Mallett’s ours if we want him
30 Mar 2012
Nick Mallett is available to Heyneke Meyer as a consultant should the Springbok coach believe it could strengthen his debut international season campaign.
Mallett told keo.co.za that if Meyer asked for any form of input, he’d be pleased to make a contribution.
‘I have huge respect for Heyneke as a person and as a coach. I was very pleased he finally got the opportunity as he’s done the hard yards over the last decade and enjoyed tremendous success in getting results, identifying talent and evolving that talent,’ said Mallett. ‘He [Heyneke] is a really good mate so I would help with pleasure if I was ever asked.’
Mallett confirmed he has not made himself available for any English or French club opportunities and will remain in Cape Town.
‘It has been fantastic enjoying a Cape summer again and I’ve particularly enjoyed doing the SuperSport Six Nations analysis. I am in discussions with SuperSport about other possibilities this season and should know in the next week what comes from those discussions.’
When asked if he would consider any form of involvement with Meyer’s Boks, Mallett said only if there was a belief from Meyer that there was a value add to the Boks.
‘I am always available to chat and to offer an insight that could be beneficial or to be a sounding board. I gave the England application my best and I am satisfied I gave a compelling presentation. I have been impressed with what Stuart [Lancaster] has done with the squad in the Six Nations, but he knows the matches against South Africa, Australia and New Zealand will be more demanding. I respect the decision of the RFU and don’t regret having made myself available when asked to do so.
‘I have no commitment to any club, province or international squad, so if there is a way I could make a difference to the Boks, then it would be great. If not, they’ll always have my support and I look forward to seeing them push for the top ranking because they certainly can be No 1 with Heyneke in charge, more so given the quality and class of player available for selection.’
Mallett said he would never entertain anything that could be seen as disruptive.
‘I don’t want to step on anyone’s toes and this certainly is not a job application of any kind. Make it clear you [Mark Keohane] called me and asked if I was going back overseas and if not if I would consider any consultancy role with the Boks. I am merely responding to the question.
‘As it is I do chat with Heyneke and will continue to do so socially and about rugby. We both love the game and like talking about it.’
Mallett, who coached Italy for the last four years, said he had not considered any Super Rugby prospects.
‘England was a fantastic opportunity and I gave it a crack. I have moved on now and my immediate focus is being back in Cape Town.’
Mallett coached the Springboks from 1997 to 2000.

252 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All
30 Mar 2012, 09:18 am
One of the best rugby brains around, if not he best!, we’d be stupid not to use him!!
30 Mar 2012, 09:23 am
Good to know that Hayneke and Mallett talks, but too many cooks will spoil the broth. I cant see Mallett being anything more than an advisor, without undermining Hayneke. He seems very defensive on who called whom for the interview! Probably due to all the Jake-White-quoting-out-of-context incidents during Pieter de Villiers time.
30 Mar 2012, 09:25 am
Great stuff. We need to use him in some capacity even if just on a consultancy basis.
30 Mar 2012, 09:32 am
Mallett to coach the Kings!!!!
you heard it here first boys
30 Mar 2012, 09:35 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-4: Mallett and Solly back together? Maybe Jake will dump the Brumbies and reform the love triangle with Bobby coming out of retirement to co-Captain them with Fluke.
30 Mar 2012, 09:38 am
Lets get him onboard in some capacity. Why waste such a valuable intellectual rugby brain when its on our own doorstep? PDV was offered all the support he needed in the form of assistants and consultants which SARU made clear. Lets hope they do the same for Heyneke.
If anything Mallett has the “been there and done that” credibility so can at the very least offer a guiding hand for Heyneke on off-the-field issues whether that be in an official or unofficial capacity.
What is happening with the assistant coaches? Who are they?
30 Mar 2012, 09:44 am
No.
Mallett or no Mallett, Heyeneke is going to kick arse. What can Mallett possibly add that Heyneke doesn’t know already?
How to swear at the players, maybe? That’s not how Heyneke rolls.
30 Mar 2012, 09:45 am
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-6:
How about Mallett calling Heyneke for some tips wherever he goes to coach next?
30 Mar 2012, 09:47 am
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-6: mallett & heyneke have worked together, mallett took heyneke to the world cup as his forwards coach so they are dik bras…
30 Mar 2012, 09:51 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-9:
Heyneke was responsible for a specific techincal area back then, and would have had to let Mallet run the show as he saw fit. Now Heyneke is responsible for the overall culture, ethos, approach and mindset of the team.
I can just see Heyneke giving the team a speech about how they are on this planet for a purpose, how pressure brings out the diamond inside a piece of coal, how you need to pursue your destiny and so on.
Then Mallet pops into the changeroom and tells them to go get their “f*&^%ing act together and go and f$#%* up these sonsofb*tches that are disrespecting them or he is going to drop their asses”
Just won’t work.
30 Mar 2012, 09:53 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-7: You’re pathetic. ‘That how to swear at the players’ comment is just plain disrespectful and vindictive.
What can Mallett possibly add? Hmmmmmmmmmmm, how about the experience of winning the Tri-Nations or managing a team that holds the record for most games won consecutively??
Sounds like Heyneke thinks Mallett can add value, in fact I doubt there’s a coach in the World that doesn’t.
Jaja, if he’s not Afrikaans (coach or player) then Oom Tac is not interested.
I must give it to you though, you’re one of the view bloggers who pisses me off so much that I actually log on to post.
30 Mar 2012, 09:54 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-10: hahahahaha you can be funny
30 Mar 2012, 09:55 am
@Bagel(Bagel)-11: geez Bagsy, hold tight.
30 Mar 2012, 10:00 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-7:
remind me who heyneke’s assistant coaches are. i seem to have missed that news.
30 Mar 2012, 10:00 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-10: but sometimes that psycho babble heyneke is on is wasted on thick planks like derrick kuun, jacque potgieter, bakkies botha etc. those okes couldn’t be cerebral even if they were on a staple diet of brain, fava beans and a nice chianti.
30 Mar 2012, 10:03 am
Too many cooks spoil the broth. Also, Mallett doesn’t strike me as someone who takes orders well. It’s time for the Heyneke show.
30 Mar 2012, 10:04 am
@H(H)-16:
Said everything I wanted to say, but in two lines.
Fully agree.
30 Mar 2012, 10:06 am
Didnt realise they were as close as that.
I cant really see Mallet coming in as anything other than a Head Coach role somewhere.
What I can see and what I am excited about is that you’ll probably find Heyneke giving Mallet a call every now and then just to bounce ideas off each other.
Very good for Bok rugby if that is the case.
30 Mar 2012, 10:07 am
@John Galt(John Galt)-18:
Agree.
30 Mar 2012, 10:13 am
@H(H)-16: how could wayne smith, graham henry & steve hansen all work together harmoniously?
because the plan was All Black success!
in this country it is turf wars or racial prejudice or he’s a soutie etc…wayne smith had won 2 super rugby titles, coached the all blacks with a 70% win ratio but was humble enough to take an assistant role without a fuss.
30 Mar 2012, 10:16 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-20:
Yawn. Tell us something we don’t know.
If your amazing revelation is that this country is divided, well, don’t expect any shock and horror reactions from your audience.
30 Mar 2012, 10:21 am
Geez Tac, you make HM sound super corny. After that sort of speech I’ll be so totally ready to perform well and hope that the best team wins on the day. I’m a diamond afterall, I don’t f¤ck **** up…
30 Mar 2012, 10:22 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-21: Seems you think Heyneke has all the answers? I guess there will be lotsa cans of whoopass opened during this seasons international games, courtesy of his heynekeness.
30 Mar 2012, 10:23 am
@pompies2(pompies2)-23:
You telling me you won’t enjoy it if that’s the case?
30 Mar 2012, 10:24 am
@John Galt(John Galt)-18:
yip, agreed.
30 Mar 2012, 10:26 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-21: there’s no ‘revelation’ i’m making comments like everyone else mr i’ve got gravitas…
30 Mar 2012, 10:27 am
Mallet not the kind of guy who is used to the co-pilots chair.
However I can see him adding plenty of value on an informal basis.
30 Mar 2012, 10:28 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-24: i’ll be expecting a much improved level of performance. this should see the results take care of them self. International rugby is about winning, not asswhooping.
30 Mar 2012, 10:32 am
I like it. And it could be very good for Bok rugby.
As brilliant as Heyneke is, he strikes me as a very humble guy and I’m sure he’d be the first person to admit he still has some coaching blind spots.
Guys like Rassie and Nick might help him see those blind spots.
I don’t believe this is a case of too many coaches on the dance floor.
If the shared goal is to take Bok rugby to number one and these guys are all working towards it together, I think it’s going to be very very good for Bok rugby.
Ultimately though, Heyneke in the hot seat, making the hard decisions where need be. Nick and Rassie as sounding boards.
30 Mar 2012, 10:33 am
Man i said this yesterday, copy cat dragons.
Well if Heyneke is in the Woodward mould, as we have been told, using loads of assistants etc, then there will be no problems in bringing in Mallet as a technical consultant etc! Either way use him.
The ABs had 3 great coaches together why on earth can’t the Boks.
Mallet will definitly bring calm to Heyneke and Heyneke will keep Mallet from getting too big for his boots.
If Heyneke gets Mallet onboard it will be similar to White roping in Eddie Jones!!!
30 Mar 2012, 10:34 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-9: Was wondering how they formed such a good friendship. Wasn’t aware they’d worked together.
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-8: No one is perfect Tac. I’m a big believer in great minds sharing ideas and discussing things. At that level you’ll find that each person will have something valuable to add that the other may not have. People have different perspectives. Even if they allocate 2 hours to have a chat before and after each game. There will be value added in something like that.
30 Mar 2012, 10:35 am
@pompies2(pompies2)-28:
courtesy of the pretoria dictionary of english:
win·ning? ?[win-ing] Show IPA
noun
1. the act of a person or thing that opens cans of WHUP@SS regularly .
2. Usually, winnings. something that is won, especially money.
30 Mar 2012, 10:38 am
Like Tiger blood?
30 Mar 2012, 10:38 am
FICKLE SAFFA SUPPORTERS.
I still can’t believe how people are calling for Mallets inclusion, i remember on this site in 2001(i think) everyone on site was calling for Mallet’s(Mullet as most of you were calling him) HEAD!!
How times have changed.
After Mallet was the dark ages until White!!
30 Mar 2012, 10:42 am
@race of tan(race of tan)-34: SIGH* SO TRUE lol
30 Mar 2012, 10:42 am
@pompies2(pompies2)-28:
MORE FROM THE PRETORIA DICTIONARY OF ENGLISH:
win 1 ? ?[win] Show IPA verb, won, win·ning, noun
verb (used without object)
1. to finish first in a race,or contest while opening up numerous cans of WHUP@SS.
2. to succeed by striving or effort: He applied a numberof cans of WHUP@***
and won.
3. to gain the victory; overcome an adversary: The home team WHUP@ASSED.
30 Mar 2012, 10:43 am
@race of tan(race of tan)-34:
Relax. It’s mostly the Cape Tonians who consider him a coaching genius.
The rest of us remember his asinine dropping of Teichman for Skinstad just before the 99 World Cup, and the fact that he was a pretty disagreeable guy during his tenure.
Mallett is a good coach. But I think there are better ones out there. Heyneke included.
30 Mar 2012, 10:44 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-32: i’m not too au fait with the pretoria dictionary, but i’ve heard it has little regard for grammatical rules. I’m sure you are aware of some of the examples.
30 Mar 2012, 10:44 am
@race of tan(race of tan)-30: but that won’t work for tacitus, becasue heyneke is not only coaching for the boks, there’s a bigger cause ,you see?
whoever the assistants are must be seen to be beneath heyneke in stature so as not to steal his thunder.
30 Mar 2012, 10:46 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-37: is that last on the log heyneke? Mallets also got a claim to fame, like Heyneke, so i don’t kow why you’re snorting so much. Could the festival of San Fermin be tomorrow?
30 Mar 2012, 10:47 am
guys any role would be on a consultancy that is workable as Nick is not interested in being on the coaching staff. Many of you are misreading the significance of what Mallett’s response was to my question … it means his intellectual capital is available to us (South Africa) and not anyone else – and it is up to the new coaching and management set up to decide if they see value in that.
We bemoan how we lose our best coaches to overseas opportunities but when we have them back in the country there is this insular attitude and paranoia that we need no help and we have all the answers.
If SA is to win back the World Cup it needs as much rugby intellect around a table as is possible. Read the piece in that context.
30 Mar 2012, 10:48 am
mallett will never be an assistant and he hasn’t made himself available to be an assistant.
30 Mar 2012, 10:50 am
keo – so what kind of input did Mallet offer?
30 Mar 2012, 10:51 am
@keo(keo)-41: why are you trying to stop the debate. Tac is on a roll, dishing out whoopasses, left, right and centre?
30 Mar 2012, 10:52 am
@keo(keo)-41:
OK, makes sense, then.
@race of tan(race of tan)-43:
“Maak die Bulle almal Bokke”
@pompies2(pompies2)-44:
Stop following me around.
30 Mar 2012, 10:53 am
@pompies2(pompies2)-38:
premium grade northern transvaal sourced cans of whup@***, you will find…have no respect let alone regard for grammatical rules… a pk speaks a language beyond grammar.. a universal language of life and death.. of ‘know your place’ if you will…
30 Mar 2012, 10:54 am
Keo, see they aint seeing the message
30 Mar 2012, 10:54 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-47: bwahahahaha. i was here first.
gonna run to mommy. stop being a cow. grow some balls and become a bull.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 » Show All