill)-52:

You sound like PdV with his Ballet TuTu comment
    And a symptom of the kind of problem we have

a) Violence is never, ever acceptable
    b) Abuse is never, ever acceptable
    c) Banter – Teasing opposition supporters, ribbing even a few clever insults…. thats great and part of the game

I just noticed a trend that when I have seen violence and abuse it has been accompanied by brandwyn, vodka, whisky etc

Oh and btw. I have been to all the grounds in SA… often.
    I have also gone to quite a few foreign stadiums

I like a few beers before the game,, some banter, more beer after the game

• 55.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit(Biscuit)-54:

I totally agree with you.

Beers create a good vibe. Spirits just create trouble.

Ban all spirits at venues.

• 56.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit(Biscuit)-43: when Tac mentions his people or his community, there’s no doubt he is talking afrikaners. those who don’t have an “inborn” sense of entitlement and are mostly salt of the earth :D

• 57.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-56:

There’s no controversy here, Trannie. South Africa is made up of many different communities. Deal with it.

• 58.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-46:

At least I know where I stand ;-)
    Normally hate being pigeon holed but I accept the groupings for the puirpose of this article.

Can’t argue about *some* of the 500k that left.
    Some left in the 80s of course and some left for 2 years and never returned.
    Flip side mis some are returning now (economic reasons)

• 59.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit(Biscuit)-54:
    agreed, some beer yes but no spirits.
    i never understand the point of watching rugby when mindlessly drunk..?.. whats the point then..?.

• 60.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-44:
    click click.

ding dong.

Delores

• 61.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-60:

Ja

They gonna slap me with one of those big hand thingies

• 62.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-53:

I remember that.

It was probably fernley.

• 63.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-61:

maybe just a love tickle.

• 64.BWA: Reply to this comment

you okes should come to PE and see Harlequins & Progress play! drunk supporters go to the game with knifes and broken bottles for the fight and hope a rugby game breaks out! the incident @ Loftus is like a kinderkransdans compared to what happens at a harlequins/progress derby!!! more often than not people and even kids don’t make it out alive!! Shocking really!!

• 65.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@BWA(Dusktill)-64:

really.

• 66.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

It happens at any Stadium!! At Newlands they boo and slander your mother “jou ma se p@#$” etc… Durban was the bottles last year… Ellis park is hugely racist!! And they wanna moer the shark “piesang boere”!

• 67.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

lets not forget these incidents from our kiwi cousins

November 30 – During the first ODI in the Chappell-Hadlee Series between Australia and New Zealand at Eden Park, Auckland, New Zealand fans threw fruit, beer bottles, tennis balls and golf balls at Australian players. Five fans and five streakers were arrested and another 40 were ejected>

Dundedin 2009
    Future tests in Dunedin may be “jeopardised” after members of the crowd threw bottles at the celebrating French team at Carisbrook on Saturday night, with the New Zealand Rugby Union saying it will consider the incident when allocating future matches.

or this in 2010

Ugly crowd behaviour at Eden Park last night overshadowed the return of international rugby league to the prestigious Auckland ground for the first time in 22 years.

From the outset, the Kangaroos, who won the test 34-20, were left in no two minds about how welcome they were when a spate of the 44,000 in attendance booed during their national anthem.

Skipper Cameron Smith attempted to downplay the controversy but admitted afterwards it was the first time in his career Australia’s anthem had been booed.

Adding to the chaos was the fact that midway through the first half, a streaker managed to evade security guards and run on to the field while play was live.

He was eventually caught by security personnel but not before leaving Eden Park bosses red-faced given this same venue is set to host the Rugby World Cup final in less than a year.

Also of concern was the fact that rowdy fans attempted to throw bottles at the Australian players.

One only narrowly missed Smith when he was lining up for a shot at goal.

VERY EMBRABOER

the way you little angels have been carrying on.

Wela kapela…..

• 68.David: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-59:
    “i never understand the point of watching rugby when mindlessly drunk..?.. whats the point then..?.”

You’re obviously not a Lions supporter.

• 69.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-68: :razz:

• 70.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-67:
    there cant be many canoes left in hobbitsville.

@David(David)-68:

• 71.cane: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-68:

“i never understand the point of watching rugby when mindlessly drunk..?.. whats the point then..?.”

I find it helps with the inevitable greiving process to follow.

• 72.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Flippin disgusting behavior. And how is the fat cow on the side screaming the odds ? Nice one…scum…fat b$%ch

• 73.cane: Reply to this comment

Has the intruder been named and shamed?

Early reports on here, suggested he was a Bulls Manager?

Unlikely I know.

• 74.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-71: What should happen now is that the Bulls should not be allowed to open their gates for the next game at Loftus. Empty stadium and they lose their ticket sales for a match. Its been done before in football ?

Low class white trash….

• 75.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-73: No dude, that is some scum bag, probably from the Western side of Pretoria.

Bulls should be penalized for this and heavily.

And I am not just saying it because it was the Bulls – same should have happened after the Springboks vs. All Blacks Durban incident in 2002. Where was stadium security ? Probably suiping down their Klipdrift and coke as well.

• 76.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-73:
    please reefer post# 67.
    we could ask the same of you.

• 77.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-76: Are you honestly of the mindset that the actions at Loftus this weekend can be justified by what has happened at other stadiums ?

Are you 13 years old ?

• 78.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-72:

Indeed it reminds me of the Kings Park faithful vs Chiefs a couple of years ago.

Or you guys booing Frans Steyn.

@cane(cane)-73:

He has been named and shamed and arrested.

Nama thought he was the Bulls manger but has sobered up now.

• 79.cane: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-76:

Well fat Pieter Van Zyl got named. Though I don’t think he took any shame in this.

So why not this dude.

Everything in post 67 is true.

Concerning the Kiwis / Kangaroos match. This was a double header, so the patrons had 2 hours to get drunk before kickoff.

Booze is definately a factor in unruly behaviour

• 80.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-77:
    huh..?.. who’s justifying anything..?..

are you mentally challenged or intellectually disabled ?

• 81.trupisero: Reply to this comment

Ag okes, we all know that its only 99% of bulls supporters that give the others a bad name.

• 82.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-78: Only a Bulls fan would try to create a comparison between booing and throwing a bottle at the opposition.

But then from the language that came out of the old fat cow that was standing on the sidelines, we can see what manners are taught in Pretoria.

Nice….

• 83.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-80: Certainly sounds to me like you are. But, the ‘i love u bakkiesbotha’ in your nic explains a lot. I am definitely not mentally challenged, I don’t support the Bulls.

• 84.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-79: You aren’t going to stop booze at Loftus. Brandewyn and rugby go together in Pretoria.

• 85.cane: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-74:

A bit harsh Dusky.

I don’t think you can blame “The Bulls” for the actions of one person.
    They where quick to apologise and no real harm done.

• 86.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Dusky gets more irritable by the day.

• 87.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-79:
    difference is, cane…that in sa there is actually a history of perpetrators being identified and punished accordingly, yet we’re still labelled by ‘some’ with less than stellar records of their own which that ‘some’ have an inability to admit.

wrt to this guy, he’s already been charged criminally so its just a matter of time before we know his identity.

• 88.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-85: I realize this however, my reason for supporting a penalty against the union is based on the complete lack of security. What was this scum doing on the field in the first place ?

Geez, I so wish Mealamu had smacked his face in. Unfortunately, Kevin Mealamu is way too much of a professional. Did you see how the little wap almost went on his knees when Mealamu walked over ? Coward.

• 89.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-82:

**** happens and it doesn’t matter WHO these people support.

They need to be punished to the full extent of the law.

Funny enough I can remember the Sharks fans being named and shamed or even punished for thrwing glasses at the Chiefs a couple of years ago.

Or any kind of statement or apology from the Union.

pretty standard fare for them no?

Only an immature stunted piece of gristle such as yourself would try and make some kind of generalisation out of this.

The sooner you fukkoff out of this country the better.

• 90.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-83:

oh ok, i see… so you are just a loser then…

• 91.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-85:

Dusky has issues.

He is about to be an ex saffa.

We are counting the days.

Hopefully he takes anyone who shares his genetic code with him.

• 92.cane: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-87:

A couple of year ago, All Australian Super 14 Players, were polled on their favourite and least favourite Venues.

Pretoria was unanimously the least favourite. Due basically to the boorish behaviour of fans, both inside and outside of Loftus.

However you make a good point………………………………..No country has a monopoly on morons.

• 93.HHS: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-88:If a spectator wants to get on that field, he/she will get onto the field. No matter what stadium. How many security guards do think sit around the field? It’s only a hand full and they are responsible for thousands. Also it was the end of the game where focus is shifted to the presentation area and the tunnel… It’s not like this clown ran over the whole field to get to Kevin.
    Bulls did enough… the clown will not go to any sporting event soon.

• 94.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-92: Disagree.
    Its the women, cane.

They love them some Cape Town and Durban women.

• 95.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-91: I am long gone chop.

• 96.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-93: Yes – agreed however, this in-breeder stood around for a few minutes, loitering….and nothing.

• 97.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-89: :lol:

i know you work at immigrations, so if you process his papers speedily then you wish at the end of your post will be granted sooner rather than later ;)

• 98.cane: Reply to this comment

Easy guys…………………………………………..don’t let this weasel who bottled Kevey deflect your attention away from the real enemy.

Anzacs

• 99.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Dawn is part of the papbek lovegap cape crusaders group.

• 100.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-92: Pretoria doesn’t have a complete monopoly on morons, but they have the dominant market share. Rugby is important in Pretoria – its one of the only good things they have that they cling to.

• 101.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-97:

We need this hateful little knobber far away long ago.

he has the the EQ of a five year old.

We need to make sure that he doesn’t come back though.

• 102.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Where has dusky immigrated to?

• 103.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-91:
    dusky is our version of poops, who also spent as much time outside of his country of birth as in it. poop’s saving grace though was his vitriolically psychopathic loyalty to his country of birth.

dusky’s just vitriolically psychopathic….

• 104.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Dusky does sound bitter for someone who is living in utopia now…

• 105.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-92:
    you’re on song tonight, caner…

what’re you drinking ?

@cane(cane)-98:
    no, its just the keewees we hate and those two ex-africa dooses… poorcock and vickleman.

• 106.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

My bro cane drinks Tui.

• 107.cane: Reply to this comment

This from Pissant yesterday:

Blues accepts apology from Bulls.
    As a result of the unruly behaviour of a Vodacom Bulls fan at yesterday’s game at Loftus Versfeld, Blue Bulls Company CEO, Barend van Graan has telephonically apologised to Mr Bryce Anderson the manager of the Blues.
    Van Graan comments;
    “Our PRO Mr Ian Schwartz apologised to Blues captain Keven Mealamu at the post match conference. Mr Mealamu not only accepted his apology on behalf of the Company, but was also impressed with the way in which we immediately sorted out the matter. I have spoken to Mr. Anderson and apologised on behalf of our board of directors, managers, Bulls team and supporters. I am delighted that Mr. Anderson and Mr. Mealamu have accepted our apology for this unfortunate incident.”

So hey ………………………………..we are all friends again.

• 108.cane: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-105:

I’m having a drink with old Johnny Walker, and his Brothers Blackie and Red.

• 109.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

How long have you been a alkie cane?

• 110.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-105:

Caner is on the Dark and Stormies.

to match his mood.

• 111.cane: Reply to this comment

Why is everyone so down on Dusky.

He hasn’t said anything different than half the other posts on the thread.

• 112.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Imagine if Dusky immigrated to NZ.Bwhahaha!

• 113.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-109:

an alkie fern.

How long have you been AN alkie fern?

As opposed to

How long have you had a A plot next to the dam Fernley?

• 114.cane: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-109:

Since the day I stood up in front of 22 other men and women and said these words:

Hello my name is cane,
    I had my first drink,
    the first time I got thirsty.

And I’ve been drinking whenever I have had a thirst ever since.

• 115.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-106:
    ok, figured him for a spirits throwing..errr.. i mean drinking type.

@cane(cane)-108:
    careful there… sneaky farkers the three of them…runs in the family… have a habit of jumping you from behind when you’re not looking and least expect it. like immediately before needing to drive home or just when you need to look convincing in your explanation to the wife about how you barely had one drink for the night.

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-110:
    ok, must be bottle number two…or three..

• 116.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Cane do you work at Wellington Airport?

• 117.Atlas: Reply to this comment

That wasn’t me

• 118.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-114:

Won’t you please make friends with Fern.

He is so pathetically needy.

• 119.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-112:

• 120.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-114:

And please answer his intrusive questions.

Where do you work. Do you work at the airport. Do you work in immigration. Where do you live. What do you drink.

Shame he’s like a puppy with a wagging tail. Please help him.

He has no friends.

• 121.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-117:

What went down in the loesie?

• 122.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Dawn when I looked at your fb profile pic it was evident that you are needy.You need botox,front teeth and some serious plastic surgery.

• 123.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-122:

Behave yourself Fernley.

before somebody tells your little onion bhaji what a pig she’s banging.

• 124.cane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-118:

NO.

• 125.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-121: It sucked. Had Lions fans from Benoni and they cheered for the Blues. Idiots. At least I can console myself that I don’t live in Benoni.

• 126.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-125: And my team can catch up-and-unders.

• 127.cane: Reply to this comment

Watch yourself Fernly.

Or you will incur the wrath of many.

• 128.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-125:

basterauds.

The Republic of Benoni.

The Final Frontier.

• 129.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

classy fern…classy….

• 130.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Gave them a few pizzas half time, the fat guy took one pizza for himself. These lions are greedy and don’t know how the world works.

• 131.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-122: ……………

• 132.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-125: Can’t really blame them, Atlas. Benoni residents are generally pretty decent folk. And the way the Bulls fans were making predictions beforehand, the poor Blues were on a hiding to nothing. Your Benoni mates were only trying to level the playing field a bit by cheering for the underdog. And that’s admirable.

• 133.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-132: NO. They watched the Lions game on our Plasma Wide Screen in the LOSIE beforehand and was pissed off and got drunk and they won’t be invited back. See, we altwee can play the nice game

• 134.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-133: Altwee can be “admirable”

• 135.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-132: Just got it. Bit slow today. You are “pretty decent folk” . Bwahahahaha

• 136.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-133: If it’s any consolation, I was pissed off too, and I’m not from Benoni. The only thing that prevented me from klapping the Shiraz too hard was my son’s movie night at the nursery school. Some parents can be very judgmental.

• 137.cane: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-120:

I do not work at Wellington Airport. And I do not work for Immigration or Customs.

I am however, in close liaison with the above.
    And I do know Fernly’s real name.

I have had Fernly flagged as an:
    “Unconfirmed but reliably sourced ” drug mule.

He can expect a prostrate examination free of charge next time he pops over.

• 138.cane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-136:

Ice Age or Peter Pan?

• 139.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-138: We went old-school. Jungle Book.

Look for the bare necessities
    The simple bare necessities
    Forget about your worries and your strife
    I mean the bare necessities
    Old Mother Nature’s recipes
    That brings the bare necessities of life

• 140.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-136: My best client was there, and he is fun. Pretending to boo the bulls. He is from Benoni. I’m just peedoff because I stopped smoking for a few days ago. Sorry

• 141.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-139: Now altogether.
    BEER necessities
    the simple BEER necessities
    forget about your worries and your strife
    I wan’t the BEER necessities
    Old mother nature’s recipes
    That brings the BEER necessities of life

Next one please

• 142.cane: Reply to this comment

I feel a thirst coming on.

• 143.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Dawn must just leave me alone,she always makes k ak comments on my comments that is not even adressed to her.I ignore her but she always starts.I wish she would just ignore me and let me be in peace.
    Real simple.

• 144.Dawn: Reply to this comment

• 145.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-137:
    in that case could you tag dusky too, or is it too late. he’s probably slipped through already headed for lower hutt by the sound of things.

• 146.cane: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-143:

You started this shiit years ago Fernly, back even before your untimely death.

• 147.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-130:

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-143:
    yes, but consider that its in the nature of your responses that you reveal yourself for the likely person you are…

thats your homework for today…dwell on it…

• 148.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-142: You gave me some advice last year just before the WC. ( weather) Went to Auckland and drove down to Wellington. Watched the games and NZ people are great and love their rugby. Had a great time

• 149.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-143: Crikey! How old are you?

• 150.cane: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-147:

” its in the nature of your responses that you reveal yourself for the likely person you are…”

You obviously did your homework Bakkies……………..

• 151.willievz: Reply to this comment

I am ashamed to be a South African today.

I hope the person / people involved in the bottle throwing will be banned from rugby stadiums for life.

Apologies to all Kiwis. Please don’t paint all Saffas with the same brush.

• 152.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-141: That’ll work too.

• 153.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-143: ………………………….

• 154.cane: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-148:

Glad to hear it Atlas.

All of us here, loved having The Cup staged in our back yard.
    But most of all, we loved having people from all over, supporting their Teams.

It was great, the way all and sundry got behind it.

And the only fight I saw,
    was between a loud mouthed Frog and a pissed Paddy.

• 155.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-154: I hope you enjoyed it, caner. I hope you got the full experience. Because it’s not heading your way for another quarter century, by which time you should be a geriatric old man who pees in a bag and hides his own easter eggs.

• 156.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-151: What ever happend to the guy that threw a glass bottle at Naas (at Newlands) in the 80′s or early 90′s.
    You get these idiots. Don’t make a big deal about it.

• 157.cane: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-151:

Hey Willie,

One drunk Bully Boy does not = The R of SA.

Look at the positives:
    - No one was hurt.
    - The bottle was plastic ( not sure how full it was, but only a fool would throw a full one)
    - Basson stepped in as quickly as he possibly could.
    - Bulls got off an apology ASAP.
    - The Tosser has been charged.
    - Apology accepted with grace.

Storm in a D cup really.

• 158.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-154: But at least they were able to break free from national stereotypes.

• 159.cane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-155:

25 years…………………………………………………………………….I will count myself lucky to be still peeing.

• 160.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-154: Took 3 junior rugby teams over. Was fantastic. Every kid ( Including myself) got a All Black jersey after we lost. Glad you won. It will be the last time. Kea Ora

• 161.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Cane is a gentleman

Stop hassling him

• 162.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-159: Oh, you’ll pee alright. You might only realise this some time later though.

• 163.cane: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-158:

When someone travels 12,000 miles, and forks out 4000 quid for the experience of seeing their Team in a RWC, it is understandable that some stereotypical behaviour may occur if results to not go according to plan.

Especially when some pounce Frog rubs your nose in it.

• 164.cane: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-160:

Aussie 2,
    SA 2,
    NZ 2.

Bragging rights go to the next SH side to pull it off.

And make no bones about it……………………………….it’s tough, things have to go your way.
    And being the current was Champion is a liability.

Until now.

• 165.cane: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-160:
    Did you get to the South Island Atlas?

Christchurch had been ruled out of hosting any games, but still the most beautiful landscapes in NZ.

• 166.cane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-162:

• 167.Nils: Reply to this comment

On the positive note it was just a water bottle, no beer/spirit bottle, stone or anything else more dangerous if hit properly. Sincere apologies offered, readily accepted, culprit charged and security lessons hopefully learnt for the future.

Time to move on.

• 168.Nils: Reply to this comment

@BULLET(BULLET)-12: “Remember when Van Zyl tried to tackle the one Kiwi.”

It was poor old Irish referee McHugh in Durban. And Piet got what was coming to him from the players before security guys reached the field.

• 169.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-150:
    why thank you cane…
    oh and keep on walking :grin:

• 170.cane: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-167:

Concise and to the point.

Amen.

(now lets hope these Mongrels will be as generous to my folk, should the same thing occur).

• 171.Nils: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-170: I hope they won’t have the opportunity and all crowds will be in good spirits and not loaded with spirits.

Beer, banter and nobody hurt.

• 172.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-165: Only staid on the North Island. Very good rugby. lovely people. No time to write what I think (good) of the place. Going back in September for another tour. Can’t wait.

• 173.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-172: staid….hahahaha

• 174.cane: Reply to this comment

@Atlas(Atlas)-173:

Go South Young Man………………………………………….Go south.
    Cold as hell but WTF……………………………………..walk across a lake.

• 175.superBul: Reply to this comment

False reporting of the incident is more damaging to SA.
    Here is Keo,s version
    “A plastic bottle was thrown at Mealamu at the end of the fixture against the Bulls, and the culprit then managed to make his way on to the field to confront the Blues captain. The two men had a heated exchange before Bulls wing Bjorn Basson managed to convince the local fan to leave the field”

News24
    “Mealamu was sitting on the sideline, after being a late substitution in the Blues’ 29-23 win on Saturday, when he was hit in the head by a bottle from a Bulls fan, who had made his way onto the field at the end of the game”

Now watch this video. I know it is more damaging to the Bulls , but look at the sequence of events.
    Spectator was on the field attending to the injured Bjorn.
    kevin then came and said something
    Then the frustration of the spectator boiled over
    and as he walked away he tossed the bottle in the direction of Kevin.

Even when Bjorn helped the spectator of the field he showed some empathy to the spectator.
    Did he take offense of what Kevin said or did his anger just boil over.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zDy2hcUXvvE

• 176.superBul: Reply to this comment

one of the comments on N24 after the video was watched

“Watch the video captured on YOUTUBE by a spectator attending the game. The oom was actually busy helping Bjorn get up as his Bulls team mates and medical staff was nowhere to be seen. Mealamu then walks up to them and as he walks away the oom throws the plastic water bottle as an afterthought. There was nothing malicious and you could see it wasn’t his intention to hurt anyone. It is always important to see/understand the context in which something happens. What is shocking is the comments by the Aunties afterwards”

• 177.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Wow! After watching the clip of the “incident” I can see it has COMPLETELY BEEN BLOWN WAAAAAAAY OUT OF PROPORTION!

If anything Mealamu should be severely admonished for escalating the issue when he should simply have WALKED AWAY. The plastic bottle was hardly thrown with any malice.

• 178.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

What do you have to say now Greg Peters?

T***er.

• 179.spartan: Reply to this comment

Hes lucky he didnt throw that bottle at Rene
    cause he would have got his face reaRRANGERED

• 180.Sir Rugga: Reply to this comment

I find it interesting how some people are trying to compare the bottle throwing incident to the flour bombing incident during the much maligned Springbok tour in the 80′s

You can not compare the two on one hanbd you have a nut case fan from SA on the other Hand you have tens of thousands of people protesting for the rights and freedoms of Black and Coloured South Africans.
    South Africans should be grateful for what the flour bombers and all the NZ protesters did it brough huge attention to the dispicable and abhorent acts of a suppressive and unjust white regime.

The tour should never have gone ahead and I for one am absolutely proud of what the protesters did, i did not then nor do I now support racism of any kind.

The fact some people on this forum are so thick to even try and connect the two incidents just shows how stupid some rugby fans really are!!!

• 181.peachy: Reply to this comment

This is not a very good look a nation wanting another team to join the super Rugby no matter how triver it may look to some its a disgrace get your house in order befor applying for a extra team no player should worry about some clown wanting to make a name for himself with stupidy

• 182.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@superBul(superBul)-176: Die oom is a p#%$. Die tannie en hulle entourage is a klomp lae klas gomgat flou nul ondersteuners. Hulle taalgebruik is dus heeltemal normaal. Die enigste tyd wanneer hulle nie sulke taal gebruik nie is as hulle kerk toe gaan op Sondag.

• 183.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@peachy(peachy)-181: I would love to meet the ‘oom’ in a dark alleyway when he doesn’t have 50 000 people behind him wearing the same color jersey. I have a few things I would like to discuss with him. I will teach him a few lessons in manners that he clearly never got taught by his mother. Even at his age, I can see he still has a few things to learn.

• 184.Shark: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-183:

Would be funny if it turns out he was a boxer and still trains. He might whoop ya arse ;-)

• 185.Shark: Reply to this comment

@Sir Rugga(Sir Rugga)-180:

A more recent event was the first T-20 game between the Proteas and the Black Craps.

Our fielders were being abused and taunted by the rowdy crowds. That’s not what cricket is all about. The fielders are isolated so intimidation is easy.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.