Living on the edge

Heinrich Brüssow will continue to play an important game-shaping role for the Cheetahs and the Springboks in 2012.

Nobody polarises opinion like a world-class fetcher. Ironically, nobody is as valuable to the team cause.

In the latest issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale this week, former Springbok assistant coach Gary Gold gives his views on what sets the best fetchers apart from the rest and how an opensider’s performance should be judged.

‘Opensiders, especially the clever ones, tend to stay a step ahead,’ Gold says. ‘They know when to get involved at a ruck and when to bide their time. As defenders they can be very menacing and I’ll admit that as coaches we do look for ways to take them out of the equation. I know for a fact that Heinrich is a nightmare to play against.’

Gold goes on to explain exactly what makes Brüssow so good, while the player himself chats about his two main rivals in world rugby – Richie McCaw and David Pocock – as well as his serious knee injury in 2010.

– Having taken his opportunity in the Currie Cup, 19-year-old Johan Goosen is ready to test himself on the Super Rugby stage

– Sharks flank Marcell Coetzee missed out on Craven Week because he went to an unfashionable rugby school. Now he’s living his dream

– Lions fullback Jaco Taute can put himself into Springbok contention this season by taking his game to the next level

– Change has been the order of the day at the Chiefs where new coach Dave Rennie will try to help a team of baby faces grow into something special in 2012

– How the Rebels signed two of the biggest names in the game

– Sanzar CEO Greg Peters on player welfare, Super Rugby expansion, and his expectations for Argentina in the Rugby Championship

Kings coach Alan Solomons insists his side will be competitive in Super Rugby next year. We find out how

Earl Rose tells SA Rugby magazine his side of the story

– The Varsity Cup’s new points system has received mixed reviews

Springbok Sevens coach Paul Treu wants to eliminate errors that cost his team dearly in Wellington and Las Vegas

– Everything you need to know about the new George Sevens Premier League

Tobias Botes is the latest South African to play Test rugby for the Azzurri

Joe van Niekerk is playing the best rugby of his career for Toulon

122 Comments

• 1.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Pilfering aside… the guy was an absolute machine at the tackle-zone yet again making the most in the game by a long way (21) …

• 2.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

good for the cheetahs, good for the boks…simple really. hope he stays fit, uninjured, focused and untargeted (by filthy crunts..you know who you are).

• 3.Rage: Reply to this comment

on a totally different note,I see Jock Hobbs has passed away…

• 4.ufo: Reply to this comment

rip jock… condolences to his family friends and rugby supporters…

• 5.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

‘Earl Rose tells SA Rugby magazine his side of WHAT story..?..’

• 6.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Earl Roses side of the story on why nobody wants him.

According to ET and Langers its because he is a cullart.

• 7.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-6:
    honestly, so much money spent bringing such drivel to print. surely they could come up with better things to write about..?..

the guy’s kak.. end of…it’s not rocket science… or as divvy would say ‘it’s not rock science’…

• 8.ufo: Reply to this comment

There’s somethin’ wrong with the world today
    I don’t know what it is
    Something’s wrong with our eyes

We’re seeing things in a different way
    And God knows it ain’t His
    It sure ain’t no surprise

We’re livin’ on the edge…

• 9.Rage: Reply to this comment

@ gunther & bakkies
    Im with you on that…
    Rose is one helluva irritation,everything about him.Why they even bother with an article on him is beyond me..who cares?

• 10.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Actaully from the title I thought this article was going to be about Aerosmith.

Imagine my disappointment.

• 11.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-6:
    Earl Roses?
    Sounds like some kind of tea.

• 12.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Brussouw is a machine!! Can only get better!

• 13.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-8:
    worried about the weekend..?..

@Rage(Rage)-9:
    especially if you consider the costs which go into printing these glossy magazines. the only person in the world who would read an article on earl rose ‘telling it like it is’ is mama rose…but she doesn’t read sa rugby magazine…she reads you magazine or huisgenoot.

• 14.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Very snaaks Bryce.

Black with a splash of milk.

Thangyaverymuch.

• 15.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-11:
    i am going to tell et.
    gunther must up his game.

• 16.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Earl Rose gets mention? wow must be short of stories

• 17.Delki: Reply to this comment

@8 UFO

Mate if God exists then he s an underachiever………..think about it.

• 18.Delki: Reply to this comment

Now back to the rugby.

Brussouw is VERY VERY good. Most SA loose forwards over the last 20 years have essentially been cleaned up, outplayed and shown as naive/wet behind the ears by their Australasian counterparts (e.g. winging about cheating I ask you).

Brussouw however has just performed on the field. Class.

• 19.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Ha ha, while Big Joe might be playing the best rugby of his career, that photo used for the article spread was taken before, how shall we say, a somewhat less glorious moment. He went for a try dive, but ended up leaping straight up and came down legs first in the in-goal area. Like an amateur Chris Ashton.

• 20.Shark: Reply to this comment

Brussow frustrated the Brumbies and stole very good ball in the loose. He was the difference between the two sides. The Boks need him.

The Sharks would be wise to buy Brussow and Taute. Taute is brilliant.

• 21.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Shark(Predawn)-20: Not for sale.

• 22.Shark: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-21:

Pity. Two very good players.

• 23.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Shark(Predawn)-20:
    you guys really are the chelsea of sa rugby. since the day you bought your way into the cc (we let you in) this is how you have behaved. you think throwing money at things will fix your problems… and you do.

• 24.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Shark(Predawn)-22: Grow your own. There’s no honour in pilfering.

• 25.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Maybe Earl has been signed by HSM.

Please let it not be true.

• 26.Shark: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-24:

No.

• 27.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-19:

Javelin fail.

• 28.the peanut gallery: Reply to this comment

earl rose has a very athletic build – a body like a javelin and a head like a discuss….

• 29.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-25:

they have bought the rights to the Big Issue.

Earl is going to be one of the sub-contractors for the distribution side of things.

• 30.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-27: The swan dive is not uncommon. But until now, very few had witnessed the majestic chicken dive.

Check it: http://www.rugbydump.com/2012/02/2347/friday-funnies-joe-van-niekerk-scores-with-a-vertical-leap-try

• 31.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Sharks are like Xhosakid’s dynamic.

“We must just get it.”

• 32.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-29: OOOOOKAAAAAY….

Was wondering what the angle was.

That makes perfect sense.

• 33.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-7: um, please…get it right…it was FRANS LUDEKE who came up with “it’s not ROCK science” and not PdV

hahahahaha :D

• 34.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-30:
    baie snaaks.

• 35.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-25: i’m convinced Big Joe IS signed to HSM or keo is kefuffling with the ou lady…every year without fail SA Rugby mag writes a story about how hot Joe’s form is in France, elke jaar!.

• 36.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-34: Dis ‘n dom idee vir ‘n ou van sy grootte om bors-eerste in die grond in te ploeg. Ek sou ook uitchicken.

• 37.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-30:

poor joe.

all the grace of a microwave flung from the top of a multi-storey car park.

• 38.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-35: Yes, amazing isn’t it? I happen to know Joe, he’s a good guy and happily doing more in France than he would in SA. I’m sure he’d love to play for the Boks again but he’s been there. done that.

And I’m not that sure why they call him “Big Joe”, Not the biggest 8th man around at all.

• 39.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-35:

Big Joe saved keo’s life in Paris.

He stopped him from being decapitated by a Metro turnstile.

• 40.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-33:
    rock science is rock science, transie :grin:

• 41.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-38:

Indeed not.

He guts flung around like a half-chewed chicken wing at one of Tony Yengeni’s bring and braais.

• 42.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-38:
    i heard he gave himself the name, just kept referring to himself as big joe until it stuck. cannot verify the veracity though.

• 43.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-38: That’s just to differentiate him from Joe Pietersen.

• 44.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-38: i think for a 21yr old he was “big” but then his ego grew even bigger and then the drugs & it was all downhill. so the nic has stuck.

• 45.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-44:
    you mean when he ‘goes big…he goes big..’

• 46.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-45: Or goes home….. :)

• 47.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-43: That makes sense.

Or Joe Pasquale, otherwise known as “Funny Joe”

Or Michael Landon, who was the original “Little Joe” in Bonanza.

• 48.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Shark(Predawn)-20: Taute is brilliant.

But not yet class.

A rough diamond, he makes too many elementary mistakes in between the periods of brilliance.

I would select him in my Bok 22 though, now.

• 49.Guns: Reply to this comment

According to http://www.superxv.com/fixtures/

Stormers, Bulls, Crusaders, Reds etc all have two byes,

Sharks have 1…

How the faaark is this fair in such a grooling comp?

or is this a mistake??

• 50.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-49:
    i think you’re allowed to trade your byes in for spur points. ollie wil know more about this ruling…ask him.

• 51.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-49: “grooling”, really?

yeah the sharks deserve a 2nd bye too, super rugby is too grueling for the guppys :D

• 52.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-48: @stormersboy(stormersboy)-47: Whoooooo Mallett is going to have a “PdV situation” here if he get appointed, hehe

Players want Lancaster

Tuesday, 13 March 2012 10.11 a.m.

England captain Chris Robshaw led his players in endorsing Stuart Lancaster’s bid to become the full-time coach after a remarkable 24-22 Six Nations triumph over France.

Lancaster is in charge on an interim basis while the Rugby Football Union search for the best man to lead England into the 2015 World Cup on home soil.

Jake White’s decision to rule himself would appear to leave the RFU with a straight decision between Lancaster and the former South Africa and Italy coach Nick Mallett.

The clamour for Lancaster to remain at the helm grew deafening after England carved a small piece of history in Paris – never before have they won all three away games in a championship campaign.

Assistant coaches Andy Farrell and Graham Rowntree praised the work Lancaster has done in restoring a national sense of pride in the England team following the World Cup debacle.

And, asked whether he would like to see the coaching team remain in place, Robshaw said: “Yes. They have created a great environment for us to go out there and play and of course as players we will back them to keep on doing it and keep on improving.

“I would like to think they think the same of us. We have only been together for 35 to 40 days now and we feel we have come a long way since that first game against Scotland.”

Exhilarating tries from Manu Tuilagi and Ben Foden put England 14-3 ahead and when Tom Croft scored late on they led 24-15 with just five minutes remaining.

Wesley Fofana’s converted try in the corner brought Les Bleus storming back into the game but Francois Trinh-Duc’s late dropped goal attempt fell short in a dramatic finale.

England, mathematically at least, will head into the final weekend with a shot at the title.

Foden said: “The thing that Stuart has done is that he has been honest with all the players and the media.

“He’s done what he set out to do and created an environment and culture that is certainly positive.

“All the boys are behind him and we all buy into what he is trying to build here and everyone is enjoying their rugby and enjoying the camp.

“Hats off to Stuart, Faz [Farrell] and Wig [Rowntree]. We have one game left and we need to make sure we don’t let them down in the last fixture[against Ireland at Twickenham on Saturday].”

Foden has now scored in all four of his Tests against France, having first been turned from a halfback into a fullback by France coach Philippe Saint-Andre while at Sale.

“Pushing Ben Foden to be a fullback and not a scrum-half is perhaps the dumbest thing I have ever done as a coach,” Saint-Andre said.

• 53.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

he’s a dirty little cheat with a penchant for dramatics

• 54.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-52:

The decision for England is easy.

Keep Lancaster.

He reminds me of a young Jake White, with a young crop of players.

This squad will (or at least should) do well on home soil in 2015.

• 55.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@lickbokspricks(loves the taste)-53:

are you talking about Lord Ritchbum?

• 56.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

expect a mediocre showing from england up to and including the wc.
    just my feeling on their squad and lancaster.

• 57.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-54: the way they’re shaoing up, heyneke meyer is going to have his work cutout for him come june!

• 58.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Two byes = bye bye.

• 59.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-57: shaping up

• 60.ufo: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-13:

what… me worry…? :shock:

(the proverbial) everyone predicted stormers wouldn’t win a game…

so am happy with the scraps the refs have been paid to throw us… :wink:

@Delki(Delki)-17:

mate IF god exists he’s only underachieved once… think about it. :wink:

• 61.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-57:
    you just love to be melodramatic, dont you…

• 62.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-56: feeling based on?

• 63.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-60:

you can’t blame god for ExTraball.

• 64.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-61: no, gunther is the drama king…thank you

• 65.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-62:
    the english will play 3, lose 3… its not rock science, transie… come on.. you know this.

• 66.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-57:

Absolutely.

I am worried about that series, because I won’t be satisfied with anything less than a 3-0 whitewash.

• 67.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-61:

indeed.

that one is very emotional.

he would be making salads at a braai.

• 68.Dawn: Reply to this comment

“Groooling”

Classic!

• 69.ufo: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-63:

gotta be honest though gunther… he did drop the ball on that one…

• 70.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Keo’s twatter at the top of the page is making me the moer in.

Expect choirs of angels at any minute

• 71.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-62:
    nothing about this team and coach has a look that says even in the process of losing 76-nil we will build on and go to great heights.

no star flyhalf in the making, no grissled worldy centres, no outstanding hardarsed locks, no out and out speedster fullback with an eye for gaps and penetrative linebreaks, no big hulking type wingers, no bulldog frontrowers.

just too many no’s imo. they’ll probably get better as a team with time but ‘this is not england’.

• 72.Dawn: Reply to this comment

“What an amazing job I have … to be the teller of the stories of those whose sporting efforts determine our mood every monday.” follow Keo on Twitter

Sick bag

• 73.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-70:

what is the baldy ballbag talking about?

• 74.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-65:

You obviously didn’t watch Eng France on Sunday

• 75.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-73:

Ref #72

And I quote.

• 76.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-65: @the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-67: guys i’m trying to talk rugby with willievz here, pipe down :D

• 77.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Guns everyone gets 2 byes!!

• 78.Guns: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-51:
    @Dawn(Dawn)-68:
    Watch out the “GroooOoling” Sharks will get their revenge!!

Either way it’s still a crock of ****, say what you want an extra bye or a “bye bye” more often than not leads to fresher legs, more prep against next opposition & can prevent injury from a fatigued team.

• 79.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-77:

Leave Guns alone.

He does grooling workout every day!

More than can be said for you!

• 80.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-76:

wela paleka.

It should be 3-0 to the boks but I am going with 2-1 Boks.

• 81.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Not working today

On go-slow

Comrade Vavi says it’s OK

• 82.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-49: Sharks have a bye on week 10 and 19. You just weren’t reading carefully enough.

• 83.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-71: clearly you haven’t watched England, moning on.

• 84.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-78: it can also lead to loss of momentum, you know the sharks always need momentum. 1 from 3 proves that

• 85.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-49: The Sharks will get plenty of rest come play-offs, don’t worry ;)

• 86.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-67:
    with eggs and tuna…a salad nicoise if you will… the other amadoda’s would be so embarrased. his sisters will ululate with concern and grief.

• 87.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-74:
    its france dawn…come on… a little TBE as usual.

• 88.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-86:

tansie makes a superb salad.

the secret is in the dressing.

• 89.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

‘grooling’ is when a team is left drooling at how grueling their campaign has been so far, with the only possibility of having a bye later on without the chance for a bye-bye.

grooling…its a *****

• 90.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

beetch

• 91.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-72: Kots.

• 92.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-57: I tend to disagree. Although they are side in transition, i think they will just come up short against the Boks and NZ’ers. They’ll lose more than they win against the Ossies, but it will be tough work. Their tight 5 lacks real muscle and intimidation. Their loosies are competent, without being match-winning. their inside backs lack subtlety and creativity and their outside backs suffer for it. They could be good in open play, but structured play leaves them exposed to direct confrontation. They’ll try their hearts out and will succeed most of the time, but moments of brilliance which change games will be too few and far between.

• 93.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-88: And the tossing.

• 94.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-88:

i blame our constitution.

or apartheid.

or both.

and here i was thinking that is a skill you pick up after time spent in shadow of the mountain. salad skills..go figure… it can strike good men everywhere…

• 95.Papoose: Reply to this comment

Oos Paviljoen…. Need 1 say ANYMORE?
    Bulls fan: I did it for Basson
    He explained that he and some friends occupied seats on the east pavilion…
    “We were just about to leave, as it had started raining and there was about three minutes left of the game. This is when Basson scored and was injured. As I saw him lying on the field I panicked and thought he was hurt. I moved down and climbed over the barrier to see if he was all right,” he said.

• 96.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-91:

Sickly sweet!

• 97.Guns: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-82:

No Nils I think it is u who dit not read my original post I clearly stated http://www.superxv.com/fixtures/ being where I read it & I clearly asked – or is this just a mistake?

I read good and proper using ctr + F & Highlight all matching specific word to ensure I was not mistaken. Go look at week 15 from my above link there is no Sharks. If it appears they only just added it, I just checked it’s still excludes sharks & I have screendump I could show.

Yes I shoul have checked on another site too.

Peace duty calls..

• 98.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

The only momentum the Sharks need is Plumtree flying East across the Indian Ocean… and he can take Dolf with him…

• 99.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-88:

Nothing wrong with a good Umngqusho and Chakalaka recipe :wink:

• 100.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-97: Look, take on the glasses.

http://www.superxv.com/fixtures/

• 101.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-99:

Yvonne Chakalaka?

Now THAT chick could sing.

• 102.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-97: Ok, I will not argue, maybe you are right and they added that later, in that case I apologize.

The only thing I saw in the morning was Sharks byes on week 10 and 19, while week 15 they are, of course, playing. That’s what I was saying then.

• 103.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-102:

Careful

Guns is built like Vin Diesel.

• 104.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-103: Who is this Vin Gasoline?

• 105.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-104:

He’s Fast and Furious an built like a truck.

• 106.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-105: Oh, good on him then, although have never watched it. He’s not the only one in the world built +/- ok however, so no big deal.

Anyway, I already offered my apologies in case I wasn’t right.

• 107.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-106:

In case you weren’t right?

surely not?

• 108.Nils: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-107: The problem was following. Guns said one thing he saw, I looked in the same site and saw opposite, so I stated according to what I personally witnessed. Maybe information there was indeed changed during the interval between we looked there, I do not know. So if it was changed, then he was right, if he just overlooked, then he wasn’t.

Or did you mean now something I did not understand correctly?

• 109.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Dawn…Vin Deisel acts in Pitch Black, seen it yet. Yes I spelt his name wrong I don’t care, am to knakkered.

• 110.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-109:

Have a bath.

Think of handsome Gunther.

feel free to abuse yourself.

• 111.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-109: your spelling ain’t that great, can’t be Waterford’s fault, where did yiu do your primary school?

• 112.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-111:

where did yiu do yours?

• 113.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-103:

Dawn, I’ve been told it’s not about the size of the boat, but the motion of the ocean.

Is that true? ;)

• 114.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-110:
    as free as mr hugger will feel to abuse you..?..
    haiyibo! you are cruising for a bruising.

• 115.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-113:

skipper that’s what everyone who sails a dinghy says.

• 116.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

79 Dawn… And you know exactly how??

• 117.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@ 112 – You just made my day!
    Moerse snaaks! Lol

• 118.YoMama: Reply to this comment

My fear is always that other teams will do a Dan Vickerman on him over and over.

If he had the protection that the anointed one (Sir Ritchie) has, he would be the biggest little guy in rugby.

• 119.Nils: Reply to this comment

@YoMama(YoMama)-118: “My fear is always that other teams will do a Dan Vickerman on him over and over.”

While Brussow got a nasty blow to the head by Vickerman I do not think it was intentional as (I watch that moment on my PC) Dan was looking the completely other way when going into the pile of players, he could not see where his knee lands. But it was nasty, I do not argue.

The reason why Brussow went off was the rib injury, and he was playing while carying this injury. I remember well how Aussie commentators mentioned at the very start that Heinrich is playing through injury. He did his job until could not anymore.

• 120.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-119:

Point stands… South Africans have still not learned anything from their early exit… they still don’t protect their own ball properly as a unit… nor do they counter-ruck on opposition ball… the individuals like Brussouw are always going to get injured because of this… and in the case of the Cheetah’s and the likes of Ashley Johnson they’ll always be coughing up as much ball as they pilfer…

Bulls second half a case in point… they ceased to kick away possession onto one of the most attacking teams in Super rugby… and they protected their own ball as a unit at the breakdowns (marginally better than the first)… not to mention counter-rucked better as a unit (albeit they don’t really have much grunt in that dept other than Wepener atm)…

• 121.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-119:

You’re right. I know Dan well enough to agree that it was not intentional.

That being said, it still worked out well for the wallabies and you could easily see thugs like Reuben Thorn and Ali Williams taking note and plotting to physically remove one of the key tools in the Bok arsenal.

• 122.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-120:

You are very right, both the Reds and Highlanders have become the master of obliterating rucks. This is the ONLY reason why SA sides have struggled against the likes of Thompson and Kaino.

We really do miss Juan. Perhaps someone should sit Alberts down and teach him this little trick, I believe that we will be better off.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.