Bash’s boot saves Stormers
31 Mar 2012
JON CARDINELLI watched Peter Grant nail a 76th minute penalty to give the Stormers a 20-17 victory against a plucky Bulls outfit at Newlands.
He’s already done it once the season, stepping up to sink a touchline penalty in the dying moments of the match against the Sharks. It may not have been the most difficult kick on this occasion, but considering what it represented in the context of a crunch game and possibly the context of the Stormers’ season, Grant’s contribution shouldn’t be underestimated.
He showed terrific temperament under pressure, and so the Stormers managed to win a match that they deserved to win, but so very nearly conspired to throw away.
With regular goal-kicker Joe Pietersen off the field at that point, it was left to Grant to win this game for the Stormers. His strike was true and greeted with a deafening roar from the Newlands faithful, who recognised the significance of the penalty.
It meant the end of a valiant Bulls challenge, as they had rallied back from a 14-0 deficit to level the scores 17-17 in the dying stages. Grant’s penalty also meant the Stormers maintained their unbeaten record, and ensured that they will travel to Australasia with winning momentum.
But coach Allister Coetzee will admit that there is still much to do in the coming weeks. The ability to control a match for 80 minutes still eludes the Cape franchise, and they are yet to show the killer instinct typical of champion teams.
Their pack continues to impress with each outing, and looked to have set the platform for a comfortable win in the first half. Through their lineout dominance and relentless aggression at the point of contact, the Cape heavies manhandled their Bulls counterparts.
Their intent was apparent from the outset, as Nos 1 through 8 got in the faces of the visitors. They clattered into the collisions at terminal velocity, and yet showed more accuracy than the Bulls at the breakdown.
The pressure applied by the Stormers forwards impacted on the Bulls’ halfbacks, and so Francois Hougaard and Morné Steyn struggled to follow through with the usual kicking game. Steyn’s limitations were again highlighted as his pack battled for go-forward ball. He didn’t kick out of hand with the typical accuracy and authority, and missed two shots at goal.
At one stage the Stormers looked to be cruising to an emphatic win. They finally translated their forward dominance into a clinical try at the end of the first half, and at 14-0, held a comfortable lead. It went from bad to worse for the Bulls when their poor discipline eventually cost them as Flip van der Merwe was sin-binned early in the second stanza.
But it was here that the Bulls showed their class and experience, and where the Stormers were guilty of a lapse in concentration. The Bulls rallied strongly, striking against the run of play with a Bjorn Basson try and a further Steyn penalty. They scored 10 points while Van der Merwe was off the park, while the Stormers managed zero.
A Pietersen penalty kept the Bulls at arm’s length, but the momentum had swung in the visitor’s favour. Wynand Olivier flew in at the right-hand corner and Steyn converted from the touchline to level the scores. It was in this pressure situation where the Bulls seemed better equipped to win, having done so in many tight games over the years.
But the Stormers were not to be denied. While a lapse of concentration had cost them early in the second half, it was composure that pulled them through for a massive win. They played themselves into a good field position, and a powerful scrum earned them a kickable penalty.
Grant obliged with the goal, but it was a team effort that ensured they finished on the right side of the scoreline. They controlled possession and territory in the dying stages, and when the final whistle sounded, they duly celebrated as if they had achieved more than just another league win.
It wasn’t a complete performance by the Stormers, but they will draw confidence from another aggressive forward showing as well as the composure shown at the death. It bodes well for matches against the Reds and Crusaders in Australasia, although they will know that nothing less than a consistent showing Down Under will keep their unbeaten record intact.

240 Comments
31 Mar 2012, 18:40 pm
come on my pink dragons!
31 Mar 2012, 18:48 pm
Sharks!
31 Mar 2012, 18:51 pm
errr..
31 Mar 2012, 18:51 pm
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-1:
I’ll bet Wynand just rocks that little pink number.
31 Mar 2012, 18:56 pm
and as the yanks say, get ready to RUMBLE….
31 Mar 2012, 19:01 pm
Looking at the log I believe a Bulls victory will best suit the Sharks. Although a low scoring draw will be very naaice.
31 Mar 2012, 19:01 pm
Should be easy for Stormers.
The biggest (only) concern is Craig (17%) Joubert.
Otherwise it is a walk in the park.
31 Mar 2012, 19:02 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-7:
Rob that is almost at “Sharks should easily win the SA conference” proportions.
31 Mar 2012, 19:03 pm
Jissus how’s that snaakse white tie and black shirt combo sported by Ludeke.
31 Mar 2012, 19:04 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-7:
Come on Rob, not a good look.
31 Mar 2012, 19:05 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-6:
Does not really matter for the Sharks.
They are number 3 in SA- Bulls and Stormers are the real deal – so u can take it easy, – no need to stress for you.
31 Mar 2012, 19:07 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-11: Lol Rob. Stormers are the recent and perhaps temporary addition to the elite SA teams. Enjoy the good run whilst it lasts, you never know when the bad (normal) times will return for you guys
Good luck to your team this evening. May the best team win!
31 Mar 2012, 19:07 pm
Let’s get the moans about the ref in aerly boys.
Just in case.
31 Mar 2012, 19:08 pm
Hahahahahahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaa
31 Mar 2012, 19:09 pm
Pink shorts and pink socks too
Go Gio my homeboy….
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-8:
@Mr Black(Mr Black)-10: \
What bothers me is that the Stormers had since 2007 an average of 60% winning rate under ALL referees in Super rugby but when Joubert was in charge , only a 17% winning rate ?
The 17% is a complete outlier (exceptionally small) in the data set comprising the percentages of all refs who have officiated in 5 or more Stormer matches) – the 2 refs who come closest to him are Stuart Dickenson and Bryce Lawrence and their average for Stormers games are 50% ( and u know us saffers think these 2 refs are kak)
Taking this cold hard FACTS into consideration, i am farkin concerned. Hope u understand and do not think i am negative bout this match.
31 Mar 2012, 19:10 pm
what is zane doing??!
31 Mar 2012, 19:11 pm
I’ve refrained from joking about the Bulls pink strip as I still remember the embarrassment of the Stormers adopting pink shirts to go with their blazers as a fashion statement. Stormers TV had a feature on it that almost turned me into a Bulls supporter in shame.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-12:
Thanks man.
I’m waiting for Craig to blow one up for Pink hands in the ruck.
Time to increase the whisky dosage.
@Robzim(Robzim)-17:
Cool, hope he blows fair,
31 Mar 2012, 19:12 pm
I actually quite like the jacaranda flower inspiration behind the colour. It’s very Pretoria.
Joubert is a purse.
that was actually very nice of the organisers…well done!
Farken hell the pink varkies! They look like a bunch of voortrekker drag queens.
31 Mar 2012, 19:13 pm
They should do the clapping thing because the silence it not that well observed
lmao took precisely 2 minutes…
Revolting colour and appearance
Liebenberg jou doos
31 Mar 2012, 19:14 pm
Yeeeehahhhh, watch out for the handbag Tiaan
Liebenberg is a tjop.
The pink shorts a bit over the top.
Tiaan….. what a d00s.
Give him his handbag back.
31 Mar 2012, 21:41 pm
Congrats Stormers!!! Was at a graduation so missed the whole game… Will have to watch the highlights…
31 Mar 2012, 21:44 pm
So this thread working again.. where’s Keohane the two face yellow back turncoat backing a Tswane Team while his kiddies go to SACS
where all the rest of the 314 Bully breker supporters who were so convinced Bulls were gonna down the Stormers tonight… where they all hiding out?
31 Mar 2012, 21:50 pm
If you win with one point , a win is a win ! Keo , sorry mate you been wrong this time round. The team who wants to win will win the game. Eenvoudige voorbeeeld , die cheetha’s het gewys as jy kan jy wen maak nie saak teen wie jy speel nie. Take my head off for them , they played a blinder. Lions also went all the way even if they haven’t won it but they stand tall agains the ones mighty Chrusaders. Sharks also went out there to win and they did it. Never say vever ! this year we in for some surpises. Watch out for the Cheetha’s when they come back home. Stormers still have to go a long way. I hope we can pull off a surprise but hard work forward. Youngsters are doing ok so far and i am sure we will win a couple of games away from home. Still a long super 15 ahead.
31 Mar 2012, 21:50 pm
Great match. Bok rugby looks powerful. Add the Sharks and we have such a terrific pool of talent & experience. Cannot wait for the series vs Eng. The Boks will crush them if playing with tonight`s physicality.
31 Mar 2012, 21:56 pm
Interesting take on it, JC.
So if Joubert had awarded the final scrum penalty correctly, and the game ended in a draw, would you still be claiming that the Stormers “kept their composure” in the end?
31 Mar 2012, 22:00 pm
Well done stormers
Did anyone see where Hougaard was standing at the scrum where he nearly scored but knocked on?
He was standing on the other side of Duvenaghe next to our flank clearly offsides Even before the ball was put in. Poor reffing
31 Mar 2012, 22:00 pm
To think we could select this Bok 22…
15. Francois Steyn.
14. Gio Aplon.
13. J.P. Pieterson.
12. Jean De Villiers.
11. Bryan Habana.
10. Johan Goosen.
9. Francois Hougaard.
8. Pierre Spies.
7. Schalk Burger (c).
6. Heinrich Brussow.
5. Andries Bekker.
4. Johan Etsebeth.
3. C.J. Van Der Linde.
2. Bismark Du Plessis.
1. Coenie Oosthuizen.
16. Dean Greyling.
17. Adriaan Strauss.
18. Juandre Kruger.
19. Willem Alberts.
20. Duane Vermuelen.
21. Sarel Pretorious.
22. Juan De Jongh.
31 Mar 2012, 22:01 pm
Lets see Keo come on here and eat his words!
31 Mar 2012, 22:01 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-25:
I thought the pink kit was only for the Oz/Nz away games?
31 Mar 2012, 22:03 pm
@daydreamer(daydreamer)-41:
To nail a guy for picking the wrong winner in a game that is decided by a scrum penalty at the death – and a dodgy call at that – is a bit unreasonable, don’t you think.
This game could have gone either way, and it would have been as unfair for Keo to gloat if the Bulls had gotten that last penalty, as it is for you to gloat now. Because it was that close.
31 Mar 2012, 22:05 pm
Well done Stormers! To the “Pink Ladies” great comeback.
31 Mar 2012, 22:07 pm
The Sadie hype train is going nowhere atm.
31 Mar 2012, 22:09 pm
@Tuna(Tuna)-45:
True. I’m concerned about his mental state. He’s out of it at the moment, with Engelbrecht outperforming him regularly.
31 Mar 2012, 22:10 pm
Jeez those jerseys are really worse than I first thought…
31 Mar 2012, 22:10 pm
My take on the game:
-Stormers deserved to win and well done
-Peter Grant is not good enough
-Brock harris cannot scrum, not up to super rugby standard
-Etzebeth will be a Bok this year
-Joubert was clearly feeling the pressure from stormers fan that’s reason he gave the last penalty
-Sadie is all hype, not worth the price tag
-Chilli had his best game in 3 years
31 Mar 2012, 22:11 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-46: When is Venter coming back? JJ is a must for your team. He makes a impact every time he comes on the field.
Sadie needs to play some VC.
31 Mar 2012, 22:13 pm
Bryan Habana nearly gave Dean Greyling the hiding of his life
31 Mar 2012, 22:15 pm
Stormers were lucky to win it in the end.
Chilliboy had a great game.
Etzebeth keeps impressing me, so happy for the lad.
This is a very good Bulls side we played tonight, and Pierre Spies has really grown into a good captain, and is playing some very good rugby.
All bodes well for the Boks this year.
31 Mar 2012, 22:16 pm
Liebenberg’s try was as a result of both M steyn and Sadie falling off the tackle at near the line Poor defense from both
31 Mar 2012, 22:17 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-51:
I will take the win Yes Spies is playing well and a decent captain
Bok captain ?
31 Mar 2012, 22:17 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-50: From what I saw Greyling made Habana his little ******.
31 Mar 2012, 22:21 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-53:
No, not Bok captain. Not yet.
Such a pity about Juan Smith, if he was fit and on form he would be my choice for Bok captain.
31 Mar 2012, 22:23 pm
Must be said, the Reds were rubbish but apart from that upset I had good weekend of results:
NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_) Says:
March 29th, 2012 at 12:43 pm
HIGHLANDERS +6
CHEETAHS +3
CHIEFS +6
SHARKS +5
REDS +10
CRUSADERS +200
STORMERS +1 (tough call this one)
31 Mar 2012, 22:24 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-55:
Yes no doubt
JDv doing well at captain but will he hold out F steyn at 12
Do we play JDV at 13 ?
Keep JPP at 14 ?
15 is between taute and Viljoen?
31 Mar 2012, 22:28 pm
Heyneke will pick krusty the clown at 15, I must say that he’s game this season has improved
31 Mar 2012, 22:28 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-57:
Very hard to say, thank goodness I’m not a selector.
But I tell you what, I would rather play Juan de Jongh at 12 and Jean de Villiers at 13 for the Stormers.
People complain Jean is getting long in the tooth but they also forget how effective he is at organising a defensive backline, you need him there for the defense.
But Juan de Jongh I think will be much more effective playing inside centre.
31 Mar 2012, 22:29 pm
Sadie sold his soul for a pocket full of silver serves the little gold digger right.. Stormers a better team then Bulls in the long run.. so Sadie sold out.. that’s what happens to sell outs like Keohane.. Cape people who support the Bulls are no better than Cape people who support the Crusaders .. in fact in my eyes they are WORSE…
31 Mar 2012, 22:33 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-59:
So there settled for the bok team
Steyn at 12 and JDV at 13 and captain
31 Mar 2012, 22:35 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-60:
Yes the deal for VD heever to stormers Vs Sadie to Bulls
VdHeever deal looking very good
31 Mar 2012, 22:35 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-61: who’s your fly half and scrum half?
31 Mar 2012, 22:38 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-62: Sadie and his agent shot their bolt.. they pulled the trigger too fast…. Stormers got the better end of the deal in the end.. same with Whitehead and Hoffman to Sharks too…
all we gotta do now is NOT fall for the Burger invincibility bullshit because they gonna bring back Burger to 6 and captain and I guarantee just like 2010 and 2011 we won’t do it under his leadership.. JdV MUST retain captaincy and Burger can play a bit part role ONLY.. give Burger the front line glory boy position and Stormers chances go up in smoke.. how much you wanna bet ??
31 Mar 2012, 22:42 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-63:
Wow skoppie you have me on the spot
Scrum half is 100% Hougaard
Right now 10 is up in the air
Grant had a better game than Steyn (out of the experianced 10)
He is steady and got the important kicks
Steyns defence is very poor but Meyer may pick him
Out of Lambie jaintjies and Goosen its Goosen for me but i think Lambie may end up on bench because he can play 10 and 15
31 Mar 2012, 22:56 pm
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-65:
gotta be Goosen he is the 100% natural perfect 10 … comfortable in the kicking game and the running distributing game.. Cheetahs turned the tables on Hurricanes today on their home turf.. shows what Cheetahs can do with a mid field general like Johann Goosen at the helm…
Boks
Greyling
Bismark
Malherbe
Etsebeth
Kruger
Brussow
Vermeulen
Hougaard
Goosen
Engelbrecht / Le Roux
Steyn
JdV (c)
Aplon
Taute
Oosthuizen, Chili, Bekker, Spies, Duvenhage, Lambie, Habana / Engelbrecht / Le Roux
31 Mar 2012, 22:57 pm
Well Played Stormers! Stormers dominated first half Bulls came back in the 2nd. The Stormers were the better team and deserved to win. Bulls scored a lucky break out try. Great game of Super rugby though.
31 Mar 2012, 23:07 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-66:
and I only pick Steyn at 12 IF he can show in the S15 that he is better than De Jongh.. because we still got JPP and De Jongh who both deserve starting pots in the Bok run on team
so Back line can consist of any of the following
Hougaard, Duvenhage, Goosen, Engelbrecht, Habana, Steyn, JdV, De Jongh, Pietersen, Aplon, Le Roux, Taute, Viljoen, Lambie
31 Mar 2012, 23:15 pm
My bok team
1. Dean Greylin 2. B du Plessis 3. Werner Kruger 4. J Kruger 5. A Bekker
6. S Burger 7 J Potgieter 8 P Spies 9 Jano Vermaak 10 Morne Steyn ( Goosen is too young) 11. JJ Enelbreck 12 J de Villiers 13 F Hougaard 14 B Basson 15 Jp Pieterson 16 C Ralepele 17 Cj Van Der Linde 18 F van der Merve 19 W Alberts 20 C Macload 21 J Goosen 22 J de Jong
31 Mar 2012, 23:20 pm
The Stormers should have taken this game easily. In the 1st half there was only one team in it. But then they took their foot off the peddle as they usually do.. Etzebeth continues to impress. JDV continues to shut his detractors up. Joe is always cool under pressure and like Aplon will pull off the big tackles.
It remains just another league win but the Stormers will pick up more wins on the road. I predict another sucessful tour.
And nice to be ahead of the pack.
31 Mar 2012, 23:22 pm
Stormers you beauts! Big up the Bulls helluva contest but there can only be one winner…down to the wire, hell what a game, not pretty but brutal!!!
31 Mar 2012, 23:24 pm
ridiculous side mate..
31 Mar 2012, 23:25 pm
@getafix
31 Mar 2012, 23:28 pm
@Getafix(phil72)-69:
Let me guess. You’re a Bulls supporter.
5 Bulls amongst the forwards? They just got a hiding a few minutes ago. Get real.
31 Mar 2012, 23:56 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-66: No room for Pat Cilliers? He hold his own against everybody in the comp so far and is very mobile. When he was replaced tonight the Lions struggled. I don’t know what you see in Malherbe.
1 Apr 2012, 00:04 am
@Tuna(Tuna)-75: Cilliers / Malherbe for No.3.. Malherbe was up against Greyling … strongest f’ng ox this country has ever seen.. and he held him well… But Cilliers has been very impressive.. between Cilliers and Malherbe for No. 3 spot.. with Greyling / Oosthuizen for No.1
1 Apr 2012, 00:11 am
If Morne continues playing like this, with off days with tey boot, ten there is no reason to kep him on at the Boks – not with Goosen who can kick further and more accurately (over the season), and who can distribute well. Morne is starting to look a bit shot. He better respond well…
He wasted 9 points out there today.
1 Apr 2012, 00:11 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-76: I still need convincing on Malherbe. He needs play a 80 min game to impress me. Now he is getting 20 minutes against a bloke who is giving is carrots for 60 min already. If he can hold his own for 60 min + I will take notice.
Pat has been brilliant this season…. actually he started preforming at the end of the CC last year. Mitch is getting the best out of him.
That Calib from the Lions also looks promising, but too early to call.
1 Apr 2012, 00:14 am
@SjamBok(SjamBok)-77: Goosen and Jantjies the answer at 10. Also watch out for that Coetzee kid who played wing for the Lions today. He needs to get a run at 10.
1 Apr 2012, 00:21 am
that little No.11 from Lions is class.. he slotted in at full back when Kamana went down… plus the other find from Cheetahs Le Roux at 11
Malherbe and Kitshoff destroyed the Blues front row sending them into turbo reverse
Malherbe is strong make no mistake .. and that Caleb Oosthuizen also showing some promise
Mitch made a big fck up pulling Hollenbach off, should have rather pulled off Butch that’s where Lions game was chucked away…
1 Apr 2012, 00:25 am
@Getafix(phil72)-69:
Not sure i agree
Vermaak over Hougaard starting at 9?
We have plenty of wings we dont need a 9 on the wing he is wasted there
You a Bulls supporter?
Did you watch the Cheetahs game and sharks game?
And did Stormers not beat the Bulls?
1 Apr 2012, 00:26 am
@Tuna(Tuna)-79:
yes I like The Lions Coetzee and the Cheetahs Le roux
1 Apr 2012, 00:31 am
Bulls fans have reason to feel aggrieved. Steyn had a so-so game and his goal kicking cost the Bulls and the team will rue the decision not to take kickable Penalties.
I now understand the Frenchies frustration with Joubert because of his inconsistency applying the laws. He rightfully punished the Bulls playing the man in the air. He repeatedly warned the Stormers scrum half against skewed scrum feeds but took no further action.
In the final scrum of the day which led to the Stormers winning penalty he again allowed a crooked scrum feed. Surely by now the Stormers scrum half should have been punished and a free kick awarded to the Bulls?
1 Apr 2012, 00:32 am
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-66:
The problem is Meyer will select Spies and maybe as Capt
I am not sure he will select JDV but most likely at 13 and as captain but who knows
1 Apr 2012, 00:35 am
@Brentie1(Brentie1)-83:
Every feed by the 9 these days are crooked so were Hougaards
At least DD was not standing on the wrong side of Hougaard when he fed his own ball I guess no one saw what I saw?
1 Apr 2012, 00:38 am
I said yesterday that Duvenhage and Grant will force Steyn into his shell and make mistakes again like he did vs Blues.. and I was right…
Steyn is no longer the answer for Boks at 10.. hasn’t been for some time .. but now its getting plain to see..
Goosen has to be Bok 10 .. Hougaard / Duvenhage / Mcleod at 9
1 Apr 2012, 00:47 am
My bok squad?
15 Taute/Viljoen
14 Le Roux/ JPP
13 JDV ? De Jonge
12 Steyn
11 Habana/Mvovo
10 Goosen/Steyn
9 Hougaard/ DD
8 Spies/vermeulen
7 Burger Alberts
6 Brussow/ Minnie
5 Bekker/Kruger
4 Estebeth /?
3, Jannie dup/Kruger
2. Bismark/Chilli
1 Connie /Beast
1 Apr 2012, 01:00 am
Taking in consideration that Heyneke will not has more than a week to work with the Boks, that he will also be under pressure from the politicians and that he MUST win the series vs England.
My “Heyneke” Bok-team at this moment is:
15. Z Kirchner (experience, improved from 2011, no other obvious choice)
14. B Basson (speedy, high ball chase)
13. J de Jongh (who else?, combination with JdV)
12. J de Villiers (capt)(experience, organise defense,captain)
11. B Habana (experience, work rate)
10. M Steyn (experience and present 10, others too inexperienced)
9. F Hougaard (until Fourie du Preez is back)
1. D Greyling (until Beast Mtwarira or Guthro is back)
2. B du Plessis (ill discipline will cost him, Chilliboy very close)
3. J du Plessis (experience, present 3, who else?)
6. H Brussouw (proved himself in test rugby)
4. C Etzebeth (lots of talent,enforcer,Flip vd Merwe zero disipline)
5. A Bekker (must wake up, Juandre very close)
7. W Alberts (big strong ball carrier)
8. P Spies (v-capt) (HM favourite athlete, improved a lot, captain in making?)
16. C Ralepelle (obvious choice, bad luck for Strauss)
17. W Kruger (prefer tighthead, WP Nel to Scotland, who else?)
18. J Kruger (obvious choice)
19. J Strauss (covers 6,7,8)
20. C McCloud (until Fourie du Preez is back)
21. J Goosen (the next big thing, enormous boot, to replace Morne in 2013/4)
22. JP Pietersen (covers 13,14,15)
1 Apr 2012, 01:07 am
@Tjokker(Tjokker)-88:
You a Bull fan ?
Kirchner? No one better than him? Taute or Viljoen
De jongh at 13 yes But you left out F steyn at 12 so JDV goes to 13?
Yep about M steyn sad to say but true Horrible defender
Basson? Cant defend at all
pack looks ok yes
1 Apr 2012, 01:24 am
@CoachPete(CoachPete)-89: I’m a rugby surporter who support the Bulls
I said it is Heyneke’s team – the team I THINK he will select. Until we know what is his view on offshore players, I decided not to choose them. That can change a lot with F Steyn, J Fourie, F Du Preez, G Steenkamp, B Botha, D Rossouw all posibilities.
I believe he will take Taute on the Europe tour end of the year. He must give players of colour a go and he must start with a world cup squad. Viljoen, like W Olivier had a chance in the Bok jersey and didn’t use it. Viljoen is 29. Lambie may be better choice for future. Personally I like Taute.
De Villiers can make it as Captain and the only other inside centre is Olivier. JdV too slow for outside centre – my view. Basson worked on his defense, but still a liability. With kick and charge rugby he is worth a lot. I like Mvovu – typical winger with speed and power. Morne defense has improved since 2011 but no Honniball. Goosen to replace him in 2013/2014 if not sooner.
1 Apr 2012, 02:06 am
@Tjokker(Tjokker)-90:
Good points
1 Apr 2012, 02:06 am
AC/DC Sink The Pink! Comes to mind.
1 Apr 2012, 02:14 am
And to think of many of the same above WP fans bitching and slagging Erasmus off when he said he saw no need to buy any more forwards for the 2012 season as he thought (read knew) just what depth he’d brought through in his youngsters…
Now they all of a sudden ‘kenners’…
1 Apr 2012, 02:14 am
And the same applies to AC…
1 Apr 2012, 02:58 am
We “Sinked The Pink” no doubt about it. Huffed and puffed etc etc, but we did it. Bring dit, ons wen dit.
1 Apr 2012, 03:50 am
bryce_in_arse: you also didn’t know what the stormers management were doing when they didn’t buy any props for this season, so pipe down on the rassie &(i) knew what he was doing.
1 Apr 2012, 04:59 am
None of you guys seem to be considering Daniller for the bok 15 jersey. I thought he was outstanding against the Hurricanes, always seemed to be breaking tackles and making good ground. I also thought their 13 (eberson?) was excellent too – better than De Jong was against the bulls anyway (and I’m a Stormers supporter). I reckon Meyer wouldn’t go too far wrong by selecting the whole Cheetahs backline (and their backs coach).
1 Apr 2012, 05:16 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-96:
Why don’t you use you ‘amazing’ google search skills and find the numerous posts I made defending Rassie’s statements (and to a lesser degree AC) with particular mention of the WP youngsters coming through… and this all ‘pre-season’…go on… you’re going to look rather foolish as per norm…
Ironic it was a Shark’s fan defending them from their own fans…
1 Apr 2012, 07:01 am
Hougaard had his worst game in a Bulls jersey.
Chilliboy only touched the ball a few times and that was to throw the ball into the line out! very overrated and kak at its best! quota!
Wynand O – always keeps his best vs the Bulls – JDJ has nighmares over Wynand – Wynand much better game than JDJ!
M Steyn – very poor
Sadie – poor
for the stormers :
Habana – lucky to be still alive! Greyling almost killed him. Habana wtf were u thinking? we know you have a strange head shape, but 1 hit by greyling won’t fix that … he’ll destroy you. Average game!
JDJ – Wynand’s bunny
Grant – very good
Duvenhage – 100% improvement on last weekend’s performance
Dwayne – great game
Liebenberg – killed chilli Liebenberg 10 times better
Refs :
Joubert – missed 2 forward passes – led to bulls try …
1 Apr 2012, 07:21 am
1 Apr 2012, 07:22 am
sheesh…!!
what a game…! the nerves were shot through like a rusty old sieve…
both teams played really well and it could have gone either way…
great for south african rugby… because I have to believe that our anzac cousins had to watch that with a dreadful sense of trepidation… it sure puts to rest the ‘toughest’ debate in terms of sheer attritional physicality…
happy the stormers kept their cool and managed to pull it off…
of course still worried that the stormers went to sleep after half time and let the bulls back in… in the stands we were all saying at half time… “please don’t go to sleep now…?”
the bulls should also be worried about their discipline which let the stormers get away to a flyer…
as far as the reffing was concerned… the fact we won does not suddenly make joubert a good or fair ref…
it was obvious that part of the bulls plan was to brawl and hopefully draw the stormers into losing focus… pity… they are much better than that…
how many times did he speak to jaundre kruger… a less accommodating ref would have carded him after so many warnings…
joubert also missed the fact the greyling pushed and/or stood up in just about every scrum… again… he has not done this the whole season, so clearly a tactic to disrupt the stormers scrum… joubert just watched him do it time and again… very disappointing… and would have had a big impact on the game if he’d been forced to scrum legally…
the only time he scrummed properly… when the bulls were obviously going for a big shove and probably looking for a pushover try… brok harris absolutely demolished him… which would’ve happened more had jobert done his job…
as well as juandre kruger played… his off the ball stuff was just shocking… him and greyling gonna get pinged big time if they try that under a fair ref…
joubert also missed countless entries from the side of the of the rucks and mauls… from both sides… but have to say the bulls did it way more often…
finally…
eben…
nuff said…
1 Apr 2012, 07:45 am
I don’t know what everyone’s fascination with Juandre Kruger is!?! The guy is average at best… Flip man, Steven Sykes is better than him. Kitshoff looks like the real deal for the Stormers and one can’t say enough about Etsebeth! I gave Spies a lot of flak last year but the guy is stepping up his game.
bokke:
Taute (being wasted on centre at this stage)
JPP
JdV
F Steyn
Habs (getting back to his best)
Goosen (please not Morne)
Hougaard (or FduP)
Spies
Schalk
Brussouw
Bekker
Etsebeth
du Plessis
du Plessis
Coenie (with beast and gurthro out)
1 Apr 2012, 07:57 am
Headline should read Joubert’s whistle saves Stormers.
Or Steyn’s boot.
But thems the breaks.
Bulls did well considering the stormers werew supposed to drll them by 20.
Time to lift our game.
1 Apr 2012, 08:00 am
@ufo(ufo)-101:
Some of those collisions in the 1st half were massive and there was only one team in it at that stage.
And it took Basson’s try against the run of play to give the Bulls a lift.
The Stormers have managed to get away with it so far this season – but the lesson to learn is that you cannot afford to sit on a lead and let the other team in. Last night was too close for comfort.
And now 2nd June at Loftus looks like a good option for this Stormer supporter.
1 Apr 2012, 08:10 am
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-104:
absolutely bud…
i can’t understand why they haven’t got some psycho guru to sort this out… it just happens so often now they can’t just chat about it and say we won’t do it again… they really need to make a plan to counter it…
as you say… we’ve got away with it so far this season… and won’t do so if it’s not addressed…
but… not too shabby for such a “mediocre team and coach” as all the experts told us before the season started…
not pretty rugby for sure…
but prettier at the top of the log against the odds than lower down…
:lol;
1 Apr 2012, 08:14 am
@ufo(ufo)-105:
And fortunately Morne had an off day with the boot. Quite generous of him.
And Bulls supporters are also quite generous – got some wine coming my way.
1 Apr 2012, 08:18 am
@IAAS(I am a stormer)-106:
yeah…
just said as much on the other thread…
he had a rare off day…
one thing is for sure though… the return match is gonna be even tougher and the bulls should win that one at home…
1 Apr 2012, 08:24 am
anyway… this beautiful cape town day calls…
well played stormers and bulls… great game…
1 Apr 2012, 08:52 am
Rare off day?? Morne gad off day agianst blues??? How rare is it really???
Craig is stil a bad ref!! We let the bulls come back and craig had big hand in it. He missed at least two 1m forward passes for that second try!!!
We must just sort out our habbit of winning games in the first halve….maybe we nedd a team that we believe needs two halves to beat!!!!!
1 Apr 2012, 08:58 am
Well done Stormers a deserved victory.
The Stormers defence was immense and that young Eben….I am speechless. Heineke can hand him the no4 Bok position from now on, there seems no need for this laaitie the settle in.
I don’t want to take anything away from the Stormers but Craig Joubert missed two major calls. The one scrum that the Bulls got pinned for near the end was actually a Bulls penalty, even the comentator said Craig got the call wrong.
And the second was when the assistant referee told him Juandre Kruger was interfered with at the lineout and he ignored it.
1 Apr 2012, 09:15 am
85.CoachPete:
1 Apr 2012, 00:35 am
@Brentie1(Brentie1)-83:
Every feed by the 9 these days are crooked so were Hougaards
At least DD was not standing on the wrong side of Hougaard when he fed his own ball I guess no one saw what I saw?
You’re missing the point. The Bulls had no option to try and swing the last scrum because the last scrum feed was so skewed that the contest was over before it began.
This happened at a crucial time.The point is Joubert warned the Bulls
for playing the man in the air and they got rightfully punished. If you warn a scrum half and have a quiet chat to him but take no further action, that in my book amounts to favouritism.Hookers and teams are punished for skewed
line out throws where the ball has to travel straight for at least 5 meters to
to ensure a fair contest.So how on earth are crooked scrum feeds allowed?
If Hougaard’s scrum feeds were skewed the same law should apply to him.
1 Apr 2012, 09:17 am
Great game, very tense and hard not to watch. I don’t think the Stormers should think that they are on top of their game as I’m yet to witness a constructed backline try
1 Apr 2012, 09:18 am
SA sevens are kak ….. time for True to go!!!
1 Apr 2012, 10:07 am
Nice one Stormers. Nice to see the underdogs come out on top.
SA rugby looking pretty healthy at the moment.
1 Apr 2012, 10:28 am
Unbeaten
1 Apr 2012, 10:30 am
dean greyling is a thug.joubert allowed him to get away with murder at times.my beloved crusaders will not tolerate his s hit next week.
1 Apr 2012, 10:34 am
@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-116:
Agreed , if you follow his moves throughout the game you’l see a lot. Negative spoiling tactics. Vuilgat stuk pink kak
1 Apr 2012, 10:37 am
@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-116: Crusaders to see their own pink next week.
1 Apr 2012, 10:42 am
At the end of the day it’s the score board that matters. Both sides got away with stuff but I think that Joubert had a bad game again. The Hougaard one standing to DD’s right while feeding, the last try to me seemed that there were 2 forward passes in it but to me his inability to control a very physical and at times dirty game tells me he is not up to standard.
With the youngsters that Stormers have I pity these bruising guys that like to be dirty in 2 years time – Etsebeth, Kolisi, Kitshoff, and the likes will make spies and co. KAK.
1 Apr 2012, 10:51 am
so,the stormers let sadie go becaused they had de jongh?now that’s what i call great progressive thinking by their management and not giving in to the demands of an untried and overrated player.
1 Apr 2012, 11:58 am
@ufo(ufo)-101:
I said it while watching the game with my mates, who happened to be Bulls fans, all of them: The Bulls players can’t distinguise between hard, aggresive play and dirty play. It was shocking how they tried to “intimidate” the Stormers players.
Fortunately the Stormers players did not stoop down to their level.
Oh yes….. STOOOOOORRRRRRRRRRRMMEEEEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-103:
Excuses, excuses, excuses.
The day a true pink bull supporter says they did well losing by “only” three points… well let’s just say I never thought I’d see that day.
We may not have won by 20 nor scored a 4 try bonus point but…WE WON.
That’s good enough for me.
1 Apr 2012, 12:26 pm
How the hell the did Craig Joubert miss that forward pass
1 Apr 2012, 12:58 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-122:
He missed a lot of things. Especially some off the ball stuff by the pink pansies.
He was kak both ways.
1 Apr 2012, 13:06 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-122: Just doing his job!
1 Apr 2012, 13:42 pm
i just want to say this has once again ranked as one of the worst, most inept and dismal reffing displays on show in an otherwise high calibre rugby competition.
that the rugby on display is by far the standard bearer of rugby worldwide is undoubted….but….its the standard of reffing which brings it down.
this has to be fixed.
i take nothing from the stormers, they deserved their victory and well done to them. there is no doubt that etzebeth will partner bekker at springbok lock ‘even’ with heyneke as coach. it is obviously a boon that they will be able to form their relationship together at the same union as this will allow for them to get to know each other in the way that bakkies and victor did.
1 Apr 2012, 15:41 pm
Good comment Whitney.
1 Apr 2012, 16:09 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-125: oh the irony of it all
stormers fans were saying craig is a rubbish ref the whole week & were mocked and hours after the game it’s bulle fans vreet-ing cheese & whine
amusing
1 Apr 2012, 16:36 pm
Xhosaskid STILL complaining about the ref despite him and Morne Steyn’s right boot handing the Stronters the game on a plate!
How strong is your sense of entitlement honestly?
1 Apr 2012, 17:21 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-43: Your comment just shows what a dumbass you are. Even though the scoreboard showed a 3 point difference your filthy boys in pink were given a hiding, they were well and truly thumped, even with the ref (missing 2 forward passes on the way to the pink boys 2nd try, which you forgot to mention). Shown your pink *** by a union that has no structure, a kak coach, full of glory boys and what else. Tacitus your team really looks good in pink and the way they play rugby they should stay in pink.
1 Apr 2012, 17:34 pm
@grant10(grant100)-99: there’s a nice photo of siya kolisi handing off msteyn & gunning for wynand who looks like he was kak bang judging by his stance
1 Apr 2012, 17:42 pm
@Kea-Cat(KEA)-129: easy on Tac, imagine how he must be feeling already.
one imagines a lot of *air punching* happened in the “situation room after the final whistle.
1 Apr 2012, 17:55 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-130: The try that the Stormers scored, all what they did was attack meisiekinds channel, I didn’t see him make one tackle.
1 Apr 2012, 17:57 pm
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-126:
thank you.
@Transformation(Transformation)-127:
ag transie, kak reffing is kak reffing..and rightly, should be criticised
the irony is that joubert gave it to the opposite team the same way he gave it to the all blacks.
@Transformation(Transformation)-131:

you’re a t-bone chop…
1 Apr 2012, 18:01 pm
Geluk strmrs julle verdien julle oorwinning, my span het goed terug gekom wat n goeie advertensie vir die gahalte van spelers in SA! N PAAR SNAAKSE BESLISSINGS DEUR SKEIDSREGTER! MORNE HET WEER N AFDAG GEHAD!
1 Apr 2012, 18:10 pm
I went to the rugby club at the showgrounds in Lusaka. These guys were drinking beer, braaing chicken and watching soccer. No rugby
1 Apr 2012, 18:12 pm
Anyone with ideas where to watch rugby here in Lusaka? Maybe George Gregan and Corne Krige must come and do a road show here
1 Apr 2012, 18:13 pm
remember stormers, had just one or two of the missed kicks by morne gone over it would have been an altogether different game.
1 Apr 2012, 18:16 pm
Those near wins are soon going to dry up at the business end of the competition.
Pink Bulls were unlucky to concede penalties through their dumb hairyback forwards in the first half but they were the better team.
1 Apr 2012, 18:22 pm
@vanhunks(vanhunks)-102: You know of course,you are probably the only person who thinks Juandre Kruger is overrated? You obviously dont know a lot about forwards rugby.
1 Apr 2012, 18:25 pm
Drinking beer, braaing chicken and watching soccer.
Welcome to Africa.
Have a nice day.
1 Apr 2012, 18:28 pm
Olivier scared of Kolisi?
How transie would love that to be true.
This is the same Kolisi who doedpoesed himself on Elton Jantjes?
Fo’ sure.
1 Apr 2012, 18:30 pm
@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-117: Wow,what a really classy and mature comment. Your fellow Stormers supporters must be really impressed with your insight. But still,well done for a 3 point win at Newlands with a dubious penalty 3 minutes before the end of the game.
1 Apr 2012, 18:39 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-140: Can you imagine me asking them to switch to rugby. Even the James Dalton (black version) lookalike told me it would be difficult to do haha
1 Apr 2012, 18:49 pm
@Shark(Predawn)-138: The Bulls were the better team? Bwahahahahahahahaha. Get rid of those grapes boet as they must leave a bitter taste. Bulls had a purple patch for about 15min in the first quarter of the second half. Other than that they weren’t going anywhere. Shame.
1 Apr 2012, 18:53 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-128: The Bulls were lucky to have only one player in the bin yesterday. Two forward passes in one backline movement – geez Joubert was soooooo biased!
1 Apr 2012, 18:54 pm
@Loftus(Loftus)-142:
Joubert missed some things both ways Most will say penalty at end was correct
Joubert missed a huge offsides at scrum where Hougaard was standing next to Vermeulen in the put in and nearly resulted in a try to bulls had Hougaard not knocked on
1 Apr 2012, 18:55 pm
there was a survey done 4 or 5 years ago of the most knowledgable rugby supporters in SA …. this was the result :
1. Cape Town
2. Pretoria
3. Bloemfontein
4. PE
5. JHB
6. Mpumalanga
7. George
8. KZN
Shark @ 138 just confirmed that ….. but really, look at the post of all sharks supporters…its mostly guys who never played rugby …. with their ginger spots and always blames the ref ….
1 Apr 2012, 18:58 pm
Joubert missed 2 forward passes in WO’s try ….
1 Apr 2012, 18:59 pm
@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-122: Are you crazy! Joubert killed the Bulls with his whistle yesterday according to the Pinkie supporters! Kruger and Greyling were farling lucky to get away with what they did yesterday!
1 Apr 2012, 19:00 pm
@grant10(grant100)-148:
Assistant ref missed it not Joubert
1 Apr 2012, 19:02 pm
it was a good game to win… and really proud of the guys for winning it in the end…
but really could’ve gone either way… so cool to enjoy it for what it was and move on…
tourney’s only a third in… plenty plus to go…
things can change quickly and some really tough matches coming up…
1 Apr 2012, 19:06 pm
pee wee, i agree, BUT!!!! Habana made big kak when he went and pushed Greyling, if that was @ loftus, Habana would’ve had a yellow card and he wouldn’t be alive today!
1 Apr 2012, 19:11 pm
@grant10(grant100)-152:
At least Habana stood up to him win or lose
And its that Paul Kruger look a like beard that makes him look tough
1 Apr 2012, 19:14 pm
haha no Habana looked like he was facing the devil …. the always shat his pants! lgend stuff …. Greyling even had a smile …. he know habana’s funeral was very close
1 Apr 2012, 19:24 pm
Greyling wasn’t smiling everytime he had to pack down to scrum or take the ball up. He got steamrolled at times.
1 Apr 2012, 19:26 pm
sometimes winning the fight is more important! Habana will think twice about playing @ loftus …. maybe fake a injury? i would if i were him!
1 Apr 2012, 19:27 pm
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-155:
yeah yeah Very cranky at scrum time
Habana challenge was only time he smiled cause he thought he was going to get his next meal
1 Apr 2012, 19:27 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-141: they say a picture is worth a thousand words…so your feeble attempts at making light of wynand’s dilemma are admirable but inevitably futile.
1 Apr 2012, 19:30 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-158:
WOs try was well taken Grant stood off in defense allowing the half gap
1 Apr 2012, 19:32 pm
look WO killed JDJ an the WP backline … was it not for Wynand, it would’ve been ugky …. maybe 33 – 0 to the Stormers …
1 Apr 2012, 20:08 pm
What’s his dilemma transie?
That he was scared?
People see what they want to see.
Only in your twisted mind.
You’re full of it and you know it.
1 Apr 2012, 20:24 pm
@grant10(grant100)-160: bwahahaha hey man! go buy the sunday times & jdj lus to moer meisiekind as jean clings on for dear life.
1 Apr 2012, 20:27 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-161: truth hurts…
1 Apr 2012, 20:37 pm
what I wanna know is where are all the grootbek capebull and sharkbull supporters who all said bar none that the breesies were just a show pony team of easy beats?
where is keohane who was soooo convince the Bulletjie pinkblou masjien was sommer gonner steamroll all over Newlands and that Stormers didn’t stand a chance…
If it were not for the lucky break where De Villiers and De Jongh cleaned out the Pienk defense and were heading for the try line, when a fortuitous pop pass landed in Hougaards unbelieving mitts instead of in Duvenhage’s grasp, and the fly hack kick ahead resulted in a turnaround try against the run of play, then Bulls were going to be systematically whitewashed this game…
Bulls got extremely lucky to get that close.. in truth Stormers were streaks ahead of them in every facet of play.. Stormers should have wiped them with a doodpoes of note.. but the momentum swung against the flow when Bulls got lucky enough through no build up of their own..
In short Stormers fckd them up where it counted and where ALL the pundits were so convinced not too long ago that Stormers were not nearly in the same league to take on this invincible Pienk frilly laced masjien..
So where all these breekerige grootbek pienk fartass pundits now..??
don’t bother grant100 i know u a cheapskate
http://www.timeslive.co.za/sport/2012/04/01/stormers-stun-pink-bulls
What truth?
You can’t even see his face?
Yet he is bang?
I believe there is a job opening for a new ANCYL spokesperson.
You would fit the bill.
Perfectly.
1 Apr 2012, 20:41 pm
JdJ will fck party boy WO in his glory vrek and party boy WO with his permed lady locks will sommer disappear quick out the action.. JdJ broke through Bulletjies inside channel defenses with ease yesterday, neither Morne nor Lady bird WO could handle him…, JdJ cleaned up Bulletjies midfield not once but at least 4 times .. only last pass or last bounce that robbed him of finishing it off.
1 Apr 2012, 20:46 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-166: it’s called body language, keep up.
1 Apr 2012, 20:48 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-167: where were wynand & sadie when jdj was carving their team up the middle of the park?
1 Apr 2012, 21:05 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-164:i see keo already promising the stormers a snotklap on the return leg @ loftus
1 Apr 2012, 21:09 pm
transformation … why do u never give white guys credit you racist maaifoedie?
1 Apr 2012, 21:11 pm
Oh how memories are so short under the dream bubble of refugee less Cape Town….
**** a hoop over a win over the Pienk Ballas, where Craig Joubert nearly outdid himself, fools tend to forget how the Sharks fcked them up so holy in every facet of the game other than the scoreboard…
Fools also tend to forget how these convenient little penalties in the last few minutes have saved them time and time again at Newlands…
Fools forget too that Stormers have played and won only at home, other than their very fortunate win at the Lions…
But let them forget because its going to be a laugh a minute come the business end of the comp which only happens in July after the 4N…
Until then will they be saved by the complimentary 2 penalties at the end of each and every game from hereon in….
Simply put…Nope
I suspect we are on the verge of seeing one of the biggest collapses of a fan blown bubble of a teams success in the history of Super Rugby…
Meanwhile the Sharkies are nicely poised in the top half of the Table and could quite conceivably return to SA with 3 out of 4 tour wins, unlucky to lose the first match…
Luvvingit!!!
1 Apr 2012, 21:12 pm
WO was standing out on the WING.. he was too bang to handle JdJ who owned him all night long… WO scored his little heroic cameo try out on the f’ng WING because that was the only place he could function with no JdJ in his face to fck him up..
1 Apr 2012, 21:21 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-172: come come fckwit you were one of the sharkievarkie glory singers who were absolutely convinced Stormers were gonna finish way down the ladder and that it was Sharkievarkie fckng Bullarselickingcn’ts like you who think its Bully Breker territory same as Keohane who like a true little coward creep sells out to the opposition…
Stormers absolutely fck’d Bully brekers vrek yesterday.. only thing that swung it back to a close affair was the runaway hack ahead try that but for a missed pop pass should not have happened…
Stormers were TOO strong for Bully brekers in every facet.. from kick off and through the forward momentum… and even to the end where Bulls were outright manhandled and set back on their overrated tiekie..
Bully brekers were brought back into the game via a clear break against run of play .. NOT as a result of their won build up… thereafter it became an arm wrestle but till that point was only one team in the contest…
Same against Sharks.. and if Stormers keep the team as is intact we fck Sharks up a 4th time on the trot without raising a sweat…
Where all the f’ng Bullshark cntarse supporters who wouldn’t give Stormers half a hope in hell.. where they singing their odes to their teams supremacy now where Stormers are the ONLY team thus far without a loss.. ?? Brumbies should have fck’d Sharks up.. Sharks got lucky same as Bulls did with their breakaway against run of play try..
1 Apr 2012, 21:29 pm
Guys.
The game’s over,
The players left it on the field.
Let’s do the same.
HG you are a real w@nker sometimes.
No one buys your “i’m in it for the argument” bullshit
Stupid is as stupid does Forest.
Or in your case posts.
1 Apr 2012, 21:37 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-174: I shityounot, wait and see the big collapse coming…. Stormers having been living on referee grace and favour now for 5 games on the trot… Yes there have been some players in the Stormers who are playing themselves straight into the Bok side like Etsebeth, Kolisi, but there is more than a whiff of fortune favoured so far…
When the fortune runs out and the 50/50 calls dont go the way of the Stormers then we see and I will take it all on the chin for being wrong.
But this time I am not.
1 Apr 2012, 21:37 pm
Fact of the matter is in spite of all the singalong song and dance about brokeback bresies without a f’ng hope in hell.. Stormers are the ONLY team with a clean sheet and possibly the team with the strongest most powerful pack in the competition.. plus a good balance between forwards and backs … half backs functioning nicely.. loose forwards performing in synergy together, entire pack together with backs performing as a collective TEAM… as LONG as the overrated captain don’t come back and fck that cohesive scenario all the way back down the drain again…
1 Apr 2012, 21:40 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-175: Checkmate fckface
1 Apr 2012, 21:43 pm
Body language!
LMFAO Floyd.
1 Apr 2012, 21:44 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-179: Hehe
1 Apr 2012, 21:48 pm
@grant10(grant100)-171: is eben etzebeth black?
what about willie le roux, johan goosen?
don’t be a domdoos!
1 Apr 2012, 21:49 pm
I won’t deny Stormers got couple lucky breaks from ref’s couple times .. its happened for Bulls in heaps in recent years where some their home wins were as a result of some totally biased home town reffing shenanigans..
BUT fact remains.. in spite of all the Bullshark f’ng anti Breesie propaganda and all the singalong Stormers are a powder puff bunch of brokeback easy beats.. we have fck’d you all UP… Bulls… Sharks.. Blues… Hurricanes … Lions
They ALL said just wait for the Bulls .. the mighty invincible Pienk F’ng Masjien was gonna make Stormpies into bully beef patties for after dinner treats… well it was exactly the reverse..
Bulletjies brought their big beef brekers like Greyling and Kruger and Spies stood off back in the distance while the rough and tumble merchants got the nuts and bolts of the procedure sorted in the coal room..
And the net result is Vermeulen, Elstadt, Kolisi and Etsebeth had their merry way with Greyling, Kruger, Stander and Potgieter.. .. like usual Spies was AWOL when it came to showdown time.. and Stormers tough enforcers fck’d the pienk pretenders at their own merciless game… touche .. the new Enforcer team has ARRIVED.. and they ain’t dressed in frilly laced pienk panties.. no sirree..
1 Apr 2012, 21:57 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-182: Yeah, you right about the Bulls – no plan B if they are matched or fckedup up front… But the Sharks have known that and the key fact that you keep possession against the Bulls for years… The reason they lost is that they did silly chippies and also did not organise for the big bombs at the back 3 otherwise the Bulls would be one less win under the belt…
Sharks did everything right against the Stormers except win against them or the ref… Simple.
I am beginning to think the Pink Ballas are flattering to deceive too…
For me the big surprise in the making are possibly going to be the Cheetahs, injury fortune permitting…
1 Apr 2012, 22:12 pm
Fuckadilly what happened to your 20 point drubbing?
Senile old ****.
Stick to giving young girls lifts.
1 Apr 2012, 22:14 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-179: why do u think siya is running towards meisiekind’s weak shoulder? eish sawufa sifundisa
1 Apr 2012, 22:15 pm
Pienk suits Bulls it brings out the true perspective of their real back at the ranch underbelly hues… and it ain’t blue.. its pienk.. at last they found the color that actually suits their make up .. because fck them up when they cannot flatten you in the steamroller tradition.. and they go balls to the wall into belly flop mode.. just as it happened to Morne Steyn twice now where Bulls didn’t have carte blanche off the front foot…
Cheetahs are a revelation to see how a team so ravaged by mercenary take over of their talented players by the Sharkievarkie f’ng money grabbing moguls they still produce a team from the dregs of their left over’s and produce a style of running rugby that should be the hall mark of SA rugby.. not the dumb kick chase force and subdue antics of the overrated Bulls.. but the absolute scintillating desire to make some little bitty hay while the sun shines while you got some bit of ball in your mitts…
Goosen has made that team into a contentious competitor and the rest like Daniller and the new found talents in wings like Le Roux with Ebersohn and Strauss in midfield and a die hard approach up front and Cheetahs will put some bodies on the line once back in Blomfontein..
Though they simply don’t have the depth that the 3 major sides Bulls, Sharks and Stormers possess.. which all told will count against them in the crunch arena nearer to the death end of the competition.
If they could hold on to their players like the Dup bro’s and Viljoen and Pretorius and the rest.. Cheetahs would be a powerhouse of SA rugby without a doubt.
1 Apr 2012, 22:21 pm
Weak shoulder?
With his weak cranium?
Its certainly thinner than yours.
1 Apr 2012, 22:21 pm
gunthercunt your little pienkbabybulls got systematically fckd up.. 14-0 and counting till the ball popped into the wrong pair of hands….
when did I say 20 point drubbing huh.. I said we fck you UP which is what we did.. little cntface twat… what did YOU all say all 319 of you bully f’ng pienkiestinky ball brekers … you said Stormers didn’t stand a hope in HELL did you NOT !!
Current Poll
Who will win the big north-south clash at Newlands on Saturday?
Bulls
Stormers
Total Votes: 570
little dubious fckadilly doos…
1 Apr 2012, 22:22 pm
elstadt saw flames though the one time he tried busting it up & met bulle breker tough hide, he ended up knocking the ball on.
1 Apr 2012, 22:26 pm
Johan Sadie, Johan Sadie, Johan Sadie???? Where did I hear that name? Oh yes, the snotkop who garded himself as being better than either one of JdV, Juan de Jongh and Jaque Fourie. Did you see the shock in his face when JdJ unceremoniously (gently) pushed him on his backside. Hopefully the guy who recruited him for the Bulls and is now the Springbok coach noted it.
1 Apr 2012, 22:26 pm
Elstadt ran straight into the biggest behemoth on the field.. he chose to try steamroller Greyling which simply didn’t work.. should have rather veered slightly left and not straight for Greylings potbelly .. nevertheless overall it came down to Stormers 1 — Bully Brekers – Nil .. and that down to the last inch of the issue is what succinctly and fundamentally counts…
1 Apr 2012, 22:28 pm
Yup Johann Sadie and his greedy agent most definitely overrated his value.. and so did the Bully Breker management team…
Stormers got the better shake down out of the deal.. we get a primed and bully beefed up Van den Heever and we didn’t even have to put any flesh on dem bones…
1 Apr 2012, 22:29 pm
When did I say ther bulls would win fuckadilly you mad old twatface?
The stormers were favorites.
And yet you scraped through by the skin of your useless old todger.
You have passed your sell by date you dirty old ******.
1 Apr 2012, 22:32 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-187: yes, weak shoulder…is all this rock science to you?
1 Apr 2012, 22:34 pm
319 Bully Breker two faced sell out arsewipes said bully Brekers would win.. so who EXACTLY were the FAVORITES ??
and this little sellout two face guntercn’tarse said the same.. he backed his pienkie stinky naaimasjien brekers against his own home town.. shows what type two face little cn’ts we have here parading as capetonians…
A Bull supporting Capetonian is worse in my mind to a Crusader supporting Capetonian.. at least the Crusader supporting Capetonian has a valid reason to.. the Bulls supporting Capetonian does not…
1 Apr 2012, 22:37 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-192: how can you expect sadie to flourish when the man who had a plan for him is busy @ saru offices decorating his new office & making new business cards?
the bonehead ludekak is clueless as to what meyer intended for sadie, now sadie finds himself chasing kicks as msteyn skops alles.
1 Apr 2012, 22:39 pm
How could you tell he was scared Floyd?
Because he was “aiming at his weak shoulder”?
Are you really that dom?
Even for an ANCYL spokesman that’s pushing it.
Your skull on Kolisis’s body.
I think we have found the perfect rugby player.
Rock science indeed.
Boff.
1 Apr 2012, 22:44 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-197: you are clearly dumbfounded
where did i say he was “leading with his weak shoulder”? does that even make any sense?
why do i bother with you?
ok gunther let’s talk cars, something maybe you know a little about
1 Apr 2012, 22:47 pm
Spesaking of boneheads I’ll leave Floyd with his oversized cranium firmly lodged up fuckadoodledoo’s tofu tail pipe.
Domb en domberer.
The embraboer twins.
1 Apr 2012, 22:54 pm
Who said leading?
You said Kolisi was running at his weak shoulder.
And that made him scared.
You know your body language all right Floyd.
Must be all those Mens Health magazines you read.
1 Apr 2012, 23:00 pm
cheers gunther my rugby student.
your rugby lesson will continue another time.
Show more enthusiasm next time
1 Apr 2012, 23:23 pm
lmao @ Men’s Health
have you even seen the said photo because you retorts make me doubt.
There you are, that’s your assignment for the night, get the paper & cutout the photo & bring it to school so we can do analysis for you.
good boy.
2 Apr 2012, 00:01 am
kick
chase
kick
chase
kick
chase
kick
chase
kick
chase
kick
chase
kick
chase
- Fulltime whistle -
yet another thrilling Yappie derby
2 Apr 2012, 00:26 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-203:
doos
doos
doos
doos
doos
doos
doos
doos
doos
doos
doos
doos
doos
Yet another jelous pommie prick who does not realise he is actualy a doos
2 Apr 2012, 00:34 am
Proof that you didn’t even watch the game – joker!! I see you were laying low when the other “Yappie” teams were busy winning. That’s OK though, we know you were probably having another flashback about what happened to your mother…
2 Apr 2012, 00:38 am
If you don’t like Saffa rugby, don’t watch it you thick doos. You really must be brain dead?
2 Apr 2012, 00:49 am
@whatever(whatever)-206:
Give the guy a break. When he was a kid he walked in on his mother being given the anal love sausage by a large South African. He hasn’t been the same since. In fact, he can’t even walk past a boerie roll stand without having convulsions. To make matters worse, it’s the only time he ever saw his mom happy…
2 Apr 2012, 01:12 am
Yappieball = rugby for lobotomy patients.
2 Apr 2012, 01:12 am
@niknaks(niknaks)-207:
2 Apr 2012, 01:15 am
1 minute Im a Pom
Next minute Im a Kiwi
Then an Aussie.
Ive even been called a Yappie
next Im a Panty/ET/Langers/Poepel/Panther/Poppa/Capo
yet
Im none of these
cant pigeonhole, cant thunk.
2 Apr 2012, 01:23 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-210:
Doesn’t matter what you are bud, you still have our sympathy.
One day you’ll work out who you were more jealous of, your mother or the yarpie boning her. Perhaps you’ll achieve some kind of closure then…
2 Apr 2012, 01:33 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-210:
It would appear that PrickBoks …with a capital “Going” South is a pommie, or so he says
Does not really matter, both doos’s of the highest order…………..
2 Apr 2012, 01:53 am
‘sympathy’ from a Yappie is like a pencil without its lead
pointless.
2 Apr 2012, 01:57 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-213:
But you have it none the less. For someone with neither class nor country, you should take it wherever you can get it. Like your dear mum did…
2 Apr 2012, 02:22 am
“for someone with neither class nor country”
says the migrant Yappie who reverts to @nal procreation as his default comment.
we’ll put this self-fulfilling description down to the lobotomy.
cant pigeonhole, cant thunk.
2 Apr 2012, 02:27 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-215:
Ok big hero, what is your so called original nationality and where do you now live?
Or or you too sh it scared to tell the truth and prefer to hide behind the keyboard?
My guess is you will wimpout and not come clean……….. faaking coward doos dingbat!
2 Apr 2012, 02:42 am
is this so you can thunk again ?
‘dingbat’ ?!
seriously, isnt that playground taunts for pre-schoolers
so we have 2 migrant Yappies, fixated with @nal procreation, using Tough Talk for Toddlers.
Youre doing my job for me. Thunk you.
2 Apr 2012, 02:45 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-215:
You’re just blabbering now. And we can’t help it that your mum likes it like that…
No class
No country
No balls
2 Apr 2012, 02:54 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-217:
The only fixation here is your hatred of South Africans, which obviously runs pretty deep given your penchant for trolling South African rugby sites so that you can hurl insults. The sad one here is you my friend. Go out, find a life, be somebody…
2 Apr 2012, 03:05 am
2 whinging Yappies
both fled their beloved homeland
both fixated with @nal ***
hmmmmm.
its not ‘SA rugby sites’ youre trawling
is it.
2 Apr 2012, 03:34 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-220:
Flinging insults at peoples’ nationality, then not having the guts to tell anyone where he’s from. Sad.
You’re like the little kid who hurls insults from behind the safety of a fence. Sad and lonely.
By the way, the correct spelling is “whingeing” and “think”. Just saying.
2 Apr 2012, 04:06 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-220:
hehehe, as I thought……….. no balls, runs in the family I guess?
Just the reason your mother went looking for a Saffa to shag………
2 Apr 2012, 05:01 am
anal procreation has clearly produced endless generations of whinging Yappies who can’t thunk outside of their own (pigeon)holes.
Lo’bottom’y surgeons doing a roaring trade in Yappieland.
2 Apr 2012, 05:04 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-223:
Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
2 Apr 2012, 05:57 am
I note the big pretender has had a busy time in my absence, he is showing the same low intelligence than most on here so I have to conclude he is one of your lowlife Yappie scum! Hope that settles it once and for all…
By the way, hilarious to see the infighting amongst you lot, trying to work out who between two local teams got cheated the most…yap, yap, yapping just like the inbreded lot you are.
PS Anyone know how I can get hold of that Coonie fellow from the Cheetahs? Just can’t stop thinking about him…
2 Apr 2012, 06:05 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-172: Don’t get too cocky boet. Sharks still got a long road ahead. A lot of problems to fix in this team. Our ball skills are shocking and with Michalak still playing for us he is chocking the backline. Ball skills are just appalling and inexcusable for a wealthy provincial side like the Sharks. Not impressed with Plumtree as a coach. He has delivered very little in the 4 years he’s been around. We will do well to beat the Canes next week. The Cheetahs were absolutely ferocious and shocked the kak out of them playing at break neck speeds. The speed we play at is nowhere near as fast as the Cheetahs. If they can fix their defensive patterns and stop leaking tries the Cheetahs will become one bladdy dangerous team!!!
Sharks on the other hand look like they’re stuck on a treadmill. Should’ve never been such a close finish against the Brumbies. Poor defence is killing us at the moment. Its about time Plum brought in the youngsters with speed and dynamism like Sithole and Jordaan. Whitehead is starting to make a difference in the midfield. We need to keep him there. Saw very little of JPP on Saturday’s game. Perhaps he is better off moving to 14 with Sithole on the bench and a midfield combo of Whitehead and Jordaan. The Canes have got tons of pace in their backline so we need to counter that by doing the same. At least Mvovo is in great form at the moment. Right now the biggest problem with the Sharks is the over-the-hill Frog and McCleod’s inaccuracy. If we are to have any hope of making it to the qualifiers we need to be coming away with at least 8 points from the next two games.
2 Apr 2012, 06:38 am
PrickBoks going South obviously a Kiwi with so much hate and venom against South Africans. Kiwis never got over 1995.Dont you think it’s about time to move on. Suzy is a myth. You’re obvious hate is blinding you mate
2 Apr 2012, 07:41 am
Bulls were lucky to get in this game at all, the lucky intercept by Hougards is all that saved the bulls from being totally outplayed.
Anyway the following man-on-man face off scores are as followes:
Bekker vs. Kruger – Both played good rugby, but Kruger gave away too much penalties, if not for the well timed pass that allowed his teammate Olivier to score than Kruger would have been the loser, but as it stands I still think they are both 50/50 with Bekker having a slight edge because of height and athletisism.
Etzebeth vs. Flip – The young enforcer from the Cape is the clear winner in this encounter and flip will have make a huge improvement to catch up.
Elstadt vs. Potgieter – Potgieter was nowhere and Elstadt was also lacking, Meyer will have too look elsewhere for his no7.
Vermeulen vs. Spies – Spies had a good open game but once again failed in the tight, I would say about 50/50 as they are too very different no8′s, but Spies has great speed and more test experience which would give him the nudge ahead of the brute from the Free State.
De Villiers vs. Olivier – Meisiekind scored an easy try, but was otherwise dominated by the more talented De Villiers, but I think not one of these two would be Meyer’s #1 choice, but I doubt Olivier will even be part of the bok setup while JDV might be second choice behind Frans Steyn.
JDJ vs. Sadie – JDJ was the superior player in this matchup with great attacking runs which kept the bulls back line on the back foot. Sadie was very weak on defence and weaker on attack. JDJ is streets ahead.
Pieterson vs. Bozo (Kirchner) – Bozo was the better FB on the day, showed speed and good play all round, has really improved.
Habana vs. Ndungane – Habana was top dog in this encounter, Ndungane did not feature.
Aplon vs. Basson – Basson would have won this round, due to the great kick chasing, but that was all.
2 Apr 2012, 07:42 am
@whatever(whatever)-222: Don’t feed the trolls.
2 Apr 2012, 07:45 am
@Scatman1968(Scatman1968)-227:
“obviously a Kiwi” ?!?
I dont give a sh*t about whatever “happened in 1995″. What I do know is how the Yappies reacted to being losers in 2011, blaming the ref for their own ineptitude.
Yappieland never has produced too many great thunkers, have they. So bereft are the whinging Yappies of original thought, that they feel inclined to mimic others in their desperation for referred glory
@PrickBoks GoingSouth(PrickBoks GoingSouth)-225:
dont they.
yap yap yap go the whinging Yappies. Thunk again.
2 Apr 2012, 08:34 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-230: I’m a Sheepshagger…
a sheepshagger…
a sheepshagger
’til I die…
Baaa-aaaa-ahhhhh…
2 Apr 2012, 09:07 am
@Sydney Shark(JayDaFiveOh)-226: Cocky is not what it is…
Its called a positive slant on where the Sharks are…
A different view to the general negativity from many Sharks fans at the moment…
The Negatives:
- Sharks have lost 50% of their games
- Sharks tend to “let it go” in the last 20 mins
- Lineouts are not dominant
- Sharks are inconsistent and a little bit “French” – up and down.
The Positives:
- Sharks have the most enterprising backline of all SA sides, and one of the best in the comp.
- Sharks are scoring excellent tries
- Sharks have started slowly, and I believe this is linked to conditioning specifically for a long S15 this year.
- Losses particularly against Stormers and Tahs, have been close and very unlucky.
- Sharks have 7 points so far on tour.
- Sharks are due some returning players which will add to depth and a pretty formidable bench.
I guarantee you the Sharks will be in the knockouts. They are place perfectly, similar to the Saders. I actually wouldnt be surprised if Plum and co haven’t taken a leaf out of the Saders competition trajectory book this year.
2 Apr 2012, 09:42 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-231:
well its a refreshing change to see someone so open about their fetishes. Presumably youre from Capetown.
2 Apr 2012, 09:46 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-233:
Presumably you didn’t finish your schooling. ‘Youre’ is spelt you’re.
2 Apr 2012, 09:57 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-233: As refreshing as Dolly being so open and receptive to you…?
Baaa-aaaa-aaaah….
2 Apr 2012, 09:58 am
@PrickBoks GoingSouth(PrickBoks GoingSouth)-225:
…inbreded….? What is that? This tool is an Islander. Can’t speak the Queens english but can speak kitchen english.
2 Apr 2012, 11:39 am
@Shark(Predawn)-234:
this is now the 3rd time, at least, that youve made this comment (note “youve” – because I dont give sh*t – see ?).
Youre either seriously thick, or youve convinced yourself this matters on a blog.
which is it ?
are you a sheepfucker like Heavens Gameforit ?
2 Apr 2012, 13:18 pm
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-237:
You “don’t give sh*it” or don’t give A sh*it?
Why is english so hard for you doodums?
2 Apr 2012, 22:59 pm
@Shark(Predawn)-238:
doodums ?
doodums ?!
and to think that youve made keynote speeches out apostrophes
wow, so this is what a Yappie intellectual heavyweight sounds like.
my dog needs a pet and I think I have a collar that might just fit you.
3 Apr 2012, 07:37 am
“..out apostrophes..” I can’t respond to you unless you decide to speak english.