Rebels hold off Force
23 Mar 2012
GARETH DUNCAN reports on the Rebels’ 30-29 win over the Force in Melbourne.
The Rebels led 24-12 at half-time, but a strong second-half performance from the Force saw the visitors gain a 29-27 advantage late in the final quarter. The Perth team held the ascendancy and built good momentum, before a Mark Gerrard penalty edged the Rebels ahead. While possession jumped hands several times in the dying moments, the hosts had the composure to close off the match and achieved their first win of the season.
The Rebels suffered some injury blows in the pre-match warm-up, with inside centre James O’Connor and fullback Richard Kingi pulling out with hamstring injuries. However, flyhalf Danny Cipriani, who was struggling with flu last week, was highly influential in the team’s impressive start to the match.
The Melbourne side was very clinical on attack as Cipriani’s playmaking skills created early scores. This saw them surge into a 14-0 lead, with centres Lachlan Mitchell and Lloyd Johansson dotting down in the opening 15 minutes after some smart backline interplay. A counter attack, which was inspired by Gerrard from inside the Rebels 22, put Cirpiani through for a clear run to the whitewash.
The English flyhalf limped off with a hamstring injury moments later, a loss that clearly made a negative impact as the Force hit back with two tries via flanker David Pocock and inside centre Winston Stanley to reduce the deficit to 12 points at the break.
The Force maintained their momentum in the second half, scoring 10 points in eight minutes as wing Alfie Mafie beat three defenders to dive over while fullback David Harvey added a conversion and penalty. Outside centre Nick Cummins then powered through from close range to grab a telling try, one that gave the visitors the lead for the first time.
The Rebels lacked the fluency they had on attack in the first half, but capitalised on the Force’s ill-discipline. Pocock’s men conceded several penalties at the death, and Gerrard slotted one of them from a difficult angle as the Rebels sneaked in for the win.

77 Comments
23 Mar 2012, 10:36 am
O Connor is out injured! Damn you Rebels! Had both him and Goosen last week and they made a killing.
23 Mar 2012, 10:43 am
Cmon on Rebels!
@Horings(Horings)-1: Really? That sucks! I had him in my supersport fantasy team but not my fox one.
23 Mar 2012, 10:58 am
I think I must just quit Superbru this season.
14-0 to the Rebels? Seriously?
23 Mar 2012, 10:59 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-3: I dont think many called the Rebels for this game..its still a long way to go, hope Force comes back..
23 Mar 2012, 11:03 am
Eish I have Force by 4, and the damn Rebs score again.
23 Mar 2012, 11:04 am
Rebels shutting me up good so far.
The Force have no other option now to attack which is gonna make this one another cracker.
23 Mar 2012, 11:10 am
what happened to O’connor??? He’s my captain…
23 Mar 2012, 11:13 am
Well well well. My Superbru pick was for the Rebels to win by five, but it would take a gutsy Force comeback just to make the scores that close.
At the risk of being VERY premature with my celebrations, I do think that JC and Vrede have been abysmal this season at picking the matches. A 55% success rate is appalling, little better than a fair coin. And they’re both experienced rugby writers, they should be far more accurate.
I’m just glad I didn’t place bets according what they predicted.
Anyway, 24-7, go Rebels!
23 Mar 2012, 11:14 am
wow force, wow.
go on…ruin my day…
23 Mar 2012, 11:15 am
bit of a fight back, come on force.
23 Mar 2012, 11:16 am
Man that Peacock chap scares me, what a player. He scored the first try and setup the second!!!
23 Mar 2012, 11:18 am
Pocock is in my fantasy league and is captain! Always get great points!
23 Mar 2012, 11:21 am
The Mauler – Why can’t Spies play like that?
23 Mar 2012, 11:24 am
Spies got 56 points before the bye…was the best player of the round.
23 Mar 2012, 11:25 am
@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-10:
Force would be happy enough at halftime after being down by 21.
If they score first after half-time the Rebels will panic, that’s what I’m hoping for anyway.
23 Mar 2012, 11:28 am
Jislaaik this is a turn-up for the books.
When O’Conner, Beale, Mortlock are back from injury they’ll be a handful for sure.
Or maybe it;s the youngsters that are doing the business?
Cipriani played really well when he was on.
23 Mar 2012, 11:29 am
Race… Thats a good question but it comes down to consistency… One game great and the other nowhere… Pocock plays every game at 110%!
23 Mar 2012, 11:32 am
Yeah, Force are fighting back. I have to say I’m impressed. Oh, and a little disappointed that the Rebels lacked the ability to put their foot on the Force’s throat and finish off the game. Three converted tries up and instead of putting this one away they got cocky.
Force now have momentum, but Rebels can’t think negatively. They are in the lead after all. Hopefully for the rest of the match!
23 Mar 2012, 11:37 am
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-15:
would be nice for my bets.
how bout that, try just as i was replying.
23 Mar 2012, 11:38 am
Brilliant try. Well done Force
23 Mar 2012, 11:39 am
@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-19:
You see
!
Rebels’ heads are starting to hang low.
Hou kop Force
23 Mar 2012, 11:43 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-2: hey, still waiting for details of the keo group on fantasy fox?
23 Mar 2012, 11:43 am
I got Rebels by 3. Cmon Rebels hang in there!
23 Mar 2012, 11:44 am
I did pick the rebels to win this one… but didn’t know o’connor was out…
but looks like they won’t get over the line…
c’est la vie
23 Mar 2012, 11:46 am
@Papoose(papaown)-22: Speak to Hendrik Pienaar. He is the one who started the group. When I see him again I will ask him to release the details of the group.
I have Pek Cowan starting for my supersport fantasy. I hope he gets a run.
23 Mar 2012, 11:48 am
Well now that I have sliced my thumb, had a good cry, bandaged it in cottenwool and stickytape, I am glad to see Force catching up.
23 Mar 2012, 11:53 am
Yessshhhh!!! Go Rebels keep it up boys! This win will give me 2 from 2.
23 Mar 2012, 11:55 am
On Fox Fantasy do they sub automatically for you if a player doesnt play?
23 Mar 2012, 11:55 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-25: i see, ok will look out for Hendrik then
23 Mar 2012, 11:57 am
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-28: yes they do, you can check total points on Monday, same happened to me when i had Jantjies starting but then he was removed on matchday. Goose gave me max points
@Papoose(papaown)-29: cool
TRY Force, Nick Cummins!
23 Mar 2012, 11:58 am
has O’Connor been subbed? had him as my Captain for this week and i dont see him doing much
23 Mar 2012, 11:59 am
@Papoose(papaown)-30: Ok cool. Well Done. That boy is a points machine!
Score!
Didn’t that look like the move the Boks did vs B&I Lions between Du Preez n Habana?
Force should close this game out now..Need it for my SuperBru..
23 Mar 2012, 12:00 pm
@Papoose(papaown)-32: Nooooooo!!!!
@Papoose(papaown)-33: I think he pulled up injured before the game. Tough luck. Who is the replacement?
23 Mar 2012, 12:01 pm
@weakoma(weakoma)-36: No! Need Rebels to kick a drop or something seal the game and my bru!
23 Mar 2012, 12:03 pm
Keep it Force! This will make it 2/2 on the Bru! Keep it FORCE! Force your way out of this position!!
23 Mar 2012, 12:05 pm
If the Aussie conference isn’t the weakest it certainly is the most boring.
We kick, then you kick. The we kick again, back to you and so forth.
23 Mar 2012, 12:06 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-38: Did not expect the Rebels to push the Force this hard, most of the games this year is within a bonus point..
23 Mar 2012, 12:07 pm
@Hoops(Hoops)-39: What position? Are they on their tryline? Go Rebels!! Just a drop or penalty will seal it!
23 Mar 2012, 12:09 pm
@weakoma(weakoma)-41: The Rebels have improved alot since last year. I think their forward pack is carrying the team currently because their backline stars have mostly been injured.
23 Mar 2012, 12:10 pm
NOOOOO!!!!
How can you kick away the ball when you’re on attack in the opponent’s half, trailing by 1 point with 15 minutes to go?
Oh Yeah oh Yeah Oh Yeah go rebels go rebels. Two from Two Two from Two.
Now just keep it tight and keep ball in hand!
23 Mar 2012, 12:11 pm
5 Minutes correction
23 Mar 2012, 12:11 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-45: Who is this now? The Rebels?
23 Mar 2012, 12:12 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-43: I agree, but with Beale and O’Connor out I expected the Force to take it with ease..
23 Mar 2012, 12:12 pm
@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-47: lol ja thought so! This is not football.
23 Mar 2012, 12:14 pm
@weakoma(weakoma)-49: Yes especially after the Force’s win last week over the Waratahs.
23 Mar 2012, 12:14 pm
Force the scrum force….force the penalty!!!!
23 Mar 2012, 12:16 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-51: Correct, a sure pick just doesnt happen as often anymore..
23 Mar 2012, 12:17 pm
@Hoops(Hoops)-52: What! Did they kick it over?
This game can just end now my nerves cant take it anymore. Now I know how Grantie feels! lol
23 Mar 2012, 12:18 pm
@weakoma(weakoma)-53: Yip this season is unpredictable! You need to go with your gut feel when you feel an upset coming. The season has been very entertaining thus far lets hope for more.
23 Mar 2012, 12:18 pm
Yes The force did not deserve this with their useless options at end
23 Mar 2012, 12:19 pm
Ag k@k
Can’t get that lucky twice in one morning I suppose
23 Mar 2012, 12:20 pm
Will make for an intresting end to the comp for play off spots..
23 Mar 2012, 12:21 pm
anyone watching… how did the saffa guy jarred saffy do…?
23 Mar 2012, 12:26 pm
Wow 2 from 2! I feel very lucky today! Think I should buy myself a lotto ticket!
23 Mar 2012, 12:30 pm
Next one. Sharks by 3.
23 Mar 2012, 12:33 pm
Yay, my Superbru is 2/2!
Next up, go Waratahs! Vrede, I hope you were correct in picking that game. Don’t make me regret not going with JC.
23 Mar 2012, 12:35 pm
Two from two for me as well. My wild card is the brumbies over the Landers could go titsup with that one.
23 Mar 2012, 12:39 pm
@Todd W(Todd W)-62: @stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-63: What were your margins for the 2 picks? I had Hurricanes and Rebels by 3.
23 Mar 2012, 12:44 pm
Another 1 pointer!! WTF???
23 Mar 2012, 12:57 pm
damn this force team.
23 Mar 2012, 13:00 pm
I didn’t go with margins. It was just my picks on the other thread. After the last few weeks I am half expecting these tight margins in every game.
23 Mar 2012, 13:22 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-64:
I had Hurricanes by 7 and Rebels by 5. Both ended up being 1-point wins but I’m certainly not complaining!
My other picks in case anyone is wondering:
Waratahs by 12 (I don’t know what I was smoking when I picked that margin)
Crusaders by 14
Brumbies by 2 (Highlanders have to lose sometime, right?)
Bulls by 10
Stormers by 13
I like Superbru, I get the thrill of gambling without having to actually pay any money.
23 Mar 2012, 13:40 pm
@Sasuke(Sasuke)-37: dont have a replacement as Sonny Bill is on bench, dammit man O’Connor was my captain, now i’m gonna lose top spot for sure
23 Mar 2012, 19:25 pm
On the contrary I have played Superbru for the last 3 years and decided not to do it this year. There is a lot to like about it but I have found on balance there is more not to like.
The boring, oversaturated super rugby format which sees rugby from Feb to Aug tipped the scales. I’m just not interested in putting my picks in week in and week out for so long.
For me, when watching rugby as a neutral, it has always been about willing on the underdog, and enjoying the upsets thoroughly. With superbru I found myself cheering on (mostly) the favourites and this detracts a lot from my own enjoyment as I don’t want to see the Crusaders whup the Rebels by 30, I don’t want to see the Reds thrashing the Cheetahs by 18, etc. Not playing this year, what a release to be able to just enjoy the results which ever way they go!
Also, I cannot recall ever picking against my team. Just wasn’t ever prepared to do it – coupled with the belief that my team can win every game. So I could never take the whole thing seriously enough in the first place.
23 Mar 2012, 19:37 pm
I do well on Bru, also back my team.
Won a prize as well.
Enjoyment depends on performance,
On 74% tonight..
Is there any truth that Bulls and Crusaders fans enjoyed Bru more over a few years stretch? Think about it…….
23 Mar 2012, 19:40 pm
Oeps 72% after last game.
23 Mar 2012, 19:58 pm
Oh I was consistently in the top 10%. It helps having a team that mostly wins.
I was more talking about the other games, as a neutral.
23 Mar 2012, 20:03 pm
There are a total of 125 games in the competition.
Each team plays 16 (excluding play offs).
A small drop in the ocean. It is the other 100+ games which count a lot more, whether you are a Bulletjie, Crusader, Cheetah or Rebel.
23 Mar 2012, 20:15 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-74:
In the last couple of years you must have done well punting the Stormers for wins. I’m sure that stuck in your throat a bit.
23 Mar 2012, 20:21 pm
Well this is dull as dishwater.
Spooner you are not in a confessional.
24 Mar 2012, 03:13 am
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-75: @Dawn(Dawn)-76: Well, let’s see. I picked the Crusaders to beat the Stormers twice in CT last year,
And they did on both occasions.