KeoTV: Goosen’s got it

MARK KEOHANE says Johan Goosen will become to the Springboks what Dan Carter is to the All Blacks but stresses that Morne Steyn is still at the top of the pile of South African flyhalves.

110 Comments

• 51.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

This is my Boks backline based on Super Rugby form.

15. Riaan Viljoen
    14. Willie le Roux
    13. Robert Ebersohn
    12. Jean de Villiers
    11. Bjorn Basson
    10. Johan Goosen
    9. Francois Hougaard

• 52.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@daydreamer(daydreamer)-51: Donkey!!!? You are farken daydreaming, definitely.

• 53.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-52: You’re a donkey.

• 54.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Daydreamer. Right on the money.

• 55.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-52:
    He’s been the best 12 in the country, if not the competition, for the first 5 weeks.

• 56.BuckT: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-45: you only know if you are ready for test rugby once you try it. start him against a rampant english side and they might start calling him Gaffie Goosen!

• 57.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

HG. Still trying to figure out how Kaplan managed to give penalties in games he wasn’t reffing?

• 58.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@BuckT(BuckTrendy)-56: A rampant English side? Class of 2012?

• 59.pokkel: Reply to this comment

@daydreamer(daydreamer)-51:

Taute has been better than Viljoen at 15.

The centres are debatable
    Bosman surprisingly has been great and so has Meisiekind.
    JPP was good at 13

• 60.BuckT: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading(wpjoulekkading)-58: maybe……ok what the hell, throw him to the roses, could give him the confidence he needs going into the rugby world championships!

• 61.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-52: Jou kat!

• 62.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@BuckT(BuckTrendy)-60: Well, maybe start with Lambie, then bring Goosen on?
    Or with Steyn I guess. Look, I don’t have a major problem with Steyn. He is good. But personally don’t think he will ever take the Boks to the next level. So I would rather start giving opportunities to the young guns who still have 10 years in their legs, and who maybe offer more potential for an allround game.

• 63.wpallday: Reply to this comment

Howsit guys.
    Don’t post here often.

Here’s what I think, if you want unstructured Willie(leroux)Nilly type play that moves away from phase play then choose Goosen .My man at 10 is Lambie ,in the past few weeks he has been brilliant for the Sharks ,behind a battling scrum and initially poor service from Michalak. His nous for tactical play is almost unparalleled in South Africa.

Goosen isn’t ready yet ,his tactical game is weak as with his defence ,very much a prospect but not a Springbok just yet. To throw a young player who hasn’t matured into his position or with what he does on the field just yet into the Springbok jersey is foolish.

• 64.wpallday: Reply to this comment

Saying that Morne Steyn holds rank right now.

• 65.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@wpallday(wpallday)-63: Just because the Cheetahs like to play it loose doesn’t mean Goosen won’t do well in a slightly more structured approach.

• 66.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-55: jean de villiers has NOT been better than sonny bill williams,

• 67.gr8 white: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-66: YOU ARE SO RIGHT -had two decent games – the rest have been so-so!

• 68.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-55: Yeah right… Brilliant distribution, outstanding defence… Just what the Boks need at 12…

Come now,

Donkey can do neither…

• 69.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-66: Donkey has not even been better than Meisiekind or Lem Bosman. Fullstop.

• 70.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

bok backline: (for those that think otherwise are smoking trees)

15 Bambie
    14 Geo [for his left boot also]
    13 Mossie
    12 F. Steyn
    11: Bryan
    10: M.Steyn
    9: Hougard / FDP

• 71.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Bok Forwards:

sorry chaps but your props need to be able to scrum; I don’t rate: Coenie, Greyling or Werner Kruger – they give away more scrum penalties away than Bismark &
    Daniel Braid combined

1: Beast (if recovered)
    2: Bismark
    3: Jannie Dup ? no my fav but who else ?
    4: Elstadt / Etzebeth
    5: Bekker
    6: Brussouw [his lack of pace around the park is a bit concerning]
    7: Sckalk
    8: Spies

• 72.wpallday: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading(wpjoulekkading)-65: And the rest of my post ,have any substance behind the other points I made?

@brains_trust(brains_trust)-71:what about this forward pack? Out of interest ;
    1.Beast
    2.Bismarck
    3.JDP
    4.Bakkies-brad thorn played till 36?/Mostert/Flip vd
    5.Etzebeth
    6.Coetzee
    7.Alberts
    8.Burger

16.Ralapelle
    17.Greyling
    18.Bekker
    19.Deysel/Minnie

• 73.DAS: Reply to this comment

Comparing Goosen to Dan Carter already? Good God. Settle down. Talented player, he’s got a long ways to go to become Carter.

• 74.willievz: Reply to this comment

JDV the best 12 in the competition?

You guys can’t be serious.

Defensively he is very good but his attacking play lacks. He carries the ball like a flanker towards the defensive line, which sometimes results in him getting across the advantage line, but more often than not it is very predictable and more importantly, easy for the defensive line to realign for the next phase.

The Stormers would score a lot more tries if they swap the two centers around.

• 75.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Goosen is better than Carter.. and he’s no Gaffie.. nor ever will be

even Kiwi’s and Aussies all waxing lyrical already about the new wunderkind who popped out of nowhere to head all the S15 points scoring and kicking stats

so anyone still not yet convinced I give it another 3-4 games tops before they realize if you wanna compare class for class, Goosen is by far best fly half in SA even at age 19 by some distance.. leaving all of Lambie, Jantjies, Steyn and the rest in the shade…

next silky distributive and quick thinking No.10 in the wings Gary Van Aswegen.. yup you may not wanna register it yet but you heard it here first…

and Duvenhage – Grant – JdV combo.. as many as the nay saying dumbells wanna keep regurgitating the fallacy that they’re up to sh’t.. keep thinking along those lines.. JdV – Grant midfield with Duvenhage at scrum half will do the business and go the distance in this competition against all the deriding cr@p being posited all over the place.. If Stormers wanna succeed this year one thing they gotta realize once and for all is leave the captaincy with JdV.. give it back to Schalk Burger and guaranteed its tickets..

• 76.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-75: So now it’s back to Grant, is it? Whatever happened to your Van Asswagon Wünderkind that had you in ejaculatory rapture not all that long ago? I thought he was going to redefine flyhalf play in the 21st century.

• 77.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-76: seems you can’t even read.. that’s how much dumbfuck debilitating jackass ignorance has fucked your prissy little pseudo intelligent head… morose piffle arsed idiot moron seeking for another angle to highlight your dumb deluded outright ignorance…

• 78.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-77: If it’s any consolation, no one else reads your posts either. If you want it to be heard, stick it in the first paragraph. Or alternatively, start typing in regular English.

• 79.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

From what I’ve seen, Goosen has the most potential of all the young 1st fives in the comp to take it to the next level.

• 80.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

what you commenting on my post for schmuckass ? If its scant interest wtf you bother to lower your dumbfuck ignorant brain down to a lesser intelligent level you pathetic morose dumbass moron ?

the fly halves with the most potential promise in SA right now are Johann Goosen and Gary Van Aswegen.. they the ones with the real class goods to showcase and deliver…

and Peter Grant was done the worst kind of dirties when it was his time to shine by that fatfunk asscreep awesome pathetic schmuck John Smit who entrenched all his pals in his favoritism bedeviled Springbok team that went down the f’ng chute under his awe inspiring self seeking guidance and grandiose fucked out influence..

• 81.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-79: pity it takes a foreigner to show the dumbfck SA moronic insular arsewipes who’s true class and who ain’t

• 82.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-80: easy now old timer or you will spit the dentures.

• 83.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-80: Your excitement levels are pretty far from healthy, old chap. Keep it together.

• 84.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-83: I’m watching Dexter at the moment and a Mr Price advert has just come on with the Black Keys’ “Lonely Boy” as the track.

Is nothing sacred?

You have anything to do with this???

• 85.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-84: Not me. There’s a cellphone ad out there (might be Nokia) set to a Black Rebel Motorcycle Club track (Spread your love like a fever). Have to switch channels when it comes on.

• 86.rangerman: Reply to this comment

van aswegen?

seriously?

The oke is as fragiles as a 6 year old egg shell and has played about 20 mins of top class rugby,

he may come right but he has done nothing to warrant any kind of build up.

peter grant on da udder hand has had nothing but opportunity and guess how thats turned out.

• 87.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-86: Fugeddit. Skoppie saw Van Asswagons meteoric rise one evening a few months back when he read it in his dirty dishwater. He’ll bet his bakkie on it now.

• 88.cab: Reply to this comment

i wouldnt mind seeing either goosen or grant at 10 for the Boks.

i say leave out the donkey (as HG puts it) and no ways entertain duvenage. Hougie is the scrummy.

• 89.cab: Reply to this comment

if i had to pick a young up and coming side to do the business it would be:

1. Kitshoff 2. Bismarck 3. Cilliers 4. Etsebeth 5. Bekker 6. Brussow 7. Elstadt 8. Alberts/Vermeulen
    9. Hougie 10. Goosen 11. Aplon/le roux 12. FS 13. JDJ 14. JP 15. Viljoen/Taute

• 90.cab: Reply to this comment

But i guess heyneke got to go with some experience against england, think he’s gotta re-call gurthro especially if beast still injured and he takes a gamble on etsebeth at 4. probably pick all the bulls, i.e. flips, spies, morne, olivier, etc.

• 91.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

You know, for the first time since I can remember, I find myself looking beyond the excitement of the S15, and actually looking FORWARD to the Boks season ahead.

Under Heyneke, it’s going to be LEKKER to be a Bok supporter. We will be able to take pride in being Bokke again.

I can’t wait.

• 92.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-89: If we’re picking expats, and if everyone is fit, my full strength Bok team would look something like this:

1. Mtwarira
    2. Du Plessis
    3. Mujati
    4 Etzebeth
    5. Bekker
    6. Brussow
    7. Burger
    8. Spies
    9. Hougaard
    10. M. Steyn
    11. Habana
    12. F. Steyn
    13. Fourie
    14. Petersen
    15. Taute

16. Brits
    17. Steenkamp
    18. Kruger
    19. Alberts
    20. Pretorius
    21. Jantjies
    22. De Jongh

• 93.Markel77: Reply to this comment

Fully agree with you Tacitus. Heyneke Meyer is like a fresh breath of air. Go Bokke!!!

• 94.XV: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-91: true true

• 95.carol: Reply to this comment

138 – Keoites who think the Bulls will win
    75 – ” ” ” ” Stormers ” ”

This weekends clash of Pink and Blue

On a mainly Stormer site, what does that tell you?? ;-)

• 96.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-92:

I’d go something like this:

Gurthro
    Bismark
    Jannie
    vd Merwe
    Kruger
    Brussouw
    Spies
    du Preez
    Morne Steyn
    Frans Steyn
    Jacque Fourie
    Hougaard
    Pietersen
    Aplon

Bench:

Beast
    Adriaan Strauss (but they’ll go for Chilli, for obvious reasons)
    Bekker
    Burger
    Johan Goosen (But they’ll go for Elton, for obvious reasons)
    JJ Engelbrecht covering wing and centre – a bit of a Nostradamus prediction of his continued rise in form over the course of the S15 to come
    AN other. Aplon if he doesn’t start, or an extra prop if we go for 5 forwards.

• 97.Markel77: Reply to this comment

Uy uy uy, “But they will go for Chilli/Jantjies for obvious reasons”. I suspect Transensitive wont be very pleased with you jeje

• 98.cab: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-92:
    damn good side, but surprised u didnt go with alberts at 8. brits and mujati would be devastatingly good additions to boulster the squad, but seems like mujati has no interest, bit of a shame.

• 99.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-96:

Rose tinted glasess…..eish, what has vd Merwe ever done as a lock except injure himself and prove he can’t kick?

• 100.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-99: This weekend they will be rose tinted. Normally they are 2 light blue eye patches. :smile:

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.