Ranger slapped with suspension

Blues winger Rene Ranger has been banned for two weeks for a dangerous tackle on Bulls No 11 Bjorn Basson.

The Sanzar judicial officer Mike Heron has accepted a guilty plea from Ranger for contravening Law 10.4 (e) dangerous tackling. Ranger was cited after he made late and dangerous contact with Basson in the 79th minute of the match between the Bulls and Blues last Saturday.

After reviewing footage of the incident, Heron decided that a two-week ban would be sufficient.

‘[The footage] shows Rene Ranger diving towards the other player, who was also diving to score the try, and ultimately hitting the player with his shoulder on the back of the player. At that point, the tackle did not involve his arms and was late. A careful review of at least one angle shows that Ranger initially was attempting to use his arms and appeared to launch towards the other player while that other player was in the air.

‘In my view, Ranger was initially attempting to tackle the Bulls No 11 but had to pull out as the Bulls player was too close to the ground. The result was that Ranger’s arms were not used in the tackle. In my view the tackle was reckless, and late (but this was a dynamic and very fast moving situation).

‘I accept Ranger’s account that he was attempting a legitimate tackle and had no intention of injuring the Bulls player. The referee and assistant referee’s report reflect a similar impression as the citing commissioner, although concentrate on the lack of attempt to use the arms and the use of the shoulder.

‘I note that the player was issued a yellow card and a white card was also issued. I have an informal medical report to the effect that the Bulls player has injured ligaments in his left shoulder and has bruised ribs on the left side (I am unable to determine whether these resulted from the tackle although that is a fair inference).

‘In all the circumstances, I find that the tackle was lower end in terms of the entry point for Law 10.4(e). That gives an entry point of two weeks. The player has one previous disciplinary matter of a similar nature. By coincidence it occurred at the same ground against the same team in 2009. He received a one week sanction. He does not, therefore, have the benefit of a completely clean record.

‘The effect on the Bulls player and the need for general deterrence provide some aggravation, albeit modest in the circumstances. The player was contrite and sensibly accepted that the tackle was dangerous. He and the coach put forward an explanation, which was supported by the footage,’ concluded Heron.

151 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

• 101.cab: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-99:
    lol, didnt take you for a football fan hondo. i liked to play the game, but i dont like to watch it, unless there some genuine genius about – pele, best, matthews, marachuchu, beckham in prime and now messi who is pretty unbelievable – now what u got just expert divers? they dont even battle for the ball anymore – they used to have little terriers in midfield like souness, batty-boy etc.

• 102.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

I check how these ref’s go kop toe all of a sardine they are Mr. F’ng know it all Einstein on any matters rugby

Mark Lawrence used to be a nice down to earth affable lekker ou doring okie kinda guy from next door.. Now he suddenly Mr. Bees f’ng knees you can’t tell me squat about what is right from wrong on a rugby field…

Jonathan Kaplan same kinda malady creep into his psychological reasoning

It got something to do with the untoward amount of ‘power’ that’s vested into the wind in their cheeks when suddenly the entire world is their oyster and at their finger tips and they can make or break an entire premonition of what might or might not have been had they turned the other cheek and blew it an entirely different direction instead..

The power vested in the man in the middle is way too weighty for any healthy simple game of fortune favoring the brave to ensue.. in these cases the brave can get fck’d out the back door and the scallywags can take all the spoils.. depending which color is draped across the ref’s closet back at the ranch around his back porch on most other Saturday afternoons..

• 103.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-100:
    How many meters did he record yesterday with a ball in hand?
    I’ve seen none,
    JF’s average was 50m or so per game

• 104.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-103: did you see the 3rd try? Was it a game where many metres were made by any back line player? Your racial bias is clouding your view.

• 105.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

I still can’t work out which is a more boring spectator sport to be subjected to, poeftaball or skittle sticks.. at least poefta ball only lasts 90 odd minutes (plus the rest) for perhaps a nil all draw whereas skittle sticks can drag on another 5 days without a result at the far flung end of it all…

I seriously prefer a good game of snooker or ping pong .. at least those contests end in a result and there some seriously skillful exchanges and tactics along the way.

• 106.cab: Reply to this comment

lawrence is a naturally more affable character then kaplan, but the latter was pretty sharp, both know their rules, which is afterall their day job, they are professional referees and as such should be einstein on matters pertaining to rugby. i think they get paid pretty well so if you interesting on blaasing the vluitjie u may as well give it a go, but u got to understand that everyone always going to be unhappy with you pretyt much whatever you do, cos they are even more biased..

• 107.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Hope to grab something before the greatest show of the weekend, two Saffas in the Poms line up and one on the bench, that should be the Poms strongest team since 2003 ;)

• 108.cab: Reply to this comment

snooker?!?! agmefok, next thing u be championing darts, at least skittle sticks is a test of mental endurance and they klap that little rooi bang a decent distance, tho the blok-hom-dood keppler-wessels ODI used to strain the patience horrendously. didnt we used to have an oke called ‘slasher mckay’ or something, who was exactly the opposite? blok blok en blok alweer…

• 109.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

snooker is very boring. like watching mould grow.

• 110.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Skop on point today!

• 111.cab: Reply to this comment

only in the uk do they call snooker and darts sports, liewefok, u get some 400-pound athlete outa huddersfield who training regimine is laager lifting and pie eating..

• 112.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-106:
    Both have their businesses and not relying on refereeing for a living, Kaplan is the best but not a popular choice lately with the IRB and ANZAR, Mark Lawrence is no way near his late Brother’s standards as a referee, he is better than Jonker and Joubert though
    I only rate Kaplan, Peiper, Dickinson and Pollock, the rest are a disgrace.

• 113.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-104:
    I stopped watching after 35 minutes, I said in advance that Lawrence will do the job for the Sharks and I got the margins right with the bookies in turn.
    The rest is irrelevant ;)

• 114.cab: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-112:
    not so sure on pollock or bryce lawrence, the rest ok tho saffas tend to be a bit pedantic they do generally blow according to rules, walsh got a bit of a problem handling pressure. always get confused who the bugger was who told smit and the boks to go back to tryline and the irish went over for a win.

• 115.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

JP made plenty meters yesterday quite a few, none more than when he cruised through the Lions midfield from broken play deep in his own half and offloaded for Bossies to score at the other end and seal Lions ultimate forlorn fate…

When he gets half a gap JP can hol through the middle and make some ground pretty sharply.. it was JP who drilled Bulls at Lotus last year in this same comp penultimate pool game to basically knock them out the semi’s when he screamed trough Bulls defenses to offload to Terblanche who had the honor of dotting down.. But JP made all the hard yards and ate up the majority of the field.. all on his own.

You should start watching rugby with a less convicted prejudice Herr Hondo then you might actually see which players carry the ball in open play with real intent and rewarded result then those who don’t and die with it or cough it up instead… like Schalk Burger at the WC quarter final showdown for instance.

• 116.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

I don’t as a rule watch snooker or darts or tiddlywinks but I reckon as far as spectator sports go they probably on par with poeftaball or skittle sticks in levels of excitement and expertise. Pretty boring to say the least.

anyway out.. ain’t there some little NH comp called 6 nations rugby to go watch today or am I out of sync with the fixture times and dates?

• 117.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-111: Won huuuuundred aaaan aaaaaayyyyyteeeee!!!!

• 118.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

So the upsets and unpredictability of Super rugby continue.

Chiefs beat the Crusaders in Canterbury.

Blues beat the Bulls in Dutchville.

The Highlanders are unbeaten.

Now just imagine how much more exciting the comp would be without the PREDICTABLE bits – Force, Rebels, Lions and Cheetahs.

Only space for 12 teams maximum if we wan to keep guessing.

And they want to add an even weaker team into the mix?…

• 119.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-113: so you didn’t even watch half the game yet you feel able to make all encompassing sweeping statements?

• 120.ufo: Reply to this comment

Thanks PA…

But walsh’s own words contradict this and it seems to be ref-face-saving spin.. again

Walsh said to Spies… The issue is you WOULD get a penalty on halfway…

Spies says there is time

walsh says… but the coversion will be taken and time will be up…

(or words to that effect)

so walsh clearly believed a penalty would have been given except for time being up…

therefore I believe walsh was indeed wrong

• 121.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-120: I agree with this. Walsh knew that a penalty was to be awarded from the half way line after the conversion. His issue however was that the time would be up.

But this is incorrect. Even after time is up, if a team is awarded a penalty, it is allowed to take it.

• 122.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

I don’t understand all the moaning about the tackle on Basson.

Bakkies did worse things, but most condoned it as being hard. I just don’t get the whinging…

The Blues were far superior and deserved the win. I would be more concerned with the unruly supporters than the tackle.

• 123.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-122: c’mon Bill. That’s like saying it’s ok to steal someone’s food just because they may be hungry.

Isolate.

The tackle was a bad one.

He has been punished.

He has been cited.

He will be punished some more.

No point trying to somehow excuse the tackle on the basis of other unrelated matters.

The Blues deserved the win.

The heinous tackle did not impact on this.

• 124.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-123:

I don’t think it was done purposefully. I’m just so tired of us whinging all the time. Rugby is game for men not for sissies. My point is that this happens regularly and used Bakkies as an example. This pot – kettle – holier than though attitude pisses me off. Excuses and blaming refs for not making the right decisions. I think the ref handled the game well and made the correct decisions. The time was up and he made it clear. He took action by issuing a yellow and white card. Nothing unrelated at all. I’m making a point.

• 125.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-124: Surprisingly I do not see a lot of comments on the state of the scrums. I truly believe that my guess is as good as any NZ or Aus referee when it comes to srumming laws and they have too much control over the game. The IRB is overlooking the real problem, which are two scrums of that weight cannot stay upright if they crash into each other. They should go back to the old days where the two packs engaged before the scrum and they started to push. It will then be better governed than in the old days and then they should rather concentrate on the 9′s feed that should be straight.

• 126.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Horings(Horings)-125:

I fully agree with you! I come from the old school too! You would quickly know who is the stronger pack. I don’t think I have seen a straight throw into the scrums for a few years now.

• 127.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-111: Phil ‘the power’ Taylor hahahaga

• 128.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Decent Pom/Frog game Frogs 2 meters short on final drop goal
    Morning all

• 129.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-122:
    I dont think Blues were far superior
    I think Bulls played kak and M steyne missed 4 shots at goal
    Blues benefited by a disinterested Bulls team

• 130.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-122: I actually agree with you on this one.

Firstly I don’t think the tackle was that bad, he went in as Bjorn was going over the line, his intent was clear to me, to try and disrupt the act of scoring a try. If I was a Blues man I’d pat him on the back for his efforts.

No matter, this plays into our hands as a citing indicates a likely suspension for a game at least. No Stormers.

Suits me fine.

• 131.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-130:
    I think the intent was fine but a bit late and now wrapping so late and dangerous
    But i understand he was trying to stop a try been scored
    maybe 2 weeks one for late tackle an done for dangerous

• 132.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-131: I don’t think it was late but I’ll grant it looks dangerous.

So 1 week.

Just enough to miss the Stormers game ;)

• 133.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-132:
    Could be the yellow is enough and no more
    I think Ref was correct with yellow card I think it happens way to often a guy scoring a try been hit late or dangerous
    But he was wrong about calling the game before giving the penalty on the half way line, where bulls could have tapped and run to score again

• 134.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

But Walsh was ok i think

• 135.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-133: the bulls deserved no penalty! aplon last year fiddled with kahui in the act of scoring a try, the penalty try was awarded to the chiefs, aplon was yellowed and NO halfway line penalty was handed to the chiefs.

• 136.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-135: I remember a game where a player tried to trip an opponent who was in the act of scoring a try. Went in with his feet. I can’t recall the exact match, maybe you can? I think it involved the Sharks. Anyway, in that game a penalty was awarded on the half way line after the conversion was taken.

• 137.BWA: Reply to this comment

i remember in the good old days … when Currie Cup rugby still meant something! …. any late tackle or a shove after a try was scored, a penalty was given on the halfway line and then Naas die baas use to slot them easily! … very few refs still do that! they don’t have the balls! Ranger is a good player, but he is a f*ck nut! he does these kind of stupid k@k in every game! anyway, i’m sure the Bulls will take the loss, they still look pretty on the log!

• 138.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-133: ja I see your point but as Pissant explained, the penalty was in the act of scoring a try, not after the try had been scored.

A question of timing to be sure, but probably technically correct.

Anyway it’s done and dusted,

Bonus point at least, so that’s something.

• 139.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

A good explanation is on Pissant (Morne)’s site here:

http://www.ruggaworld.com/2012/03/11/why-the-bulls-did-not-get-that-penalty/

• 140.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Any sport that requires participants to wear a waistcoat must be viewed with suspicion.

• 141.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-2:

There have been similar incidents in the past where a penalty try was awarded and player sent off. Or try awarded and player sent off! In these there was not a midfield penalty award!

• 142.whatever: Reply to this comment

Ban the fukkker for life………….

• 143.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-142:
    Settle down boy, don’t lose the plot.
    How come the word hate seems to stand out like dogs ball..s in your nic? Merely coincidence.

• 144.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-142:

If the jury follow you’re opinion then there would be no bok side/ s to speak of!

• 145.Jeez: Reply to this comment

Rapport: Nou Die Mol wil nie eintlik Meyer en die Suid-Afrikaanse Rugbyunie (Saru) se groot aankondiging spoil nie, maar hy het besluit die volk kan nie langer wag om te **** wie die wyse manne is wat Heyneke gaan bystaan nie.

Só hier is hulle: Rassie Erasmus, Johan van Graan, Basil Carzis, Ricardo Laubscher, Louis Koen, Victor Matfield, Pieter de Villiers en waarskynlik Jacques Nienaber.

• 146.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-112: I like Kaplan, too, will never forget however his “penalty” against the Waratahs (who for some reason just cannot win while he is reffing, only 2 from 20 or something and even those wins just against the pisspoor Rebels & Co), when he was asked for a reason, he replied “I forgot it” but nevermind penalty stayed. The game was in Sydney vs Bulls not long ago.

• 147.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Fair enough – two weeks – now we can get on with rugby! Case closed.

• 148.stew: Reply to this comment

Tough call – hard decision each way – but did you see the pace of Ranger coming across field to catch Basson – wow

• 149.norman: Reply to this comment

ufo37
    a bit late in the day but you are 100%correct that refs are allowing players to be dived upon and nothing is being done.
    in this instance he got a 2 week ban which is too little.
    in fact the ref should have not blown his whistle for the end of the game as the the hit came after he had scored and the correct ruling would have been to restart the game with a penalty at the half way and this possibly could have lead to a bulls victory.
    walsh said he could not award the penalty as time was up but this is one of the times when you cannot blow the whistle for full time or half time if the infringement is to be followed by a penalty….
    i understand walsh may have been confused as it was a fast game and after 80 minutes a ref may have been quite exhausted.

• 150.spartan: Reply to this comment

that tackle was not late ********

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.