Saders sink brainless Lions
31 Mar 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on the Crusaders’ 23-13 victory over a tactically naive Lions at Ellis Park.
Yet another loss where the Lions played what they deem beautiful rugby. Their supporters will settle for an ugly, deformed or downright hideous win right now.
The excuse about injuries doesn’t wash. Every team has injuries. Their problems are rooted in coach John Mitchell’s refusal to relinquish a misplaced belief in a fundamentally flawed game plan. The Lions continue to play a brand of rugby too heavily weighted to the expansive. It lacks the balance needed to make them a consistently threatening side.
The Saders were uncharacteristically porous on defence in the first half (missed 10 tackles and lacked the physicality at the gainline that has traditionally been the bedrock of their success). Yet for all their possession and territory the Lions led by just three points (13-10) at the break. They will point to missed opportunities that could have extended their lead, but those sorts of errors have become chronic.
The Saders scored with one of their first opportunities in the half, Dan Carter expertly picking out Zac Guilford’s run on his inside shoulder. It was an ominous warning for the hosts, who despite scoring a converted try just before the break, had exhibited little to inspire.
The Saders started brilliantly after the break, Sean Maitland collecting the most sublime grubber from Israel Dagg to score. Tom Taylor converted and kicked two penalties thereafter to give his side a 10-point lead.
Still the Lions had the ascendancy in the territory and possession stakes and were forcing the visitors into a plethora of tackles. But there was a marked sense of composure on defence from the seven-time champs, who committed few to the breakdown and around the ruck fringe, safe in the knowledge that the Lions would not seek to punch up close through phases.
The Lions became increasingly cavalier as their desperation grew and this suited the Saders, who isolated runners and kept their breakdown turnover count ticking over. The Lions never looked like winning. They simply didn’t have the tactical capacity for it.
Expect Mitchell to point once more to his injury list and speak of this loss as a lesson. Bullshit. He needs to be accountable for what promises to be yet another disastrous Super Rugby campaign under his watch.

369 Comments
31 Mar 2012, 17:11 pm
Sheesh 2 minutes and two injured DRAGONS err I mean Lions!
31 Mar 2012, 17:11 pm
injuries are horrific, now kamana.
could be a whipping here.
great first scrum by lions tho against AB frontrow.
31 Mar 2012, 17:15 pm
always running from their 22, always getting nailed
31 Mar 2012, 17:16 pm
Kom lions!
31 Mar 2012, 17:19 pm
Kom waar?
31 Mar 2012, 17:21 pm
Jerseys too similar. I’ll bet Strauss thought that was a Lion on his shoulder.
31 Mar 2012, 17:22 pm
Ahem, I typed that before the commentators mentioned it. Honest injun.
31 Mar 2012, 17:22 pm
True jock.
31 Mar 2012, 17:24 pm
@namLion(14261774)-3: Not a bad tactic because the opposing wings and fullback hang back expecting the kick, if you can get the ball wide through the hands there is space out wide
@Dawn(Dawn)-8:
No chance of that with the Bulletjies pink number later this afternoon though
And you expect us to believe a Scot?
i like it, their using taute a lot more this week
31 Mar 2012, 17:25 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-9: yes, but they dont, cause its become all to predictable
31 Mar 2012, 17:25 pm
31 Mar 2012, 17:29 pm
So far so good holding them off nicely
31 Mar 2012, 17:30 pm
Go Lions!!! Im off to go see Russell Peters!!
31 Mar 2012, 17:30 pm
You’re not too old to go over my knee young lady….
3-0. Cool. Stay like that and I get the mp on Superbru
31 Mar 2012, 17:34 pm
@namLion(14261774)-13: Give them some time and when they perfect it some sides will ka……k
31 Mar 2012, 17:35 pm
@Dawn,Komaan Lions!
31 Mar 2012, 17:35 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-18:
ek hoop so!
31 Mar 2012, 17:39 pm
coetzee doing well, good judgment on when to run and when to kick from the back
31 Mar 2012, 17:44 pm
Is that the opening of the floodgates?…
I hope not. C’mon Lions.
31 Mar 2012, 17:47 pm
TRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY again!
31 Mar 2012, 17:47 pm
Try Lions?
31 Mar 2012, 17:48 pm
What a waste, he should have passed and that was a certain try.
31 Mar 2012, 17:49 pm
Very selfish.
Cilliers!
fantastic play by lions
cilliers should be the bok TH.
31 Mar 2012, 17:50 pm
Fortunately it doesn’t like like it will matter much. Try Lions.
31 Mar 2012, 17:52 pm
Try lions.
Lion Cheerleader Cameltoe.
Nom nom nom.
31 Mar 2012, 17:53 pm
Spooner your syntax is scrambled today WTF
31 Mar 2012, 17:53 pm
how will the lions react to this unfamiliar position of finding themselves in the lead at the start of the 2nd half? they always look much better when chasing the game
31 Mar 2012, 17:54 pm
Gunther, thanks very much!
31 Mar 2012, 17:54 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-31: hangover.
31 Mar 2012, 17:57 pm
go lions!
p.s. sick of this poaching of kzn talent by the other unions, its like the conscription era.
31 Mar 2012, 17:58 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-35: lol, it’s disgraceful.
31 Mar 2012, 17:58 pm
Very welcome Dawn.
Don’t burn it for more than three hours at a time.
31 Mar 2012, 17:59 pm
Does anybody know a site that’s streaming this and the Stormers v Bulls game?
31 Mar 2012, 17:59 pm
I won’t
31 Mar 2012, 18:00 pm
i wonder if there will be a naked kiwi running around joeys abusing women on scooters and retired punters in a bar.
i suggest this spree will last all of 5 mins.
max.
31 Mar 2012, 18:01 pm
Serious question. Would the Sharks union rather have Cilliers or Jannie Du Plessis?
I know what my answer is.
31 Mar 2012, 18:02 pm
Crikey.
The lions fuckedup about 4 scoring opportunties.
It could have been a massacre.
Lions 35
Christians O
31 Mar 2012, 18:03 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-36: hehe, the lions are like natal in the early 90′s.
its all good, just makes me laugh when ignorant hobos think its all one way.
yeah but u got alberts, which is joeys born and bred.
@The_Don(The_Don)-38: http://www.kostaz.webs.com
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-42: the first ever supersport reel on missed opportunities, and there’s a lot
31 Mar 2012, 18:05 pm
@The_Don(The_Don)-38:
vipstand {dot} net
To be fair we did get Alberts, Deysel and McLeod. And also Ludik.
Did the lovely Tara look after you?
31 Mar 2012, 18:06 pm
How can the Lions only attract a few thousand people to this game against a team so good as the Crusaders… but Harlequins v Saracens at Wembley gets 80,000 people in a sell out…
I mean its not like theres loads of Saffas in the Saracens team today, only Brits, Joubert and De Kock…
People must be at home watching the Saracens game then the Lions game instead of going to Ellis Park
Anyway, Go Lions!
31 Mar 2012, 18:08 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-41: mine too but we bought a package deal and i like biz playing in durbs.
guildford looks like he reached into a paint tin aftwr dropping some cash in by mistake.
he mustve been on the pi s s and had his directions home painted on in case someone found him on the side of the road.
Vok.
Boys all go round to gunther’s and get a load of Tara!!!!!
31 Mar 2012, 18:11 pm
@cab(cab)-44: yes this is true, so its like an exchange program.
there are natal boys playing at most unions and vice versa.
31 Mar 2012, 18:12 pm
ag cmon leeus!
31 Mar 2012, 18:14 pm
uh oh, looks like a few capesaders managed to stowaway on a goods train to jhb.
31 Mar 2012, 18:15 pm
No no no dawnie.
I shun publicity.
Besides my mother thinks I sweep the floors at Mavericks.
Tara is there to work.
Not for chaffing.
@Dawn, get a load ON Tara?
@rangerman(rangerman)-54:
i think cilliers has come on a long way under mitchell, but he has also got a very big heart, he’s more than standing up to wyatt crockett in the scrum, and he’s probably the most mobile TH in the game – but probably too unusual for the bok selectors who will go for a bigger flabbier version of mediocrity.
Joburg Spanish?
31 Mar 2012, 18:17 pm
ag no hollebach and taute, might as well wrap it up.
i cant actually believe the curent injury toll, it must be like a whole team.
just compare the lions team and crusaders team on paper and tell me how the hell they even still in this game..
31 Mar 2012, 18:19 pm
Good close game this
31 Mar 2012, 18:20 pm
Sorry slappes not up on Fern language!
Did you know he has a small wanger with lice?
31 Mar 2012, 18:20 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-54:
How many Natal guys are there in the current Sharks team?
31 Mar 2012, 18:21 pm
@cab(cab)-59: well lets see, he is strong as an ox, thats for sure.
crusaders flirting with a yellow here.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-60: could be but they could be refugees from the cape (the type who couldnt cut it in an equal opportunity society)
31 Mar 2012, 18:21 pm
Ranger they must be kiwis rather than cape crusaders.
They’ve paid for their drinks rather than smuggling them in.
31 Mar 2012, 18:22 pm
i can predict another near win for the lions, but you dont get any log points for those
31 Mar 2012, 18:22 pm
martin bezuidenhout very good, dunno why hes not starting.
31 Mar 2012, 18:26 pm
@namLion(14261774)-67:
One.
31 Mar 2012, 18:29 pm
@David(David)-64: they are ALL natal guys david, we dont discriminate based on where they were unlucky enough to be born.
but i know of at least two natal boys in the stormers team
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-66: they sell booze at ellis? dangerous.
31 Mar 2012, 18:30 pm
A bit too much daylight starting to develop in the score.
31 Mar 2012, 18:30 pm
She wasn’t a Kiwi, she was good looking.
31 Mar 2012, 18:31 pm
Yay.
We buy our booze legit.
31 Mar 2012, 18:31 pm
@David(David)-69: are you looking for an argument davie?
“look how CAPISH our CAPE team is (backslap backslap backslap!)”
is that your thing?
31 Mar 2012, 18:33 pm
Shame if you have brave the streets of Joburg the least they can do is serve you some booze when you get there.
31 Mar 2012, 18:35 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-74:
I did an exercise on this last weekend, pointed out just where all the Stormer players are from. Quite a few hail from elsewhere.
But I was told by Skop that a guy like Liebenberg who played Super rugby for the Cheetahs is apparently a Cape boy. But Alberts who played for the Lions is a “mercenary” at the Sharks
It truly doesn’t matter but some in the Cape cling onto this topic like it’s a life and death matter.
31 Mar 2012, 18:37 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-75: fair enough, cant argue with that.
31 Mar 2012, 18:37 pm
And lots of it.
31 Mar 2012, 18:38 pm
That was close to game over. Guildford fails to pick out the giant moustache running next to him.
31 Mar 2012, 18:38 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-76:
Ranger brought it up.
31 Mar 2012, 18:40 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-76:
Ag don’t pick on the Capies Spooner, it’s trotted out by supporters of every team now and again.
Anyhoo, players go where they get paid most or looked after well. The amateur days are looooong gone and so should this topic of conversation.
Kaplan got that wrong.
bladen is right that binding law is a load of ****.
I hate these scrum penalties. 50/50 calls all of them.
31 Mar 2012, 18:41 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-76: haha, its got to do with a recent lack of success imo.
i was making a joke earlier about the natal boys playing at the lions and david clearly found it quite disturbing.
i will make a note and try to avoid the topic when the bullet is around in future.
p.s. someone yesterday claimed cliffie brown went to the bulls for cash AFTER he had done national service.
whattaloadoftoss. he was conscripted.
like so many of our young men of the rolling green hills.
31 Mar 2012, 18:42 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-81: I’m happy to agree with a Capie this time
@chch(chch)-79:
that bugger with the tache looks dodgy, crotty?
@David(David)-80: haha, it was a joke toppie, but it clearly got your goat(ee)
31 Mar 2012, 18:43 pm
Minnie has been poor, he’s been dominated in the tackle + lost it 2 or 3 times in the tackle + given away many penalties…
31 Mar 2012, 18:43 pm
Saders scrum now dominating with cilliers off..
31 Mar 2012, 18:44 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-81: haha, the voice of reason.
i will find another topic to joke about in future.
31 Mar 2012, 18:46 pm
Fruean looks like a baby BA Baracus.
Fool.
31 Mar 2012, 18:46 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-91:
We get enough schit with the ABs supporters down here. Give us a break man ffs
31 Mar 2012, 18:48 pm
I am dreading skop appearance after the stormers game
Woes it will be
31 Mar 2012, 18:50 pm
The lions have worse hands than a hormone-stricken teenager on his first date.
31 Mar 2012, 18:50 pm
Cheetahs deserve the point
31 Mar 2012, 18:51 pm
@cab(cab)-87:
Yes Crotty
31 Mar 2012, 18:52 pm
Balls. Deserved the bp Lions on the first half alone.
31 Mar 2012, 18:53 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-88:
Not at all. I was just having a bit of a dig.
Butch James is a k.nob.
poor old butch, no-ones fault, lions showed alot of guts, you cant play against a team like crusaders with more than half your team out with injuries.
31 Mar 2012, 18:54 pm
@chch(chch)-96:
Cheetahs got 5 points dude. You up early or going to bed late?
31 Mar 2012, 18:56 pm
ryan: for this type of article title expect flak from wanderer& katman boet! bwahahahaha
31 Mar 2012, 18:58 pm
“Close isn’t close enough” hmmm
31 Mar 2012, 18:59 pm
Vrede….what has Mitchell done to you? I guess I will take your posts seriously when your use of the english language improves. In the meantime compare the Lions in S15 versus 2 years ago.
31 Mar 2012, 18:59 pm
Lions are terrible. If any of the local teams need to make way for the Kings next year it surely has to be them now
Cheetahs are in a league of their own compared to the Lions
31 Mar 2012, 19:00 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-102:
Oh sorry, well done the Cheetahs. Unlucky Lions
Neither woke up to watch Crusaders and Man Citie lose. We have an extra hour tonight which every flippen website fails to allow for when displaying the flippen kickoff.
31 Mar 2012, 19:04 pm
@ShaunSwindon(Karma-zaf)-106: How the hell can you say that given their injuries this season. They have yet to field a squad without injuries to first team/squad members. There were 15 players missing from the starting 15 today.
31 Mar 2012, 19:05 pm
@chch(chch)-107:
Ouch. But neither lost, although I’ve a feeling a draw for City is a good result for you
Hearts beat Aberdeen 3-0. Now for the Stormers to overcome the Bulls and Craig Joubert
31 Mar 2012, 19:05 pm
@Transie lol! Theyre gonna ask for playoffs and kak on Ryan
31 Mar 2012, 19:08 pm
Feel for Butch though, eish Elton shouldve taken it. Anyway lions are last on Sa log
31 Mar 2012, 19:10 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-109:
Early morning bad wording … to watch the Crusaders win and Man Citie mess up
31 Mar 2012, 19:13 pm
Shocking 2nd half from the Lions. Not good.
Ryan, stick to your sh1tty prediction posts.
5 – 6 injuries to the team you support, what do think will happen?
Try again.
31 Mar 2012, 19:20 pm
Daar buckle die site alweer.
31 Mar 2012, 19:22 pm
yep, site is kaput.
seriously, the pink jersey is ok, but the pink shorts, socks and boots just make it all an eyesore.
White shorts would have been just fine.
31 Mar 2012, 19:23 pm
Comments closed!
31 Mar 2012, 19:25 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-116: Not closed. Thread fakt…
31 Mar 2012, 19:26 pm
Bulls are under a lot of pressure.
31 Mar 2012, 19:26 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-116:
Keo can’t take any more ragging on his pink Bulls..
31 Mar 2012, 19:27 pm
Great opportunity for running counter attack to the right and Habanna kicked
Daai is baie rooi op daai laaitie se kop.
Shocker, look at Greyling in that scrum.
Always happens tho. Wonder why
31 Mar 2012, 19:28 pm
Skinstad says “we’ve spoken in the week on all the forums…”
So which nick here belongs to Skinstad?
My money is on Skop.
31 Mar 2012, 19:29 pm
usually Keo only closes threads when NZ are winning the tri-nations final game or a NZ super side is winning a Super Rugby final. What is he being lame about now?
31 Mar 2012, 19:32 pm
Liebenberg the tjop again!
31 Mar 2012, 19:32 pm
“Advantage pink!”
31 Mar 2012, 19:33 pm
haha, this site is so amateur lol.
go you pink cows go (apologies my stormer friends).
Caroline laughs and
It’s raining all day
She loves to be one of the girls
She lives in the place
In the side of our lives
Where nothing is
Ever put straight
She turns herself round
And she smiles and she says
‘This is it’
‘That’s the end of the joke’
And loses herself
In her dreaming and sleep
And her lovers walk
Through in their coats
Pretty in pink
Isn’t she?
Pretty in pink
Isn’t she?
All of her lovers
All talk of her notes
And the flowers
That they never sent
And wasn’t she easy
And isn’t she
Pretty in pink
The one who insists
He was first in the line
Is the last to
Remember her name
He’s walking around
In this dress
That she wore
She is gone
But the joke’s the same
Pretty in pink
Isn’t she?
Pretty in pink
Isn’t she?
Caroline talks to you
Softly sometimes
She says
‘I love you’ and
‘Too much’
She doesn’t have anything
You want to steal
Well
Nothing you can touch
She waves
She buttons your shirt
The traffic
Is waiting outside
She hands you this coat
She gives you her clothes
These cars collide
Pretty in pink
Isn’t she?
Pretty in pink
Isn’t she?
Who knows chch.
31 Mar 2012, 19:34 pm
haha, the stormers bulls thread reckons 23 mins , my tv reckons 21.
and boolands erupts
Oom Paul needs a slap
The Stormers high five the most out of any Super rugby team. Sometimes even when the other side knock on. Is high fiving big in CT at the mo?
can i get an air punch?
31 Mar 2012, 19:35 pm
Good refereeing … that was the ‘squeeze ball’
31 Mar 2012, 19:35 pm
Habana 0 – Greyling 2
31 Mar 2012, 19:36 pm
haha, vermeulen tried to feed habana to the bearded prop in pink lmao!
31 Mar 2012, 19:36 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-126:
He is indeed a tjop.
Same is Bissy.
In your face, both of them.
Hookers are like that.
31 Mar 2012, 19:37 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-138: Liebenberg goes OTT imo.
31 Mar 2012, 19:37 pm
Greyling is going to cost Bulls plenty of he doesn’t wind his neck in a bit.
31 Mar 2012, 19:38 pm
Scathing article by Ryan above. I loved the Lions game plan. Carlos is a genius
31 Mar 2012, 19:38 pm
seriously, why is it that every soutie commentator insists on calling him deon greyling?
are they f u k k ing dof? they just showed his name on tv as DEAN you
dic kheads????????????
or are the tv okes the d i ck s?
either way, its annoying as f uk
31 Mar 2012, 19:40 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-142: ja, he was baptised MacGuyver Dean Greyling.
We know what show his folks watched on TV
31 Mar 2012, 19:41 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-142: I can almost guarantee that deAn butchers the English language himself plenty.
He deserves whatever he gets.
The doc shoulda slapped his momma.
31 Mar 2012, 19:43 pm
Why do Wynie get so much air time? A ginger with a snor – never a good thing.
31 Mar 2012, 19:44 pm
Haha that Bulls manager sitting on the side is the one Nama thought threw the plastic bottle at Meealamu.
31 Mar 2012, 19:45 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-143:
Holy crapp, you’re serious? MacGuyver?
That’s insane.
And brilliant at the same time
31 Mar 2012, 19:47 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-147: That’s what it said on the TV. Wasn’t MacGuyver’s real name Richard Dean Anderson?
Explains where Dean may come from too.
ralapelle#s having a fantastic game. bladdy good game allround.
Nice, Stormers can’t complain about the ref so far.
31 Mar 2012, 19:49 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-148:
Fantastic. Double prizes
31 Mar 2012, 19:52 pm
told you Duvenhage and Grant will outplay Hougaard and Steyn, didn’t I?
Also cried out a year ago to play this back row of Vermeulen and Elstadt at 8 and 7
Eventually Stormers selection policy comes right. Now just keep Schalk out the setup and this team goes all the way under JdV. Give captaincy back to Schalk and we undo everything.
31 Mar 2012, 19:53 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-152:
There is still 40 min to go.
31 Mar 2012, 19:54 pm
Duvenhage owning his Craven week understudy
31 Mar 2012, 19:55 pm
Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaassssssssssss
31 Mar 2012, 19:56 pm
The tjop did it?
Woody?
Nice ego boost for Tiaan. Watch out ladies. #stilladoos
The tjop scores.
Air punches all round!
31 Mar 2012, 19:57 pm
yip stormers outbullying the bulls, no shame on the bulls, thats the way it goes.
but stormers cant let up in 2nd half
31 Mar 2012, 19:58 pm
Lolz, c’mon guys. Tiaans committed. He’s not malicious.
31 Mar 2012, 19:58 pm
There’s plenty of air punching, high fiving and a whoopin’ and a hollarin’ at the Stormersboy household right about now. I can tell ya!
31 Mar 2012, 19:59 pm
duvenage certainly not outplaying hougaard – grant is alot better than ppl give him credit for.
greyling a beast, but too many stormers molesting the bulls upfront, kolisi learnt to hold onto the ball into contact, playing well too. elstadt massive.
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-144:
ooh its getting hot in here lol.
@JockBok(JockBok)-161: Jock you get malicious tjops and you get committed tjops. There are many kinds. But a tjop is a tjop and Liebenberg is one. You can just see it written all over his close set eyes.
31 Mar 2012, 20:00 pm
Grant playing the hard edge attack mode pivotal role I always been advocating since 2008
If Boks would have played this style game with hard running fly half instead of the deep pocket kicking game through De Villiers tenure we would have cleaned up all and sundry.
Coetsee must keep this team intact now and leave Elstadt at 7 at least to 60th minute or later, don’t switch Elstadt for Koster at least till Bulls are well and truly beat.
31 Mar 2012, 20:01 pm
I need a drink
31 Mar 2012, 20:01 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-161:
Tiaan is a good bloke- they just misunderstand his enthusiasm- he is a good cricketer too- top class batsman, his drive of the front foot through covers is reminiscent of Pollock at his best – ask Vernon Philander.
31 Mar 2012, 20:02 pm
I love that pink….!!
31 Mar 2012, 20:02 pm
A big one
31 Mar 2012, 20:03 pm
Evening Boys….
What’s all this about the ref being against the Stormers then!!
Perhaps he heard the gossip!
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-165:
He didn’t become a tjop overnight Spooner. He’s 100% kinda guy and I’ve always loved the way he plays. Of course, maybe I’m biased
Fuckadilly.
The misunderstood genius.
A legend in his own packed-lunchtime.
@Dawn(Dawn)-170:
I beg your pardon?
A big one?
its the wp forward pack again, got little to do with the halfbacks.
must say tho if there is a harder running centre than JDJ i aint seen it in 10 years of bok rugby, he hits the line like a bolt of thunder.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-165:
Lol, thats why is such a good cricketer.
It’s those close set eyes.
Lots of people with great ball sense have or had it.
like Bradman and Borg.
31 Mar 2012, 20:04 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-166:
And I remember you make pitches for Gary Van to start all the time?
Hougaard is finished, you can tell by the amount of his body tattoos which is growing steadily, and as for M Styen, we know all about his strenghts and skills
31 Mar 2012, 20:04 pm
Ag everyone’s a tjop for spooner
31 Mar 2012, 20:05 pm
@carol(carol)-171:
Lol, he is just blinded by the pink
Just watch his comeback in the second half once he is used to it.
31 Mar 2012, 20:05 pm
Sadie se D is maar tos.
31 Mar 2012, 20:06 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-178: Ag Dawn, don’t get so defensive of your weepee boys. Ontspan.
Big drink!
@Robzim(Robzim)-168:
i actually think that little cameo by liebenberg at the beginning was just what was needed.
fourie coming on around 60min could blast the bulls into kingdom come, but elstadt likely to fade fast, not used to match sharpness at this level and he went out the starting blocks like a racehorse.
@Dawn(Dawn)-178: Oh and btw I have only ever said there are 2. It just so happens they both play for you team
Now okes, PLEEEEEEEEEEZE don’t try and defend for 40, or we’ll lose this one. Guaranteed.
Go at them some more.
They are like headless chickens when they are challenged physically.
31 Mar 2012, 20:07 pm
GAAAHHHH!!!
It’s so bloody pink I had to tone down my TV’s contrast
31 Mar 2012, 20:07 pm
I played table tennis with Borg in Antigua.
Took every kroner the little farker had.
Eyes too close together indeed.
31 Mar 2012, 20:08 pm
Duvenhage owning Hougaard in the tactical arena plus in the distribution stakes, I told you long time ago these the 2 best scrummies in the country by country mile, Duvenhage for his tactical acumen and kicking game, Hougaard for his speed and physicality. So far Duvenhage / Grant combo way better than Hougaard / Steyn
Long as Coetsee don’t change anything except for Malherbe on for Harris for next 20 mins should hopefully clinch this out from here.
I’m almost glad Deon Stegmann is injured for this game, this is a crime against humanity.
Those poor boys still care about their image, and the thought of losing their first game in pink looks to be adding unnecessary pressure.
AC look like he been crying
Am not defensive, am a bull, but everyone still a tjop for you
31 Mar 2012, 20:09 pm
The venue Newlands is fabulous, why do they want to move it to a lesser stadium?
kak duvenage kicked some horrendous kicks, hougard ten times more physical and kicking better, stortms pack far superior.
And what’s with all the marginal calls going against the Bulls? Shameful man.
@Dawn(Dawn)-190: Lol you are not a Bull’s arse. You can join the elite club if you want.
31 Mar 2012, 20:11 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-187:
Tucking into a lovely saucisson and roquefort at the moment. Washed down with a cheeky Chateau Fonjouan.
Where’s a McDonalds when you need one hey?
31 Mar 2012, 20:11 pm
Penalty count is biblical.
31 Mar 2012, 20:12 pm
Ai ou Flippie….
Jy werk darem maar hard vir jou geel kaartjie elke naweek.
31 Mar 2012, 20:13 pm
You little piggy Jock.
That must be stretching your per diem.
31 Mar 2012, 20:14 pm
Good try..
31 Mar 2012, 20:15 pm
if the stormers lose from 14 – 0 up then they’re kak….
ludekak is stuck right now on the phone with heineken
bulls try with 14 men!
UH OH GAME ON!
bekker tried to cheat too naughty naughty.
Try to the 14 men Bulls.
lol, bulls have scored a breakaway, that could upset the entire applecart, going to give them alot of confidence, could be a cracking finale.
Take that farkers.
@Hondo(Hondo)-191:
Hondo, you have not obviously been to many top class stadiums!!
Newlands is frankly a bit of a dump!!
31 Mar 2012, 20:16 pm
Min 46
De Jongh turned it over, the Bulls scored
31 Mar 2012, 20:16 pm
against run of play damn de Jongh should have rather gone down with the ball than flick out the pass to a pink player
31 Mar 2012, 20:17 pm
That’s one of thise 14 point swings. Could so easily have been a try at the other end.
Chilli playing good rugga. Top no 2 in SA imo.
@Robzim(Robzim)-179:
How are the anxiety levels now!!
31 Mar 2012, 20:18 pm
@carol(carol)-205:
I love that “dump”
31 Mar 2012, 20:18 pm
Duvethanger tactical brilliance.
Not.
31 Mar 2012, 20:19 pm
AC, just get Elstadt off the field asap, for fark sakes.
31 Mar 2012, 20:19 pm
Bulls should stick to 14 men.
31 Mar 2012, 20:20 pm
Squeaky bum time for the Stormers.
31 Mar 2012, 20:20 pm
He got it at last- Koster to the rescue
31 Mar 2012, 20:21 pm
robzim you said elstadt was ready when i asked during the week!
chili is playing a top game.
man chili and biz, we are blessed.
why has elstadt been taking off on 50? dom.
31 Mar 2012, 20:22 pm
taking Elstadt off for Koster big mistake
31 Mar 2012, 20:23 pm
Newlands is not a dump
Skinner crying like a biiiaaatch.
@Transformation(Transformation)-217:
Ready for no 4 yes but not as a flanker- he is a lock– too slow and not enough skills for a number 7
31 Mar 2012, 20:24 pm
uh oh, skop will not be happy about your critique of elstadt.
i sense a tourettes tour coming.
craig joubert giving everything to the stormers tonight imo.
31 Mar 2012, 20:24 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-223:
Girls arrived….!!
Another time…
GO BULLS !!
31 Mar 2012, 20:25 pm
duvenage knocked back and hougaard ripped it over with his stregth, shoulda been a bulls try.
31 Mar 2012, 20:25 pm
stormers under the same kosh they were against the lions!
31 Mar 2012, 20:26 pm
Puting in on Kolisi side a big mistake
ooh bad luck hougie.
and skopkukpraat wants us to believe duvenhage has anything on this kid?
;lol:
Joubert is doing his part for the Stormers here…
31 Mar 2012, 20:28 pm
taking Elstadt off for lightweight Koster is opening the door for these okes stupid f’ng decision dumb fck idiots
One try against run of play when De Jongh flip pass to wrong player brought Bulls back in the game
Elstadt should have stayed on to minute 65 thereabouts
31 Mar 2012, 20:29 pm
@carol(carol)-225:
Thanks, next year u can find someone else to help U finish da race.
31 Mar 2012, 20:31 pm
Yip, Piet Retief should go off now, fark Craig, how many times??
31 Mar 2012, 20:31 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-232:
i thought you were trying to keep up with her?
31 Mar 2012, 20:34 pm
eish bekker hard done by imo.
31 Mar 2012, 20:34 pm
morne misses 6 points.
no good.
31 Mar 2012, 20:35 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-234:
Lol, when I am under pressure like now the truth comes out- Stormers in trouble here, luckily Morne misses.
31 Mar 2012, 20:35 pm
MacGyver Dean Greyling.
Classic.
31 Mar 2012, 20:36 pm
ooooooh, its gome quiet.
fingernails being shredded methinks.
31 Mar 2012, 20:37 pm
oh fark, – here comes kak
31 Mar 2012, 20:38 pm
Olivier looks so “at home” in his pienk strip.
31 Mar 2012, 20:38 pm
fantastic try bulls
31 Mar 2012, 20:39 pm
A draw will be very naaice.
31 Mar 2012, 20:39 pm
stomers have taken their foot off the forward gas, elstadt was taken off way too early, they now in deep ****, momentum with bulls.
31 Mar 2012, 20:40 pm
ok, gotta eat my natal snoek that obliged me so nicely by swimming by the rangers spear.
may the best team win!
31 Mar 2012, 20:43 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-245:
Lol. Snoek suicide? How nice.
31 Mar 2012, 20:44 pm
the stormers DESPERATELY need an attack specialist, fleckie is kak
31 Mar 2012, 20:46 pm
@Hondo(Hondo)-228: u say that when the guy who got subbed is elstadt bwahahahahaha
has chili been a ‘liability’ yet?
31 Mar 2012, 20:47 pm
^5
31 Mar 2012, 20:48 pm
Joubert, again
31 Mar 2012, 20:50 pm
Stormers coaches are dumb fck idiots
Taking off the enforcer No.7 and the better scrum half better just f’ng close this debacle out from here
31 Mar 2012, 20:52 pm
helluva game, bulls played better 2nd half, stomers the better side in 1st half.
31 Mar 2012, 20:53 pm
Craig Joubert take a bow.
31 Mar 2012, 20:55 pm
lucky scrape home in spite of the coaches idiocy
If they bring Schalk back as captain then we’re fckd for good
31 Mar 2012, 20:55 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-251:
He was out on his feet when he went off skoppy
close shave for us, phew.
31 Mar 2012, 20:56 pm
Well done stormers. 5 from 5.
31 Mar 2012, 20:57 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-253:
Probably the first time you have ever said that without sarcasm
31 Mar 2012, 20:57 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-253:
The 17% got to him.
31 Mar 2012, 20:58 pm
Joubert has become a ref who likes to be noticed. To stamp his mark. Same as Mark Lawrence. Pity, as they both used to just let the game flow and go largely unnoticed.
31 Mar 2012, 20:59 pm
The Stormer’s thread is broken every weekend. What’s happening Keo?
31 Mar 2012, 21:00 pm
It’s games like these that makes ME THINK THAT THE REF IS BRIBED, was ok when we were 14 men cos he was lenient, and then back to slanted reffing.
And what about the hightackles against us ref?
Thayt last penalty was kak.
FIX THE SRUM REFFING.
31 Mar 2012, 21:01 pm
@garth(garth)-260:
He’s a bitter Bull.
31 Mar 2012, 21:01 pm
IRB should investigate the basteraud.
Touchie too.
What happened to fuckadilly’s 20 point victory?
31 Mar 2012, 21:02 pm
Pierre Spies wished the Stormers good luck on their overseas tour but his face told a different story.
Why not rather be honest and say ” I hope you lose all your games overseas” lol
31 Mar 2012, 21:04 pm
so,the ode to eugene terreblanche has been put on ice i guess.
well done stormers.
@Agile T*t-Tyrant(Anairetes agilis)-261:
Tough luck.
When i heard Steggies was not going to play I knew we were in trouble
sheesh.
My poor heart.
STOOOOOOORRRMEEEERRRRS!!!!!!!
31 Mar 2012, 21:05 pm
Bulls fans complaining about Craig Joubert? Weird, next thing you know the Bulls will be playing in pink or something equally stupid.
Oh, wait…..
31 Mar 2012, 21:06 pm
Robzim
That’s because they had just lost a game they should have won.
Did Donkey wish the Bulls luck?
Silly boy.
31 Mar 2012, 21:07 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-266:
True, we lost at least 9 points with him out
31 Mar 2012, 21:07 pm
the bulls deserved to lose….wearing a kuk outfit like that.
31 Mar 2012, 21:09 pm
Jockstrap
Your buddies were moaning about him before the game started.
They must feel a bit silly now?
31 Mar 2012, 21:09 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-269:
Shoulda woulda coulda
31 Mar 2012, 21:10 pm
deon greyling is a time-bomb on steriods and will cost the bulls quite a few games going forward.
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-269:
No he did not.
At least he was honest.
That was my whole point.
Why call Jean Donkey now that u have lost?
Leave it to HG rather.
Based on that second half performance the Bulls deserved more. The last penalty should have been to the Bulls as Malherbe popped himself out of the scrum and then got a counter shove on against greylingp- poor decision from Joubert in my opinion. If you think about how long this Bulls side has been playing together at this level compared to the Stormers I think they can be satisfied away from home and losing to a dubious penalty (again in my opinion)
31 Mar 2012, 21:11 pm
So much for joubert being biased against the stormers, I think if he didn’t blow today tge bulls might have won, for one thing the try hougaard scored was incorectly disallowed by joubert – the try was valid.
The stormers are the better team IMO but they still have not learnt to play for 80 and absorb the pressure like the bulls – winning games like this will however change that just as it did to make to develop tge bulls championship winning mentality.
31 Mar 2012, 21:11 pm
Indeed Jocky.
Don’t expect him to smile about it though.
31 Mar 2012, 21:12 pm
Almost had a heart attack. Stormers!!! Pinkies go fark yourselves
31 Mar 2012, 21:12 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-272:
Don’t know why Grunts. He’s in the bulls back pocket, just can’t make it so obvious at Newlands. I guess his neutrality today kinda sticks in the throat but don’t stress boet, he’ll even things up back at Loftus.
31 Mar 2012, 21:13 pm
What a fantastic game of rugby! Stormers beginning to show the character that we have been waiting for for years.
31 Mar 2012, 21:14 pm
The Bulls came out in the first half with all aggression and no control, particularly in the forwards. They deservedly paid the price.
This isn’t a bar fight.
Although they would have lost that too, with Eben and Rynard on form.
Nice.
Now for Loftus.
That’s 5 from 5
31 Mar 2012, 21:14 pm
what’s happened to this site?
anyway, well played stormers.
hope this puts the ref issue to rest – once and for all
31 Mar 2012, 21:15 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-275:
Just popped back to check the score.
Well done to your Stompies, they beat the ‘Pinkies’…..
Champagne flowing here…..All good in Oxfordshire!
See Ya
31 Mar 2012, 21:16 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-278:
Ag listen bud. I hate the Bulls more than cabbage bredie, but fairs fair, it was a cracking game and a draw would’ve been a fair result. But whoever lost was entitled to be piszed off and the Bulls should be happy that Pierre’s moody look worked with that pink shirt.
31 Mar 2012, 21:17 pm
And we may air punch.
But we don’t.
Drink.
Pink.
Drinks.
Well played Bulls, as we thought it would be close, but a win is a win.
31 Mar 2012, 21:19 pm
One thing I must say about the Stormers is tha they have introduced a form of aggression into their play that is beautiful to behold. At times it gets a bit frantic and I guess you need ice in the head. That said, I felt they were pretty ordinary in the 2nd but still managed the win – that is what should be the take-away
31 Mar 2012, 21:20 pm
@bananaboy(bananaboy)-276:
Both sides have been forced to depend on their youngsters this year. Things are looking good for the Boks.
31 Mar 2012, 21:21 pm
Craig’s win/matches reffed ratio for the Stormers is now 2/7 (29%)
Before this match it was 1/6= 17%
Average for all refs is 60%
He still has a lot of catching up to do.
31 Mar 2012, 21:21 pm
Well played Stormers. You gave us a hard game.
Sad that you had to win it thanks to a blatantly incorrect call by the ref.
Rob Kempson himself saying that hat tshould have been a clear penalty to the Bulls at the last scrum. Not a nice way to win a game.
But if Morne Steyn had his kicking boots on, we would have taken it regardless. That’s two games he has cost us now.
31 Mar 2012, 21:22 pm
@carol(carol)-284:
Mwahahh ***
31 Mar 2012, 21:22 pm
@cab(cab)-277:
It’s a familiar story with these games. The Bulls always seem to be able to dig deep and step up a gear in attack when the chips are down, whereas the Stormers don’t seem to be able to turn the defence into attack and always hang on by their finger nails.
Most times the Stormers don’t get away with it, today they did. At Loftus though, it’s a different story. Bulls will stroll it.
31 Mar 2012, 21:24 pm
A big compliment to Pierre Spies who became the unlikely Bulls skipper; I thought he has addressed a few technical deficiencies in his game and leads from the front. I have also followed his post match interviews and he has been superb!
31 Mar 2012, 21:24 pm
Watsup.
31 Mar 2012, 21:28 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-290:
I wont take much notice of what Robbie said- he is not highly rated as an “expert” in the rules of the game.
But it could have gone either way— Bulls played well, specially as it was away from home for them. Tough luck on the day, but that is how it goes.
31 Mar 2012, 21:28 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-290: Thanks Tac. That’s the way it goes sometimes.
We missed a couple too, but you would expect more from Morne.
I’d be curious to compare his accuracy away and at home.
Not sure of there would be a large difference. Like to know.
31 Mar 2012, 21:29 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-290:
“Sad that you had to win it thanks to a blatantly incorrect call by the ref.”
Lol. Congratulations…BUT….
Don’t be a twatt Tac, it doesn’t suit you.
31 Mar 2012, 21:31 pm
Tac stop being a gentleman
Moer hulle
31 Mar 2012, 21:33 pm
Where’s Keohane with his f’ng turncoat Bulls arsecreeping that Bulls were gonna blitz Stormers off the park… where all the Bully boy f’ng chicken arsed supporters.. Tacitus, Exkrenie, CapeBull, wienogookal… where they all hiding out tonight.. only Bully breker supporters brave enough to come show their face are Titty bang bang and that other little arsecreep pseud the little two face moron Gunthergwathole deluxe.. all the Sharkievarkie supporters were right up Bully brkers arseholes till the final whistle.. and where the rest of the 314 Bully brekers who were so convinced their team were gonna thump Stormers tonight?
Keo Poll
Who will win the big north-south clash at Newlands on Saturday?
Bulls
Stormers
Total Votes: 551
31 Mar 2012, 21:36 pm
I knew it would be woes!
31 Mar 2012, 21:37 pm
In celebrating the Stormers deserved victory I thought I should submit the post about Gio Aplon and Juan de Jongh, which I could not do yesterday due to tech difficulties (still have them)
I think Gio and Juan should be congratulated on their Bok try celebrations; few people would understand the dynamics that govern something of that nature; in doing their celebration they needed to demonstrate:
* Vision and foresight: they needed to have a picture in the mind of them doing it
* Confidence: they were in effect confident that one of them would score
* Consensus: meeting of the minds – can u imagine if one didnt want to?
* Coordination: you do this, I do that
* Rhythm: did you see that?
* Passion: unadulterated joy
* Liberty: not asking anyone;’s permission – simply expressing themselves
* Simplicity: its the kind of move that you can try at home
* Awareness: they knew they has worldwide audience
* Boldness: they implemented their concept
* Innovation: the world has not witnessed that move before
So well done to Gio and Juan; you both played your part in securing the Stormers victory tonight
31 Mar 2012, 21:37 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-298:
lol, he has changed lately.
Maybe it is strategic, will have to wait and see.
Tough luck to you and your team anyway- you must be devastated
31 Mar 2012, 21:38 pm
The Falklands are British.
31 Mar 2012, 21:39 pm
OK Tacitus showed his face well done..
Craig Joubert is a home town ref he got no balls to blow the game away from the home team.. he’s a sentimentally controlled ref.. he can’t keep his head from out of the general concensus main stream.. whatever the crowd sway is.. that’s the way Craigie gonna blow the game… home team gets the nod in the 50/50 showdowns..
Bulls should never have gotten back in the game from 14 – 0 up.. Stormers started taking risks which almost cost them the game.. had the De Jongh off load not found a Bulls player and a Stormers player instead it could have been 21 – 0 instead of 14 – 10… at the time De Jongh and JdV burst through the midfield Stormers were 14 – 0 up and putting foot to the metal.. then the lucky breakaway try by Kirchner and the game swung around..
De Villiers MUST retain captaincy.. if they give it back to Schalk we are fck’d absolutely without a doubt.. had Burger captained tonight under a 17 – 17 hang ball game.. we would have lost.. no doubt about it.
31 Mar 2012, 21:42 pm
Jocky
I think stormers win at loftus too – they developing their winning mentality, this was a major step – if they had continued their hard-nosed intensity shown in 1st half stormers would’ve won easily but a lucky break against run of play and taking elstadt off changed it all and gave bulls confidence – but I believe a fit stormers pack can beat all other sa teams at present home and away – etsebeth huge again, can’t believe his age, also great strength for youngster.
31 Mar 2012, 21:44 pm
Hey!!! I’m stoked – only got the score now…Well done Boys…A job well done…
31 Mar 2012, 21:47 pm
@cab(cab)-305:
Yeah, and when Schalk comes back in 2 weeks time they will even be more hard nosed (sorry skoppie)
31 Mar 2012, 21:47 pm
methinks this thread could go on until the wee hours.
pity it’s the lions thread actually
31 Mar 2012, 21:48 pm
@cab(cab)-305:
No offense, but I think the Stormers collapsed completely from a mental perspective today.
To go from 14-0 to 17-17 – only to win it from a scrum penalty at the death, I would be concerned if I was the Stormers.
They looked like deer in headlights in the second half.
Anyway, I hate losing, but this is a long campaign so I’ll take this one on the chin. We’re only 4 points behind the Stormers and two thirds of the season still lies ahead.
31 Mar 2012, 21:49 pm
Stormers should have fck’d them up Holy.. they let Bulls back in the game early in second half and then true to style coaches started panicking.. and took our enforcer No.7 off….
Thankfully Bulls made an equally stupid substitution taking Hougaard off 9 and putting in Vermaak.. but Stormers got through in the end no thanks to the dumb f’ng coaches who dunno how to pull off a convincing win when they start panicking and pulling players they shouldn’t…
31 Mar 2012, 21:51 pm
A win is a win is a win… no whinging boys…
Well done to the S(h)arks and Cheaters too…
31 Mar 2012, 21:52 pm
@cab(cab)-305:
Ooofff, I dunno Cab. The Stormers come into a game with one plan, and that’s it. Win or lose it’s plan A. There is simply no plan B, no change of gear, no step up of intensity when needed, it’s the same game in the first 5 as it is the last.
The plan relies on the defence holding strong and the points scored in the early stages being enough to win the game against the inevitable comeback from the opposition in the latter stages. And that’s maybe enough to get you into the play offs, but it’s not going to win you the trophy as we’ve seen in the last couple of seasons.
Sure, they’re a good team. But good teams don’t win the S15, it’s great teams that do.
31 Mar 2012, 21:54 pm
Joubert got to learn to let it go a little more but he’s at least competent. If craigie such a hone town ref then why u so worried before a newlands game?
Big problem today is the stormers started getting soft again andcrwst on their laurels after an uncmpronisbg first half – this is where the stormers problem begins and ends – they already looking forward to the rewards and nearly slipt up – and this why burger is good CID he is the one stormer throughout their over-hyped decade who gives ALL for 80 mins whether winning or losing. Seem to be a few youngsters like that but 1 season does not a legend make.
31 Mar 2012, 21:55 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-309:
No offense taken. But it wasn’t a mental collapse, mentally the Stormers are strong. It was a tactical collapse as it has been for the last 3 seasons.
31 Mar 2012, 21:56 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-307: Schalk will FCK Stormers into the ground like he’s done every other year.. when you arseholes gonna learn the reality of the situation.. give captaincy back to Schalk and this team goes ball to the wall up the creek ONE more time.. just like every other time before…
Stormers must retain the starting team as they started tonight./. that was the perfect combination in every aspect.. Schalk can play off bench or better still not at all….
Vermeulen, Elstadt, Kolisi, Koster, Carr and only then Burger.. that is the better combination for the campaign..
Liebenberg is a bit of a problem.. Fourie a better scavenger but little lightweight.. But Stormers pack should start Kitshoff, Liebenberg, Harris, Etsebeth, Bekker, Kolisi, Elstadt, Vermeulen.. every single game.. Schalk will fck that cohesion and outright power game to hell.. he will also fck the back line to =HELL as he always does.. and the 9-10 combination that worked well tonight will go down the chute AGAIN. if you bring that f’ng overrated dunce back to captain and FCK up this team like he done every other year he has led them down the drain..
31 Mar 2012, 21:56 pm
@Tac, suck it up you pink tinged tattered twit
31 Mar 2012, 21:57 pm
Howzit Skop and Rob
31 Mar 2012, 21:58 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-310:
> and took our enforcer No.7 off….
‘n Enforcer lê nie en wag vir penalties soos ‘n sokkerspeler nie, dis ‘n lelike gewoonte wat julle ‘n paar jaar terug opgetel het, dit het begin met Aplon
Etzebeth is ‘n enforcer en ‘n regte hardeman, ons het hom in die lynstaan reguit afgetrek en hy’s opgestaan en die bal gespeel, hy’s nie ‘n pissie nie
31 Mar 2012, 21:59 pm
Well done Stormers. I thought this will be an easy win for the Bullies.
2nd half performances should be a concern for the Stormers.
Craig Joubert must have visited this site during the week and read all the comments about him. He redeemed himself, good job Craig.
Regarding the Lions game. Fck were they poor in that 2nd half. Kaplan didn’t help either. I counted the Saders prop in the 1 half put his hand on the ground during scrum time at least 6 times. That’s a penalty Kaplan, I promise.
Vrede stop writing about the Lions and give Gareth the keyboard. If you think injuries don’t effect a team you must be smoking something good/bad. Just with Lambie out and a few props the Sharks are up in arms and did you forget the Stormers flyhalf crisis last year? My guess it’s only a crisis when it suits some of you journals. Stop drinking tea with Zelim Nel because he will do you no favors.
31 Mar 2012, 22:01 pm
309 Tacitus
I think u are right to a large degree, but this was a huge mental shift, tge pressure was on the stormers to win to live up to their hype, and they managed to carry it off, however ugly it was, I believe this was how the bulls started their march upward. Tge bulls are still a good team with a winning mentality, but IMO the stormers are a better team currently developing that mentality. This ugly win moves them one step closer to a trophy, it’s not just 5 from 5 but beating the bulls with alot of expectation or hype to do so, which they’ve done and learnt lessons about not switching off against teams like bulls.
31 Mar 2012, 22:01 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-317:
Howzit man, long time.
How are things going? Still same profession and same” venue”?
Glad we got this win- nearly threw it away after building up the lead.
31 Mar 2012, 22:05 pm
What happened tonight was no mental collapse.. Stormers GUTSED it out in the end.. if Schalk was captain under those conditions I guarantee we would have lost..
What happened tonight is Stormers were so well in control they started taking risks.. little flip passes and flat out attack mode.. De Jongh should have rather gone to ground than flip it into no mans land .. if he’d found a Stormers player it would have been tickets for Bulls there and then.. it found Potgieter instead and 15 seconds later Kirchner got gifted a try other end… that is where Stormers started losing the plot.. instead of grinding it out with the control they had they started loosening up and going for the outright dizzy dazzle kill… even Habana tried running it out his 22 and then kicked a nothing clearance which found Bulls players at 30 mts which led to the 2nd Olivier try…
But in spite of Stormers capitulating the strangle hold they held over Bulls at 14-0 up they took Elstadt OFF.. that was the dumbest decision going… with Elstadt and Etsebeth and Kolisi and Vermeulen putting the hits in Bulls were on the rack..
They must retain this combo throughout.. if they play Elstadt at 7, and Vermeulen at 8 with Kolisi, Carr, Koster sharing bench or open side then we can actually win this competition this year…
Give the gap back to Burger to fck it all up again and start that stupendously stupid Burger dunce at first receiver again.. and we undo everything we have built so far…
31 Mar 2012, 22:06 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-304:
Jouberg missed a big one and had Hougaard scored it would have been criminal
Hougaard was standing nest to our flank on the other side of the DD in outr put in and then applied pressure in completely offside situation at the back of our scrum
Hsd Hougaard not knocked on it was 7 points and the win
31 Mar 2012, 22:07 pm
Pffft the stormers always switch off in the second half ‘nuf said.
31 Mar 2012, 22:08 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-315:
Yeah skoppie, as u know i am also not the biggest schalk fan but i think he can still make a contribution especially when the chips are down. I think just about every player in the world will rather play with him than against him.
I do however agree that he should not be the captain again, Jean must stay on for sure.
Your boykie P Grant was not bad today,he is and will never be the complete player but he impressed me today in a tight game.
31 Mar 2012, 22:09 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-322:
Yes I would have left Elstad on and Liebenberg
31 Mar 2012, 22:14 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-322:
One thing is for sure
Boks looking great at 2 and front row and also a list of young locks playing well
31 Mar 2012, 22:19 pm
@victoriabok(victoriabok)-318:
Hy’s ‘n harde breker, daai een. Van Hoërskool Tygerberg. Sy ooms is onder andere Cliffie en (die oorlede) Skattie Etzebeth.
Harde brekers, daardie hele familie.
Soos jy sê: Hy is nie ‘n pissie nie.
31 Mar 2012, 22:21 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-325:
seems some you people don’t know the dynamics of a winning combination.. a winning combination is as we started tonight… NOT with Burger wearing No.6 jersey and taking control of the game and the momentum.. because then we are FCK’D ..
De Villiers MUST retain captaincy.. but which coach will have Burger on at 6 and NOT get the captaincy armband… ?? so the solution to the conundrum is leave Burger OUT.. because he will destabilize the cohesive momentum that the team is building under JdV .. and what is worse he will get in the way of the 9 – 10 combination and stuff up the mid field momentum…
Peter Grant is a top rate fly half if played in the role he played tonight which has always been his strength.. with Pietersen at back to take the relieving kicks and the place kick duties.. Grant can play his natural game.. and manage the offensive gain line attack.. If PdV had NOT listened to John Smit who insisted he brought Butch into fly half in 2008 and played Grant at 10 and played the gain line attack game that Grant is very good at.. Boks would have had a FAR better return on the 4 years 2008 -2011 than they did…
31 Mar 2012, 22:34 pm
Don’t change winnnibg team, but when lose on tour burger will slot in and revitalise with rest and experience for big pressure playoffs – captaincy largely irrelevant – might as well pick gio aplon to captain won’t make any difference provided their pack is performing like it can do – elstadt got shocking hands but he can’t be left out. Burger and elstadt to stay away from ballcarrier is all
31 Mar 2012, 22:46 pm
Burger must stay the fck away from captaincy.. you who say captaincy is irrelevant dunno about a winning team.. captaincy is 50% of the cohesion…
if Burger comes back they will change the entire momentum built up over last 4-5 games… JdV leads this team with aplomb.. Burger fcks it up.. no two ways about it.. JdV is 1000% the better captain and must retain the leadership role because the entire team feeds off it.. not off Burger.. but off JdV’s cool and collected natural leadership head…
If Burger comes back he slots straight back into open side but he plays as a mid field roving link player like an 8th man… so he fcks up the synergy and cohesion even worse.. PLUS he fcks up the entire back line because then Grant’s natural mid field pivotal game is fckd to hell with Burger in the way….
Burger must stay away or slot in as a bit part contributor off bench or at No.7 NOT at open side and NOT as mid field ball carry captain.. else just like in the past we go all the way back down the f’ng drain…
31 Mar 2012, 22:58 pm
Yip burger might just lift the trophy yet
31 Mar 2012, 22:58 pm
burger for captain.
he is the man.
well done stormers btw.
31 Mar 2012, 23:07 pm
@cab(cab)-330:
Yip, Elstadt’s catching and passing is not at the level as one would expect from a loose forward at this level- imo he is a lock and should alternate with Bekker and Etsebeth- in Kolisi, Vermeulen, Burger, Koster and Carr the Stormers have more tham enough good loose forwards.
There are also some good players playing for the Vodacom team who should be taken on tour to MZ/Aus- I am especially referring to no 9 Nic Groom and no 13 JP du Plessis- the sooner these players get exposure at super 15 level the better l- to a lesser degree it is also applicable on Quin Roux (lock) and Kalkakillis (no 10) – its a long comp, and the top playerswill have to be fit and fresh going into the play – offs (if the team makes it).
JP du Plessis might even at this stage be better than Sadie and de Jongh – keep an eye on him.
31 Mar 2012, 23:17 pm
Burger for captain.
31 Mar 2012, 23:18 pm
Burger’s not a captains arse as he showed in all the crunch games he lost so far.. plus he is the worst ball carrier we got and the worst mid field first receiver who slows the entire game to a halt…
Elstadt is the biggest enforcer No.7 in the country even more bust a gut than Alberts and that’s saying something.. Elstadt can become the next Juan Smith.. tonight he started for the first time in how many months since last year?? so his hand / eye coordination and cohesion might be a little rusty .. and with Elstadt, Vermeulen and Kolisi on the Park alongside Etsebeth and Bekker. Bulls didn’t stand a chance in the showdown stakes… the only enforcer that Bulls could compete with was their prop Greyling and their No.5 Kruger .. the rest.. Spies, Stander, Potgieter were simply out gunned by Stormers total full strength enforcing brutality..
Keep Burger away.. you who got fucked up star gazing hero worship fcking up your eyesight same way as you eulogized about John Smit and FdP.. dunno what a winning combo is … Burger has only LOST the Stormers their opportunities in the past.. and this year will be no different.. give Stormers captaincy back to Burger and we are stuffed.. how much you wanna bet me ?
31 Mar 2012, 23:18 pm
Robzim
yep he knocks on alot but also some massive collisions he involved in, but just think u got him, etsebeth, bekker all in same pack and the tightloose intensity goes thru the roof.
That’s interesting on those other players – stormers going through a purple patch tho province always had massive natural talent. You right that grant limited with kicking but takes tge ball up nicely into gainline – they got to start bringing this flair in, it will come as pack becomes even more dominant.
31 Mar 2012, 23:19 pm
******* Sharkievarkies calling for Burger as captain.. go fck your own team up the arse.. we don’t need your fckd up stupendous stupidity fcking up ours…
31 Mar 2012, 23:21 pm
Lol, Skop. I love you. I really do.
31 Mar 2012, 23:23 pm
Oh the mighty Burger, the burger, the burger.
IRB player of the year, RWC champ – can he walk on water?
31 Mar 2012, 23:28 pm
@cab(cab)-341: 5 years ago … and you still titillating ululating like a horny fckng queen over the has been..
31 Mar 2012, 23:34 pm
Ululalaileee Yohooo
he’s still class – just no more ball carrying at flyhalf, must be a saffa thing, creeping into bismarcks play too, phil learns who was a great hooker ballcarrier wondered what position Bismarck was playing today – these are both great players but they must stay out of the backline
31 Mar 2012, 23:38 pm
But lets have a reality check.
The Stormers have played 4 of their 5 games at home. Their 1 away game was against the easy beat Lions.
Perspective. You’d expect them to win at home and against the Lions away.
31 Mar 2012, 23:38 pm
You want to get over the adv line, you pick alberts, no-one else comes close. Elstadt is capable of massive hits and very aggro but he does not have tge sheer power momentum and body positioning of the runaway train that is willem alberts – just like the great Aussie willy O – the problem for the boks is how to fit all these buggers into the same team.
31 Mar 2012, 23:42 pm
@cab(cab)-345: Alberts is not human.
31 Mar 2012, 23:47 pm
easy peasy you play Alberts at 8 and Elstadt at 7,
at 6 you got a choice between Brussow and Minnie or Kolisi, at a far away push Daniel or Stegman or Coetsee at 6.. sorry no place for Burger in the pure dynamic dream Bok team
Pack goes like this
Greyling, Bismark, Malherbe, Etsebeth, Kruger, Brussow, Elstadt, Alberts
Oosthuizen, Chili, Bekker, Spies / Vermeulen.(depending opposition and conditions)
31 Mar 2012, 23:47 pm
Yip alberts and bismarck basically transform the sharks.
Elstadt tho is a fkn crazy mullett pure and simple – he cleaned so many rucks in the first 40 mind today – just stepped thru and into everything – quite funny to watch. Why they substituted him is beyond ne unless he was totally buggered, but he’s still young, can’t be it, **** decision
31 Mar 2012, 23:51 pm
janee that is a helluva side with bekker over kruger
31 Mar 2012, 23:54 pm
I go with beast and cilliers as props, for the sheer athletic intensity they capable of on our hader fields, but it is England so maybe the behemoths a good selection.
31 Mar 2012, 23:58 pm
Elstadt was just coming back from a long lay off and when he gave away the 3 pointer in front the poles the coaches panicked and yaked him off.. but with Elstadt and Etsebeth and Vermeulen in the same side.. there isn’t another team on the planet that could stand up to that pure enforcing krag… I hope the dumb coaches realize what their best starting combo is because today was IT..
if Stormers continue with that combo of Vermeulen, Elstadt, Kolisi at back, Koster off bench and Etsebeth, Bekker 2nd row and Kitschoff, Liebenberg / Fourie, Harris / Malherbe up front.. we can actually come away with a decent tour and hit the home stretch running..
Elstadt MUST get given more game time at 7.. that is where he will excel , Bekker, Etsebeth and Steenkamp to retain 2nd row berth and Carr, Koster to fight it out for the loosie bench spot.
1 Apr 2012, 00:01 am
Cilliers or Malherbe at 3
No 1 is Greyling, Oosthuizen, Steenkamp, Beast, Kitschoff .. in that order
Jannie Dup don’t feature because Oosthuizen can play 1 or 3 off bench
1 Apr 2012, 00:03 am
Jannie Du Plessis has lost his mojo (if he ever had it).
1 Apr 2012, 00:04 am
Agree with fuckadilly.
Cilliers has been superb in a doedpoes team.
Far more dynamic than Jannie Dup.
1 Apr 2012, 00:10 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-76: I still need convincing on Malherbe. He needs play a 80 min game to impress me. Now he is getting 20 minutes against a bloke who is giving is carrots for 60 min already. If he can hold his own for 60 min + I will take notice.
Pat has been brilliant this season…. actually he started preforming at the end of the CC last year. Mitch is getting the best out of him.
That Calib from the Lions also looks promising, but too early to call.
1 Apr 2012, 00:11 am
@Tuna(Tuna)-355: oops wrong thread
1 Apr 2012, 00:58 am
RYAN VREDE
Writes “Expect Mitchell to point once more to his injury list and speak of this loss as a lesson. Bullshit. He needs to be accountable for what promises to be yet another disastrous Super Rugby campaign under his watch. “ and may I ask how many teams have you coached?
There is nothing wrong with the game plan. Anybody who says that should in my humble opinion stick to commentary on Jukskei. It was good enough to clinch the Currie Cup and get rid of the Stormers and Sharks. The Reds ,the reigning Champions are ravaged by injuries, and have suffered a number of humiliating defeats. Are you now ready to write of their coach and game plan?
The Lions are lacking in experienced talented players and against the Stormers 11 of the winning Currie Cup team were out of action. Sorry to say but even Butch James the only Bok reverted to aimless kicking. The back line looked disjointed. You cannot blame the coach if players do not stick to the game plan that served them well in the Currie Cup.
The Cheetahs have shown the benefit of fielding unchanged teams and were able to turn a huge deficit into a well earned victory. The Lions and coaching staff can only pray for speedy recovery of their more experienced players and can brace themselves for a tough match against the Cheetahs full of confidence after their comeback against the Hurricanes
1 Apr 2012, 13:55 pm
@Brentie1, moan moan moan. The lions are k@k and are being shown up in superugby. Once again last on the log and the coke tin had about 5k attending. Wtf? bring on the Kings!
1 Apr 2012, 14:05 pm
i went to coke park last night to watch the crusaders for the first time. its clear they were saving themselves for next week vs the bulls (i’ll be there too!). a few things popped into my mind while i was sitting at coke park. firstly, the lions don’t have a single international quality player (in yesterday’s 22). butch james’ international career has to be over. he’s lost the limited athletic ability that he had in the first place. and he missed a sitter to get them a BP at the death. unlike PDV, heyneke won’t be swayed by “senior” players into picking him. secondly the lions have taken their fate into their own hands by deciding to not relocate matches to Soweto. a match against the seven time champions on a month end weekend led to a stadium that was only one fifth full at best. if they are the union that’s left out of super rugby for the kings, i say so be it. where the lions play is in the middle of one of the seediest inner city neighbourhoods in south africa.
in terms of their style of play, it was no surprise to see the grubber kick try of sean maitland. i saw the exact same move being practiced in the pre-match warm up. and surprisingly for a SA team, the lions lacked physicality at the breakdown. the crusaders, for all their fluidity, resort to old school (almost) roughness whenever they are under defensive pressure at ruck time. on attack they make it a point to have the openside wing stand on the touchline, and also ensure that they have almost equal numbers of players either side of the ruck (where practical). all in all, it seems the lions are a team of the past (mostly because of their own actions on and off the field).
1 Apr 2012, 14:13 pm
“brainless”
actually, only the cerebral cortex is removed during the neurological procedure known as the ‘lobotomy’
1 Apr 2012, 14:38 pm
amazing! professional rugby might disappear from SA’s biggest city. johannesburg will not be unique though. los angeles surprisingly does not have an NFL team.
1 Apr 2012, 14:42 pm
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-360:
Speaking of brainless.
Did your mommy point you in the direction of wikipedia? She must be so proud of you.
1 Apr 2012, 14:43 pm
@viewer(viewer)-361:
Loftus could be an option next weekend. Tickets should be easily attainable. They usually are after a Bulls loss.
1 Apr 2012, 18:05 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-299:
Why do you want to know? Are you going to meet them all outside in the parking lot?
1 Apr 2012, 20:28 pm
Slappes posted the following ‘slappes’ (weakest) comment.
@Brentie1, moan moan moan. The lions are k@k and are being shown up in superugby. Once again last on the log and the coke tin had about 5k attending. Wtf? bring on the Kings!
The KIngs you say. Last time I heard the Lions gave them a 88 to
something hiding!!
1 Apr 2012, 20:45 pm
@Brentie1, that doesnt matter because Saru made that decision, lions to be relegated and Kings to replace them. Explain to us why ellis park is empty, why for the past 10yrs are the lions the bottom feeders? Moan moan moan
2 Apr 2012, 08:15 am
366.Slappes: writes
1 Apr 2012, 20:45 pm
@Brentie1, that doesnt matter because Saru made that decision, lions to be relegated and Kings to replace them. Explain to us why ellis park is empty, why for the past 10yrs are the lions the bottom feeders? Moan moan moan
Are you serious? I see I forget to tell you that that something by which the Kings lost, was 0, nothing, and you want to replace the Lions?
I looks that SARU and you are scatter brained and forget that one of SAZAR requirement is that participants, RSA,NZ, AUS has to field the best available teams. SARU is all ready placing pressure on Heyneke Meyer to transform the Springbok team, forgetting that test rugby is not the place to experiment. Dream on man. Have you ever been to Ellis Park? It has a seating capacity of 62000.
The average crowd watching Super rugby is between 12 and 15000 so the stadium will still appear empty even with 25000 watching.
2 Apr 2012, 09:38 am
Congratulations Stormers! Deserved winners! Wish I could drug Etsbeth and make him sign for the Sharks
2 Apr 2012, 10:00 am
@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-368:
clicked on wrong thread sorry lions