Habana’s quality shines through

MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, says Bryan Habana’s performance against the Blues proved that he still has what it takes to match the young brigade.

In a Super Rugby season that is already giving an indication of the next generation of southern hemisphere stars, there were a few veterans who reminded us this weekend their effect and enthusiasm remain as important to the fabric of the tournament.

Bryan Habana, irresistible at the 2007 World Cup and quite the opposite last year, finally got the kind bounce of the ball that seemed his birthright in 2007.

Habana again emphasised the argument that a kick for territory is only as good as the chase. Habana refused to give up on a kick that seemed innocuous and the sprint produced a try for the Stormers and Springbok winger, and one hopes also a reprieve from those who refuse to accept Habana can still make a contribution internationally. Few players can match Habana for dedication and desire, and the support he gets from current and past team-mates says everything about his qualities as a player.

He will never repeat the tournament form that helped the Springboks win the World Cup in 2007. The brilliance of those seven magnificent weeks blinded too many, myself included. When a player sets a standard as Habana did in France, he also sets an expectation that isn’t necessarily realistic.

His move from the Bulls to Western Province after the 2007 World Cup also came at a time when the Province and Stormers coaches invested in a defensive mindset that favoured structure and offered little to the individual attacking ambitions of the back three. Opportunities on attack were limited for Habana in a team with the best defensive record in Super Rugby in 2010 and last year. And when a winger is starved of the ball he is also starved of that swagger that turns a stumble into a sensational break.

I sat next to Percy Montgomery at Friday’s Stormers match against the Blues. Montgomery, in our company suite draw, had Habana to score the first try of the match and when his former team-mate did just that Montgomery pumped his fist in the air in a show of solidarity.

Montgomery, the first South African to play 100 Test matches for the Boks, spent four years playing Test rugby alongside Habana and the next four as part of the Springbok coaching staff. He has never doubted Habana, and is adamant there has been an evolution of his game that wasn’t recognised because of how tightly the wing was marked and how significantly different his role was at the Stormers compared to the Bulls.

Montgomery conceded that where Habana did struggle was in confidence and, as happens in sport, the harder an individual tries the worse it seems to get. The Habana that finished last year’s World Cup was not a spent force, but a tired one. The quality of depth among South African players allows the public, the media and even coaches to call time on a player prematurely. The belief is always that this country’s rugby production line will produce a younger and faster alternative.

Too often (and here I am in the dock as well) there is more comfort in a new face and a quick fix than the laboured recovery of the likes of Habana.

To see Habana flourish at Newlands was my highlight in a weekend where the Stormers, Sharks and Cheetahs were good enough to win and played well enough to deserve their respective victories. Stormers captain and inside centre Jean de Villiers was excellent in leading the victory against the Blues, and if Frans Steyn is the probable Bok option at No 12 for the 2015 World Cup, De Villiers played with enough authority and effect to make it hard to ignore his claims to a season or two more in national colours.

Bismarck du Plessis was the inspiration for the Sharks and Pat Lambie’s radar and all-round rhythm was of a standard that matches the belief in his potential to be consistently influential in determining results. Cheetahs captain Adriaan Strauss is another whose star shines bright in this year’s tournament, and rookie flyhalf Johan Goosen has a presence that screams permanence. Bok coach Heyneke Meyer is blessed with so many options in every position and there are South Africans dominating in every competition in the northern and southern hemisphere.

The attrition rate in Super Rugby will be a hurdle for Meyer, Robbie Deans and Steve Hansen, but the South African and New Zealand competition challenge is producing a number of selection alternatives to negate injuries. The tournament’s young brigade is thriving, but there are as many veterans matching the new kids, none more so this weekend than Habana and De Villiers.

175 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

• 101.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-63: What do you mean… keo.co.za = Fawning Stormer Propaganda…

Other teams outside the metrosexual mountain dreamland are lucky to even get a mention…

Twat

• 102.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-101: :lol: but you know this.

• 103.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-88:

Look I agree to some extent, there needs to be a balance but someone mentioned earlier on here that you cannot simply drop a player who pulls his weight and more for one that looks promising but is yet to develop into something solid.

These are the lucky breaks in life – some players get it early, some struggle. I mean have we ever stopped to consider what road Frans Steyn would have gone down did JDV not get injured prior to RWC 2012?

As for Bryan himself.

He disappoints me as much as anyone on this site – the fact, as Keo eluded to that he is not only a marked man on the pitch, but in the eyes of media and supporters sometimes makes us overlook just how much he actually contributes because we expect a hat trick from him every game.

Raising our opinion is healthy for rugby debate and players do read this believe me. I just also believe that if we are to criticise players we need to do this fairly.

Bryan is not the version 2007 anymore that made us sit up in our chairs and go ballistic – but like everything in life he evolved and personally I think his game is stronger all round.

It is also difficult because when watching on television you can only follow the ball – sitting at a game you get a complete picture and it is often said the value in a player is sometimes more what he does off the ball than on it.

On the sites;

There was one called ruggastats.com I believe – they are not doing stats anymore but you can find the archives of the 2011 season there.

Paul Treu uses sportcode and Eddie Jones Fair play – perhaps google them together. SA refs also use a very nice one check out their site (you can find it via SArugby.co.za)

I forget now what Jake used but that was also awesome.

I am lucky as I get most of these emailed to me (Verusco stats) but I also believe SuperSport has gotten a lot more comprehensive on stats.

I will see if I can dig up more sites for you.

• 104.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-90:

I was at a couple of functions where Pienaar was present. Look let’s just say this guy has as many enemies as friends in the rugby world…

• 105.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-103:

I hear what you’re saying.

It’s a long season ahead so players are bound to get a break somewhere.

I’ll see if I can find those stats and compare it to say a Zac Guilford, their styles are similiar but the only difference is Zac seems much more efficient in what he does whereas Habana does a lot with little impact on the game itself.

• 106.Transformation: Reply to this comment

bryan vs zaccy :D hehehe

• 107.kwas: Reply to this comment

Good god, the show pony has one average game against a depleted Blues team missing all their stars in the back division and now Habs is the messiah again?

• 108.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-106: although i am in no way giving Mac the credit for starting rush defense , the sharks under mac when **** muir was center were already using the rush defense then , way before GG

• 109.Transformation: Reply to this comment

in the context of the Boks in 2005, alister & jake didn’t come up with that tactic – that was my point.

• 110.garth: Reply to this comment

15. Steyn
    14. Hougaard
    13. Pieterson
    12. Sadie
    11. Le Roux
    10. Goosen
    9. Pretorius
    8. Koster
    7. Alberts
    6. Brussow
    5. Bekker
    4. Etsebeth
    3. Oosthuizen
    2. Bismark
    1. Beast
    16. Kitsoff
    17. Strauss
    18. Kruger
    19. Burger
    20. Lambie
    21. Aplon
    22. de Jongh

• 111.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-110:

Steyn is a 12 not a 15 – he’s found wanting at FB
    Sadie is a 13 – not a 12
    And le Roux at 11 for what?

And you don’t have a specialist scrummie on the bench as prescribed.

• 112.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

If you must compare Ioane to Habana its light vs shade.. and its not Ioane who is in the shade.. Vd Heever is also a better wing than Habana

Habana chased a good testing kick by Duvenhage.. the young Lam got the bounce wrong and waited too long and Habana got exceptionally lucky that it all worked out just dandy on the day..

So that represents MOM performance and all the eulogizing accolades…

One thing I cannot stomach is over the top hail hero worship.. I reckon it sucks an audience into huge false fake adulation about players and blinds the reality from ever being seen for what it is…

If Schalk Burger was still running out at 6 and standing at first receiver most the time Stormers would not be showing the promise they potentially are under JdV’s leadership with a far better all round performance from the cohesive collective team… including the loose trio –

but the reality of the situation is still kept at bay and all the hail hero worshipers cannot come to the clear sighted realization that Stormers are a damn sight better off without Burger stuffing up the works.. they wait with baited breath for him to return and screw Stormers potential chances of doing well in this competition into the dirt as has been the case the past few years under the fake aura of invincibility…

Exactly the same dilemma and false hero worshiping malady fck’d the Boks out the world cup quarters by this archaic notion that John Smit was a necessity for Boks to succeed.. after he had systematically lost almost every single high profile test he led the Boks through the past two years of his awe inspiring captaincy..

Again we have this stigmatic malaise of hero worship ******** up our sense of reality with the next injunction for FdP to be the short term Bok center stage captain under HM..

and likewise this hapless need for scribes and so called rugby boffins to have to be finding a need or an excuse to hail hero worship Bryan Habana way above the level of accolade he should be receiving..

A lucky bounce and a well weighted chased kick fortuitously finding itself into his eager responding hands for a good but not a spectacular try does not suddenly make Bryan Habana a wold beating wing again all of a sardine.. let him keep showing his ability to be highly competitive and a thorn in opposition sides, something along the lines of a strong running Digby Ioane, and I might change my declining view of his immaculate expertise.. but for now I reckon Gerhard Van den Heever at 11 and Gio Aplon at 14 with Joe Pietersen at 15 is a far better more destructive and balanced back three combo for Stormers than the current hero worshiping idealism of Habana – Aplon – Pietersen.

• 113.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Those “human garbage” cape-kiwi supporters. They have no idea why they support foreign teams. Same as Wooden Spoon and all the other clowns who support teams other than their own country’s teams.
    These idiots leave a bitter taste in my mouth every time I see them or hear what they have to say. They try so hard to justify their actions. Fact is they are bitter hypocrites who will use any excuse to cover their real political motives and inability to get on with life. They should have a special island somewhere for these okes, surrounded by sharks and only shite to eat.

• 114.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-113: wooden spoon is a saffa who supports the boks and sharks.

whatthehellareyouonabout?

• 115.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-112: what exactly is your point?

• 116.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Nice

• 117.Transformation: Reply to this comment

viva kleuter! Hahahaha :mrgreen:

skop: does kolisi also stand @ first receiver as he is playing schalk’s role? If not why the change in tactic?

• 118.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-114: He is a saffa who supports the Sharks and Boks, but supports any other team that plays against the Stormers or Bulls. Same shite as all the other traitors. Those same players he hates so much, ie Stormers/Bulls, play for the Boks. That is hypocritical.

• 119.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-117: ;-)

• 120.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

15. Viljoen
    14. Aplon
    13. Peterson
    12. F.Steyn
    11. Hougaard
    10. M.Steyn
    9. du Preez
    8. Spies
    7. Alberts
    6. Brussouw
    5. Bekker
    4. Kruger
    3. j.du Plessis
    2. B.du Plessis
    1. Beast

16. Chilliboy
    17. Kruger
    18. Etzebeth
    19. Vermeulen
    20. Lambie
    21. Sadie
    22. Habana

• 121.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

A big lol.

I see I am making waves even without sampling the water.

I will say it again.

I laaik the Bokke Bokke.

I laaik the Sharks.

I laaik ribeye steak.

I don’t laaik the Bulls.

I don’t laaik the Stormers.

I don’t laaik Kleuter.

See, simple hey? And if you go back and trawl the appropriate posts you will see I expressed my pleasure that the South African Stormers and Bulls won… I support the Boks see? Can’t have those pesky Keevies and Ozzies coming over here and beating the Bulls and Stormers with impunity, not good for the Bokke see? But Lions and Cheetahs over the Bulls and Stormers any day!

Now back in your box, tjop.

• 122.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-120: If Beast is still injured, I’ll go with either Greyling, Oosthuizen, or Kitshoff.

• 123.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Haha what kn*bs Kleuter and transformation are.

• 124.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

SHARKS!

Now toodle pip and play nice boys, girls, and kleuter and tranny.

• 125.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-121: Regardless, I still think you are a loser. A bitterbek Shark-fan who is only interested in his beloved Sharkies.
    Sorry tjop, you will always be a tjop in my books. WTF are you pooping in to see who says what about you in any case. Go sleep loser. And don’t think you can say congrats Stormers/Bulls and then carry on bitterbekking everything that looks or sounds like a Bull or Stormer.
    Now get lost.

• 126.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

What I did say was naaice was the Stormers not getting a bonus point! Bigfuckendeal but boy did that sour the milk with the Stompie fans!

• 127.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-123:Trilneus. lol.

• 128.Mostofyou: Reply to this comment

Is this fair?

By the time the Cheetahs play their 8th consecutive game( clearly no bye w-end) of this new S15 season, the Stormers will only be playing their 6th game after their 2nd bye w-end already.
    The smaller franchises that most need all the rugby support that is available, get the least.

• 129.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-125: haha do you REALLY think I give two tosses what you think tjop?

Haha this is not a popularity contest. Carry on reacting like a little baby, I’m loving it tjop!

• 130.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-126: Listen soutpiellietjie, I’m not in the mood for abusing you, so log off and go to bed.

• 131.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-114: oh ja! I also called Tiaan Liebenberg and Duane Vermeulen “tjops”. Didn’t go down well on here. As you can see, I’m now Stompie public enemy numero uno!

• 132.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-129: Stop being a little cry baby boytjie. Relax and chill a bit. You’re making a fool of yoursef…. AGAIN. Your assss has been kicked so many times you dont even realize how silly and stupid you sound anymore.

• 133.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-130: ooooh what a big man you are, throwing your weight around like a silly little pr*ck! I love how easy it is to get under your skin. You must be a bonehead!

• 134.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-131: What did I just say? There you make a poephol of yourself again. I’m not a Stormer seun. Get a grip.

• 135.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-133: LOL. Getting peeweed off I see. Flexing on me boy?

• 136.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

whatafuckendoos.

• 137.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-135: Its time you realize that this is a site for grown-ups. Not a place for dingbats like you to flex your pc muscles. lol.

• 138.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-136: Calling me a doos willyou? LOL.

• 139.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

keep going.

• 140.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Okay, lights off for you seun.

• 141.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

no, seriously, keep going, I want more

• 142.Transformation: Reply to this comment

hehe :lol:

• 143.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-90:

Trans, see if you can get your hands on this book, it will tell you the story with some very interesting insides on what happened. Great read by the way.

The Rugby War
    Peter FitzSimons
    ISBN: 9780732278823
    ISBN10: 0732278821

• 144.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Thanks Slarti!

• 145.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-130: soutpiellietjie?

what does that make you, rock spider or hairyback?

its ok to disagree with someone but if you want to start with the epitaphs, then understand where you are headed ok?

• 146.rangerman: Reply to this comment

in fact maybe kleuters is a vaalpiellietjie?

one foot in orania, one foot in loftus, piellie dangling in what river all you people educated before OBE?

• 147.garth: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-111: I don’t recall Frans being found wanting at 15, it’s just a good idea having him closer to the action. He is currently the best 12 and 15 option we have. How else do you accomodate all these players into one team?
    Steyn, Hougaard, Pieterson, Sadie, Le Roux, Goosen, Pretorius

Le Roux has been the best winger in the comp. I must admit that I have not watched every minute he has played, but from what I have seen I can comfortably say this guy is international class. I have just checked and can also confirm that test rugby has rated him as the top OB so far… not that I read a hell of a lot in their stats. Brussouw, Goosen, Le Roux and Coenie are staring for the Cheetahs.

• 148.charo: Reply to this comment

seems our mate kleuter is still fighting the boer war in that little head of his.

and trannie is covering his back.

• 149.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

He is one steenspinnekop with a screw loose, alright.

• 150.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Guys Willie le Roux has had 2 good games…Just 2 vs Brumbies & Rebels probably 2 of the 4 weakest teams in competition(add Cheetahs,Lions).

Easy with the hyperboles of “international class” etc

In those teams he has also yet to face an international class winger(Vuna,Speight etc arent)

But he is definitely one of the Cheetahs bright lights

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.