Gutsy Sharks down Reds
17 Mar 2012
JON CARDINELLI watched the Sharks fight back from a 17-point deficit to beat the Reds 27-22 on Saturday.
The hosts trailed 17-0 after 28 minutes despite a gale force wind at their backs. It was during this period where they looked a frantic and disorganised unit, dropping passes and missing tackles to allow the Reds’ momentum and scoring opportunities. At that stage of the game, they were staring down the barrell of a big hiding.
But it was in that period right before half-time where they showed a belief that belied their inferior breakdown effort and lack of synergy. Replacement lock Jandre Marais rumbled over the line following an outstanding build up, and a Pat Lambie conversion further narrowed the deficit.
Reds winger Digby Ioane was also yellow-carded for a dangerous tackle right on the half-time buzzer, allowing Lambie to add an extra three points before the break.
Two different teams emerged from the Kings Park tunnel in the second half. The hosts drew confidence from the manner in which they had finished the first half, while the Reds’ grew more desperate as the game wore on.
The visitors’ effort was seriously hampered when they lost first-choice goal-kicker Mike Harris in the 23rd minute and flyhalf Ben Lucas early in the second stanza. This meant that the dangerous Will Genia was forced to stand in the first-receiver channel, thus eliminating the tremendous threat around the ruck which had caused the Sharks defence massive problems in the first half.
The Reds scrapped for survival, but while they only conceded six points during Ioane’s absence, they failed to get out of their own territory.
Keegan Daniel made a fantastic call as a captain, turning down the three-point option and keeping the heat on the Reds. It was fitting that he eventually breached the visitors’ defence, breaking from the back of the scrum to help the Sharks take a 20-17 lead.
While the Sharks never quite closed out the match, they had the momentum for the rest of the contest. Apart from Daniel, Willem Alberts and Marcell Coetzee were huge at the point of contact, and Bismarck du Plessis produced a magnificent performance at the breakdown. So often it was the Springbok hooker who effected a turnover that led to a telling counter-attack.
The Reds looked to have wrested back the initiative when reserve halfback Nick Frisby intercepted a Sharks pass and sparked a try. But the Sharks hit back immediately thanks to a Du Plessis turnover deep in Reds territory.
The heavies took the ball up before it was moved out wide, Riaan Viljoen not only crossing the line but dotting down closer to the uprights to ensure Lambie would enjoy an easier conversion attempt.
What followed was a frantic finish to the match, as both teams went all out to secure the clincher. Genia, the third-choice goal-kicker following the injuries to Harris and Lucas, had missed the conversion to Frisby’s try, and fluffed a simple penalty in the final 10 minutes.
It was thereafter where captain James Horwill was forced to turn down kickable penalties. Unfortunately for the Reds, they just couldn’t make an impression with ball in hand on an excellent and determined Sharks defence.
The hosts had the chance to score a bonus-point try close to full time, but were denied when the Reds turned the ball over at the breakdown. Considering the first-half deficit, coach John Plumtree will be ecstatic that the Sharks managed to get the four points let alone bank the maximum.
The result ensures the Sharks travel Down Under on the back of two good wins. For the Reds, it won’t get any easier as they will head up to Loftus Versfeld next week to tackle the Bulls.

240 Comments
17 Mar 2012, 15:27 pm
sharks xv 3 – wp 3 : vodacom cup.
17 Mar 2012, 16:03 pm
Please do updates on Sharks game when it starts am not able to watch for the first time ever
17 Mar 2012, 16:04 pm
This is going to be a tough game for the Sharks
17 Mar 2012, 16:20 pm
Come on Sharks, need the Aussie teams to lose as many out of conference games as possible.
17 Mar 2012, 16:23 pm
come on sharkies, let the games begin, reds got a helluva loosetrio tho.
17 Mar 2012, 16:24 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-2: Shame Hugsy we’ll keep you updated.
17 Mar 2012, 16:30 pm
radike samo is as useless as kankowski is, he will pounce on intercepts and all that but in terms of grunt he is powderpuff.
17 Mar 2012, 16:31 pm
Hugsy is welcome to feel up my dates.
17 Mar 2012, 16:33 pm
BIIG Game SHARKSS!!! COMMON MANNA!!!!
17 Mar 2012, 16:46 pm
Huge Grudge watch after RWC, Wales vs Fra for the GS title, gna be a cracker!
17 Mar 2012, 16:52 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-7:
they get the grunt from the two flankers, samo is 6ft6 with the skills of a flyhalf.
17 Mar 2012, 16:53 pm
Go Sharks…!!!
17 Mar 2012, 16:59 pm
Watsup Guns watcha workout today?
17 Mar 2012, 17:10 pm
Feck now wales france is on at the same time
17 Mar 2012, 17:11 pm
@cab(cab)-11: the No7 likes to get stuck in.
Good Scrumaging by Sharks.
Reds 7 keeps breaking bind early..
@cab(cab)-11: oh really? watch & see how many times scott higginbotham will be on the wing…
samo is a ruck inspector, useless.
Try Time Wales!!!
17 Mar 2012, 17:12 pm
Wales 7 – 3 France
17 Mar 2012, 17:14 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-13:
Hey Dawn, hit some chest today, a mate took some vid footage too lol so I may post the vid at some point, will keep u posted if you want to see ha ha..
17 Mar 2012, 17:14 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-14:
Not sure if this link will work in SA but BBC broadcasts live games on the net http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbcone/watchlive/
17 Mar 2012, 17:15 pm
Don’t see JP, but Whitehead already spilled a ball at the tackle to a turn over, tradition is still in place
17 Mar 2012, 17:17 pm
FOK MAN no!!!!!!!!!
17 Mar 2012, 17:18 pm
Try Reds.
Did I just Bismarck give a penalty away again XD
Good Try
17 Mar 2012, 17:19 pm
Wake up Sharks ffs..
Conversion good 7-0 Reds
Course I wanna see!
Tackle low Bismark ffs..
17 Mar 2012, 17:21 pm
Feck !!!!!!!! Did Bismarck stiff up again ?
17 Mar 2012, 17:21 pm
@Guns(Guns)-19: Chest Rockwell?
17 Mar 2012, 17:22 pm
Calm people.
Game is young still.
17 Mar 2012, 17:23 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-30: Reds running very well at the moment. Sharks looking shaky.
17 Mar 2012, 17:23 pm
Penalty Reds. Shot at goal.
17 Mar 2012, 17:24 pm
Reds looking good in early on in open play..
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-34: miss
Penalty under the crossbar. Reprieve for the Sharks
Under the post.. Thaught it went strait through.
17 Mar 2012, 17:25 pm
SB. Guns works various parts of anatomy regularly.
Vin Diesel.
17 Mar 2012, 17:25 pm
Reds are holding their own in the scrum and looking good in the loose.
17 Mar 2012, 17:26 pm
Reds running the ball up nicely again. They look very explosive given just a small gap.
17 Mar 2012, 17:27 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-39: I know Dawnie.
So do I.
17 Mar 2012, 17:27 pm
Sharks are missing first time tackles..they need to make sure that there defensive line holds if they want any chance in this game..
17 Mar 2012, 17:28 pm
Pls man don’t call me dawnie.
So you too are vin diesel
17 Mar 2012, 17:29 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-44: Sorry.
Nope
I have more hair.
17 Mar 2012, 17:30 pm
Where is John Smi when you need him…
17 Mar 2012, 17:31 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-45:
Me too atm.. ha ha..
17 Mar 2012, 17:33 pm
Weird weather at this game
17 Mar 2012, 17:36 pm
Faaaaarking Pathetic sharks…
Faark this…
@Dawn(Dawn)-48: One mite have guessed the rain would benifit the sharks… F Jokers..
12-0
Wonder about that looping pass at the beginning there, from the angle on tv it looked suspiciously forward.
17 Mar 2012, 17:37 pm
Remind me again why Bismarck is so rated?
Statistically this year so far for every ball he has pilfered he has given away a penalty as well as conceding turnover ball… he runs too upright on attack and never breaks the advantage line, he tackles too upright, he’s not a technical scrummager, his LO throwing is woeful, there are props with better handling…
Is it because he looks ‘fris’ those supposedly in the know rate him?
17 Mar 2012, 17:38 pm
@Guns(Guns)-47: For now lol.
Although I’m a bit older than him.
But I must say, reading your posts I think you’re a bit more into the size thing than me. I used to be, particularly when I was playing rugby, but now I’m over 40 so it’s more about staying in shape and burning enough calories per day to afford me my indulgent lifestyle. Mostly don’t keep up with it though lol.
I still do the same strength routines as I used to but have added 20 minutes of high intensity cardio to each workout and a lot more core stuff. Also I focus a lot more on form rather than weight. Injuries take a while to repair.
I also take a break every now an then if I feel over-trained, which at my age happens quicker than when I was younger. And I try and get out for a bike ride most weekends, usually with my kid.
17 Mar 2012, 17:40 pm
Sharks under Plum-for-brains will be lucky to beat any team in the top 6 this year!
17 Mar 2012, 17:43 pm
0-17 WTF is this horse ****…
Sharks are just looking swak.
Sorry to say. A couple of well, lets just say “flat” passes by the Reds though. On another day it would go the other way.
Also another penalty by Bissie.
Was that Bismarck coughing up another 3? … yep.
17 Mar 2012, 17:44 pm
Guns’ workout is written in exerciseeese.
New language full of strange words.
Sharks need to get themselves into this game ASAP! ffs support!!!
Common TRY!
Try Sharks! Nice.
17 Mar 2012, 17:45 pm
Note – I have been calling for Mcleoud to start for aaaaages!! So obvious he is the best 9 at the sharks and a big challenger for the Bok 9 as well.
17 Mar 2012, 17:46 pm
Much better from the Sharks with the ball there.
17 Mar 2012, 17:46 pm
7-17 Reds
17 Mar 2012, 17:47 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-58: Join the club Dawn.
You won’t regret it.
17 Mar 2012, 17:47 pm
@Guns(Guns)-61:
Ja. Even as a non-sharks fan it’s been painful to watch Michalak waste opportunities for them by delaying too long. McLeod keeps the ball quick and that little burst and pop made that try happen.
17 Mar 2012, 17:48 pm
@Guns(Guns)-61: I don’t understand why they signed Mich.
Yes he is a past international and all that, but I wouldn’t pick him for the Stormers.
Maybe on the bench but something tells me they are paying primo for him.
17 Mar 2012, 17:49 pm
Am a bit more sedate.
Work the dumbells.
17 Mar 2012, 17:50 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-21:
What was that about White head??? He has been playing some solid rugby, not sure what you have been watching..
17 Mar 2012, 17:50 pm
Kaplan kapers.
17 Mar 2012, 17:51 pm
Aaaag nee man fokoff!!!!!! Reverse the farking Try???? *** OFFFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
F****CKING P*****Y ****!
Sorry appolagies… Deap breaths…
17 Mar 2012, 17:51 pm
Eish……. sharks. Sort the discipline.
17 Mar 2012, 17:53 pm
17 Mar 2012, 17:54 pm
Better stuff by sharks. FFS give us our try back!!!
17 Mar 2012, 17:55 pm
Sharks need to keep this up second half. Won’t be behind for long if they can.
17 Mar 2012, 17:59 pm
Halfpenny seems to be the man of the millenium on the other channel
17 Mar 2012, 18:00 pm
Linesman on the far side is having a mare!
17 Mar 2012, 18:04 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-53:
Some whise words there my friend! Rest is so important most ppl wanting to gain over train all the time & wonder why they don’t grow..
I would not say im 100% into the size game because of my herniated discs etc and it’s not what really appeals to me, I just love to train hard, I can’t get enough of it, I have always loved challenging the body, I too originally started gym for Rugby but just never kept it up with all the busy work & travelling, although I may play some club rugby again. As I am still relatively young and wanting to compete again as a Natural Body Builder with the goal to either get a Natural Pro card or win a Natural Show, for me at the moment I don’t like to constrict calories as to make the most of the current natural, youth, testosterone production etc which for me still seems to be peeking & I hope it continues for many years to come
As a natural BB though you need size because when you diet down for a show you really have to rip it up and you will always lose weight depending on how you diet/prep. Biggest mistake youngsters make – they want to put on some size but they think it’s all about supplements and **** but its 99.9999% eating, especially when you young you have more than enough natural test production and growth hormone going on, you just need some proper food!! (I don’t have anything against ppl who use AAS either, that’s their choice just make sure you don’t use and compete in sports where its banned bec that is pathetic) I would love to achieve one of those goals and hopefully the back/discs will hold out. Most of my training is very intense but I use allot of pre-exhausting with legs/back training so eg ill do squats last so I can go with a medium weigh less pressure on back but still smashing the legs as they pre exhausted from killing them with extensions or whatever else first..
Any training is good, everyone has different goals and reasons for doing so, I always say each to his/her own! I love boxing & a bit of MMA as well, really miss the sea & spear-fishing though!!
17 Mar 2012, 18:05 pm
wise** lol..
17 Mar 2012, 18:05 pm
Yes Dawn that is quite a mouth full!!
17 Mar 2012, 18:07 pm
70@ Guns… What happened, what is happening.
Stormersboy……. More info on the game needed….. Biz being the over rated prick that he is, sounds like, Sharks need Captain Fantastic
17 Mar 2012, 18:08 pm
Guns sounds like u jumped the gun, sharks coming back.
17 Mar 2012, 18:10 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-80: Ja on the leadership front they are lacking something.
13-17 to the Sharks, they’ve come out motivated.
Still dropping the ball too often. Lots of promising moves knocked on.
17 Mar 2012, 18:10 pm
Am now fully in the workout picture.
17 Mar 2012, 18:11 pm
@Guns(Guns)-77: Awesome to hear!
Sharks take uick penalty
17 Mar 2012, 18:12 pm
Sharks are looking dangerous..
Sharks run the ball up and knock on 5 meters out .
Again
damn another try lost…
17 Mar 2012, 18:13 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-80:
Reds 17-13 Sharks.
Reds down to 14 right now, Sharks in ascendency, and trying to keep things on track. Reds still look dangerous in open play. Sharks beginning to control the breakdowns though.
Reds might be about to lose another kicker.
Digby coming on off the yellow card bench. 6 points scored by Sharks during this period.
17 Mar 2012, 18:14 pm
Bismarck brilliant, u okes are nuts.
17 Mar 2012, 18:15 pm
Fumbled off the back of the scrum by Reds, Sharks pounce, possible try to the Sharks. 4th official checking.
Any1 who thinks bismark is now **** or a cost go and watch his efforts from the bench in the last RWC, Go and watch him against the Lions Tour that we won, Go and watch him in the Tri-Nations that we won, watch how he rips **** to shreads.. Give him a break he had a huge RWC season and a huuge come down.
Sharks Try Cotzee please!!! Common!! Faark may be knockon.. fok.. Pooo how many Trys are the sharks going to throw away…
Almost a try for the Sharks, 5m scrum..
No try, scrum Sharks, 5 meters out.
17 Mar 2012, 18:17 pm
Sharks run the ball and Viljoen passed it over Mvovo’s head. Out, back for a Sharks penalty for hand on the ground in the scrum.
17 Mar 2012, 18:18 pm
Sharks with lots of momentum.. Need to get more points as Matfield says before Digby gets back on.. And to keep this pressure on the reds for the rest of the 30min to come! FUUUUKIN hiiigh past way over Mvovos head and yet another 100% guarantied try gone down the drain….
Ag nee. Should’ve been 5.
Riaan Viljoen waste a sure try..Scrum on 5m again..
17 Mar 2012, 18:19 pm
Mvovo just short..
17 Mar 2012, 18:22 pm
another penalty in the red zone..ref will have to go for a yellow if the reds keep this up..Sharks try!!
TRY!!! Daniels!!! Were are the haters?????
Daniel over, fast, sharks looking good, alberts back to his best.
17 Mar 2012, 18:23 pm
Can’t decide who I’m pissed off with most between Jonathan Kaplan, Joel Stransky and Riaan Viljoen!
@Guns(Guns)-102:
lol, guns i see your spirits have picked up…
Converts..20 – 17
17 Mar 2012, 18:24 pm
Excellent come-back…. kudos… Reds not the same with Genia and the rest off…
17 Mar 2012, 18:26 pm
try reds..forced passed intercepted..
WTF Was that they just watched him score!!!
FFS sharks could have been another 2/3 tries up but no.. F cuck…
reds score!
Poor Missed tackle Bismark..
17 Mar 2012, 18:27 pm
Sharks 20-22 Reds
17 Mar 2012, 18:27 pm
…….. shambolic. They fight all the way back and then. Ag.
17 Mar 2012, 18:28 pm
Try Viljoen..
17 Mar 2012, 18:28 pm
VILJOEN what a powerfull runner!!! Another bok 15 contender!
17 Mar 2012, 18:29 pm
Bismarck steels the ball in reds 22 leads to Viljoens try, 27-22 Sharks..
Great response. Lovely steal from Bismarck.
All is forgiven Riaan
17 Mar 2012, 18:30 pm
sharks reply with a try of their own! open game this
17 Mar 2012, 18:30 pm
Thx Sormersboy and Tartan,
Guns, I think he is nothing more than a an excellent impact player, in the full game he is more often a liability.
17 Mar 2012, 18:31 pm
sharks can taste the blood in the water…
Sharks starting to man up. ’bout fuckingtime.
I mean these Reds away jersey looks like valentines day wrapping paper from Cardies.
17 Mar 2012, 18:32 pm
Well done wales!
17 Mar 2012, 18:33 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-120: He creates more scoring opportunities for his team than he creates for the opposition..Id pick him in my starting line up any day of the week..
17 Mar 2012, 18:34 pm
Charteris my man!
17 Mar 2012, 18:35 pm
Nail biting game here..
17 Mar 2012, 18:35 pm
Reds getting close to the sharks line..advantage to Reds..penalty in Sharks 22 for Reds..
17 Mar 2012, 18:36 pm
Genia misses the penalty..
17 Mar 2012, 18:36 pm
good game, end to end stuff, lambie kicking away too much possession tho, sharks pack were getting some momentum, this could go either way..
17 Mar 2012, 18:37 pm
Gatland RWC revenge taken.
17 Mar 2012, 18:37 pm
@cab(cab)-130:
Ja, that was an excellent counter ruck just before he chipped it away.
17 Mar 2012, 18:38 pm
Sharks really dominating the game at the moment..
17 Mar 2012, 18:38 pm
Jeez I am missing a fabulous game.
17 Mar 2012, 18:39 pm
@cab(cab)-130: Its not that he kick away possession, its just that its bad kicks every time..
17 Mar 2012, 18:39 pm
why they taken alberts off?! fools.
17 Mar 2012, 18:41 pm
Sharks defence is now really beginning to force errors from the Reds.
@cab(cab)-136:
He probably can’t do the full 80min yet.
17 Mar 2012, 18:42 pm
uncontested scrums from here on..9mins left on the clock.. stil 27-22 Sharks..
17 Mar 2012, 18:42 pm
coetzee and botes good, but now they got noone to get over adv line, think sharkies might have made a bad move, shoulda kept alberts on even at lock..
17 Mar 2012, 18:43 pm
Penalty Reds in the 22 of the sharks..Sharks moving backwards and allowing Reds back into the game..Reds take scrum..
17 Mar 2012, 18:44 pm
eish this is going to be close
17 Mar 2012, 18:45 pm
Reds driving the ball up. Playing good posession.
17 Mar 2012, 18:46 pm
Mvovo has had a solid game and very good on defence tonight, infact one of best defenders on the pitch today i reckon..
15 phases later back in the Reds 22 Sharks gets scrum..
Common sharks maul that ball over the try line!! Penalty won, sharks.
17 Mar 2012, 18:47 pm
What a tackle McLeod
looks like the sharks going to sneak it breaking out of own 22 from a mcleod tackle.
Sharks on Reds line…
Red making the hard yards in the sharks 22 until a great tackle and clearance. Sharks turn it right round and now camped on Red’s 5yrd line with a scrum.
McLeod shook himself up putting in the big hit, but looks okay.
17 Mar 2012, 18:48 pm
Fok penalty turned given to the reds..
Penalty Reds, just over 1min left..
Big lineout from the sharks now common! Not strait sharks ball!
Shocking, shocking refereeing. Hougaard didn’t drive the player into the ground and got a red. Ioane drives the guy into the ground and gets a yellow. Pathetic. The Reds should have been playing with 14 men for the entire second half. Or else Hougaard should have gotten just a yellow 2 weeks ago.
17 Mar 2012, 18:49 pm
Scrum sharks on reds 22. Another try and it’s a bonus point for the sharks.
17 Mar 2012, 18:49 pm
Reds win penalty virtually on their own line. 1min on clock, Red’s Lineout, not straight.
17 Mar 2012, 18:50 pm
Sharks win..
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-153: I expect he’ll be cited for that one.
Good win by the Sharks
Sharks win.
good win that – 2 games 2 wins after 2 losses – the sharks are back.
17 Mar 2012, 18:51 pm
So much for the 5/2 split I was going on about… not having an extra 10/kicking option has lost the game for the Reds…
Gees win for the Sharks… they’ll lose two win one lose two win one this season…
Good stuff all the same…
Man of the match is Bismarck, 27-22 for the Sharks..So far the game of the weekend, Super Rugby at its best!!
Well done Sharks…!!
Great fightback!! Great result…!!!
17 Mar 2012, 18:53 pm
They really turned it around. Made it a forward’s game, controlled it, stopped giving away penalties and starting making turnovers.
Great result in the end for the Sharks.
17 Mar 2012, 18:57 pm
England Ireland starting now..
17 Mar 2012, 18:58 pm
I’ve never seen so many happy Welsh people
17 Mar 2012, 18:58 pm
Well done Jon,
If it was the Stormers it would have been a ‘Brilliant’ or a ‘Fantastic’ win. But hey, gutsy is Gutsy is something I can live with.
Ever wonder why the Keo blog is falling apart at the seams?
Why numbers are significantly down than before?
Then again for you it’s just a ‘woosh’ past your ear drums.
17 Mar 2012, 18:59 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-165:
I have before – 2005 and 2008
17 Mar 2012, 19:01 pm
Marais needs to start in place of Bresler…
17 Mar 2012, 19:03 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-168:
think deysel is back next week and then they can maybe consider shifting either he or alberts into lock to partner sykes. Alberts is a monster tho, without him sharkies more like tadpoles, once Beast is back, they going to be hard to beat.
17 Mar 2012, 19:03 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-153:
Kaplan didn’t see it, he told so to the lineman
He asked (in English in case you missed it) “is that a yellow or a red?” the lineman said “Yellow”
Red it was, nonetheless, and Digby will be cited, rest assured
17 Mar 2012, 19:04 pm
Thanks for the great commentary guys, don’t ever miss a game not for a wedding ,nothing. But this was just to important, hope there is a replay during the week to watch, sounded like one of those dreadful nailbiters.
17 Mar 2012, 19:06 pm
Hondo
I heard it. I was referring to the assistant referee. Pathetic call.
17 Mar 2012, 19:08 pm
Well OCO that went down like a lead balloon.
Im glad the Sharks won, will always support any S.A. team that plays against overseas opposition.
That being said, kaplan was his usual pathetic self. How this chop can still ref anything is beyond me. what an absolute disgrace.
by far the worst ref performance of 2012.
**b>SHARKSSS
17 Mar 2012, 19:09 pm
oops
17 Mar 2012, 19:09 pm
@cab(cab)-169:
The Sharks lost several line outs, they need Skeate, also for organizing the forwards.
Something must be done with the lack any defence and ball dropping by their wings, they won’t get far with such deficiencies, luckily, the Reds had no FH to exploit it
17 Mar 2012, 19:11 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-177:
you might have a point, skeate and sykes probably the best shakes, tho they missing mostert. coetzee dropped the ball twice, gotta watch that.
17 Mar 2012, 19:12 pm
Joel Stransky:
” …where the Blues gave the Bulls a proper hiding.”
What
Please, you crooked fool, by 6 points is not a “proper hiding”. They barely bet the Bulls, and that only because the Bulls kicker had an uncharacteristic off day.
Why is Joel Stransky always so quick to criticize and lambaste the Bulls team?
It’s like he thinks he won a Rugby World Cup all by himself.
17 Mar 2012, 19:13 pm
SHARKSSS
17 Mar 2012, 19:14 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-173:
Yo Dawn,
That’s normal. Relativity went the same way as did many other revelations that were beyond ken.
Remember what this blog was like a year or two ago?
lots of banter and discussions.
Now there’s barely 100 comments on contentious issues.
Hope you are well (seriously) and making hay whilst the sun shines
17 Mar 2012, 19:15 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-172:
Digby will be dealt with, if Coetzee wouldn’t release the ball earlier and supported his neck with his hands, it would have been a neck injurie, I was shocked like anybody else to watch it though.
And a drug test too is called for
17 Mar 2012, 19:16 pm
@BlueBlood(BlueBlood)-174:
Not a chance, worst reffing was in the Stormer’s first game.
Old age seems to be getting to your memory banks
17 Mar 2012, 19:18 pm
Iaone the best wing in the world tho – aggressive, strong, fast, steps off both feet, cant be stopped one on one.
17 Mar 2012, 19:21 pm
@cab(cab)-178:
He was doing a lot of damage at the 2nd half, broke the gain line too many times to count and produced a huge defence work, he recovers from tackles so fast, only Bissie might be faster in this regard
I will keep him there, the Sharks are covered well with Deysel back, can use a bench of five and steamroll any opposition with McLeod at 9!
17 Mar 2012, 19:27 pm
Indeed OCO back in the day 1000+ threads easy.
Lots of brawling and fun had by all.
17 Mar 2012, 19:28 pm
Doubt whether it’s JC’s fault though
Other reasons
17 Mar 2012, 19:39 pm
Wow!
That was a close call.
I still feel the Sharks are a bit off the boil, but as the Stormers fans say, a win is a win.
Almost 5 points in the end.
17 Mar 2012, 19:40 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-186:
Yes dawn, “Those were the days that were”
About time Keo and cohorts provided independant, unbiased commentary.
“Something for all” always wins the day over “support for the local team”.
Gavin Crowmore cannot string sentences together without “Stormer” or “Certain Bok” in them.
I prefer the dancing girls meself rather than some bug-eyed, brain washed nincompoop.
17 Mar 2012, 19:43 pm
Don’t worry be happy your team won
17 Mar 2012, 19:44 pm
Independent unbiased don’t generate no hits
17 Mar 2012, 19:48 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-191:
False, look at Keo for instance.
Rapidly heading to the south pole as stats will reveal.
What keo needs is reporters giving all angles, not just the crowmore diatribe.
As long as they continue to play amongst themselves Keo should be issuing snow shoes
17 Mar 2012, 20:01 pm
Extraball should be back soon
Majola suspended for a year on full pay
17 Mar 2012, 20:01 pm
Well Done Sharks. I knew you could do it. Great points on the Bru!
17 Mar 2012, 20:12 pm
If you were too slow to understand what’s happening with Keo read no further that the SR headlines:
Gutsy Sharks down Reds
Highlanders hang on
Force upset Tahs
Chiefs Steal it late
Note the incongruity:
Stormers Bash Blues
Nuff said.
17 Mar 2012, 21:01 pm
Oco you really are a dumb schmuck
typical snotty nosed dumb fck pom pom last bastion of pomposity deluded moronic expatriated idiot
Shaka’s Zulu’s should have done a decent job and kept those pompous red coats off their land .. look at the snobbish pompous twats they left behind
17 Mar 2012, 21:05 pm
I have just got back from the game and watched the PVR
Stransky and Bladen and the Smiling Rasta all confidently picked the Reds to win.
No apology or sheepish admission after the game.
I know why Kaplan hates the Sharks a certain Sharks no 7 a few years ago shagged some body close to him ,but what’s Stransky’s story,the ungrateful arsehole went to school here and learnt all his rugby here.I wish he would speak out of both nostrills not just one.
Sharks will get better,to play like that in those conditions,is a real achievement.
Beast,Deysel,Hargreaves all on the way back.
The bone collector,is almost at his best again,and Marcel Coetzee the best thing I have seen since a young,Andre Venter .
17 Mar 2012, 21:05 pm
None of those headlines are Pulitzer material
17 Mar 2012, 21:20 pm
@OCO(OCO)-166: Oh get over yourself. Every year we have to hear how the Sharks are the favourites from a SA perspective. Every year they flatter to deceive. Kaplan allowed the Sharks to infringe at will at ruck time today. Watch what happens once the Sharks go on tour.
17 Mar 2012, 21:25 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-196: He’s afarid the Stormers are going to steal their “perceived” thunder again this year lol.
17 Mar 2012, 21:28 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-196: He’s afraid the Stormers are going to steal their “perceived” thunder again this year lol.
17 Mar 2012, 21:32 pm
if Kaplan hates the Sharks so much he certainly did a good job of concealing his hatred .. practically gave Sharks 80% possession in second half with how many consecutive penalties?
Reds folded after going down to 14 and losing all their play maker 10′s one after the next.. and what Horwill was thinking going for 3 point penalty when 5 mts from Sharks line trailing by 5 with 10 to go .. and to rub salt into the damning decision Genia goes and misses it… only heaven may likely know.. that dumb decision sealed Red’s fate there and then..
Reds coughed that game up.. once Genia started hospital passing to his strike runners whereas in first half they had Sharks on the rack…
McLeod and Whitehead make all the difference to Sharks attack.. they the ones that breathe some life into an otherwise dreary dead end dilemma .. they created 2 of the 3 tries..
Whats it with ex Natalians.. how come they hate their home land of privileged opportunity so much.. Skinstadt, Kaplan, Stransky, how many others.. what is it with the last bastion cast offs.. perhaps they recognize the snobbish pom pom traits that tried to straight jacket their thinking.. and since they belatedly bust loose and free from the pompous pious poefterheid now they don’t want anything more to do with the incestuous holier than thou inbreeding..
17 Mar 2012, 21:41 pm
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-201:
yeah before this years competition kicked off can you remember all the sharkievarkie f’ng snob nosed premonitions
Like ‘ Sharks will easy be the top SA conference finishers’
or
‘ Stormers gonna end up bottom of SA log’
or
‘only 2 teams worthy to contest the SA conference are Bulls and Sharks .. only two who are worthy competitors’
Yeah right .. so who’s looking at who up their elevated arses?
where all the bully brekers that were so cockahoop only 3 weeks ago after they dismantled Cheetahs.. and which Sharkievarkie still reckons the only SA team gonna contest the finals is from Dirtbin..
17 Mar 2012, 22:40 pm
What vitriol against Sharks and Natalians, actually the majority of us were not punting the Sharks to do to well just like we didn’t think we would do to well last year.
17 Mar 2012, 22:40 pm
Blow it out your arse ashampaloo!!! Strompies hve not played an away game!!! WAit you big mouth!!
17 Mar 2012, 22:42 pm
And if you thonk the ref helped the sgtks then the ref game the gAme to the stormers!!! Wise ***!!
17 Mar 2012, 22:42 pm
Thonk=think
17 Mar 2012, 22:43 pm
Twat!!
17 Mar 2012, 22:47 pm
Well done Sharks. So far a great weekend for SA sports teams. Go the Cheetahs.
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-204: Take it from whence it comes Hugsy.
And whatever i typed meant sharks!! Lol
17 Mar 2012, 22:50 pm
Time for fuckadilly to take his medication.
17 Mar 2012, 22:53 pm
I’m very happy the Sharks won. I’m also very happy they didn’t get a bonuspoint. Great result all round. The Reds basically have 8 guaranteed wins in their conference, so every loss they notch up is great for SA teams.
17 Mar 2012, 23:12 pm
Magtag what a sacharrin movie that was just on mnet
Blergh
17 Mar 2012, 23:24 pm
Saw the yellow.what a laugh wayworse than hougie .
17 Mar 2012, 23:27 pm
@Mad Eye. Congrats on such a well chosen nic.
17 Mar 2012, 23:32 pm
Some very unavailing predictions from the KEO team. If the Cheetahs win as well, it will be a very average 50% success at picking a winning team. Hmmmmmm
17 Mar 2012, 23:42 pm
Lol! You can just read the disappointment in Skop’s posts that the Sharks won!
Boofuckenhoo Skop, a big boofuckenhoo to you.
SHARKS!
17 Mar 2012, 23:43 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-213:
You talk out of your a.ss!
The bulls guaranteed a five point against cheetahs and….and in their own conference!
17 Mar 2012, 23:44 pm
Check ‘ol Skop getting ahead of himself… how many away games have the Stormers played?
17 Mar 2012, 23:46 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-213: Tac I said the same thing about the Stormers/Blues game. Very happy the SA team won. But happier that they didn’t get the bonus.
In less than 2 blinks of the eye I had the Stormer crew going all stir crazy. The milk soured rather quickly.
17 Mar 2012, 23:47 pm
Sharks won at home. We expect this. Great to see the Reds pegged back though, their conference is by far the easiest.
17 Mar 2012, 23:52 pm
The SA commentators are *****. Owen “play the percentages, kick the ball when you are 17 points down” must be the worst of the terrible lot.
17 Mar 2012, 23:53 pm
I’m out.
One last thing:
SHARKS!
18 Mar 2012, 01:23 am
This is another classic thread from my SA mates.
From saying the sharks are useless wont win another game to they are great once again.
18 Mar 2012, 01:25 am
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-209:
Correct.
And i have noticed the lack of killing the ref threats etc.
Hang on, do i see a pattern here?
18 Mar 2012, 04:33 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-213:
I will also tell you why you are talking out of your pooooop. Reds lost three times last year. two of those defeats to aus sides. waratahs and brumbies…Brumbies being a very weak side last year. Like your conference sides getting up for the derby games so do the aus sizes against each other.
18 Mar 2012, 04:36 am
Classic case of the REDS lost this game and sharks had to be helped.
Saffa sides benefitting from home refs…in more ways that one! super 15 is going to kill itself with this refing system…saffa refs for some reasonn cannot be unbiased!
18 Mar 2012, 05:16 am
wallabie @ 228
“Saffa sides benefitting from home refs…in more ways that one!”
Once again your dishonesty is revealed by your stupid bigoted generalisations…
Glen Jackson a home ref… Yeah tight…!
Hurricane @ 226
“And i have noticed the lack of killing the ref threats etc.
Hang on, do i see a pattern here?”
ufo @ 267 stormers/blues thread…
“have to say i was disappointed with glenn jackson… obviously couldn’t hear his calls but watching with the far-lookers few of us in the stands could understand many of his calls… not sour grapes… we won… but glenn has lots to learn…
not a pretty win… but i’ll take it…”
I guess you see the patterns you want to see hey…? rather like a rorschach test…
but pretty patterns in your head that please you are not necessarily fact…
as compelling as they may seem once you let them in…
how’s the new project coming along…? Looking forward to hearing it…!
18 Mar 2012, 06:30 am
Ashampa@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-202: that’s rich coming from the finest example of inbreeding this fair country has to offer
And while I do realise that you never alow truth or fact to spoil your rants most of us Sharks fans did not believe we would win the conference! We leave that to youyou stormer braggarts to do it every season.
18 Mar 2012, 07:22 am
No cheetah’s thread? This is one hellofagame, 11 minutes and 2 tries already!!
18 Mar 2012, 08:19 am
Congrats to the Sharks supporters. I predicted the win and think your team pulled together nicely. The Reds are a good team and I rate this win highly. The Bulls are going to have a tough time against this attacking team next week. I still believe they could also win if their forwards bully the Reds upfront.
A proud weekend for SA rugby. Let’s hope the Cheetahs can pull this one through too.
18 Mar 2012, 09:22 am
awesome – well done sharkies.
18 Mar 2012, 09:33 am
@ufo(ufo)-229:
UFO, you didnt threaten the ref, your post dont count
18 Mar 2012, 09:48 am
Firstly the idiots like Skopclown and Wallabe trying to say the Sharks were helped by the Refs?? hell kids do you eat with a mouth like that? that spews so much C*rap?????
Sharks denied a try that was a try as replay shows no foul play as pointed out by a delussional linesman after the sharks had scored,
Reds awarded a try from a 3 meter forward pass that happened right in front of the EYE SPECIALIST ML who has done his damndest to cheat the Sharks in the 2 matches they played where he was the ref???
hell one can point out many more instances…. fact is this SHARKS STARTED VERY BADLY AND THEN WOKE UP AND SHOWED HUGE HEART TO FIGHT BACK AND WIN.
I mean Skopsnot even tried to blame the win on the Reds having had 2 players leave the field injured???
before the match started the Sharks lost JPP to injury, and during it they lost Sykes,Jannie Dup, Herbst, Mcleod thats 5 injuries?????and old Skop trying to call Sharks snot koppe?? hell the 2 year old ( in mentallity that is ) although he is like 70 is worse then any snotkop,
18 Mar 2012, 11:06 am
@President_of_the_Sharks_rugby_experts(sharks_lover)-235: Lol. You can really see the disappointment in Skop’s posts that the Sharks won, can’t you? What a sour tjop.
I’m not saying that the Sharks are now suddenly contenders again, there were a few issues – lineouts, discipline in the first half was atrocious with penalties goin against them let, right and centre, their defence was shocking, etc.
But.
To come back from 17-0 down against the defending champions and win, must be one of the greatest turn arounds in Super rugby history. Very Crusader-esque.
The youngsters put up their hands.
To balance this though, I do not feel that some of them are Super rugby material – yet i.e. Chadwick, Bresler. It would also be great if Coetzee could learn of the option of offloading in the tackle.
But all round, not too shabby Nige.
P.S. when are you going to go back to your original SL nick?
18 Mar 2012, 11:33 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-203:
Hey c o ck eater, what’s with your supporters booing the Stormers? Newlands has to be the weirdest stadium to watch rugby at.
Why boo your own team while while they attempt to kick for posts? Brain damaged verraaiers.
Your supporters are uneducated cretins with no self respect and a full blown embarrassment and liability to South Africans everywhere.
18 Mar 2012, 20:47 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-236: from today lol
19 Mar 2012, 14:45 pm
As usual, no correct that, as always, the Sharks are camped in the red zone and try to drive it over the line. As virtually always, they do not succeed. In fact they turn it over.
Remember that thing about the definition of insanity? Well it’s 20 years now and still the same.
None so blind as them that won’t see………
Marcel Coetzee man of the match? I can see why this Keo crowd loves him, he’s as big a liability as that caveman penalty machine B 2+3!
Give me pace over weight any day, once Keegan Daniel could not make the side, but now they see that his pace is much better than Deysel’s weight.
Maybe more pennies will drop.
One day the Sharks will run again. Smit gone, now to get rid of 2+3!
19 Mar 2012, 14:57 pm
The SHARKS are rising…
A good win against the Super rugby champs…
Luckily for the Stormers they dont face these Reds or else there would be an early wake up call from the supporters annual blind stupour…