Ranger slapped with suspension
12 Mar 2012
Blues winger Rene Ranger has been banned for two weeks for a dangerous tackle on Bulls No 11 Bjorn Basson.
The Sanzar judicial officer Mike Heron has accepted a guilty plea from Ranger for contravening Law 10.4 (e) dangerous tackling. Ranger was cited after he made late and dangerous contact with Basson in the 79th minute of the match between the Bulls and Blues last Saturday.
After reviewing footage of the incident, Heron decided that a two-week ban would be sufficient.
‘[The footage] shows Rene Ranger diving towards the other player, who was also diving to score the try, and ultimately hitting the player with his shoulder on the back of the player. At that point, the tackle did not involve his arms and was late. A careful review of at least one angle shows that Ranger initially was attempting to use his arms and appeared to launch towards the other player while that other player was in the air.
‘In my view, Ranger was initially attempting to tackle the Bulls No 11 but had to pull out as the Bulls player was too close to the ground. The result was that Ranger’s arms were not used in the tackle. In my view the tackle was reckless, and late (but this was a dynamic and very fast moving situation).
‘I accept Ranger’s account that he was attempting a legitimate tackle and had no intention of injuring the Bulls player. The referee and assistant referee’s report reflect a similar impression as the citing commissioner, although concentrate on the lack of attempt to use the arms and the use of the shoulder.
‘I note that the player was issued a yellow card and a white card was also issued. I have an informal medical report to the effect that the Bulls player has injured ligaments in his left shoulder and has bruised ribs on the left side (I am unable to determine whether these resulted from the tackle although that is a fair inference).
‘In all the circumstances, I find that the tackle was lower end in terms of the entry point for Law 10.4(e). That gives an entry point of two weeks. The player has one previous disciplinary matter of a similar nature. By coincidence it occurred at the same ground against the same team in 2009. He received a one week sanction. He does not, therefore, have the benefit of a completely clean record.
‘The effect on the Bulls player and the need for general deterrence provide some aggravation, albeit modest in the circumstances. The player was contrite and sensibly accepted that the tackle was dangerous. He and the coach put forward an explanation, which was supported by the footage,’ concluded Heron.

151 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All
11 Mar 2012, 13:08 pm
Thanks bud…
But on mobile now with shakey connection… Will check it out tomorrow…
11 Mar 2012, 13:10 pm
vyftig…
11 Mar 2012, 13:20 pm
@ufo(ufo)-37:
The thing is that Ranger and Basson dived almost simutaneously. One to score a try and the other to prevent him from scoring. You can’t really suggest that Ranger should have stopped and let Basson score the try without even trying to prevent him from doing so. It was not as if Basson had already score the try and Ranger dived onto him a second or two later.
Did not George Gregan once win a test for the Wallabies doing exactly what Ranger did yesterday? He managed to knock the ball out of a diving opponent within the in-goal area in the last few seconds of that test.
I get your concern re injuries to players when someone dive onto a try scorer after he had already scored a try and I’m with you on that. However, imo the incident yesterday does not fall into that category.
11 Mar 2012, 13:27 pm
@nama1(nama1)-53:
good point on the timing, but you still got to use your arms.
11 Mar 2012, 13:33 pm
@bokke baiter(bokke baiter)-50:
Yeah…it’s much more civilized and fun to pelt innocent players with flour bombs from the height of a cropduster.
11 Mar 2012, 13:35 pm
@nama1(nama1)-53:
Yep, knowing Rangerhe should just get banned. Period.
How was he intending on stopping that try? With a well-placed head-butt?
Ranger has been taking cheapshots as long as I can remember and he also got away with a hightackle in the same game, so.
11 Mar 2012, 13:35 pm
lucky they were only flour bombs .. imagine they were real bombs .. coulda done some real damage..
Cane and his crew did wonders that tour changed the entire world sporting irregularities on its head and got the world to wake up for once.. even if only for a little while.
11 Mar 2012, 13:38 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-39:
Ok but before you open your practice: you could’ve just consulted me, I may not have been born in the helmet, but I have commonsense
Oh well, the bye is generous to us, I still see this young team shaping up and producing a few rampages this season yet.
11 Mar 2012, 13:39 pm
@nama1(nama1)-53: if you go into the games in week 1 robbie coleman the brumbies fullback also copped a knee ti the ribs from a force player AFTER he had dotted the ball down & i don’t recall any wailing about that incident an certainly the ref didn’t award a penalty to the brumbies.
if you look at basson’s first try gister a blues player also tried the same move but bjorn slid to quickly or passed him too quickly
11 Mar 2012, 13:45 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-58: it was high time Bulls got brought back to Terra firma they were starting to believe some of their own invincibility themselves
good reality check is mostly a good thing usually.. now they know they not the real deal yet and still got quite a little growing to do…
my middle son was born with the caul around his head so he the psychic one actually.., I just pretend to be.. but all you need is common sense to know when kak is gonna come calling.. and it seemed pretty much a calling card when both Stegman and Hougaard were missing for this game and poor exposed Morne Steyn had the entire Loftus breathing down his neck and bearing down on him… its no wonder Mr Ice cool nerves cracked apart at the seams.
11 Mar 2012, 13:46 pm
rules are rules, you want to allow head-highs, shoulder-charges, late or projectile tackles, as in years gone by then change them back, otherwise he will get cited. there was only going to be one outcome from the incident, which is basson was going to get hurt – that is what the rules try to prevent – incidentally weepu also put the knee in for bassons first try.
as for that loftus fool, sa rugby got a real problem with their rep with these idiots running around, dunno wtf they going to do.
11 Mar 2012, 13:51 pm
@ufo(ufo)-51:
Quite simply, penalty on the half way after a try being scored is awarded for foul play in the in-goal subsequent to the score.
Ranger was penalised for the tackle he made on Basson while he dived for the score, not for anything that happened after that.
It was a tackle offence like any other tackle offence (high, tip etc) – so the punishment is penalty (if outside in-goal) or penalty try if the illegal tackle prevented the try being scored (which it did not).
Walsh made the right call.
11 Mar 2012, 13:54 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-60:
Ja, Kleuter mentioned this about the young players in the team coming off an “easy”, rampant win against the Cheetahs.
Regarding our missing players, I think the team hasn’t been recently put through the shock of trying to find their feet without the luxury that Stegmann provides (look what happened in last year’s Currie Cup), CJ just doesn’t have the anticipation..yet. Although I wouldn’t mind seeing CJ start at 7.
AND then we had to deal with the Braids, the Bulls can be lucky Jerome Kaino wasn’t around in the final 20 minutes, we would likely not have gotten a bonus point.
With Stegmann there and the ref keen to keep the breakdown conservative Steggies wouldn’t have had to do anything out of the ordinary to keep the Bulls attack up.
Hopefully he returns against Beau in 2 weeks to introduce him to our hard turf.
And Hougie, well, such an explosive player with inspiring defence and quick decision-making, even if he is still inexperienced and his tactical kicking needs work.
11 Mar 2012, 13:56 pm
Blues accepts apology from Bulls.
As a result of the unruly behaviour of a Vodacom Bulls fan at yesterday’s game at Loftus Versfeld, Blue Bulls Company CEO, Barend van Graan has telephonically apologised to Mr Bryce Anderson the manager of the Blues.
Van Graan comments;
“Our PRO Mr Ian Schwartz apologised to Blues captain Keven Mealamu at the post match conference. Mr Mealamu not only accepted his apology on behalf of the Company, but was also impressed with the way in which we immediately sorted out the matter. I have spoken to Mr. Anderson and apologised on behalf of our board of directors, managers, Bulls team and supporters. I am delighted that Mr. Anderson and Mr. Mealamu have accepted our apology for this unfortunate incident.”
11 Mar 2012, 13:57 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-56:
As long as you are going to be consistent, I have no problem. Don’t in future try to make excuses if WO or any other Bulls player dive onto an opponent AFTER a try is scored. Ask for that player to be banned as well.
Somehow I doubt that you will.
@Transformation(Transformation)-59:
There you go.
11 Mar 2012, 13:59 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-62:
but if its a penalty, whether ‘during’ or ‘after’ the try, what is the sanction?
11 Mar 2012, 14:02 pm
@nama1(nama1)-65:
Yeah, but, see, when has that ever happened? The Bulls are the gentlemen of the sport.
Like a team of sirs.
11 Mar 2012, 14:02 pm
@cab(cab)-66:
Penalty on the restart.
11 Mar 2012, 14:06 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-68:
yeah but in this case time is up, and it always used to be that time was not up so long as there was a penalty. i think spiesie was moaning cos if they were given a penalty, they could have run it rather than kicked it and scored another try, unlikely and they didnt deserve it, but interesting nevertheless. you cant blame walsh tho, these things are so rare, tho it must have happened before.
11 Mar 2012, 14:06 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-64:
Yeah happy ending.
The COO apologized to the captain,
the HPM apologized to the caoch,
the CEO apologized to the team manager,
the BBC issued a statement,
Mr whatever has the charge laid against him and arrested immediately.
Gaaf. End of story.
Bulls are classy, what can I say?
11 Mar 2012, 14:07 pm
@cab(cab)-66:
Think of it as playing a penalty advantage for the attacking team.
If the try was not scored by Basson (i.e. ball knocked out of his hands by this tackle) Walsh would have issued the yellow, and awarded a penalty try (foul play in the in-goal).
The try was however scored even with the illegal tackle – Walsh could have awarded a penalty try even if the try was scored which would just have meant an easier conversion.
The tackle happened while he was scoring the try (if you actually view video evidence you will see both players in the air, committed, just before Basson touches down).
For a penalty to be awarded on the halfway a player has to make himself guilty of foul play after the try being scored. For instance, try is scored, player jumps with his knees into the try scorers ribs (we have all seen this before). Essentially, for an action that happened after a try was scored.
Ranger was carded (and cited) for the no arms tackle on Basson, not for foul play after the try was scored.
If this was not the end of the game, try would have stood (of course), Blues would have been down to 14 men and nothing more.
11 Mar 2012, 14:08 pm
@cab(cab)-69:
no, as they said above here, the incident didnt follow the try and the final kick was after the siren, case closed.
Although just to be fair I would’ve had that as foul play “after” the try for its nature. Anyways, not like Im biased or anything :p
11 Mar 2012, 14:11 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-71:
What you mean? you can dislodge it in-goal.
11 Mar 2012, 14:20 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-73:
Not sure on your question but if the illegal tackle (an offence) resulted in Basson losing the ball before grounding it a penalty try would have (should have) been awarded.
Ranger was carded an cited for an offence to stop a try being scored (illegal/dangerous tackle), not for dirty play after the try was scored (which would have gotten them a penalty on halfway).
11 Mar 2012, 14:20 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-71:
ok, i think i understand.
must say tho, the distinction between foul play committed ‘during’ and ‘after’ seems to be a very grey and arbitary one. both were committed in the in-goal area in the process of scoring a try, the timing issue is splitting hairs and imo there is possibly also a good case to be made that while they might have been in the air at the same time, the shoulder hit basson just after he was over.
11 Mar 2012, 14:23 pm
@cab(cab)-75:
I think 74 explains it better in pain English!
11 Mar 2012, 14:23 pm
Yes it was pain-full but even PLAIN English will work…
11 Mar 2012, 14:26 pm
Rugby got one thousand and one laws .. you need a doctorate in rugby science before you qualified to count yourself a rugby boff… and every boff and his poodle pup reckon they know the laws better than the next one.. meantime its all a little grey at the best of times and left open to the ‘ref’s interpretation’ at end of the day.. if Walsh had awarded a penalty on halfway line another hoopla song and dance about what exactly is written in the holy IRB grail of one thousand and one laws would have entailed.. just imagine Bulls scored a try as an end result of that ‘wrong’ call?
I once sent an email to Jonathan Kaplan about my brothers sons school rugby game where the kick off was short but opposing team played it and knocked on.. brothers sons team collected the knock on and attacked for a try but ref called them back for a scrum on halfway line.. My brothers argument is opposing team played the ball and forfeited any advantage and knocked on.. or something like that .. can’t quite remember the exact ramifications of the incident. I asked Kaplan and he said ref was right to call them back for scrum because the first fault for short kick off overrides second fault for knock on.. but my common sense says where is the advantage.. at end of the day ref made a call.. wrong or right according to some or other statutory law.. but which one is actually correct ??
The last WC was a litany of bad or erroneous calls issued by ref’s with all manner of either solicited or else subtle ulterior agendas over ruling their supposedly unbiased minds… and bottom line is ref decides what goes down and what stays up at the end of the day.. that’s about as law abiding as this game has become…
It is pretty much the man with the penny whistle in his mouth calls the shots in the moment and that’s about how it makes or breaks down.
11 Mar 2012, 14:32 pm
well thats exactly the problem when the laws are grey as in the example you put forward and in the example here, welsh applied a very fine or subtle interpretation, which to my mind makes no sense, if there is a penalty committed in-goal it should be the try and then a penalty to follow, otherwise ther is no sanction, instead it almost seems as walsh has allowed bias to enter into it in supposedly penalising ranger (and citing him, a seperate offence), but then not actually giving any sanction, which might have allowed the bulls another bite at the cherry and possibly an undeserved unlikely victory.
11 Mar 2012, 14:34 pm
@nama1(nama1)-53:
It was Wilson in 1994, but both him and Gregen were nearly upright
Ranger is a dirty player no doubt, my concern is however is why wasn’t JP cited when he hit Sadie off the ball and drove him to the floor head first?
11 Mar 2012, 14:40 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-39:
I for one do rate Stegmann, and highly at that, add his injury to Hougaard’s suspension and a foreign referee, only a fool would have bet on the Bulls
Or an avid Bull supporter
11 Mar 2012, 14:46 pm
If it was Jonker blowing the game he probably would have given Bulls another bite of the cherry and awarded Bulls a penalty on half way line.. then all Bulls and saffa supporters would be over the moon if Bulls somehow created a miracle victory from a down and out impending loss
But it wasn’t Jonker it was Walsh.. and the argument rages on.. was it a penalty after the try or before the try, after final hooter or within final play before last play was concluded..
Ultimately the statutory laws have to be consulted… Walsh should stop the game.. go to TMO and ask him to look up Law No. 997.3 (b)-x to the power of z, and rule on whether he must award a following penalty or call the game klaar gelag there and then..
If its a saffa TMO like Meuwersen or Veldsman sitting in the hot box he probably read the IRB law 997.3 (b) – x to the power of z to read that he must award a following penalty.. If its a non saffa ref in the TMO box he probably say call it a day and get the fck outa here….
That’s about how accurate some of these absolute Newtonian laws of thou shalt award this a way or that a way gets ruled in the moment by the presiding ref on the day.
Just like Joubert gave Kaino and McCaw clear right of way when spoiling and sealing off French attack ball in the WC final in the red zone because the favorite sentimental outcome was an AB win and had France stolen the show all hell would have come cascading down under such prevailing unsought of circumstances..
11 Mar 2012, 14:47 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-81: you gotta be a bloody billionaire by now with all the easy money you make at Ladbrokes stupendous expense.
11 Mar 2012, 14:48 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-63:
Did you watch Brussow at the Brumbies under a Kiwi referee?
Phil Kearn was singing his praises with superlatives the entire game, and yes, he is a notch smarter than Steggie but the Bulls forward are good at masking Steggie’s infraction at a 80% rate at least from the referees. ( no need for them to do it with Jonker, Joubert and Lawrence)
11 Mar 2012, 14:52 pm
nah i dont think bulls deserved to win, but it remains an iffy decision.
imo the best thing rugby could is to simplifiy the rules totally, i.e. take the ref as much out of it as possible, use the tv ref armed with slo-mo and the rule book (in a simplified version), simplify entire swathes of the law, offence in-goal = penalty on halfway end of, get rid of the trivial laws too.
11 Mar 2012, 14:55 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-83:
Wrong!
1. First I published my prediction here on Thursday, you couln read it for yourself
2. I restricted myself to the Super Rugby’s SA teams only and the Six Nations matches
The NZ-Aus matches in 2012 are highly unpredictable with plenty upsets, I expected you and Nama1 to ask the same question: why do all the upset happened there and under foreign referees + J. Peiper?
When you figure it out you’ll realise it’s not that complicated
11 Mar 2012, 14:58 pm
wtf newton got to do with the irb rule book now?
if there were no rules there wouldn’t be a game.
11 Mar 2012, 14:59 pm
Can they first just simplify the scrums. Enough of these silly scrum penalties which frankly can go either way and which can determine the outcome of a match at the refs’ whims.
This is rugby. We want to see scrums moering each other. If that means they wheel, or if that means the prop puts his arm on the ground, or if that means the loosehead scrums in on the tighthead, well so be it, that’s what scrumming is all about. Let them push each other into oblivion.
But enough of the shrill blasts of the whistle at almost every scrum!
11 Mar 2012, 15:00 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-82:
SA TMO didn’t cite JP for a spear T off the ball on Sadie, a SA TMO didn’t call Elton Jantjies for a head butt on Johan Goosen
What is the ‘justification’ for it?
11 Mar 2012, 15:03 pm
And jeez, don’t even get me started on the breakdowns…
We all want to see free flowing, phase rugby. Not this boring stop start penalty driven rugby that we are seeing thanks to the refs’ over zealous pinging of the breakdowns.
Diving off feet, coming in from the side, no daylight, tackler assist, etc etc you need a BSc Breakdown to know what’s going on these days.
This is rugby, we want to see them moer each other and most of all we want to see the game flow!
Nothing worse than when a team is attacking, building up some momentum, only for the ref to flui fluit and blow up the attacking team for some silly infringement which hardly impacts on the game.
11 Mar 2012, 15:04 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-88:
that is a perfect example, the breakdown is another area which i think needs rules that require less regulation from the referee – but the problem here is they want the game to be more open and faster – perversely this is the area where most penalties seem to occur.
11 Mar 2012, 15:05 pm
rugby got WAY too many laws.. simplify the entire bang shoot and get rid of at least half of them.. and correct.. get the goddamn ref as far out the way as possible – then it may become an even contest game where player performance wins and ref’s decision takes on a far distant insignificant back seat… as it stands now ref (and linesman to extent) got at least 75% more power than he at any time should potentially have
Cheetahs got done by ref… even the Aussie commentators agree
and some our refs here are outright biased
touch judge call can change entire game.. like yesterday touch judge called Strauss upright maul where he stripped ball off Sharks player as ‘high tackle’ and Sharks get 3 points against run of play.. whereas Lions might have scored a try from resultant attack momentum as a result of legitimate turnover.. Touch judge affected entire game if taken into small fraction context..
11 Mar 2012, 15:08 pm
@cab(cab)-87:
Funny enough, referees seemed to have difficulties even to control a simple game such as soccer
11 Mar 2012, 15:10 pm
maybe we also getting too simplistic here, next thing if anything goes at the scrums, they get wheeled to parrow and terug, and could deteriate into an almighty f-up.
11 Mar 2012, 15:15 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-93:
geez and there’s a perfect example of an excuse for a sport, most those okes missed their true vacation on broadway, the only decent talent is that messie, christus he’s good.
11 Mar 2012, 15:17 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-92:
It started with Butch shoulder charging JP, then him and Strauss both lifted the token and peeled off the ball from him, could be he just gave it to them voluntarily.
So, it was involved a player of colour being hit illegally, it had to be punished, you’re old enough to know that
Same JP who got away with causing a concussion, go figure
11 Mar 2012, 15:18 pm
@cab(cab)-94: there must still be some modicum of regulation.
We just want to see 2 teams try push each other backwards. What the fook does touching before engaging help that? What about Chadwick getting blown up for moving his head before the engage? How does a prop putting his hand on the ground harm things? As long as it is safe I couldn’t care what goes on as long as the ball is put in, it comes out on either side and the game goes on.
I hate seeing scrum penalties, especially when they lead to points, as I feel the refs don’t know what is going on in the scrum and simply guess which way to lift their arm.
11 Mar 2012, 15:18 pm
JP’s actually become our only out-and-out strike runner in SA, not sure about a token, he’s big and strong and fast. let us overlook the occasional indiscretion of hoe…
11 Mar 2012, 15:20 pm
@cab(cab)-95:
Yep
btw, there is a yellow card mandatory for a faking a dive in the penalty area, when last have you seen one issued?
I only watch Liverpool so I am exempt from all the rest. of the travesty
11 Mar 2012, 15:20 pm
JP is proving to be one of the best 13s in SA at the moment. What a revelation at centre.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All