Bash resumes pivotal role

Flyhalf Peter Grant will start his first match of the season when the Stormers host the Blues at Newlands this Friday.

Gary van Aswegen started at No 10 in the Stormers’ first two matches against the Hurricanes and Sharks. While the Cape side won both matches, Van Aswegen struggled to produce a dominant showing and the backline as a collective failed to fire on attack.

While the Stormers still hope that the 22-year-old Van Aswegen will develop into a good flyhalf option, it’s clear Grant is now their main man.

‘Peter is a Springbok and has a lot of experience,’ coach Allister Coetzee said of Grant’s selection. ‘It’s a very good Blues side that we’re up against, and so there’s going to be a lot of pressure in that [flyhalf] channel. Peter has shown it time and again that he can cope with that kind of pressure.’

Grant returned from Japan five days before that Sharks match and was rushed straight into the match 22. He came off the bench in the second half to not only settle the backline but also nail a touchline penalty to win the game.

Despite Grant’s heroics, he may not be utilised as the Stormers’ primary goal-kicker. Fullback Joe Pietersen missed four attempts at goal in that Sharks match, but could still be entrusted with responsibilities for the coming matches.

‘To be honest, I don’t have a definitive answer to that question,’ Coetzee told keo.co.za. ‘It is something that will be decided at the captain’s run on Thursday.’

Coetzee confirmed that lock Rynhardt Elstadt and prop Deon Carstens, who have both been sidelined with injury, will return to action in the Vodacom Cup this weekend. Depending on how they fare, they could be available for the Stormers’ next clash against the Lions.

Meanwhile, team captain Schalk Burger has had the plaster removed from his injured knee and will begin his rehabilitation next week. It was initially said that Burger would be back for the second tour match against the Crusaders, and on Tuesday Coetzee confirmed that things are on track regarding Burger’s return to the playing field.

Stormers – 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Nick Koster, 7 Duane Vermeulen, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Skara Ntubeni, 17 Frans Malherbe, 18 De Kock Steenkamp, 19 Nizaam Carr, 20 Louis Schrueder, 21 Gary van Aswegen, 22 Gerhard van den Heever.

By Jon Cardinelli

344 Comments

• 1.ufo: Reply to this comment

huh…?

the news should be… how come etzebeth is on the bench…??

• 2.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Good team.

• 3.ufo: Reply to this comment

s’pose it’s best to go with grant…

at least we don’t have to rely on his pop-gun boot in defense… joe or gio bring their bazookas to the party…

but otherwise a solid enough looking team…

• 4.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-1: because Kockie needs to start, rotation policy :D

• 5.ufo: Reply to this comment

JC…

don’t the stormers play the blues on friday night…?

• 6.stew: Reply to this comment

Good stormers side – of all the SA sides the stormers have had the Blues number in the past – stormers by 7

• 7.pompies2: Reply to this comment

Can’t understand the Steenkamp for Etzebeth change. Sure the added physicality of Etzebeth is needed, more so after the Blues’ display last weekend. Steenkamp will do OK in the lineouts, but his tight-loose play isn’t great.

• 8.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-4: etzebeth to come on as an impact player mowing down tired Blues players, AC saw how the Blues were only hanging on @ Loftus. finish with a flourish

• 9.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Whats with the Bash nickname. If someone called a Heinrich Fulls or Pieter Mulder Bash I could understand but this bloke can hardly bash a kakhuis door in….

Would’ve let Ettertjie loose on this Blues pack and knock the sh it out of them in the first halve and have the rest take it home 30min from time.

• 10.grunk: Reply to this comment

Bekker is another one who hasn’t fired on all cylinders this season. Against the Blues, we are going to need all the dynamite we’ve got to keep those forwards in check. It is pointless having Bash back without some decent possession.

• 11.stew: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-8: Especially tired after being hit by bottles !!! he he !!!

• 12.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-4:

i really don’t like this rotation thing at all… although I know it is necessary, especially in the s15…

i like a guy being able to play his way into the starting slot and keeping it until the next guy outplays him…

rather reward the better player with more playing time than ‘reward’ him with less…

substitute when the better player gets tired or has a bad day at the office…

• 13.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-8: it’s quite risky to leave it to impact players. You’ve got to control the game from the start. If you relying on impact players to do the job, your starting players didn’t do theirs.The Blues got an early score last week and it did wonders for them. You have t knock their confidence early. Besides, Etzebeth is an 80 minute player.

• 14.ufo: Reply to this comment

@grunk(grunk)-10:

he’s coming back from serious injury… think it’ll take a couple more matches to spark all 12 cylinders…

• 15.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Etsebeth covers 4 & 5 so maybe that has something to do with it, AC obviously has a plan, and i think that plan is to only play Bekker for 60 minutes a game this season. Etsebeth is the perfect replacement in that circumstance, although you could just as well play “Kokkie” in that role too.

Kokkie.

What a kuk nickname.

• 16.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

PS I read on News24 that Elton may be out for up to a month.

• 17.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-12: That’s how Becker was played into the ground last year.

• 18.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-2:

Did you see my directive last night about not listening to Whitney nor Queen anymore.

• 19.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-12: like AC did with Bekker playing him until he was moer toe and the ankle needed surgery and it was bye bye World Cup for Dries?

• 20.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-16: Slipped on that sh it dripping from his hair and got his foot stuck under the toilet……eina

• 21.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Not surprising really, he is a damn good player.

• 22.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

The Stormers should take it.

• 23.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-17: and his alter ego Bekker.

• 24.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-17:
    @Transformation(Transformation)-19:

yeah yeah guys… but not quite the same…

bekker played virtually every minute of every game… i’m simply suggesting that we should start with etzebeth…

i would give etzebeth a vote of confidence for a motm performance… imo…

• 25.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Dawn.

Ja I did. Will do.

• 26.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Etzebeth is as hot as the CT weather.

• 27.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-25:

Those two are brain contaminants.

Please update the i Pod

• 28.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-24: if the player knows what the coach’s intentions are there shouldn’t be any issues about being rewarded or whatever. in new zealand for example hansen has arranged that some of the all blacks don’t have full contact training all the months of super rugby and only attend certain light training session to preserve them.

nothing like that in SA, we expect bekker, elstadt, eben to front elke saterdag without fail because “i like a guy being able to play his way into the starting slot and keeping it until the next guy outplays him”

• 29.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-19: you need to be selective in the games you rest players. besides, the stormers come off a bye and it’s a home game.

• 30.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Whitney is very tappit.

• 31.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-27:

Tac’s Nissan X-trail only has a frontloader.

• 32.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-31: No gazette playa? How is his music exchange club with Skoppie going to work? Skoppie uses TDKs exclusively.

• 33.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-29: clearly AC thinks Kockie can take ali williams & co…

• 34.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-28:

well of course in a world of entitlement aspiring to the the best counts for nothing…

• 35.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Hehe.

You guys been getting ‘profiling’ lessons from Sherrif Horatio Byleveld then, have you.

• 36.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-31:

Watch your mouth

Tac drives a Fortuner

• 37.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-32:

tac shotgun’s a boombox.

run dmc style.

I hope he doesn’t play skoppies new mixtape backwards.

you make the music go back you hear satan speak.

• 38.Robzim: Reply to this comment

No team with P Grant at flyhalf has or will ever win a major competition.

• 39.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-35:

Watch your mouth

Piet Byleveld is the bizniz of the shizznizz

• 40.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-38:

Aha

Finally back from The Argus

• 41.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-36:

that’s too obvious.

tac is a meverick.

***-trail it is.

• 42.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-37: Is that the Midfield General sample of the Faith No More sample?

• 43.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-32:

@ufo(ufo)-34:

Have any of you listened to the new Springsteen album (Wrecking Ball) and, if so, how do you rate it?

• 44.Dawn: Reply to this comment

All in Athlone fear Piet Byleveld

Although we were all very happy to see his wedding featured in You magazine.

Beautiful it was

• 45.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-35:

Sherrif couldn’t find his arse with Pietman’s elbow.

• 46.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-33: so toeties thinks kockie will pummel ali. sounds like the brokeback sequel.

• 47.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-40: He got lost. Accidentally hung a left at Muizenberg, got confused when he saw Strand approaching and next thing you know he’s in Lesotho. Could happen to anyone.

• 48.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-41:

It’s a Fortuner

:evil:

Fully-loaded

• 49.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-43: No. Any good?

• 50.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-49:

Still making up my mind. Listened to it for the first time this morning. 2 or three tracks immediately strucked me as very good. Others as average + . Need to listen more.

• 51.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

6 Stew… Stats on that?? Sharks have beaten them the most and haven’t lost to the Blues for a few years now…

• 52.Jonck: Reply to this comment

Etzebeth’s knees were heavily strapped in previous game , maybe he has a small injury. Also Bekker looks like he is carrying an injury. It might also be a case that players(read Steenkamp) moves elsewhere when they do not get a chance. Should be interesting to see what happened when Elstadt is back. I rate Quinn Roux also very high as lock.! I think he will in future be better than Steenkamp.

Alister please play Elstadt as nr7 when he is fit! I think that is his position. He is just not tall enough as lock. Can’t remember him talking any opposition’s balls.

• 53.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-42:

the Devils in the music.

Good spot.

• 54.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-43:

no rob… not yet…

but will get it… no matter what… have all his albums… nebraska being my favorite…

• 55.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I tend not to buy whole cd’s of one group or artist. After about 3 songs, everything sounds the same.

I prefer to buy greatest hit compilations of different bands, then each song is something fresh.

For example:

I used to really like U2. But by the time you get to Streets Have No Name, you forgot how One, differs from In the Name of Love or With or Without you.

There’s just so much falsetto you can take in any one session before it all blurs together.

• 56.The_GENERAL: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-4:

If its rotation what about Tiaan Liedenberg, another all action players that need a rest.

• 57.puff: Reply to this comment

Would have dropped Van Aswegen out of match 22 and had Francis on the bench.
    Also prefer what I’ve seen of Groom’s play to Schreuder’s.
    But the Stormers brains trust seem to rate Van Aswegen and Schreuder highly.

• 58.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

For the last couple of years the Stormers always looked good on paper. Well the same story again this year , bluddy good team playing this weekend. Looking forward to this one , this is going to be a cracker. Friday we will see if this team will go forward as one of the bests over the last couple of years. The backline can fire if Grant plays a good game. But yes been building for the last ten years so hopefully we can go all the way this year.

• 59.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Bad news for the Stormers, a Kiwi referee for Friday, the two linemen are Peiper and another Saffa.
    No signs of Jonker, Joubert will swindle it for France against Wales
    The Sharks drew Kaplan against the Reds, they may look even worse than last week under a straight referee
    So it seemed that SANZAR eventually sniffed a rat?

• 60.Dawn: Reply to this comment

For the last and final time Walsh is Australian

Official.

• 61.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-59: That is really pathetic Hondo. And you are even repeating your drivel on multiple threads. Quite sad.

• 62.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-60:

And Stranksy now has some Australian in him..

• 63.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Anyone out there willing to part with their Stormers vs Bulls tickets, 31 March? Need to be good seats.

One at a time now, dont rush…

• 64.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-60:
    It’s Glen Jackson, the former Wasps fly half, not Walsh who is actually from Auckland originally

• 65.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading(wpjoulekkading)-61:
    You are welcomed to put a wager on the Stormers

• 66.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-62:
    Has he emigrated to Oz?
    Followed Gerald Bosch and Uli?

• 67.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-66:

Nope. But he sure loves Steve Walsh..

• 68.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

I think Fourie du preez should join the Stormers for the remainder of the compo!

• 69.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-64:

Are you talking referees or not

• 70.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-59: Won’t be a problem for the stormers. Walsh will enjoy his time in CT and will be compensated with a year’s supply of vino, courtesy of the farmers, if the stormers win. Did you think Schalk’s dad was a wynboer for nothing?

• 71.stew: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-51: IMO trying to find the stats but struggling !

• 72.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

So glad Grant is back. Van Aswegen wasnt cutting it. Why is Etzebeth on the bench? We need all the physicality we can get to oust these Bull busting Blues!

• 73.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-63: Are the tickets sold out? i love to go to that game but I am broke and pay day comes to late to be able to buy tickets!

• 74.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-6:

Erm… Stew…

Your statement: “Good stormers side – of all the SA sides the stormers have had the Blues number in the past” cannot be more incorrect.

Since 1998 the Stormers have played the Blues 14 times, won 6 and lost 8. The Stormers therefore have a negative win/loss ratio against the Blues…

In the same period the Sharks have played the Blues 15 times, won 11 and lost 4. Amazingly, the Sharks are unbeaten against the Blues in their last 7 consecutive games.

• 75.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-60: No he is not.

• 76.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-74: well done sharks+

• 77.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-73: There are a couple of tickets available, crappy seats though, no more than 3 in a group. Wanna go with a couple of mates. Currently hitting Gumtree.

• 78.Transformation: Reply to this comment

COMMENT: Hobbs’ brilliant legacy

Tuesday, 13 March 2012 11:32 p.m.

No-one could ever have criticised the late Jock Hobbs if he had turned his back on rugby twice and gone about other aspects of his life.

Hobbs, the All Black and former chairman of the New Zealand Rugby Union and the organising committee of last year’s Rugby World Cup, died after a battle with leukaemia in Wellington on Tuesday.

As a player he was forced to retire prematurely, due to ongoing concussion problems, and as a consequence he missed out on playing in the inaugural Rugby World Cup.

Hobbs was an openside flanker who played 21 Tests and who captained the side. He came to the fore during Canterbury’s great Ranfurly Shield era of the early 1980s.

But as an administrator, he was dumped by the New Zealand Rugby Union’s annual meeting as a councillor after having been involved in saving rugby from the potential ravages of a severe break-up in the traditional nature of the game after it went professional.

It was in 1995 after the creation of the Tri Nations, Sanzar and the Super 12, as it was then, during the Rugby World Cup in South Africa, that Hobbs and Sir Brian Lochore were at the forefront of the bid to stave off the advances of the World Rugby Corporation that threatened to emasculate the traditional game and the international structure of rugby.

Hobbs and Lochore trooped up and down the country talking to All Blacks and convincing them, finally, to sign with the NZRU, thus saving the All Blacks as an institution.

His reward was an unceremonious dumping by the affiliated unions that was all too typical of the sometimes Kremlin-like NZRU of the amateur era.

So close did rugby come to losing its players, that in his book The Rugby War, Australian writer Peter FitzSimons recounted an instance where the magnitude of the crisis facing the game was hit home to Hobbs when he was told the situation was so bad that “if you previously had one finger on the window ledge, you’re now hanging by half a finger-nail.”

It was Hobbs who, at a vital stage in negotiations with the All Blacks, corralled Sir Brian Lochore to appear at the training run before a Bledisloe Cup Test against Australia so, if they wanted, the players could talk to him.

The then chairman of the NZRU Rob Fisher was quoted by FitzSimons as saying: “BJ [Lochore] could look players in the eye and make them feel embarrassed because they knew what he did not know.”

The effort Hobbs put in may never be fully appreciated by the rugby public at large. But one who worked alongside him during the time, Brendon O’Connor of the NZRU told FitzSimons: “The experience of working with Jock in those extraordinary circumstances illustrated to me what it truly meant to be an All Black.

“The fact that a handful of players might have been tampering with a history, a part of New Zealand society and culture, seemed to hurt him personally…it took an experience like that to make me understand the passion and the courage that it takes to be one [All Black].”

Hobbs, who had had to stress to the full board of the NZRU the level of action that needed to be taken, telling the board at one stage that their meeting could be the last ever held of any significance by the Union, was then defeated for a place on the NZRU board when it was reconfigured from 19 members to nine.

However, when New Zealand lost its co-sharing of the 2003 Rugby World Cup with Australia, the board of the NZRU was rearranged in 2002 and Hobbs was ushered back into the corridors of power and elected chairman of the organisation that had earlier shunned him.

That he was prepared to do that spoke volumes for his passion for rugby in New Zealand.

But Hobbs had the last laugh and returned even stronger to steer the game through some tough years and his crowning glory was New Zealand’s successful bid to stage the 2011 Rugby World Cup.

• 79.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-77: I had crappy seats for that Stormers vs Sharks. I was sitting behind the dead ball line. Literally in the corner. The play didn’t even come down to that side of the field. still great fun being at Newlands.

• 80.stew: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-74: Thanks for the stats WS – but i am sure that i have seen recent success for the Stormers against the Blues , anyway good stormers side

• 81.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-80: The Stormers have won their last 2 games against the Blues, which just so happen to have both been in Auckland. Kudos to them for that.

But it hardly matches 7 games on the trot…

• 82.Sremrots: Reply to this comment

On the Stormers site, Etzebeth to start and Kokkie on the bench. Me thinks Jon Cardinelli has got it wrong.

• 83.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

I just don’t think Gary Van Kak op ‘n wa is that good. We have better 10′s in the country such as Brummer, Ebersohm, Goosen of which the Stormers can contract. If you look at the quality 10s the New Zealand is pumping out one often wonder why we do not have enough of them around. Look at the kid that played against the blues for the bulls. Came in cold and took the game by the scruff by the neck and in the process made the Springboks premier flyhalf look like nothing more than a club player.

• 84.stew: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-81: My long term memory is going LOL

• 85.Sremrots: Reply to this comment

a Tweet from Dewaldt Duvenage

dewaldtduvenage?@dewaldtduvenageReply
    Retweet

Favorite
    · Open

Team vs Blues:Pietersen,Aplon,de Jongh,de Villiers,Habana,Grant,Duvenage,Koster,Vermeulen,Kolisi,Bekker,Etzebeth,Harris,Liebenberg,Kitshoff”

• 86.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sremrots(Sremrots)-85: cardinelli smoking his socks then!

• 87.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Sremrots(Sremrots)-82:

that’s more like it…

and having glen jackson as ref is good… imo…

as the only ex-player of recent vintage in reffing circles i think he’s shown some good understanding as a ref and as tj/asst ref…

• 88.Stofstorm: Reply to this comment

@Sremrots(Sremrots)-82: Yes I also saw that Etzebeth is starting. On the Stormers website and also on supersport. Good side we will put 10 on them.

• 89.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-55: Now That’s What I Call Tos 27

That kind of thing?

• 90.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Sremrots(Sremrots)-82: That makes far more sense.

• 91.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-67:
    I started switching off the commentators a while ago, can’t stand their nonsenses, lack of integrity and adhering to the party line
    The hit on Sadie is the case in point: they let it go without a comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-69:
    Glen Jackson, former Wasps Flyhalf is the referee for Friday

• 92.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Anyone who’s a fan of Springsteen check this out:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7zWmc-8tUmU

Springsteen and John Fogerty singing Pretty Woman.

Nice

• 93.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

You’ll also find a clip of them singing Fortunate Son. Also a classic.

• 94.Stofstorm: Reply to this comment

I would like to see Nizaam Carr getting a start ahead of Koster. He didn’t impress me in the first 2 games and Carr would also be better in the driving mauls. Koster’s running game will not be the best option against the Blues.

• 95.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-92:

goosebump stuff SB…

two legends…

this is where i have to vehemently disagree with skop…

brooooce ain’t no follower…

they don’t call him the boss for nothing…

and he certainly revolutionized the length of live performances… when everyone else was still doing their one-and-a-bit hour shows… the boss was doing three-and-a-half hour rock fests…!!

• 96.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-95: Springsteen did it his way. The hard way. Songs like The River, Born to Run, even stuff like Born in the USA really captured the feelings around that time of working class people who were struggling, being laid off, towns dying, he tapped into that really well. Legend.

Another artist who i really enjoy who to some extent also did that (small town) is Mellencamp. He also wrote some American classics.

You really can’t compare them to the Dylans etc. They were from a different time.

Legends all of them.

• 97.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Old Skop thinks The Boss is the bloke who rides up front in the bakkie.

Carlos Santana? Boss.

Van Morrison? Boss.

Joe Cocker? Boss.

Bruce Springsteen? Wekka.

• 98.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Skop will moer youse all into the E Street.

• 99.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

that why he ain’t no boss man he just a middle of the road follower

Orbison put Springsteen in the shade

If Elvis takes a cover he makes it into a hit.. if Nina Simone take somebody else song she put her own stamp on it, if Hendrix plays Dylan its a Hendrix creation to the core.. if Cocker takes a Lennon – Mcartney tune he turns it into a full blown mega new experience.. If Ray Charles does a number you can know only Ray can turn it on like that..

If Springsteen and Fogerty play Orbison, its a middle of the road cowboy on the range song and dance affair.. nowhere near as good as the original by Orbison himself. Bells and whistles don’t make a shining star.. the star gotta burn brightly by itself and burn itself out doing so…

• 100.Jonck: Reply to this comment

Just talk to a client and said a certain Stormer player just does not produce, he then said that guy is family, oopsie!

Anyway I then said I hate it that Stormers is too defensive in their minds. Slow to attact , etc. He then told me that this Stormer player told him that they do not really want the ball. They wait for the other team to make mistakes.

I can’t believe that a team can have so little self-belief?

So if you want to make money, bet that Stormers will have the least amount of bonus points!

• 101.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-96:

yeah… the boss sang for the working man… and woman and family…

yeah… like mellencamp too… you know he wanted to emulate david bowie…? true story…

thing is… like with rugby players… there’s no need to trash one to promote the other…

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-99:

skop…

springsteen has played with orbison, dylan, young and countless others… they all rate him…

i’m sure bruce won’t lose any sleep if you don’t…

who’ve you played with…?

• 102.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Springsteen ain’t fit to tie Cocker or Santana’s boot laces and he knows it only too well that why he knows his place in the hierarchy and only does whats safe…

Springsteen is the American hero next door… a modern version of Jim Morrison only nowhere near as ‘out there’

If middle of the road rock and roll is your bag then Springsteen is your boy next door..

If its real music you wanna get your teeth into.. then you got some ways to go before you hit the true tone level of where genius meets the stage and hits the target at the bulls eye core.

• 103.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-93:

have you heard Zuma Junior’s cover of Fortunate Son?

sung to the tune of Mshiniwam?

Interesting dynamic.

• 104.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-101:

fuckadillyniknak plays mostly with himself.

• 105.ufo: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-104:

• 106.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Santana, Morrison, Cocker, Dylan, Hendrix, Stills, Young, …

lets leave it at that else I string the page full of names…

these are leaders and boss men

Bruce just a nice good middle American down to earth bloke that can sling a guitar round his neck and belt out a tune for the man who ain’t got ears to hear what true genius is or is not…

Even Johannes Kerkorrel had far more genius running through his brain and veins than Bruce.. so JK = Boss man.. Bruce = cowboy on the range.

• 107.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-102: For a man who knows so little you sure do a lot of talking.

Cocker is no legend. He’s a decent if one dimensional singer who never quite matched his Woodstock era, when everyone was too euphorically smashed to truly judge anyway.

And that includes you, old timer.

• 108.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-95:

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-96:

I can only agree with both of you. Of course Bruce is no follower- he speaks to the mainly blue collar working man in their own language like nobody else in music ever did- Dylan is more poetry, a total different kettle of fish.

Check this lyrics from the track “Death of my hometown” on his latest album where he attacks the authorities whose policies and negligence stripped people of their worth and then also rallies those left behind. The song is performed in the manner of a US Civil War marching song, complete with precision drumming and penny whistle. It’s goose bumps stuff:

“Well, no cannonballs did fly, no rifles cut us down
    No bombs fell from the sky, no blood soaked the ground
    No powder flash blinded the eye, no deathly thunder sounded
    But just as sure as the hand of God, they brought death to my hometown
    They brought death to my hometown, boys

No shells ripped the evening sky, no cities burning down
    No army stormed the shores for which we’d die, no dictators were crowned
    I awoke from a quiet night, I never heard a sound
    The marauders raided in the dark and brought death to my hometown, boys
    Death to my hometown

They destroyed our families, factories, and they took our homes
    They left our bodies on the plains, the vultures picked our bones

So listen up, my sonny boy, be ready for when they come
    For they’ll be returning sure as the rising sun
    Now get yourself a song to sing and sing it ’til you’re done
    Yeah, sing it hard and sing it well
    Send the robber barons straight to hell
    The greedy thieves who came around
    And ate the flesh of everything they found
    Whose crimes have gone unpunished now
    Who walk the streets as free men now

Ah, they brought death to our hometown, boys
    Death to our hometown, boys
    Death to our hometown, whoa”

• 109.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Joe Cocker???????????

the guy who looks like a semi-pro darts player and whose best-known song was a Beatles cover?????????

Ahem, I think this discussion is closed.

There is a little boy who needs a lie down.

Cue GuntherGoebellsGobbledytwastick.

• 110.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-109: The very same. But Cocker sang at Woodstock, so he must be a legend. I mean, no new music of any worth came out after Woodstock. In fact, if it wasn’t produced in the 50s or 60s it is rubbish. Plus Cocker did that thing when he sang. That spaz-hand thing. Fcken genius. What does Springsteen do with his hand? Thought so.

• 111.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-110:

That was air guitar.

Fuckadilly’s favourite instrument.

That Cocker dude has the industrial quantities of recreational drugs taken in the 60′s and seventies to thank for his musical career.

Otherwise he would be running a chippy in Sheffield singing along to Radio 1.

• 112.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

May I suggest you do a search on Youtube for ACDC+Steven Tyler, for a nice video showing Brian Johnson showing that manwoman from Aerosmith how its done. Quite embarrassing to see Stevie try to do Shook me all night Long in the presence of the real deal.

• 113.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-111: Ah, my bad. I thought he was trying to do the sound of one hand clapping.

But yes, he is little more than a global one-man-cover-band. Just about every chart success he had was a cover (at least 5 of them courtesy of Lennon and McCartney). But Skop will have you believe that he “felt” the songs more than anyone else.

Skop must check his tofu’s best before date.

• 114.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Tac

I did a search for Steven Tyler ACDC.

That **** can get fella fired.

• 115.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-112: Nothing can be worse than Tyler butchering the American anthem. Which couldn’t have happened to a nicer nation.

Check it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hnXWv8pFkmI

• 116.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-112:

Steve Tyler is Mick Jagger’s sister.

• 117.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-112: That’s awful. But not as bad as this duet. Kurt Darren trying hard to keep up with Eddy Grant. And failing miserably. But bonus points for the faux Caribbean accent that kept poking through.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Azu4JqNcAUQ

• 118.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-114: hahahahahaha post of the day.

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-112: Brian Johnson and Steven Tyler are totally different and so it’s hard when one sings the other one’s song.

They’ve both earned their stripes, but I must say, I’m a fan of both.

• 119.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-116: How the hell did he beget such a pretty daughter?

• 120.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-119: Two Words:

Bebe Buelle.

• 121.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

http://aliceonthemoon.tumblr.com/post/4613892625/bebe-buell-c-1970

Not very SFW, but illustrates my point.

• 122.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-120: Sweet lord, google just chucked up a pic of her starkers. Luckily the office is pretty deserted.

• 123.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-121: That very one. Damn she’s easy on the eye. Or she was back in 1970.

• 124.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Sheeshkebab Stormersboy you are going to disappoint Tac again.

He could hang his vellies on those nipples.

• 125.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-122:

Rockers and tennis players seem to get the sexiest girls

• 126.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Jukkel stukkel, she got around a bit. Her boyfriends included Todd Rundgren, Iggy Pop, David Bowie, Mick Jagger, Jimmy Page, Steven Tyler, Rod Stewart, Elvis Costello, Jack Nicholson and a bunch more.

http://lovelyboheme.blogspot.com/2009/10/bebe-buell.html

• 127.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-118:

True, it is not anyone who can do a cover properly-and people hardly ever agree on whether it was done good or bad.

Check this one of Mellencamp doing Springsteen:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6gww1opBRxU&NR=1

I think it is great- apparently Bruce (although he applauded politely) hated it.

Eddie Vedder does very good covers imo- sometimes much better than the original.

• 128.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-127: I’m a big Eddie Vedder fan. There’s an excellent Youtube clip of him playing ‘Society” with Johnny Depp playing accoustic with him. Worth a watch.

• 129.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

She wouldn’t have been much good to anyone else after Iggy Pop got hold of her.

That guy is an animal.

• 130.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Pop goes the beaver.

• 131.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Weasel. I meant weasel.

• 132.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-122: Well now you know where Liv got her looks from. Isn’t genetics strange??

She’s pretty like her mom, but definitely resembles her dad.

Either way, she’s certainly one of the prettier rocker daughters.

• 133.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

It is a sad day in WP rugby when they look forward to the return of a limited flyhalf.

Love you Peter, but its the truth.

• 134.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-127: Interesting interpretation. Not my favourite but then what do I know?

• 135.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-133: What would your answer be?

Burton?

• 136.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-135:

Nope, he is the best they got – which is even more sad.

• 137.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Don’t worry PissAnt. Bash will probably alternate at flyhalf with Brock.

• 138.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-137:

He has to in the absence of Schalk!

• 139.ufo: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-133:

and the congregation said…

Amen Brother Pissant..!

• 140.ufo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-137:

if we’re kicking out of defense brok HAS to take the kicks…!! :lol:

• 141.ufo: Reply to this comment

Long ago and far away in a small fishing village on the edge of the Great Sea… perched high in his lighthouse built on a rugged rocky point, huffing and puffing on his own importance, sat the lighthouse keeper… known as Skop.

Skop guided the fishermen in their fishing boats safely passed the dangerous rocky shore into the sanctuary of The Cove.

The fishermen looked up to Skop, literally and figuratively, for guidance along the rocky shore…

Skop, likewise, looked down on the fishermen…

Skop knew the fishermen needed him as long as he shouted directions from the top of the lighthouse and shone a beacon for them at night…

Skop never came down from the lighthouse…

Some of the fishermen used to shout and say… “Hey Skop, you should join us on a voyage sometime… we see amazing things…!”

“There’s nothing to see…” responded Skop. “I can see further over the sea than all of you. I live in the highest building and have the brightest light in the village of The Cove… I have to guide you simple folk passed these dangerous rocks… I can see you more than all of you… I can see all the way to the horizon… there is nothing else to see…”

“But seriously Skop… when we go over the horizon there’s stuff that’ll blow your mind…”

“Don’t be stupidruntingfckinbitchinidioticcntingarsehole wannebe lighthouse keepers… no way you can see further than me in your pifflingfckinstupidlowclasswoodenkiddyboats than I can see from the top of my shiny bright lighthouse… you fckinmoronarsewipes…”

“Really Skop… We may be simple fishing folk and not lighthouse keepers… but we’ve seen this with our own eyes… they have planes and cars and electric guitars and ipods…”

“You know nothing, you goodfornothingimbecilicignoramusanuslickerfools… you’re nothing but stupididiotfollowers who have to go where the wind takes you… not like me who doesn’t have to follow because I’m elevated above you all and can just see everything from my lofty position…”

“Jaaaaaaa Skop…” the fishermen chorused… “if you say so… but we’ll keep visiting and seeing the cool stuff and having buckets of fun… Can we bring you back an ipod…”

“I don’t need imaginary things… I have seen the world from my lighthouse…
    I know the meaning of life itself… what the fcknarseholhellruntincntnfucknhell do you know…?”

So the fishermen went about their lives…

And Skop waited for them to come back to The Cove…

• 142.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-136: ja. Sadly I agree with you.

@>^..^< katman(katman)-137: The prophalf has some competition this year ;)

• 143.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-128:

Thanks, that is a great clip- i like the way Johnny D holds the guitar- very cool.

There is also a u tube clip of Eddie V, Ben Harper and surfer Kelly Slater doing Indifference with Slater on lead vocals. Must be flipping daunting to play (vocals and rhythm) with such great muso’s even if you are the best surfer ever :)

• 144.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Don’t shoot me, but I prefer Brock at 9. His sniping runs ask some big questions.

• 145.ufo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-144:

c’mon bud.. be fair…

brok is so quick he can play 9 and 10 at the same time…

passing to himself is no prob for brok…

• 146.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-142:

Prophalf – kak funny.

• 147.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-143:
    Have a Pearl Jam MTV Unplugged DVD.

Definately one of my favourites.

• 148.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Brok can play halfprop, flyprop or fullprop. He is that versatile.

Propping up the Stormers backline, that guy.

• 149.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-147:

Get Pearl Jam 20.

• 150.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Mmmmmmmm.

• 151.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-149:
    Prefer their old stuff but will check it out.

I see you not to pleased about Grants selection at flyhalf.
    What do you think of this combo:
    9.Duvenhage,10. Pietersen, 11.Habana, 12.JDV, 13.JDJ, 14.Van Den Heever, 15.Gio.

• 152.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

We really have a problem with 12 in this country, in fact everywhere

Miss the days of Dan Kara at 12, Tim Horan, Walter Little, Warwick Taylor, Aaron Mauger

Very misunderstood role

• 153.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Damn.

Now the endless rugby talk start and I missed the music chat and naked liv tyler.

• 154.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-151:

It is a documentary on their 20 years in the industry.

Not so sure on Joe at 10, you need a flyhalf that can ask questions on the direct defense of the opposition on set pieces – not sure Joe is keen to take on set play, first phase defense with 100+kg loosies are looking to level him.

• 155.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-147:

Yip, they are a magnificent band.

Check this clip, it cannot get much better.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-j8ZBgz7eWg&feature=related

Mike McCready is one of the most underrated lead guitarists ever.

• 156.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-152:

Keep and eye on Tim Whitehead.

• 157.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Will wait till skop gets back from shark hunting

• 158.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-154:
    Joe’s got a big heart and appears to be fearless. Doubt whether Grant or Van Aswegen will ask more questions to the direct defence. Joe also offers more in terms of tactical kicking than both the other candidates.

• 159.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-153:
    Dawn I see you watched Lincoln Lawyer.

Great movie.

• 160.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-152:

One of the most important positions in a team.

• 161.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Indeed jeraldjay

Soundtrack is even better!

• 162.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-155: Classic Strat player. “maker of animal sounds” was how he was described on one of the albums…

Really knows his stuff.

• 163.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-156:

There’s something about him that reminds me of Rob Fleck, not sure what/why

He looks like an athlete but it’s unlikely that he will be the 12 that Im looking forward to; you need a certain type of awareness and instinct to play 2nd 5-8

• 164.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-160:

There’s hardly a place to hide these days

Defence is better organised, players are better conditioned and as a result players 1 to 15 need to work in tandem

Opposition teams seek out the weaknesses and manipulate defenses around those areas

• 165.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

I will stick my neck out and say that the next awesome 12 will prolly be kullid

This may sound ridiculous on a white ear, but consider this:

* Breyton Paulse despite his size or lack thereof had lovely feel for the game
    * Bjorn Basson ripping balls out of the air as if always uncontested
    * Elton Jantjies playing with the flair and feel not seen in SA in a long time; he is almost better than Carlos the Jackal himself- better kicker anyway

What about Cecil Afrika :-)

• 166.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

If I’m honest, i generally prefer the slightly deeper tone that guitars like Gibsons put out with the humbucker pick-ups. Often the Strat. can come across as a bit whine-ey.

In the hands of a geniuses like Clapton, Hendrix, SRV et al it sounds like an angel is playing though.

• 167.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-152: Who do you think has the potential to be as good as those you mentioned? I think James O’Connor has the most potential to be in Horan’s class.

• 168.garth: Reply to this comment

I think Eben has been hard done by. While he is on a role he should have been kept at 4 for as long as possible. He has just had a week off, so over playing him at this stage should not be an issue. I agree that he should have 1 or 2 weeks rest in the middle of the comp, just because of his age. I don’t understand what Steenkamp is doing there either. AC should have waited for Eldstaft to return before resting Eben. He is not an impact player, he needs all the game time we can give him if he is to become a Bok great. This is just WP stuffing up player management again.

• 169.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-165: Jirre ou bees, jy kan lekker kak praat. Are you that desperate for some positive affirmation of “your people” that you arbitrarily recall a handfull of good players as some kind of tentative proof that the next inside centre star will be coloured? Or is this your stab at humour?

• 170.Horings: Reply to this comment

I have not read through all the comments, but surely someone did mention AC’s mistake in not picking anyone to combat Braid, Mealamu and Braid. They will have a field day with a Kiwi refereeing the game.

• 171.David: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-159:
    The book is better. If you enjoy detective thrillers check out the Harry Bosch novels by the same author, Michael Connelly, they’re addictive.

• 172.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Horings(Horings)-167:

James is a phenomenal athlete and very versatile, perhaps too versatile.

One week is at 1st 5-8 (or 10) the next week at 14 and so on. So he is not allowed to settle in a role and specialise as every coach sees him differently or needs him for a different role

Im not convinced that he sees himself as a 12 and that pretty much sums it up; there needs to be a yearning, a desire

• 173.David: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-168:
    JC c*cked up. Eben is starting.

• 174.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-169:

Hei, wies jou ‘jirre’ en ‘bees’ – wat is jy? ‘n Reptiel?

Ek skryf soos ek skryf want ek weet dit sal elke rassis laat kopkrap

Julle boere het geen vlêr nie, vlermuis

• 175.David: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-172:
    I doubt whether Giteau saw himself as a 12 either, but with Larkham at 10 he didn’t do too badly, did he? :lol:

• 176.Horings: Reply to this comment

http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/Super15/Bulls-deserved-a-penalty-Bray-20120313. Wow, these guys are actually called professionals! A on-the-spot wrong call from an investment banker can cost the bank trillions and he will get fired. Refs are paid to make on the spot calls and he even made the call after Spies gave him a chance to change his call and think about it.

• 177.David: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-165:
    I reckon Afrika would be a better 10 or 15.

• 178.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-175:

Giteau very effective whether at 10 or 12 but not the classic 12

Larkham was a manufactured 10 that only had one move to drift across the field – sometimes he would offload, other times not

We just didnt have the smartest players in midfield which allowed him to ‘baljaar’; our problem in SA is that we see a Wynand Olivier as a 12

• 179.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-177:

Too small in my mind for the 15 man version

He needs space and that’s what the 7s affords him; he instinctively senses the space but would be a liability on defence

No he should stay where he is and win us some more trophies there

Gee-jou Appels ( Aplon) would also be a super star if he joins the 7s

• 180.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-178: Do you think the inside centre’s role has changed? In attack it may be similar, but in defence a 12 should stop any momentum in the midfield and he should be able to steal the odd ball. Frans Steyn is the best equipped to be a classic 12, but also able to deliver on the needs of the modern game.

• 181.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Horings(Horings)-180: I think if Meyer can get F Steyn back then we can gamble with Jantjes on flyhalf to take some pressure of him. I Jantjes can create as much space for Steyn as he creates for Hollenbach then we may have a very potent backline.

• 182.David: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-178:
    Sure, Larkham drifted but he also straightened between the 10 and 12, creating space for Giteau.

• 183.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Horings(Horings)-180:

No it has not changed.

Take Ma’a Nonu for instance. Graham Henry moved him to 12 for his ability to run straight, difficult guy to stop with low centre of gravity; it was between him and Snake (Conrad Smith -not a 12)

But with Sonny Bill Williams he could revert to a more creative 12; well he can’t kick but his weapon is his timing of the offload in the tackle both ways. He is also big enough and deceptive so if you dont tackle him he goes all the way

I prolly share the views of Robbie Deans on 10-12 axis; Deans however (and Ted for that matter) very very fortunate to have a player like Dan Kara; players like that dont come along every day

• 184.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-182:

He continues to drift, he is now part of Jake White’s Winning Ways

• 185.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Horings(Horings)-181:

I wanted to say something about Frans Steyn

Regrettably Frans is no longer the player he was in 2007; he still has the talent (born with it) but his conditioning is not up to std; hair and facial hair now more his line

You will remember that PdV alluded to this and wanted him to play in SA so he could have an influence/monitor his conditioning; I think he is now > 100kgs so he should come down to 95 kg or so and get his mind right

Problem is that at age 24/25 he is a veteran of 2x RWC so is the desire there?

• 186.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Cheers fellas

• 187.David: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-186: @Sheriff(Sheriff)-186:
    Cheers.

• 188.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

so you back onto rugby now

all the ‘lil pumpkin pimping exiles from Tswane town cottoning onto the ‘boss’ cause they wanna identify with what they think is relatively ‘real’..

nope Springsteen ain’t all that ‘real’.. or lets say rather he’s like half real.. not the real McCoy.. not the lasting bright shining star that burns from afar .. Springsteen ain’t wholly real he’s like half a star.., half a wonder what you are…, not quite there .., the almost man… even Mellencamp does Springsteen better than Springsteen can..

the ‘Boss’ my phony fakey arse… but if Springsteen moves your soul.. then you gotta have a soul like a caterpillar waiting to emerge from your cotton picking sock cocoon cause Springsteen don’t have that true undeniable poignant factor that can tune into what is close enough to what is true .. he’s like a simple honest Joe trying to be a little more than he is .. much like some his pseudo fawning fan’s who wanna place him on that ‘boss’ like pedestal..

I actually got nothing against Bruce Springsteen.. he’s an honest enough sincere working mans musician to know his own limitations.. who puts out his working man energy for a good enough cause…. what I do find rather annoying is these little piffle arsed pseudo wet behind the ears creeps who pretend to be f’ng connoisseurs of music .. like they these highfalutin pseudo connoisseurs of shiraz wines .. they bottle and ‘collect’ music in much the same way as they bottle and ‘collect’ these pathetic pseudo phony bourgeois identities and labels and status symbols that they place such imaginary societal importance on and lavishly horde them into their famous ‘collections’..

They reckon they can recognize false from true .. fact of the matter is they don’t.. they ain’t a true music connoisseurs backside .. absolutely and most definitely as far as music is concerned.. perhaps in selecting these societal status symbols like wine they stand some chance of identifying what they deem to be valuable.. when it comes to music they are way off track..and way out of tune.

• 189.cab: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-171:
    yip also got a thing for pulp noire too, what about crais (cole), child (reacher), coben (bolitar), lindsay (dexter)?

• 190.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

perhaps that puts that little irritating side issue to bed

as far as banking on Bash goes

AC got it wrong .. again..

he should have backed Van Aswegen.. Blues are going in with a 20 year old fly half who put Morne Steyn to the sword and drilled the Bulls all on his own…

But the conservative cowardly chicken sh’t saffa coaches got no f’ng balls.. they the biggest rear guard action cowards in world rugby.. and the state of our attacking game is the exact repercussion of all that pathetic conservatism cowardice that has crippled our rugby for almost a couple decades already under the auspices of the cowardly chicken scaredy cat clowns who wanna call themselves rugby coaches in this so called land of the brave .. where we breed rugby talents at youth level like no other country can.. yet when push comes to shove we retreat back into our shells and our petrified conservatories because we too chicken to break a leg or bust open a goddamn rusty old tin can.

• 191.cab: Reply to this comment

so whats the big one-upmaniship about tonight, springsteen or mellencamp or what?

both pretty good, not going to set the world on fire but you’d tap your footsies along or i would at least, i really liked the doors, probably the only decent alternative band the yankies produced in years gone back and even they a bit tempered by the limitations of their culture but the drugs helped.

• 192.cab: Reply to this comment

David,

if you around later also mosley (rawlins), chandler (marlow) and james ellroy. ive finisihed most of them, if you know any others let me know.

• 193.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-190: It puts nothing to bed mate. Just opinions, If you were to ask any of the musicians that you seem to admire they’ll all say that they admire what these guys are up to, and that it isn’t a competition. Enjoy what you enjoy, be it Mozart or Metallica. The choice is yours.

As for Bash, well Gary was struggling, as much of a fan that I am.

Let’s see how he does.

• 194.klugzie: Reply to this comment

What’s all this about Etzebeth not starting – all others sites have him down as starting – if he isn’t starting it’s a shocker!

• 195.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

the Brit pop ravers all came to America to find their long lost soul.. so they stole the music from the Mississippi delta blues of Huddie Leadbetter and Robert Johnson and Son House and Muddy Waters and the rest and turned it into commercial bumph.. which the baby boom generation lapped up with devouring need

. first came Elvis who turned the West African soulful simple 12 bar tunes into a white mans escape into a reach of his brain he could not breech without the aid of the black man’s rhythmic connection to his soul… then the pseudo rockers from Liverpool sophisticated the lily limp lavish melodies from the Hebrides by mixing it with some down and dirty Mississippi blues.. and finally the rockers from London stole the rest of what was left from the cotton picking pains off the plantations and unashamedly called it rock and roll..

Anyway the real trail of the evolution started in Africa and festered and formed in the deep south of America.. where it merged and forged together with hillbilly and Celtic melodies through songwriters and poets like Woody Guthrie…

Between Guthrie – who’s mantle was carried on by Dylan.. and the entire deep south blues communities first blues was created.. and later sophisticated into jazz .. and branched off into rock and roll..

The Brits picked it up and ran with the sound and the momentum and the Rock generation was born.

• 196.cab: Reply to this comment

yeah yeah we all know the history – but depends what u like, i dont like jazz or ramblings of dylan, i dont like a scientific treatise on guitar, elvis is dated and passe for me, i want a backbeat u can feel it and something slightly different, the british push the boundaries in a particular style of music, alternative band music, you cant explain it, its just there and they do it more often than anyone, constantly reinventing.

• 197.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-195: True, and Springsteen pays tribute to Guthrie in all of his shows, from the very beginning. His acoustic “this land is your land” is very powerful.

I’d like to see him live (amoungst many others)

• 198.cab: Reply to this comment

and its not pop, pop is mostly kak – its sort of alternative rock or what they call indie nowadays, but different, a certain subsection have a feel for that type of music, there’s a publication called NME and they represent it probably best.

• 199.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-195: And every one of those music styles is an evolution of something that went before it, right back to cavemen banging two sticks together. Each generation is as real and valid and important as the last.

• 200.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-193: tell your phoephiefied little pseudo arse punkified pals who dunno music from make believe.. or tie dyed tee shirts from rhythmic uncomplicated sounds.. or psychedelic escapades from phony pseudo status symbol ‘collections’ to shut their pseudo little clap trap minds up and open up their dumb fck ears before clamoring to find a handle with which to spout their clap trap garbage intelligentsia laden pseudo scum pretensions about stuff they know absolutely fckall about,..

• 201.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

anyway as far as I’m concerned most of it is dead now.. Zappa was quite correct.. video killed the radio star.. and music as it forged and evolved actually tapered off and died about 3 – 4 decades ago..

Clash, Cure, Nirvana, Pixies, Dixies, Sting, Sling, Dingading ding, Guns n Roses, U2, Man in the Zoo.. they all been running on the same energy that came out of West Africa.. but they pretty much killed it stone dead…

Tacitus is not all that far wrong.. there is so much you can do by rearranging notes and beats and tones and temperaments .. but soon you might exhaust the real creative energy .. because I ain’t seen or heard much of wholesome value or anything inspiring and new since they all fell off the wagon sometime after the mushroom cloud evaporated over Candy man’s square…

its all image driven nowadays.. hardly any really appealing sounds .. its all about sexy songstresses strutting their images or else its this driving insane house music beat or that rap around the racking brain that is way out of kilter with anything inspirational or real.

• 202.cab: Reply to this comment

sting is kak, nirvana so-so, dingaging ding never heard of, GNR so-so, U” so-so, Man in the Zoo never heard of.

i give u a playlist u put dylan in the bin and wtf is wrong with a sexy songstresses, u cant hold it against them if they got great set of lungs…

• 203.cab: Reply to this comment

its entertainment, a show, a spectacle, a feast for the senses but really its just about what you like personally and subjectively. the mainstream like the superficial images for obvious reasons, but ppl got nice interests cos they like it, like a succulent piece of lamb…

• 204.cab: Reply to this comment

nice=niche

too much kakpraat, better go do some stuff, David will speak later.

• 205.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-201:

Music has evolved so much further than your hero’s in every respect… difference between your generation and ours… is we were not left behind as insular/record-stuck-in-one-zone ignoramus’… we can appreciate all your hero’s and everything that has evolved from their era’s into the now…

We’re not limited one bit…

• 206.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-205:
    Music has evolved but not as much as the software that makes those songs now.
    I am not far from the truth when i say all you need now is to run a drum machine and a
    couple of looped sounds, lyrics and speak those words and there we have it a song, if you cant mkae the notes you want, the evolved software will fix that for you.
    Dont get me wrong, i like a few new singers as bands these days in pop do not exist.
    But music now is as much visual as it is the sound.
    You can not compare any singers/bands these days to any of the old greats.
    Some people prefer the old stuff and good on them cos it was an era where music was all about music.
    Now i am not so sure

• 207.Saffex: Reply to this comment

Coetzee has to be one idiot of a coach – how on earth can you select the bloody ordinary de Kock Steenkamp ahead of the very impressive Etzebeth – what an idiot – thank the pope he never got the Bok job

• 208.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-206:

And why would you compare anyone from any era… I’m most certainly not limited to any of the genres from Hendrix live to 200k punters in 69′ to 200 punters at a Stay Up Forever Brixton squat party in 99′…

@Saffex(Saffex)-207:

You’ll be the first to moan when Bekker and co are played into the ground again each and every game until injury… Super Rugby season is like no other and rotation is key…

• 209.whatever: Reply to this comment

de kock steenkamp………..what a useless journeyman, eish!

• 210.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Back up players are usually either journeymen or youngsters on the way up. It is difficult to keep starting quality players if they don’t get game time. De Jong would probably not have re-signed if he was still stuck in traffic behind JdV and JF. Sadie and JJ knew they would get to play more sooner at the Bulls. It is the journeymen who are the key to depth in a squad.

• 211.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Saffex(Saffex)-207:

etzebeth has been selected to start… according to the stormers website and every other website…

appears jon cardinelli has got it wrong… he also told us this game was on saturday but has since corrected that mistake…

• 212.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-205: He doesn’t believe in evolution so you might as well try convince a mushroom

It’s like saying the only decent rugby players who ever lived were guys like Brian Lochore, Avril Malan, Danie Craven, Frik Du Preez, Colin Meads etc, and there has never been any evolution since then and they are the best and everyone since then are just pretenders

• 213.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Saffex(Saffex)-207: Early days, and it’s his first season…the guy needs to be managed, especially if he has niggling injuries!

• 214.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Saffex(Saffex)-207: Etsebeth is starting. Steenkamp on the bench.

See JC?? What you’ve started with your inaccuracies? Practically a riot here for the past few days by Stormers fans……

• 215.garth: Reply to this comment

News 24 have the proper team…..
    http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/Super15/Stormers-wary-of-bye-slumber-20120313

Come on Keo!

• 216.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-214:

yeah… and ac being unjustly vilified…

• 217.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-201: You’ve got to ask yourself what kind of person feels the need to “win” the True Music Connoisseur Award. Like it’s some kind of achievement to be the ultimate recogniser of what’s good, what’s almost good, what’s so-so and what’s rubbish. It’s clearly not. Music is, like writing or art or photography, an emotional thing. It’s meant to move you. You can have all the technical ability in the world, but if you don’t put a whole lot of your honest self into it, you may as well be an anonymous session artist or an excellent cover band.

Having said that… what’s happened to you, Skop, is what happens to most people. You suffer from the “grass is greener in my formative years” syndrome. The music that spoke to you and moved you as a young man made such an impression that you can’t see this in anything else. This has far more to do with our “gullibility” (and I mean this in a good way) at that age than it has to do with the declining quality in music.

Sadly I see this happening to myself too. I try to consciously remind myself not to become like you. To remain open to new things, to ask friends about new bands, to see what some of the more credible youngsters at work are listening to. And there is amazing stuff out there if you can see past the mountains of generic, category-safe tosh that’s pushed out by the container load these days. Just have to know where to look and who to ask.

But I think for you this may be too late already. Pity.

• 218.ufo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-217:

well put…

thing is they doesn’t have to be mutually exclusive… either/or… black or white… there’s a whole rainbow in between…

there is so much more…

• 219.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Skopknofler’s only concession to the 21st Century is a pair of fake Crocs.

Otherwise he is a walking time capsule.

• 220.ufo: Reply to this comment

which brings to mind one of the newer singer/songwriters i really do like… brett dennen…

has a song called

there is so much more…

when I heard the news,
    my heart fell on the floor.
    i was on a plane on my way to baltimore.
    in these troubled times it’s hard enough as it is.
    my soul has a known a better life than this.

i wonder how so many can be in so much pain,
    while others don’t seem to feel a thing.
    then I curse my whiteness
    and I get so damn depressed.
    in a world of suffering,
    why should I be so blessed?

i heard about a women who lives in colorado.
    she built a monoment of sorts behind her garage door,
    where everyday she prays for all whom are born
    and all whose souls have passed on.
    sometimes my trouble gets so thick,
    i can’t see how I’m gonna get through it.
    but, then I’d rather be stuck up in a tree
    then be tied to it.

there is so much more.

I don’t feel comfortable with the way my clothes fit.
    I cant get used to my bodys limits.
    I got some fancy shoes to try and kick away these blues.
    they cost a lot of money but they arent worth a thing.
    I wanna free my feet from the broken glass and concrete.
    I need to get out of this city.
    lay apon the ground stare a hole in the sky,
    wondering where I go when I die.

when I die.

• 221.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Didn’t Dr and the Medics sing that one?

• 222.ufo: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-221:

you thinking of their old norman greenbaum cover…?

• 223.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-217: @ufo(ufo)-218: @the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-219: Check out Skop’s post 200.

Consider your self warned, my phoephiefied little pseudo arse punkified pals!

• 224.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Moi?

What did GuntherGoebbelstwatwiffle do?

• 225.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-223:

hahaha…

thing is… as said above… liking springsteen or appreciating any other music doesn’t mean you don’t like or appreciate the guys skop names…

but if he wants to make those assumptions… well…

• 226.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-224: The charge sheet is a complex one…..

Mostly though you

“dunno music from make believe.. or tie dyed tee shirts from rhythmic uncomplicated sounds.. ”

And you failed to

“shut (your) pseudo little clap trap minds up and open up (your) dumb fck ears before clamoring to find a handle with which to spout their clap trap garbage intelligentsia laden pseudo scum pretensions about stuff they know absolutely fckall about,..”

Get it?

Got it?

Good.

• 227.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

You mean this?

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-193: tell your phoephiefied little pseudo arse punkified pals who dunno music from make believe.. or tie dyed tee shirts from rhythmic uncomplicated sounds.. or psychedelic escapades from phony pseudo status symbol ‘collections’ to shut their pseudo little clap trap minds up and open up their dumb fck ears before clamoring to find a handle with which to spout their clap trap garbage intelligentsia laden pseudo scum pretensions about stuff they know absolutely fckall about,..

Such an angry little man.

You would have though 30 years of tofu fritters and lentil smoothies would have mellowed the old goat.

• 228.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Vegetarians always have their heads in bags of angry squirrels.

• 229.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-225: Ja apparently thinking that The Boss is, well, the “Boss” isn’t allowed here.

At least I know now lol.

• 230.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-229:

sheesh…

someone should send out a press release…

• 231.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-228:

• 232.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

He needs to get laid Dawn.

Sadly for him ***** is off the menu for vegetarians.

• 233.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Meow.

• 234.ufo: Reply to this comment

someone let the cat out the bag…?

• 235.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Seeing as this thread is long gone off the front page news already and all the little squirrels have gathered their nuts to go hibernate in their self satisfied deaf dumb and blind tree huts .. so they may come around to seeing this response.. else they won’t and they be the unwiser and poorer for it..

Lets just get this whole hoopla show down straight into perspective here about wtf the ACTUAL issue is that got boiled down and around for couple whole days..

You have to go back to a thread even older than this one called ‘SA teams must make mental shift’.. same way some self righteous ignoramus self styled wet behind the ears music aficionado’s need to make some quantum mental shift about their so called music accredited connoisseur credentials, to see what the goddamn fuss regarding contentious issues about who’s music appreciation surpasses who’s…

Here is the little tête-à-tête around what ACTUALLY went down

I quite magnanimously posted two links to two all time greatest live performances in a setting not filled with state of the art modern techno wizardry and flashing lights with all manner of sound enhancing gizmos masking the artists pure unadulterated artistry..

I posted a link to two all time greatest performances by two sets of artists who drew on the deepest levels of true musical unbridled creativity….

and just a few minutes later some little snarky obnoxious piffle arse know it all comes popping his little over inflated know nothing pseudo intellect into the mix to try show how much he KNOWS and how much he’s aware of all the tie dyed tee shirts and flower power hippie paraphernalia surrounding the scene when TRUE music was played in true unmasked unabashed unpretentious clear soulful artistry…

UNLIKE all the gizmo enhanced blase brash pretensions that get blown about on stages and studios these days where it ain’t the music that catches the attention but all the fake faux pas fandango IMAGERY…

the little schmuck never HEARD nor witnessed what Santana and his band (or Cocker for that matter) created in absolute fine tuned creative ingenious oneness .. all the little sniveling snooty nosed sneer monger could SEE or HEAR were the tie dyed T shirts and the afro’s…. shows exactly what kind of musical aficionado ingenuity we have oozing out this piffle arsed little non musically enlightened know it all…

Here is WHAT went down..

311.ashampoopaloo:
    12 Mar 2012, 22:34 pm Here Tacitus catch a load of these this was the end of the last music generation.. where it was the music was what was happening and nothing to do with video generated image… everything since then has been shrouded by some pseudo ingenuity of intellectualized motherless clap trap This was the culmination of a generation and after that it all went slowly and systematically down the drain..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hFjgyL_CuUY&feature=related http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6SHSgl5Azec&feature=related

314.>^..^< katman:
    12 Mar 2012, 22:51 pm How quaint. The old ballie who thinks that his music was the best. That Cocker performance was okay (don’t get me started on the pretentious Woodstock tie-dye crowd), but that Santana sht is just hours of weedly-weedly-wee and big afros.

Anyone who STILL reckons some these Johnny come lately boss men could hold a candle to either of those two outright mastery performances of pure unprecedented music genius moments haven't heard a goddamn thing in ALL of their so called (non) music appreciative connotative consciousnesses.

• 236.cab: Reply to this comment

what difference does it really make?

nada, zip, zilch.

what in christs name u got your balls all in a knot for cos someone jokes about joe cocker or santana or whatever, wtf really cares?

cuckoo cuckoo cuckoo

• 237.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

nope its about the so called ability to recognize valuable artistry.. in this case music

and all it shows without a shadow of a doubt is you lot of tone deaf image worshiping pseudo arsed blind as bat stone deaf babies dunno wtf comprises any relative music appreciation whatsofucking ever.

for somebody to retort about tie dyed hippyfied audiences when its the actual performance and the SOUND that is the factor of attention and that they cannot catch even a faint whisper of a clue about wtf actual guitar and percussion mastery is, shows they are in no way even vaguely attuned or aware of where true music appreciation begins or ends

• 238.cab: Reply to this comment

well if we all so clueless, what difference is it to you, think how goddamn lucky and blessed u are to be the only true Kenner!

So now listen if you such a guizar wizard how come i aint never heard anyone called ashampoopoo headlining the royal philharmonic huh? how you know he cant play that guitar better than you? then what?

• 239.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

go and LISTEN to that Santana Woodstock clip AGAIN.. and this time OPEN your stone deaf tone deaf imbecilic EARS

LISTEN to that solid base line held down tight for entire 6 minutes of the exhilarated experience

LISTEN to the beat and rhythm of conga drums and the bongo drums being held together throughout

Listen to the organ grinding out the back ground of the melody line.. and LISTEN to Santana’s guitar licks.. pure genius clean idyllic Latin soaring Gibson guitar sounds

And then watch and LISTEN to the 19 year old drummer giving it everything from out of a soaring crescendo of pure energetic mastery.. at 19 years of age..

The entire band tight together through every note and every beat and every bar of togetherness and collective creative adrenalin filled symmetry..

If you so called ignoramus ‘music lovers’ cannot HEAR what music mastery and artistry actually is then go drive your head up some mediocre image laden schmucks ego like Bruce Springsteen or his half way stage put on performances…they not even on the same planet let alone anywhere in the same level of creative quality or ability.

and this little pseudo Valiant Swart, Johnny Clegg, Paul Simon disciple reckons he’s in a position to declare that Santana’s sound is akin to .. how he call it … ‘hours of weedly-weedly-wee and big afros’

You unenlightened ignoramus’ haven’t even begun to open up your dumb fck stone deaf ears.. let alone your image driven closed shop dumb fck minds… f’ng Morons united…

• 240.cab: Reply to this comment

i cant listen to it again, my arsehole will drop out from sheer boredom, hell i dunno about percussive effect and asymptotic harmonics, you got the whole fkn thing backwards, music for pleasure to relax and not think about.

i quite like the bongo drums, reminds me of africa when we were neanderthals on the plains…

what wrong with the boss, he is what he is, he not going to split the atom or even break new ground, but he gets u tapping along, how about billy ray cyrus? now that is talent met a kapital T.

• 241.cab: Reply to this comment

i got a lady friend who lives near the boss in new jersey, with all the investment bankers, she bumped into him in supermarket, says he’s a down to earth guy – in his 20-bed mansion and all. good luck to the Boss-man, he has worked hard to cultivate the image…a great talent.

• 242.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

yip that’s about it.. you dumb morons are simply not music lovers.. can’t appreciate a dumb fck thing about what real music from false music is..

Indie pop garbage your bag … we in different universes.. you and these pseudo intellectualized baby brained arse wipes.. from me…

music is MUSIC.. if you cannot HEAR it.. then its simple.. you are DEAF..!!

good for your lady friend up the Boss man’s New Jersey goody two shoes boy next door back side.. Springsteen is a nice middle of the road middle American.. middle of nowhere .. middling mediocre melodious monotony man

If its middle of nowhere meaningless macho music that makes a mark on your mesmerized make believe mystified melancholy then tap your footsies and twiddle your toes to Springsteen.. sorry old bean.. we simply ain’t from the same neck of the galaxy.. you and me.

• 243.cab: Reply to this comment

yip thats about it, if don’t smaak the boss you are lost.

what about hasslehof? now that is music.

this review on amazon says it all about the album ‘The Very Best of David Hasselhoff’:

“When my good friend Ian bought this for me as a joint Birthday & Christmas present, I assumed he was being miserly and sarcastic. It was only after listening to the velvety smooth acoustic wizardry that emanates from the hoffs pores that I realised what a friend he actually was.
    From the tragedy that oozes from such sad tones as ‘Lonely Is The Night’, to the hope of ‘The Best Is Yet To Come’ to the pure unadulterated rock that is ‘J’taime Means I Love You’, this album really is the death of all other music. Sinatra, Presley and Lennon would surely have looked to hasselhoff for musical and spiritual guidance had they been fortunate enough to co-exist.

As for his visual prowess, anyone can make a music video relevant to the song they have sung, but it takes a true master of the understanding of dance, to sing ‘I Love You’ whilst perfectly executing a roundhouse kick, and making it look beautiful.

I experienced the full spectrum of emotion in what was, quite simply, the most beautiful 63 minutes of my life. It made me weep, it made me smile and it made me love.

I divorced my wife and sold everything I had. Sitting alone in my empty bedsit with only the shirt on my back and the Hoff beside me, I was happier than I have ever been before, thanks to one man. One Legend. One Hoff.”

• 244.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Fuckadilly has his tie-dyed bandana on too tight.

And the squirrels are nibbling his nuts.

• 245.ufo: Reply to this comment

thing is skop… as i said in the chat about world’s best guitarists a few months back… santana is my favorite guitarist of all time… yes, different to bb king, hendrix and clapton and a host of others named that evening… but i don’t feel i have to sledgehammer the point home or trash other guitarists or fans to make the point…

i’m also a huge bob dylan fan, neil young and most of the guys you mention… although you neglect The Band… who’s importance there isn’t space to go into here as well…

but that doesn’t mean i don’t and can’t appreciate great music by other legends or just simply other musicians…

you think the boss is nothing…? well.. enough people think enough of him to have him induct bob dylan into the rock n roll hall of fame in 1988… listen to his speech http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SRu66l3QI_U and tell me he is a man and musician who isn’t fully emerged in the whole rock trip… if you wanna impress people here with the influence of bob dylan… borrow a few lines from the boss’s speech… he certainly gives bob due credit with respectful gravitas and acknowledgement of bob’s status in rock…

but simply supporting or liking one thing does not mean anyone else here doesn’t like or appreciate many more too..

and what’s wrong with buying albums to listen too…? if you’re such a big santana fan… don’t tell me you don’t have a collection of santana music to listen to…? or that you play his music on your own guitar…

you have your principles and opinions skop… and i think many people respect you for that… but that doesn’t mean other peoples principles or opinions are bad, wrong or lesser than yours…

why is it so hard for you to allow other people to hold and express their own opinions…? if you simply acknowledge everyone else’s opinions while expressing your own… you’d find a great deal more people acknowledging yours…

just saying…

imo of course…

which i know counts for diddlyfcknsquat…!! :wink:

• 246.ufo: Reply to this comment

as dennis wilson said simply…

“i write songs to make people feel good…”

it’s no more complicated or intellectual than that…

anyone who tries to make it so has indeed missed the whole point of it anyway…

• 247.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-246: Indeed. As reluctant as I am to refer to Hugh Grant in the Movie “Music and Lyrics” he speaks of how the simplicity of a song can uplift and then goes on to sing “I’ve got sunshine…on a cloudy day….”

Makes the point really well.

Music is also a performance. I for example, was never a big Crowded House fan until I saw them live, Before i enjoyed their music but they didn’t really “grab” me. It’s like meeting a woman (or a man). You either connect with them or you don’t and it’s different for each person.

After the concert I went out and bought their CD’s and now I really enjoy them.

Best concert I ever went to was Billy Joel. Partly because of where I was sitting and the connection I felt with his performance (apart from the fact that he’s a genius storyteller). Others may not have enjoyed it as much.

That’s the way it goes.

• 248.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Skoppie, for someone whose favourite word is “ignoramus”, you are remarkably closed in the mind to anything you didn’t make your mind up about decades back. Does that not make you an Ignoramus of the highest order?

I love music from your generation. I have plenty of Neil Young albums, Patti Smith, Led Zeppelin, Beatles, Bob Dylan, old Leonard Cohen stuff, Bowie from the late sixties, all the early Floyd. I just don’t like Santana. I find them boring and self-indulgent. I also think Cocker was overrated. Just about every song that made him big was a cover, and if so many people weren’t so goofed at Woodstock, more people might have been skeptical about the bloke. He’d make a great wedding singer though.

But back to my original point. You’ve shut your mind to everything that happened from about 1970 onwards, and that’s the end of the story. You generalise about “modern” music (as if 30 years back can still be regarded as modern), saying that it’s all just “state of the art modern techno wizardry and flashing lights with all manner of sound enhancing gizmos”, which makes it pretty clear that you haven’t heard much recently. Sure, there is a lot of cheap rubbish out there these days. There’s a lot of TV and fashion and news and literary rubbish too. That’s just the era in which we live. Content has exploded. But there’s still an awful lot of brilliance in music.

Do yourself a favour one day and fork out for a copy of Mojo. Then read the extensive reviews section and, randomly, pick any band or artist that gets a great review. Then go and look them up and listen WITH AN OPEN MIND. I guarantee that you’ll discover something that will surprise you.

But I suspect you won’t. You’ll rather go through life knowing the five things you know and bashing everyone who doesn’t agree.

• 249.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-247:

absolutely SB…

some people have this thing about being ‘heavy’ or ‘tough’ and poo-pooing anything that isn’t… but i remember reading that pete townsend really liked abba and thought benny and bjorn were two of the greatest songwriters and called one of their songs… (forget which one now) the greatest pop song ever written…

and guys like the stones used to hang with the gibb brothers in london in the late 60s… because of the mutual respect they held for each other…

and i always love to see which rockers perform at each others concerts or at other events… because having the love and respect of fans is one thing… but to me… having the respect of your peers in the industry says one helluva lot more…

yeah…

live music is the only true way to appreciate it… whether in a concert hall listening to an orchestra or opera… or at a stadium feeling yours clothes and body vibrate from the sound…

one of the drags of living in sa is that we don’t get near enough performers here…

was in la in ’83 and was like a kid in a candy store… you could literally go a concert every night if you chose to and could afford to… and we’re not talking small names here… all the big names at the time… for example saw simon and garfunkels concert in the park reunion concert at dodger stadium… saw dan fogelberg in a tiny venue just him a guitar and piano… very impressive… saw jackson browne in a theatre… too many to mention…

but… most fun i had at a concert was neil diamond at the forum… home of the lakers although changed the name now…

people were passing tokes down the rows and although i’ve never done any drugs… must’ve got plenty of second-lung smoke… but the place rocked and neil diamond is (was) one helluva performer… the crowd was great too (and high) with everybody dancing and singing… was really amazing… and no… i’m not ashamed to say so…

BTW… for the record…

I tried snorting coke once…

but the ice cubes got stuck in my nose and I nearly died of brain-freeze…!!

• 250.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-249: Speaking of the Gibb brothers, there is a guy who does excellent mash-ups (combining two or more famous songs) and posts them on youtube. He did this amazing mash-up of Pink Floyd’s “The Wall” and the Bee Gees’ “Stayin Alive”. You might appreciate his craft.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U13xOvDa19U

• 251.ufo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-250:

cool bud… will have a look…

just wrote a post that for some reason didn’t make it onto the blog… and have lost it… damn… will try re-do it later…

• 252.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

the Issue here AGAIN is simply THIS

I posted 2 links to 2 of the greatest live performances of any 2 music artists anytime ever as an invitation for anyone with a meager smattering of musical appreciation to watch and LISTEN to.

We are not discussing Santanas or Cockers all time career performances or how they stand relative to the greatest music measures of genius of all time, I was referring to 2 Specific performances at a specific event on a specific day and time.

Through the entire 3 days of the Woodstock music festival there we about 5 or 6 performances that stood out from the rest.

Richie Havens, CSN, Santana, Joe Cocker, Alvin Lee 10 Years After ‘ I’m going home’, and Hendrix. The rest paled in comparison to these.

Santana and Cocker were immense, way in advance of any performance either had done prior to or post these 2 specific performances.

The ISSUE here is that some prejudices by people who have no relevant appreciation around what comprises musical quality based on their focus on surrounding paraphernalia such as how many afros or tied dyed tee shirts or recreational drugs were prevalent at the time, or if the artist in question played air guitar with his hands while belting out the most powerful performance known to any audience anytime ever, etc etc., have CLOSED these dumb fck ignoramus morons minds to what ACTUALLY denotes supreme musical quality and superior performances from mediocre middle of the road inferior ones.

They simply have not HEARD what happened on that SPECIFIC day in that SPECIFIC setting and moment, their dumb fck self righteous deaf dumb and blind ears and minds are simply and remain prejudicially CLOSED.

• 253.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-252: Kak boet, you didn’t just post the clips for our enjoyment. Your intro also claimed that “everything since then has been shrouded by some pseudo ingenuity of intellectualized motherless clap trap This was the culmination of a generation and after that it all went slowly and systematically down the drain..” And it’s that incredibly narrow-minded and intensely stupid kind of statement that set off the debate. Now go and check on your T-shirts – the secret to tie-dyeing is to not let them lie in the bucket too long.

• 254.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

aren’t you just the pseudo little know nothing idiot that thinks he knows so much about so little.. whether it be from music, to current affairs, to economics or politics, to celebrities and their living examples of nonentity garbage.. what the fck you ACTUALLY know.. pathetic little moronic idiot that thinks he knows so much about so absolutely little..?

It so happens it is true.. the western music evolution actually subsided and died in around 1969-70 along with Hendrix, Joplin, SRV, Morrison and some others – music hardly stepped up from the revolutionary dynamic that pushed the envelope to where it crescendo’d and culminated at the end of the 60′s to where it tapered off and evaporated into a multitude of mediocre mildly entertaining facets and experiences through a new generation of artists who couldn’t sustain the growth curve..

since Woodstock there has been actually relatively very little advancement musically in the western culture.. unless you wanna rattle off a whole lot of non impressive names of artists who have done specifically what to enhance or uplift the worlds musical appreciation?.

Name them…
    Alice Cooper, Deep Purple, Led Zeppelin, The Who, Nazareth, AC/DC, Black Sabbath, Kiss, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Aerosmith, Freddy Mercury, Michael Jackson, Sting, Elton John, Bruce Springsteen, U2, Cure, Eagles, Pink Floyd, Guns N’ Roses, Metallica, Iron Maiden, Bon Jovi, Def Leppard, Van Halen, Judas Priest, Pixies, R.E.M., Yes, Genesis, INXS, Depeche Mode, Crowded House, Prince, Talking Heads, *** Pistols, The Clash, Alice in Chains, Nirvana, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Live, Counting Crows, Rage Against the Machine, The Smashing Pumpkins, Foo Fighters, Blind Melon, Pearl Jam, Limp Bizkit, Linkin Park, Madonna, Eminem, 50 Cent, OutKast, The Black Eyed Peas, T.I., Kanye West, Jay-Z, Missy Elliott, Lil Wayne, Amy Winehouse, Keane, The Libertines, Oasis, Coldplay, Arctic *******, Beyonce, Alicia Keyes, Usher, Lil Wayne , Lady Gaga….

Which one of those musical geniuses actually enhanced the music experience from where it developed to and peaked at the end of the 60′s generation? – to where exactly.. and where to from here?

• 255.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Don’t talk to me about advancement in western music culture while holding up Joe “Wedding Singer” Cocker and Carlos “Guitar Jam” Santana as the ultimate performers of the 20th century.

From your list there are plenty of bands that took music to new places, and did more for its advancement than the two mentioned above. Led Zeppelin, Talking Heads, The Pixies… Hell, even Rage Against the Machine, Nirvana and Smashing Pumpkins did more to push music ahead than your geriatrics.

But what would you care? You just an old ballie who is perfectly happy to be cocooned snugly in the golden hits of yesteryear. I bet you also reckon that no one has written a novel worth reading since Kerouac.

• 256.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

you still haven’t HEARD fuckall… your mind is shrouded inside your Def Leppard ears that dunno a musical note from a cordon bleu flamed caviar steak while you uncork your latest prize shiraz you proudly proclaim you own as you slip that new age CD from your pseudo psyche ‘collection’ into the i’pod chamber

In short you a pseudo little rat from the pack that still dunno sweet fanny fck all about what represents quality SOUND or experience from a pseudo one…

Santana and Cocker produced 2 superior moments of all time musical experience for anyone with ears to hear with.. unfortunately little runcunt know it all’s like you remain stone deaf dumb and blind in your absolute state of self righteous prejudicial obnoxious stupefied ‘cleverness’… Idiot supreme…

• 257.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Ja oom. Oom is reg, oom.

• 258.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Def Leopard.

Now there’s a band.

• 259.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-258: Mutt Lange. Now there’s a producer. And he bagged Shania Twain.

Def Leopard and Shania.

Life doesn’t get any better than that.

• 260.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-258: Exactly. Skop gets a hard-on over his 19 year old drummer, but here is a guy with only one arm. Let’s try and retain some perspective here.

• 261.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-259:

she ditched him.

i would love to Shania her Twain.

@>^..^< katman(katman)-260:

Let’s see JoeFuckingCocker play air guitar with one arm.

• 262.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-261: I think he pretends to be spastic in one arm to get extra Awesomeness BEE points. But let’s face it, no one can fake a missing arm.

• 263.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-260: And their Guitarist Steve Clark died of an overdose.

You don’t get more rock and roll than that.

• 264.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-261: Ja but after several years of Shania anyone could get bored.

• 265.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-262:

he gets by with a little help with his friends,

• 266.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Are we back on this again.

Hamsters

• 267.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-265: Just about his only hit that wasn’t a Beatles cover was that godawful “Lift us up where we belong” duet. Definitely the brightest star in a century of music.

• 268.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

If Joe Cocker were Afrikaans he’d be Jan Piel. Which would probably also ensure him a lucrative recording career.

• 269.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-267:

if he were afrikaans he’d probably be Giel Piel.

• 270.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-268: @the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-269: Spaz Piel.

• 271.ufo: Reply to this comment

sheesh skop…

some of those names shouldn’t be on any musical list imo… but others there definitely did bring something new and different to the party…

freddy mercury and queen for example… brian may use of guitar to create synth-like sounds was very revolutionary at the time… and all their early albums had the rider on them that none of these sounds were made on a synth…

i love guitar driven rock but think we (the royal we not you individually) have to acknowledge bands like depeche mode and the cure for their use of synths…

i agree with dave grohl at the grammies when he said people want real music… referring to software that corrects the pitch, tone and key of ‘singers’ who would otherwise sound like fighting cats falling down a well…

but some great electronic music has been produced too…

you can’t tell me rick wake man didn’t take keyboard artistry further… sure the strawbs were a late 60s band, but yes and his solo efforts were pure 70s… i loved the strawbs and never liked yes but as a musician wakeman really took keyboards to a whole new level…

and you can’t seriously believe that pink floyd didn’t plough new musical ground with their concept albums…

and then you have to acknowledge bands like supertramp whose crime of the century has to be one of the best (and best produced) rock albums of all time too… even if they never chartered particularly new waters and even if they’re not generally recognized as all time greats they produced some outstandingly excellent music…

poco and the eagles defined a new southern country rock genre…

or the marshall tucker band’s blend of rock, country, rhythm and blues and jazz

it’s also true that many of the 70s band and singers didn’t happen overnight and their roots were planted firmly in the 60s and nurtured by the music of their heroes, the greats which so many performers credit with their inspiration…

katman…

was saying in that earlier post which didn’t make it onto the thread… that i love discovering new music… leave mtv on when doing other things just waiting for the odd new thing that catches my attention…

also leave the fashion channel on while doing other things… they are very current with their fashion shows… you know, models and rock n roll… so showcase some really great ‘unknowns’ before just about anyone else…

i discovered… paolo nutini (a really good italian scottish rocker… i kid you not) and just jack (with a song called disco friends) on ftv…

to me much of this issue is about the pioneers who brought something different to the party… who did what no one else had done before them… i respect those icons of rock and believe they do deserve respect for what they achieved… but there are also others who may have followed that road who may not necessarily have done anything inherently different but have made music of amazing quality for which they too deserve respect…

but at the end of the day…

it’s about what resonates with each of us… and nothing is righter or wronger than anything else…

if it makes you feel good, it is good…

• 272.ufo: Reply to this comment

also skop… you happen to prefer these two moments of woodstock… which is cool for you…

personally though i think its a pity that you’re reducing a defining moment in rock history (and history) to just two moments and dismissing everything else that happened over before, during and after those 3 days…

just for impact go and watch the DVD… and yes I have it… got it the moment it was released in 2010… and nothing wrong with collecting musical history… you wanna really get into woodstock and understand what happened and who was there and who wasn’t there and why and how they put it together with zilch money and didn”t have enough film at the start and had to ferry in more by helicopter etc etc then fighting with the movie people to keep the film real and not get sanitized for commercial release etc etc…

at the end when the site looks like a post-nuke scene and they have hendrix’ guitar wailing over the scene… you won’t hear a more evocative piece of music anywhere by anyone…

csn, arlo, grateful dead, country joe (alone and with the fish)… and more but just can’t remember them right now… were awesome performances…

imo of course…

• 273.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-266:

hehehe..

spinnin’ wheel got ta go round…!!

• 274.cab: Reply to this comment

Kak music certainly did not die in 69/70 – complete ignorant kak.

The hoff is living proof of that.

• 275.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Woodstock was far more than just about the music, Dylan was invited.. in fact he was living just up the road from Yasgur’s farm at the time.. but he declined to headline the show… Hendrix was given the headline act though on the last day he performed it was already pretty much all stoned blown and whacked out.. Hendrix himself wasn’t feeling that well that day … most people were already streaming home those that hadn’t left a day or more earlier.. only the real die hard’s that remained for the last hurrah..

The original edited movie hit the SA audiences around March 1970.. and we piled into the High Point movie house in Hillbrow at the first midnight release to see it.. yeah it was a mind blast of an experience and the footage for that genre at that time was very well put together.. including the sound.. even though they didn’t have all the fancy fandango enhancing techno wizardry gizmo’s they have today…

Of the acts .. The Who were disappointing, Brit pop group trying too hard to do too much… Joan Baez was out of place with the setting.., CS & N were a young group who had only just come together it was almost their maiden performance…. Richie Havens kicked off the proceedings with a great ensemble of raw hard line rhythm acoustic guitar and vocal energy… Country Joe and the Fish was great but he appealed to the very West coast anti Vietnam hippies more than making any musical statement it was largely a political platform to drive the pacifist anti Vietnam movement.. Baez also pushed that angle and so did a lot of the performers except for the Brits who couldn’t relate to it as much..

Alvin Lee of 10 Years After put on a rocking stomping 12 bar rock and roll blues for 10 minutes solid.. far out performance.. Santana’s ‘Soul Sacrifice’ and Cocker’s ‘With a Little Help from my Friends’ were two of the most explicitly strong musical stand out moments of the entire 3 days.. Grace Slick and Jefferson Airplane along with Janis Joplin and Big Brother Holding Co. were also there but didn’t feature as prominently musically..

Arlo Guthrie and John Sebastian were kinda middle of the road sentimentality.. Sly and the Family Stone’s ‘I wanna take you higher’ was a great R & B performance and worked well in that setting..

So ultimately of all the acts over the 3 days I can place Santana’s “Soul Sacrifice”, Cocker’s “With a Little Help from my Friends”, Hendrix “Star Spangled Banner” and the final solos of “Woodstock Improvisation”, “Villanova Junction” and his “Farewell” where everyone was leaving, plus CSN “Suite Judy Blue Eyes”, Richie Havens “Freedom – Motherless Child”, Alvin Lee’s “I’m going home”, Sly & the Family Stone “I wanna take you higher” as the few real stand out performances of the 3 days..

I posted the links to the Santana and the Cocker performances to see if there perhaps any true music appreciators round here who can HEAR and recognize outright musical ingenuity.. seems there very few who can recognize moments of sheer magic and true musical joy that comes gushing forth without all the pseudo garbage prejudicial obnoxious clap trap that some moronic little idiots who don’t have a goddamn clue regarding musical expressions of quality where the MUSIC is what happened and not the fucked out pseudo ingratiated prejudicial deafness that adorns some these half arsed excuses for so called music collecting ‘connoisseurs’ screwed up clever dicky bird brains…

• 276.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Music died as at end of 1969 .. it morphed out into some weird alternative progressive grunge, punk, disco, funk, glam, hip hop, rap, new wave, etc and etc side shows but the core soul and energy of a generation that carried the evolution of where music had ventured from the West African sounds that formed the soul of music ‘the Blues’ and veered off into rock and roll and Reggae basically died when image became the sole provider of the genre and money glam racketeers hijacked the true musicians souls…

A few ingenious pioneers tried carrying it forward.. some are mentioned in my post above @ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-254:

but the simple heart and soul of where it had come from basically hit a brick wall at the end of 1969 and the next generation of torch bearers lost the magic spark that fed the psyche of the movement and the commercial identity of image took over and the money grabbers screwed it to the wall…

It hasn’t been the same since.. only going from bad to worse…

• 277.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-276: *** you talk so much kuk.

btw, i shot a world record fish two days ago in mozambique.

i will be trying to have it certified so i canget my name up in lights…….when the musics over, turn up the lights, turn up the lights.

• 278.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Bullshit. You were most likely just whacked out of your tree at the time and thought that pure and holy virgin sunshine shone from the sphinkter of everything that wore a headband and fiddled weedy-weedly-wee on a Gibson Les Paul.

You were into it like some kids these days are into dubstep and godknows whatever else floats their little boats. And good for you. You had a movement, you felt connected, you felt like your generation was changing something. That’s lekker. But don’t lose sight of the fact that many people have that very same feeling about their era and its music. Admittedly few of them become such arseholes in defending it as the be all and end all as you do, but they still feel it was the best thing ever.

Speak to people from Manchester who were young in the late 80s early 90s, when bands like Primal Scream, Stone Roses and Happy Mondays broke onto the scene, and they’ll tell you THAT was the time when music truly became alive and reflected a mood like never before. And, for them, this was absolutely true.

The ecstasy fueled euphoria of the time, beautifully painted by the groundbreaking mix of blues, echoey dub and spaced out electronica on Primal Scream’s “Screamadelica”, has seen it place amongst the top three albums of the last 50 years in more than one major publication’s list. To simply call this album groundbreaking is a huge understatement. But my guess is you’ve never even listen to a track of it, let alone the whole thing end to end as it is meant to be consumed. Because you are too fcked in your stubborn little head to make space for the possibility that there may be something out there that you might find amazing.

• 279.ufo: Reply to this comment

ja skop…

so your saw the movie in 1970 and that’s that…?

i’ve also saw the original movie when it was released… also had it on video tape…

the original movie was around 3h 20m long… the 1994 directors cut added about a further 20minutes… (not sure exactly the times but approx) and then the 40th anniversary dvd has over 2 hours of extra performance footage alone… including 18 extra songs by 13 of the performers… in all the 3 dvds have over 8 hours of viewing… well over double the viewing of the original documentary…

plus they have recent interviews with michael lang, martin scorsese, policemen who were there and others about the event, the logistics, problems, time, and its relevance over the past 40 years and today… it is fascinating stuff…

to simply say you’ve seen it done it and got the t-shirt, case closed… is really proving the point that katman and others are saying… new technology has made it possible to have an even clearer (amazing clarity of video), longer, more understanding view of one of the defining events in rock and social history… as told by the people who put it together, ran it, and filmed it… why would you be so averse to expanding your view of this great event to which you too ascribe such importance…?

also they held it in that area in the express hope of getting dylan and the band to headline… but dylan missed it because he had booked to play the isle of white festival… there are also many famous and amusing stories of why other bands missed woodstock… every one of who regretted it as it was happening and afterwards…

and it wasn’t only country joe and joan baez who were anti-war even though they may have had more stuff edited into the original movie… the whole thing was an anti-war statement… hence the tagline of “3 days of peace and music…”

as joni mitchell wrote (although she wasn’t there, her mates csny were and recorded it on their deju vu album and many other artists too)
    “and i dreamed i saw the bombers riding shotgun in the sky
    turning into butterflies above our nation…”

so are we to assume you have no albums on cd, dvd or even vinyl…? how do you listen to music…? and if you have albums how do you reconcile mocking people for collecting music…?

and what’s wrong with buying music by artists you admire who would be very pleased with your support…? you do that long enough you end up with a collection… even if collecting a collection was not the point but a happy byproduct of being a music lover…? how do you listen to santana…? or did you only do that once long ago…perhaps in 1970 when you saw the movie… and now just replay it in your head…?

• 280.cab: Reply to this comment

those whole argument makes as much sense as a hoff concert.

as if dylan’s generation appeared out of nowhere, where u think those black musos got their instruments from and gurthrie got his musical training from, where you think your precious guitar come from?

it didnt appear out of thin air, like evolution itself, there is a lineage of things that build on previous things, **** dont just spring out of fresh air and then die, just as classical music evolved or morphed, so too did rock, and is continuing to do so.

music only died in 69/70 to the person who kop is trapped in that era. catch a wake up – u telling me u dont enjoy any modern bands at all?

• 281.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-280: I think he’s taken a principled stance on this. Promised himself years ago that he’ll never love again. Got to admire that.

• 282.cab: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-281:
    yeah who knows – total kak about THE revolution, they all say that pa’s generation, and our generation will do the same.

• 283.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

waddaya know woesie weedle deedle dee? Like usual you assume to know much but you actually know fokkol..!!

I was never a Joe Cocker nor a Carlos Santana ‘fan’ then, neither was I a Jimi Hendrix ‘fan’ back in 1969.. The musical expressions of those 3 artists were by far and away the most mind capturing musical experiences of the period of a particular energetic field of musical activity on a specific experiential stage

What you assume you think you know is null and void in any scheme of any psycho elaborate scheming you might ‘think’ you trying to get a handle on..

I was then as I am now simply into good clean unadulterated pure expression of music.. unlike some pseudo punks who need to psychoanalyze their appreciation of a particular musical appeal I do not need some jargon filled ratification of prejudicial mumbo jumbo to ratify my choice of affinity with any music or any expression of art or quality under the sun…

You can be absolutely assured I would most definitely not have any affinity of any sort whatsoever with Primal Scream and their primal cacophony of anxiety…

By early 70′s I had lost any connection to the digressing music industry as it unfolded after the clearly limited level of expression that began showing its head.

Western music had hit a crescendo that could not evolve further in its current expressive state and it started winding back down the hill it had evolved up till that point..

By 1975 I was listening to John McLaughlan, Paco de Lucia and very little else.. Bella Fleck and Ry Cooder’s experiments into avenues of far more creative subtle acoustic energies where music sought its pure clear unadulterated roots and the different streams of cultural world music was the direction my ears and musical listening took…

I saw McLaughlan and Shakti live in a small theater in London, with sympathetic string arrangements and tabla drums and acoustic percussion instruments with Indian violin as the main melodic influence of that set.. that was where my ears and listening psyche had taken me already by then.. pop music or so called rock or grunge or rap or primal screaming tapestries of expressive anxiety were absolutely most certainly not my bag then and never to ever become… what you still must traverse and discover I have long time overlooked and undone…

• 284.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Besides, Skop reckons music died in 69, but Don McLean says it happened 10 years earlier, when Buddy Holly died. So who are to believe now?

• 285.cab: Reply to this comment

u dont get more angst than dylan’s musings – or what u think those words are all sweet superficial nothings blowing in the wind?

• 286.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-283: Ja, you and George Harrison grew tired of pop and discovered tablas and sitars. Ain’t that a fcken cliché.

And for you to say that you “do not need some jargon filled ratification of prejudicial mumbo jumbo to ratify my choice of affinity with any music” after all the mumbo jumbo rubbish you’ve already posted on the topic. Don’t make me fcken larf.

I can just picture you in your small theatre in London. Like a scene from pink panther.

• 287.cab: Reply to this comment

wtf is mclaughan and shakti? im talking proper music here…

• 288.charo: Reply to this comment

dunno about music post 1970 but reckon boots n all is dying a slow death.

matt pearce tries his best but he is a pisspoor presenter.

either they get darren scott back…

or just close the whole thing down.

• 289.rangerman: Reply to this comment

“I saw McLaughlan and Shakti live in a small theater in London, with sympathetic string arrangements and tabla drums and acoustic percussion instruments with Indian violin as the main melodic influence of that set.”

BWAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

this sh i t is just too good.

someone give that man a bells.

or a month in rehab lmao.

• 290.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

John Mclaughlan ain’t no Indie pop or Indie pseudo rock or whatever the local yokel groovy doovie do’s are banging their befokte heads to nowadays…

• 291.cab: Reply to this comment

what is art if not an expression of angst and emotion?

why is hassellhof huge in germany and benoni?

• 292.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-288: havent watched it since darren got the chop though to be fair, hadnt watched it much before then.

the format is as stale as superrugby and tri nations.

• 293.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-290: seriously?

you claim to be a musician but you are far too narrow minded to qualify as such.

or maybe you are stuck in the hippy genre for life.

basically you are fukked.

condolences.

• 294.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

go spear another defenseless fishy ranger prude this sh’t is way out of your league or out your neanderthal comfort zone…

anyone wanna know who John Mclaughlan is .. here catch a whiff of this
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9cadbYIzhqQ

you screwballs got no true music appreciation.. its something you think you buy at pick and pay in the music aisle while you packing in your caviar and year old shiraz into the supermarket trolley…

• 295.cab: Reply to this comment

indie is a kak word, basically they are alternative, they sing about and tap into the issues and emotions of the current generation, same as dylan did.

like rugby, music is a young man’s game, cos u dont really get it after awhile, same as that substep ****, gives me a pain in me pip but each to their own.

• 296.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-283: And who is psychoanalyzing, poepol? Who feels the need to write a thesis in 20 volumes on why his music is best? I’ll give you a hint – it ain’t me.

• 297.ufo: Reply to this comment

hey charo

how you doing bud…?

yeah have to agree with you…

although the bit with divan was very interesting…!!

but must say lost all interest after that…

reckon they should can it and come up with a completely new show…

• 298.charo: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-292:

it’s now more inane than ever.

dear sweet matthew just gets run over by an amok john robbie.

the humour is infantile…..etc, etc

what big fish did you get and how big?

not a 20g puddle-hopping dogfish i hope :lol:

• 299.cab: Reply to this comment

the best one there is that paco fella – sounds like spanish fiesta.

where’s the goddamn groove, they look like theyve just designed nasa’s saturn v rocket ffs.

• 300.charo: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-297:

i’m a temporary bachelor at the moment – missus is in england to welcome our first grandchild.

so, between loading the washing machine, shopping for fresh fruit and veggies, paying the domestic bills and washing dishes….i’m getting by :lol:

• 301.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Here’s one for you Skop. I chose it because it has bongos and you’ve made it abundantly clear that you adore them. Bear in mind this was a live recording. Doesn’t get tighter and more energetic than this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lnu3TqDKXZY

Open your mind.

• 302.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-294: way outta my league eh?

whattatoss.

why dont you climb out of your own a nu s you funny old t os s er.

p.s. just waiting fr the sea to clean up, you cant shoot what you cant sea eh?

@charo(charo)-298: ja like i say, no interest in watching.

nah lol, i shot a 13kg queenfish. current world record is 12.2 so i smashed it. feeling pretty stoked about it really.

• 303.ufo: Reply to this comment

skop don’t dodge…

tell us… how do you listen to music on a day to day basis…?

• 304.cab: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-302:
    so u got your name in the guiness book now of hoe?

• 305.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

anyone you pseudo rockabilly peanut brains wanna ‘hear’ something a little outside of your ingrained mesmerized myopia … here catch a little sample of this.. then tell me if you got any ears either side of your one track brains…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fYAVNJDfqxs&feature=related

• 306.ufo: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-300:

hahaha…

welcome to my life…!! :lol:

• 307.ufo: Reply to this comment

cool stuff ranger…

have you got it verified…?

let me know if and when you do…

i’d like to boast i know a world record holder… :wink:

• 308.charo: Reply to this comment

fark me i’ve never seen a queenie anywhere close to that size.

good on you – must have looked like a gt through the goggles?

• 309.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-304: haha, no man, not yet…

• 310.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Paco de Lucia is one el supremo Flamenco guitarist .. you wanna know what maestro artistry is.. that’s another whole other level..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i1IJcmxOa2k&feature=related

• 311.cab: Reply to this comment

what in gods name u call that cacophony?!

sounds like a yak farting…aggeennee

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eYSbUOoq4Vg

• 312.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-307: haha, its a mission to do bud so i will have to wait and see if it is even worh pursuing.

awesome fish all the same.

@charo(charo)-308: lol it looked like a monster.
    it was chasing a shoal of needlecales and whe i saw them coming at me tightly bunched, i knew they had company following so i got ready.

seriously never thought i would ever break any world records though.

• 313.rangerman: Reply to this comment

anyways, i am off to bed.

have a good one all!

• 314.cab: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-309:
    well you should, quite a claim to fame. where u go diving, umhlanga? the viz cant be great?

• 315.ufo: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-313:

cheers ranger

• 316.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-305: Each to his own, hey. Just remember that no one thinks you’re cool for being exotic. This pretentious habit worked back in the sixties, but the world has become a smaller place since then. Very few people are still impressed by a designer world music collection. So please, leave your Ravi Shankar and your Ali Farka Toure and your panpipes of the Bolivian Andes packed away. We don’t want to hear that sht.

• 317.cab: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-316:
    yessus u know this oke well, i think he like that ravi fella also – this is kak music, where is the soul, these guitar virtuosos are merely a nerds study group in string-plucking talent and practice – where the creativity, where they spontenaity, where’s the goddamn larger-than-life performance?

• 318.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-317: Ja, it’s the chess team of music. No balls, no soul, nothing to remember it by.

• 319.cab: Reply to this comment

paco ‘quick fingers’ flamenco aint too bad..

• 320.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

talking heads are kinda cutsie wootsie .. just nowhere near John Mclaughlan or Paco de Lucia’s league .. or Carlos Santana for that matter…..

never mind in time they’ll likely grow up and become proper musicians yet..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ADwfyxpriAM&feature=related

or hows this for a proper ‘musician’
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_v5IKa_fPoo&feature=related

• 321.cab: Reply to this comment

are you telling me that the music of any of these string-pluckers moves you in any shape or form? cos by god, u surely are from a parallel universe – mein godt, dood dood, the dodo got more life in it than these perfidious palookas …

• 322.cab: Reply to this comment

the guitar or violin dont do it for me, string-plucking is overrated, if you into the instrumental stuff surely its the piano that is the most beautiful sounding instrument.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gr4FN_DOpSk

• 323.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-320: Pipe down, skop, this is your music education not ours. There will be no more Cultural Studies video links from you.

Here’s a lady that sings the socks off anything you’ve posted tonight:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=34ZLSSnh6q4&feature=fvsr

This is going back 23 years now. And the Talking Heads track was almost 30 years back. So you see, I’m trying to bridge the gap between us.

• 324.cab: Reply to this comment

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-LXl4y6D-QI

you talk of timeless, well you dont get much more timeless then that, long before The Revolution, but far far more poignant.

• 325.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-316: you still up your fuckadilly fanny with your psychoanalytical garbage about pseudo punk eyed precocious innuendo’s .. wtf is ‘exotic’ ? just because your fucked up ears are CLOSED to true clear unadulterated SOUND.. don’t mean others gotta be fucked up to hell the same way you are… moron..

here see if you can HEAR anything coming through there.. stupendous precocious idiot…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pgQBlPgdzY0&feature=related

• 326.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-322: Damn straight, the piano is magic. Different genre altogether, but here is a young man at the very peak what is possible on this instrument.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M0U73NRSIkw

• 327.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

piano is way overrated

this is where its AT

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JNZL7GkqeRI&feature=related

• 328.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-327: Piano is overrated? Are you a complete fuckn ******?

• 329.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

you can have your wishy washy Sinead O’Connor

this is my kinda chicky

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=djuu9uvyBNs

• 330.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-329: I can understand why. You two must be around the same age.

• 331.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

you as wishy washy as the kak clap trap music you listen to dumb little Pretorianse white boy

here catch another whiff of some REAL soul sound…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i7q72KvPs7o&feature=related

• 332.cab: Reply to this comment

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-pRlUOVcuGY

The Last Word

• 333.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

you wanna listen some piano.. only place piano is any good is when you mix it up like this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&feature=endscreen&v=BqEXF7gcfpQ

• 334.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-332: Jeez, that puts this issue to bed.

• 335.cab: Reply to this comment

that clair de lune is absolutely beautiful – u gotta be a martian if you not moved by that.

a moment of genius, umatched … until the Blesbok came along.

• 336.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Let’s end it with some real rock. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RlNhD0oS5pk&ob=av2e

Hammer of the gods.

• 337.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Not another vid of that mammy from the 40s either. One was one too many.

• 338.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

I heard Zeppelin’s immigrant song in 1970 already way before you were even conceived.. if anything is superficial precocious non evolved music.. that Brit rockaby baby punk rock music is it…

if anyone is overrated Zeppelin and those pseudo serenade pseuds are it…

I bought my first Zeppelin album at 15 -16 years of age.. in 1968 – 69 so I should know wtf I’m talking about…

shows how much true music appreciation you moron got, rating Zeppelin above Santana..

• 339.cab: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-334:
    op die vlerke van n spierwit duif.
    fokn hell wat ‘n treffer.

ou doosie’s mind made up, forget it, night night.

• 340.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Listen and learn, old timer. Before it’s too late for you.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BXAaKALfmWA&feature=related

• 341.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-339: Nag cab. Sweef soos ‘n arend.

• 342.charo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-340:

reminds me a bit of the moody blues.

as far a guitar pickers go, old seasick steve is fine for me.

• 343.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-342: Few people can hold a large stage like Radiohead do. That track was from their 95 release The Bends – my favourite RH album. As is this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KglFXn0fg9M&feature=related

• 344.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-277: @rangerman(rangerman)-302:

That’s a huge Queenie whether on lure or spear… well done… shite eating though…

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.