Cheetahs push Crusaders close
24 Mar 2012
GARETH DUNCAN watched Israel Dagg score a late try to give the Crusaders a 28-21 win over the Cheetahs in Christchurch.
The men from Bloemfontein showed a great fightback to overcome an 18-3 deficit early in the second half to draw level at 21-21 in the final quarter. The Crusaders bossed possession in the dying moments and battled against a resilient Cheetahs defence, which managed to hold up two try attempts.
However, on the third go, Dagg found space out wide and dived over for the match-winning score in the 75th minute. The Cheetahs finally grabbed hold of the ball in their red zone as the hooter blew, but after failing to make ground, Johan Goosen booted play into to touch to settle for the losing bonus point – a disappointing finish to the match for many.
While the Crusaders will be disappointed with their overall performance, they will be happy with the showing from their heavies, which set the platform for their 15-point lead earlier in the match.
The Crusaders forwards were dominant in the first half, as their Highlanders-like counter rucking overturned possession on numerous occasions while they also controlled the scrum contests. This saw the Cheetahs, who started the match with two new props in Trevor Nyakane and Lourens Adriaanse, penalised heavily at the set piece.
This saw Tom Taylor slot two three-pointers before the hosts kicked one penalty into touch, and scored a well-worked try from the resulting lineout – a smart backline move put Sean Maitland through for the first try of the match. The Cheetahs could only score a Goosen penalty as the half-time score read 11-3 in the Crusaders’ favour.
When Robbie Fruean dotted down early in the second stanza, the floodgates were expected to open as the Cheetahs are known for imploding in the final 40. But they didn’t on this occasion, as a brilliant counter attacking motion from their own 22 was finish off by Goosen and sparked a comeback.
The 19-year-old flyhalf kicked his second penalty before Robert Ebersohn burrowed through from close range. Goosen levelled the scores from the kicking tee.
It seemed that the Cheetahs had some ticker in the tank to upset the Crusaders, but Dagg ended their hopes after persistent attacking pressure from the hosts at the death.

102 Comments
24 Mar 2012, 08:32 am
DRAGONS don’t scare Cheetahs…
24 Mar 2012, 08:36 am
LOL at Heaven’s Game.
24 Mar 2012, 08:37 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-1:
You backed them in the Bru then
You’re fair moving up the log!
24 Mar 2012, 08:44 am
Go cheetahs…!
You’ve done it at home… Now do it away too…!!!
24 Mar 2012, 08:49 am
Anybody maybe have a link to a live feed ?
24 Mar 2012, 08:50 am
How utter rubbish are these Kiwi refs, they are incompetent and it seems that to me that they cheat
24 Mar 2012, 08:56 am
Jakkals…
Try http://kostatz.webs.com
Was posted on previous thread by someone
24 Mar 2012, 09:01 am
Is it my eyes or does stadium lighting look a bit inadequate?
24 Mar 2012, 09:04 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-8: Third world quality nothing but a school stadium
24 Mar 2012, 09:07 am
Crusaders looking inadequate too!
24 Mar 2012, 09:20 am
these saders are quite ordinary…something missing.
24 Mar 2012, 09:21 am
Common Cheetahs!!!
24 Mar 2012, 09:22 am
Yep, no McCaw, no DC & no S”M”W
24 Mar 2012, 09:27 am
Watsup Guns workout done already????
24 Mar 2012, 09:27 am
@Guns(Guns)-13: Morning big fella.
24 Mar 2012, 09:31 am
Daneeeeeeel Kaaaaaaarter!!!!
In the HOUSE!
24 Mar 2012, 09:34 am
Fruean strait through for the 5 pointer..
24 Mar 2012, 09:34 am
Wow for a big guy Fruean has great balance.
He’d be my AB 13 with SBW at 12 for sure.
24 Mar 2012, 09:35 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-14: Morning Dawn, no not yet still getting the breakfast down first!
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-15:
Morning morning, how goes things in the Cape?
24 Mar 2012, 09:36 am
According to this site Cheetahs only have 2 subs..
Cheetahs – 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Cameron Jacobs, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Willie le Roux, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Tewis de Bruyn, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Justin Downey, 6 Heinrich Brüssow, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 George Earle, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Adriaan Strauss (c), 1 Trevor Nyakane.
Subs: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Coenie
24 Mar 2012, 09:37 am
TRY CHeetAHS!!!! What a try!!!
24 Mar 2012, 09:37 am
Fantastic team effort from the Cheetahs!
24 Mar 2012, 09:38 am
awesome Goosen in my Fantacy Team!!
24 Mar 2012, 09:38 am
@Guns(Guns)-19: Very well thank you, and on your side?
24 Mar 2012, 09:39 am
Hoosen!
24 Mar 2012, 09:39 am
2 mins.of Dan Carter and that backline machine is functioning well again.
24 Mar 2012, 09:41 am
Excellent l try for the Cheetahs, ball moved across changed hands 6 time
24 Mar 2012, 09:41 am
That tackle was OK.
Read is a great player, but he does give away a fair amount of penalties.
24 Mar 2012, 09:42 am
This is great so far. Remind me, which of these teams is a “cellar dweller”
24 Mar 2012, 09:47 am
Great team try cheetahs..!
No prob with tackle but ref unsighted did correct thing to put it on review with white card
24 Mar 2012, 09:47 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-24:
Been another busy busy week, slept till 7am this morning felt privileged! lol Hopefully will have some nice warm weather in London today..
24 Mar 2012, 09:49 am
Min 55
A dropped ball by the cheetahs wing,, what did you expect?
24 Mar 2012, 09:51 am
This referee is an idiot. How many odd decisions has he made. Playing the ball on the ground when the ball was kicked to the guy. Not picking up the tackle without the ball in the first half too.
The referee can understand set plays by the book but open play is just too fast for his small brain.
24 Mar 2012, 09:51 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-28:
@Dawn(Dawn)-25:
On another note, if any of you see Ron Howards new movie coming out next year “RUSH” – IF they keep the South African filming in the film & you see two South African Polise officers, I am the one with the stern face!!
If ur into F1 it’s a biography of Formula 1 champion driver Niki Lauda and the 1976 crash that almost claimed his life. Mere weeks after the accident, he got behind the wheel to challenge his rival, James Hunt.
Director:
Ron Howard
Writer:
Peter Morgan (screenplay)
Stars:
Chris Hemsworth (Thor) , Olivia Wilde (Tron Legacy) and Natalie Dormer (Casanova, Capt America)
24 Mar 2012, 09:53 am
Ron Howard did “A beautiful Mind”, “Apolo 13″ and many more.. Such a nice bloke too..
24 Mar 2012, 09:53 am
@ufo(ufo)-30:
Didn’t he also give a penalty?
24 Mar 2012, 09:56 am
@chch(chch)-36:
Penalty for offside in better position. He thought the tackle was a penalty too though, for some reason. Playing different game to the rest of us i think.
24 Mar 2012, 09:57 am
Damn that was almost a score if Le Roux got away!
24 Mar 2012, 09:58 am
TRY! kITTIES!!!
24 Mar 2012, 09:58 am
CHEEEEEETAHS
24 Mar 2012, 09:59 am
Movie star too!
24 Mar 2012, 10:01 am
Wearing my Cheetahs armband.
They can’t lose!
24 Mar 2012, 10:01 am
Loving the way the Cheetahs are playing at the moment, great stuff to see. Goosen is going to be a brilliant flyhalf for the Bokke eventually. Go Cheetahs even though I have the Saders in my superBru.
24 Mar 2012, 10:02 am
I am amazed at how quiet the crowd is. been a long time away from home.
24 Mar 2012, 10:03 am
Ch..
Yeah.. was answering commentators…
But without clear sight he obviously felt it deserved it… with no access to instant replays don’t think it’s the worst decision… rather err on side of caution… if it’d been the other way round would’ve accepted the decision too…
don’t think it will determine outcome of game…
cheetahs playing really well at the mo… crux not as well as they should…
24 Mar 2012, 10:03 am
What’s up peasants? Good game?
24 Mar 2012, 10:04 am
21-21
HAAK VRYSTAAT
@ufo(ufo)-45: What did I miss UFO, was there a white card shown?
Go Cheetahs!!! Will be awesome if they win!!
24 Mar 2012, 10:05 am
Thanks tartan…
I missed that
24 Mar 2012, 10:07 am
anyone still rating Lambie ahead of Goosen for bok fly half don’t know squat about rugby. Like rating a Vw golf above a Maseratti
Move over Steyn – Lambie here is Bok fly half already matured and ready at 19 years of age
24 Mar 2012, 10:07 am
Yeah bananaboy… for a tip tackle that wasnt
24 Mar 2012, 10:08 am
Prepare for a long timeout
24 Mar 2012, 10:09 am
oh to be a TMO….
24 Mar 2012, 10:09 am
TRY NO TRY, and we cant c the ball being grounded by Saders
24 Mar 2012, 10:11 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-51: too young but great potential, Jantjies outplayed him one on one so would give nod to Jantjies as understudy to Steyn
24 Mar 2012, 10:11 am
very difficult to defend from uncontested scrums
24 Mar 2012, 10:12 am
Vok man cheetahs get off your own tryline
Hey Katman… Good rugby this am… Cheetahs looking good..
great defence Cheetahs
Dagg scores!
24 Mar 2012, 10:16 am
Not near a tv. Sounds tense.
24 Mar 2012, 10:18 am
and the Cheetahs secure the point by kicking the ball out
24 Mar 2012, 10:19 am
Goosen kicked it out, why?
what the f(uck goosen?!!!!!
Ja nee Goosen is so talented he would rather lose than try to win!!! WTF??
24 Mar 2012, 10:20 am
interesting decision by Goosen to kick it out, keeping in mind Crusdaers only needed 1 more try for bonus point and the Cheetahs now at least come away with a point…not seeing it as such a bad decision.
your guys thoughts?
To confuse Skoppie.
Hoosen???
24 Mar 2012, 10:21 am
Thats absolute white flag rubbish!!
what a doos, goosen kicks it out………….like a boxer staying down after a little slap………sorry boet you need to grow some balls if you want to go further!!
Two very good games this morning…
Sharks and Cheetahs both played excellent rugby but just came up short…
Pity…
24 Mar 2012, 10:22 am
Hy was so geleer deur buurman van zyl.you cant blame him this is how they get coached at school level
24 Mar 2012, 10:22 am
i somehow dont see it as throwing a white flag, are you guys here always complaining about how Cheetah teams gift overseas teams 5 points?
24 Mar 2012, 10:23 am
@Papoose(papaown)-67:
They were not under pressure and you would have thought that they would have had a go
24 Mar 2012, 10:24 am
Cameron Jacobs dropped 3 balls today. If he wants to play like the old Saru players of the 80′s then he must go to Zimbabwe! shocking! Hennie was also poor in the second half
24 Mar 2012, 10:26 am
Also very dissapointed in Ashley letting his body go like that. That is not how a pro rugby player should look like, did he swallow enrico january?
24 Mar 2012, 10:28 am
@grant10(grant100)-77: you are not Grant… GO AWAY
24 Mar 2012, 10:28 am
Goosen obviously not the quickest snail on the wall…?
Not the guy we want making decisions for the Boks…
Yet, anyway…
Still loads of potential… needs time to fulfill it…
24 Mar 2012, 10:29 am
@chch(chch)-75: just trying to defend the young lad, i reckon his team is going to give it to him in the changeroom
24 Mar 2012, 10:31 am
It wasnt that stupid to kick the ball out. The reality is a draw was the only outcome they could hope for, and that was pending a conversion possibly from the touchline. Plus the Cheetahs were out on their feet and attacking from deep within their own half would leave them vulnerable to Crusaders attack and potential score or penalty leaving them outwith the 7 and they would have got nothing out of the game.
24 Mar 2012, 10:31 am
@chch(chch)-75:
blooody right
24 Mar 2012, 10:33 am
@pat1(pat1)-81:
got to give it a go dude…….
24 Mar 2012, 10:33 am
@pat1(pat1)-81: that’s what i’m saying, but the same time it is a defeatist mentality and a lack of belief in your teammates?
24 Mar 2012, 10:34 am
Chch…
Well done Crusaders… that’s what champion teams do…
Welcome home..!!
24 Mar 2012, 10:36 am
What ****?? The draw would give them 2 points and also the Saders 2!! The 1 point is not going to get the Cheetahs in the semis!!
24 Mar 2012, 10:40 am
Pragmatic choice by Goosen, also pretty defeatist. He’ll learn from it either way, so it’s not a wasted exercise.
24 Mar 2012, 10:41 am
Gotta give it everything till the final whistle…
the rest of the team looked like having a go…
24 Mar 2012, 10:41 am
@pat1(pat1)-81: dude had FOUR players outside of him ready to have crack…his captain held his hands on his head when he saw the ball flying in the air!
i’m interested to see what the reaction was from the coaches box.
24 Mar 2012, 10:43 am
Unbelievable, missed most of what sounds like an incredible game, my lifestyle seriously starting to get in the way of my rugby viewing, and this from a person that would not go to her own sisters wedding if the Sharks were playing in a Currie Cup semi.
Possible I will miss the 2 big games this evening, so please give running commentary when they are on.
24 Mar 2012, 11:06 am
@JL1(JL1)-6:
6th post in and first cheating ref comment, more to come.
24 Mar 2012, 11:09 am
@JL1(JL1)-9:
You seem to forget, we still here in amongst damaged roads, houses get pulled down still and half the city still is not able to be accessed by the public.
This includes Jade stadium which will probably be pulled down.
So *** off
24 Mar 2012, 11:14 am
Cane, and its been 1 year allready? your government just as ****** as SA’s! look at the **** … now there are hard workers!
24 Mar 2012, 11:17 am
@grant10(grant100)-93:
And i live here.
Its a mess. Billions of dollars to be spent.
Unless you have walked down the streets, you really dont know the amount of damage.
24 Mar 2012, 11:26 am
@grant10(grant100)-93: Insensitive wanker
24 Mar 2012, 11:39 am
Congrats to the Saders for a returning win to Christchurch. Congrats to my beloved Cheetahs for showing great fighting spirit!
24 Mar 2012, 12:03 pm
Howzit Hurricane
24 Mar 2012, 12:22 pm
what ever happened to playing the ball to the end??
all this kicking out to end the half or game – its not in Good sport and fair to fans who pay good money
Goosen – Brain explosion??
24 Mar 2012, 12:52 pm
Goosen confirms what we have already known a very long tine
its 2 for the price of 1 lobotomies for rugby players in Yappieland
24 Mar 2012, 23:11 pm
Still not sure what a yap is?
25 Mar 2012, 11:06 am
@ufo(ufo)-88:
Cheers UFO. Top effort by the Cheetahs too.
It’s a really close and interesting competition all round.
26 Mar 2012, 10:40 am
@whatever(whatever)-71: @THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-66: @Transformation(Transformation)-65: @Hondo(Hondo)-64:
That was Naka’s instruction, that is why he looked so gatvol when he kicked it, Goossen was follwing orders!!