Desperate Sharks edge Canberra scrap

JON CARDINELLI reports that guts ultimately proved more valuable than accuracy in an important 29-26 win for Sharks over the Brumbies.

Regardless of a reflection that will reveal both teams were guilty of stupid mistakes, the upshot is that the Sharks have recorded a bonus-point victory in a city where they haven’t won since 1998. There is plenty to criticise and plenty to laud, but there’s no getting round this fact.

The result ensures the Sharks remain in the Super Rugby race after a string of inconsistent showings. They fell short against the Waratahs last week and desperately needed this win to keep them in the hunt. They were never in control in Canberra and the problems in their game still persist, but for the moment they will savour a performance that has brought them five log points and a crucial win Down Under.

Moving forward, though, they will need to address a few shortcomings that continue to hamper their ability to dominate a match.

Indeed it was their ability to stifle the Brumbies at the breakdown and force some telling turnovers that won them the game. Jake White will be livid with his players for coughing up possession whenever the hosts ventured into the Sharks’ 22. In these pressure situations, the Sharks prevailed, showing incredible tenacity as well as an accuracy that was absent from many other areas of their game.

It may seem harsh to criticise an attack that scored four tries against what is a good Brumbies defence, but many of these tries were created from turnover ball.

There were moments of clear desperation that garnered points, such as when Odwa Ndungane found himself defending against three Brumbies players and still managed to snaffle an intercept that led to a try. In the second half, there was a brilliant breakdown turnover on the Sharks tryline that was quickly shifted wide, and Lwazi Mvovo produced a thrilling finish to secure the bonus-point try.

The accurate boot of Freddie Michalak also ensured that the Sharks turned three of their four tries into seven-pointers. And yet, that high-try count is misleading, as the Sharks battled to control possession for much of the game.

Not for the first time in 2012, their failure to set a good platform before unleashing the backs led to some frantic play. And six rounds into the competition, there still seems to be a lack of synergy that is hampering their attacking execution.

Sharks fans will point to the scoreboard and denounce these claims, but it must be noted just how many opportunities the Brumbies botched on Saturday. Their first try was scored through fullback Jesse Mogg, who initially profited from a forward pass and then showed a superb piece of individual skill to finish. Between that point and just seconds before full time, the Brumbies enjoyed many more opportunities but were undone by turnovers.

When they had a chance to counter-attack, they were also guilty of silly mistakes and poor decisions. The Sharks kicked terribly out of hand, but unfortunately for the hosts, the Brumbies just could not capitalise. It is surely something White will want to address with this young and inexperienced side.

For the Sharks, it’s time to start putting some complete performances together. Like the win against the Reds two weeks previously, this result in Canberra highlighted the guts and tenacity that runs through the side, but they need to be honest about where they are falling short, they need to start executing efficiently if they are to build on a solid start to their Australasian tour.

They lost the match against the Waratahs in the final minutes, and so nearly relinquished a 10-point lead in the dying stages of the clash against the Brumbies. It took a Brumbies knock-on in the final play for the Sharks to escape with the spoils.

The scoreboard may tell a different story, but the Sharks still have a long way to go if they are going to topple the better teams.

210 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Come on Sharks

• 2.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Go Jake & The Boys!!!!!!!!!!

• 3.ufo: Reply to this comment

Go Sharks… The Cheetahs have shown how to do it…!

• 4.JL1: Reply to this comment

Sharks have to win.I see there is no argument around if Kanko is better than that kid that plays for Menlo Park two’s.Seems the kid is winning hands down as at least he is starting the games for his team

• 5.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

S H A R K K K S S S S S S S S !!!!!

• 6.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

Sharks have an uphill battle. They will struggle to win if they play like they did last week!

• 7.IAAS: Reply to this comment

This is a must win game for the Sharks.

• 8.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Go the Sharks!

• 9.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

i support jake,the saffa.go brumbies!

• 10.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

should have been a yellow card also.good work brumbies.

• 11.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Yebo babYyyyyyYyyyyyyy SHARKssssssss

• 12.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Capecrusty, supporting a white SA male?! Have you had your tablets today?

• 13.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-11:

Slow down Hugs, still long way to go…pace yourself!

• 14.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Slarty :mrgreen:

• 15.Transformation: Reply to this comment

come on you f(ucking guppys!!!

If ya lose this one ya can forget about a home semi! Now moer hom!

• 16.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-12: it’s not about race,buddy.

• 17.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Feckfeckfeckfeckfeck

• 18.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

oh yes!typical jake white rugby!!!habana must be missing the great man.

• 19.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Oohh gaats! Great try though.

• 20.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Hw forward was that pass ffs

• 21.cane: Reply to this comment

The Bumbies bite back,

• 22.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

great try by die brumbies fullback.

• 23.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-17:

Hehehe sorry Hugs but that made me smile!

PS Sharks look like they on holidays, not 100 commited or into it or something…

• 24.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

@ Capecrusader : Are you too going to switch allegiance -like so many of my arrogant Crusader supporting mates – who now suddenly support all NZ teams seeing that their team is horse manure this season?

• 25.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Where the f is the Sharks halfback

• 26.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

whitehead not very impressive.i can see why wp carted him off to the sharks.ndungane just as slow as his brother.keegan daniel leads the super stats for the most missed tackles and you can see why.

• 27.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Mild applause sharks go Gani.

• 28.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

You jinxing us Slarty !!

• 29.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-24: nothing wrong with the crusaders.in any case the national team is more important than any franchise ….except for you losers down there in the republic. :D

• 30.Cambridge: Reply to this comment

Mallet to coach the sharks. Plum has shown all his cards season after season and he has always been found wanting. He is a 80% coach, who consistently lacks the other 20% needed to get the team firing week after week.

The sharks play way below their potential. Meh …I’m getting rather apathetic about the whole thing.

• 31.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-27:

OK I will uncross my legs for the second half…

• 32.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Cambridge(Cambridge)-30: Unfortunately the 20% Plum is missing is basic common sense.

His choice of Captain is a bad idea, the choices Keegan makes are poor, where is McCleod today, 5 seconds too slow and Whitehead is appalling.

• 33.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Cape Crusader…… You one sad lonely thing if you feel the need to come here and slag off anything South African. I suppose any attention is better than nothing in your case.

• 34.JockBok: Reply to this comment

Morning gents and Hugz.

Awesome win this morning Slarti, made my weekend regardless of what happens at Newlands.

• 35.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Sharks hv been terrible, how many passes have gone behind the reciever. Whitehead is a major liability, JPP is lazy and walks on the field, by coming out of the defensive line JPP gifted the space to the Brumbies to score their try.

Ndungane – fancy a carthorse anyone?

How slow is McCloud as getting to the rucks and clearing the ball….?

Time for Plum to get the boot – Mallet to coach the Sharks

• 36.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust(brains_trust)-35: Are you going to pay Mallet?

• 37.Guns: Reply to this comment

Faarking make sharp Sharks!!! Common big second half!! ffs!!!

• 38.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Slarty lolololol… Carefull not to tight, you don’t want to damage anything.

• 39.Guns: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust(brains_trust)-35:
    Perhaps some fatigue is setting in?

• 40.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Sharks also need locks and Mvovo is a bang broek on defense – say what u want about Habana but he puts his body on the line (unlike MVovo)

• 41.Guns: Reply to this comment

Or Frustration. Lack of hunger & killer instinct!
    ffs!

• 42.Cambridge: Reply to this comment

Yeah, i’m a committed fan and all that, but watching the sharks does make me wonder why i bother with them. The big issue is there is nothing to look forward to. Does anyone think it will be any different/better six months from now?

Its time to clean house at the top. The sharks play like a bunch of mates who occasionally get together to throw ball around for ***** and giggles. Clearly this rugby business is getting in the way of their braaing.

• 43.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-33:

Just leave the poor sod alone, he will leave soon.

@JockBok(JockBok)-34:

Thanks Jock, it was great and loved it.

@brains_trust(brains_trust)-35:

Something a miss, I blame the coach.

• 44.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Huzzit Jock.

• 45.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Guns(Guns)-39: Hey boet, hope you guys have the ammo to close this one out, I have you to take this on Superbru,

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-38: Morning Hugsy, how’s the minkeys?

• 46.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

just love the way jake has transformed this brumbies team.@brains_trust(brains_trust)-35: mallet will never go there buddy.only desperate people live in kzn :D

• 47.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

I am not going to pay Mallet – the Sharks can cut Freddie from his contract and free up the cash, btw I support the Stormers just hate seeing the Sharks play the k@k !!!

• 48.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Lololololol what a try

• 49.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-43:

Great stuff, only saw the second half but man, so chuffed for the eTahs ;)

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-44:

Howdy Hugs. another hour and a bit of inconvenience (work) then I can join in the rugby chat. Go Sharkies meantime.

Oh, and ……..

STORMERSSSSS

• 50.cab: Reply to this comment

Sharks looking good – alberts is the obvious choice for tge Boks – he’s absolutely massive and basically is the sharks, he and Bismarck.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.