Desperate Sharks edge Canberra scrap
31 Mar 2012
JON CARDINELLI reports that guts ultimately proved more valuable than accuracy in an important 29-26 win for Sharks over the Brumbies.
Regardless of a reflection that will reveal both teams were guilty of stupid mistakes, the upshot is that the Sharks have recorded a bonus-point victory in a city where they haven’t won since 1998. There is plenty to criticise and plenty to laud, but there’s no getting round this fact.
The result ensures the Sharks remain in the Super Rugby race after a string of inconsistent showings. They fell short against the Waratahs last week and desperately needed this win to keep them in the hunt. They were never in control in Canberra and the problems in their game still persist, but for the moment they will savour a performance that has brought them five log points and a crucial win Down Under.
Moving forward, though, they will need to address a few shortcomings that continue to hamper their ability to dominate a match.
Indeed it was their ability to stifle the Brumbies at the breakdown and force some telling turnovers that won them the game. Jake White will be livid with his players for coughing up possession whenever the hosts ventured into the Sharks’ 22. In these pressure situations, the Sharks prevailed, showing incredible tenacity as well as an accuracy that was absent from many other areas of their game.
It may seem harsh to criticise an attack that scored four tries against what is a good Brumbies defence, but many of these tries were created from turnover ball.
There were moments of clear desperation that garnered points, such as when Odwa Ndungane found himself defending against three Brumbies players and still managed to snaffle an intercept that led to a try. In the second half, there was a brilliant breakdown turnover on the Sharks tryline that was quickly shifted wide, and Lwazi Mvovo produced a thrilling finish to secure the bonus-point try.
The accurate boot of Freddie Michalak also ensured that the Sharks turned three of their four tries into seven-pointers. And yet, that high-try count is misleading, as the Sharks battled to control possession for much of the game.
Not for the first time in 2012, their failure to set a good platform before unleashing the backs led to some frantic play. And six rounds into the competition, there still seems to be a lack of synergy that is hampering their attacking execution.
Sharks fans will point to the scoreboard and denounce these claims, but it must be noted just how many opportunities the Brumbies botched on Saturday. Their first try was scored through fullback Jesse Mogg, who initially profited from a forward pass and then showed a superb piece of individual skill to finish. Between that point and just seconds before full time, the Brumbies enjoyed many more opportunities but were undone by turnovers.
When they had a chance to counter-attack, they were also guilty of silly mistakes and poor decisions. The Sharks kicked terribly out of hand, but unfortunately for the hosts, the Brumbies just could not capitalise. It is surely something White will want to address with this young and inexperienced side.
For the Sharks, it’s time to start putting some complete performances together. Like the win against the Reds two weeks previously, this result in Canberra highlighted the guts and tenacity that runs through the side, but they need to be honest about where they are falling short, they need to start executing efficiently if they are to build on a solid start to their Australasian tour.
They lost the match against the Waratahs in the final minutes, and so nearly relinquished a 10-point lead in the dying stages of the clash against the Brumbies. It took a Brumbies knock-on in the final play for the Sharks to escape with the spoils.
The scoreboard may tell a different story, but the Sharks still have a long way to go if they are going to topple the better teams.

210 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All
31 Mar 2012, 13:59 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-149:
Ask yourself this Dawn,
Did that fish, ever wish Rangerman any harm?
I think not,
so we should all know by now who the real Villian is here,
should we not.
31 Mar 2012, 14:00 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-149:
howdy Dawnie!
we eat a lot of fresh fish in my house, thats for sure!
@greentea(greentea)-150: ok, fair enough your opinion but i personally think guys like frans steyn, frans hougie, jpp, lambie, jaque fourie and a few more are world class.
in fact my opinions are shared by the world as the salaries offered for these players services dwarf 99% of the rugby players worldwide so who am i to argue when economics has spoken?
i think you are confusing gameplan with ability and may find this year a little uncomfortable if you stick to the same line of reasoning.
is this the walla btw?
31 Mar 2012, 14:01 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-142:
Someone mentioned it on the blog.
A world record! It’s amazing. You are only modest I think.
The Jasus Llandii is probably on average a bit bigger than the ones you catch on the east coast but a 1 kg speciman is still quite a mother of a cray.We had quite a big walkout of crays on the west coast this week (red tide) – no diving skills needed to catch those, lol.
I have not dived for quite a while now- not as nice here in comparison to the tropical warm waters you are used to.
31 Mar 2012, 14:01 pm
@greentea(greentea)-150:
“certainly not my intention to stir things up……….”
Well Dangerman stirs every second chance he gets.
So take my advice, and take no shiit.
31 Mar 2012, 14:02 pm
@cane(cane)-151: haha, cane dont be grumpy because the cheetahs won only their 4th EVER game away from sa
if you are a vegan we can engage in this debate but if flesh passes your lips then i suggest a tactical retreat.
p.s. i will be the big bad bear
31 Mar 2012, 14:05 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-155:
If I didn’t enjoy meat so much, I would be a vegan.
31 Mar 2012, 14:06 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-153: haha, seriously bud, a lot of luck involved but ja, a world record at ANYTHING is just so cool.
the water was close to 27 yesterday in durbs, thats the diving the ranger likes.
@cane(cane)-154:
from one stirrer to the next, many thanks!
31 Mar 2012, 14:07 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-129: Mvovo is a very poor defender and a very lazy player overall. He hugs the touchline and expects to be spoon fed. He has potential, but that is very unlikely to come through. JPP is a solid winger, his cover defence has been monstrous and saved is far too many times to be ignored. As a 13 though he is a liability. He can run the ball well enough, but an outside centre he certainly us not. Habana is still the premier wing though. No wing in SA can do what Habana can do. Beating 8 All Blacks through heavy traffic? I haven’t seen anyone come close to that. His work rate is the highest of all our wings and his defensive work outstanding. The best overall wing in world rugby. Jean is a nonentity though, has been stale for many years. At Super level he is okay, but nothing more. Jaque was a trojan last year, but de Jongh and Ebersohn are hot on his heels for the #13 jersey. Not many centres putting their hands up though. Olivier must however be credited. Particularly his performances at 13, which I thought would have exposed his lack of lateral mobility. That said, our best test centres are Frans, Fourie and de Jongh. The rest have it all to prove.
31 Mar 2012, 14:08 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-152:
At international level where it really counts F Steyn and Fourie have proved themselves, too early to say for Hougie and Lambie, JPP my views known.
Wealthy Frogs and **** throwing their Yen and Euro’s out the window may not necessarily be a true indication of how good a player is, scoring tries at Twickers or Eden Park is.
I doubt the Bokke game plan will change much this year unless Steyn is dropped at 10.
Who is Walla?
I watched 127days backwards form the end to the start.It was a uplifting story about a amputee who who found a arm in the desert.
@rangerman(rangerman)-155:
I don’t mind the Cheatahs winning their 4 ever game away from home.
But why the fck can’t they do it somewhere else.
Like Perth or……………………
31 Mar 2012, 14:09 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-160:
was it a cartoon
31 Mar 2012, 14:12 pm
go google,true story.oke had to amputate his own arm with a pocketknife cause it was pinned down by a rock.
31 Mar 2012, 14:13 pm
@greentea(greentea)-159:
Hougie was SA’s most exciting back in the last WC.
A tragedy he never got more game time.
He would have made my “World Cup best 22″.
31 Mar 2012, 14:14 pm
And that is a huge accomplishment,
coming from a Team that finished 8=.
31 Mar 2012, 14:16 pm
@cane(cane)-164:
Police ten seven is showing on satelite here now.interesting to see that you find those type of people all over nz.funny and pathetic.
31 Mar 2012, 14:16 pm
@greentea(greentea)-159: Morne is far and away our best 10. If you want to play a genuine attacking game then Morne is the option. Goosen in later years may replace, but it would be foolish to call up so young and inexperienced. Morne measures his game and is our best decision maker at 10. Bambie is nothing more than a passive link and at test level is proven to put too much pressure on the rest of the backline. Jantjies is too one-dimensional and cannot control the game. There are also doubts over his physicality, particularly at test level. Our only test quality 10s are Morne and Goosen, nobody else comes remotely close to these two. The real key to our backline is Frans at 12. Jean has been holding us back since 2006 where his intercepts andd muddled play were sussed out. Under Peter there was nothing much going on outside of Morne. He is willing to pass, but has the sense not to pass for the sake of it, unlike Lambie or Jantjies. We need to be working on that aspect of play much more. With Hougaard and Morne we have the premier halfback combo in the world, breaking that up will be disastrous for the Boks.
31 Mar 2012, 14:17 pm
This game certainly showing how the Reds have no depth!!!
31 Mar 2012, 14:17 pm
@cane(cane)-154:
He seems like a nice fellow and I would be doing exactly the same defending my players, SA has a few world class backs and the rest are journeymen. Compared to Australia and NZ they are a distant third, during the WC when facing Wales Samoa and Australia thier backline barely functioned, that had nothing to do with gameplan.
31 Mar 2012, 14:18 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-163:
Oh yeah, I remember it now, from the “I shouldn’t be alive series”.
A bit like your story Fernly.
Once you were deceased. But rose again.
31 Mar 2012, 14:20 pm
@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-168:
They have just conceded over 100 points in the last 2 games!
have you seen police ten seven cane?
cop ask the oke his dob and he replies
tenth of the tenth suck my ****
If you want to play an attacking game the Motne is the best??? Wtf??? Hahahahaha!!
31 Mar 2012, 14:21 pm
Motne =morne
31 Mar 2012, 14:22 pm
Here’s your sign!!!
31 Mar 2012, 14:23 pm
@greentea(greentea)-169:
“He seems like a nice fellow …………”
I’m sure Dangerman is a nice fellow………………………………………to his Mum, to Mrs Ranger, to small fury animals, to people to whom he owes money, to other Sharkie fans……………………………..
But there is another side………………………………………………….just ask any fish.
31 Mar 2012, 14:23 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-167:
The worlds premier halfs combo, I’m afraid with Morne there that just can’t be true. How many games has Hougie played at 9 for the Bokke?
31 Mar 2012, 14:27 pm
Greentea… Take that with a pinch of salt!! He will tell you hos blood is blue!! No really look at your veins!! They are blue!! Lol!
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-172:
Is this the NZ Police Ten Seven Show fernly.
Surely SA TV has better things to televise.
@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-173: It’s true, Morne is our better distributor at 10. Lambie and Jantjies are not. But as I say, Morne does not pass just for the sake of passing. If you knew anything about rugby you would understand that the power of your attack comes from your centres. That’s where space is created for your wings and where you can hurt sides. Unfortunately Saffers do not do this very well at all. Our support play stinks, but the less cerebral of our bunch point solely to Morne for kicking too much (something he does not do) or to Habana for not scoring lots of tries. Little effort has been made to identify where our problems are because it has been fashionable to insult Morne and Habana. The reality is that Jean is the real culprit, as can be seen every time Frans has played 12. Frans, by perfoming the duties of a 12 to a very high standard, all of a sudden completes the puzzle and the Bok backline starts functioning again. Yes, even with Morne there! This idiotic myth that Morne is only a kicker (something that is exposed very, very easily by the stats) is as stupid as the myth that Lambie and Jantjies will be our saviour.
so what is everyone braaing today?
for me it is rump estepadas,hot spanish sausage and toasted cheese and tomato sarmies with some biltong added.
31 Mar 2012, 14:29 pm
Morne is a good flyhalf… But never best distributor!! He has the best kicking game! But on attack?? Never!
31 Mar 2012, 14:29 pm
yes cane.it shows on zone reality on satelite tv,the stuff gets bought as a package of programmes so they cannot choose.
having been to a lot of place there i do inderstand it better.
31 Mar 2012, 14:31 pm
Has Morne ever broken a line? Or a tackle?
31 Mar 2012, 14:32 pm
@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-184:
or even a sweat.
31 Mar 2012, 14:32 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-172:
Can you please explain your nic, do you work in the porn industry?
31 Mar 2012, 14:35 pm
no greentea,my **** is too small and i have lice.cane will vouch for that
31 Mar 2012, 14:35 pm
@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-146: Indeed putting it into perspective. The Bulls are not as good as the result made them to be. This afternoon’s clash will further drive home that point!
31 Mar 2012, 14:38 pm
I see provincial bias runs rampant here. The fact is that the Bull’s are the best and most well rounded SA side out there and Morne is one of the standout players. Even when they run rampant over quality sides you lot are never willing to give Morne credit. I suppose it comes down to not being able to think for yourselves. I have noted with interest how your perspectives change instantly with that of the media offings.
31 Mar 2012, 14:38 pm
Cane lol!!
31 Mar 2012, 14:39 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-180: I have yet to see Frans Styen perform at the level you allude to. Against tough opposition he’s been downright embarrassing IMO. Very overrated player. He’s been a liability to his club too. He’s always getting subbed.
31 Mar 2012, 14:40 pm
All that coming from a Bulls supporter!! The most provincial one eyed supporters!!
31 Mar 2012, 14:41 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-189: Morne Steyn the best flyhalf in SA? Surely you jest?
31 Mar 2012, 14:43 pm
He dont!!
31 Mar 2012, 14:43 pm
@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-184: No, never, but he has broken a toenail!
31 Mar 2012, 14:47 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19(Fern)-187:
You have a small wanger and Police 10 is your favourite TV show, you sound like quite a guy.
31 Mar 2012, 15:03 pm
Whoa something has made the normally placid vewy vewy gwumpy today.
Let me guess, it has nothing to do with the Cheetahs
31 Mar 2012, 15:04 pm
Well done Sharkies, good win!
31 Mar 2012, 15:06 pm
“the normally placid Cane”
31 Mar 2012, 15:21 pm
Now if I was Skim,
I would be claiming this number.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All