Gutsy Sharks down Reds

JON CARDINELLI watched the Sharks fight back from a 17-point deficit to beat the Reds 27-22 on Saturday.

The hosts trailed 17-0 after 28 minutes despite a gale force wind at their backs. It was during this period where they looked a frantic and disorganised unit, dropping passes and missing tackles to allow the Reds’ momentum and scoring opportunities. At that stage of the game, they were staring down the barrell of a big hiding.

But it was in that period right before half-time where they showed a belief that belied their inferior breakdown effort and lack of synergy. Replacement lock Jandre Marais rumbled over the line following an outstanding build up, and a Pat Lambie conversion further narrowed the deficit.

Reds winger Digby Ioane was also yellow-carded for a dangerous tackle right on the half-time buzzer, allowing Lambie to add an extra three points before the break.

Two different teams emerged from the Kings Park tunnel in the second half. The hosts drew confidence from the manner in which they had finished the first half, while the Reds’ grew more desperate as the game wore on.

The visitors’ effort was seriously hampered when they lost first-choice goal-kicker Mike Harris in the 23rd minute and flyhalf Ben Lucas early in the second stanza. This meant that the dangerous Will Genia was forced to stand in the first-receiver channel, thus eliminating the tremendous threat around the ruck which had caused the Sharks defence massive problems in the first half.

The Reds scrapped for survival, but while they only conceded six points during Ioane’s absence, they failed to get out of their own territory.

Keegan Daniel made a fantastic call as a captain, turning down the three-point option and keeping the heat on the Reds. It was fitting that he eventually breached the visitors’ defence, breaking from the back of the scrum to help the Sharks take a 20-17 lead.

While the Sharks never quite closed out the match, they had the momentum for the rest of the contest. Apart from Daniel, Willem Alberts and Marcell Coetzee were huge at the point of contact, and Bismarck du Plessis produced a magnificent performance at the breakdown. So often it was the Springbok hooker who effected a turnover that led to a telling counter-attack.

The Reds looked to have wrested back the initiative when reserve halfback Nick Frisby intercepted a Sharks pass and sparked a try. But the Sharks hit back immediately thanks to a Du Plessis turnover deep in Reds territory.

The heavies took the ball up before it was moved out wide, Riaan Viljoen not only crossing the line but dotting down closer to the uprights to ensure Lambie would enjoy an easier conversion attempt.

What followed was a frantic finish to the match, as both teams went all out to secure the clincher. Genia, the third-choice goal-kicker following the injuries to Harris and Lucas, had missed the conversion to Frisby’s try, and fluffed a simple penalty in the final 10 minutes.

It was thereafter where captain James Horwill was forced to turn down kickable penalties. Unfortunately for the Reds, they just couldn’t make an impression with ball in hand on an excellent and determined Sharks defence.

The hosts had the chance to score a bonus-point try close to full time, but were denied when the Reds turned the ball over at the breakdown. Considering the first-half deficit, coach John Plumtree will be ecstatic that the Sharks managed to get the four points let alone bank the maximum.

The result ensures the Sharks travel Down Under on the back of two good wins. For the Reds, it won’t get any easier as they will head up to Loftus Versfeld next week to tackle the Bulls.

240 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

• 51.Tartan: Reply to this comment

12-0

Wonder about that looping pass at the beginning there, from the angle on tv it looked suspiciously forward.

• 52.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Remind me again why Bismarck is so rated?

Statistically this year so far for every ball he has pilfered he has given away a penalty as well as conceding turnover ball… he runs too upright on attack and never breaks the advantage line, he tackles too upright, he’s not a technical scrummager, his LO throwing is woeful, there are props with better handling…

Is it because he looks ‘fris’ those supposedly in the know rate him?

• 53.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-47: For now lol.

Although I’m a bit older than him.

But I must say, reading your posts I think you’re a bit more into the size thing than me. I used to be, particularly when I was playing rugby, but now I’m over 40 so it’s more about staying in shape and burning enough calories per day to afford me my indulgent lifestyle. Mostly don’t keep up with it though lol.

I still do the same strength routines as I used to but have added 20 minutes of high intensity cardio to each workout and a lot more core stuff. Also I focus a lot more on form rather than weight. Injuries take a while to repair.

I also take a break every now an then if I feel over-trained, which at my age happens quicker than when I was younger. And I try and get out for a bike ride most weekends, usually with my kid.

• 54.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Sharks under Plum-for-brains will be lucky to beat any team in the top 6 this year!

• 55.Guns: Reply to this comment

0-17 WTF is this horse ****

• 56.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Sharks are just looking swak.

Sorry to say. A couple of well, lets just say “flat” passes by the Reds though. On another day it would go the other way.

Also another penalty by Bissie.

• 57.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Was that Bismarck coughing up another 3? … yep.

• 58.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Guns’ workout is written in exerciseeese.

New language full of strange words.

• 59.Guns: Reply to this comment

Sharks need to get themselves into this game ASAP! ffs support!!!

Common TRY!

• 60.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Try Sharks! Nice.

• 61.Guns: Reply to this comment

Note – I have been calling for Mcleoud to start for aaaaages!! So obvious he is the best 9 at the sharks and a big challenger for the Bok 9 as well.

• 62.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Much better from the Sharks with the ball there.

• 63.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

7-17 Reds

• 64.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-58: Join the club Dawn.

You won’t regret it. ;)

• 65.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-61:

Ja. Even as a non-sharks fan it’s been painful to watch Michalak waste opportunities for them by delaying too long. McLeod keeps the ball quick and that little burst and pop made that try happen.

• 66.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-61: I don’t understand why they signed Mich.

Yes he is a past international and all that, but I wouldn’t pick him for the Stormers.

Maybe on the bench but something tells me they are paying primo for him.

• 67.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Am a bit more sedate.

Work the dumbells.

• 68.Guns: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-21:

What was that about White head??? He has been playing some solid rugby, not sure what you have been watching..

• 69.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Kaplan kapers.

• 70.Guns: Reply to this comment

Aaaag nee man fokoff!!!!!! Reverse the farking Try???? *** OFFFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    F****CKING P*****Y ****!

Sorry appolagies… Deap breaths…

• 71.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Eish……. sharks. Sort the discipline.

• 72.Dawn: Reply to this comment

:lol: Guns

• 73.Guns: Reply to this comment

Better stuff by sharks. FFS give us our try back!!! :P

• 74.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Sharks need to keep this up second half. Won’t be behind for long if they can.

• 75.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Halfpenny seems to be the man of the millenium on the other channel

• 76.Sharks jou lekker ding: Reply to this comment

Linesman on the far side is having a mare!

• 77.Guns: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-53:

Some whise words there my friend! Rest is so important most ppl wanting to gain over train all the time & wonder why they don’t grow..

I would not say im 100% into the size game because of my herniated discs etc and it’s not what really appeals to me, I just love to train hard, I can’t get enough of it, I have always loved challenging the body, I too originally started gym for Rugby but just never kept it up with all the busy work & travelling, although I may play some club rugby again. As I am still relatively young and wanting to compete again as a Natural Body Builder with the goal to either get a Natural Pro card or win a Natural Show, for me at the moment I don’t like to constrict calories as to make the most of the current natural, youth, testosterone production etc which for me still seems to be peeking & I hope it continues for many years to come :P As a natural BB though you need size because when you diet down for a show you really have to rip it up and you will always lose weight depending on how you diet/prep. Biggest mistake youngsters make – they want to put on some size but they think it’s all about supplements and **** but its 99.9999% eating, especially when you young you have more than enough natural test production and growth hormone going on, you just need some proper food!! (I don’t have anything against ppl who use AAS either, that’s their choice just make sure you don’t use and compete in sports where its banned bec that is pathetic) I would love to achieve one of those goals and hopefully the back/discs will hold out. Most of my training is very intense but I use allot of pre-exhausting with legs/back training so eg ill do squats last so I can go with a medium weigh less pressure on back but still smashing the legs as they pre exhausted from killing them with extensions or whatever else first..

Any training is good, everyone has different goals and reasons for doing so, I always say each to his/her own! I love boxing & a bit of MMA as well, really miss the sea & spear-fishing though!!

• 78.Guns: Reply to this comment

wise** lol..

• 79.Guns: Reply to this comment

Yes Dawn that is quite a mouth full!! ;)

• 80.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

70@ Guns… What happened, what is happening.

Stormersboy……. More info on the game needed….. Biz being the over rated prick that he is, sounds like, Sharks need Captain Fantastic :mrgreen:

• 81.cab: Reply to this comment

Guns sounds like u jumped the gun, sharks coming back.

• 82.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-80: Ja on the leadership front they are lacking something.

13-17 to the Sharks, they’ve come out motivated.

Still dropping the ball too often. Lots of promising moves knocked on.

• 83.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Am now fully in the workout picture.

• 84.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-77: Awesome to hear!

Sharks take uick penalty

• 85.weakoma: Reply to this comment

Sharks are looking dangerous..

• 86.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Sharks run the ball up and knock on 5 meters out .

Again

• 87.Guns: Reply to this comment

damn another try lost…

• 88.Tartan: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-80:

Reds 17-13 Sharks.

Reds down to 14 right now, Sharks in ascendency, and trying to keep things on track. Reds still look dangerous in open play. Sharks beginning to control the breakdowns though.

• 89.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Reds might be about to lose another kicker.

• 90.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Digby coming on off the yellow card bench. 6 points scored by Sharks during this period.

• 91.cab: Reply to this comment

Bismarck brilliant, u okes are nuts.

• 92.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Fumbled off the back of the scrum by Reds, Sharks pounce, possible try to the Sharks. 4th official checking.

• 93.Guns: Reply to this comment

Any1 who thinks bismark is now **** or a cost go and watch his efforts from the bench in the last RWC, Go and watch him against the Lions Tour that we won, Go and watch him in the Tri-Nations that we won, watch how he rips **** to shreads.. Give him a break he had a huge RWC season and a huuge come down. ;)

Sharks Try Cotzee please!!! Common!! Faark may be knockon.. fok.. Pooo how many Trys are the sharks going to throw away…

• 94.weakoma: Reply to this comment

Almost a try for the Sharks, 5m scrum..

• 95.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

No try, scrum Sharks, 5 meters out.

• 96.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Sharks run the ball and Viljoen passed it over Mvovo’s head. Out, back for a Sharks penalty for hand on the ground in the scrum.

• 97.Guns: Reply to this comment

Sharks with lots of momentum.. Need to get more points as Matfield says before Digby gets back on.. And to keep this pressure on the reds for the rest of the 30min to come! FUUUUKIN hiiigh past way over Mvovos head and yet another 100% guarantied try gone down the drain….

• 98.Tartan: Reply to this comment

Ag nee. Should’ve been 5.

• 99.weakoma: Reply to this comment

Riaan Viljoen waste a sure try..Scrum on 5m again..

• 100.Guns: Reply to this comment

Mvovo just short..

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.