Mallett’s ours if we want him

Nick Mallett is available to Heyneke Meyer as a consultant should the Springbok coach believe it could strengthen his debut international season campaign.

Mallett told keo.co.za that if Meyer asked for any form of input, he’d be pleased to make a contribution.

‘I have huge respect for Heyneke as a person and as a coach. I was very pleased he finally got the opportunity as he’s done the hard yards over the last decade and enjoyed tremendous success in getting results, identifying talent and evolving that talent,’ said Mallett. ‘He [Heyneke] is a really good mate so I would help with pleasure if I was ever asked.’

Mallett confirmed he has not made himself available for any English or French club opportunities and will remain in Cape Town.

‘It has been fantastic enjoying a Cape summer again and I’ve particularly enjoyed doing the SuperSport Six Nations analysis. I am in discussions with SuperSport about other possibilities this season and should know in the next week what comes from those discussions.’

When asked if he would consider any form of involvement with Meyer’s Boks, Mallett said only if there was a belief from Meyer that there was a value add to the Boks.

‘I am always available to chat and to offer an insight that could be beneficial or to be a sounding board. I gave the England application my best and I am satisfied I gave a compelling presentation. I have been impressed with what Stuart [Lancaster] has done with the squad in the Six Nations, but he knows the matches against South Africa, Australia and New Zealand will be more demanding. I respect the decision of the RFU and don’t regret having made myself available when asked to do so.

‘I have no commitment to any club, province or international squad, so if there is a way I could make a difference to the Boks, then it would be great. If not, they’ll always have my support and I look forward to seeing them push for the top ranking because they certainly can be No 1 with Heyneke in charge, more so given the quality and class of player available for selection.’

Mallett said he would never entertain anything that could be seen as disruptive.

‘I don’t want to step on anyone’s toes and this certainly is not a job application of any kind. Make it clear you [Mark Keohane] called me and asked if I was going back overseas and if not if I would consider any consultancy role with the Boks. I am merely responding to the question.

‘As it is I do chat with Heyneke and will continue to do so socially and about rugby. We both love the game and like talking about it.’

Mallett, who coached Italy for the last four years, said he had not considered any Super Rugby prospects.

‘England was a fantastic opportunity and I gave it a crack. I have moved on now and my immediate focus is being back in Cape Town.’

Mallett coached the Springboks from 1997 to 2000.

252 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-138:

Why do you have a problem with Gio Aplon and Juan de Jongh’s try celeb moves?

• 152.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Mallett as forward coach?

• 153.Kleuter: Reply to this comment

Advisor capacity would be better me think. Can’t see Mallett as an assistant coach.

• 154.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-147: Picanto is spelt wrong.

• 155.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-153: What about Technical Advisor seeing that Rassie is no longer going to be Technical Advisor.

• 156.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-151: because he hates seeing them enjoy themselves, he’d rather they were pointing at imaginary things in the sky. :D

• 157.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Kleuter(Kleuter)-153: why, ego too big?

• 158.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-147:
    sjoe! that stuff will eat your teeth away like acid, over time.

@pompies2(pompies2)-148:
    ‘foundational arguments’….?… tobie titus…?…
    chryst! have you started early.?

• 159.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-154: He test drove the Chinese knock-off. That one has two c’s.

• 160.David: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-156:
    Heyneke Meyer is not imaginary! :evil:

• 161.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-158: i just feel he doesn’t have any contribution to make to the game of rugby, either from an administrative or playing side.

• 162.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-139: and here it is: from News 24 “Two elected to SARU exco
    2012-03-30 14:42Email | Print

Tobie Titus (Gallo)
    Related Links
    Mitchell ready for challenge Highlanders thrash Rebels Lions make one change Cape Town – Pat Kuhn and Tobie Titus were elected as members of the Executive Council (Exco) of the South African Rugby Union (SARU) at the organisation’s Annual General Council Meeting in Cape Town on Friday.

They will serve a four-year term on the 12-person Exco.

Kuhn was re-elected, while Titus will take up his position after standing down as president of the Western Province Rugby Football Union.

The Exco manages the strategic direction of SARU on the mandate of the General Council. The meeting also approved SARU’s annual accounts which showed a pre-tax profit of R24m.

• 163.David: Reply to this comment

BTW, has anyone noticed that Keo is posting more frequently lately. Looks like the bosses have told him to actually earn his salary in the face of diminishing hits. After all, it is supposed to be his blog.

• 164.David: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-162:
    Did they leave out the bit about voting themselves a big bonus out of the R24 million? :lol:

• 165.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-149:
    fark man!
    i could spit on a lion or a cheetah in the gym… seriously man… they make me strip my moer behoorlik. de la rey would turn in his grave if told ‘these’ are the men of the transvaal and free state today….

• 166.John Galt: Reply to this comment

So the guy who has presided over a pretty horific period in WP Rugby history from an administration perspective has now joined the Executive Committee of SARU.

Oh joy of joys.

At this rate, given SARU’s history of appointing bungling idiots, he should be president within the next 4 years.

• 167.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-163:

I must say, this blog seems to be moving into the twilight of its existence. I remember when contributions used to come thick and fast from a wide range of posters.

These days there’re maybe 20 guys that contribute 80% of the comments. They consist of:

About 5 Bulls supporters
    About 3 Lions supporters
    About 4 Sharks supporters
    About 10 Stormers supporters

That’s excluding the weirdos who just come on here to talk sh*t in the middle of the night.

Now, without being judgmental or anything, I can’t really see how those 20 guys are a decent sample of the total SA rugby supporting public.

Seriously guys, this site is in its death throes. Turn the ship around while you still can.

• 168.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-167: Isn’t this site also your only link to the outside world?

• 169.David: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-165:
    You forget that it was Johannesburg that was the death of him.

• 170.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-156:
    ag look, i too do not like those ridiculous displays of emotions either.

• 171.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-165: that whole spitting episode is just siff!

a motherf?cker would have a dumbbell in his mouth if he ever tried that!

some people are disgusting!

• 172.David: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-167:
    Let’s be fair fair though. The site does have the input of 100% of the Lions supporters if your figures are correct.
    The problem is that it’s been bleeding posters to other sites for awhile and the Keo crowd are resting on their laurels.

• 173.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-170: then you must cringe every time francois hougaard swan dives with his tongue out… :lol:

• 174.gammaray: Reply to this comment

Meyer wont have any issue imposing himself as the boss regardless of who joins him.
    Its unfortunate that people view the whole coaching in the top tiers as a military structure where its all about rank- its also a typically conservative mindset.

Here you have 2 great minds potentially having a chance to do something great together for the first time in SA rugby and out come the oldschool.

• 175.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-167: do they post only in afrikaans on the blue bulls site Tac?

• 176.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-171:
    We dont even know the full story there pal. Its one guys word against another.

But the guy who got spat on sounds like a do os anyway. Who the fark has to go for councelling and lord knows what else for being spat on?
    You’re absolutely right, anyone spits on me in the gym, he’s leaving with a barbell wrapped around his neck.

No one who actually has that done to him goes to farking councelling and pshyc tests and shi t. Give me a break.

• 177.gammaray: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-172: resting on their laurels??? jeez u lot are a bunch of cyber narcissists

• 178.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-169:
    true.
    its like a big black hole…sucking the life out of any rugby that travels beyond its event horizon.

@Transformation(Transformation)-171:
    yes absolutely, it is a most disgusting episode and i do not mean to make light of it too much. somedays i feel like i could do that to the lions and cheetahs though.
    they really need to get their shitt together or they must sommer fokkof.

• 179.David: Reply to this comment

@gammaray(gammaray)-177:
    ?

• 180.Marty: Reply to this comment

@gammaray(gammaray)-174: Well, let Meyer chose. Meyer and Mallet have two completely diferent styles which would clash. They are also both leaders and head coaches -I can’t see Meyer taking up a ‘Eddie Jones’ role as was the case for Jake White.

• 181.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-173:
    yes, i do not like any of it.:grin:

• 182.gammaray: Reply to this comment

@Marty(Marty)-180: elaborate on how their ‘different styles’ would clash?

• 183.gammaray: Reply to this comment

@Marty(Marty)-180: what is an eddie jones role??
    does it sound anything like someone who was a head coach that took aus to a WC final and saved jakes arse to win his?

• 184.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-176: hahahaha the guy was traumatised hehehe :lol:

they would have to extricate me from the dude i swear, i don’t care if he is bigger than me.

• 185.Marty: Reply to this comment

@gammaray(gammaray)-182: They both have a step-by-step and meticulous approach. The one more pragmatic and the other a bit more flamboyant. Point is that they both do well at giving instructions and not following them…
    I would be very interested to see if Heyneke sees a pivotal role for Mallet in the bok set-up. In my view they both have brilliant rugby minds but I don’t see them working well together

• 186.gammaray: Reply to this comment

how about sonny bill looking at playing for the stormers next season…

• 187.Marty: Reply to this comment

@gammaray(gammaray)-183: No – Eddie Jones was comfortable following Jake White’s instructions and had a set role with the backline. That partnership worked.

• 188.gammaray: Reply to this comment

@Marty(Marty)-185: for all the negatives you mention i see potential… depends how you skin the cat.
    if u have a read again you will note that his role would not be that of a pivot.

• 189.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

good idea to involve Mallett as an adviser,

• 190.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

@gammaray(gammaray)-188: Agreed partnerships seem to have the most success, Jake and Eddie………..the three wise men from NZ and Woodward and everyone he could get his hands on lol

• 191.gammaray: Reply to this comment

@Marty(Marty)-187: he was not the backs coach- Alister was, but a technical advisor

• 192.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gammaray(gammaray)-191: meyer can’t have mallett steal his thunder now, he’s waited for so long and i’m sure there were tears when pdv was appointed as coach in ’08, plus die-hards like Tac want exclusive bragging rights that their ou delivered. This is why meyer wanted AC as his assistant, nobody was going to credit AC with anything the bokke did :D

remember, the blue bulls union wanted jake out and heineken in by 2006 already! that’s whay they connived to issue a vote of no confidence is jake in the middle of an eoyt.

• 193.gammaray: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-192: i make the point on paper though… but u are correct in every way – these guys have egos and legacies to build until the losses pile up
    then they draft in the heads like eddie- poor divvy, they all gave him a toffie

• 194.Marty: Reply to this comment

@gammaray(gammaray)-188: Hey boet – I’m not arguing that both men have potential. Two of the greatest head coaches S.A. have available at the moment. It’s just my point of view that Mallet is a head coach and not an advisor. Heyneke is now the man and I’m just not too sure how he will see Mallet assisting him…if he can then great. If not the I’m quite comfortable having only Meyer running the show.

• 195.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Amazing how the wheel turns!

Mallet is the guy that gave Heyneke a break into the big leagues of coaching over a decade ago, now he can repay Mallet by getting him involved with the Boks…

I think it is bloody awesome.

• 196.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-167:

> That’s excluding the weirdos who just come on here to talk sh*t in the middle of the night.

Hoe nou Tac?

Party van ons bly in ander tydsones, terwyl julle lekker vleisbraai en rugby praat sit ek nog by die werk

• 197.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-195: exactly!

• 198.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-195:

Mallet’s notoriously difficult, I don’t see how he’ll be willing to fall in with someone else’s plans

They once referred to this in Rapport(?) when he returned from France as him being “‘n rou Engelsman met Franse maniertjies”

• 199.cab: Reply to this comment

Lmao at ‘n rou engelsman met grande maniertjies – I thought he was south african. I mean frans steyn also went off to France for a couple of years of hoe?

• 200.David: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok(victoriabok)-198:
    That was a few ago and to use it as a fact today is pure speculation.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.