KeoTV: Reasons to smile
23 Mar 2012
RYAN VREDE highlights three young players who make him optimistic about the future of South African rugby.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article18 May 2013
Keo.co.za brings you live Super Rugby score updates from South Africa. Match report to follow... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article23 Mar 2012
RYAN VREDE highlights three young players who make him optimistic about the future of South African rugby.
Ryan has written 4017 articles.
1 Dec 2012
29 Nov 2012
Keo.co.za brings you live Super Rugby score updates from South Africa. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

53 Comments
23 Mar 2012, 11:23 am
who wants dragons
23 Mar 2012, 11:31 am
here’s my good news bad news sandwhich for you guys:
welcome back keotv, its been a while and i actually look forward to watching some of the programs.
ryan, i do not like this sideways ‘kuif’ hairstyle you are sporting at the mo, please fix.
on the up side, ryan you’ve lost some weight and its really good to see you looking good, props to you.
23 Mar 2012, 11:34 am
That hair Vrede, that hair. It’s not the mid-1990s anymore.
23 Mar 2012, 11:36 am
For once I’ve got to agree with Ryan. There is some amazing young and hungry talent out there at the moment and Heineke needs to only play players that will still be around in 2015. Leave Fourie, Jaque and Danie in Japan and start fresh.
23 Mar 2012, 11:37 am
I cant see the use of keotv.
These guys are press reporters, not tv reporters. Why couldn’t Vrede just write this article?
23 Mar 2012, 11:38 am
@pokkel(pokkel)-4: Vrede is stating the blindly obvious yet again.
I agree leave FdP where he is and allow Hougaard to take over, though at the same time he is still merely 29 and can offer a lot. Jacque is young too and is one helluva asset.
23 Mar 2012, 11:44 am
@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-2:
@Michael(mikeybrass)-3:
Some blokes here seem to watch more Hanno than Bladen these days knowing all about the latest men fashion.
Not necessary a bad thing …
23 Mar 2012, 11:50 am
@Robzim(Robzim)-7: Oh hell, shave it all off Vrede and let’s send him to boot camp
23 Mar 2012, 12:05 pm
I had a reason to smile until Keo TV made a return.
23 Mar 2012, 12:10 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-9: LOL LOL
23 Mar 2012, 12:16 pm
Asseblief Heyneke, vertrou en ondersteun die jong ouens wat honger is en die toekoms is. Al was Pak Slae, Mossie en Du Preez legende, hulle het hulle kans gehad en is nou “ou” manne.
Hougaard is meer as gereed vir Bok scrummie, geen rede vir Du Preez om terug te kom nie.
Kom ons sien wat De Jongh of JPP or selfs Sadie kan offer op 13?
Ons jong slotte speel uitstekende rugby ook, kom ons gebruik hulle.
No disrespect to the 3 legends, but this England tour is surely a golden opportunity to give the young guys a chance in fairly secure surroundings (home venues)?
23 Mar 2012, 12:17 pm
Little off topic. I Wish to see this as a Sharks line up in the near future.
15. Viljoen
14. Ludik
13. JPP
12. Frans Steyn
11. Lwazi Mvovo
10. Pat Lambie
9. Mcleod
8. Coetzee
7. Alberts
6. Daniel
5. Sykes
4. Skeate
3. Jannie
2. Bissie
1. Beast.
16. Burden
17. Chadwick
18. Marais
19. Botes
20. Michelack
21. Whitehead
22. Ndungane.
In my opinion that would be a solid Sharks outfit, if of course Steyn comes back, and gives the back line much needed balance. Get rid of Bosman and Joubert and save some money. Get the a couple of young Sharks Academy centres and blood them. It feels like yesterday that Steyn burst on to the scene, but he now has loads of experience and matured a great deal to take the youngsters under his wing.
That is what the Sharks need to do now, almost for the last decade, the sharks week link was in midfield. Stop trying to buy over the wall old players and use the youngsters. What are they afraid of? That the Youngsters will fail. Lambie was 19, (ok Lambie may be a special talent in his own right) but had they not given him a chance, they would never have known. The Academy may have another couple of “Lambies” just waiting for a chance…So give them the opportunity and see how it goes. Whats the use of the Academy if they do not use it to its full potential. Come On!!!
23 Mar 2012, 12:22 pm
@bokfan1(bokfan1)-11: Stem heeltamil saam met jou. Daar is nie n beter tyd as nou om dit te doen nie. Ek sou tog dalk nog vi n jaar of so Mossie daar hou, hy is die ideale ou om die jonges onder sy vlerk te neem. En tot nou toe speel hy nog baie goeie rugby en is steeds een van die beter 13′s in wereld rugby. Om al die ou spelers nou te laat gaan, is vir moeilikheid soek. Maar jy’s reg FdP kan maar weg bly. Hougie is SA se beste No. 9. geen twyfel.
23 Mar 2012, 12:24 pm
@bokfan1(bokfan1)-11:
England tests are smack-bang in the middle of S15.
Meyer won’t have too much time (if any) to get his squad to gel.
He will look to Bok vets overseas who can still contribute, such as:
Steenkamp
Rossouw
Botha (perhaps)
Francois Louw (perhaps – depending on injuries)
Du Preez
Frans Steyn
Fourie
And he will look to other experienced hands playing here:
Habana (but whether he’ll start or not remains to be seen)
JDV (ditto re Habana)
Morne Steyn
Spies
Burger
Juan Smith (if fit)
Bismark
But no doubt he’ll pepper the squad with some exciting new talent.
There sure is a hell of a lot to choose from.
Du Preez must return. I rate Hougaard highly but depth at 9 is sorely needed.
Meyer is blessed with depth in almost every position, barring 3 and 9.
23 Mar 2012, 12:43 pm
Maybe I’ve to the provincial eye-claps on, but Kitshoff is surely a great prospect.
23 Mar 2012, 12:48 pm
Another award-winning performance from Ryan. Not.
Hell, I really cannot believe that keo pays this oke a salary.
23 Mar 2012, 12:49 pm
Keo TV is back! I have missed it! lol
23 Mar 2012, 12:54 pm
@puff(puff)-14: First of All Louw is by no means a vet. I agree on the rest, but FdP, is no longer needed. Hougaardt has got what it takes to make the No. 9 jersey his own. Doubtful about Danie as well. He is struggling to make the bench for his club.
23 Mar 2012, 12:54 pm
@Joe Maher(Joe Maher)-16: It was a good laugh hey. Hell I have missed laughing at these guys!
23 Mar 2012, 12:55 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-7:
just doing our bit to keep keo.co.za honest hehe
@Michael(mikeybrass)-8:
boot camp..?… hell, he’ll be thinking its a convention for timberland boots and apparel.
23 Mar 2012, 13:03 pm
@puff(puff)-14: I had the same feeling as you. Bring in the old guard to quickly roll over the Poms and then keep the new exciting talent for the Rugby Championship mixed in with the current core of the squad.
This way you are also helping teams in contention for the play offs by not picking there players for the England series.
23 Mar 2012, 13:05 pm
@puff(puff)-14: Du Preez can start during the England test series with Hougaard on the bench. Thus he is there if we need and we are giving him a bit of a rest if he needs to help the Bulls make the play-offs.
23 Mar 2012, 13:07 pm
Ryan,
Is it just me, or do us Kiwi’s need sub-titles to get the full gist.
23 Mar 2012, 13:12 pm
@cane(cane)-23: it’s not just the Kiwis that need sub-titles mate!
23 Mar 2012, 13:14 pm
Good Mix of Experience, young and new for England Tests.
15. not to sure, no one really impressing that much.
14. JPP
13. Fourie
12. Frans Steyn
11. Mvovo
10. Lambie
9. Hougaardt
8. Spies
7. Alberts
6. Burger
5. Bekker
4. Eztebeth
3. Kitshoff
2. Bismark.
1. Beast
16. Chilli Boy
17. Jannie
18. Sykes
19. Coetzee
20. S.Pretorious
21. M. Steyn
22. JdV
Obviuosly if all are fit at the time. Just a thought.
23 Mar 2012, 13:14 pm
@cane(cane)-23: lol
23 Mar 2012, 13:16 pm
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-25: Doesnt Kitshoff play loosehead? What about Morne at 10 with Lambie at 15? Just a thought. No Brussouw?
23 Mar 2012, 13:22 pm
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-25:
This would be my team with one of the objective being to safe guard the Stormers, Bulls and Sharks players in case they make the play-offs or still need their best players to get into the play-offs.
1. Guthro
2. Bismarck
3. Jannie
4. Bakkies
5. Bekker
6. Brussouw
7. Juan Smith (If fit and on form)
8. Burger (c)
9. Du Preez
10. M. Steyn
11. Habana
12. F. Steyn
13. Jaque Fourie
14. JPP
15. Lambie
16. Chiliboy
17. Patric Cilliers
18. Danie Rossouw
19. Spies
20. Hougaard
21. Jantjies
22. Mvovo
I would bring the exciting youngsters into the squad for the Rugby Championship
With a few of the above mentioned players falling away.
23 Mar 2012, 13:23 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-27: Not sure where kitshoff plays. I just know he is a really good youngster. Brussow?? He is one player i think may not be back before the tests. But if he is, most definitely. Morne, I rate him, good kicker and reads the game well, but if the boks want to add more flair to their game, Lambie is the guy to do that. Lambie is not the worst goal kicker and correct me if i am wrong, Lambie is a much better defender and F. Steyn is not a bad goal kicker either.But having Morne on the bench is really valuable, if there is a need to shift game plan.
23 Mar 2012, 13:25 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-28: Makes Sense
23 Mar 2012, 13:27 pm
@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-29: Is Brussouw injured? What do you mean by one player you think may not be back before the tests?
Agree on Lambie.
23 Mar 2012, 13:28 pm
@XV(XV)-24: @Sasuke(Sasuke)-26:
Don’t get me wrong,
I love Vrede, like a Brother.
And have great respect for his views.
23 Mar 2012, 13:35 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-31: My apologies, i havent been following the cheetahs all that much this season so far, last i heard, he was still injured. Seems like his been playing. Well then definitely make a space for the man. Sorry my mistake.
23 Mar 2012, 13:43 pm
@cane(cane)-32: LOL! Thank you kind sir. Trust Wellington is treating you well
23 Mar 2012, 13:45 pm
Still early days in this Super 15. The 3 players mentioned have all been in good form…It’s the ideal year to blood a few new players for the Bokke.
When is Juan Smith returning ?
23 Mar 2012, 14:07 pm
I think we should choose a winning team that will win every test match for us and not just rely on players reputations. For example, I would drop Habana, give him a clear objective and tell him that its all good and well to do a lot of work off the ball, but his job is a winger and that he needs to be in the place when the ball is played down his channel and not lying at the bottom of a ruck. His job is to finish off the moves firstly.
I’m excited about the new talent, but it would be foolish to focus on the world cup again. We saw what happend last time when we focused to much on the world cup. I’m a big fan of Jake White, I still believe we should never sacrifice any test match.
If Dupreez, De Villiers, Fourie are still good enough to be world class, then use them, but don’t bank on them. Take it game for game and create an competitive environment. I think the young guys would only benefit.
Although, I would also try play a more dynamic game and choose Hougaard over Dupree, Goosen over Steyn, but this is test rugby and a completely different animal. So I would rather ease the guys in and allow them to settle. To do this I would still use the old heads in short term. In long term we could alway fall back on them in the event of injury.
23 Mar 2012, 14:09 pm
@cane(cane)-23:
We have also been asking for it.
23 Mar 2012, 14:33 pm
@cane(cane)-23: comment of the day
23 Mar 2012, 14:44 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-37:
what..?.. the haircut..?..
23 Mar 2012, 15:00 pm
@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-39: the subtitles…keep up
23 Mar 2012, 15:31 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-40:
@cane(cane)-32:
on the next keotv insert i’ll do a text tranlation for you, caner hehehe
23 Mar 2012, 16:58 pm
Reyhan talks funny
23 Mar 2012, 17:15 pm
Where is that vetgat bold guy, Keo? Shouldn’t he be the face (gat) of Keo TV?
23 Mar 2012, 17:18 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-42:
Actually not, Ryan’s accent is 100% South African. He is legitimate.
South Africa has more than 30 legitimate accents and there’s room for more.
Ryan is to be congratulated for taking a stand
23 Mar 2012, 18:32 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-28:
Some thoughts,
Loosehead:
I still think that Guthro and the Beast are superior. I would like to see both Coenie Oosthuizen and Steven Kitshoff get chances with one of them making the move to the other side of the scrum.
Hooker:
Bismarck Du Plessis. Backup Chilliboy Rallepelle. Even though I think that Adriaan Strauss has been playing the best rugby this year and I always lament the loss of Schalk Brits, I think that the aforementioned duo are two of the best hookers in the world.
Tighthead:
Serious problems here. The most important position on the field and we really do suffer at having a lack of quality backup to Jannie Du Plessis. You can try argue anything but the odd decent showing by one or two fatties in Super Rugby won’t cut it in International.
Locks:
Say a prayer and get an answer. We were all worried about the departure of the Blue Blood Brothers. Four answers: Andries Bekker, Juandre Kruger, Eben Etsebeth and Rynhardt Elstadt.
Open Sider:
Heinrich Brussouw and Derrick Minnie. Please please please throw Deon Stegman as far away as possible.
Blind Sider:
Sad to say it but I think that any dreams of a Juan Smith revival should go the way of his once healthy legs. This position needs something that would have saved the Boks in the RWC quarter final: a barn storming ruck cleaner. Only two names truly qualify for this: Duane Vermeulen and Willem Alberts. Either one will do.
8th man:
Schalk Burger has become a great link man nowadays. I prefer him at 8 to start with Pierre Spies coming on later.
Scrummie:
I just don’t feel that Hougaard is the finished product. Two more years with Fourie Du Preez mentoring him, should do the trick
Pretty Boy:
As much talent as there is to go around I would say that it has to be Patrick Lambie, with Elton Jantjes and Johan Goosen getting look ins. Byebye Morne.
Centres:
Too much talent not enough skill. It is really hard to find the best combination out of:
Jean De Villiers
Jacque Fourie
Francois Steyn
Johan Sadie
JP Pieterson
Juan De Jongh (falling off the pace a little, lately)
Personally I just think that Steyn and JP offer us some attacking options to go with solidity, for a change.
Wings:
mVovo is becoming more and more a complete article. Basson should have stayed with the Cheetahs, imagine how many tries he would have scored. Habana can be called up in case of injury and JP can still cover wing
Full Backs:
Jaco Taute.
Aplon can either be a back up FB or a first choice wing. I don’t mind either way.
Coaching staff:
Manager:
Heynecke Meyer
Technical Coach
Rassie Erasmus
Forwards coach:
Matthew Proudfoot (gasp, shock, horror – it takes a genius wizard to make the Stromers scrum the best in the competition.
Set Piece Coach:
Victor Matfield
Backs coach:
1st choice is Paul Treu but I doubt that he wants to leave his niche but if not then I would easily go with Hawies Fourie. If the Boks had just an ounce of the backline skills that the Blitzbokke or Cheetahs have, then they might actually score some tries.
Defense Coach:
Jacques Nienaber. Pay the man, whatever it takes.
Kicking coach:
Any of Percy Montgomery, Vlok Cillier or Braam Van Straten. (if nothing else, just to get him away from the Wallabies)
23 Mar 2012, 18:35 pm
Get a sense of humour Sheriff
23 Mar 2012, 22:14 pm
This team will destroy any team. Notice the lack of old men.
1. KItsoff
2. Biz
3. Coenie
4. Etsebeth
5. Bekker
6. Brussouw
7. Alberts
8. Koster
9. Sarel
10. Goosen
11. Le Roux
12. Steyn
13. Sadie
14. Hougaard
15. Taute
24 Mar 2012, 02:01 am
Other reasons to smile: apparently Paddy O brien is moving sideways (to 7s) and his boy bryce is getting booted off the tier 1 referees list…
24 Mar 2012, 07:48 am
Guys, help me out here. I am just thinking of what players would be ‘in the mix’ come the Boks games. I have based this on current form in the S15 and a few stalwarts who I can see claiming their place back in the team. Have I left anyone out? Don’t say Habana or JdV- as they are well past their sell-by dates. We need to build a team that will dominate world rugby in the next few years. It’s exciting times as we have some excellent youngsters. Please ‘tweak’ away…
1. Coenie Oosthuizen/ Dale Chadwick
2. Bismark/ Adriaan Strauss
3. Jannie du Plessis/ Werner Kruger
4. Juandre Kruger/ Eben Etzebeth/ Ryno Elstadt
5. Andries Bekker/ Flip van der Merwe
6. Marcel Coetzee/ Brussow
7. Willem Alberts/ Joshua Strauss
8. Alberts/ Spies/ Schalk
9. Francois Hougaard/ Duwenhage/ McLeod
10. Lambie/ Johan Goosen
11. Mvovo/ Willie le Roux
12. Frans Steyn/ Meyer Bosman
13. J Fourie/ JDJ/ Sadie
14. JPP/ JJ Engelbrecht
15. Jaco Taute
24 Mar 2012, 07:50 am
@garth(garth)-47: Notice also the lack of any players of colour
24 Mar 2012, 08:37 am
15.Steyn
11.Habana
13.Fourie
12.Di Villiers
14.Aplon
10.Steyn
09.Hougard
01.Heinkie vd Merwe
02.du Plessis
03.BJ Botha
06.Schalk Burger
04.Andries Bekker
05.Juandre Kruger
07.Louw
08.Spies
16.Pretorius, Sarel
17.Lambie
18.Jordaan
19.Schalk Britz
20.Mujati
21.Alberts
22.Etzebeth
24 Mar 2012, 09:45 am
Too many carthorses there. I am a STORMER but JDV must go. Goes like this: 10 passes to JDV—–> crash—-> to the ground. Every frIggin time! Habana? Morne Steyn at 10???
24 Mar 2012, 12:21 pm
@bangkok-bok(bangkok-bok)-52:
Good point – Willie Le Roux will be bolter