Sharks lose Lambie

The Sharks have been boosted by the return of JP Pietersen and Jean Deysel but have lost flyhalf Pat Lambie to a jaw injury.

Lambie took a knock to the jaw in last week’s clash with Waratahs, and has been ruled out of Saturday’s battle with the Brumbies. As a result, Freddie Michalak will start at No 10.

Pietersen’s return from injury sees Tim Whitehead moving to No 12 and Meyer Bosman dropping to the bench. Lock Steven Sykes is moved into the starting line-up at the expense of Anton Bresler.

Coach John Plumtree has named five forwards in his group of reserves, and much will be expected of Deysel when he takes the field.

Sharks – 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Tim Whitehead, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Freddie Michalak, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Keegan Daniel (c), 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Jandre Marais, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Dale Chadwick.
Subs: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Anton Bresler, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Jacques Botes, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Louis Ludik.