KeoTV: Look who’s backing the Bulls
30 Mar 2012
KeoTV’s analysts Keo, Monty and Vrede are divided about who will have the bragging rights in South Africa’s premier Super Rugby showdown at Newlands.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article19 May 2013
GREGOR PAUL, in the Herald on Sunday, writes world rugby will get its integrated season after the 2015 World Cup and Super Rugby won't break to accommodate an international window. Super Rugby will shift to a March start and won't break for test matches, the June window will be shifted to July and all players will have a 14 to 16-week off-season. Other innovative plans are being discussed, such as building a world series of tests in years that fall between the World Cup and British Lions tours. The revolution that All Black coach Steve Hansen called for last week is coming. The players ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article30 Mar 2012
KeoTV’s analysts Keo, Monty and Vrede are divided about who will have the bragging rights in South Africa’s premier Super Rugby showdown at Newlands.
DavidSwart has written 13 articles.
7 Sep 2012
6 Sep 2012
GREGOR PAUL, in the Herald on Sunday, writes world rugby will get its integrated season after the 2015 World Cup and Super Rugby won’t break to accommodate an international window. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

91 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
30 Mar 2012, 00:21 am
Nothing will ever change in SA.
30 Mar 2012, 00:22 am
Same klomp talking same kaak. Living in their small existence pretending to matter.
30 Mar 2012, 00:24 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-49: You seem quite optimistic. I also think Stormerpies will take it, but I’m hoping for a surprise. I have this feeling either Sadie or JJ will break Stormer hearts.
30 Mar 2012, 00:25 am
plenty has already changed in SA – for one its not the same backwater European colony it was in 1652 – plus its far more cosmopolitan and democratically governed now than it was in 1948 or 1961 .. its changing all the time perhaps a lot faster than many would have thought 30 years ago.
30 Mar 2012, 00:25 am
@nama1(nama1)-50: i think this is the rare point where some here find it convinient to mix politics & sport. it obviously suits their inclinations, you see.
on any other day the bulls are the “manchester united of rugby” but this weekend they will win for reasons other than sport
30 Mar 2012, 00:26 am
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-52:
Nothing/nobody matters.
That includes you as well.
30 Mar 2012, 00:30 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-54: Change is good. All depends who you ask. The old thing of “depending on what side of the fence you sit”. Change is good until it affects you personally in a negative way.
Right is right and wrong is wrong.
So, in the end, nothing changed. Jerseys were changed. That is all.
But, what I actually meant was that the same guys are talking the same kaak.
30 Mar 2012, 00:30 am
@nama1(nama1)-56: in whose honour will the stormers win, if the do win? can they do it in honour of the “education refugees”?
30 Mar 2012, 00:32 am
@nama1(nama1)-56: You are so right. You don’t change what is good, only what is bad.
30 Mar 2012, 00:33 am
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-53: I’m just being bold and boastfully bragging but I recon Stormers going to surprise a few.. I see the keo poll has Bulls as firm favorites .. Could be that Van den Heever is the one that breaks a few bulls hearts .. I rate JJ higher than Sadie.. but they won’t get through Stormers midfield.. the danger men are Hougaard, Kruger, Basson on the high kick chase .. and if Joubert gives Steyn freebee 3 pointers then could turn the game otherwise Stormers should have too much krag at the breakdown and at the advantage line.. I fancy our back row more powerful than yours.
30 Mar 2012, 00:35 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-60: I get it. No one can confidently predict the outcome of this one. Head says Stormers, heart says Bulls.
Everyone is talking the forward battle, but I think the backs will be more of a factor this time around.
30 Mar 2012, 00:37 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-60: Stormers have a solid backrow. More balanced in a way. Tight 5 very close, Stormers might just edge it. Half-backs = Bulls. Midfield 50/50
30 Mar 2012, 00:40 am
Will be interesting to see if Sadie and JJ shared a few Stormer defense tactics with their new mates.
30 Mar 2012, 00:41 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-60: if duvenhage plays the sane fdp box-kick wanna-be kak he was doing at coke blik the stormers will see their moer. check what happened to the blues on friday, with a minute left on the clock, blues win lineout, four pick & drive phases later piri piri turkey decides to box kick to nowhere…by the time the hooter sounded conrad ‘snakey’ smith was being mobbed by a bunch of excited canes players behind the try line.
duvenhage will be the weak link, watch!
30 Mar 2012, 00:43 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-60:
You are right. Unlike the Bulls supporters who are afraid to come out and back their team to win on Saturday, we at least show our colours. They would rather attack us and accuse us of being “arrogant” or “air punching” and some such kak.
Afa I’m concerned:
Die Boele se moere.
We’re going to beat the bunch of pienk penties from Pretoria by about 20 on Saturday.
Klomp moegoes.
Four try bonus point in the 1st half for the Stormers.
30 Mar 2012, 00:45 am
@Puma(Puma)-7:
Puma,
Percy two days running and it’s not even Christmas.
I am a lucky girl.
P.S I can confirm he looks very hot in pink, sure I have seen him in a pink sweater.
As he alludes, only real men can wear pink!!
30 Mar 2012, 00:47 am
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-62:
Bulls probably have a better half back pairing which makes the duel between the two sets of loosies so much more important.
So, the question really is, who is going to win that battle?
If Vermeulen, Kolisi and especially Elstadt can come to the party, the Bulls will see their moere on Saturday.
30 Mar 2012, 00:50 am
Duvenhage and Grant going to own the overrated pair of Hougaard and Steyn.. They must just ATTACK that advantage line and Steyn will go belly up same as he did vs Blues…
I got no problem with any of the Stormers 15 apart from perhaps a niggly concern about Harris and Habana.. I prefer Malherbe and Van den heever but if all goes well first half they’ll come on second half and moer the Bulletjies stukkend…
we got a nice bench with Fourie, and Malherbe to come on.. Steenkamp and Koster too.. Bekker might actually be the weak link he don’t show the balls he used to do.. I think too many injuries have shaken his confidence..
But Duvenhage will take the tactical game away from Hougaard and Steyn and Grant and JdV must just PUMMEL that inside channel advantage line.. Elstadt, Vermeulen and Kolisi will do the rest.
30 Mar 2012, 00:55 am
I dunno what you see in Percy Carol.. if I were a chick he’d be perhaps the last vestige of manhood I would consider a ‘catch’.. far more ‘real’ men out there ..
any way time out.. ciao
30 Mar 2012, 00:59 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-68: you reckon PG has the type of game displayed by that dynamic kiwi whizzkid gareth anscombe?
i’ll be all eyes skop, think i’ll be in the transkei by saturday evening, all eyes!
30 Mar 2012, 01:04 am
Freakin hell!!! What’s happenning to my comments?
The umpteenth comment that just disappears.
30 Mar 2012, 01:05 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-70:
Anscombe was not too flash the 2nd time around, was he? Talking about before he was taken off injured.
30 Mar 2012, 01:06 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-68:
> and Steyn will go belly up same as he did vs Blues…
We lost Stegmann a day before the game and Hougaard was sitting out against the Blues, Hougaard is much better than Vermaak
The Stormers should win it, they’re an established side, they’ve played together in a final and semi, they’ve got tons of Super and Springbok caps and they’ve got home advantage on a pitch that might be wet as well benefitting them as well
The Bulls are a young side, they need another two years to mature and become experienced, we don’t have as many stars as we used to, we’ve replaced Vic, Bakkie, Danie and Fourie with one, our only star is Hougaard at the moment
30 Mar 2012, 01:08 am
Profeet Nama. Keep on speculating china. My ballas are out there for everyone to see.
The next pielkop who accuses the other supporters of something is gonna make me blow a gasket.
ALL SUPORTERS ARE THE SAME FREAK IT!!!
30 Mar 2012, 01:10 am
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-73:
Morne, Wynand, Spies?
They’re not stars?
30 Mar 2012, 01:20 am
@nama1(nama1)-75:
Spies is starting to play again, his last really good game was the 2009 semi final against the Crusaders
Wynand is not rated at all by the Stormer supporters on this site, and Morne is just “skop-en-jag” and not rated as well
It’s skop-en-jaag actually, jag is hunting and if you add a “s” to it, it becomes the condition ET normally suffers from
30 Mar 2012, 01:20 am
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-74:
Hahaha.
Good for you Kleuter.Put your colours to the mast for all to see.
Not all supporters are the same however. Some (read Bull and Bullshark supporters) will wait until the result is known and then they will come on here (if their team was victorious) and then brag that they knew all along that they would win.
30 Mar 2012, 01:26 am
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-76:
I’d wager that in pretoria they are BEEEEEG. Bulls administration must have their hands ful keeping the cougars away from them.
30 Mar 2012, 02:25 am
@nama1(nama1)-77: Things can go one of three ways: Stormers, Bulls, or Draw. We’ll know after 80 minutes.
30 Mar 2012, 02:27 am
@nama1(nama1)-77: I have Bulls by 4 on superbru. Heart won.
30 Mar 2012, 02:45 am
@nama1(nama1)-78:
Like the cougar who put out a hit on the young Bulls player
30 Mar 2012, 02:50 am
Do yourselves a favour and click the “Are you the next Keo” ad on the right
He looks like one of Snow White’s dwarfs with those pointy shoes, I don’t know if he’s Grumpy, Happy or Dopey though?
30 Mar 2012, 06:47 am
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-63: Sure as hell won’t be sharing any of their attacking strategies.
30 Mar 2012, 06:51 am
I know Percy is mates with Bryan, be he should not throw his name away supporting buddies if we are to take him seriously. Bryan is not the complete winger as he cannot go around people.
30 Mar 2012, 06:54 am
No matter whom. we will be waiting for you, Pinkies!
30 Mar 2012, 06:59 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-54:
Take this. Eat this, and if you do not swallow this – start packing for Perth – Now.
30 Mar 2012, 07:24 am
Just last week Stormers scraped past a depleted Lions team (At least nine 1st choice players missing), that ended stone last on the log in last year’s S15. The Bulls thrash the Reds (2011 Champions) with four 1st choice players missing, who were demoralised because the Bulls were giving them nothing, and some here seem to think this shows that the Stormers are invincible. Kruger to get in Bekker’s face, the big man with then start blaming everyone but himself for his poor performance, bring down the Strormers morale and that will be that. Bulls by six to nine.
30 Mar 2012, 08:16 am
Nama talking out oif his poephol again.
There is adifference between supporting your team and running around like a knobend (fuckadilly) and bleating that your team will win by twenty with a bonus point try (the stormers haven’t scored many of those) in the first half.
Leave the brannas alone Nama.
30 Mar 2012, 14:04 pm
Bulls fans – please no chucking of bottles at Jean’s head if you lose tomorrow.
30 Mar 2012, 16:16 pm
Bulls lost to a team who fronted up and beat them at the collision point – the same team the Stormers took apart. Go figure!
30 Mar 2012, 17:13 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-73: I think the Stormers pack is younger on average than the Bulls pack. Or at least it’s pretty close.
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All