Stormers won’t end trophy drought

MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, says the Stormers don’t have what it takes to win this year’s Super Rugby tournament.

The Stormers may be the only unbeaten team in Super Rugby but they are looking no better than they did in 2010 and last year, where they relied on defence to get to the play-offs but never had the attacking game to win the tournament.

Defensively the Stormers were again colossal in defying the Lions, but the lack of attacking edge is looking all too familiar for a side whose players draw too much inspiration from making a tackle and not enough from making a break.

Springbok wing Bryan Habana is again turning half chances into points and the set piece is as strong as the team’s defensive desire, but there needs to be greater emphasis on attack if the Stormers are to challenge seriously for their first championship win.

The Bulls are the most complete and balanced of the South African contenders and their ruthlessness is unmatched in this year’s tournament. Twice in five weeks they’ve created the opportunity to demolish the opposition and they’ve been uncompromising in delivering the most lethal of finishes.

The Reds were never going to win in Pretoria. Injury has hurt the Queenslanders’ title defence, flyhalf and playmaker Quade Cooper is hugely missed and the players are finding the wearing of the crown decidedly tougher than the 2011 chase to attain it.

They would never have envisaged conceding 61 points and taking a 53-point beating, and for all the extenuating circumstances the scars of this defeat won’t heal easily. I’d be surprised to see them win the tournament this year. They don’t have the depth to counter the injury situation and so far they haven’t enjoyed the good fortune of last year.

I also can’t see the Stormers winning the title, which doesn’t mean they can’t suffocate the Bulls at Newlands this weekend and score a laboured once-off victory. Home-ground comforts remain an advantage in this tournament, but so do bonus points for scoring four-try wins.

The Stormers will always be tough to beat because their mindset is that of a team that plays not to lose, instead of playing to win. But the manner of victory should no longer be in duping their supporters into believing that the style of play is capable of delivering silverware. It isn’t.

The Bulls are playing with expression and belief, and incumbent Bok flyhalf Morné Steyn has profited from the bulldozing dominance of his team-mates in contact and at the set piece.

Steyn is showing that he can control a game with more than his boot, but the criticism that he has limitations when there is no forward momentum remains as valid as it was a year ago.

He is playing with greater enjoyment than he did a year ago and if his form holds until June, he will start for the Boks against England, with Pat Lambie, Johan Goosen and Elton Jantjies providing options. It has been a long time since the country’s stocks at flyhalf have been this high.

Goosen continues to scamper up the ladder in his first season in Super Rugby, although his decision to end the game against the Crusaders with a kick to touch was a contradiction of his talent. He offers too much as a player to adopt such a defeatist and conservative mindset and hopefully his team-mates gave him a blast at the final whistle.

The Cheetahs, the people’s favourites in New Zealand as much as they are in SA, are still too content with coming second. The same is true of the Lions, who lost again at home.

How long can a team be young? How long can players be commended for their character in a losing cause? How many more Super Rugby excuses for SA’s domestic champions?

Every team suffers injury. Every team battles hardship in this tournament, but there comes a time when a team must be judged on how many games — and not friends — they win.

And that time has surely come for the Lions.

They have the game and the players to defeat the Crusaders in Johannesburg this weekend, just as the Stormers have the mentality to beat the Bulls.

Both results are possible but I am not as convinced of the possibility that the Stormers or the Lions can be potential championship winners.

To convince me that it can be any other way, the Stormers have to change the way they win games and the Lions have to start winning some games. Ditto the Cheetahs and Sharks.

As for the Bulls … don’t change a thing.

355 Comments

• 1.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Just as I track it down, it gets posted here on Keo.

Anyway, nice article.

Can’t say I disagree.

• 2.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Bulls are going to silence Newlands by half time. Plenty of parking spots available by the time the final whistle goes.

• 3.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-2:

You reckon this Bulls team is the real deal? They still seem a bit inconsistent to me. That’s excusable, given the load of youngsters in the team, but it does make predictions a bit more difficult.

That said, I can’t help but notice that your Superbru advice on Thursday proved to be very wise, once again.

• 4.grunk: Reply to this comment

Maybe the lottery of Rugby results that have been the norm rather than the exception will work in our favour for a change. Strangely enough, I don’t agree with Keohane though. I need to see the Stormers pack against the Bulls this weekend to make up my mind because I think they have something special going on there at the moment (with only Koster not bad but not living up to the form of the rest) – giving them a stable and very forceful platform that they haven’t had for quite a few seasons – and if they continue in that vein, I think it is quite probable that the backline will then get the confidence to start expressing themselves

• 5.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@grunk(grunk)-4:

The backline is limited by the 9-10 combo.

There are at least 3 scumhalves better than Duvenage in SA at the moment (4 if you include the exciting young Piet van Zyl) and about 5 flyhalves better than Grant.

I agree that the Stormers pack is probably the best its been in 10 years. And their outside backs are not too shabby either.

But that 9-10 combo just has average written all over it.

• 6.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@grunk(grunk)-4: When?/ When will this backline “express” themselves?/

they need to score F@cking tries and not express themselves!! I believe the stormers have rid the tag of light five and not having grunt upfront for some time now.. teams surely do not take them lightly… but the backs have become more stagnant in attacks than ever before… I choose a cavalier backline scoring great tries above these “ugly” wins taking the team to no silverware..

• 7.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-3: I think they’re the strongest SA challenge this year by some margin. How they do on the road will determine their season though. No real weaknesses in their squad. Great tight 5, nice balance in the loosies (I like the look of this Stander bloke), two fantastic options at scrumhalf, solid kicker and a backline that seems to know when to spread it wide. He may have his detractors (and I’ve been one of them) but Wynand Olivier is showing great form and could prove to be very good alongside Johan Sadie. If I were a betting man, I’d back them for the title.

• 8.Provvas: Reply to this comment

O BTW…nice article Tac.. I mean Keo. :)

• 9.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-7: I think you are a bit premature with your praise for the bulls… they have only beaten one team away from home like you said… away from home will decide their tournament.. But do not eat this media hype of how they now suddenly are champs again.. lest see them play more teams like the blues (Who by the way are bottom of the logg and has beaten them) Teams like the Crusaders, Highlanders, Sharks in the tank etc.

I do think they are playing good ruggas though… and they did what had to be done to teams that were not at full strength…. unlike the stormers that should have taken that first 20 minutes and kept playing like that…
    the bulls beat a depleted reds at loftus and beat the Big “R” in Bloem… not enough to call them champs in my opinion..

• 10.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-7:

I retain the view that you need 11 wins to get a home semi.

That means the Bulls need 8 more. If they lose 2 on tour, that means they can lose 1 of their next two games in SA (Stormers and Crusaders), and 1 more after they’re back.

Tough ask, but getting a home semi should be difficult.

The Stormers just need 7 more wins. But the home semi is of course mutually exclusive for the SA teams, so for one to go through, the others need to slip up.

Interesting road ahead.

• 11.Michael: Reply to this comment

I thoroughly enjoyed the style employed by the Bulls on Saturday, forwards and backs. Some of the backline moves had Pieter Rossouw written all over them and reminded me of this playing days when Alan Solomon was his main coach. Contra others, I was unimpressed with Jacques Potgieter who struck me as a brain-dead player that needs a good kicking onto the right track.

I felt the Stormers pack was good until early into the second half when they started to tire and the Lions forwards displayed good technique. Duvenhage’s decision making was uncharacteristically terrible and there was no innovation in the play of Duvenhage, Grant and JdV. JdJ, Aplon, Hurdles and Joe tried their best, on the rare occassions they saw a ball (which was never in any kind of space). The backline was static and there were no players running proper angles and onto the ball at pace. There is a question mark over the Stormers backline coaching; well, is it that Fleck cannot step up (then again the backline was playing with more flair in the Currie Cup) or is it that he can only do so much within the gameplan and tactics decided on by AC. The game plan will win more matches than it loses, but it needs tweaking…

The Bulls have to be favourites for the coming weekend. Then again, who can predict the outcome of derbies sometimes.

• 12.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

Jacques Potgieter is establishing himself as one of the new “hardmen” in SA rugby, the boy is fearless – @ times a bit hot under the collar also :smile: .

The time has come for someone to step into the huge empty boots Juan Smith has left. We have alot of pretenders to the crown – but as yet, their game “savvy” still lacks.

• 13.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar(Pot Blou Gevaar)-12: You must have that Maak die bulle almal bokke song on repeat on your walkman (Do not think you know what a I pod is)

And you probably believe Cj stander, werner Kruger. Both Potgieters and everything blue must be a bok….

• 14.grunk: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus

If only you hadn’t stolen JJ. (Keohane also thinks a bit too highly of Habana’s 2nd Coming). Re your comments on our half-backs, Duvenage has always been more than adequate without being brilliant and Grant is only in No 5 flyhalf spot because of the superb talent we have now (at last) in that position. Neither of them can be classified though as weakspots. In fact they both have the ability to read the tempo of a game and play to it. De Jongh however is not carrying through his form thus far of last year.

• 15.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar(Pot Blou Gevaar)-12: The one infringement in front of the ref was that of a brain dead moron.

• 16.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Yoh

This is like that round where we just managed to beat the Sharks and the Bulls destroyed the Cheetahs.

We all know what happened the week thereafter.

The Bulls got whipped by a B-Grade Blues outfit, the same ones the Stormers took care of with relative ease the following weekend.

We await the arrival of these flat track bully chest beating Bulls at Newlands.

• 17.Michael: Reply to this comment

@grunk(grunk)-14: Grant is steady. He is a very reliable player and brings balance. However, he reminds – in tennis terms – of being the No 1 guy in the second team whereas WP & the Stormers need to be moulding their new 1st team player.

• 18.Getafix: Reply to this comment

To think the stormers rejected Hougie,JJ, sadie and J Potgieter…..

• 19.Michael: Reply to this comment

@grunk(grunk)-14: JdJ isn’t receiving the ball in any kind of space. It’s being killed by JdV.

• 20.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Keo has it right, but he also has it wrong as far as the Stormers are concerned.

Yes the lack on Bonus points will come back to haunt them.

Yes the lack of attacking play may cost them a chance at a home semi.

But where Keo is wrong is in the why the Stormers will struggle to win the competition.

And now I will tell you why: (listening?)

Firstly it’s a long competition as we all keep saying.

Secondly the teams that get a home semi (and a home final) will have a massive advantage, something that the Stormers will struggle to get without any bonus points. Everyone, including Keo, knows this.

But most importantly it’s the way they play that makes it hard to win the competition, not in the lack of attacking play as Keo says, but the way that they seem to prefer to play without the ball rather than with it.

Their defensively focussed game means that they will have to make many more tackles that their opposing team, even when they win. Often especially when they win. Expending much more energy defending for the majority of the game. Putting their bodies on the line for the full 80 minutes because they never have a good enough lead to coast at all.

You cannot play that way the whole season and be fresh enough come play-off time to actually compete as well in the play-off games (at least 2, possibly 3 games, most away) as they did in the first half of the season. The players are either crocked, overplayed or just plain finished.

Yes, better player management (something that AC has been very bad at) will help, and better depth in the high impact positions (that we undoubtedly have this year compared to the previous years), particularly the forwards will help too, but you cannot deny that expending twice as much energy each game than your opponents will mean that you will not have enough left in the tank come play-offs.

• 21.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Potgieter did nothing special! Just played with a dominant Bulls team and ended up looking good!

• 22.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Getafix(phil72)-18: No, Sadie demanded far too much money and a guarantee of a starting spot, neither of which was justified. His form at the Bulls is nothing to write home about.
    Out of the players you mention, JJ is promising and will grow into an excellent player. Potgieter is brain dead. Hougie is marvellous.

• 23.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar(Pot Blou Gevaar)-12: he is still very far from competing in the international arena though…still imature and goes walk-about late in the game.

• 24.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-15:

True, Potgieter is a hot head.

Needs to calm down.

In any case, Stander and Botha are the really exciting prospects, in my view.

• 25.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Provvas(Provvas)-13:
    On the contrary guy – I think most of us knows that a fully fit Burger still had the inside lane @ 7, I for one agree with that general assesment.
    Next in line, Willem Alberts.
    Jacques Potgieter – well some of the silly stuff is probably a slingshot back to rugby’s amateur days. But he has oodles of grunt. When guys like that is around – well maybe Brad Thorn would not be busy tossing Barney around like a rag doll. You need enforcers, perfectly exceptable in rugby circles.
    That I can promise you, :wink: .

• 26.just plain boris: Reply to this comment

I am getting tired of watching the Stormers scrape by with half chance tries. Show us at least one innovative set piece move pleeeeease. When Fleck first stepped in we saw moves off the back of scrums that cut defenses to bits. He also got the back line to stand deeper and give themselves space to work running angles. Once opposition teams worked this out it was always going to be down to the inside backs to work the options and vary their play accordingly. This has not materialised and AC’s plan seems to have been to use Schalk as first receiver for ruck ball!?! I do not see any silverware in the pipeline for the Stormers by playing these halfbacks, particularly “popgun punt, have a go” Grant.

• 27.gecko: Reply to this comment

In the long, unfortunately the Stormers will get nowhere with Duvenhage at 9. Just kicks too much ball away. The Jake White style influence on Alistair Coetzee is looming large. Our backline is dull as dishwater.

• 28.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-16:

Another valid comment. Until the Bulls can deliver a measure of consistency by stringing together impressive victories for a few consecutive weeks, it remains too early to view them as the real deal.

However, as I said at the start of the tournamen, the Bulls team that finishes this competition will be far better than the one that started it. They will learn through some tough losses, but the growth path is clear.

• 29.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-24: Agreed.

Stander isn’t a true fetcher. I suspect he is better suited to be a No 7 in the longer term.

• 30.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-20:

I just think we go to sleep once we’ve established a lead.

We take control of games pretty early (vs Canes, Blues & Lions) then relax after 60 minutes but usually end up waking up before the other team gets too close.

So don’t agree we defend too much, we defend too early im my opinion.

• 31.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-23:
    Fully agree Trans – the boy is by no means International standard as yet. You have to admit though that he is very much the kind of player that would not take a step backwards.
    Similar to what Elstadt anounced last year that he does not give a toss about Bakkies’ reputation.
    We sometimes watch rugby for the confrontational element as well, :lol: .

• 32.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar(Pot Blou Gevaar)-25: Pottie has ability but not the brains. He needs to calm down. His brawn isn’t going to win him many battles when he comes up similar strong and well conditioned players. He needs to learn to use his head.

• 33.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-29:

He was just filling out at no.6 due to Stegman’s absence.

In truth, he’s hardly ever played 6 before. So he did exceptionally well under the circumstances. Against the Blues he was only pulled in on the Friday before the game.

This week he had time to train in that position and did very well for someone who is actually a 7.

• 34.Getafix: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-22:
    Pottie is one of the reasons why the bulls have been controlling the collision point… and that is where you win ore loose rugby matches!

• 35.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-28:

Same applies to the Stormers.

Our attack is letting us down by the fact that we can’t sustain it.

We score early tries, and then nothing.

But hopefully that will be sorted out come the biz end of the tournament.

• 36.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-30: Maybe.

If that were true then it would be easier to correct than the stiuation I laid out.

• 37.cab: Reply to this comment

nope, if province pitch up with the right attitude, they have the beating of the bulls and then some. elstadt should def be selected for this fixture, koster to come on in last 20.

• 38.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Getafix(phil72)-18: the same stormers didn’t see quality in willie le roux when he played for boland and scored 16 tries in the currie cup First Div and was nominated for Player of the Year :roll:

• 39.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

If we were to be honest about a Stormers vs Bulls match-up it would go something like this:

Front row: Not an awful lot to choose between them. Let’s call it even.

Second row: Much has been written about the towering Stormers duo, but Juandre and Flip haven’t lost a battle to date. I’d call this one even too.

Back row: Both have quality and depth here. The Bulls’ weak spot is the crash ball specialist, Potgieter, while the Stormers would want more from Koster. Kolisi and Vermeulen pretty much cancel out Stander and Spies. Another even score.

Half backs: Bulls by some distance, including the bench options. Duvenhage and Grant simply don’t compete in the same league as Hougaard and Steyn.

Midfield: Another very close call. On paper you’d have to fancy the Stormers, but in the real world the less fashionable Olivier and Sadie look the business. I’m calling it even.

Outside backs: Great talent on both sides. Basson is scoring tries, and Ndungane and Kirchner are in good nick. For the Stormers, Habana is returning to form and Pietersen and Aplon hardly ever have a poor game. Even again.

Bench: The only two squads in SA with real depth across all positions. Nothing to choose here.

In conclusion, these teams are very evenly matched, except for the halfback combinations. And this is where the game will be won or lost.

Bulls by 10.

• 40.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-39:

After all that how did you end up with…

Bulls by 10 :-)

• 41.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-40: It’s all there in the last paragraph.

Now pipe down before I change it to “Bulls by 15”.

• 42.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-37:

Koster is pap in die broek, been saying it for a while now.

Carr has to start, or just anybody with more meat and heart.

• 43.RobbieBull: Reply to this comment

My thoughts exactly. Good article.
    Have been supporting these chumps since 1997. I’ve had it wif their losing ways.And they going to lose again this year – mark my words. Proud bull now. Going to buy my supporters jersey at mr price sport today. Today I tell u :-)
    A massacre awaits newlands. Eks ‘n verraier ja – is nuks…

• 44.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-41:

Pipe down, is that what the Lions did Saturday eve?

• 45.Getafix: Reply to this comment

Bulls loosie combnation of Spies, Pottie and Stegman…. very balanced

• 46.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-42: I agree with you on Koster. He’s a good player to bring off the bench IMO.

I can’t wait for Schalk to come back. Schalk at 7 with Vermeulen at 8.

Siya at 6.

Good balance.

• 47.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-33: So he is a No 7. I think he is a better player than Potgieter.

@Getafix(phil72)-34: No, it is because Spies is getting stuck into doing the dirty work. Potgieter is the weak link in the loose trio. The Bulls would be wise to use Stander at 7 when Stegg returns.

• 48.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Pot Blou Gevaar(Pot Blou Gevaar)-31: trust me i know all about potgieter as i’ve watched him for 2 seasons at the Kings, he was one of my favorite players while with them but the MOST frustrating as he is prone to brainfarts at the most crucial of times!

if the bulls can iron out those kinks early then he will have a good future. in terms of commitment and throwig one’s body into everything, he is as mal as a young schalk burger…no regard for his own body :D

• 49.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-39: I think I’d shade the locks and front rows in favour of the Stormers.

We stole a bunch of your lineout ball this weekend.

Our weakness is our bench I think, but also the timing of the subs. AC is getting that wrong.

Also when you bring on a player like Ntubeni in a critical position like hooker and he cannot throw the ball in straight you are weakening the team, certainly not strengthening it,

This is not a new problem for Scarra. At least Deon Fourie gets half of them in straight.

• 50.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-38: Willie le Roux has been awesome. I hope he keeps it up and ends up in Bok contention.

• 51.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the supersport stats said kolisi made 17 – tackles and missed 0

where is willievz? we’ve got another barry geel here :lol:

• 52.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-46:

With Schalk there it’ll be near perfect.

Still feel we’re missing a deck player though, that’s one of the reasons we spend so long defending because even when we dominate a ruck we don’t always take advantage of it with a turnover.

But who would we leave out if we had that sort of player.

Kolisi is playing like a young Schalk almost.

• 53.Special Agent Raj Manipedi: Reply to this comment

I think I will support the Bulls this match.

They are spicier than my Uncle Deleep’s Chilli Shampoo.

• 54.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@RobbieBull(RobbieBull)-43: traitor!

• 55.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-42:
    Have to agree with that.

• 56.gecko: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-51: Wow, Hondo will be disappointed.

• 57.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

The Bulls have looked a different team with Olivier back at 12. He is hugely underrated at Super Rugby level.

As Ludeke said: When Olivier plays well, the Bulls do well.

Sadie still has to impress, though. He seems to be trying too hard to justify his price tag. Just play your natural game, son. Don’t have to score tries every game, or do tap-on passes to try and dazzle the crowd with your skillset.

JJ Engelbrecht is the type of player that can form the backbone of a team, though. Quitely goes about his business and gives 100% whenever he gets an opportunity.

I rate him.

• 58.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

quitely = quietly.

• 59.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-57: He’s a very good Super Rugby player.

• 60.Special Agent Raj Manipedi: Reply to this comment

Tacitus I see you like the Bulls more than you like the sevens?

I think I am also liking them too.

• 61.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

If the A-game Bulls rock up, it’s Hammer-time, irrespective of which Stormers team pitches up.

If the Blues-game Bulls rock up, the Stormers will take it.

Therefore my prediction is: I don’t know what the hell’s gonna happen.

• 62.Hoops: Reply to this comment

There is two problems in this team..

Just read how AC is slating Duvenhage for taking the tap kick….I mean……he wil now never try anything again……it should have been a penalty try yes…miles offside by lions……

Second problem is the old guys……telling us in public how we will lose by just a big margin after he heard how far the bulls won ( This is our captain JDV)

WTF? These young guys do not need you to warn them on big scores when you were the reason big scores got us mentally f@cked against the bulls……we need players who want to win the bulls…..not scared crazy of them!

AC should instead tell Duvenhage that if he ever kicks out on the full again he will be dropped for ever……..Duvenhage have his standard direct to touch kick in every game….this is useless man!

I have no faith in this team as their coach plays not to loose……

• 63.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-57:

Where do you feel the Stormers could target a potential weakness of the Bulls?

And where do you feel the Bulls will target Stormers.

• 64.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-57: meisiekind is highly rated at super rugby level, he’s been one of the most consistent performers over the past 5 years but he is kak at Test level.

• 65.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-62:

You must put yourself in his shoes.

JdV has deep rooted memories of a decade of thumpings from the Bulls.

You don’t shake that kind of thing off easily.

So cut him some slack.

• 66.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-63: Very close game to call. Evenly matched teams. I suppose he 1 place there could be a weakness is the mental side of things. Both teams will have the hunger to win, but some times, that hunger can cloud judgement and lead to mistakes, which could be the deciding factor.

• 67.Special Agent Raj Manipedi: Reply to this comment

What is a meisiekind?

• 68.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-63:

This game will be won or lost on attitude and focus, not on specific areas of technical superiority.

This Stormers team has essentially been cloned from the successful Bulls teams of the Matfield era.

Strong tight five, powerful line out, strong defense, although it seems they left out the crucial aspect of a dominant scrumhalf/flyhalf combination.

That said, the Bulls won most of their games in that era with atittude. Often they would put in a Blues type of performance, only for Heyneke to take them back and drill them to get the right attitude at the collisions. If you dominate the collisions, all else falls into place.

And that’s an attitude thing. On the day.

So let’s see what the two teams bring on the day, as Stormersboy said on the first page of this thread.

• 69.cab: Reply to this comment

only thing that bulls have over stormers this year is the psychological advantage of beating them at will for so many years, but stormers are the better team and they have a better pack. If stormers taken the bulls on upfront they will win and top the sa conference imo…and they can go all the way once elstadt and burger return.

• 70.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-64: LOL. It’s because he feel more comfortable wearing blue. it matches his eyes, complexion and the shade of blonde hair dye he uses.

• 71.cab: Reply to this comment

stormers only worse enemy is their hype, but if they dig deep and kitshoff, etsebeth, vermeulen and elstadt clean like they been doing, bulls cant match that intensity. if stormers dont come out with their hungry attitude, bulls will strangle them as in the past – but i think the stormers are coming for payback in this one..

• 72.Special Agent Raj Manipedi: Reply to this comment

Tacitus, surely the momentum will be with our team?

Also we have two losses last year against the stormers to revenge.

• 73.ufo: Reply to this comment

duvenahage could be playing a lot better.. for sure…

but that tap kick was the ref’s mistake…

lions had not retreated and more experienced refs would have taken it back for a redo… (as he couldn’t march them another 10 metres)…

scrummies take quick taps every weekend… and get 10m or a redo…

• 74.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-69:

I humbly disagree.

• 75.cab: Reply to this comment

just not sure coetzee is the coach that is needed to fire up their pack this week – he needs to get them ready to trap die bulle onnervoet.

• 76.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Special Agent Raj Manipedi(Raj Manipedi)-72:

One loss. We beat them at Newlands last year.

• 77.cab: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-74:
    as is your right, i see katman also reckons the bulls going to win, who knows, one things for sure it was a helluva result vs reds. think ludeke is right going to be close to a test match atmosphere, stadium probably sold out.

• 78.Special Agent Raj Manipedi: Reply to this comment

Excuse me for that.

I feel the Stormers will try and take the ferocious bulls on in the forwards and match them in their traditional strengths.

• 79.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-75:

Big difference is the Bulls will not be going into this game as they did against the Blues. They know they are going to Newlands, and that the Stormers are undefeated and frothing at the mouth.

You think the Bulls are going to run out with a passive attitude on Saturday?

They are going to come out chomping at the bit.

The clash of packs will be awesome to behold.

By the way, I think the Bulls backline is far better coached than that of the Stormers – who rely mostly on Aplon’s individual brilliance or a lucky kick and chase to score tries.

If the packs have parity, I expect the Bulls to dominate the game tactically through Morne, and on the attack through our backline.

But it is all dependent on the outcome of the forward battle, which will be epic. I can’t wait.

• 80.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-68:
    I think the Stormers can do themselve a favor, and play;
    6. Carr
    7. Kolisi
    8. Vermeulen
    and play Elstadt from the bench to cover lock.
    Still very much a 50/50 game though.
    Personal interest: I hope the “Reds” Bulls pitches up at Newlands this Saturday.., hehehe

• 81.cab: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-79:
    yip the bulls get up for this fixture like no other … i just think this stormers team is also not going to be bullied into submission this time and they have the players to take the Bulls on at their own game. I reckon we’ll know what stormers team is coming out to play in first 5 mins.

• 82.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-66:

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-68:

Or maybe if teams are matched for attitude on the day it will come down to individual brilliance?

Bulls have such a player in Hougaardt.

I’d back the evergreen Appels to do it on the Stormers’ side.

• 83.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-66: the stormers will be knackered if they employ the same “defence wins games tactic” agaisnt the inventive bulls. for example

tackles attempted – % made
    eben etzebeth 20 – 100%
    siya kolisi – 24 – 96%
    duanne verm – 27 – 93%
    nick koster – 29 – 97%
    jdv – 12 – 100%
    juan de jongh – 15 – 100%

none of the bulls loosie made more than 14 tackles each…

• 84.Couchcoach: Reply to this comment

Confucius say: “Team cannot win before they overcome the fear of losing”

This Stormers supporter believes the Bulls will win.

Another huge choke coming up…

• 85.Getafix: Reply to this comment

Brok Harris, Tiaan Liebenberg, Steven Kitshof….. Not one of them will make the bulls bench…… Where does the stormers supporters get this idea that they will dominate the bulls in the tight five?

• 86.cab: Reply to this comment

stormers got to play with their forward, retain possession, not kick it away, blitz the oppo with sheer intensity, they’ve got the pack for it – this is where ac and white were wrong.

• 87.gecko: Reply to this comment

@Getafix(phil72)-85: As long as Werner Kruger gives away his standard 3 scrum penalties a game, and never come near a Bok jersey again, I’ll be happy.

• 88.Couchcoach: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-86:

The Stormers will not and cannot change their whole rugby philosophy in a matter of a week. Expect another drab and boring approach

• 89.cab: Reply to this comment

greyling, kruger, flip and kruger all big boys but they dont have the athleticism of the stormers tight 5, stormers can wear them down and clean more rucks faster, and can even dominate if they pick elstadt to complement vermeulen – koster is like spies and stander, they stand off.

• 90.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-83: Agreed. I’m not really a fan of these stats because there’s no context to them. What use is a 90% + tackle percentage if an attacking player manages to offload in the tackle half the time. A tackle isn’t just a tackle. An effective tackle ensuring a turnover beats a skaapvang tackle every day of the week and twice on sundays.

• 91.cane: Reply to this comment

“”MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, says the Stormers don’t have what it takes to win this year’s Super Rugby tournament”".

So Okes, there, we have it!

Bookies can now expect a rush on “Stormers to win S15″.

Thousands of BIG PUNTERS, the World over, sit and wait for Keo to open his big mouth.

Then punt on the opposite actually happening.

Keo has made many of these leches on society very rich men/women/transies.

• 92.cab: Reply to this comment

imo bulls loosetrio is three of the same in potgieter, stander and spies. Its not great imo, tho spies looks to be a completely different player this year and is actually looking like a springbok no 8.

• 93.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-83:

Is that for the last game vs Lions?

I’d say the tackle count in derbies will more often than not be high, and this was an away match for Stormers as well.

We’re too reliant on our defence yes, but I don’t think we’re that poor on attack, we just fail to sustain it over 80 minutes or defend our leads too early.

• 94.Special Agent Raj Manipedi: Reply to this comment

I think it will be very important to the Stormers how Brok Harris plays at fly-half.

• 95.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-90: i know that, i’m just pointing to the number of tackles made and the effort/toll it takes on the body, remember i said the stormers will be “knackered” if they employ this strategy. remember both the bulls & stormers were playing injury ravaged teams but the stormers managed to get themselves outplayed by the depleted opposition while the bulls put the reds to the sword!

• 96.cab: Reply to this comment

@Special Agent Raj Manipedi(Raj Manipedi)-94:
    lol, special agent, do u know huge mthondo by any chance?

• 97.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-90:

Correct, had a long debate with PissAnt about the value of stats.

We were discussing Habana and he was saying how coaches value a player’s contribution on tackles, rucks attented etc.

Habana attends many rucks, but how often does he affect a clean out, or turnover?

By the way Habs had a better game this weekend, good to see.

But jir that loosie matched him for pace to the tryline the final bounce saved his rep on that one!

• 98.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Getafix(phil72)-85:

check the stats i posted on the other thread…

no emotion…

interesting reading…

• 99.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-95:

Bulls played at home, Stormers played away. That makes a huge difference in teams’ attitude in Super Rugby.

• 100.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-99: i’m going with Trans on this one. If you look at performance levels, you’ve got to give to the Bulls. What i’m struggling to understand is why the stormers are persisting with this plan, regardelss of its success. when they speak about building and developing their game, what do they actually mean? they are almost promoting and anti-rugby philosophy, where the team who plays the least has the best chance of victory. is it that they fear that they are better without the ball, in which case, sack fleckie. he’s not adding any value. i look at the cheetahs and i’m wholly impressed by their backline play. why do the stormers struggle to do this?

• 101.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Couchcoach(GI POT)-84:

not so much a choke but rather a brutal ‘hammer of thor’ style bludgeoning into ‘albeit unwilling and doggedly opposedely to’ style of submission by the bulls over the stormers.

for an apt analogy think ‘siege of stalingrad’ type battle between two ferocious foes with no quarter given and one side eventually just bludgeoning that bit harder… to take it…

• 102.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

The Stormers inability to play a better balanced game is as much to do with their mindset as it is with the caliber of players they use in crucial positions.

As long as they play a halfback combination of Duvenhage and Grant (or Duvenhage and anyone) they will not be able to change this.

I mentioned to someone this weekend I cannot believe the Stormers are top of the log with some of the rubbish they are dishing up pretending to be rugby. They kick the most, they make the least most passes and line breaks which suggests they adopt a typical Jake White RWC mindset of ‘playing the game without the ball’.

The laws are helping them but I agree with Keo, they will not win a trophy and they are one defeat away from a really bad run imo (gut feel).

And on current form – that defeat is coming up this weekend against a pink Bulls outfit.

• 103.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Don’t y’all just love it when Tac says :

“Its hammer time”

• 104.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-100:

I don’t think we fear having the ball, we actually look good when we retain possession but I must admit our forwards looks more impressive going forward than our backs.

We get a healthy lead, then we decide to just kick whatever ball we get back,trusting our defence to hold firm. If the opposition gets within 7 we start to attack again until we have a safe lead once more.

Maybe we’re guilty of taking it too easy too soon, but nothing we can’t change in the coming weeks or so.

• 105.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Hahahaha “Time has come for Lions/Have team to beat Saders”….hehehe On what FCKIN planet??

Saders with Carter back at 10 and 13 current AB’s..

They will catch 30 plus

• 106.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-102:

You can’t fluke your way to the top of the log of Super 15, no ways.

Still the only unbeaten team in the tournament, that in itself has to be respected whether we’ve been pretty to watch or not.

• 107.cane: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-101:

Are we talking about a “Battle of The Boneheads” where even the victor is rendered senseless by the utter and total brainlessness of the tactics deployed.
    The carnage on the field of play, leaving the competion open to the more austutely coached teams.

• 108.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-99: nonsnense mate! it is about gameplan/style of play! the stormers are one-dimensional!

the cheetahs whether away or home or against stormers or reds their approach to attack is unwaivering!!!! they back themselves to rip any defence to shreds and the often do as they showed when they stretched the saders defence for goosen’s try – between goosen, le roux & ebersohn, they inter-changed passes with such ease.

fleckie is kak!

ac was long exposed as clueless as a backline coach when jake needed anton eddie, alan zondagh & eddie jones to get the springbok backline working!

• 109.Tarlo: Reply to this comment

This article is a joke… Sports journalists and Keo in particular should be th first to admit that anything can happen on the day and by straight out saying that the Stormers cannot win the S15 after only 5 weeks is arrogant and blind. They are the only unbeaten team which must count for SOMETHING. Rather comment on whats happened in the past weeks and what might happen this week than gazing into your non existent crystal ball keo. Have some humility for a change.

• 110.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-103: no, only you cos you’re ‘jags’

• 111.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-108:

Cheetahs are a team with nothing to lose so of course they can lose by 50 or 5, there’s no fear of losing if you’re not expected to win anyway?

So for them to back themselves is easy.

There’s no fluency in our backline just yet I agree, but we’ll get better as the season goes I believe.

• 112.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-102:

Totally agree PA

Duvenage & Grant the most dour halfback combo around.

The Stormers do have weapons in De Jongh,Aplon,Habana,De Villiers and now finally have a dominant/efficient pack-Kitshoff,Etzebeth,Kolisi massive editions(very dissapointed with Bekker though he should be as dominant as any lock in world rugby at present but just isnt stepping up to superstar status)

Most dissapointing thing is seeing Aplon and De Jongh not being utilised effectively playing defensively instead.

• 113.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-112:

Pisses me off mate – and have been for some time now.

So impressed with the young forwards, only for the most overrated half-back to screw everything up time and time again.

I am not a betting man but I would put good money on the Bulls giving the Cape boys a decent klap this weekend.

• 114.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-106:

Oh yes you can…

Stormers have done it before…

Remember 1999…Home semi vs Otago….Pay dispute??? Skinstad,Marinos and co…

They fluked it most of season-were top of table if im not mistaken…Got a proper drubbing at home

• 115.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-112: I’m not convinced PG is that bad. I think the knock-on effect from Duvenhage’s play just doesn’t give him, or the stormers backline a chance. A scrummie with a better game awareness and execution of skills will do wonders for PG. Right now, Duvenhage kills all that potential. I’ve spoken to a friend of mine, who’s played with Schreuder, Duvenhage and Groom and he reckons Groom is the better of the lot. Right now, I’d have Groom and Schreuder fighting it out for the 9 spot.

• 116.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-114:

Was it a fluke though?

Too many teams have ended the season on top of the log without winning a trophy so were those flukes as well?

• 117.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Stormers play mediocre brand of rugby which will hurt them in the long run.

They are the Waratahs of SA

• 118.cane: Reply to this comment

@Tarlo(Tarlo)-109:

Best paragraph of the thread Tarlo.

But then again,
    Your bank ballance is not influenced by the hits you generate.

• 119.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Last year we finished second on the combined log and the top SA side

The previous year we ended second on the combined log and the second SA side.

We did it playing the same type of rugby we are playing now.

Same 9-10 combo.

No FLO, but we seem to have an adequate replacement in Siya.

More depth (finally a decent “etter” no 4 lock)
    More players waiting to slot in (Elstadt, Malherbe etc).

More depth in Flyhalves.

No Ricky January

A decent Front Row and very good scrum (about time).

So why, when you think about it, should we:

(a) struggle to make the playoffs, and

(b) possibly not go even further?

To go further some of the traditional favourites (Crusaders and defending champs) have not started well and actually are struggling to beat a team like the Cheetahs (no offence) at home?

Just a thought ;)

• 120.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-115: is duvenhage a worse off scrummy than say tewis de bruyn or michael bondesio?

the cheetahs and lions flyhaves seem to be doing more than grant BESIDES the quality of ball they get. grant has never showed any qualities of a general who can command a game. the stormers halfback combo in its entirety is mediocre!

• 121.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-117: Well then, considering the log positions that we have occupied in the past couple of years that probably says more about the rest of SA than it does about us.

• 122.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-120: despite the quality of ball.

• 123.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

All im saying is that with outside backs they have in their possession-the brand and execution of gameplan is dour/poor.

Grant is avg,like a diluted version of Tony Brown(at his peak)

• 124.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-107:
    just remember cane, the reds won the war for us all…

• 125.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-114: Bud if you keep doing it, it’s not a fluke. The Proteas are not fluking a drubbing of the Black caps right now. That pay dispute was the worst action by Province players in the history of the comp.

• 126.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-120: I think he’s worse than those you mentioned. the thing about duvenhage is that he doesn’t know his game and limitations. The other 2 seem to understand theirs. A simple example is Duvenhage’s kicking from the base of a rck or maul. He tried it 4 times in the 2nd half on Saturday and not once did he execute it to allow the chasers to challenge for the ball. he kicked a ball directily into touch. He foolishly chose to pass to JdV on the blind side when he should have played to the openside. This lead to a turnover and the Lions could clear their lines.

It’s easy to notice these things, but go to watch the games live and you’ll notice his lack of tactical and game awareness. Change Duvenhage and there’ll be a massive difference in the backline play. Their are 1 or 2 other issues which need to be tweaked, but it will need to start at no.9.

• 127.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-119: People also forget the multitude of records that we have broken over the past couple of years:

Least amount of points conceded in a season
    Best points difference
    Only team to beat all 5 NZ teams in a season.
    Never failing to gain a losing bonus point (when we lost which wasn’t all that often).

This is a very good Stormers team.

The guys in the know all acknowledge that.

Can we beat the Bulls? Of course.

Do we have the self belief to do it?

You mean like when we didn’t believe we could beat the Bulls at Loftus last year?

Or when we couldn’t beat the Crusaders?

Or when we couldn’t beat the NZ teams in NZ?

Ja.

Bunch of chokers we are.

• 128.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-117:

Nope

Sharks are the Tahs of SA.

• 129.ufo: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-115:

Peter Grant In 3 games…

Tackles: 21
    Missed tackles: 7
    Offloads: 1
    Kicks: 3
    Kick metres: 133
    Runs: 5
    Run Metres: 54
    Ave run metres: 10.80
    Line breaks: 1
    Try assist: 1
    Rucks/Mauls: 9
    Turnovers: 2

• 130.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-127: You tell ‘em SB.

• 131.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-119:

You have improved upfront,in the backs its still the same stuff.And there has been no expanding on gameplan or adding a creative edge to it.Nothing-Stormers have learnt nothing the last 2 years,have not made an adaptation in their pattern etc. They have graduated some awesome yound forwards but otherwise it the same and most likely-results of a trophyless cabinet will continue.Which is sad because they have ALL the POTENTIAL.

And this is an elongated tournie,the Saders will arise sooner than later.Can put your money on that.

• 132.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-129:

Do you perhaps have say Goosen’s stats for the last 3 games, it’ll give us something to compare it to.

• 133.ufo: Reply to this comment

Stormers are this and that blah blah…

however…

if we click… if we put it together… if we play for 90 minutes… (adding 5 for end of each half)…

if the players each play to their individual abilities and the team to it’s collective ability…??

watch out bulls….!!

bulls have played to their full potential on saturday…

stormers haven’t even come close….

if (and it is a big if of course but)… IF we do…

bulls will think they’ve been lead to the newlands abattoir…!!

:evil:

• 134.ufo: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-132:

no… give me a few minutes…

• 135.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-129: Again, i’m not reading too much into the stats, other than the missed tackle count, whaich has to be said, is hight by PG standards. His 3 kicks is a case of his scrummie kicking too much and a fullback who does penalty line clearing kicks. Given more possession, those stats could change.

• 136.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

‘How long can a team be young? How long can players be commended for their character in a losing cause? How many more Super Rugby excuses for SA’s domestic champions?’
    This comment clearly shows a complete lack of understanding of domestic
    rugby.9 players (60%)of the Currie cup final were absent mainly due to injury.
    The Cheetahs and Lions are not in the financial position to purchase
    world class players and have to ‘cultivate’ youngsters of which the bulk
    are eagerly purchased by the bigger Unions. Who has ever heard of Habana,
    Fourie, Deysel, Alberts etc before the Lions gave them a chance to develop their talents?
    I am pretty sure the Cheetahs are in a similar position.I wont be long
    before some bigger Union will lure their fly half away.Mitchell has done wonders with a bunch of rookies and if the other bigger Unions can keep their
    sweaty and greedy paws where they belong the Lions are well on the road
    to restore some of their former glory.

• 137.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-131: No one is saying that the Stormers couldn’t and shouldn’t improve.

What I am saying is that everyone who is writing the Stormers off as pretenders is pointing even more fingers right back at themselves,

Except the Bulls.

They’ve won it.

And by saying that “You have improved upfront,in the backs its still the same stuff.” you are basically saying that our forwards are better than previous years, our backs the same, and in previous years we were able to finish 2nd on the combined log twice?

And now 50% of our team unit is better by your own admission?

And we are being written off as the “Tahs” of Super Rugby?

So what is it that you are actually saying?

Our team looks better than last year?

We are worse than last year?

We won’t make the playoffs?

The logic just doesn’t support that. Sorry.

• 138.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BqlQQEh0g5M&feature=share

Classic hand off by Dean Mumm on Marcel Coetzee. That must have hurt.

• 139.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-133:
    you are showing the emotions again… should i be worried..?..

• 140.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Brentie1(Brentie1)-136: You are missing the Bigger Picture here. Which is, of course, that keo needs to get his man, Lucky Luke, into SuperRugby and then into Bok captaincy so that the HSM investment can start showing a return. So any knocking of the Lions and/or Cheetahs is no accident. They’re just casualties of a very real and present PR war that is being fought in the trenches of the Interwebs. Collateral Damage.

• 141.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-124:

of course i mean the commie reds and not those dirty ozzy reds :grin:

• 142.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-140: Hit the nail on the head.

Flipping Minstry of Luke Propaganda is this site.

• 143.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Is it just me or does that Reds away strip looks like wrapping paper from Cardies?

I’m not surprised that they are playing like a dogs breakfast.

Their jerseys look like a men’s deo advert, one of those where the guy comes home full of red lipstick kisses all over himself.

• 144.ufo: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-132:

Johan Goosen In last 3 games… (rushed so forgive me if not 100% but think it is)

Tackles: 26
    Missed tackles: 7
    Offloads: 9
    Kicks: 33
    Kick metres: 1244
    Runs: 27
    Run Metres: 245
    Ave run metres: 9.07
    Line breaks: 2
    Try assist: 1
    Rucks/Mauls: 14
    Turnovers: 6

• 145.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-138: was just thinking earlier that there’s been no comments from the sharks section of the posters. come on sharkies,. it’s only a loss. at least you have the bumblebees this weak, so it’s a guaranteed win ;)

• 146.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

You only have to compare the two coaching boxes to understand where the Stormers have a tad of a disadvantage.

With 10 minutes to go the one coaching box is pretty much indistinguishable from the way it looked at kickoff.

The other coaching box looks like the Chernobyl control room, a minute after irreversible nuclear meltdown has been confirmed.

Brain freeze, rush of blood to the head, panic stations and clenched **** syndrome, all mixed into one, adrenalin filled experience.

• 147.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

*** = a nus.

• 148.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-145: Oh yes that totallycrap coach Jake White.

Flukes the 2007 win and all that.

Should be a walk in the park. Not like they hav any stars either.

Anything less than a full 5 pointer with no losing BP to the Tahs would be a downright disgrace.

• 149.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-146: You should have seen what my TV room looked like.

The children were hiding under their beds,

The wife had gone to stay with her mother “until further notice”

Luckily all’s well that ends well.

• 150.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

I expected the Lion’s seasoned fly half Butch to make better decisions.
    Surely if you manage to to nearly overhaul your opponents score,you take the points on offer. With 10 minutes to play and 5 points down, you simply
    have to kick the penalty and reduce the deficit to 2.
    The Stormers have to kick of and with the determination the Lions
    showed a penalty or drop kick could have clinched the game.This a far better option ,because if you have a shaky line out and hooker ,possession is not quaranteed.

• 151.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

oeps !quaranteed- guaranteed

• 152.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

haaa Keo you are too fickle mate. Jumping on the Bulls bandwagon now.

I think the Stormers have got what it takes to win the S15. They have great defence, efficient scrum and lineout, they dominate teams at the tackle point. They have the kicking game to play a good territorial game in the opponents half and they have good goal kickers. There is still time to get the backline to gel to produce more fluid attacking plays.

I think they will just pip the rampaging Bulls this weekend with good defence and a better forward pack.

• 153.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-146:
    lmao :lol:

oh tac, you have such a way with words…

• 154.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@welcome to my life, hugh…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-153:

I was wondering what exactly he was describing there ……………………….

• 155.Getafix: Reply to this comment

Stormers has done exceptionally well over the past 10 years or so, they play not to loose and have been consistently in the top half of the log….. but to win this compo, you have to play to win….It will never happen!!!!!!

• 156.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I see the Bulls are indeed gonna be in pink this weekend.

• 157.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-156: That will lull the Stormers into a false sense of security :lol: .

• 158.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

Stormers should play 6. Kolisi 7. Elstadt 8. Vermeulen with Koster off the bench.

Combined with the current tight 5, I cant many teams dominating that pack.

• 159.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-157: It will be very distracting indeed. Most of them will be thinking of who to approach for a jersey swop afterwards instead of focusing on how to tackle big Flippie without breaking stuff.

• 160.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-156: Just got myself a pink jersey, fiancé brought it from Pretoria on Saturday.
    Incredibly difficult to get hold of!
    Tried every sports shop in Cape Town, everyone was sold out.

• 161.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-156:

Why?

They didn’t play in pink in Bloem!

• 162.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-154:
    just riveting…wonderful, wonderful stuff…. :lol:

• 163.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-161:

Apparnetly there’s a clash in jersey colours with the Stormers – copycats – and so we will use our away colours.

I reckon it is just a marketing ploy to get the pink brigade in Cape Town to buy some Bulls jerseys – and maybe even convert. The Pink Rands have significant buying power in SA.

One look at Wynand in a pink jersey and we’ll have half of Cape Town’s male population converted to Bulls fans.

• 164.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-161: it’s the proverbial dangling the carrot in front of the CT supporters to jump the sinking drag queen float and join the Bloubul lager.

• 165.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-161: More importantly, do you,/i> have your pink jersey Dawn?

Do your parents know you’ve crossed over?

• 166.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

close italics

• 167.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

The new Dawn greets us in a brilliant display of pink.

• 168.Atreides: Reply to this comment

Duvenhage was so utterly hondkak I’d be gobsmacked if he started again…and combined with the grey man Grant you wonder why the Stormers backline is so impotent….

• 169.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

“the Stormers don’t have what it takes to win this year’s Super Rugby tournament.”

Not in my lifetime as well.

• 170.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-163: You coming to watch the game Tac?

• 171.Atreides: Reply to this comment

Wonder what all the poor inbred half-wit Cape Crusaders are gonna do this weekend…

• 172.Atreides: Reply to this comment

and by poor i mean as in pitiful, not low income :) before anyone jumps in there

• 173.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-172: Racist.

• 174.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-170:

No this time, unfortunately. Will be a great game though, I reckon.

My earnest wish is that it isn’t decided by a yellow or red card. Let the players decide this one, not the ref, please.

• 175.welcome to my life, hugh...: Reply to this comment

hehehehe

• 176.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

I firmly believe we have capacity to put away WP by a Big score if Hougard and Steyn dictate the game. Spies needs to put a back to back MOM performance and run All Day at Korster and Grant.

• 177.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

Stormers by 10 on Saturday. There you have it.

And you don’t pick the winning team after round 5 Keo. Did you pick the Reds to win it last year after round 5?

And all you supporters, grow some balls. The Stormers are the most crictized of all the SA teams. They are doing fine, winning games.

The biggest problem last saturday was NOT the backline, who got ball in their 22 most of the time bar the first 20 min. It was the lack of someone competing for the ball. This stand-off defence is fine, but someone needs the “go get the ball” brief when they drive the other side back.

• 178.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Wonder how the preperation approach of the two teams will differ during the week?

Judging by the two contrasting coaching boxes, the one group will probably go about their business as usual, while the other is taken on some Kamp Staaldraad re-enactment out to Robben Island, and forced to do 100m swimming heats down Shark alley to build “character and a desire for success”.

And that’s just the coaching team..

• 179.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-178: If they release Proudfoot into the Atlantic, you’ll have the Skoppies of the world out there in rubber ducks, trying to tow him further out to prevent him from beaching again.

• 180.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

In the last 2 years the Stormers increased their play-off appearances from 2 times to 5 times. They look good to add more this year.

And the fans sound like they are bottom of the log. Really people, get a life.

Will the Stormers win this year? Maybe. Are they favourites? Probably not. Do they have a decent chance? Yes they do, and that is something to cheer about.

• 181.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Brentie1(Brentie1)-150: you mean mt R3 million per annum Butch? he was supposed to start for the Bokke @ the World Cup, it was a fact :D

• 182.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading(wpjoulekkading)-180: Never been very hot at maths, but even I know that you cannot make three play-off appearances in two years. Julius, is that you?

• 183.Getafix: Reply to this comment

All I can say is it a sad day for WP when bulls are favourites at newlands…

• 184.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

We will win by 15+

Steyn will bring back the Drop (3 maybe?) – its being a while.

• 185.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-182: 2 semi-finals and 1 final = 3 play-off appearances.
    Think much?

• 186.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-171: :lol:
    Yes, “poor” is the offensive bit there…

• 187.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-179:

Ja, either that or the Yoshin Maru will detoir through False Bay on its way back to port.

P.S.

I hope it’s False Bay. I always get confused between that and Table Bay. Never know which is which. And I always get lost in Cape Town. I’m used to the sea being on my one side and everything else being vaguely “north” of that. Easy navigation.

In Cape Town, the sea keeps changing position, and the mountain keeps changing appearance, depending on where you are.

Very confusing without a GPS.

• 188.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

I predict a few Yellow Cards will be shown.

• 189.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading(wpjoulekkading)-185: That’s a unique approach, to count the semis and the finals from the same year as 2 play-off appearances. Creative stats much?

• 190.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Getafix(phil72)-183:

So you saying it’s been a sad 10 years then..

• 191.Getafix: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading(wpjoulekkading)-185:

Whole mindset is wrong… not about how many times you lost the compo, it is about how many time you won it…

• 192.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-189: So how would your recommend to indicate the fact that a final is worth more than a semi? Really, you are missing the point trying to be sarcastic drol. And you are not managing the sarcastic part.

I’ll spell it out:
    Stormers pre-2010:
    2 semi-finals

Stomers 2010&2011
    2 semi-finals
    1 final

Is it a trophy yet? no. Is it something to be optimistic about? Hell yes.

• 193.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-171:

Ja you racist

• 194.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@Getafix(phil72)-191: There is nothing wrong with my mindset. I would love to win the competition. All I’m saying is the Stormers are finally on an upward curve, and they deserve some support along the way.

• 195.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-187:

Wat nou!

How can you get lost in CT

I’ll show you around.

• 196.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading(wpjoulekkading)-194:

From finalist to semifinalist doesn’t look like an upward curve in my book.

It’s a curve, I’ll give you that. But that’s about where we start diverging in our respective descriptions of the situation.

• 197.Getafix: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading(wpjoulekkading)-194:

Zero out five(more or less) How do you work that curve?

• 198.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-171: silly little person. it works like this. whoever the stormers play, they support. not so difficult, is it?

• 199.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-195:

Only go there about once a year now.

Know the Stellenbosch, Somerset West, Strand, Paarl side pretty well, but once I venture down into Cape Town itself I pretty much have to stick to the highways, else I kind of lose my way.

• 200.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Stormers will take it…..but just. Superior forward pack will win it for the Stormers.

• 201.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading(wpjoulekkading)-192: Come off it, bud. Anyone who watches any sport knows that “3 play-off appearances” refers to three years or three seasons or three competitions and not simply progressions in a play-off stage. Same reason centuries in cricket don’t also count as half centuries. Not sarcastic, just factually correct. Sorry if that doesn’t sit well with you.

• 202.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-200:

Let me put it this way. I the Stormers pack is superior on the day, they will indeed win it.

• 203.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-202:

I=if.

• 204.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-196: Luckily I don’t give a rat’s arse what your perspective is.

Stormers by 10.

• 205.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-199: Southern Suburbs got you shook?

• 206.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-199: So you know Pretoria South, but not Cape Town proper?

• 207.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-201:

Give him a break.

If a few fictitious play-off spots make it easier for him to overlook the outer space-like vacuum inside the Newlands trophy cabinet, who are you to take that away from him?

• 208.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-201: I explained what I meant and why I said it.. You know what I meant. So what now?

• 209.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-202: Agreed. Will be an intense game. I hope the injuries are not too bad.

• 210.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-206:

Hehe. I used to venture there on rare excursions, only to quickly retreat into more comforting surroundings.

• 211.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading(wpjoulekkading)-208: Nothing now. Just get it right next time.

• 212.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-207: I’ve got no hang-ups about the empty space, other than trying to fill it. The Bulls closet is also pretty empty at the moment no? For how many years will you keep living of the glory days of 2007-2010?

• 213.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-210: The irony is that you say you can’t navigate Cape Town, yet the “safe” places you mention have few distinguishing features vibracrete walls and golf ball post boxes don’t count), and the City Bowl, Southern Suburbs, Atlantic Seaboard and Southern Peninsula are simple to navigate thanks to the shape of the bays, peninsula and mountains.

• 214.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-210:

Whatsitwithyou.

My surroundings are very comforting.

• 215.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading(wpjoulekkading)-212:

Oh, probably until another SA team manages to win the trophy 3 times. Which means for the rest of my life, most likely.

• 216.Dawn: Reply to this comment

The Stormers upward curve is as mythical as the romcoms Mnet so often regurgitates.

• 217.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-215: So you will come progessively more bitter as the years go by. Let me know when you get to 32 Currie Cups.

• 218.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-205: Tac “ain’t a crook son/ he’s just a shook one” – Mobb Deep

• 219.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-213:

I think I overstated the problem somewhat, for the sake of entertainment.

I don’t mean I can’t get from one area to the next and will be trapped in Camps Bay, Clifton, insert area here forever if I lose my way.

I just mean that when you drive through Cape Town, and use say the Mountain as a point of reference, this becomes confusing as the Mountain changes shape dramatically depending on where you are.

Similarly, depending on which bay or outcropping of land you happen to be next to, the sea could either be on your South, East, West and probably even on your North, so that also becomes difficult to manage if you don’t happen to know that Hout Bay is this side of Bantry Bay, or Clifton or whatever.

Hey, I’m not a Cape Town local, so sue me.

• 220.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Steyn
    Hougard
    Spies

This is where game will be lost and won

• 221.Dawn: Reply to this comment

The girl: always impossibly fecking beautiful and works in an art gallery
    how many art galleries are there around anyway

The guy : ballbustingly handsome and just getting over breakup/divorce

The ditsy friend: always haggling impossibly beautiful art gallery owner about
    her s@x life, her diet, her men, her txt msgs

And they all lived happily ever after.

• 222.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-198: O is that how it works…new around here….

• 223.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-216: is that why you jumped ship? hehe

• 224.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-218: lol exact song i was thinking about!

• 225.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-219: Lol don;t stress, it’s taken me a while to get my mind-map drawn too

• 226.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-221: You work in an art gallery?

• 227.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-218: @Sasuke(Sasuke)-224:
    “Mobb Deep wonder why a nigga blowed ‘em out/ Next time grown folks talk nigga, close your mouth” – 2Pac

• 228.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-226:

No, only happens in the movies

Read my script outline

• 229.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

What’s up with this site showing no new posts for like 20 minutes, and then suddenly when you refresh there are like 30 new posts?

It’s getting really irritating. They definitely went with some “Insert former Soviet Republic” hosted Server for the sake of economy recently, and it’s showing in the performance of the blog.

Sort your sh*t out boys.

• 230.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-223:

No.

Just sommer.

No more lus for stressed out stormers

• 231.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-229:

Uzbhekistan

• 232.Getafix: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading(wpjoulekkading)-217:

Now that is a curve you can draw, 30 cups in 120 years and nothing in the last 15, you have really been on a downhill spiral……

• 233.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-228: Eet was my leetle joke….

• 234.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-233:

Soreeee I am a leetle sloooowwww todaaaaay.

• 235.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Actually a lot slow

So frustrating

You meet a nice guy and you cant wait for the day to end so you can bbm all night

He’s not in CT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh the injustice.

• 236.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

Duvenage copping a lot of abuse at the moment and I guess its fair, because his decision making and execution are both a bit shaky at the moment. Funnily enough I think he’s a better scrum half behind a beaten pack then he is behind a dominant pack, which is completely ridiculous! All the Stormers need from their scrum half right now is a guy who can get the ball out quick. Nothing more. Give one of the young scrummies a go and tell him that’s all he has to do. Keep it simple and give the backline fast quality ball. The forwards are providing it, but something is going wrong once Duvenage gets his hands on the ball. I’ve said it before but AC and Robbie Fleck aren’t doing their team any favors either.

• 237.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-231:

Speaking of which, you hear about the poor Kazakstan female team in Dubai recently?

They won a medal at the tournament, and when the team stood on the podium, the event organizers played the Kazakstan anthem for them.

Only problem is, the organisers had probably hardly heard of Kazakstan before, so they had gone and downloaded the Kazakstan national anthem from the internet, only for it to turn out to be the fake Borat version of it.

So the poor team captain stands on the podium, listening to a song about how proud they are of their pottasium production and how they have the cleanest prostitutes in the world.

She at least started smiling, but Kazakstan is apparently demanding an apology.

Classic.

• 238.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-237:

female shooting team.

• 239.cab: Reply to this comment

duvenage is dodgy imo, dunno why he so rated, grant is good.

• 240.Atreides: Reply to this comment

Think I will wear my Antwoord t-shirt on saturday…

“Float like a butterfly, sting like a poesklap”

• 241.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-237: lol you’re kidding

• 242.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-237:

• 243.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Bulls were impressive on Saturday but they won’t win Saturday. I’d rather back a losing team playing attractive rugby than a team winning playing an ugly game. AC is not a good coach period. Not in my book. That said the Bulls are not convincing yet. Saturday was good for them but what happens if they lose to the Stormers on Saturday? Stormers by 10.

• 244.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-224: classic track!

“when a slug penetrates you feel a burning sensation/ getting closer to God in a tight situation/ now. take these words home & think it through/ or the next rhyme mhight be about you”

“cause ain’t no such things as halfway crooks/
    scared to death scared to look, they shook”

• 245.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Lawd

Lyrics

Again

• 246.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I suppose a slug isn’t the only thing that can give you a burning sensation on penetration

• 247.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-227: hehehehe Pac was one paranoid mofo, dissing everyone cause he didn’t know who shot him…

anyway suge knight was fuelling all that bravado, as soon as s(hit hit the fan, the whole DeathRow records disintergrated into nothing.

• 248.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-244: Fo sho

• 249.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-246: lol Dawn!

• 250.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-246: Nawty nawty

• 251.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-247:

There were thousands of witnesses to Pac’s shooting

And he still don’t know who done it

• 252.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-246: i wouldn’t know…

• 253.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-247: Well Mobb Deep did come up with gems such as:

“Got raped on the island/ Officially gone kick that thugshit/ Now you on some hugshit/ Keep it real kid, you dont know who you dealing with”

Pac was incarcerated in Rikers Island Prison, speaking from a jail cell at the time he said he was done with ‘thuglife”…

• 254.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-253:

Pac is still wandering the strip looking for the guy who shot him

• 255.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-254: My best bet is Orlando Anderson, a Southside Crip.

• 256.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-237: That’s hilarious. Like playing a Leon Schuster song instead of Nkosi Sikelel’.

• 257.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-251: the first shooting skat, where he was in an elevator on his way to a recording studio hence the lines on ‘hit ‘em up’ – “five shot couldn’t drop me, i took ‘em and smiled/ now i’m back t set the record straight/ with my AK i’m still the thug that you love ta hate”

• 258.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-257:

Dankie, skat

• 259.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-246: Sounds infected. Stay away.

• 260.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-253: ok…anyway that gangsta rap was just a sideshow…the real stuff was/is what interesting to me.

• 261.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-260: Agreed.

• 262.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

What the hell is going on here?

Tupac?

Sounds like a toilet paper promtion.

• 263.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Fck I love rap music man. It’s my fcken life. Stop, collaborate and listen. Timeless.

• 264.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Shake ya bobble head

• 265.Dawn: Reply to this comment

RE-LOAD

• 266.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-253: i enjoy all pre “all eyez on me” Pac, anything past all eyez i don’t give two s(hits about…that’s just me

perennial favourite “me against the world” with tracks like “can u get away” which is just simply a profound ghetto love song.

• 267.cab: Reply to this comment

they keep talkin about bustin caps in asses and so on, tho i quite liked tupac’s california.

• 268.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-267: production by the one & only dr dre!

• 269.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Informer. A licky boom boom down.

This sht is my life.

• 270.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-266: I liked Pac right through simply coz his albums were a snapshot of his life at that point in time, he took the listener along for the ride.

• 271.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-269: :lol:

• 272.cab: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-268:
    really..dre werent too bad either, that is one helluva tune.

@Transformation(Transformation)-257:
    didnt the 6th drop him stonedead tho?

• 273.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

My-my-my-my music hits me so hard makes me say oh my Lord…

Rap. Fuckyeah. There’s nothing like it.

• 274.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-269: Rollin’ in my 5.0
    With my rag-top down so my hair can blow

• 275.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-137:

Stop getting defensive

Your team has improved upfront,not astronomically-Elstadt/Flo from last year replaced by equally quality in Kolisi/Etzebeth.Then Kitshoff is better than Blaauw/Moller and co who played in last 2 years.So thats a marginal improvement upfront-Kitshoff really.

Now in the backs as i said its the same. Now where did I say you wont make playoffs?Nowhere

What Im saying is that the team was at its peak in 2010 and lost thus didnt end silverware drought. Then in 2011 the team had REGRESSED from 2010 and made semi’s-lost thus no silverware again.Now its 2012-the Stormers have fixed the deficiencies from yesteryear to the point where they will surpass their previous failures in playoff-2010/2011 in my view SO AS the as ARTICLE SAYS: THEY WONT END TROPHY DROUGHT which I agree with. They will still be competitive and most like will lead SA conference.

BUT I dont see them WINNING superrugby 2012.

Simple really.

• 276.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

But when gangstas add a message to the music… that’s when the magic happens.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_rBidCkJxo

• 277.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-272: no cabbie…he coraked after being shot in las vegas after a tyson fight @ the MGM grand, which is the whole ‘mystery’ behind his slaying, the man got shot in the middle of the las vegas strip, on a night of a heavyweight boxing fight but nobosy saw anything, no cameras picked up squat as chris rock would say…

• 278.Loftus: Reply to this comment

Who has decided that the Stormers have the better forwards pack? The last time I checked the Bulls have 6 Springboks in their pack for Saturday and the Stormers have ……Bekker?

• 279.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-277: he croaked…

• 280.cab: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-277:
    thats quite amazing, i liked his stuff, just read about him on the wiki, its what you said, seems like was the 10th bullett that got him, nice respectful picture of him on youtube giving the world a one-fingered salure, misunderstood.

• 281.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Coraked is the rapper version of croaked

• 282.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-273: i like big butts and i cannot lie/ you other brothers can’t deny/ when a girl walks by with a itsy bitsy butt/ you get sprung.

• 283.Dawn: Reply to this comment

When Trans calls you “skat” and “cabbie”, you know you know vokkol

• 284.cab: Reply to this comment

@Loftus(Loftus)-278:
    ja u might be right, but sat might make or break a few bok aspirations or reputations.

• 285.cab: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-282:
    u like the big mammas?

• 286.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-280: oh ja, very eclectic personality. equally brilliant as was destructive…genius nontheless.

• 287.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

I wont deny it
    Im a straight rider
    u dont f*ck with me…

Classic Pac

Well I enjoyed Makaveli-7 day Theory

And that was post “All eyes on Me”

After Makaveli its all rubbish re-engineered stuff,some of it Pac would have never released it etc just was released to make a buck of “pac franchise”

• 288.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-285: no, just reciting rap lyrics :D

• 289.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-288:

You lika big mammas

!

• 290.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-275: Kolisi is no Francoise Louw…. Yet. Etsabeth and and Kitshoff have markedly improved the pack though. I would like to see Kolisi and Carr play in tandem, but not against the Bulls! Would be great to see the playing philosophy change somewhat on tour and to see if an expansive game plan could be developed as its badly needed. Unfortunately I don’t think the coaching staff has the balls to try anything new.

• 291.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-287: hhhmmm grudgingly “look for me, lost in the whirlwind” bonnie & clyde

“come with me, hail mary run quick see”

selectively :D

• 292.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Fck me, rap is a living thing. If it weren’t for rap, how would this guy be able to say this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HmJbJs-9ST0&feature=player_embedded#!

• 293.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@Loftus(Loftus)-278:

6 Boks who’l be playing in Barbie outfits on saturday ja!
    Don’t forget your big box of tissues or your make up.

• 294.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-289: google “Sir Mix A Lot – Big Butts” and listen :D

• 295.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-294:

Listen

I know

I was laughing at cab

• 296.Transformation: Reply to this comment

stormers haven’t developed a dynamic gameplan in 5 years but we’re told that of they click in the next coming weeks someone will get a pakslae :roll:

in the 2 years they’ve made playoffs they haven’t made a habit of scoring tries but this “expansive game” apparently is just around the corner.

fire robbie fleck i say

• 297.cab: Reply to this comment

i downloaded some of biggie’s stuff too (dunno what is real name is probably reginald dwight-leroy the 3rd), oke looks to be about 500pounds, some of those yanks are massive.

• 298.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-290:

Kolisi is no Flo but he is a good player in his own right. In my opinion he is a better physical player/attrictional than Flo who was better on the ground. Both are decent as ball carriers.And at only 20 is likely to get even better.Carr is very talented,can play towards the ball or as a link player(8).Thatd be interesting Carr/Kolisi in tandem..like when Sadie/de Jongh played in tandem vs Blues last yr….

• 299.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-297:

Biggie Small

• 300.cab: Reply to this comment

where is stegman these days?

mind you where is titty-tyrant these days?

maybe there’s a correlation there. deon have u been dropped or you injured?

• 301.cab: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-299:
    ja great name, looks like he swallowed kobie wiese and proudfoot as an appetiser.

• 302.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-297: his name was christopher wallace aka the Notorius BIG aka Biggie Smalls aka Frank White…he was the wittier of the two, a supreme lyricist with impeccable wordplay

• 303.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-297:

Christopher Wallace.

Greatest Of All Time

• 304.cab: Reply to this comment

i always thought ou doosie had a sly hankering for the big mammas.

be like a mouse on an elephant, but one fkn determined mouse.

• 305.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-300: steggies sidelined by hammy

• 306.charo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-292:

hahahahahaha

don’t think the rap era will be remembered for the profound lyrics

• 307.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-304: wouldn’t put it past him, giving lifts to Xhosa lasses in the township and all :D

ou doos got serious jungle fever hahaha…put halle berry, thandie newton or sofia vergara in front of him before sienna miller any day..

• 308.cab: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-307:
    ja u reading my mind … maybe he come put us all straight a bit later. halle berry one sexy mama. no im talking big, nice traditional zulu tannie 400pounder min…

• 309.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-308: eish lindiwe mazibuko-esque :D

• 310.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

Seeing as we’re on to a bit of rap, here is something for the Bulls courtesy of the Stormers pack:

“Now what can I do with hoe like you?
    Bend your *** over and then I’m through
    because you see Ice cube aint taking no $hit
    cause I think a ***** is a *****!”

Classic N.W.A.

;-)

• 311.cab: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-309:
    yebo uoudoos ifuna mafuta umama – yabba dabba doo!!!

• 312.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-310: hehehe o’shea jackson at his mysogynistic best!

• 313.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-312: hehehehe its pretty hard to try and right that stuff down without it getting censored! Just the way they would have liked it!!!

• 314.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-311: hahaha more cushion for the pushin!

• 315.Loftus: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-293: Oh well,suppose you didn’t understand the question? It wasn’t a difficult question – why is the Stormers pack rated as being better than the Bulls’ pack? The Bulls have 6 Springboks in their pack and the Stormers have Bekker? Is it just the Cape media again?

• 316.Bagel: Reply to this comment

Not sure if Transie can shed some more light on this, but if it’s true this must be one of the biggest tragedies of SA Rugby…

http://mg.co.za/article/2012-03-26-six-south-african-rugby-players-feared-dead

• 317.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@Loftus(Loftus)-315: First off, who said it was better? The Stormers pack seem to be on form, but we will have to seen on Saturday who has the upper hand.

But by the way, 6 Springboks? I count only 4. And one or two of those have only 1, 2 caps max. Who am I missing?

Anyhow, in the front rows it is pretty equal, Bulls might shade it, in the locks I have to back the Stormers pair even though the Bulls have some obvious quality, and in the loosies some are better and some worse. So I would say it is pretty equal. Think the Stormers pack will shade it though.

• 318.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@Loftus(Loftus)-315: Stupid argument. The Blues pack was stacked with All Blacks and world cup winners, so therefore should have been the better pack, but got destroyed by the Stormers. Its a young new look pack that hasn’t had the chance to get international caps yet. Plenty of future springboks in this pack….

• 319.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

The Blues has showed the way of how to beat the bulls, stop their forward momentum and they start to crumble. I think the Stormers have the pack that can unsettle them upfront. I’m really impressed with Kitshoff, so far he has come out on top against those who he has faced. I really enjoy watching this kid scrum. I also believe the stormers locks are better than the bulls. Bekker has proven what an work horse he can be. Nice to seem him and Etztebeth gang tackling players.

But my only concern is the backline, nothing seems to go beyond De Villiers, whether its the Flyhalf or the scrumhalf, but fundamentally I think they are standing to flat. I have not seen a single tackle bust in the midfield with a clean off load to a supporting player, neither any player being put into space.

Habana showed again on the weekend that he can only score tries when he is chasing the ball, he rather chose to kick and chase the ball himself rather than beating the opponent with his pace. The lions almost capitalised on his “off the ball” work rate. But I’m glad that he is at least finding the try line.

• 320.ufo: Reply to this comment

Bagel @ 316

That is really tragic bud…

Sympathy to their families, friends and teammates…

Really sad…

• 321.Hondo: Reply to this comment

I’ll go with the Stormers this time
    The Bulls haven’t beaten a form team so far, luck was on their side to face injuries decimated teams like the Sharks and the Reds or got Joubert to swindle it for them against the Cheetahs, the Blues however put them in their place
    The Sormers are doing well though, Grant and Duvenage are great to watch as a comboe and Kolisi is less of a liability than Chiliboi, not sure about the Refs yet but I expect the Bulls to collect their 2nd hiding of the season

• 322.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Bagel: true story boet, happened over the weekend. They were preparing for the club super 12…tragic mate!

• 323.Transformation: Reply to this comment

aahhh Hondo ;) ‘kolisi is less of a liability than chillibooi’ hehehe is that a backhanded compliment to siya?

• 324.Dawn: Reply to this comment

I only know NELLY

• 325.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-163:

That’s way too much information.

And you know this how?

• 326.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Saturday proves to be another classic match-up between 2 evenly matched sides. Even though the Stormers have home ground advantage, I don’t see that as being much of a factor. Just like Loftus didn’t favour the Bulls last year.
    I just think that the interview with JDV was a call to arms. Because if the Stormers play on Saturday like they did against the Lions, then it will be a long evening. The Stormers cannot play with as little ball as they did and expect a favourable result.
    If the Stormers get just 50% ball possession, that should be enough for a win.

• 327.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-324: nelly is not hip hop, he is rap/r&b. :D

• 328.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-327:

Tragic day for EP rugby. I remember Bluewater Bay well.

• 329.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-292: lol Katas thats the funniest thing i have seen in ages…you had me rolling on the ground! Classic bra

• 330.Bhloo: Reply to this comment

Even Stevens……to close to call.
    Come Sunday morn the victor will know
    It could have been the other.

• 331.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading(wpjoulekkading)-317:
    Greyling – Bok
    Chiliboy – Bok
    Werner – Bok
    Stegmann – Bok (if fit)
    Juandre – No
    Flip – Bok
    Potgieter – No
    Spies – Bok

That is the 6.

• 332.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Joe v Zane – evens
    Aplon v Basson – Aplon
    de Jongh v Sadie – evens
    de Villiers v Olivier – evens
    Habana v Akona – evens
    Grant v Steyn – Steyn
    Duvenhage v Hougaard – Hougi
    Koster v Spies – Spies
    Vermeulen v Potgieter – evens
    Kolisi v Stegmann – evens as Stegmann was injured
    Etzebeth v Flip – evens
    Bekker v Kruger – evens
    Harris v Greyling – evens
    Liebenberg v Chili – evens
    Kitcshoff v Werner – evens

So, 11 evens, 1 Stormer, 3 Bulls.
    Homeground – Stormers

Too close to call.

• 333.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

How much of an influence will Sadie and JJ’s input be with regards to Stormer defense?

• 334.cab: Reply to this comment

Kleuter,

I will disagree slightly.

Joe v Zane – evens
    Aplon v Basson – evens
    de Jongh v Sadie – evens
    de Villiers v Olivier – evens
    Habana v Akona – habana
    Grant v Steyn – evens
    Duvenhage v Hougaard – Hougi
    Koster v Spies – evens
    Vermeulen v Potgieter – vermeulen (easily the best looseforward of the lot)
    Kolisi v Stegmann – evens as Stegmann was injured
    Etzebeth v Flip – etsebeth
    Bekker v Kruger – bekker
    Harris v Greyling – greyling
    Kitcshoff v Werner – kitshoff
    So, 8 evens, 5 Stormer, 2 Bulls.
    Homeground – Stormers
    Stormers by 10.

• 335.cab: Reply to this comment

if stormers play elstadt with vermeulen in same backrow, they def take it imo, doesnt matter if its kolisi, carr or koster playing at openside.

• 336.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Might agree on Vermeulen, but not the rest. I think you’re a bit biased. Let’s see. Still think it is too close to call, but I’m happy with the “underdog” tag.

• 337.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Who is the ref?

• 338.cab: Reply to this comment

lol, i think u a bit biased, i;ve always thought the bulls have had a better side, but not this year. Bulls are 3 time champs with Boks gevaarlik, they def not the underdogs, but i think the stormers coming for some payback after all the beatings upfront over last decade or so.

Stormers potentially also got a far better side that could go onto win it. I’d go with deon fourie at 2 to play to the ball, start with malherbe, schalk at 6 to bring some experience and elstadt at 7 to take the pack into a clean-out blitskrieg, swop jdj and jdv and maybe a new no 9 i never been convinced with duvenage.

1. kitshoff 2. fourie 3. malherbe 4. estebeth 5. bekker 6. burger 7. elstadt 8. vermeulen 9. schreuder 10. grant 11. habana 12. jdj 13. jdv 14. aplon 15. joe

16. liebenberg 17. brock 18. de kok 19. Kolisi/carr 20. Koster 21. van aswegen 22. van den heever

• 339.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

looky like its re educating time again

the ghetto gangsta rappers like Tupac dunno the beginning of where it was begat.. or where its from or where its at .. here the father of all rap artists anytime anywhere leaving those wannabe pretenders pissing in the wind in his shade

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IMIlP4zB0EM

and for those that need to know the reason why beauty is born and bred in Africa is cos mamma Africa got so much more true blue soul pumping through her goddess heart.

where you gonna hear this kinda rendition of soulful voice of freedom from any the prissy whitey princesses of puritanism

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Go9aks4aujM
    or
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ckv6-yhnIY&feature=related
    or
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k6YCxXQ6Scw&feature=related
    or
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BVNvlPAT4aE
    or
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yxhUk4f0XIg&feature=related
    or
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XyCn8IC5RpE&feature=related
    or
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AkqyLsDqgv0&feature=related

• 340.cab: Reply to this comment

tjessus christus, thats not rap, thats some melancholic thoughtful mournings – where the bit about busting caps in the *** and the ho’s in the crib?

• 341.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

This a bit closer to the truth

Joe v Zane – Joe
    Aplon v Basson – Aplon
    de Jongh v Sadie – evens
    de Villiers v Olivier – de Villiers
    Habana v Akona – evens
    Grant v Steyn – evens
    Duvenhage v Hougaard – evens
    Koster v Spies – evens
    Vermeulen v Potgieter – vermeulen
    Kolisi v Stegmann – evens
    Etzebeth v Flip – etsebeth
    Bekker v Kruger – bekker
    Harris v Greyling – greyling – Malherbe v Kirsten – Malherbe
    Kitcshoff v Werner – kitshoff

So, 7 evens, 7 Stormers, 1 Bulls.
    Homeground – Stormers
    Stormers by however many it takes.

• 342.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

listen young piepie joller LISTEN before your ears get petrified into fossil fried imagery masticated vernekery

• 343.cab: Reply to this comment

that some honkey tonkey whiteboy from minnesota, the closest he been to the hood is when he part of the peacepipe movement, whereas the brothers been popping caps in each other saying don’t give peace a chance, east coast v west coast, bit like stormers v bulls…

• 344.cab: Reply to this comment

i cant listen to that ****, it put me too sleep goddamnit, rather jol met die piepie ekse.

• 345.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

I may concede

Bekker v Kruger – evens

• 346.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-331: So NOT 6 boks playing on Saturday as Loftus had said.

In any case, Stegman (6), Kruger (2), Greyling (2) have never been first choice boks.

And Flip (11) and Chiliboy (21) are promising, but not yet first choice players either.

The only current Springbok in the pack is Spies. He is also the only one that made the World Cup squad.

I’ll take my chances with the Stormers pack.

• 347.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading
    That is 6 Boks in pack
    Greyling
    Chili
    Werner
    Stegman
    Flip
    Spies

No one said “current Boks” or “more than 2 test Boks”.

• 348.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@ cab
    Comparing Koster to Spies is like comparing a vienna to a boerewors.

• 349.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

gotta agree with Keo – without a decent 9 + 10 Stormers cant win this comp.

• 350.gr8 white: Reply to this comment

Stormers lack that killer element – as the Aussies call it “that mongrel” every thing is working but there seems to be a lacking of self belief and dynamic leadership…same can be said about the Sharks!

• 351.PrickBoks GoingSouth: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-342: you mouthing off again you Yappie ******** – the English birthed some of the most amazing soul and then we exported it to the colonies

• 352.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-347: Uhm, Kleuter, you are doing your name justice. That is EXACTLY what Loftus said. He said the Bulls have 6 boks playing saturday, and the Stormers only have Bekker.
    So I said, no, they don’t have 6 playing on Saturday. And so forth.
    Read the conversation before you just jump in and make a fool of yourself.

• 353.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkadung
    Make a fool of myself?
    In any case, dont want to dirty my hands on you. Some advise though, take a course in communication. Entry level is fine.
    And grade 1 math.

• 354.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-353:
    I communicated perfectly. I told Loftus that he was wrong, that there were not 6 Bulls Boks playing on Saturday. That’s all that it was at first.
    And then I pointed out that in any case, although 5 of the 6 do indeed have Bok blazers, they are hardly first choice Boks. And I did the trouble to check exactly how many caps they have. Which was just some extra information.
    What did you add to the conversation? Nothing, execpt throwing your toys out of the cot and make juvenile insults. So yes, you made a fool of yourself. Try focussing on the rugby instead of the petty talk.

• 355.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading
    Okay, you are just annoying now. Where do you see 4 Boks in the Bull pack? I showed you 6, show me your 4.
    And practice what you preach.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.