Carter to steer Saders’ ship
29 Mar 2012
Dan Carter starts his first game for the Crusaders since returning from injury.
Carter played off the wood last weekend but runs on for their match against the Lions at Ellis Park on Saturday. Carter, however, admitted he has doubts about finishing 80 minutes on the Highveld. ‘I was definitely pretty tired after just 40 minutes last week, so 80 might be a stretch,’Carter said.
‘Once you get out there, you communicate with the coaches and see how you are feeling. I will definitely target the first half and re-assess at half-time to see how I am going.’
In other changes, Tom Taylor replaces Ryan Crotty at inside centre. Wyatt Crockett comes in at loosehead prop for Ben Franks and George Whitelock will replace brother Luke at blindside flanker.
Crusaders - 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Tom Taylor, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read (c), 7 Matt Todd, 6 George Whitelock, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Subs: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Tom Donnelly, 19 Luke Whitelock, 20 Willi Heinz, 21 Ryan Crotty, 22 Tom Marshall.

147 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All
29 Mar 2012, 15:36 pm
@Wanderer(Wanderer)-98: “in your drugged up dreams will I even think of going to that corrupt, bankrupt **** hole”
are you talking about bertrams, doornfontein, hillbrow, yeoville or that other drug den directly past cresta mall?
29 Mar 2012, 15:38 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-99: ahhhhh, makes a lot of sense then
29 Mar 2012, 15:39 pm
@Wanderer, ignoreer hierdie uittand weepee ondersteuners. Die feit egter is die taalgebruik van hulle wys jou met watse intellek mens praat jy mee. Dit is daai adders wat op die Parke sit en boo as die Haka gedoen word en dan nog die All Blacks ondersteun. Soos Cane se, die Suid Afrikaanse ondersteueners gemeenskap is in die middel deur geskeur. Daarom voel &*^% vir die Stormers en hulle platbek ondersteuners! En hulle noem die Bulle commen?? Die feit ook is dat hierdie grootbekke grootbek is na 5 rondes. Die seisoen is nog lank en kry die gevoel die adders gaan stil wees hier teen die middel van die seisoen!
29 Mar 2012, 15:41 pm
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-103:
Uittand??
Platbek?????
Howveryfuckingrude.
29 Mar 2012, 15:42 pm
@slappes, nee wat feit is die oos kaap is maar k@k, dis hoekom julle jong spelers na ander universiteite toe gaan. Hulle word hier n beter kans gegee sonder al die politieke rondslomp.
Ek sal die Kings ondersteun as hulle beter doen maar nie ten koste van enige van die ander spanne nie.
Julle het julle kans gehad maar julle deel is verkoop aan die Sharks en nou soek julle weer.
Snaaks genoeg in die dae van Danie Gerber en daai klomp het ek die OP ondersteun maar hulle rugby het ver agteruit gegaan.
@Getafix- actually my kid is a Dux pupil and is a student at Pukke, he tells me that there are a whole load of EC kids in Pukke, makes me wonder whats wrong with the EC universities?
29 Mar 2012, 15:44 pm
“Ons Storm saam” moet liewer wees “ons praat groot saam en dan kak ons saam”, maar ongelukkig is die plakkate nie groot genoeg nie!!
29 Mar 2012, 15:45 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-104: Read the previous comments Dawn, it will all make sense!
29 Mar 2012, 15:45 pm
@Wanderer(Wanderer)-105:
Our varsities are full Joburg kids looking for a safer and better lifestyle…
29 Mar 2012, 15:46 pm
BUTCH is rubbing his hands with glee Dan opposite him
i guess he’ll have to refer back to the cotton wool manuel
29 Mar 2012, 15:48 pm
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-107:
I read all of them.
Stillfuckingrude
29 Mar 2012, 15:50 pm
@Lazarus, I think if the Lions can stop chasing the games, we will have a result on Saturday. The problem is to play catch up rugby every game, makes it difficult. If we can stop the Saders for the first 40, we will take the game…only my opinion.
29 Mar 2012, 15:51 pm
@Wanderer(Wanderer)-105: it’s a free country, anyone can study where ever they like! i studied both @ Wits & @ UPE and thinking of doing my MBA @ UCT.
29 Mar 2012, 15:57 pm
@Wanderer, ek woon nie daar nie maar daar is probleme soos in al die ander provinsies. Dit behoort nie as n maatstaf gebruik word as dit kom by hul rugby talent nie. Die OP was sterk in die ou jare, hoekom kan hul nie n kans gegun word nie? Daar stap seker honderde Kolisi’s daaronder , hoekom kan hul nie superugby speel nie. Antwoord saru se korrupte spul idiote.
29 Mar 2012, 16:03 pm
@Loyal lion, why bring your prejudiced views into the argument? Stick to the facts , the lions were and still are k@k. Empty stadium, bankrupt union and i could easily tear into your typical lions fans but they dont have internet in their caravans/homes .
29 Mar 2012, 16:10 pm
@ slappes,
“They don’t have internet in their caravans\homes”
And the neighbour who is his sisters father and his mothers brother didn’t pay his TV license
Bwahaha
29 Mar 2012, 16:15 pm
@Wanderer(Wanderer)-105:
2011 .. 14th last
2010 .. 14th last
2009 .. 12th 3rd last
2008 .. 14th last
2007 .. 12th 3rd last
2006 .. 13th 2nd last
If this is how the king would perform over the next 6 years, i will be the first to suggest to give them the boot!!!!!
29 Mar 2012, 16:15 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-114: i like how this loyal lion ducks the FACT that his union dodged a bullet through SARU corruption to stay in Super rugby 6 years ago!
Loffie: Spears fiasco never rattled us
17 Nov 2006
Lions coach Eugene Elloff says the Spears saga had no bearing on their preparation for the Vodacom Super 14.
The Southern Cape franchise were involved in a protracted battle with Saru and SA Rugby (Saru’s commercial arm) over their participation in the regional tournament, until they abandoned their legal action yesterday.
The Lions were the franchise standing to lose out had the Spears been successful and, as the lowest placed South African team, would have been relegated from tournament.
While Elloff conceded that relegation had been a reality that he had to deal with daily, he said it never affected his team’s preparation.
“We were never burdened by the whole Spears saga,” Eloff told keo.co.za. “While everything was going on around us we went ahead with our preparation as usual and this debacle didn’t affect my team in the slightest.
Asked what the consequences of a Spears victory would have meant for the Johannesburg-based franchise, Eloff was adamant that they would have taken it on the chin.
“At the moment this team is so motivated as a result of the way they finished off the Currie Cup that it wouldn’t have rocked the boat at all.
“We would have re-focussed our attention on preparing for next year’s Currie Cup and while it would be stupid to think that they [the players] would not have been disappointed, everyone here knows we are working towards a goal of being the best South African team.”
Eloff was reluctant to comment on what he thought of how the Spears had conducted themselves throughout the saga and added that he doubted his players would’ve been open to any player-sharing proposal from the Spears.
The Lions have routinely delivered poor performances in Super Rugby, but Eloff insisted that the Spears decision would not place them under any further pressure to prove that they could compete with the best teams in the southern hemisphere.
“We don’t have to justify anything to anyone,” he snapped. “We will go out and play our game and try to wave the flag for South Africa.”
yeah right, they “flew” the flag alright
talk about entitlement “We don’t have to justify anything to anyone,” six years later they still think they have a divine right to play super rugby
29 Mar 2012, 16:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-117: Again, I am not denying that my team performed badly over the last 10 years and yes probably deserved to be relegated. The other FACT is that IF we end up last and your team doesn’t, let us be replaced by a better team. Promotion/relegation game..best out of 5, to make it easier! If my team loses, I will “take it on the chin”. That is fair and would have been the norm in a first world country?
29 Mar 2012, 16:46 pm
@Transie, exactly. Im guessing there’ll be 9500 deluded lions rent a crowd fans at the coke tin on saturday. Its a farkin disgrace!
29 Mar 2012, 16:51 pm
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-118: that is rubbish! when newcastle united gets relegated, they don’t pit them against teams from coming into the league to see how “good” they are, you finish last, you’re OUT!
29 Mar 2012, 16:54 pm
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-111: You must remember the Saders traditionally perform better in the 2 nd half – you have to be at least 30 points ahead and maybe we wont catch you – catch up specialists !
29 Mar 2012, 16:54 pm
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-118:
So how will we arrange this? Will we allow the Kings to contract world-class players just for the playoffs (maybe from the bulls and steamers etc) or will we not allow the kitties to play their super rugby players for that game? Surely you should realise that there is a massive difference between a world-class player earning 300k a month and a vodacom cup player earning 10k a month….. The only way for the Kings to compete would be to have a Super franchise budget…. Which they will only get once they are in the Super 15. This is not rocket science….
29 Mar 2012, 16:56 pm
@loyal damduikerlion, the rules were set long ago read transies link. Last place gets relegated, hell even WP got relegated in 97! Why must the rules change for the lions?
29 Mar 2012, 16:56 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-119: And one Saders supporter – saaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaadersss!!!!!
29 Mar 2012, 16:57 pm
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-118: how can a team like the lions who even got sponsorship from MTN DESPITE the dismal results want to “compete” with the Kings who are looking to SA Rugby to confirm their participation so that they can also sign up sponsors?
this nonsense of “we want to make sure we are replaced by a good team”, you finished last, you have no say!
“1st world country” my arse
29 Mar 2012, 16:59 pm
Playoffs lmfao!
29 Mar 2012, 17:00 pm
@stew, do you know Jimmy Abbot?
29 Mar 2012, 17:16 pm
@kommen grootbek Slappes, when you are last you are out! Agreed then, lets see what happens at the end of S15 2012, will you support the Kings when your team gets relegated? Hahaha now that would be really fun to see. Ranting and raving about the Lions and then your team ends last! Lets wait and see!
29 Mar 2012, 17:20 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-125: Both teams play with their full strength players. The Kings with all of their top class overseas and local and who the hell wants to help them, against the last team in 2012. Hope that the Stormers will have all their players available, because this Kings side is awesome + all the players from all over the world and beyond! Hahahaha, laughable really. You and Slappes just keeps on making my day..thanks guys!
29 Mar 2012, 17:21 pm
Jimmy abbot was a wrestler, and the biggest lions supporter literally and figuratively!
29 Mar 2012, 17:26 pm
@Loyal Lion(Loyal Lion)-129: when the dumb have no comeback they feign mirth even where there’s none.
what happened to your “first world country” theory?
in the Barclays Premiership (one of the most professional leagues in the world” the teams that finish last go straight down, they don’t go to playoffs with Southampton or Sheffield Wednesday to “make sure they are replaced in the Premiership by better teams”
laugh at that sucker!
29 Mar 2012, 18:01 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-131:
by the same token, the championship teams have to play off if they don’t finish first.
29 Mar 2012, 18:05 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-112:
” and thinking of doing my MBA @ UCT.”
You do know you just cannot do that so easily? You belong to the “refugees” grouping emanating from the E. Cape
Or are you again going to arsecreep your way to a non-”refugee” status ‘DOMPAS’ from the madam Zille you trudged so many miles for to just gain/acquire more power for?
Where is your Steve B.-like Black self-respect?
More importantly it brings me to the great topic of exposing all you hypocrites, black, white and everything in between as you all steered away from this horrendously racist comment from your DA Madam Zille-Pill (very many of you ‘hero-worship’ so stunningly stupidly).
29 Mar 2012, 18:22 pm
This coming from a few Stormer supporters and a guy “who don’t support any teams”. If I were a Stormer supporter I would rather go wait in my room and pray for my period and that the Lions don’t field a full strength team next time they meet. As for the Kings – backed by government. Yes, anything backed by government turns out peachy. Tell me since there is “government” money why is that team still playing in the 1st Division? Don’t come with this bullshit that player want exposure to Super Rugby and that’s why he is not interested in the Kings. Kak story, money talks (ask Jaco Engels) and the Kings could have picked a long list good players along the way. The argument that when the Kings get their Super 15 status players will stand in line to go and play for them. Try again…. you will see these players move to other unions and rather sit on the bench than play for the Kings. The other argument that the team that gets relegated, those players will go and play for the Kings. How does that work? The same players that couldn’t cut in one team now go and get their asses handed to them wearing different jerseys? No matter how kak the Lions were over the years they will make these Kings their boy toys every time they step on the field. These clowns cannot even qualify for watered down CC, nuff said.
29 Mar 2012, 19:08 pm
Tuna: when you get arrogant while espousing a kak argument you end up making your name gat boet.
you’re very much aware that the EP Kings that play in 1st Div Currie Cup are not the same thing entity as the Southern Kings franchise, hey?
perfect example, the Otago Rugby Union was about to be liquidated but none of that action was going to affect the super rugby franchise called the Highlanders.
You talk about government backing, how is government backing the Kings, please inform me? Are the Kings getting money from the ministry of sport or the lotto fund?
29 Mar 2012, 19:44 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-135: I think Tuna is referring to what was posted at #9
29 Mar 2012, 19:56 pm
@Transie, tuna just posted a whole lot of nothing. He’s almost as deluded as loyal stupidlion.
29 Mar 2012, 20:01 pm
This was an entertaining thread, fark it seems as if i should return permanently
the lions wont like it though
29 Mar 2012, 20:05 pm
Slherppes it is too much time with transensitives cokck in your mouth. Please stop it, enough is enough
29 Mar 2012, 20:07 pm
charo: for once stop being disingenuous, you know (or maybe you don’t ) that the top 2 teams in the n power league go up to premiership automatically!! Then from no3 to no6 the play the ‘playoffs’ to determine who gets the 3rd promotion spot!
None of the teams from Premiership participate in the playoffs to ‘make sure the teams going up are good enough’ that just south african bullshit!
29 Mar 2012, 20:27 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-140:
disingenous?
yeah right trannie…………….pretty rich don’t you think?
by the way, what do you think of the epru boasting about their political connections on their website?
cool hey
29 Mar 2012, 20:29 pm
@makerel69, stop drinking and stick your head out the trailer and get some fresh air.
29 Mar 2012, 20:35 pm
Be careful slHerppes, transensitive is very promiscuous. Ah by the way, GO LIONS capulloooo!!!!!
29 Mar 2012, 20:45 pm
@charo(charo)-141: um, what about the promotion relegation issue you jumped into, let’s finish that first.
what do the Border & SWD websites say, are they also “politically connected”?
again i reiterate, the Southern Kings are not the same entity as the amateur union known as the EP Kings formerly known as Mighty Elephants
i see now KFC has jumped in to sponsor the Otago Rugby Union and will sell apparently unhealthy burgers to raise funds to pay some of the union’s debts…now does this mean the Highlanders franchise is also responsible? i don’t think so.
29 Mar 2012, 20:58 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-144:
promotion/relegation – there are play offs as i said so what’s there to argue further?
politically connected – why are you evading the issue. i said epru and now you refer to border and swd????
anyway, not worth carrying on over.
29 Mar 2012, 21:43 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-137: I apologize for my lengthy post and I know it’s a struggle for you to keep up. Tomorrow you can read lines 3 and 4 and so on until you have absorbed everything. I think Sunday you might get all in. Remember when your uncles and aunts called you “special” it wasn’t a good thing.
@Transformation(Transformation)-135: Just like the Golden Lions are not the MTN Lions? Riiight…. so with the addition of the Bulldogs and Eagles the Southern Kings will be a different beast? You know and I know 90% of the Southern Kings will consist of the EP Kings.
Regarding the government backing comment – read post 9 from NoRugbyGuru_0.
I’m out, time for the Goon.
30 Mar 2012, 21:12 pm
@lazarus(lazarus)-109:
Yep the games in South Africa so as per usual
Butch will get away with his usual blatant late high shots elbows and shoulder charges blah,blah,blah
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All