Mallett’s ours if we want him
30 Mar 2012
Nick Mallett is available to Heyneke Meyer as a consultant should the Springbok coach believe it could strengthen his debut international season campaign.
Mallett told keo.co.za that if Meyer asked for any form of input, he’d be pleased to make a contribution.
‘I have huge respect for Heyneke as a person and as a coach. I was very pleased he finally got the opportunity as he’s done the hard yards over the last decade and enjoyed tremendous success in getting results, identifying talent and evolving that talent,’ said Mallett. ‘He [Heyneke] is a really good mate so I would help with pleasure if I was ever asked.’
Mallett confirmed he has not made himself available for any English or French club opportunities and will remain in Cape Town.
‘It has been fantastic enjoying a Cape summer again and I’ve particularly enjoyed doing the SuperSport Six Nations analysis. I am in discussions with SuperSport about other possibilities this season and should know in the next week what comes from those discussions.’
When asked if he would consider any form of involvement with Meyer’s Boks, Mallett said only if there was a belief from Meyer that there was a value add to the Boks.
‘I am always available to chat and to offer an insight that could be beneficial or to be a sounding board. I gave the England application my best and I am satisfied I gave a compelling presentation. I have been impressed with what Stuart [Lancaster] has done with the squad in the Six Nations, but he knows the matches against South Africa, Australia and New Zealand will be more demanding. I respect the decision of the RFU and don’t regret having made myself available when asked to do so.
‘I have no commitment to any club, province or international squad, so if there is a way I could make a difference to the Boks, then it would be great. If not, they’ll always have my support and I look forward to seeing them push for the top ranking because they certainly can be No 1 with Heyneke in charge, more so given the quality and class of player available for selection.’
Mallett said he would never entertain anything that could be seen as disruptive.
‘I don’t want to step on anyone’s toes and this certainly is not a job application of any kind. Make it clear you [Mark Keohane] called me and asked if I was going back overseas and if not if I would consider any consultancy role with the Boks. I am merely responding to the question.
‘As it is I do chat with Heyneke and will continue to do so socially and about rugby. We both love the game and like talking about it.’
Mallett, who coached Italy for the last four years, said he had not considered any Super Rugby prospects.
‘England was a fantastic opportunity and I gave it a crack. I have moved on now and my immediate focus is being back in Cape Town.’
Mallett coached the Springboks from 1997 to 2000.

252 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All
30 Mar 2012, 10:56 am
i think it’s time for a nice breakfast!!!
30 Mar 2012, 10:57 am
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-48: so there’s a chance that some things could be lost in translation? one mans angry pk could be another mans secret fetish?
@pompies2(pompies2)-50: @Tacitus(Deucalion)-47: You 2 love birds should start behaving
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-46:
now juxtapose that with:
“maak die stormers almal bokke”…?…
my point exactly… and no…its rhetorical…
30 Mar 2012, 11:00 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-49:
hiyas bro ^5
30 Mar 2012, 11:01 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-53: tac doesn’t like foreplay, he’s straight into the asswhooping.
30 Mar 2012, 11:02 am
@pompies2(pompies2)-56: I’ll stop. Tac i apologise.
30 Mar 2012, 11:03 am
@pompies2(pompies2)-52:
what can i say…some men live to kill…and some men live to be killed…
or similarly:
some teams live to win trophies from others…and some teams live to have trophies won from them…
call it what you will.
30 Mar 2012, 11:05 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-51: hiyas bro^5
how’s being a dad going?
30 Mar 2012, 11:05 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-55: Good day bro ^5 you well??
30 Mar 2012, 11:06 am
@pompies2(pompies2)-56:
30 Mar 2012, 11:07 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-59:
hiyas boetie, you mean grandpaw??
beaing grand father is great
30 Mar 2012, 11:08 am
One of the things that really annoys me is the way some bloggers keep refering to a mistake that Mallet made a few years ago as if the man has remained static in his development. One that he’s already admitted to.
Graham Henry also made a similar error of judgement that probably cost the ABs a RWC or at least a final against the Boks.
People grow, and our penchant for giving coaches a shot at the Boks and then consigning them to the wildernes, is not only shortsighted but just plain stupid and a waste of painfully gained experience.
30 Mar 2012, 11:08 am
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-62: beaing = being
30 Mar 2012, 11:11 am
@David(David)-63: exactly , i mean as a sharks supporter of course we were angry at Mallet for dropping Teich , but he was big enough to admit his mistake, said his sorries and moved on, as we should all
Mallet could in knowledge be very valuable to Bok rugby, Or can it be “according to Tacitus” that Meyer is a GOD and KNOWS it All?
There is nothing anyone can teach him or advise him ?????????????????
30 Mar 2012, 11:15 am
@David(David)-63:
You’re right.
Rudolf Straueli deserves another chance.
30 Mar 2012, 11:28 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-66:
There are always exceptions.
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-65:
Yep, in fact Sir Alec Fergusons approach, which is similar to the one Tacitus accuses Mallet of, hasn’t served him so badly over the years.
I’m even prepared to accept that Jake has learnt a few things that will make him a better coach, and I was never a fan of his even with a RWC. I still believe that he stunted the Boks attacking abilities, something that continues today with AC and the Stormers.
30 Mar 2012, 11:28 am
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-66:
30 Mar 2012, 11:46 am
@David(David)-63: well, that’s us…we like things neatly in a doos. 1. Gaffie choked big time.
2. Mallett f(cukced by leaving teichmann
3. Jorrie Muller was kak
4. Earl rose is kakker
5. Luke is a doos
6. Lem was our last “running” no.10
7. The sharks actually qualified to play currie cup and were not favoured and promoted
etc
30 Mar 2012, 11:51 am
Mallet did nothing with Italy and got very lucky in 98′ when he beat a very average AB side.
30 Mar 2012, 11:56 am
what is James O’Connor doing in the pisspoor Rebels team. I think the Stormers should offer him a contract!
30 Mar 2012, 11:58 am
@greentea(greentea)-70: what were your expectations from Mallet with Italy? sounds like the lack of caffeine is making you cranky!
30 Mar 2012, 12:02 pm
Someone should offer Mallet a coaching job, its time helps one of the struggling teams to perform. Doubt that Naka is going anywhere and Mitchell is doing a good job under the circumstances… Sharks need some fresh ideas i think….Give him the currie cup responsibilities for one of the teams… Just offer the guy some job to help SA teams on average perform better in the super rugby comp. He cant be wasted as a consultant…
30 Mar 2012, 12:04 pm
Mallet is an excellent coach as is Meyer, they all have their flaws and their qualities
30 Mar 2012, 12:06 pm
I’ll tell you one thing. Give Mallett the Stormers job and they’d be real threat in short order.
Those divas are exactly the type that need a coach like Mallett to whip them into shape.
@BuckT(BuckTrendy)-72:
there’s lots of caffeine in green tea.
Wouldnt be a bad thing if the Kings rake him in. He’s got experience in coaching a **** team (Italy) and making them sort of respectable. Perhaps solly wouldnt mind if Mallet coaches the currie cup team and being an assistant at Super Rugby level…Or perhaps stepping down as head coach and start sorting out their development and junior level to top level structures..
30 Mar 2012, 12:07 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-75:
I agree, its just a pity that Allstar Coetzee has a fresh contract
30 Mar 2012, 12:09 pm
But Keo, is he really (Mallet) simplifying it to the point that he is available for a cup of tea and a rugby chat? Sounds like he is enjoying the TV time and is hoping to pursue this angle for the time being.
30 Mar 2012, 12:11 pm
@Jeez(Jeez)-78: Yea i know
Don’t think you’d see Brok loitering in the backline or JDV never passing with Mallett waiting in the change room at half time….
30 Mar 2012, 12:12 pm
@BuckT(BuckTrendy)-79:
Yeah, I i doubt that he’ll sign a serious contract with SARU…Kings should use him…
30 Mar 2012, 12:13 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-76: well you are right, but normally less than black tea and definetly less than coffee
30 Mar 2012, 12:14 pm
@Atreides(Atreides)-80:
He’ probably ban hair gel and mirrors in the locker room
30 Mar 2012, 12:15 pm
@Atreides(Atreides)-80: and you definitely wouldn’t see fleckie sitting in the staff room!
30 Mar 2012, 12:15 pm
@Jeez(Jeez)-83:
And forbid stupid synchronised dance moves after tries – I’m talking to you Aplon and de Jongh.
30 Mar 2012, 12:16 pm
@Jeez(Jeez)-83: and hair-dryers in the opposition’s locker rooms
30 Mar 2012, 12:18 pm
@BuckT(BuckTrendy)-82:
actually not.
some green teas have much more caffeine than coffee.
and many have similar amounts.
Rooibos the way forward there.
Or Buchu, which tastes like boiled socks.
30 Mar 2012, 12:20 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-85: that rhythm is gonna get you!!
30 Mar 2012, 12:20 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-85: You mean restrict them to a respectful little finger point at the sky? Or maybe a very brief spectacles, testicles, wallet watch homage to the King of the Crossbar?
30 Mar 2012, 12:22 pm
@BuckT(BuckTrendy)-84:
And put proudfoot on a diet. Make him run the comrades and the Argus
30 Mar 2012, 12:23 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-85:
Air punching will definitely be nixed.
30 Mar 2012, 12:24 pm
@race of tan(race of tan)-34: thus is the nature of the keolings
Why the hell would you want to omit the caffeine? What’s next – fat free milk, skinless chicken and Canderel? Fcken nanny state.
@>^..^< katman(katman)-89:
Well, that display of their club-scene combo act is the sole reason why Aplon and de Jongh should NEVER be in the Bok team together.
They devalue the jersey with that rubbish.
30 Mar 2012, 12:26 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-87: Name one that has more caffeine
30 Mar 2012, 12:26 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-91:
Whoop whoop!
30 Mar 2012, 12:27 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-94: Jaco’s crazy crossbar protest did far more PR damage than any little hip jive ever could.
30 Mar 2012, 12:28 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-94:
Nothing gets close to Jaco van der Westhuyzen.
30 Mar 2012, 12:29 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-97:
Great minds…
30 Mar 2012, 12:31 pm
@BuckT(BuckTrendy)-95:
Japanese Matcha.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All