Bash’s boot saves Stormers

JON CARDINELLI watched Peter Grant nail a 76th minute penalty to give the Stormers a 20-17 victory against a plucky Bulls outfit at Newlands.

He’s already done it once the season, stepping up to sink a touchline penalty in the dying moments of the match against the Sharks. It may not have been the most difficult kick on this occasion, but considering what it represented in the context of a crunch game and possibly the context of the Stormers’ season, Grant’s contribution shouldn’t be underestimated.

He showed terrific temperament under pressure, and so the Stormers managed to win a match that they deserved to win, but so very nearly conspired to throw away.

With regular goal-kicker Joe Pietersen off the field at that point, it was left to Grant to win this game for the Stormers. His strike was true and greeted with a deafening roar from the Newlands faithful, who recognised the significance of the penalty.

It meant the end of a valiant Bulls challenge, as they had rallied back from a 14-0 deficit to level the scores 17-17 in the dying stages. Grant’s penalty also meant the Stormers maintained their unbeaten record, and ensured that they will travel to Australasia with winning momentum.

But coach Allister Coetzee will admit that there is still much to do in the coming weeks. The ability to control a match for 80 minutes still eludes the Cape franchise, and they are yet to show the killer instinct typical of champion teams.

Their pack continues to impress with each outing, and looked to have set the platform for a comfortable win in the first half. Through their lineout dominance and relentless aggression at the point of contact, the Cape heavies manhandled their Bulls counterparts.

Their intent was apparent from the outset, as Nos 1 through 8 got in the faces of the visitors. They clattered into the collisions at terminal velocity, and yet showed more accuracy than the Bulls at the breakdown.

The pressure applied by the Stormers forwards impacted on the Bulls’ halfbacks, and so Francois Hougaard and Morné Steyn struggled to follow through with the usual kicking game. Steyn’s limitations were again highlighted as his pack battled for go-forward ball. He didn’t kick out of hand with the typical accuracy and authority, and missed two shots at goal.

At one stage the Stormers looked to be cruising to an emphatic win. They finally translated their forward dominance into a clinical try at the end of the first half, and at 14-0, held a comfortable lead. It went from bad to worse for the Bulls when their poor discipline eventually cost them as Flip van der Merwe was sin-binned early in the second stanza.

But it was here that the Bulls showed their class and experience, and where the Stormers were guilty of a lapse in concentration. The Bulls rallied strongly, striking against the run of play with a Bjorn Basson try and a further Steyn penalty. They scored 10 points while Van der Merwe was off the park, while the Stormers managed zero.

A Pietersen penalty kept the Bulls at arm’s length, but the momentum had swung in the visitor’s favour. Wynand Olivier flew in at the right-hand corner and Steyn converted from the touchline to level the scores. It was in this pressure situation where the Bulls seemed better equipped to win, having done so in many tight games over the years.

But the Stormers were not to be denied. While a lapse of concentration had cost them early in the second half, it was composure that pulled them through for a massive win. They played themselves into a good field position, and a powerful scrum earned them a kickable penalty.

Grant obliged with the goal, but it was a team effort that ensured they finished on the right side of the scoreline. They controlled possession and territory in the dying stages, and when the final whistle sounded, they duly celebrated as if they had achieved more than just another league win.

It wasn’t a complete performance by the Stormers, but they will draw confidence from another aggressive forward showing as well as the composure shown at the death. It bodes well for matches against the Reds and Crusaders in Australasia, although they will know that nothing less than a consistent showing Down Under will keep their unbeaten record intact.

240 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All

• 201.Transformation: Reply to this comment

cheers gunther my rugby student.

your rugby lesson will continue another time.

Show more enthusiasm next time

• 202.Transformation: Reply to this comment

lmao @ Men’s Health :mrgreen:

have you even seen the said photo because you retorts make me doubt.

There you are, that’s your assignment for the night, get the paper & cutout the photo & bring it to school so we can do analysis for you. :D

good boy.

• 203.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

kick

chase

kick

chase

kick

chase

kick

chase

kick

chase

kick

chase

kick

chase

- Fulltime whistle -

yet another thrilling Yappie derby

• 204.whatever: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-203:

doos
    doos
    doos
    doos
    doos
    doos
    doos
    doos
    doos
    doos
    doos
    doos
    doos

Yet another jelous pommie prick who does not realise he is actualy a doos

• 205.niknaks: Reply to this comment

Proof that you didn’t even watch the game – joker!! I see you were laying low when the other “Yappie” teams were busy winning. That’s OK though, we know you were probably having another flashback about what happened to your mother…

• 206.whatever: Reply to this comment

If you don’t like Saffa rugby, don’t watch it you thick doos. You really must be brain dead?

• 207.niknaks: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-206:

Give the guy a break. When he was a kid he walked in on his mother being given the anal love sausage by a large South African. He hasn’t been the same since. In fact, he can’t even walk past a boerie roll stand without having convulsions. To make matters worse, it’s the only time he ever saw his mom happy…

• 208.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

Yappieball = rugby for lobotomy patients.

• 209.whatever: Reply to this comment

@niknaks(niknaks)-207:

• 210.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

1 minute Im a Pom

Next minute Im a Kiwi

Then an Aussie.

Ive even been called a Yappie

next Im a Panty/ET/Langers/Poepel/Panther/Poppa/Capo

yet

Im none of these

cant pigeonhole, cant thunk.

• 211.niknaks: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-210:

Doesn’t matter what you are bud, you still have our sympathy.

One day you’ll work out who you were more jealous of, your mother or the yarpie boning her. Perhaps you’ll achieve some kind of closure then…

• 212.whatever: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-210:

It would appear that PrickBoks …with a capital “Going” South is a pommie, or so he says

Does not really matter, both doos’s of the highest order…………..

• 213.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

‘sympathy’ from a Yappie is like a pencil without its lead

pointless.

• 214.niknaks: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-213:

But you have it none the less. For someone with neither class nor country, you should take it wherever you can get it. Like your dear mum did…

• 215.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

“for someone with neither class nor country”

says the migrant Yappie who reverts to @nal procreation as his default comment.

we’ll put this self-fulfilling description down to the lobotomy.

cant pigeonhole, cant thunk.

• 216.whatever: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-215:

Ok big hero, what is your so called original nationality and where do you now live?

Or or you too sh it scared to tell the truth and prefer to hide behind the keyboard?

My guess is you will wimpout and not come clean……….. faaking coward doos dingbat!

• 217.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

is this so you can thunk again ?

‘dingbat’ ?!

seriously, isnt that playground taunts for pre-schoolers

so we have 2 migrant Yappies, fixated with @nal procreation, using Tough Talk for Toddlers.

Youre doing my job for me. Thunk you.

• 218.niknaks: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-215:

You’re just blabbering now. And we can’t help it that your mum likes it like that…

No class
    No country
    No balls

• 219.niknaks: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-217:

The only fixation here is your hatred of South Africans, which obviously runs pretty deep given your penchant for trolling South African rugby sites so that you can hurl insults. The sad one here is you my friend. Go out, find a life, be somebody…

• 220.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

2 whinging Yappies

both fled their beloved homeland

both fixated with @nal ***

hmmmmm.

its not ‘SA rugby sites’ youre trawling

is it.

• 221.niknaks: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-220:

Flinging insults at peoples’ nationality, then not having the guts to tell anyone where he’s from. Sad.

You’re like the little kid who hurls insults from behind the safety of a fence. Sad and lonely.

By the way, the correct spelling is “whingeing” and “think”. Just saying.

• 222.whatever: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-220:

hehehe, as I thought……….. no balls, runs in the family I guess?

Just the reason your mother went looking for a Saffa to shag………

• 223.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

anal procreation has clearly produced endless generations of whinging Yappies who can’t thunk outside of their own (pigeon)holes.

Lo’bottom’y surgeons doing a roaring trade in Yappieland.

• 224.niknaks: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-223:

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• 225.PrickBoks GoingSouth: Reply to this comment

I note the big pretender has had a busy time in my absence, he is showing the same low intelligence than most on here so I have to conclude he is one of your lowlife Yappie scum! Hope that settles it once and for all…

By the way, hilarious to see the infighting amongst you lot, trying to work out who between two local teams got cheated the most…yap, yap, yapping just like the inbreded lot you are.

PS Anyone know how I can get hold of that Coonie fellow from the Cheetahs? Just can’t stop thinking about him…

• 226.Sydney Shark: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-172: Don’t get too cocky boet. Sharks still got a long road ahead. A lot of problems to fix in this team. Our ball skills are shocking and with Michalak still playing for us he is chocking the backline. Ball skills are just appalling and inexcusable for a wealthy provincial side like the Sharks. Not impressed with Plumtree as a coach. He has delivered very little in the 4 years he’s been around. We will do well to beat the Canes next week. The Cheetahs were absolutely ferocious and shocked the kak out of them playing at break neck speeds. The speed we play at is nowhere near as fast as the Cheetahs. If they can fix their defensive patterns and stop leaking tries the Cheetahs will become one bladdy dangerous team!!!

Sharks on the other hand look like they’re stuck on a treadmill. Should’ve never been such a close finish against the Brumbies. Poor defence is killing us at the moment. Its about time Plum brought in the youngsters with speed and dynamism like Sithole and Jordaan. Whitehead is starting to make a difference in the midfield. We need to keep him there. Saw very little of JPP on Saturday’s game. Perhaps he is better off moving to 14 with Sithole on the bench and a midfield combo of Whitehead and Jordaan. The Canes have got tons of pace in their backline so we need to counter that by doing the same. At least Mvovo is in great form at the moment. Right now the biggest problem with the Sharks is the over-the-hill Frog and McCleod’s inaccuracy. If we are to have any hope of making it to the qualifiers we need to be coming away with at least 8 points from the next two games.

• 227.Scatman1968: Reply to this comment

PrickBoks going South obviously a Kiwi with so much hate and venom against South Africans. Kiwis never got over 1995.Dont you think it’s about time to move on. Suzy is a myth. You’re obvious hate is blinding you mate

• 228.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

Bulls were lucky to get in this game at all, the lucky intercept by Hougards is all that saved the bulls from being totally outplayed.

Anyway the following man-on-man face off scores are as followes:

Bekker vs. Kruger – Both played good rugby, but Kruger gave away too much penalties, if not for the well timed pass that allowed his teammate Olivier to score than Kruger would have been the loser, but as it stands I still think they are both 50/50 with Bekker having a slight edge because of height and athletisism.

Etzebeth vs. Flip – The young enforcer from the Cape is the clear winner in this encounter and flip will have make a huge improvement to catch up.

Elstadt vs. Potgieter – Potgieter was nowhere and Elstadt was also lacking, Meyer will have too look elsewhere for his no7.

Vermeulen vs. Spies – Spies had a good open game but once again failed in the tight, I would say about 50/50 as they are too very different no8′s, but Spies has great speed and more test experience which would give him the nudge ahead of the brute from the Free State.

De Villiers vs. Olivier – Meisiekind scored an easy try, but was otherwise dominated by the more talented De Villiers, but I think not one of these two would be Meyer’s #1 choice, but I doubt Olivier will even be part of the bok setup while JDV might be second choice behind Frans Steyn.

JDJ vs. Sadie – JDJ was the superior player in this matchup with great attacking runs which kept the bulls back line on the back foot. Sadie was very weak on defence and weaker on attack. JDJ is streets ahead.

Pieterson vs. Bozo (Kirchner) – Bozo was the better FB on the day, showed speed and good play all round, has really improved.

Habana vs. Ndungane – Habana was top dog in this encounter, Ndungane did not feature.

Aplon vs. Basson – Basson would have won this round, due to the great kick chasing, but that was all.

• 229.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-222: Don’t feed the trolls.

• 230.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@Scatman1968(Scatman1968)-227:

“obviously a Kiwi” ?!?

I dont give a sh*t about whatever “happened in 1995″. What I do know is how the Yappies reacted to being losers in 2011, blaming the ref for their own ineptitude.

Yappieland never has produced too many great thunkers, have they. So bereft are the whinging Yappies of original thought, that they feel inclined to mimic others in their desperation for referred glory

@PrickBoks GoingSouth(PrickBoks GoingSouth)-225:

dont they.

yap yap yap go the whinging Yappies. Thunk again.

• 231.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-230: I’m a Sheepshagger…
    a sheepshagger…
    a sheepshagger
    ’til I die…

Baaa-aaaa-ahhhhh…

• 232.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Sydney Shark(JayDaFiveOh)-226: Cocky is not what it is…

Its called a positive slant on where the Sharks are…

A different view to the general negativity from many Sharks fans at the moment…

The Negatives:
    - Sharks have lost 50% of their games
    - Sharks tend to “let it go” in the last 20 mins
    - Lineouts are not dominant
    - Sharks are inconsistent and a little bit “French” – up and down.

The Positives:
    - Sharks have the most enterprising backline of all SA sides, and one of the best in the comp.
    - Sharks are scoring excellent tries
    - Sharks have started slowly, and I believe this is linked to conditioning specifically for a long S15 this year.
    - Losses particularly against Stormers and Tahs, have been close and very unlucky.
    - Sharks have 7 points so far on tour.
    - Sharks are due some returning players which will add to depth and a pretty formidable bench.

I guarantee you the Sharks will be in the knockouts. They are place perfectly, similar to the Saders. I actually wouldnt be surprised if Plum and co haven’t taken a leaf out of the Saders competition trajectory book this year.

• 233.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-231:

well its a refreshing change to see someone so open about their fetishes. Presumably youre from Capetown.

• 234.Shark: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-233:

Presumably you didn’t finish your schooling. ‘Youre’ is spelt you’re.

• 235.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-233: As refreshing as Dolly being so open and receptive to you…?

Baaa-aaaa-aaaah…. :lol:

• 236.Shark: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks GoingSouth(PrickBoks GoingSouth)-225:

…inbreded….? What is that? This tool is an Islander. Can’t speak the Queens english but can speak kitchen english.

• 237.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@Shark(Predawn)-234:

this is now the 3rd time, at least, that youve made this comment (note “youve” – because I dont give sh*t – see ?).

Youre either seriously thick, or youve convinced yourself this matters on a blog.

which is it ?

are you a sheepfucker like Heavens Gameforit ?

• 238.Shark: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-237:

You “don’t give sh*it” or don’t give A sh*it?

Why is english so hard for you doodums?

• 239.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

@Shark(Predawn)-238:

doodums ?

doodums ?!

and to think that youve made keynote speeches out apostrophes

wow, so this is what a Yappie intellectual heavyweight sounds like.

my dog needs a pet and I think I have a collar that might just fit you.

• 240.Shark: Reply to this comment

“..out apostrophes..” I can’t respond to you unless you decide to speak english.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.