KeoTV: Monty backs Habana
28 Mar 2012
PERCY MONTGOMERY, KeoTV’s latest addition, says Bryan Habana is now the complete player.
19 Jun 2013
Jean de Villiers will be given the rest of the week to recover in time to face Samoa in Pretoria. Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer wants his captain to lead the side in the Boks final international of the month. If De Villiers does not recover from the chest injury, Jan Serfontein will start at inside centre. Morne Steyn again starts ahead of Pat Lambie. Willem Alberts will also be given the next 48 hours to prove his fitness. Adriaan Strauss retains the run on No 2 jersey while Bismarck du Plessis is nursed back after nine months out of the game. Boks - 15. Willie le Roux, 14. Bryan ... Read Article1 Jun 2013
The Bulls are South Africa's best team and they proved it in Bloemfontein. The Cheetahs have been outstanding all season and they were as good on Saturday night as they have been at any stage. Still it wasn't good enough to beat the Bulls, who won 30-25 after leading 30-13 with 10 minutes to play. The Cheetahs finished brilliantly and deserved the bonus point, but the Bulls consolidated their top two league placing thanks to an imposing first hour. Pierre Spies was impressive as team and pack leader, Arno Botha was ever present and the No 9, 10, 12 Bulls axis of Francois Hougaard, Morne ... Read Article11 Jun 2013
Brendan Venter's appointment as Sharks Director of Rugby is a good one. But the decision to end John Plumtree's Sharks coaching tenure is not. Former Springbok and Italy coach Nick Mallett turned down an invitation for the role of Sharks Director of Rugby and Venter, formerly the head coach and Director of Rugby at Saracens, will start his job at the outset of the Currie Cup season. Plumtree remains the Super Rugby head coach until the end of this season's tournament but his contract has not been renewed. Plumtree is highly rated in Europe and will in all likelihood link up with a European ... Read Article8 Jun 2013
Rene Ranger was among the few highlights in New Zealand's 23-13 win against France in Auckland. The All Blacks led 17-10 at half time but France dominated field position for most of the match and enjoyed the greater quality in possession. However they couldn't translate the advantage in the set phase and at the breakdown into points. New Zealand defended well in a match of poor quality. France lead early through Wesley Fofana's try and it took Ben Smith's break to start up New Zealand's international season. Smith has been the form New Zealand back in Super Rugby and he looked a class ... Read Article27 May 2013
Kiwi Vern Cotter is Scotland's new head coach. Cotter will only take up the position in a year's time. He will see out his contact with French club Clermont. Cotter's appointment means that New Zealanders will coach Scotland, Ireland (Joe Schmidt) and Wales (Warren Gatland). New Zealander Robbie Deans has been at the helm of Australia for the last five years and current Blues coach John Kirwan coached Italy and Japan. Kiwi coaches have also been at the helm of Samoa and Fiji in recent years. Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article28 Mar 2012
PERCY MONTGOMERY, KeoTV’s latest addition, says Bryan Habana is now the complete player.
Ryan has written 4017 articles.
1 Dec 2012
29 Nov 2012
Francois Louw believes the best way to take the referee out of the equation is to dominate the collisions, reports...Read More
Flip van der Merwe will start in the second row for the Springboks in the quadrangular series decider at Loftus...Read More
The decision to give Flip van der Merwe the No 5 jersey is yet another ploy by Heyneke Meyer to...Read More
Heyneke Meyer's decision to back a host of youngsters in this quadrangular Test series will have long-term benefits for the...Read More
Francois Louw, the man who changed Heyneke Meyer’s mind, has undergone a life-changing experience of his own. Louw admits he's...Read More
The Bulls are South Africa’s best team and they proved it in Bloemfontein. Read More
Jean de Villiers will be given the rest of the week to recover in time to face Samoa in Pretoria. Read More
Kiwi Vern Cotter is Scotland’s new head coach. Read More
Rene Ranger was among the few highlights in New Zealand’s 23-13 win against France in Auckland. Read More

169 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All
28 Mar 2012, 13:53 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-44: Was just the run of the mill filth you’d expect from any chav in the UK. With a racist twist added for extra flavour.
28 Mar 2012, 14:31 pm
Every time I watch one of these KeoTVs I realise what a sleazy guy Keo is. Every piece of “insight” he gives is like a second hand car complete with latent defects. Not a lot of integrity in his journalism I don’t think.. Quite gimmicky.
28 Mar 2012, 14:33 pm
As for Monty… I think he’s quite right about his work rate and defensive efforts. But how can you stand there wth a straight face and tell us he’s scoring tries??? That’s not a matter of opinion… It simply isn’t true!
28 Mar 2012, 15:01 pm
What a load of rubbish! I’ve lost all respect for Percy after this video, he cannot honestly believe Habana is the best wing in the country…people have seriously got to stop holding onto the past and look at the future, Habana just isnt what he used to be end of story. Percy enjoy the braai at your pal Bryan’s place tonight!
28 Mar 2012, 15:05 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-6:
Well exactly!
28 Mar 2012, 15:08 pm
@Bullslondon(Bullslondon)-54:
You’re probably the same guy that lost respect for Percy when he left RSA to become a points phenomenon in the NH and then came back to be a world beater… let’s just say your point of view is worth what we’ve paid for it!
28 Mar 2012, 15:09 pm
Habs is scoring a try a week in a team devoid of any semblance of backline nouse… Monty is spot-on!
28 Mar 2012, 15:13 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-57: A try a week? He’s scored 2. In 4 weeks. And last season he didn’t exactly cook either.
28 Mar 2012, 15:26 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-56: how can I be that same guy if I just said “I’ve lost all respect for Percy after this video” note the words ‘after this video’?? And as @Tarlo points out he’s scored 2 tries in 4 weeks, so before you give your point of view its probably best to get your facts straight first.
28 Mar 2012, 15:28 pm
@Tarlo(Tarlo)-58:
Remind me which other Stormer’s player ranks in the top 10 list of ‘tries scored’ so far into the season… let alone close to the top 30!
Oh yeah…
28 Mar 2012, 15:29 pm
@Bullslondon(Bullslondon)-59:
Listen to comprehend… speak to be heard… wtf you on about?
28 Mar 2012, 15:48 pm
i thought after the World Cup we’d be finished of this madess, yet here we are in the year of our Lord 2012 still mentioning Habana and the Springboks in the same sentence without a hint of sarcasm
28 Mar 2012, 15:50 pm
@Tarlo(Tarlo)-52: “Every piece of “insight” he gives is like a second hand car complete with latent defects.”
damn…
28 Mar 2012, 15:53 pm
@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-60: Like that means anything? Aside from the fact that you said he’s scoring a try a week, NOT that he’s scoring better than anyone else in the team, it doesn’t change the fact that he has scored only 2 tries. The next highest in the team is…. wait for it… 1! In fact thats the next highest in the entire tournament. 5 outside backs have scored 3 tries and 1 has scored 4 (Basson). Sona Taumololo has scored tries. Is he a better winger than Habana? Quit blowing smoke up his *** and get real.
28 Mar 2012, 15:55 pm
@Tarlo(Tarlo)-52: tell that to those crazy people who gives me awards every year and every publication globally that pays me very well to write for them.
Would love to read your insights. Where are you published?
28 Mar 2012, 15:58 pm
For the record boys Habana was timed quickest over 40 in Stormers set up this season … he hasn’t lost his pace, he lost being the beneficiary of the creative Bulls when he moved to Cape Town
28 Mar 2012, 16:00 pm
why the obsession with age in this country … players turn 26 or 27 and the common thread is to want to retire them.
It is like all those who didn’t want Frans Steyn involved in WC and then when he got injured at WC they were devastated cos we lost our most dangerous back.
Class is permanent … if Habana was playing for Bulls he’d be scoring 2 or 3 a week.
28 Mar 2012, 16:01 pm
@keo(keo)-66: You cannot deny that he has been awful for the Boks over the last 2 years, simply terrible. A fair showing at S15 level this early into the season surely cannot absolve him of the last two shocking seasons for the Boks.
28 Mar 2012, 16:02 pm
@keo(keo)-66:
have repeated that fact several times to the heathens…
yet heathens they remain…
28 Mar 2012, 16:05 pm
@keo(keo)-66: who is to blame for that, fleckie or ac?
28 Mar 2012, 16:06 pm
Last year when the Stormers played the Reds I actually started to feel sorry for Habana, because it was clear as day that the Reds were targeting him down on his wing. They simply knew he was a liability and exploited this fact. As fickle as we are with age apparently, certain supporters are stubborn in equal measure and refuse to let go of old heroes when they stop performing.
28 Mar 2012, 16:14 pm
@fantasticbarnsmell(fantasticbarnsmell)-71: habana arrogantly demanded a huge sum for his services but toulon told him he ain’t worth that much ,then he took a pay cut to stay at the stormers, now he is the best.
keo announce it already, has habana signed with hsm like luke?
28 Mar 2012, 16:16 pm
it is always incredible how those who have achieved so much get so much flak but those who don’t always get the benefit of the doubt. It is the same across all codes, most notably with Kallis in cricket. Cronje is still put on a pedestal and Kallis is still questioned. Crazy.
I don’t dispute Habana had an awful 2011 and he looked tired and jaded. I do think he has bounced back this season and when judging any winger the team he plays for needs to be taken into account.
And style of play etc … it is like any outside back who plays for Munster … great team but not the place you go to relish in getting the ball if you are an outside back
28 Mar 2012, 16:17 pm
Habana will flourish again under HM …
28 Mar 2012, 16:18 pm
Habana, for the record, is no fan of mine. Our conversation extends to the courtesy of a hello when we see each other.
28 Mar 2012, 16:21 pm
Stormers also need to be playing Aplon at 15 he is so much more destructive from there
28 Mar 2012, 16:42 pm
Habana was terrible in 2009, 2010 and 2011. Right now he is closer to number 10 in the country rather than 1.
Though of course it is good to see an improvement in his play recently and if he keeps on improving, then he may be able to become the best once again.
I would not say that I am hard on Habana, just very disappointed that he still kept his Bok place when he very clearly didn’t deserve it in the last few years, previous record breaking excluded.
28 Mar 2012, 17:30 pm
Ridiculous nonsense. Habanna has two lucky bounces for tries and now suddenly he’s back? He still doesn’t pose any kind of threat with ball in hand, not the way Mvovo or Basson do. Are we really ok with having a journeyman wing while countries like Wales play two exciting attacking youngsters. We also have those players, we’re just not giving them a shot.
PS: Am I the only one that thinks the videos are incredibly poorly edited. You don’t have to change the zoom / angle every 3 seconds. IT’S F*CKING ANNOYING!
28 Mar 2012, 18:23 pm
@keo(keo)-76: Seeing as you seem to be reading this thread…please take note of how many people don’t like or feel slightly sick watching the zoom in/out editing. Unless you’re actually aiming for that amateurish touch – then why not hold the camera on an angle and perhaps get the mic on camera once in a while
28 Mar 2012, 18:30 pm
Great guy but Percy and Habs have too much history together. Percy will probably tell you that John Smit is still the best hooker in the country too.
28 Mar 2012, 19:15 pm
Wat skel keohane weer vir almal uit
28 Mar 2012, 20:26 pm
At last I get a chance to see the clip and I have to say Percy you show great promise.
It will get easier, have a chat to Gary Lineker from the BBC, with coaching he turned from a sportsman who commentated into a consumate presenter.
Look forward to the forthcoming interviews Keo promised.
All the best.
28 Mar 2012, 20:27 pm
@keo(keo)-76:
THANK YOU
THANK YOU
THANK YOU
THANK YOU !!
Percy at last……….
28 Mar 2012, 21:31 pm
Habana has never once not been our best wing since November 2004, that much is fact. Nobody has been willing to point to the fact that NONE of our wings over the past four years have been succeeding. It’s too fashionable to bash Habana though. This is because of the rank idiocy of the Saffer fans. Your centres create the space for your wings, our centres at the Boks and that of WP are utterly pathetic at doing this. The real problem is still not being identified. Habana does things that no other wing in SA can do. Does one not recall how he ripped through 8 All Blacks in 2010? What have all the other pretenders done? Mvovo? Basson? Nokwe? Chavangha? Aplon? Not much. Had Habana been an Aussie or a Kiwi he would have notched up 60 odd tries easily. His workload and all round game is phenomenal. But as is the way with South Africa, the best players get lambasted and the chaff praised to the heavens. *yawn*
28 Mar 2012, 21:53 pm
habana lacks the basics of a great wing imo.
he has no step or even a swerve.
he is also top heavy and goes down very easily in the tackle.
that said, habs is the consumate pro and deserves respect, just not as wide eyed as this piece has it imo.
28 Mar 2012, 22:37 pm
@keo(keo)-66:
Aha!! You should tell Tac that.
According to him the Bulls let Habana go TTHREE years ago because Shadow was the quickest player over 60m in the Bulls squad.
Now you’re telling us that Habana is quicker than Shadow THREE years later over 60m.
Something don’t add up.
@rangerman(rangerman)-85:
You’re probably talking about the last three years of his career.
In the 1st two yrears of his international career all he had was speed and the intercept. The he displayed the kick-and-chase. After that he showed everybody that he also ha a swerver and he was criticised for not having a side-step. In one particular match, against Aus, he side stepped to score a try and everybody said that he was the complete wing.
Now, at the sunset of his career you want to claim that he doesn’t have any of these skills?
Bullcrap man.
Habana still has a good three years left in him.
AfA the article goes, I said after the 1st one that Keo is either looking for a book deal or he is using Percy to get Habana on his book.
28 Mar 2012, 22:54 pm
@keo(keo)-65:
“tell that to those crazy people who gives me awards every year and every publication globally that pays me very well to write for them.”
So Mark, tell us about the global publications that ask you to write for them.
We all know that the best rugby writers in SA are Afrikaans. The fact that you are one of a handful english speaking SA rugby writers, and as such gets the chance to write for “global publications” does not mean squat, imo.
You tainted your name when you became embedded with JW after he “saved” your life during the RWC in 2007 in France. That until he took you to court and then you use this forum to bitchfight with him after he ditched you. That did not do your image any good either.
You were also very critical of Luke after his puke remark until he signed with your company.
Give me a reason why I should not view your positive articles about Habana in the same light!!!
28 Mar 2012, 23:22 pm
Eish… Think Monty’s TV skills are less developed than his calves.
That said, great to get the insight of such an experienced former international.
29 Mar 2012, 02:50 am
Can I take this opportunity to ask people to please not judge me because you don’t even know me and when you get to know me you may find that you like me.
So a few days ago I admitted my softer side and I understand my request for a kiss or two was shot down but just give it some time…
Today I admitted my preference for animals, now I know people may be shocked by it but again I think over time you will accept me. Just remember to lock up your animals when I visit, I sometimes can’t control my urges. I mean, after all a Yappie is a few rungs below any animal, is it not?
29 Mar 2012, 03:15 am
Oh dear, still managing to pop your head out of the toilet bowl to spew your ka k hey doos?
Waiting to hear what a “yap” is you pomey dropkick!
29 Mar 2012, 04:58 am
@PrickBoks GoingSouth(PrickBoks GoingSouth)-89:
@whatever(whatever)-90:
funny how you 2 lovers keep popping up everywhere together, 1 could almost be fooled in to thinking you were 2 separate entities.
Which one of you is the ‘passive’ one ?
29 Mar 2012, 05:09 am
Monty. Let me see the chickensh1t coward who whenever he was under the high ball soiled himself and never ever caught it coughing up possession? The same coward who was the revolving door in defense?? The same one who on attack would throw anywhere to get the damn ball off him before someone hurt him?? Real tough guy at home though, didn’t stand for a bar of it from his missus. aah you Yappies – go ahead celebrate your “hero” – typical
29 Mar 2012, 05:13 am
I can only assume you are also a Yappie, complaing for the sake of complaining. Why don’t you get your own nick and a life whilst you at it. Stupid lowlife Yappie escaping the pond you live in just to steal a nick and post stupid comments, why don’t you crawl back into your hole and take whatever with you?
29 Mar 2012, 05:14 am
Idiot!
29 Mar 2012, 05:16 am
@PrickBoks GoingSouth(PrickBoks GoingSouth)-93:
enough talk about ‘holes’
I think we know who the passive one is now
dont we.
btw – your mimic’ing tactic isnt going to work. Childs play with adults rarely does.
29 Mar 2012, 05:20 am
“your mimic’ing tactic”
you low-life scum thief trailer trash son of a ***** bigoted ignorant imbecile
go away and never return
29 Mar 2012, 05:58 am
@PrickBoks GoingSouth(PrickBoks GoingSouth)-96:
um, yeah, ‘whatever’.
dont forget to wash now, y’hear.
29 Mar 2012, 06:14 am
Looks like two doos’s to me, one just thinks he is bigger than the other!
29 Mar 2012, 06:22 am
And here comes the ‘active’ partner now and – typically – immediately sizing up who is “bigger” already.
Find yourselves a room, boys. Mind that it says ‘vacant’ before you knock.
29 Mar 2012, 06:27 am
@keo(keo)-75: If anything Habs is a good judge of character
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All