Brumbies end Highlanders’ run
24 Mar 2012
SIMON BORCHARDT reports on the Brumbies’ 33-26 victory in Canberra that brought the Highlanders’ four-match winning streak to a halt.
Jake White’s side raced out to a 17-3 lead after 20 minutes, but the Highlanders fought back well to make it 26-26 early in the second half. However, the loss of flyhalf Colin Slade, who appeared to break an ankle, broke the visitors’ momentum and they conceded a soft try on the 60-minute mark that proved to be decisive.
The Highlanders will also regret the poor start they made to the game, when centre Tamati Ellison’s pass was intercepted by Joe Tomane, who ran 80m to score.
The winger struck again 10 minutes later when the Brumbies, who had been starved of possession, sent the ball wide from a turnover. Midfielder Andrew Smith was put into space on the left and found Tomane, who cut back inside for his double.
Slade, who had earlier kicked a drop goal, exchanged penalties with opposite number Christian Lealiifano, before a break from winger Hosea Gear led to a try for scrumhalf Aaron Smith that reduced the deficit to four.
But Lealiifano’s third penalty, on the half-time hooter, gave the hosts a 20-13 lead despite them having had just 33% of the ball.
It didn’t take the Highlanders long to level the scores when, following a penalty goal apiece, Shaun Treeby was brought to ground but not held by the tackler. The centre jumped back up to his feet and ran away to score next to the posts.
At that stage it looked as if the visitors were on track for win No 5. But then Slade left the field and they conceded that soft try after losing possession at a maul near their 22. Brumbies hooker Stephen Moore got boot to ball and flanker Michael Hooper picked it up to score what was ultimately the match-winning try.

193 Comments
24 Mar 2012, 10:39 am
Nic White and James o’Connor ******* up my fantasy league.
24 Mar 2012, 10:43 am
dear dear dear
24 Mar 2012, 10:44 am
That is how you properly kak up a scoring chance. Easy 5 ahead to 5 behind in one forced pass.
24 Mar 2012, 10:47 am
was that try not reminiscent of Habana tries under JW?
24 Mar 2012, 10:49 am
brumbies are spoiling at the breakdown, slowing the ball down
24 Mar 2012, 10:50 am
Ja, show the opposition wide the whole way and then look for the intercept. We all know it can backfire too though.
24 Mar 2012, 10:58 am
Nice second try. Stole the ball, moved it wide quick and ran it in. Back to basics, simple stuff. JW has these guys playing above themselves just by playing percentages.
24 Mar 2012, 10:59 am
soo amazed how patterned JW’s rugby is, 2nd try again you’d think this winger is Habana! these are the try’s Habana used to score@will
24 Mar 2012, 11:00 am
I see Jake’s Brumbiew looking better than ever..
Still would expect Highlanders to slowly claw their way back in at some point..
24 Mar 2012, 11:01 am
Brumbies**
24 Mar 2012, 11:03 am
Go Boys!!!
Unfortunately working so I cannot watch the game.
24 Mar 2012, 11:06 am
shows you what Jake can do with not HAVING to pick quotas or have a quota backline coach in the way
24 Mar 2012, 11:16 am
Jakes boys are popping !!! 17/6 Brumbies…..such a loss to SA rugby.
24 Mar 2012, 11:20 am
Come on Brumbies, win so I can go 5/5 on Superbru. Please!
And if you don’t care about me (and why should you), then at least do it for yourselves and your fans!
24 Mar 2012, 11:28 am
hahaha this stream at half time – where you find the analysts never watched the match so far
24 Mar 2012, 11:51 am
Colin Slade down …………………………………………looks very serious. Leg or knee injury.
Stretchered off.
Colin has had a tragic run of injuries.
24 Mar 2012, 11:52 am
Never like to see that happen to anyone.
24 Mar 2012, 11:56 am
Serious left ankle fracture apparently.
24 Mar 2012, 11:58 am
Peter Kimlin…………………………………………………..also now off injured.
This game has lifted in intensity.
24 Mar 2012, 12:22 pm
To get any points out of this game,
the Highlanders need a Hurricanes type miracle.
1.30 to go
24 Mar 2012, 12:28 pm
So much for White being a kak coach – they’ve just chopped down the form side in the comp.
24 Mar 2012, 12:30 pm
@cab(cab)-21:
So hes not a useless coach any more?
Didnt Eddie Jones join him again this week?
24 Mar 2012, 12:33 pm
Wow, this is great news!
Well Done Guys!!!!!!!!!!!
24 Mar 2012, 12:35 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-22:
The Eddie and Jake Show.
Eddie goes down on Jake.
Jake loves Eddie.
Jake goes down on Eddie.
Eddie love Jake.
Meantime……………………………………………………………Who the f….k is running rugby in Japan?
24 Mar 2012, 12:36 pm
Well whaddya know, I’m 5/5 on Superbru.
Maybe I should be a rugby writer here at Keo, LOL.
Skopshyte, Prawn, Transgender and the usual moegoes on this site have always hated Jake White (even after the Boks won the RWC) and this is his up yours to those farkwits. Haaahaaahaaaa!!!
Get out your All Blacks jerseys for the next Stormers game moegoes.
I’ve never said he was useless – few others have – JW may be an opportunist but he’s a very capable coach. Jones is his bumchum, but White has that team primed, talent-wise they completely outgunned by highlanders but he woulda neutralised hore at the bd.
@cane(cane)-24:
Kaino
24 Mar 2012, 12:37 pm
@BrumbiesBoy(BrumbiesBoy)-23:
Yes BB.
A good win.
Brumbies still one of the very hardest to beat at home.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-28:
Classic.
@cab(cab)-27:
You seem to forget SA were getting a beaten more often than not when Jake had the team. He needed Eddie to help,which also has been stated. Eddie won the RWC in 2007 just as much as JW did.
24 Mar 2012, 12:39 pm
I see the hurricanes are also doing pretty well after everyone was writing them off early on – pity they lost hore – what a hooker – literally.
24 Mar 2012, 12:40 pm
@Todd W(Todd W)-25:
You never get a Job here on Keo.
You would show up the other Journo’s.
24 Mar 2012, 12:43 pm
31 hurricane
speaking of beatings ain’t eddie the fella in charge of reds when beaten by cricket score 96-2 vs bulls? Mackenzie takes over 2 seasons later and they win the comp. Hau?!
24 Mar 2012, 12:44 pm
@cab(cab)-32:
Yep, doing better than what was looking to be a horrid year.
But proves we have some good youngsters in Wellington
Still, dont like Hammett, he could have done things differently with the old players.
24 Mar 2012, 12:46 pm
This is one very well coached Brumbies team.
For a country with so many average refs we sure know how to piss off our best ones…
24 Mar 2012, 12:46 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-31:
You seem to forget that Jake White is taking this team to back to back wins without Eddie Jones. This is White’s rebuilding phase…imagine what they’ll be like when he’s finished rebuilding…
24 Mar 2012, 12:48 pm
@cab(cab)-34:
Yeah i think he was. And so?
Wasnt jake white the coach that got the Boks best hammered by 49-0 against the Ozzie which included a few reds players?
We seem to be going no where here.
All i said was JW needed Eddie to win the RWC.
24 Mar 2012, 12:50 pm
@Shark(Predawn)-37:
All i said was JW needed Eddie and has asked for his help again.
I am not calling him a cr@p coach as alot do on here but i sure as hell not going to say hes the best around
24 Mar 2012, 12:52 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-36:
**** I have refs on my mind…
For a country with so many average coaches we know how to piss our really good ones off…
24 Mar 2012, 12:57 pm
All those Jake Haters,
He’s a good coach. Period.
Not everyone’s cup of tea but he’s taken a really understrength team and made them play well above their predicted potential.
Just like he did with the 2007 Boks.
24 Mar 2012, 12:57 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-39:
He’s getting better and that shows. Nothing wrong with calling in Eddie Jones. That’s a winning combo.
Unfortunately it hasn’t worked out that way with John Plumtree and Robbie Deans. Sometimes two heads can be better than one.
I still harp on about the coach of the Sharks XV, Sean Everitt, who should be assistant coach for The Sharks. The Sharks XV could teach the senior side how to pressure the opposition with effective defensive technique instead of that useless lazy drifting that they did today.
24 Mar 2012, 13:00 pm
JW is a shade too conservative too truly be the worlds best, but he’s damn good and probably one of the best technical analysts out there. He’s loyalty leaves alot to be desired, but that’s another issue. Brumbies to finish mud-table which will be an excellent result considering their depletion.
24 Mar 2012, 13:01 pm
Well done Jake – showing these idiots in SA that it was actually your coaching talents that built the Boks from the Rudolph years.
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-31: You seem to forget what base Jake started from. He made them a force in world rugby, from being 6th or 7th after Straueli destroyed their systems, their confidence, and their self respect. And it was not Eddie that “made” the Boks win 2007 – he just brought in some fresh backline ideas to supplement Alistair Coetzee, who was not a backline coaches a$$hole. The team stsill palkyed to the patterns set by Jake, and the forwards were the best in the world by far.
24 Mar 2012, 13:04 pm
Can you imagine what Jake could do with the talent base in the Free State instead of ACT? Or the Lions? But we have morons that hold grudges against him (for whatever reason – as he actually won the damn cup!) and an administration that allows his intellectual property to walk out teh door – no pushes it out the door. fu@kwits…
24 Mar 2012, 13:09 pm
Look at the great coaching combinations over the last decade – balance of analytical ability and creativity. White’s technical analysis also happened to coincide with one of the greatest runs of any bok side, ie under mallett. Mitchell was the counterpoint to woodwards English machine, tho I think Woodward’s strength was more organisation, professionalism and consistent player selection than technical know-how. Henry and smith, and so on. White and jones. Rassie practicality and stormer-natural gayness. Very few coaches able to combine both aspects.
24 Mar 2012, 13:12 pm
@SjamBok(SjamBok)-44:
Well we seem to have a few JW lovers here as well.
Its one of those things really isnt it. Its either you like him or hate him. Personally i think letting him go in 2007 was a mistake but thems the breaks.
But to think Eddie only gave a few ideas and didnt contribute to the RWC win in 2007 is a real shame. Did Jake ever get the Boks to #1 ranking before the RWC double points?
24 Mar 2012, 13:12 pm
Jake White certainly appears to be proving people wrong.
Nuff said.
24 Mar 2012, 13:13 pm
This cant be. Jake white is a terrible coach. The people on Keo have been telling us for years and they are never wrong
24 Mar 2012, 13:13 pm
Kitch – now that was the messiah of sa coaches – quite liked ian mac and solomons too but they had kak bokke results and with Northampton respectively. But ian mac pretty much made natal and sharks rugby – before that ep had a better rugby history.
24 Mar 2012, 13:17 pm
@cab(cab)-34: @Hurricane(Hurricane)-35:
If I was to meet Mark Hammett on the Street, I would be polite, but very reserved in my praise of his achievements so far.
Whenever I watch the Blues, Chiefs or Highlanders,
I ask myself what if.
Canes playing the:
Highlanders ………………………Hore, Sopoaga, Tamati Ellison, Jacob Ellison.
Chiefs………………………….Scott Waldum, Cruden, Schwalger, Tuamalola
Blues, ……………………………..Nonu, Matheson, Weepu. Hobbs.
And the biggest Burglars in NZ Rugby……………………… Canterbury………………………………….few if any of my brethren.
24 Mar 2012, 13:19 pm
Looking at ranking history, JW took over the Boks placed at 6th on the ranking table.
Before the RWC started in 2007 Boks were in 4th place. So around 4 years, Jake moved the boks up 2 places to 4th..
I understand winning the RWC is a major but so is rankings which means you are consistently winning your games.
24 Mar 2012, 13:23 pm
51 yeah cane – dunno why they sold some of those but in fairness he’s done pretty well so who knows. Crusaders don’t look like the indestructibe juggernaught of years goneby. Told me pal u said all the cantabrians are a bit feral – he seemed to think it was a compliment. Grizz wylie was a legend in tvl and I think blackadder also came out to sa at end of his career, also from Canterbury? Where was murray mexted from?
24 Mar 2012, 13:24 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-52: too simplistic.
Ignores 2004 3N win, ignores finishing 2nd in 2005 3N by only a single bonus point.
2006 was his low point.
But 2007 was his high point.
24 Mar 2012, 13:28 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-54:
Just saying like it is wooden.
You have stated two tri nations but seem to have forgotten the embarrasing EOYT that you guys
were put through.
Anyway lets just say hes a good coach with the same win/loss ratio as PDV or does PDV have a better one?
24 Mar 2012, 13:34 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-52:
Jake White’s only mission from 2004 was to win the RWC.
24 Mar 2012, 13:38 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-56:
Lucky for him then,
that he never got any real opposition.
24 Mar 2012, 13:38 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-55: in fact PDV’s is worse. 67% vs 62%.
24 Mar 2012, 13:39 pm
What is this Predawn’s problem
24 Mar 2012, 13:39 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-52: Cane, you are such a clown it makes me sick. Jake took the Boks to #1. Not only that, he did it without depth of players and without ever selecting what he considered to be his best XV. He had more political pressure than any other coach to have ever coached the game to boot! A mild achievement? I think not. Not to mention that we were less than 60 seconds away from back-to-back Tri-Nations titles. 2006 was his ONLY iffy year as we were injury ravaged and had to scrap through the little depth available. Even on the eve of the WC we had only one genuine test quality wing. You also neglect to mention that he took the Boks from 6th to 2nd in the space of ONE season. Yes we fell off the way a bit, 2006 had a lot to do with that and so too fielding a second XV for the away leg of the 07 TNs. So, next time, get your facts together before you run that ignorant hole of yours again!
24 Mar 2012, 13:40 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-56:
lol, and there we have the bad EOYTs and lost 3 out of 4 tri nations.
Do you think it was the right call to prepare for a tournament 4 years out?
I mean it worked out in the end so pointless really
24 Mar 2012, 13:41 pm
@cane(cane)-57: Not any real opposition? We faced all of the best teams in the 2007 WC. New zealand were garbage and Australia utterly savaged by England. Please spare us your idiocy.
24 Mar 2012, 13:43 pm
Ease up Dracula
Cane is cool
24 Mar 2012, 13:46 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-61:
Not saying it was the right call at all – personally I hate the RWC just for that (4-year cycle ****).
But he had a mission, and he succeeded.
I’d rather win 80% of my games.
24 Mar 2012, 13:48 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-60:
Why do i make you sick?
Seems a bit harsh,anyway lets carry on through your illness.
You have given an excuse for every year JW coached, well done.
You said that JW went from 6th to second in a season, what is this season you speak off?
24 Mar 2012, 13:48 pm
@cab(cab)-53:
” Told me pal u said all the cantabrians are a bit feral”.
I would like to qualify that cab,
by saying,
one on one, Cantabs are fine,
………………..well at least acceptable as human beings with a view point different to my own.
But!!!!!!!
When together as a unit of 1000 or more ……………………………they are indeed feral.
Not sure why, they look like most of us, ………………………………………….but something is different.
24 Mar 2012, 13:50 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-64:
Yeah same, i am with you on that.
Shame everything was put on that RWC 2007, he may have even won a few more game for SA if he wasnt so focused on that tournament, anyway in the past now. He is having a good run with the Brumbies though.
24 Mar 2012, 13:51 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-62:
What were the best teams in 2007, according to you?
I mean we faced you twice in 2007 home and away and beat you.
24 Mar 2012, 13:53 pm
Jakey, you’re my man, and you got me some nice Superbru points this weeked. Everyone else backed the Highlanders in my pool
24 Mar 2012, 13:54 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-62:
I see you have decided ATTACK is the best form of defence Alu.
And good for you.
So you beat Old Blighty twice to win the Cup.
This was the worst English Team in the history of English Rugby.
i.e. EVER.
24 Mar 2012, 13:54 pm
@Mike H(Mike H)-69:
24 Mar 2012, 13:57 pm
@Papoose(papaown)-8:
So true.
Where all the Jake haters now
Jake is a ******* brilliant coach. There is no doubt. And now he has the chance to prove it with a young breed of quick thinking player.
Keep it up Jake, i’ve been fighting your corner against the morons in here for years. I am glad you get to show your metal again.
If you can keep this up it will have to silence the idiots who belittle you but were proud that we had a WC trophy in our cabinet. Hypocrits
24 Mar 2012, 14:00 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-65:
You seemed to have run your mouth off and now cant back it up.
But at least you are consistent.
24 Mar 2012, 14:02 pm
@SjamBok(SjamBok)-44:
Very well said mate
24 Mar 2012, 14:09 pm
And what I like about Jake, even though so many give Eddie credit for our WC win he is not too arrogant and eager to prove everyone wrong that he doesn;t use Eddie again, he calls him in.
If you are too proud to take good help then when you lose you deserve it. If you do everything in your power to win and get the best combinations of brains behind your team, then you are a true coach.
A coach doesn’t have to know everything or be the best coach in the world in every aspect of the game.
A coach is a manger overall. Use your strengths and get help where needed and Jake certainly does that.
He took SA from Camp Staaldraad to WC winners. Huge respect. He built a team that became the most experienced Springbok test team in history, a team that won a WC, tri-nations titles, Lions Series etc etc. (PDIVS team was predominantly JW’s team.)
24 Mar 2012, 14:10 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-68:
In march 2007 the IRB’s top ranked Teams were:
1: NZ
2: France.
3: Australia.
4: SA.
5: Ireland.
6: Arg.
7: Old Blighty.
So indeed you are correct, (as usual),
Jake’s Boks never played any Team of significance.
How lucky can you get…………………………………………………………….Food poisoning anyone?
24 Mar 2012, 14:10 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-73:
of course that was aimed at Alucard…
I never run my mouth off
24 Mar 2012, 14:14 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-77:
Well …………………………………………mostly never.
24 Mar 2012, 14:14 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-77:
HAHHAHA thought you were admitting defeat there Hurri
hahahah
24 Mar 2012, 14:17 pm
@cane(cane)-78:
yes, just about never do
24 Mar 2012, 14:18 pm
@Mike H(Mike H)-79:
It was close their Mike.
24 Mar 2012, 14:21 pm
WC’s are virtually a knockout tournament, you lose one game and it’s over.
You need to be good and you need some luck.
Yes.
But Graham Henry is a great coach, Jake White is a great coach, Clive Woodward was a great coach, that Aussie dude was a great coach
The World Cup winning coaches are fantastic coaches. There is no doubt and should be no arguement no matter you’re luck or someone elses misfortune.
To win a WC takes serious metal from players and coaches and shouldn;t be belittled, however I do wish SA that more focus on winning every test than just winning WC’s.
We need to be consistantly number 1 or 2 in the World with the AB’s. Those are world rugby giants and thats how we need to keep it. Ab’s and SA need to be the two most respected and feared teams for any team to play
That’s how I grew up and that’s how i like it
24 Mar 2012, 14:27 pm
@cane(cane)-66:
lol, it all makes alot of sense, i wondered where he came from, different is indeed the word..
24 Mar 2012, 14:31 pm
As a reds fan who loves to hate the brumbies, I gotta hand it to JW. The guy is doing well with a bunch of nobody players. Reminds me of the reds a few years ago under McKenzie. A good coach is the most important part of a good team and JW is up there with the best of them.
His only flaw is that he listens to Eddie Jones too much, oh, and that he made the bad guys win the 07 WC
24 Mar 2012, 14:32 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-84:
24 Mar 2012, 14:34 pm
@Mike H(Mike H)-82: So Mike just becuase its only a small sport in Australia, does that mean we cannot be considered “giants”. We do ok sometimes (safe for our rubbish scrum).
I would like to think the tri nations as a collective make up the three giants of the game. 2 WC’s each eh?
24 Mar 2012, 14:35 pm
@Mike H(Mike H)-82:
There we go, what Mike said.
24 Mar 2012, 14:38 pm
@cab(cab)-53:
Mex was/is/remains a Wellingtonian.
I don’t know if Mexteds exist in any other part of the world.
24 Mar 2012, 14:38 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-86:
Sorry Red, you have the Tri nations cup and our coach, you cant enter this conversation.
24 Mar 2012, 14:45 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-89: I can trace Ritchie McCaw’s liniage back to an Australian convict 243 years ago.
thats gotta qualify me.
24 Mar 2012, 14:50 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-90:
Damn it.
Sure does, welcome
24 Mar 2012, 14:51 pm
@cane(cane)-88:
i dont think he’s the sharpest tool in the shed..
24 Mar 2012, 14:52 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-89: Hurricane, your boys really messed up my tips this week. I have tipped the blues every week in this competition (I really love the blues but they’re messing with ym $$$ now), but old C.Smith came like a thief in the night in the 81st minute. You must be stoked? It was a sick try from nothing. BB the next Carter?
24 Mar 2012, 14:53 pm
@cane(cane)-70: England had the courage to make the Finals and Argentina were in immense form. we faced a quality Samoan and Fijian side to boot. New Zealand did whta exactly? Australia? Hmmm… typical kiwi arrogance at it’s best.
24 Mar 2012, 14:54 pm
@cab(cab)-92:
nope he isnt.
@We are red(Redbull)-93:
Yeah messed up my picks as well
But i am stoked,such a surprise really and some good finds in this Hurricanes team.
24 Mar 2012, 14:54 pm
@cab(cab)-92:
I agree,
But a magnificent Rugby Player.
24 Mar 2012, 14:56 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-94:
You forgot a quality Tongan and USA side as well.
Cant forget those guys.
24 Mar 2012, 14:56 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-95:
he’s rugby analysis is suprisingly good tho, so maybe he doing a columbo, but melanie is better to look at.
@cane(cane)-96:
married a miss world, quite a character i think.
24 Mar 2012, 14:57 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-95: Cuzzy bro, rule 1 of tipping. Thou shalt not tip again thy own team.
24 Mar 2012, 15:00 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-65: You truly are a thick imbecile. How about between 2004 and 2005. do you not recall the annihilation of the Aussies in several tests of 2005 as well? And the haulting of the All Blacks? There’s no point on talking to you; too dense to take anything in. So my final piece of advice is to inscribe the word “stupid” on a bullett and blast it through that copious sedimentary layer you call a skull. No excuses needed, just simple and clear as day facts chump.
24 Mar 2012, 15:02 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-94: I know you can only play whats in front of you, but you’re kidding if you dont think you had an easy run in 07. If Wayen Barnes had his prescriptions on…..
24 Mar 2012, 15:03 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-97: Tonga sure as hell put up a better showing than your lot. Cant forget that, or the 15-12 lead Canada had on your boys in your warm-up for the World Cup. Now that was another little fact swept under the carpet by Middle-Earth.
24 Mar 2012, 15:04 pm
Here we go again. The RWC2007 hoary old chestnut
France lost to Argentina (twice).
NZ lost to France.
France lost to England.
Australia lost to England.
SA beat England (twice).
SA beat Argentina.
SA were champions as a result of beating every team good enough to meet them. The best of the rest.
Unlike NZ in RWC2011. They were denied by the devious methods of one of their own the chance of playing the best.
24 Mar 2012, 15:04 pm
Barnesie def got done over by the kiwi faithful, a terrible case of denigrating a young ref if ever there was one…
Brycie L on the other hand, truly hopeless as titties on a bloubul..
24 Mar 2012, 15:05 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-100: You seem to be getting upset. does losing 7 of the last 8 against the wallabies upset you?
I know how you feel mate. We can’t beat those bloody AB’s. I reckon they use black magic on us, no pun intended.
24 Mar 2012, 15:06 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-100:
Oh ok.
So June 2004 is when he took the team over and it was placed 6th on rankings table.
June 2005, a year later SA were third. I have still yet to find where he took them from 6th to 2nd in that season.
I am only getting this from the IRB website so i dont know where you are gtting your info from. Once again please show us where this happened.
You seem a little tense, name calling your thing by the look of it….. i put it down to no cuddles.
Poor Alucard….no cuddles.
24 Mar 2012, 15:07 pm
@cab(cab)-104: I think we can all agree we are happy to see the end of B.Lawrence
24 Mar 2012, 15:08 pm
as a highlander fan,i’ll take solace in the fact we smashed them everywhere bar the scoreboard, so i wouldn’t be to cocky brumbies a crappy intercept doesn’t make you the champs.
24 Mar 2012, 15:08 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-106: No cuddles will do that to a man
24 Mar 2012, 15:09 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-102:
true, what was the final scoreline on that canadian game again?
And yeah Tonga played a good game as they did against us in 2001 RWC.
Thats the beauty of the RWC, you can just about lose to anyone.
24 Mar 2012, 15:10 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-107:
yep, poor old brycie made me laugh, crazy little bugger, the worst thing about him was his trigger finger for the cards, he flashed more yellow cards in one sharks game than an italian game of roundball..
24 Mar 2012, 15:11 pm
@dermie(dermie)-108: Dermie havent you learn the best team on the night is the one with the most points on the board at the end of the game.
I think the best team tonight was the team who kept ball in hand. Both teams were getting over the advantage line and doing really well with ball in hand. Could have gone either way
24 Mar 2012, 15:11 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-103:
Yep and fair winners of the RWC 2007.
Shame you cant get over being screwed in a final match like NZ were in 2007.
Takes a while and it does haunt you once in a while but one day young spooner, you will come round.
24 Mar 2012, 15:12 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-110: except the ABs,they never lose to yhe minnows.
24 Mar 2012, 15:13 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-99:
haha, and noted
24 Mar 2012, 15:15 pm
goddamnit that brycie screwed us royally, gotta have been direct order from GH to keep the Boks out of semi, we coulda taken then ABs even at Eden Park..
@cab(cab)-111: lets not get too crazy cab. thats a lot of yellows we’re talking about. those Italians sure know how to grab knee and roll 30 times. watching that junk makes me laugh. there are some good rugby vs soccer youtube video’s showcasing the soccer drama acting school and some heavy rugby hits. i like to troll on them every now and then. you should give it a go on a lonely saturday night at home one weekend. kind of like this one. haha
@We are red(Redbull)-112: jeez i hate the brumbies,as a long suffering ‘landers fan that hurt,at least we have the rebels in invercargill next game.
24 Mar 2012, 15:17 pm
@cab(cab)-116:
coulda,shoulda,wanteda, never dida.
Sorry Cab, but it wasnt going to happen. If you cant beat Oz on nuetral turf then you wernt going to beat the ABs at home.
24 Mar 2012, 15:20 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-119: erm. you are missing the point. Your compatriot Brycie took care of that.
24 Mar 2012, 15:20 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-117:
I like the push to the shoulder and they fall down holding their face….. a classic football move.
Actually i have seen something close to that in rugby. It happened in the RWC 2011. I believe it was Brussow and maybe a Fijian. Fijian pushed Brussows face and Brussow did the 360 backflip followed by a well performed belly flop. Now i think this is practiced in the Boks team cos it didnt look natural at all.
24 Mar 2012, 15:21 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-117:
yeah horrendous game, used to be quite fun when they still had a few duffers about who’d just chop everything in sight, pretty much what the english and scots do cos they aint got the skills of the others, that was quite entertaining..as for the big hit, they dont get much bigger then in league in your part of the world in the 80s and 90s, state of origin and that wally guy – could been a headhunter from papua new guinea…
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-119:
come now Huricane, even a one-eyed supporter like u must have thought the Bokke had the beating of the ABs?
24 Mar 2012, 15:21 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-120:
And thanks to no plan B of the Boks, Brycie did well.
24 Mar 2012, 15:23 pm
speaking of BH, where is the bugger?! that was one knowledgable englishman, and very fair too..
24 Mar 2012, 15:23 pm
@dermie(dermie)-118:
It’s tough in Canberra dermie.
And your boys showed grit.
Win some , lose some.
Your lot are doing well.
24 Mar 2012, 15:25 pm
@cab(cab)-122:
Cab.
Nope,in 2011 Boks came to NZ in tri nations and was screwed 40-7 in Wellington.
Why would i think the Boks would beat the ABs at Eden Park?.
tell u what a fit and picked Bok side, just think of those names, jam-packed of legends in the fall,
beasty, bismark, bakkies, matfield, brussow, burger, du preez, alberts, habana, steyn, fourie, jp – what a team!
@cab(cab)-124:
Fair……………………………………………………………………………..he was as jaundiced towards my Country as you lot.
24 Mar 2012, 15:27 pm
@cab(cab)-124:

lol, fair?
You have to be kidding, he was as fair as prickboks.
Mind you, he did believe Barnes was the best ref in 2007, like you all did. You had Something in common i must say.
24 Mar 2012, 15:27 pm
@cane(cane)-125: cheers bro.
24 Mar 2012, 15:28 pm
goddam Brycie’s antics amounted to a lower blower than suzie, who woulda thought u could still buy a ref off so brazenly like that in the modern game…i dont think future RWCs should be allowed to take place in NZ, that was very unfair.
24 Mar 2012, 15:28 pm
@cab(cab)-127: habana?the intercept king.
24 Mar 2012, 15:31 pm
@dermie(dermie)-132:
thats a bit like calling cullen a one-hit wonder.
24 Mar 2012, 15:31 pm
@cab(cab)-131:
There is a difference here. We acknowledge that Brycie reffed a bad game.
On the other hand from you all we hear, Suzie never existed, Barnes was great and we paid to have the RWC at NZ only to find out that SA fked there bid up,lol
24 Mar 2012, 15:32 pm
@cab(cab)-122: Never tell a League fan that please. We have a long standing rivalry about which game is tougher. We all know the answer but they’re all braun and no brains. To them, we’re just a bunch of soft **** private school boys. Interesting fact about Papua New Guinea, I went to the same primary school in PNG as Will Genia. When he came to Australia, he started playing soccer at high school. What a waste that would have been.
He should thank the boarding school seniors who beat you up untill you play rugby. Im sure that happens a lot in SA too?
24 Mar 2012, 15:34 pm
didnt realise the paekakariki express had such disdain for mitchy the kid, musta been cos he was dropped, mind u thats got to be one of mitchells worst decisions ever. another wellingtonian.
24 Mar 2012, 15:35 pm
@cab(cab)-131: If it makes you feel better, I was blushing at the end of that game. I’d be lying if i didnt celebrate it with a few beers though. Good riddance to Bryce though. Didnt love him during super xv last year
@cab(cab)-133:
Now theres a player. Shame the guy got the injury and really never got back and of course Deans and Mitchell making sure he wasnt picked again.
@cab(cab)-133: that’s a terrible analogy,not even on the same page.close to the greatest fullback of all time.
24 Mar 2012, 15:37 pm
@dermie(dermie)-114: The All Blacks have been beaten by Munster. But lets not talk about that, don’t want to upset Cane. All Blacks never doing anything wrong and are always better than everyone else. Much like that spoilt brat in Willy Wonka.
24 Mar 2012, 15:37 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-135:
yep, pretty tough game, i just thought it was tackle after tackle, bit braindead, but that etlingshauser ET fella (not our extraball) was very gifted, one does wonder how good the wallabies could actually be if union was bigger.
24 Mar 2012, 15:38 pm
@cab(cab)-136: can’t stand mitchell,didn’t even tell him to his face.good luck lions,with a moron like that as coach.
24 Mar 2012, 15:39 pm
@dermie(dermie)-139:
what about the rolls royce, andre joubert? RWC 95 final with broken hand…oh what memories, tears to my eyes…
24 Mar 2012, 15:40 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-140:
Well thats a bit rich seen as SA only recently lost to Leicester and Saracens.
24 Mar 2012, 15:41 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-140: internationals,not give the midweekers a run.
24 Mar 2012, 15:41 pm
@cab(cab)-141:
Yep, OZ would be an even greater problem to us if they didnt play league.
But if NZ didnt play league as well, we would be in a better position as well.
24 Mar 2012, 15:42 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-134: Suzie? There was an interview with Jonah Lomu on the BBC just before the 2007 final. He stated that two players were sick and they were never going to feature anyway. Are yo now telling me that Lomu is a liar?
24 Mar 2012, 15:42 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-146:
Oh hang on a better position……. whats better than first?
24 Mar 2012, 15:43 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-146:
yeah our problem is rugby competes with jukskei and roundball, otherwise we’d beat both u and wobblies combined.
24 Mar 2012, 15:43 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-140: ireland & scotland never beaten us wales once,just.who else has a record like that?
24 Mar 2012, 15:44 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-144: Any side coached by Muir for a week would lose to a club side.
24 Mar 2012, 15:44 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-147:
Yep lomu lied, cos in fact there were ABs on the field being sick, they were playing.
I cant imagine Jeff wilson not playing, cos he was one of the sick people.
But anyway it was 17 years ago, i think its time to move on dont you think
24 Mar 2012, 15:46 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-140: Yeah a hungover AB’s team who rested 12 of thier starting players who were there to have fun and on an end of year tour. Compare apples with apples mate
@cab(cab)-141: Yeah maybe we could finally win a Bledisloe cup once in a while if league didnt exist. haha.
24 Mar 2012, 15:46 pm
@cab(cab)-149:
Well the fact is you have more people to choose from even with NZ and OZ combined.
In fact you probably have that now playing rugby.
But we all know there are untapped resources in SA. But we will still beat you
24 Mar 2012, 15:47 pm
@cab(cab)-149: we’ve only got 4 million people,that’s the population of melbourne.we punch & knock out well above our weight.
24 Mar 2012, 15:48 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-153:
hey Red, yuou have won the Bledisloe 12 times already, thats more than enough if
you ask me
24 Mar 2012, 15:49 pm
yeah u guys are pretty amazing for such a small population, but thats cos everyone plays rugby, even the fkn sheilas, what a country, rugby and lamb, u buggers def got some things right, but your beer is ****.
24 Mar 2012, 15:50 pm
@cab(cab)-157: don’t start bagging speights,your crossing the line there.
24 Mar 2012, 15:52 pm
@cab(cab)-157:
Our beer has won a few awards….. I heard Brycies cousin was one of the judges so he should know what a good beer is.
24 Mar 2012, 15:52 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-154: @dermie(dermie)-155: I guess we can all thow out our arguments. SA have a large black population who play soccer who could be great in rugby. NZ has a tiny population, and Australia has League and AFL dipping into the player pool.
At the end of the day, we all love rugby, and i think its close enough between the three nations to keep it interesting. If NZ had a 50 million population, it would not be close, if the black population of SA played rugby, it would not be close, and if AFL and league didnt exist, it would not be close.
It’s pretty even between the big 3 and I love it.
24 Mar 2012, 15:53 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-159:
that makes sense, brycie’s about as patriotic as they come, horrendous crookery.
24 Mar 2012, 15:55 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-160:
course, forgot about the AFL.
But there is nothing like that game at the MCG.
Was lucky enough to be shouted to a game there by work. Hated the game until i saw it live.
Still dont get it but damn its fast.
24 Mar 2012, 15:55 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-156: its enough when i say its enough. haha.
I dont mind a kiwi beer or a saffa beer for that matter.
Not sure about this Windhoek advertisement in my face all night.
24 Mar 2012, 15:56 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-160: don’t count aussie,i’m pretty sure we’ve got close to a 70% win ratio over them.
24 Mar 2012, 15:56 pm
@cab(cab)-161:
Yep and he consistent as well, how else would you have beaten the British lions without Brycies bad calls.
24 Mar 2012, 15:58 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-162: Yeah i dont understand that game either. its ok watching it live though. its just convicts gaelic football. thats the best way i know how to describe it
24 Mar 2012, 15:58 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-165:
he was suprisingly good in that series, a once-off
later.
24 Mar 2012, 16:00 pm
@dermie(dermie)-164:
67.83% to be precise
24 Mar 2012, 16:01 pm
yip those were the days when he could still see straight, but boy o boy, once he got back to his hometown, bakkies had more chance of falling pregnant than the bokkie going thru under his (golden) watch.
horrendous, shouldnt be allowed.
24 Mar 2012, 16:01 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-160: just find the record on how many registered players in each country and the winner is the one with the least.
24 Mar 2012, 16:02 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-168: pretty close lol.
@cab(cab)-167:
lol yeah i thought so.
Later Cab
And thats me as well, goodnight all, 3.00am here getting a bit tired.
@dermie(dermie)-164: on wiki it says 56% win.
if we are talking about the last 8 games, then you have won 12.5% of your matches. Just saying
24 Mar 2012, 16:07 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-173: 69.58%
24 Mar 2012, 16:10 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-173: our largest lose only 21 points.
24 Mar 2012, 16:11 pm
@dermie(dermie)-174: my memory only goes back 8 games, so its 12.5 % (1 win from 8)
24 Mar 2012, 16:15 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-173: last 8,50 %,don’t know where your getting your info from?but it’s wrong
24 Mar 2012, 16:16 pm
Boks have beaten wallabies 1 from 8 in their last 8 games. you kidding. i thought stats like that keep you saffas awake and in cold sweats at night.
24 Mar 2012, 16:17 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-176: sorry i’m wrong it’s 75% to the all blacks.
24 Mar 2012, 16:17 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-178: an aberration. Normal service will shortly resume.
24 Mar 2012, 16:18 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-178: i’m a kiwi.
24 Mar 2012, 16:19 pm
Sorry 6 from 7 then. here are the records
9 October 2011
Westpac Stadium, Wellington
9 – 11
Australia
2011 Rugby World Cup
13 August 2011
Mr Price Kings Park, Durban
9 – 14
Australia
2011 Tri Nations Series
23 July 2011
ANZ Stadium, Sydney
39 – 20
Australia
4 September 2010
Vodacom Park, Bloemfontein
39 – 41
Australia
2010 Tri Nations Series
28 August 2010
Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
44 – 31
South Africa
24 July 2010
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
30 – 13
Australia
5 September 2009
Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
21 – 6
Australia
24 Mar 2012, 16:21 pm
@dermie(dermie)-181: ahh your a kiwi. haha. thats where we are going wrong. im an ozzie.
yeah im not gonna argue on that one. we’ve been getting smashed. ok dermie im off. gotta go warm up the tv for the reds vs bulls match
24 Mar 2012, 16:22 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-180: i hope not
24 Mar 2012, 16:22 pm
@We are red(Redbull)-183: cheers.
24 Mar 2012, 16:24 pm
Who says Jake White aint a good coach?
24 Mar 2012, 16:36 pm
@ShaunSwindon(Karma-zaf)-186: great intercept?’landers smashed ‘em everwhere bar the final score.great coaching?bit of dumb luck mes think.
24 Mar 2012, 16:42 pm
Even without the intercept you still would have only drawn.
Pull your head out of yer bum.
Fact is you didn’t smash them anywhere.
24 Mar 2012, 16:45 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-188: stats don’t lie.
24 Mar 2012, 16:54 pm
Stats schmats.
Look you are upset and that’s understandable.
Sober up and watch the game again and then tell me who you smashed tomorrow.
Cheers buddy.
Your skipper looked like he had been doedpoesed with a 2 by 4 at the post match interview.
Smashed indeed.
24 Mar 2012, 17:17 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-190: back at you.
25 Mar 2012, 08:04 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-190:
lol seems we could use that same post for you in the RWC 2011 Quarter final
26 Mar 2012, 04:15 am
Jake White hands another huge dose of STFU to the poopa-loopers of the world!
What a genius… rugby is back in the ACT thanks to him!