Klofies, Affies geared for Pretoria derby

Waterkloof and Affies will face off in Schoolboy Derby’s feature match of the weekend.

The schoolboy season only kicked off a week ago, but we already have one of the major clashes of the year on Saturday. Both teams enjoyed winning starts in their respective opening games, with Affies beating Diamantveldt 24-10 and Waterfloof thrashing Florida 42-22.

Click here for more schools news

Waterkloof and Affies have clashed 36 times before, with the latter victorious on 29 occasions. However, the last match was played six years ago and Klofies have developed into one of top schools on the national circuit during that period.

Comparing the two teams, Affies do boast the more experienced team, having retained more players from last season. Flyhalf Ryno Eksteen and loosehead prop Pierre Schoeman, who made the SA Schools squad, will be the visitors’ key players. Waterkloof 1st XV head coach Jan Mollentze expects a tough forwards battle, but believes his charges will hold their own up front.

‘We have a good second row and loose trio this season,’ Mollentze told Schoolboy Derby. ‘While there will be a 15-man effort from both teams, the forwards battle will be big.

‘I was happy with our turnout last weekend. We were a bit rusty in some areas, but we’ve worked hard this week to prepare for this big match. We need to stick to the basics and be accurate at our set pieces. In these derbies, you only have one or two clear opportunities to score, and we’ll need to take them when they come our way.’

Affies 1st XV head coach Sakkie van der Walt echoed the same sentiments, but reckons that Klofies will rely on their kickers.

‘The forwards battle will be huge, but I heard they kick quite a lot. We’ll be prepared for that kind of approach,’ said Van der Walt.

Waterkloof – 15 Sean Phillips, 14 Johann Gouws, 13 Raynardt Honiball, 12 Lourens Boddington, 11 Francois de Kock, 10 Kobus Marais, 9 Just Phillips, 8 Nardus Erasmus, 7 Marnus Steyn (c), 6 Shaun Pike, 5 Henco Saayman, 4 Ian Barnard, 3 Johan van Wyk, 2 Jovan Erasmus, 1 Xander van Wyk.
Coach: Jan Mollentze

Affies – 15 Marcus Kleinbooi, 14 Thys van Wyk, 13 Phillip Orfer, 12 Nico Lee, 11 Andries van der Merwe, 10 Ryno Eksteen, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Calvonn Allisson, 7 Steven Meiring, 6 Heinrich Viljoen, 5 Janse van Rensburg (c), 4 RG Snyman, 3 Xander Swart, 2 Francois Steyn, 1 Pierre Schoeman.
Coach: Sakkie van der Walt

Kickoff: 13:30

By Gareth Duncan