Rebels rush stars back

James O’Connor and Kurtley Beale have both been named to start against the Highlanders having overcome their respective injuries.

O’Connor missed last week’s clash because of a hamstring injury while Beale was sidelined with a calf ailment. O’Connor will return to the team this Saturday at No 10, replacing the injured Danny Cipriani while Beale will take up his regular spot at fullback.

With O’Connor replacing Cipriani instead of returning to the centres, Lloyd Johansson and Lachlan Mitchell will start their second game as a midfield combination.

The game will be played at Invercargill, meaning the typically wet weather will be a factor.

Rebels – 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Mark Gerrard, 13 Lachlan Mitchell, 12 Lloyd Johansson, 11 Cooper Vuna, 10 James O’Connor, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Gareth Delve (c), 7 Tom Chamberlain, 6 Jarrod Saffy, 5 Hugh Pyle, 4 Luke Jones, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Adam Freier, 1 Nic Henderson.
Subs: 16 Ged Robinson, 17 Rodney Blake, 18 Alister Campbell, 19 Michael Lipman, 20 Nic Stirzaker, 21 James Hilgendorf, 22 Julian Huxley.