Cheetahs clinch courageous comeback win

GARETH DUNCAN watched the Cheetahs overcome a 32-11 deficit in the first half to down the Hurricanes 47-38 in Wellington.

It’s unlikely that you’ll see a similar attacking spectacle like the one displayed in this clash again this season. Ten tries were scored between the two teams, with the Cheetahs claiming six of them to secure a famous comeback triumph. They trailed by 21 points midway through the opening 40, but a strong finish to the first stanza saw them draw level at 32-32 at half-time. Tries from WP Nel and Coenie Oosthuizen, and Johan Goosen’s conversion and penalty was enough to seal the win as the Hurricanes could only add two Beauden Barrett penalties.

It was the Bloemfontein franchise’s fourth overseas victory in their Super Rugby history – a result that will be spoken about for years to come as it confirmed their most successful tour to Australasia.

The Cheetahs’ expansive approach laid the platform for this win. While poor ball retention and a weak cover defence cost them dearly in the first quarter, they managed to build strong momentum before the break and held on to that ascendancy in the second half.

The Hurricanes played most of the match in their own territory and were starved of quality possession, which were two key factors in their eventual downfall. Head coach Mark Hammett will lament this defeat considering his side’s wonderful start to the match.

While the Cheetahs’ smart interplay between forwards and backs saw them break easily into the Hurricanes’ half, the hosts forced several early turnovers and their continuity on the counterattack helped them score four tries in 30 minutes. After Dane Coles powered through from the kick-off, Beauden Barrett, Andre Taylor and TJ Perenara crossed the chalk as they capitalised on the visitors’ poor cover defence.

The introduction of Ashley Johnson off the bench shortly after the flurry of tries proved to be a crucial early substitution as he made a massive impact on attack and defence. Andries Strauss scored the Cheetahs’ only try in the first quarter, but Hennie Daniller, Ryno Benjamin and Oosthuizen all dotted down in a 10-minute period to level the scores at the break.

The game then tightened up in the second half. This benefitted the Cheetahs, who bossed possession and conceded less turnovers. The Hurricanes struggled in reply and the contest was over when Oosthuizen completed his brace in the final quarter.

220 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

• 151.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Great handling hard running guts excellent skills great ball retention
    Very proud of them Cheetahs

• 152.ufo: Reply to this comment

@4moreyears(4moreyears)-148:

absolutely…

• 153.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-149: @ufo(ufo)-149:
    But a 1000 times fitter
    Goosen look better and better too
    Forwards were amazing backs did their part
    Hope Van Zyl is ok

• 154.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-149: @ufo(ufo)-149:
    But a 1000 times fitter
    Goosen look better and better too
    Forwards were amazing backs did their part
    Hope Van Zyl is ok

• 155.Todd W: Reply to this comment

Good on ya Cheetahs, you showed a never-say-die spirit and I respect that.

• 156.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Is there an echo?

• 157.ufo: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-153:

yeah of course…

goosen had a good game…

but i still wouldn’t rush him into the boks… let him finish the super season and then start working him into the squad…

• 158.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Meyer must be writing some names down
    W le Roux, Goosen Connie Straus WP Nel Brussow

• 159.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-157:
    Yes introduce him slowly, maybe in Europe at end of the year

• 160.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Just look at our depth in hookers

Bismark
    Straus
    Chilli boi
    Liebenberg
    plus that guy at Sarasens?

• 161.ufo: Reply to this comment

yeah… for sure pete

• 162.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Johnson too

• 163.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Van de walt not to shabby either maybe a lock?

• 164.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Bound to be happy bands of yarpies at Molly Malones in Courtenay Place this evening…

• 165.garth: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-158: I agree with Coenie, Le Roux, Goosen and Brussouw being definte starters for the Boks. Not sure about the rest. It difficult to judge how well Coenie does at tighthead as the loosehead that comes on each time seems to be a bit pap. It would be great to have Coenie, Biz and Beast in the same front row, but even if this is not the case Coenie has shown is the number 1 number 1.

• 166.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

To be honest i see depth in props too and not worried about locks either
    Just got to find right lose combo

• 167.zub: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs desperate to avoid getting relegated in favour of the Kings. Pressure on the Lions

• 168.niknaks: Reply to this comment

Hobbits are pretty quiet…

The great w@nker prikbok especially…

• 169.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-165:
    Yes Connie needs to play loose head
    And i was saying for the squad of 30 plus, not necessarily starters

• 170.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@zub(zub)-167:
    Hmmm lets see Cheetahs or Kings????
    Fok ? no brainer :)

• 171.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@niknaks(niknaks)-168:
    The canes look stunned and shell shocked
    Priceless

• 172.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-165:
    Connie at 1
    Jannie dup or Beast at 3
    Jannie dup can fill in at 1 if necessary

• 173.zub: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-170: I’m very glad that I’m not the one who has to sort the mess out. A large amount of poo to be flung in your direction, whatever the decision.

• 174.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-172:
    Bulls props may also have a say in this :)

• 175.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@zub(zub)-173:
    Personally i feel Cheetahs and Lions are way better than Kings at this stage

• 176.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@zub(zub)-173:
    Lot of guys will be standing there with me on this one

• 177.garth: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-169: I’d definitely agree that they are on the fringe.

• 178.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

ahem lets get the garden done and the braai started Que the Rev Marley to lead us in a victory prayer “Emancipate yourself from kick chase……….” and the some lamb chops and meerlust and yeah follow that up with David Kramer “royal Hotel” shaping up to be one helluva godd Saturday gents enjoys the Rugga see y’all for the derby.

• 179.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Captain Sam Vimes(Captain Sam Vimes)-178:
    Hey enough you making me jealous and home sick :)

• 180.4moreyears: Reply to this comment

Have to say i am impressed with the crop of new young refs coming through,the old boys club seems to be slowly getting dismantled.

• 181.garth: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-172: I have never seen Beast play at 3. Is he able to play both sides of the scrum?

• 182.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Captain Sam Vimes(Captain Sam Vimes)-178:
    Cheetahs dont understand the meaning of kick and chase
    Let the ball do the work

• 183.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-181:
    sorry my apoligies he is loose head

• 184.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-179: @CoachPete(CoachPete)-179: Hey Coach if it makes you feel better on ly have six lamb chops lol finance permitting lamb become more precious in my household than gold bro

• 185.garth: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-183: It would be cool if could play both.

• 186.4moreyears: Reply to this comment

Eish me too watching 12 hours of super rugby on my todd here in Aus.

• 187.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-181:
    Connie is not a 3 either as you said
    Maybe have 2 props on bench?

• 188.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@niknaks(niknaks)-168:
    When do i say, the ref ripped us off and cheated?
    If you wanted to see quiet, RWC final on here was very quiet. :-)

Well all i can say is the Canes lost this game big time.
    But good effort from the Cheetahs, great comeback and deserved the win in the end

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-182:
    All Blacks style :-)

• 189.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Captain Sam Vimes(Captain Sam Vimes)-184:
    Well no lamb chops here or boerewors or Meerlust, not even a Castle

• 190.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-188:
    Yes :) Your commentators were full of praise which shows class
    even smith too

• 191.garth: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-187: They move him to 3 when WP goes off. Os has also said that he thinks it may be Coenie’s best position.

• 192.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-185:
    I dont see why not hes dam strong but its a funny thing with props?
    Props actually are aliens

• 193.garth: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-189: Yum, Meerlust.

• 194.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete(CoachPete)-189: seriously gotta go do the garden…………give it a rodgering of note lol but that really sucks donkey dork dude………….hope you at least able to have any kind of dop bro its a Saturday after all.

• 195.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-188:
    Canes took their chances well from limited turnover ball
    But basically Cheetahs starved them
    Kept ball in hand and handled very well

• 196.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

BRILLIANT BRILLIANT BRILLIANT!!!!

CHEETAHS WHAT A FANTASTIC COME BACK, YOU DID US ALL PROUD , AS SOUTH AFRICANS,

Congrats to you and your supporters

• 197.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Captain Sam Vimes(Captain Sam Vimes)-194:
    Its all american **** lol budwieser etc

• 198.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Captain Sam Vimes(Captain Sam Vimes)-194:
    Plus its midnite here :)

• 199.4moreyears: Reply to this comment

Could be another full house for the saffa teams this wk end,and no I am not smoking crack.

• 200.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Nite all enjoy the rugby will wake up to a load of recorded games

Good luck Sharks, Lions and Stormers

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.