Peters slams Loftus security

Sanzar CEO Greg Peters says steps will be taken to ensure all Super Rugby grounds are more secure after Keven Mealamu was hit by a bottle at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.

A plastic bottle was thrown at Mealamu at the end of the fixture against the Bulls, and the culprit then managed to make his way on to the field to confront the Blues captain. The two men had a heated exchange before Bulls wing Bjorn Basson managed to convince the local fan to leave the field.

The incident has been dealt with by the Bulls, who have apologised to the Blues on behalf of the union. A charge of assault has also been laid against the man in question, but as far as Sanzar is concerned, it is an incident that should never have happened and can’t happen again in future.

Peters said he had written to the Bulls for a full report. ‘These incidents are thankfully infrequent but you don’t want any of them,’ he said.

‘We understand police are handling the incident. That’s a separate process, but we will also be making sure that the security provisions the Bulls have in force are reviewed, to ensure they are absolutely the best they can be, because protection, welfare and safety of our players is paramount.

‘If there is anything that can be learned from this incident, it is that we shall be making sure all our grounds are as safe as they possibly can be. You don’t want players having to look over their shoulders and be worried about what is going on behind them.’

185 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

• 51.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-50:

it’s = its.

• 52.BWA: Reply to this comment

Biscuit, your going to a rugby game … not ballet! grow a pair or watch the game at home with popcorn and pepsi light!

• 53.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-1:
    Stop being a c ock.
    You get these types at every stadium anywhere in the world.

This exact thing happened at Kings Park against the Chiefs a few years ago. Donald was pelted with plastic cups after Keith Clown(the same kak ref from this weekend against the cheetahs) gave a dodgy penalty at the death which meant the Sharks lost by 1 point.

I would suspect the same type of person was guilty of that incident as well. Probably from the Bluff.

Its an unfortanate part of sport and I wish they would find a solution to it.
    After Bryce Lawrence has reffed a game in SA though.

• 54.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@BWA(Dusktill)-52:

You sound like PdV with his Ballet TuTu comment
    And a symptom of the kind of problem we have

a) Violence is never, ever acceptable
    b) Abuse is never, ever acceptable
    c) Banter – Teasing opposition supporters, ribbing even a few clever insults…. thats great and part of the game

I just noticed a trend that when I have seen violence and abuse it has been accompanied by brandwyn, vodka, whisky etc

Oh and btw. I have been to all the grounds in SA… often.
    I have also gone to quite a few foreign stadiums

I like a few beers before the game,, some banter, more beer after the game

• 55.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit(Biscuit)-54:

I totally agree with you.

Beers create a good vibe. Spirits just create trouble.

Ban all spirits at venues.

• 56.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit(Biscuit)-43: when Tac mentions his people or his community, there’s no doubt he is talking afrikaners. those who don’t have an “inborn” sense of entitlement and are mostly salt of the earth :D

• 57.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-56:

There’s no controversy here, Trannie. South Africa is made up of many different communities. Deal with it.

• 58.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-46:

At least I know where I stand ;-)
    Normally hate being pigeon holed but I accept the groupings for the puirpose of this article.

Can’t argue about *some* of the 500k that left.
    Some left in the 80s of course and some left for 2 years and never returned.
    Flip side mis some are returning now (economic reasons)

• 59.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit(Biscuit)-54:
    agreed, some beer yes but no spirits.
    i never understand the point of watching rugby when mindlessly drunk..?.. whats the point then..?.

• 60.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-44:
    click click.

ding dong.

Delores

• 61.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-60:

Ja

They gonna slap me with one of those big hand thingies

• 62.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-53:

I remember that.

It was probably fernley.

• 63.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-61:

maybe just a love tickle.

• 64.BWA: Reply to this comment

you okes should come to PE and see Harlequins & Progress play! drunk supporters go to the game with knifes and broken bottles for the fight and hope a rugby game breaks out! the incident @ Loftus is like a kinderkransdans compared to what happens at a harlequins/progress derby!!! more often than not people and even kids don’t make it out alive!! Shocking really!!

• 65.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@BWA(Dusktill)-64:

really.

• 66.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

It happens at any Stadium!! At Newlands they boo and slander your mother “jou ma se p@#$” etc… Durban was the bottles last year… Ellis park is hugely racist!! And they wanna moer the shark “piesang boere”!

• 67.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

lets not forget these incidents from our kiwi cousins

November 30 – During the first ODI in the Chappell-Hadlee Series between Australia and New Zealand at Eden Park, Auckland, New Zealand fans threw fruit, beer bottles, tennis balls and golf balls at Australian players. Five fans and five streakers were arrested and another 40 were ejected>

Dundedin 2009
    Future tests in Dunedin may be “jeopardised” after members of the crowd threw bottles at the celebrating French team at Carisbrook on Saturday night, with the New Zealand Rugby Union saying it will consider the incident when allocating future matches.

or this in 2010

Ugly crowd behaviour at Eden Park last night overshadowed the return of international rugby league to the prestigious Auckland ground for the first time in 22 years.

From the outset, the Kangaroos, who won the test 34-20, were left in no two minds about how welcome they were when a spate of the 44,000 in attendance booed during their national anthem.

Skipper Cameron Smith attempted to downplay the controversy but admitted afterwards it was the first time in his career Australia’s anthem had been booed.

Adding to the chaos was the fact that midway through the first half, a streaker managed to evade security guards and run on to the field while play was live.

He was eventually caught by security personnel but not before leaving Eden Park bosses red-faced given this same venue is set to host the Rugby World Cup final in less than a year.

Also of concern was the fact that rowdy fans attempted to throw bottles at the Australian players.

One only narrowly missed Smith when he was lining up for a shot at goal.

VERY EMBRABOER

the way you little angels have been carrying on.

Wela kapela…..

• 68.David: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-59:
    “i never understand the point of watching rugby when mindlessly drunk..?.. whats the point then..?.”

You’re obviously not a Lions supporter.

• 69.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-68: :razz:

• 70.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-67:
    there cant be many canoes left in hobbitsville.

@David(David)-68:

• 71.cane: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-68:

“i never understand the point of watching rugby when mindlessly drunk..?.. whats the point then..?.”

I find it helps with the inevitable greiving process to follow.

• 72.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Flippin disgusting behavior. And how is the fat cow on the side screaming the odds ? Nice one…scum…fat b$%ch

• 73.cane: Reply to this comment

Has the intruder been named and shamed?

Early reports on here, suggested he was a Bulls Manager?

Unlikely I know.

• 74.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-71: What should happen now is that the Bulls should not be allowed to open their gates for the next game at Loftus. Empty stadium and they lose their ticket sales for a match. Its been done before in football ?

Low class white trash….

• 75.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-73: No dude, that is some scum bag, probably from the Western side of Pretoria.

Bulls should be penalized for this and heavily.

And I am not just saying it because it was the Bulls – same should have happened after the Springboks vs. All Blacks Durban incident in 2002. Where was stadium security ? Probably suiping down their Klipdrift and coke as well.

• 76.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-73:
    please reefer post# 67.
    we could ask the same of you.

• 77.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-76: Are you honestly of the mindset that the actions at Loftus this weekend can be justified by what has happened at other stadiums ?

Are you 13 years old ?

• 78.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-72:

Indeed it reminds me of the Kings Park faithful vs Chiefs a couple of years ago.

Or you guys booing Frans Steyn.

@cane(cane)-73:

He has been named and shamed and arrested.

Nama thought he was the Bulls manger but has sobered up now.

• 79.cane: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-76:

Well fat Pieter Van Zyl got named. Though I don’t think he took any shame in this.

So why not this dude.

Everything in post 67 is true.

Concerning the Kiwis / Kangaroos match. This was a double header, so the patrons had 2 hours to get drunk before kickoff.

Booze is definately a factor in unruly behaviour

• 80.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-77:
    huh..?.. who’s justifying anything..?..

are you mentally challenged or intellectually disabled ?

• 81.trupisero: Reply to this comment

Ag okes, we all know that its only 99% of bulls supporters that give the others a bad name.

• 82.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-78: Only a Bulls fan would try to create a comparison between booing and throwing a bottle at the opposition.

But then from the language that came out of the old fat cow that was standing on the sidelines, we can see what manners are taught in Pretoria.

Nice….

• 83.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-80: Certainly sounds to me like you are. But, the ‘i love u bakkiesbotha’ in your nic explains a lot. I am definitely not mentally challenged, I don’t support the Bulls.

• 84.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-79: You aren’t going to stop booze at Loftus. Brandewyn and rugby go together in Pretoria.

• 85.cane: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-74:

A bit harsh Dusky.

I don’t think you can blame “The Bulls” for the actions of one person.
    They where quick to apologise and no real harm done.

• 86.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Dusky gets more irritable by the day.

• 87.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-79:
    difference is, cane…that in sa there is actually a history of perpetrators being identified and punished accordingly, yet we’re still labelled by ‘some’ with less than stellar records of their own which that ‘some’ have an inability to admit.

wrt to this guy, he’s already been charged criminally so its just a matter of time before we know his identity.

• 88.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-85: I realize this however, my reason for supporting a penalty against the union is based on the complete lack of security. What was this scum doing on the field in the first place ?

Geez, I so wish Mealamu had smacked his face in. Unfortunately, Kevin Mealamu is way too much of a professional. Did you see how the little wap almost went on his knees when Mealamu walked over ? Coward.

• 89.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-82:

**** happens and it doesn’t matter WHO these people support.

They need to be punished to the full extent of the law.

Funny enough I can remember the Sharks fans being named and shamed or even punished for thrwing glasses at the Chiefs a couple of years ago.

Or any kind of statement or apology from the Union.

pretty standard fare for them no?

Only an immature stunted piece of gristle such as yourself would try and make some kind of generalisation out of this.

The sooner you fukkoff out of this country the better.

• 90.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-83:

oh ok, i see… so you are just a loser then…

• 91.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-85:

Dusky has issues.

He is about to be an ex saffa.

We are counting the days.

Hopefully he takes anyone who shares his genetic code with him.

• 92.cane: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-87:

A couple of year ago, All Australian Super 14 Players, were polled on their favourite and least favourite Venues.

Pretoria was unanimously the least favourite. Due basically to the boorish behaviour of fans, both inside and outside of Loftus.

However you make a good point………………………………..No country has a monopoly on morons.

• 93.HHS: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-88:If a spectator wants to get on that field, he/she will get onto the field. No matter what stadium. How many security guards do think sit around the field? It’s only a hand full and they are responsible for thousands. Also it was the end of the game where focus is shifted to the presentation area and the tunnel… It’s not like this clown ran over the whole field to get to Kevin.
    Bulls did enough… the clown will not go to any sporting event soon.

• 94.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-92: Disagree.
    Its the women, cane.

They love them some Cape Town and Durban women.

• 95.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-91: I am long gone chop.

• 96.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@HHS(Hop Hop Spinnekop)-93: Yes – agreed however, this in-breeder stood around for a few minutes, loitering….and nothing.

• 97.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-89: :lol:

i know you work at immigrations, so if you process his papers speedily then you wish at the end of your post will be granted sooner rather than later ;)

• 98.cane: Reply to this comment

Easy guys…………………………………………..don’t let this weasel who bottled Kevey deflect your attention away from the real enemy.

Anzacs

• 99.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Dawn is part of the papbek lovegap cape crusaders group.

• 100.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-92: Pretoria doesn’t have a complete monopoly on morons, but they have the dominant market share. Rugby is important in Pretoria – its one of the only good things they have that they cling to.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.