Bulls were bullied in brutal contest

MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, says the Super Rugby match at Newlands on Saturday evening was a great advertisement for South African rugby.

The Stormers and Bulls produced an electric contest, which was complemented by an electric atmosphere.

The Stormers were worthy winners and it would have been an injustice — on the night’s performance — had the Bulls even left the stadium with a share of the spoils, which looked the likely outcome with the teams at 17-17 after 77 minutes.

The Bulls were courageous in everything they did, but the cleverness in tactical approach did not match the bravery in the collisions and at the breakdown.

The Stormers bullied the Bulls in contact and the manner in which the final three points were fashioned — from a scrum penalty — was befitting the home team’s set-phase superiority. Young Stormers prop Steven Kitshoff, in particular, produced the effort of a veteran and emphasised his enormous potential.

Stormers coach Allister Coetzee and forwards coach Matthew Proudfoot got the selections right from numbers one to eight and each one of the starting pack contributed to a night worth remembering if you just happened to be at Loftus on that awful afternoon some years back when the Bulls scored 75 points against the Stormers.

The Cape Town franchise have come a long way since their lowest point in Super Rugby history and the Bulls have maintained a consistency that makes them SA’s premier provincial and regional side.

The Stormers certainly are no longer the powder-puff brigade and no one can accuse them of being show ponies, although their attack certainly could do with a show pony or two. I had the Bulls to win by 10 because I backed their pack to do enough to give their impressive backs enough ammunition with which to fire.

I got it wrong and the Stormers got it very right because in this most brutal of contests the home team always held an advantage in every collision. Games of this nature are decided by who has an edge in every tackle or every attempt to break the tackle, and I was surprised at how decisively the Stormers dealt with the Bulls forwards-inspired attack.

The Bulls backs were not a factor because the forwards never built momentum and simply did not have any individual or collective ascendancy in determining gainline advantage.

Given the superiority in the contact and the quality of ball given to the backs, the Stormers still struggled to convince on attack and the backs, as a unit, were as impotent as the forwards were potent.

Ironically — and I use the word because he is seen as the glue that keeps the Stormers backs together — captain Jean de Villiers’s structured style is a restriction to the Stormers attack when once he was a revelation in all things creative.

De Villiers shoulders so much defensive responsibility that the natural attacking instincts of his game have suffered.

The Bulls — and most definitely former Stormer Johann Sadie — will learn from the experience at Newlands and they left with a valuable bonus point, while the Stormers got four quality league points.

In a sense it was a win-win for the South African challenge in the competition.

Our two best teams each got something for their efforts, but the Stormers maximised the advantage of playing at home.

Elsewhere, the Cheetahs produced the most inspired performance in their Super Rugby history to turn a 32-11 deficit after 25 minutes into a 47-38 win against the Hurricanes in Wellington, and complete their most successful Super Rugby overseas adventure.

The victory was their second in four tour matches and with a bit of good fortune the Cheetahs could well have won all four matches overseas. They lost to the Brumbies in the last minute and had the chance to beat the Crusaders. It has been a brilliant month for the boys from Bloem, more so because they left SA after taking 50 points from the Bulls in Bloemfontein.

The Cheetahs’ win was also another reminder that to be successful in Super Rugby you need a pack with grunt, as much as you need gifted game breakers. The Canes were feeble up front and the Cheetahs were colossal in the last hour of the match. It proved to be the difference in a fantastic match.

The Sharks continue to battle with the search for an imposing back five in their pack but they did well to beat a confident, if limited, Brumbies outfit in Canberra.

The Lions were again the disappointment of the weekend — and each week shows that they are not good enough. Coach John Mitchell has given them belief and structure and they are the team who best use the width of the park in attack, but they don’t possess the class of player to make all these ingredients a winning recipe.

284 Comments

• 1.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Oh what a beautiful morning
    Oh what a beautiful day
    oh what a beautiful feeling
    Everything’s going my way

Howzit Tac, Capebull, HG & Co :-)

• 2.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Now I’ll read the article.

• 3.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

How about some credit to the coaching staff for going with Elstadt at 7?

Yoh that Kolisi’s evolving into a Jerome Kaino of some sort.

How about De Jongh cutting up the overhyped Bulls’ midfield?

• 4.ShaunSwindon: Reply to this comment

Whats worse…the Bulls losing to Western Province in Cape Town OR the Bulls losing to Western Province in Cape Town wearing an all pink outfit?

• 5.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

And yet, like so many previous Stormers teams, this one would have had to settle for a narrow loss despite all of the deserved praise, had Morne still been the kicker he was a couple of season ago.

• 6.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-5: “ifs” and “had”s :d

that’s what you’re reduced to this morn :D

• 7.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

As PissAnt has always said:

Dominate the collisions

And you will in all likelihood win the match.

• 8.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

Lions really need Guma funding.

it seems the fallout with Guma has long term effects.

• 9.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Now if only the Stormers can buy Hougaard and Goosen…

• 10.ufo: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-9:

if only…!!

• 11.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-7:

That’s all that counts, you right.

If you have a 90% kicker, though, you can sometimes rescue tight games when you aren’t dominating the collissions as you should.

The Bulls couldn’t pull that off this weekend.

• 12.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-6: Trans, your efforts are futile….. I thought stormers fans were moffies………At the end of the day, history will show that 1 side scored more points than the other.

Funny how Tac fails to akcnowledge the performance of the stormers when, in fact, it was the very same playing style he proposed a few weeks back. Physical dominance and territory or nothing at all. He caused the demise of his own side.

• 13.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-5: look at the scoreboard,you wanker. :D I know that you are a lost soul this morning,but for heavens sake pull yourself together and accept that your team lost the battle.

• 14.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

Stormers deffense is doing wonders for them. They are putting so much pressure on teams that they force out penalties.

The difference between the this year and other years is that their scrum is now putting opposing teams scrum under pressure aswel. Another area where they are getting penalties.

• 15.Transformation: Reply to this comment

watching that cheetahs game i didn’t know whether one should take it as a compliment that the kiwi commentators were gushing about the cheetahs’ ball-in-hand skills “something they’ve never seen from any south african team before”, or be troubled that they can justifiably get away with saying stuff like that and us as saffas have no comeback to offer.

• 16.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-6:
    it certainly works for you when explaining the kings saga… :whatever! smiley face:

• 17.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@SHARKattack(mabu)-8: lions have Redefine cash boet.

• 18.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

As for the pink jokes, I actually thought their away kit worked well. Stands out on the field, and cannot be confused with anything. Compare that with the Crusaders’ red and grey, which hardly stood out from the Lions’ red and white.

• 19.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-15: they clearly have’nt heard of the term “swinga”.

• 20.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-15: Cheetahs are the best ball handling side in the comp. I think the grey bloem ethos coming to the fore. And the fact that they have a good backline coach. is it hawies fourie or michael horak?

Compare that to fleckie and you have all you need to see who a real coach is.

• 21.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-6: Wait until he starts telling you they have previously won the trophy.

• 22.Hoops: Reply to this comment

I will say it again, if Morne kicked more over, we would score more to win….that was the nature of this game! Stormers wanted it more! It showed when the final whistle was blown…they really wanted it.

I feel if the 50/50 pass went to DD it could have been a big hiding for the bulls. That try let them back in and picked up their heads a bit. The Bulls side has always played with confidence, but once you get their heads hanging they can be in for a hiding. We must learn to kill teams in this situations…..but I am sure it will come with time.

The pressure will ease and we will start scoring tries on this tour.

• 23.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

the lions are the glasgow rangers of south african rugby ……although they don’t want to admit it. :D

• 24.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

Where’s PissAnt this morning, didn’t he say the Stormers are a side close to going on a losing streak?

• 25.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-22: You need a decent halfback pairing to start with.

• 26.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-16: hahaha really?

a game your team lost vs boardroom corruption? :D

better luck next time, moer them when they go to loftus neh boetie ;)

• 27.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-17: Yeah true. the disruption from the fallout has had a massive impact which is manifesting itself now. Their lack of players shows that.
    I mean look at that boy who plays 11, he is a flippin flyhalf now they put him on the wing. If they had proper resources this would not have happened.

By the way i rate that number 11, they boy was class.

• 28.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-24: operative word “close” :D

• 29.Hoops: Reply to this comment

There were some muppits here who made the following comparisons:

Front row – Even
    Locks – Even
    Loosies – Even
    Halve backs – Bulls
    Midfield – Even
    Backs – Even…therefore Bulls to win

Reality was
    Front row – Stormers
    Locks – Stormers
    Loosies – Stormers
    Wait for it…..Hlave backs – Stormers
    Centres- even
    Backs – even.

Our back are letting us down at this moment!

• 30.capebull: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-1: Enjoy the win….

I won’t make excuses….

We will await you at Loftus , then you can wear that stupid pink jerseys

• 31.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

I think its fair to say that Keo has realised that whoever he gives his backing to loses. He’s obviously a Stormers fan, but is doing his best to pretend he’s a die hard Bull and backing them 100%! I hope he persists with backing them for as long as possible. He does however I suspect always back’s the team to win, that should they lose will pay out the most to the bookies!

• 32.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-29: Chilli was far better than Tiaan.

• 33.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

big game for the bulls this weekend.
    this has become a must win for them.

can’t help but feel that the bulls lost focus on the game plan. Remedy this and the dicipline problem will sort itself.

need to pick up 5 points against the crusaders.
    capable of doing it.

• 34.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-24:

I am always here… :)

Didn’t I say they were an injury or two away from a losing streak? Can’t remember if it was here or elsewhere…

Stormers physicality really impressed me. But their inability to close out a very obvious advantage still concerns me. I don’t think there is one area the Bulls dominated yet it was a 3 point game settled two minutes from time.

However, they can point to 4 very valuable log points against their traditional bogey team and biggest rivals.

Stormers should go into this tour in a very good headspace and should not be satisfied with anything less than a 50% return.

I still however have the 9/10 combo as their greatest weakness and reason their brilliant forward dominance does not translate into comfortable wins.

• 35.Staal: Reply to this comment

Goeie more almal.

Well done to the Stormers – jul verdien dit.

As always we enjoy to visit Newlands but we got klapped this time. Stormers can go all the way this year but time will tell.

Bulletjies – we know what the plan is for 2012. We are doing well, byt vas! We are building – keep the heads up… lockerroom felt like a scene from the Twiglight zone saturday night… no problemo.

Cheers almal. SA rugby is loooooooooking good! imo.

O-ja Pink/pers outfit. I like it.

• 36.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

I am not a Bulls fan,but some erratic goal kicking by Steyn saved the Stormers
    bacon.

• 37.Hoops: Reply to this comment

@SHARKattack(mabu)-32:

Are you talking about Man of the match Tiaan???????

• 38.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@SHARKattack(mabu)-32:

If they had to pick a home team player for MOTM it should have been Etsebeth. Chili was better.

• 39.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-37: yeap!!!!!!!

• 40.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-29:

I would say front rows even , Kittshof had 2 penalties against him , so did Bulls, maybe Stormers cause Dean played really dum

Chilley better than Tiaan

Locks

Eben and Juandre were best followed by Flip and Bekker ( Bulls line out 10/10 Stormers 9/10 )

6 and 7 to Stormers

8 to bulls , Vermeulen tackles thats all , I really don’t rate him

9 and 10 even , although Morne was terrible I thought Hougie was better than Duvenhage

Centres , Meisiekind vs JDV even, but JdJ better than Sadie

Basson better than Geo with Habana better than Akona

15 same nothing special on Both sides

• 41.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-23: And you are the Julis Malema of keo, although you probably won’t want to admit it.

• 42.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-33: you will cry in your pink panties again.

• 43.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Chilliboy was superb.

• 44.Hoops: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-35:

Thanks Staal….that is great from you as bulls supporter.

I banter some on this site today but the truth is this Bulls side is great. They have not once taken the “we have lost big players” excuse and are actually trying to get somewhere. I can just hear the excuses from the Stormers/WP coaches and admin telling us we are building if we were in the same position as your team!

I suspect your team will be there in the semis.!!!

Oh…and I cant wait for Heyneke to pick his team and wipe the floor with the WC pretenders!

• 45.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-37: Tiaan always involved in something off the ball ( Line-outs Stormers 9/10 Bulls 10/10 ) Chilley made 3-4 turnovers.

Skinstad and his fellow comentators had a few to many beers to make Tiaan MOM. If not Chilley then Eben.

• 46.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-13: @CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-42:

Oh, shut up.

True Province and Stormers supporters detest you.

• 47.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-34:

Fair enough regarding our weak 9/10.

But this team is more resolute then people are willing to give them credit for.

@Transformation(Transformation)-28:

Rather that than be like the Lions, always close to a winning streak :-)

@capebull(capebull)-30:

Bulls will probably down us at Loftus.

• 48.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-40: considering meisiekind’s cowardly attempt to tackle kolisi for the stormers try i would give the honours to jdv.meisiekind was later seen to hug the touchline to escape the stormers brutes.

• 49.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Can I just say:

Springbok rugby looks alive and very well.

I spoke to a mate of mine in New Zealand yesterday, he told me that they are very concerned by the relative quality of players on display thus far in the Super 15.

He told me that it looks like the Springboks will be superb this year, with the Aussies likely to be wooden spooners in the Tri Nations.

• 50.SHARKattack: Reply to this comment

since there is no Sharks articale

i honestly think Michilak when at flyhalf, confuses himself. but he is better at scrummie than the off form Charl Mc at the moment.

• 51.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-40:

No ways that Basson’s better than Aplon, maybe a tiny bit faster but Basson can’t tackle to save his life he’s a bangbroek that’s why he’s so quick, to get away.

• 52.capebull: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-43: Heyneke could make a coup by making Chilley his bok captain, he plays well enough. Bismark is good but his temper and line out throughs are not good enough

• 53.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-46: great crowd on saturday.was great to see the hundreds of coloured supporters sporting their blue bull tops.i just love democracy….and you and your so-called true stormers supporters need to get with the program.

• 54.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-52:

I tend to agree.

It will also have other positive effects from a public relations point-of-view if Chilliboy was made Bok captain.

• 55.capebull: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-51: I am saying on Saturday he was better, Geo did not get much chances

• 56.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-53:

You love blowing with the wind.

I don’t enjoy your disparaging comments towards the Bulls which are tainting the true Stormers supporters.

As for supporting New Zealand teams, I’m actually fine with that, people must support who they want.

But I do have a problem with “tweegesig” supporters who’ll support the Stormers while they’re winning (i.e. “jumping on the bandwagon”) but jump over to support the Blues or Crusaders if the Stormers aren’t winning.

In short – I detest fair-weather supporters in general. ;-)

• 57.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Perspective is always so elusive in Cape Town whenever the Stormers show a hint of promise.

The Stormers won their home game against the Bulls by 3 points, and against a depleted Sharks team by 1 point. Well done on that.

Now let’s not start polishing the imaginary trophy just yet.

• 58.capebull: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-54: Not to mention Minster of Sport. Regardless of that I think he ‘s good enough

• 59.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-55:

Oh okay, my bad.

• 60.Hoops: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-57:
    And the bulls beat a reds team that was creamed by the force…..lets not jump on the wagon yet??????

• 61.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

“a great advertisement for Yappie rugby” ?!

kick

chase

kick

chase

kick

chase

kick

chase

kick

chase

- Final whistle -

yep, absolutely thrilling !

• 62.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Stormers true test starts this weekend… Away from Newlands…

• 63.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-57:

We haven’t crowned our team champions anywhere during this season, yet you guys went through multiple rugby org@sms after beating a DEPLETED Reds outfit who got bossed by the lowly Force.

You’re the one dreaming, Captain Whoop-@ss

• 64.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

First opportunity to visit the site since Saturday.

Well done Stormers.
    As expected it was brutal with not much in it.
    Take a bow Eben, Siya!

Maar onthou.
    Loftus wag.

• 65.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-56: what give you the impression that i am supporting the stormers?i am here to comment on rugby ,just like you and unfortunately the bulls aint one of my favourite teams,so yes i am glad that they lost.the stormers will be dealt with later in the competition by the gods of super rugby.the stormers don’t really bother me that much as trophies are not won in march. :D

• 66.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-53: You need to get a team of your own. All you do by turning up to Province matches and supporting the opposition is put more money into WP’s bank account. There is no discrimination at Newlands, all fans are welcome, no matter how stupid some (you) may be!

• 67.Hoops: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-64:

No worries about Loftus….at that time we will send the B-team ;)

• 68.capebull: Reply to this comment

@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-61: like your posts

• 69.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-67: good one

• 70.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-57: The 3 points hardly illustrates the physical beatdown that the Pinkies received, one very dodgy try and another one completely against the run of play redeemed it for you on the scoreboard although I acknowledge this Stormers performance was nowhere near a complete one, just a much better one than the Pinkies. Regardless it doesn’t change the fact that we go overseas undefeated and will go North with some serious confidence.

And this pack is only going to get stronger and build more confidence. I shudder to think what we’ll do to teams when Kolisi, Etzebeth and Kitsoff are two years older?

Interesting to compare posts from you and another Bulls fan like Staal who actually forms largely objective Rugby opinions and hands out praise when praise is due in a respectful manner while you continue to be spiteful.

@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-53: I’m not bothered by your support of the Crusaders, in fact I relish the fact that within the next couple of years I expect us to be a consistently better team and then watch the flock of you guys coming back because you will be exposed for what you really are- Glory supporters who just want to be on the winning side all the time, I bet you’re not vaguely upset when the Saders lose, but of course you reserve you right to support who ever you want and while I actively engage in it provicialism is pretty stupid to be honest.

On the other hand do you support the All Blacks? Seeing Capetonians waving the New Zealand flag at Newlands often makes me vomit into the back of my throat… That is just trying to be as offensive as possible and stir the pot.

• 71.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-67:

Yip. I see what you mean. No early celebrations whatsoever.

• 72.pompies2: Reply to this comment

All the Bulls fans searching for that 1 “that will shut you up comment”, while the stormers fans a cautiously optimistic and reserved in their praise for their team. Gives good perspective.

• 73.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-67: :lol:

• 74.capebull: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-63: Interestinfg that the Reds team that started against Bulls dad 7 forwards that played last years final , they only missing 2 players of quality, Cooper, and Wing/ Digby , but they are useless.

• 75.Atreides: Reply to this comment

I rather enjoyed Pietersen cutting down Spies like that, 25kg weight difference notwithstanding!

• 76.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-70:
    “On the other hand do you support the All Blacks? Seeing Capetonians waving the New Zealand flag at Newlands often makes me vomit into the back of my throat… That is just trying to be as offensive as possible and stir the pot.”

Like booing kickers at Newlands or chanting “Stormers jou lekker ding” while a minute of silence is being had for young rugby players who tragically lost their lives?

• 77.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-70: It would be interesting to see these guys next year .May players shine year one, they battle to repeat that in year two….

Fleck was good example , the Reds team now.

If they make it next year they will be ok… but they are looking good

• 78.Hoops: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-73: @capebull(capebull)-69:

glad you enjoyed it…unlike Tac…

The bulls helped us there and we will not forget that if the bulls needs points… :)

• 79.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-71: You misunderstand, by that point we’ll have secured the home semi and can simply send down some fringe players who will probably lose while gaining some valuable experience while the main manne remain at home prepping for the play-offs.

Much like the Bulls did in 2010(?).

(I don’t know when the Bulls game is so may well not have, but it’s a joke – Just like Hoops’s comment – note the wink face)

• 80.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-76: The booing is kommin, hate it too!

On the minute of silence, I think a lot of these stadium’s PA systems come from the 70′s, I could barely hear a word the announcers were saying….wouldn’t surprise me if half the place didn’t know what was going on

But you always get some pillocks making a racket during minute silences everywhere

• 81.sonofgun: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-54: Can’t see Chilli being selected ahead of the world’s best hooker. Bismark has been unbelievable for the past few rounds. I think his line-out issues have more to do with the serious lack of talent that he’s throwing the ball too – Anton Bresler, Sykes and co must be the least impressive line-out jumpers in the competition. Bismark will be absolutely fine throwing to guys like Bekker, Etsbeth or Kruger. I rate Chilli very highly as a person and player, but I think that a political selection would just be the next step in mismanaging the man’s career.

• 82.ufo: Reply to this comment

Far from the stormers (or their supporters) polishing any trophies…

i think this result is the best possible for our season… it’s a win for which we are very grateful… but although deserved the performance left lots of room for improvement….

so we’ll take the log points thank you very much… but won’t be lulled into complacency or arrogance… so feet still firmly on the ground taking it one game at a time…

remembering well that two of those games will be at the shark tank and the bull ring…

• 83.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-79:

Haha.

So you’re saying the Stormers will be so successful that they will be able to throw the game against the Bulls at Loftus, and then you get indignant when we accuse you guys of a lack of perspective.

Classic.

• 84.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

On current S15 form, the Bok team would look something like this:

1. Coenie
    2. Bismarck
    3. Werner
    4. Eben
    5. Kruger
    6. Brussow
    7. Coetzee
    8. Spies
    9. Hougaard
    10. Goosen
    11. Le Roux
    12. Bosman
    13. Ebersohn
    14. JPP (I know he’s been playing 13)
    15. Viljoen

16. Ralepele
    17. Kitshoff
    18. Bekker
    19. Kolisi
    20. McLoed
    21. Lambie
    22. Taute

I know this won’t be close to the Bok team, but after the first few rounds of the competition, that’s more or less how I rate them.

Not many will agree with Bosman and Ebersohn, but unfashionable as they may be, I reckon they’ve been our best 12 and 13 so far.

• 85.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-77: Point taken, I’ve used that exact line before as once you prove yourself you have to do it again except that people know about you…

But I think the difference with this Stormers pack (And I may sound extremely arrogant here) is that they are all outstanding players, barring Duane and Tian who I think are above-average (Yes I think Brok is outstanding atm). So whereby Cooper and Genia plus Habana in 2006 got smashed because they could be isolated individually you have to take on the entire Stormers pack in targeting them and forwards generally only get better and bigger with age, backs not so much. I mean Etzebeth and Kitshoff are 20!!! Siya is 21! Outrageous…

That said Arno Botha looks to be the business as well as Kruger so no doubt the Bulls will get better as well.

SA rugby looks awesome at the moment barring the Lions although I these injuries have been brutal.

• 86.ufo: Reply to this comment

must also say i like the look of this young tiaan meyer, scrummie for the lions…

reminds me a lot of garth wright….

hope he gets more game time…

• 87.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-86: Indeed, he looks sharp. We need another ten or so sharp looking players though.

• 88.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-70: it’s their democratic right to wave their flags.

• 89.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-83:

It was tongue in cheek yoh you’re one angry bunny this morning, was it something that happened over the weekend perhaps?

• 90.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-80: Agreed I was there no-one had a clue what was happening,

Lets move to Cape Town Stadium

• 91.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-83: Did you not read the last part of my post? Largely a joke but actually…

I think we will secure a home semi and I form that opinion with perspective based on facts. We secure it last year and our form and players are better this year. The Australian conference is in tatters with the Reds and the Tahs nowhere to be seen and the New Zealand conference is incredibly competitive whereas we only have to really compete with the Bulls (I don’t rate the Sharks). We should beat the Force and the Reds and probably secure at least bonus points against the Saders and Landers on our tour to set up a good run in. Obviously away games against the Sharks and Cheetahs will be tough but I would still put us favourites. Only at Loftus would it be a dodgy call to punt us as favourites thus…

By securing the home semi we can throw the Loftus game. If by throw we mean rest our players, give fringe players a chance, and be sneaky in not allowing the Bulls who will probably be in the play-offs themselves, to get a confidence boost by beating us at home while denting ours at the same time.

Logic.

• 92.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-88: Never said it wasn’t, means I have to tolerate, not like it?

It’s Hellen Zille’s right to call Black people from the Eastern Cape refugees, still pisses me off.

• 93.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

So according to Gavin Rich the Stormers team who beat the Bulls by one penalty at home, is awesome.

So if that penalty had gone the other way, and the Bulls had drawn with the Stormers away from home, would that make the Bulls awesome then, and the Stormers poor?

These superlatives are simply thrown around way too quickly by passion blinded “journalists”.

The Stormers won a hard fought game, that could have gone either way, and the Bulls will probably do the same once they meet at Loftus.

Does that make the one team awesome and the other not? Clearly not.

I just have to wonder about these partisan scribes, and what they actually add to the game.

• 94.ufo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-87:

yeah… injuries hit lions hard… tough situation to be in… i feel for the players, management and supporters…

silver lining is unearthing young talent…

meyer’s definitely one to watch though…

• 95.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-93:

You only take ”these partisan scribes” serious when they’re writing positives about the Bulls.

• 96.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-93: Hey, get over it already. your team didn’t win end of. console yourself with the fact that the stormers will not win the S15. i’m sure the Bulle will be snorting, come the return match.

• 97.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-80:

yeah… we had no clue what was happening for that moment of silence… didn;t hear any announcement in the excitement of the build-up… think people were so primed for the game they just wanted it to start already… nothing malicious about it… but can see it sounded bad on tv…

i hate the booing too… wish they would ask for silence or get some campaign going to get the crowd to shut up during kicks…

like at croke park… pretty impressive how they go tjoepstil when whoever kicks…

• 98.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-66: i don’t support their matches and will only go to newlands or any other saffa ground if my beloved crusaders and world champion all black team plays.in any case living in europe i don’t have much time attending games as i normally holiday or visit euro countries like france,germany etc ,etc in my spare time.hopefully i will be in south africa this year to welcome the world champs to african soil. :D

• 99.Hoops: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-93:

You are a sad sad person indeed!

• 100.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

• 101.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@Bagel(Bagel)-92: i don’t see anything wrong in zille’s statement.the statement should be seen in the context it was made.you people are way too sensitive down there in the republic.

• 102.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

On the subject of booing.

Did you guys see how Butch James was boo’ed at Ellis Park on Saturday after he stuffed the final kick?

Them boys were NOT happy.

At

All.

• 103.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-93: it seems you on;y “wonder abput scribes” when the heap praise on other teams but lap it up when it is the bulls getting written up.

just the other day u were like a love-crazed school girl over comments made by keo

“The Bulls are playing with expression and belief, and incumbent Bok flyhalf Morné Steyn has profited from the bulldozing dominance of his team-mates in contact and at the set piece.

Steyn is showing that he can control a game with more than his boot.

To convince me that it can be any other way, the Stormers have to change the way they win games and the Lions have to start winning some games. Ditto the Cheetahs and Sharks.

As for the Bulls … don’t change a thing.”

but today there’s no “perspective” :lol:

met eish ja!

• 104.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-101: Agree. I wonder if there’d be such an uproar if she’s put “education refugees” in inverted commas……..

Besides, voting for the ruling party en-masse, then abandoning your province when it collapses under their ‘rule’ for an opposition province, then burning local schools when you get there is just asking for sh*t….

ANC PR rule no 1: Deflect, deflect, deflect

• 105.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-103: lol. Yoh. You are being very unnecessary. :)

• 106.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-104: @CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-101: 100%

It is being milked by the ANC fot their own gain, that’s just politics.

The Eastern Cape is so removed from the Western Cape in terms of Governance that it may as well be a different planet, never mind a different country.

• 107.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-104: absolutely.it fills me with pride returning to the cape once a year and seeing the city and province in such great shape.don’t tolerate these burning of schools, especially in the wc .

• 108.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-107: …..or the burning of trains.

• 109.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-97: It’s always a few who start the booing, but what really hacks me off is how many people then join in. Do they not have brains of their own?? Just join in blindly, sheesh, it’s such bad sportsmanship

A media campaign would be good. Something like the Imperial ‘I Pledge’ campaign…

Like “I pledge not to be a blind mindless sheep”

• 110.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-103: trans, don’t be following him around. he also doesn’t remember any convo’s where his gravitas has not been imparted, so if he has no recollection of any of it, it’s probably because he couldn’t care less. We should be glad he graces us with his aura.

• 111.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-107: Ja boet, I agree….donner them! They want to make k*k, they must go do it at home. Don;t come and cr*p in our back yard

• 112.Rage: Reply to this comment

Tacitus is one nasty piece of work.The man claims that he only reads certain bloggers’ posts (those who share his views,i.e maak die Bulle almal Bokke).Whenever somebody attempts to engage him in a genuine rugby conversation he resorts to snide remarks.Ou bal you need to get real and realise that in the grand scheme of things your views mean as much as anyone elses on here…FOKOL.Now go on and enjoy this lovely Monday with all the Stormers out there!

• 113.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@Rage(Rage)-112: :D

• 114.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-93: Relax, we had Quintes van Blouwen, what do you expect from journous, objectivety, honesty ?? Then you are looking in vain.

Bulls blew it cause they wanted to intimidate the Stormers youngsters in stead of playing their game ,which they did after half time , it then looked a lot better. They have themselves to blame. Dean was big culprit. Potgieter ans CJ went awol first 40min

• 115.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-109:

absolutely…

we need to chat to jeraldjay… maybe he can put a word in with his company and the union to make newlands a ‘fair fan’ stadium… of iets

if he’s around when i’m not please would someone chat to him…

(i also think it puts way more pressure on kickers when you could hear a pin drop in the stadium…)

• 116.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-104: @stormersboy(stormersboy)-106:

come on. if zille is guilty of anything, it is playing cheap political games about emotive issues.

yes sadtu and the anc have virtually crippled education in the eastern cape BUT that is not the sole reason why people are moving to the western cape! so keep your de-facto prejudices in check :D

as for “abandoning your province when it collapses” hahahaha things ain’t always what they may seem

http://www.businessday.co.za/articles/Content.aspx?id=168653

Farmers truck in newcomers to Grabouw

CAROL PATON
    Published: 2012/03/30 06:55:26 AM

The Western Cape farming town that was last week torn apart by racial violence between coloureds and Africans owes its burgeoning population to farmers who truck in labour from villages in the Eastern Cape.

Fruit farmers in the cluster of Grabouw, Elgin and Villiersdorp, about 100km from Cape Town, recruit about 3000 men and women in January and February every year from the villages.

The casual workers are transported to the fruit farms where they are housed in hostels for the harvesting season.

When the season ends, in May, many migrant workers decide not to return home and set up house in informal settlements.

But, in the following season, farmers in the area say, the newly settled migrants look for better paid and easier work than farm labour, which means the farmers have to begin the recruitment cycle afresh each year.

James Rawbone-Viljoen, who serves on the council of the Elgin, Grabouw, Vyeboom and Villiersdorp Farmers Association, said it contracted with labour brokers who brought people from the Eastern Cape during the harvesting season to live on the farms.

“We provide them with transport and pay their fare from there and back home. But in the end, when people leave, who knows where they go? I have no doubt many stay,” he said.

Mr Rawbone-Viljoen said after the seasonal workers settled in the towns, “they are not really willing to work on farms”.

“So we have got to start again every year and fetch labour from the Eastern Cape.”

Imvusa Recruitment, a labour broking company operating from Grabouw, reports the same trend. “Every year there are new people here. People who have worked on the farms for a year, then look for better work in the packing sheds,” says Imvusa manager Estelle Williams.

“They realise they can earn more, so they go to the orchards for just one year.”

The 2001 census put the population of Grabouw at 21500. Municipal authorities said the town now had more than 50000 residents.

why do they have to “fetch labour” from the eastern cape, are there no people to do the manual work in the cape flats for instance?

• 117.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-84: So your side has only ONe player from a team that is unbeaten and top of the log?

I am starting to to think you hate the Stormers more than Tac…
    On current FORM and not those biased eyes the team should be:
    1. Kitshoff
    2. Chillieboy
    3. Brok the rock
    4. Eztebeth
    5. Bekker
    6. Brussouw
    7. Kolisi
    8. Spies
    9. Hougaard
    10.Goosen
    11.Aplon
    12.JDV
    13 Wynand olivier
    14 Basson
    15. Viljoen

Subs there is so many to pick from!!

• 118.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Deucalion)-5:

You’re such a droogdoos or drycunt.

When the bulls won the 2007 super rugby final you were ranting about how good the bulls are and how they deserved to win etc etc. the fact was that the sharks were leading that game, frans steyn missed a easy kick at goal which would’ve sealed the game. Habana the scored a fortuitist try but still you were gloating like a lamp in the dark or a cheapwhore on the weekend.

What happened to the can of whoopass or maybe piere spies should have played fullback because he ran away from every ruck.

You biased towards the bulls is mind-blowing and actually very embarrassing to read.

If I was you then I would hide my head in the sand like a ostrich.

Ts ts ts :-)

• 119.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Sorry 13. should read Meisiekind…

• 120.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Provvas(Provvas)-117: The team is 22 strong, and I count 4 Stormers. Go back and try again.

Brock? How can you talk about bias?

• 121.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-118: When the bulls lose Tac says but “IF” morne was kicking better.. or “if” they only played in blue…

Just do not come here on a Monday and say “if” when the stormers lose.. o Jinne you will get a good talk over of how you are trying to steer away from the fact that the stormpies are k@k…

• 122.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

you did not need to be a rocket scientist to have known that transformation would come out fighting to protect his precious ec. :D ANC politicians in the ec should stop lining their pockets full of mandelatjies and start fulfilling their mandate given to them by the electorate……one should think that,since 1994, those pockets must be bursting at the seams now or is it a case of extremely deep pockets?

• 123.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@Provvas(Provvas)-121: He used to disappear when the bulls lost a game. He was like Houdini in his prime, could escape any situation.

I wish he would start doing that again ;-)

• 124.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-120: You are one of those like in the media that gives all the credit for the stormers forwards to Kitshoff, tiann etc, but Brok makes out a major part of that succes in recent years actually.. and his workrate is much better than Werner’s… he also do not give away half as much penalties as Mr Kruger does…

16. Bismark Du Plessis
    17. DP Oosthuizen
    18. Juandre Kruger
    19. Duane Vermeulen
    20. Sarel Pretorius
    21. Pat Lambie
    22. Lwazi Mvovo

• 125.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Provvas(Provvas)-124: Don’t tell me what I’m like when you have no idea. I have never credited Tiaan or Brock with anything because I think they’re not the big contributors to the success. Kitshoff, Etzebeth, Bekker, Kolisi and Vermeulen are the stand-out players in the Stormers pack.

• 126.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@Provvas(Provvas)-124: You must be joking? brok harris is the weaklink in our tight five. werner kurger murdered him on saturday, i spoke to stormer on the weekend and he said that if carstens wasnt injured then he would be starting

• 127.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-125: SNAP :-)

• 128.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-125: Ja Katman that is exactly what you read on some other sport site isn’t it?

• 129.ufo: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-125:
    @Provvas(Provvas)-124:

Brok Harris Werner Kruger

Games 5 5
    Minutes played 262 387
    Tackles made 34 27
    Tackles missed 0 4
    Minutes/Tackle 7,71 14,33
    Runs 12 9
    Metres/Run 5,83 3,44
    Rucks/Mauls 12 7
    Penalties 1 7

• 130.Hoops: Reply to this comment

Ok….to all those Bulls supporters blaming Craig…here is a deal….. Since you scored two tries and we only one and we had 15/9 penalties…..you can have the win and the 4 log points…….BUT….then we want the 2010 Title since then Craig cost us that final….when we scored 2 tries to your 1 and the penalty count was like one zillion /6….DEAL?????

• 131.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-129: Thank you !!

Although I am not a great believer in stats… this confirms that he does do a lot of work around the park, and not getting the credit for it… I stand by the other bloggers saying he is too much in the 10/12 channel, but that can be rectified…

• 132.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Provvas(Provvas)-128: What you on about, poepol? What sites? Those are my words. Why would I feel the need to secretly quote someone else? Come on, try and keep up with the grown ups here.

• 133.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-129:

Interesting, but still question the use of stats to prove whose better or maybe the stats need to be more in depth.

Tackles made – did the player drive the opposition back or simply just held on?

Tackles missed – was there an overlap or somebody failing do complete a player causing him to miss his opponent?

Runs/Meters I’m okay with

Rucks, Mauls – how effective was the player’s contribution at ruck, did he clean out or assist a turnover or did he simple just arrive there and held his ground?

Penalties is okay is well.

• 134.Hoops: Reply to this comment

I actually think Spies is getting back to old form…what is concerning is he is too a nice guy to ref up the boys when it is needed or cool them down which was needed with Juandre and “Maak ‘n plan” Greyling. (Mcguyver)

• 135.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-115:
    Point taken ufo. This is definately an valid issue that has to be addressed.

Booing only started around 2005. Pisses me off. Watched the game with my brother from Aus. He emmigrated in 2003 and said that Newlands had a proud history of never booing the kicker.

• 136.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Bringing up the ref again… the stats for the stormers with Craig Joubert asref now reads 2 / 7..
    28.5%….even if the stormers were to win the next three games with Craig as ref would it get to a 5/ 10 situation….. Ons win does not make me believe he favours the stormers..

• 137.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

I saw Brok getting bent in the scrum, and I saw him making plenty of tackles in the flyhalf channel, where he also fcked up more than one promising attack.

• 138.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-130:

In your opinion, who will win the competition this year?

• 139.Hoops: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-132:

Bullman….how far are you from converted now that your team will be out of S15 very soon….very soon indeed……

I see you are trying hard to pull in the bulls supporters so that you can justify yourself next year shouting for the pink team!

• 140.loyalty counts: Reply to this comment

“South African teams need to play with more skill and less reliance on physicality and penalty kicks” Given the performance of the Sharks and the Cheetahs on their travels and the form of the Bulls and Stormers when is Keo going to eat humble pie and admit this article was just so more of his Aussie / Kiwis are always better/smarter/fitter rubbish! It is only going to get worse when Stormers / Bulls go overseas Keo!

• 141.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-132: Hahaha I merely pointed out that you say exactly what the main stram media says.. it is mos the obvious statement to make… although it was your “own” words….

Name calling is not giving you anymore credit out here…

• 142.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Provvas(Provvas)-131:
    @wpstormerbok(wpstormerbok)-133:

of course… and i agree that stats are not everything… and would be great if more in depth…

but these are the available stats… and they are not just opinion or perception… and i don’t believe more in-depth stats would suddenly swing things around the other way…

fact is… brok puts in way more effort around the park than werner…

period…

• 143.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-139: Bullman, hey? Old provvas nearly choked on his Pimms and Lemonade because I could only find space for four Stormers players in my Super15 Form 22. But you’ll notice there are only 5 Bulls players there. Not all that much in it, wouldn’t you say?

• 144.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@Provvas(Provvas)-128: katman is a closet bull supporter.he and tac have been crying into their pink undies since saturday night.on a serious note,they are not worth the trouble.

• 145.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-138: How can one call the winner in beginnig of April??

I would think the stormers are doing well, but calling a winner right now is a bit far ahead of the play offs….. lets see how another top of the table clash goes on Saturday…

• 146.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-135:

cool bud…

if your guys and the union could come up with something would be awesome…

thanks for taking the point…

• 147.Hoops: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-138:
    I think the Stormers have a good chance, and not because they are so great but because the big contenders from previous seasons are not 100% there.

Crusaders are always in the running but this year might be one too far…..Bulls have too much young stars but will maybe get knocked out in play off away from Loftus.

The Chiefs have made finals before but with tight games they might come up short like they did when the Bulls brought too much brawn in that final.

The Stormers did lose their finals and semis now previously but I think they learned a lot from it like the bulls did the two years before they won the first cup!

• 148.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-122:i can only assume that you either cannot read or are being purposefully obtuse but i’m leaning on the former ;)

• 149.Provvas: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-142: Jip… I have always rated Brok the rock!!

• 150.Hoops: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-143:
    I was not even commenting on the team….just a cheap stab at what must be some serious worries for your union and teams prospects of making the S15 next year. Not only is financial burden keeping you back but also your team is not performing with all the injuries……..and not having the finance there is no real depth to fall back on….vicious circle!

I do feel for you though…..the stormers missed a super rugby in the nineties and that was bad enough……

• 151.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-147:

I agree, the Stormers are the team to beat this year. They need to end top of the log though, otherwise a final away could be to much.

• 152.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Provvas(Provvas)-149:

i’ve always liked him as a person… and a player… he’s not your usual domkrag prop… but fans love to hate him… have often said he’d do better if he went to the sharks or bulls… suddenly EVERYONE would rate him…

i know only a few people do rate him… and he most probably won’t be a bok… but i just put that stats up to show that… no matter what anyone says… he is one of the hardest working tight heads around… for time on the park he makes 2 tackles for every one of werner kruger…

the only two that come close are wp nel and frans malherbe…

• 153.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

no one blogger should have a monopoly on cut and paste. :D Maybe Zille had a point afterall.unlike transformation i will let people make up their own minds on this issue.

News | Features
    The story of an ‘education refugee’
    2012-04-01 10:00
    Share EmailPrint

Jeanne van der Merwe

Softly spoken and confident, with a ready smile and hopes of studying computer science or civil engineering at university next year, Lwando Buwa (19) is one of Cape Town’s fortunate township matrics.

Buwa’s excellent marks in mathematics earned him a place at the Centre of Science and Technology (Cosat).

Cosat is an award-winning school in Khayelitsha that hand-picks promising pupils and offers intensive teaching in maths, science and technology – all with a view to shepherding them towards tertiary education.

Buwa is not only a top student, he is what Western Cape Premier Helen Zille might call an “education refugee”.

Zille infuriated many when she suggested that pupils moving from the Eastern Cape to the province she runs were “educational refugees” in search of better schooling opportunities.

Her use of the word “refugees” angered many, who argued that it turned South African citizens into outsiders in their own country. Buwa, though, is pragmatic.

“If I stayed in the Eastern Cape, I would not have ended up here, that’s for sure,” he says pensively, looking around at the well-stocked shelves of the school’s library.

Born in Centane in the rural Eastern Cape near Butterworth, he arrived in Khayelitsha in 2005.
    His school career, until then, had been patchy at best. He dropped out repeatedly and often skipped school with his friends to avoid tackling the long, tiring journey to class.

“In Centane it was hard to go to school because the school was so far away and I couldn’t get up early enough,” he recalls.

“I went for Grades 1, 2 and 3, but then I started losing interest. The walk was long and tiring. So in Grade 5 I stopped.

“I changed to another school that was nearer to my village, but this school was still far away and you had to cross a river to get there. In September, when the rains started, I stopped going. The other guys I went to school with stopped, and so did I.”

He relocated to Ikwezi Park in Khayelitsha, joining his mother, who had moved to Cape Town to work.

“In Cape Town, I don’t know what happened, but I started liking school very much. From 2005 I had no absent days and no late days.”

Buwa knows about the “refugee” spat, but isn’t sure what all the fuss is about.

“I think it’s good to go to a place where you can get more knowledge about life, and where you can get more education than before.”

Not having command of English was his biggest problem when he first arrived in Cape Town because “in Centane, they were not teaching us in English”.

“We would read an English story, but then they would explain the story to us in Xhosa. They were not preparing us for university. Here they teach us in English.”

He visits family in Centane each year and has kept track of his peers in the area.

“Most people my age are not in school. They drop out at around Grade 8. If you go to school alone and you see your peers not going, it would be hard for you to go. By going to school you might be making yourself look better than them, so then you drop out too.”

According to education department statistics, school enrolments in the Western Cape rose by 17 900 this year.

Western Cape Education Department spokesperson Paddy Attwell said registration figures suggested that migration from the Eastern Cape had “contributed significantly” to the rise in the province’s school-going population.

“Learners from the Eastern Cape account for about 44% of the learners who registered for the first time for Grades 1 to 12 in 2012 on our Central Education Management Information System.

“They represent 77.9% of the learners who registered for the first time from other provinces, followed by Gauteng (with 5.3%) and the Northern Cape (with 2.7%).”

• 154.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Well done Lwando Buwa, good on you. Study hard and earn a good living.

• 155.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-153: How exactly does this impact on the Super15?

• 156.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-155: just as much as the lions impact on the super15 this year…….then you probably know that already hey!! :D

• 157.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Ok so as i do, here is Rugby365.com’s team of the week:

Team of the Week – Round Six:

15 – Ben Smith (Highlanders):
    He is showing why he displaced Joe Rokocoko in the All Black team in 2009. If he carries on in this vein, he will certainly add to his two Test caps.
    Bubbling under: Riaan Viljoen (Sharks)

14 – Odwa Ndungane (Sharks):
    He may have his detractors, especially those who mock him about his supposed lack of pace, but go have a look at Riaan Viljoen’s second try – while most players will sprint headlong without looking, he knew the cover was coming and then cleverly headed back to his support, which ensured the opportunity was not lost. And please have a look at his workrate as well.
    Bubbling under: Sean Maitland (Crusaders)

13 – Richard Kahui (Chiefs):
    His combination with Sonny Bill Williams is working a charm for the Chiefs. Don’t be surprised if they are the All Blacks’ starting centres this year.
    Bubbling under: Robert Ebersohn (Cheetahs)

12 – Jean de Villiers (Stormers):
    He’s also had to cope with a lot of criticism in recent years, but the Bok veteran showed there is plenty of life left in his legs.
    Bubbling under: Sonny Bill Williams (Chiefs)

11 – Zac Guildford (Crusaders):
    He has overcome all his demons and are playing the rugby that can make him a regular starter for the All Blacks.
    Bubbling under: Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks)

10 – Johan Goosen (Cheetahs):
    This young man may be raw, very raw, but he is the entire package.
    Bubbling under: Aaron Cruden (Chiefs)

9 – Aaron Smith (Highlanders):
    Keeping veteran Jimmy Cowan on the bench tackles some doing, but he is showing why he was talked about as a future All Black after playing for NZ Maori in 2010.
    Bubbling under: Brendan McKibbin (Waratahs)

8 – Kane Thompson (Chiefs):
    Plenty of carries and a high tackle count in a game where the Chiefs pack gradually wore down the opposition.
    Bubbling under: Nasi Manu (Highlanders)

7 – David Pocock (Western Force):
    At least this week he got rewarded with a win for putting his body on the line for his team’s cause.
    Bubbling under: Willem Alberts (Sharks)

6 – Adam Thomson (Highlanders):
    Jamie Joseph will have to manage him carefully, because he is invaluable to the team. You could clearly see the difference between the previous week’s defeat and the win at the weekend.
    Bubbling under: Heinrich Brüssow (Cheetahs)

5 – Nathan Sharpe (Western Force):
    Like Pocock, he was rewarded for another stand-out performance with a convincing win over the defending champions.
    Bubbling under: Juandré Kruger (Bulls)

4 – Eben Etzebeth (Stormers):
    Go measure your Springbok blazer young man!
    Bubbling under: Toby Lynn (Western Force)

3 – WP Nel (Cheetahs):
    There is no reward like a try for a hard-working prop.
    Bubbling under: Patric Cilliers (Lions)

2 – Chiliboy Ralepelle (Bulls):
    He made another emphatic statement about his Springbok aspirations this year.
    Bubbling under: Bismarck du Plessis (Sharks)

1 – Coenie Oosthuizen (Cheetahs):
    This is a prop that has it all – he can scrum, turn over ball, cleans rucks and have a mean step … when he doesn’t run over the opposition.
    Bubbling under: Steven Kitshoff (Stormers)

Our individual selections!

Paul Dobson XV: 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Pat McCabe, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Brendan McKibbin, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 David Pocock, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.

Timmy Hancox XV: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Richard Kahui, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Nasi Manu, 7 David Pocock, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 WP Nel, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.

Len Kaplan XV: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Dom Shipperley, 13 Richard Kahui, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Keegan Daniel, 7 David Pocock, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.

Michael de Vries XV: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Richard Kahui, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kane Thompson, 7 David Pocock, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Patric Cilliers, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.

Jan de Koning XV: 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 WP Nel, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.

• 158.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I included the individual scribes’ selections, as I expect some argument.

• 159.Hoops: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-151:

Look…I’m the first to say i am not counting any chickens yet….but the rest of the comp is not so dominant as previous years.

I agree…we need home semi and final and go in as favs….because last year no one gave the stormers scrum any credit and we got nailed in the semi unfairly I believe. Most muppits will now jump at that suggestion but it is how I feel.

With more people seeing hoe we scrum they will give us credit and we will get the 50/50 calls, which we never got before.

But there is a massive tour ahead of us and we need at least 50% from it to be in it. The bookies got the Saders as favs and then stormers…got to count for something!

• 160.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

odwa….reallly!! better than sean maitland?de koning must have been smoking the good stuff early this monday morning.

• 161.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Just saw Keohane stuffing his face at Crave

• 162.cane: Reply to this comment

This from Keo above:

“Elsewhere, the Cheetahs produced the most inspired performance in their Super Rugby history to turn a 32-11 deficit after 25 minutes into a 47-38 win against the Hurricanes in Wellington, and complete their most successful Super Rugby overseas adventure.”

Actually ………………………………….the Cheats first ever win in NZ.

So WHY was this achievement, not worthy of it’s Own Thread.

Are the Cheetahs something lessor than The Bullies, Guppies and Brokebacks?

Only fit for a paragraph at the bottom of a Bulls thread.

If The Big Guy Upstairs is a true Rugby Fan………………………………………………….no way is Keo getting through those Pearly Gates.

• 163.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-162: Cheetahs threads on this site rarely get more than 15 – 20 responses, tops.

Which is sad, to be sure, but it obviously is of nothing more than a passing interest to those who read this site ;)

• 164.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-162: Keo lives in Cape Town, supports the Bulls and has a financial interest in Luke Watson’s career. Therefore expecting articles that aren’t about the Stormers, Bulls or Kings is most unrealistic. Last week’s Sharks flurry is hard to explain.

That Cheetahs game was sublime though.

• 165.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-164: One of the best games i’d watched in a long time.

• 166.cane: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-163:

Again……………………”the most inspired performance in their Super Rugby history”

That is one hell of a statement.

If the most inspired 80 minutes of Cheats Rugby ever, is not worth it’s own thread, then little wonder few Cheetahs Supporters bother to post here.

• 167.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs are leaking to many tries. There must be a balance between attack and defence

• 168.cane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-164: @stormersboy(stormersboy)-165:

I only caught a highlights package at the end of week 6.

But f**k me there were some great tries last weekend.

• 169.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-168: ja I saw most of the games, it was a good weekend indeed.

• 170.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-168: 32 all at half time tells a story.

• 171.ufo: Reply to this comment

watched all the games this weekend… that cheetahs game was the best game of the weekend and will be rated oner of the best games of the season by any neutrals…

and yes it was inspirational….

the canes had got a bonus point try before the cheetahs had even scored… and then the cheetahs came back to win it…

certainly a comeback of note…

and yes… deserves a thread of it’s own…

• 172.GreenFan: Reply to this comment

There is only one side that has a realistic shot at lifting the S15 trophey at the end of this year. And its not the Stormers.

Unfortunately I think the Bulls lack of experience and Morne Steyns “yips” will probably mean no S15 title for SA this year, but if that side can stay together a year or two they will take on all comers.

Cape fans can talk about how they outplayed the Bulls all they like. Doesn’t make it true. They one on the scoreboard but thats about it.

• 173.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@CAPECRUSADER(CAPECRUSADER)-153: hahaha nice story, well done lwando, the smarts to learn are never lacking in this part of the world!

now that you’ve proved you can clearly read, try comprehending what is written.

At no point did i say people don’t move from the EC to WC, it urbanisation, nothing new about that hence you find that Lwando’s mother left to find work in cape town before lwando’s studies defaulted.

in Grabouw where the violence broke out, the people who have moved from the EC are NOT all there as so-called “education refugees”, the labour system practiced by the farmer there has more of an influence than the failure of the education system in the EC.

ps no one indeed has any monopoly on cutting and pasting on this blog, except maybe stormersboy, with his team of the week pastes :razz:

• 174.GreenFan: Reply to this comment

and one was supposed to be won………

• 175.cane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-164:

Okay,

That accounts for Keo’s self interest.

But what about ………………………………………..JC……………………………………Ryan……………………………..Simon…………………………………………….and Sir Gareth.

Do none of these Gents, (a term I use loosely), value their reputations as ground level, salt of the earth Reporters.

• 176.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

My Superbru picks is standing at 60.98%. Tough this year.

• 177.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-175: They’re simply the worker elves. Santa Keo calls the shots. Ho ho fcken ho.

• 178.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Grant’s limitations as a tactical kicker is affecting Duvenhage’s game, which will be the major issue going forward.

And creativity on attack is a non issue as I feel it will eventually materialise.

• 179.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@cane(cane)-162:

I believe the Free State beat the Highlanders in 1996 or 1997? Quite a big score too if I am not mistaken…

• 180.grunk: Reply to this comment

I really didn’t see any side “getting bullied” on Saturday. I saw the Stormers getting away with a couple of scrums where they – not the Bulls should have been penalised – and in fact were generally overshadowed in the scrums which caused them to get less playable ball than the Bulls. However in the tight loose the Stormers pack were definitely better than the Bulls. With the Bulls backs playing better as a unit, I reckon the Stormers were actually a little lucky to win this one and my prior comments that the Stormers pack looks a bit special will require further substantiation at the set pieces before I am proved correct on that score.

As for Keohane’s comments regarding JdeV, I don’t know where he’s coming from. JdeV is the standout 12 in SA if not the whole Super15 and he look like he’s definitely playing his part as captain superbly. If he’s only good defensively, then I wonder who it was that single-handedly scored that great try the other week?

And I agree about the Cheetahs – and ask the question as well as to why Ashley Johnson wasn’t picked anywhere as being the best 8th Man on show for the weekend?

Just another bit regarding the Stormers – at last de Jongh has started putting his hand up again.

• 181.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-178: interesting theory. how did you figure that out? why would the better of the 2 tactical kickers have an effect on the worse one. in case you are wondering. Duvenhage’s tactical kicking needs a kick in the arse.

• 182.Bokbafana: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-157: This from planet rugby!!

Some strange selections…who is Adam Kyriacou???

Team of Round 6

15 Ben Smith (Highlanders) – In the first game of the weekend, Smith was a constant threat from the back in Invercargill as he cut lines all day. Two tries went his way but it was how he seemingly glided across the turf that sees him pip Riaan Viljeon and goal-kicking full-back Dave Harvey.

14 Kade Poki (Highlanders) – Having suffered for a long time with a niggling knee injury, it was good to see Poki coming back to something near his best form on Friday. The former Crusader has the ability to beat a man even when space suggests it would be nigh on impossible and is blending well with Smith and Hosea Gear.

13 Nick Cummins (Western Force) – What a wise move it was from Richard Graham to bring in Cummins from wing for their clash with the Reds. Cummins has been restricted somewhat on the touchline and on Saturday we saw just how devastating he can be.

12 Andries Strauss (Cheetahs) – Arguably the toughest selection in our list as few put their hands up except for Strauss, who backed up last week’s strong showing with another impressive effort at Westpac Stadium. We are still bemused why the Sharks let him go.

11 Julian Savea (Hurricanes) – We come to the cushion of Hosea Gear’s departure from Wellington. Savea has been superb for the ‘Canes throughout the early season and once again demonstrated how powerful he is, against the Cheetahs. Unfortunate to lose.

10 Beauden Barrett (Hurricanes) – What can we say about this young man? Once more he directed traffic in a manner beyond his years and then chucked in another play of the week with a fine solo try that saw him beat four tacklers. If he carries on like this then look out DC.

9 Brett Sheehan (Western Force) – As one Australian commentator put it, “Sheehan is getting better with age”. We couldn’t agree more. The 32-year-old number nine helped dog out a memorable victory over the Reds and starred from start to finish for his side.

8 Keegan Daniel (Sharks) – He has the whole package. As we all know, this man tackles, runs and leads from the front but against the Brumbies, Daniel stood out in the turnover department. According to our stats he made three along with nine tackles and six carries.

7 Willem Alberts (Sharks) – Alberts is a brute of a man and carried superbly for the Sharks in Canberra. Nailed on starter for South Africa right now as Schalk Burger nurses his knee.

6 Adam Thomson (Highlanders) – First name on the list after his hat-trick. Need I say more?

5 Nathan Sharpe (Western Force) – Despite the end being in sight, Sharpe shows little signs of slowing down as he put in another typically Sharpe-esque performance. Always on hand for a carry and secure in the line-out, the Wagga Wagga lock topped it all off with a try.

4 Steven Sykes (Sharks) – It looks like Sykes is lapping up being back from Leinster and once again slipping into a Sharks jersey. He made ten tackles against the Brumbies but it was his general play around the field that impressed us most. A mention – yet again – for Stormers hard man Eben Etzebeth who continues to outshine lock mate Andries Bekker.

3 Ben Alexander (Brumbies) – Dan Palmer’s absence meant that Alexander had to shift from loosehead to tighthead this past week, and to make our XV says plenty of the man. He was tireless again for the Brumbies, putting in eight go-forwards and seven tackles.

2 Tiaan Liebenberg (Stormers) – And so we arrive at the hotly contested hooking position. Chiliboy Ralepelle, Stephen Moore, Adriaan Strauss and also Dane Coles pushed for the jersey but for a hungry performance at Newlands, try-scorer Liebenberg edges the quartet.

1 Coenie Oosthuizen (Cheetahs) – Up against the Chiefs top try-scorer, Sona Taumalolo, but in truth there was little doubt where our final shirt was headed. Oosthuizen has been a rock for the Cheetahs and after being on the bench a week ago, he returned with a bang.

Compiled by Adam Kyriacou

• 183.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Bokbafana(Bokbafana)-182:

Interesting.

Every one sees what they want to I suppose.

• 184.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Bokbafana… Planet rugby is an Aussie or NZ site so must be from there…

• 185.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Bokbafana(Bokbafana)-182: Sykes?

Don’t think so.

• 186.Bokbafana: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-185: agreed…Eben has marked that spot as his!!!

• 187.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Bokbafana(Bokbafana)-186: Sykes did Ok this weekend but let’s face it, he’s coming off a pretty low base.

Eben was immense on Saturday, and has been consistently so.

• 188.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-181:
    Because of Grant’s weakness as a tactical kicker, Duvenhage’s taking most of the responsibility on his shoulders. Now the opposition is expecting Duvenhage to kick and his gameplan has become more predictable.

Just my opinion.

• 189.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

That Etzebeth kid is built like a brick shithouse. Looks pretty imposing.

• 190.nama1: Reply to this comment

@sonofgun(sonofgun)-81:
    Chilliboy has be outplaying Bissie since the start of the competition. Did you watch them when they went head-to-head in the 1st round of the competition?

I don’t agree with people who punt for Chilli to be made captain. Let him, Bissie, Stauss and Liebenberg battle it out for the two hooker spots in the team. Making him captain will just put undue pressure on him and I can already see the quota tag being hung around his neck while his current form suggests that he will be anything but a quota if he is selected as 1st choice hooker right now.

• 191.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-188: can’t agree. duvenhage’s only kick is the box-kick. he doesn’t have the vision or ability to execute any others. His general play is poor as is his option taking. And please don’t tell me about his speed of service.

• 192.nama1: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-191:
    … or his bullet pass.

DD will be our downfall. We need to get a better scrumhalf and quick if we want to pull through.

Where is that boy from the Ikeys? (Wise or something, not really sure.) He was not so bad and with experience, I think he’ll be better that DD and his current understudy.

• 193.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-191: plus duvenhage only kicks with his left foot! no variation.

• 194.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-190: The real form hooker in SA (not to say that Chiliboy and Bissy aren’t on form, because they are both playing well, especially Chiliboy) is Adriaan Strauss. He has been sensational week in week out. South Africa has an insane level of depth at hooker and hopefully will now be selecting on merit, which will mean all will get better with competition, as long as they all get a fair chance, which didn’t happen in the past.

• 195.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-190:
    Chiliboi intimidated the Stormers!
    They needed Joubert to win
    On the more serious note, the Stormers backs aren’t a factor, it was worth watching how the Cheetahs backs did the demolition job on the Canes to realise what a potent back line can do in the up tempo’s Super Rugby competition!

• 196.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-192:

The UCT player is Nic Groom- he is a much more abrasive type of player than Duvenhage and Schreuder but his kicking game is not as good as theirs. As Jeraldjay has pointed out the lack of a kicking game by Peter Grant is forcing AC to select a good kicking scrumhalf to “cover” for Grant.

As a newspaper journo wrote this weekend a good balanced team needs “artists” and “clerks” but to have two “clerks” in the vital no 9 and 10 positions will probably not win cups at this level.

Just imagine what this team will do if they had a player like Barrett or even Jantjes at no 10.

• 197.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Well done Stormers ! and to the cheetha’s , good good rugby from them. The best game of the weekend in my eyes. Take my hat off to the players and the coaching team. I think we will see more of them when they come back.

Stormers still long road ahead. As Keo said , the backline still not op to scratch. Forwards proved themselves so far and looking forward to see how they do overseas.

• 198.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-194:
    Difficult to choose between them, Strauss is more of a leader from the front and a better hooker and better scrumming technique, but Bissie owns the opposition now, you can see him enjoying so much playing without Smit and the Beast

• 199.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-173: The ANC is miffed at losing the province to the DA and are trying everything in their power – and we can see that they’re trying every dirty trick in the book – to regain it. That uneducated buffoon Trevor Manuel can go establish an “education” forum where its needed. He must still be made accountable for signing off the arms deal the d00s!

• 200.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

I see lots and lots of Stormers articles, and a few less Bulls articles.

Where are the Sharks, Cheetahs and Lions articles?

Helloooooo? The Sharks and the Cheetahs had good wins too…

• 201.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Pee Wee: where does this comment fit in the context of what we’re talking about here? :???:

• 202.blue and white stripes: Reply to this comment

15. Taute
    14. Aplon
    13. De Jong
    12. Steyn
    11. Hougaard (looked ordinary over the weekend but is class)
    10. Goosen, jou doring
    9. Pretorius
    8. Coetsee (Spies getting there)
    7. Alberts
    6. Brussouw (Kolisi on his heels)
    5. Bekker (Kruger close 2nd but had to go with the combo)
    4. Etzebeth
    3. Cilliers
    2. Ralepelle (If he was white I’d still select him ahead of Bissy)
    1. Oosthuizen (Kitshoff in the mix)

• 203.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-195: @Hondo(Hondo)-198:
    The Cheetahs backs have always been very good. They don’t have any choice but to play with their backs since their forwards can’t seem to dominate their opposition even though they usually have very good front row players as well as good loose forwards. I guess their lack of quality locks are their down fall.

In any case, they return to SA with 11 points out of a possible 20. A very good return indeed. They set the bar quite high for teams like the Pink Bulls and the Sharks when they go overseas. That amount of points are about par for Stormers the last few years on tour.

“Strauss is more of a leader from the front and a better hooker and better scrumming technique,…”

…and then we also know that Bissie is not that great with his throwing in the line outs.

So, if Strauss is better than him on the basics of hooker play and Chilliboy is outplaying him currently, doesn’t that make Bissie the 3rd best hooker in the country at the moment? If you then go ahead and select the 3rd best hooker to reward him for having to play behind JS the last few years, doesn’t that make Bissie a quota? :lol:

@Robzim(Robzim)-196:
    Nick Groom, yes.

I believe kicking is a much easier skill to learn than an abrasive attitude. :wink:

• 204.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-200:

I think the lesser teams will get their chance tomorrow.

Monday is usually and deservedly so for the big boys, Tuesday for the mid table strugglers like the Sharks, Wednesday for the Lions and Thursday and Friday for the top guns again.

The Cheetahs might get a bonus article this week though, so maybe they will feature Tuesday and Wednesday.

• 205.ufo: Reply to this comment

Does PinkBull give you Wiiiiiiiins….?

• 206.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-204:
    Hahahaha.

Really funny. :lol:

• 207.carol: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-206:
    Funniest man in Durbanville!! :-)

• 208.JL1: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-207: Hi Carol, had any snow yet?

Seems weather will change from sublime to su-sht

• 209.Dawn: Reply to this comment

“Lesser teams”!!!!!!!

Now you gonna make him mal.

• 210.JL1: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-207: So your Bulls team got a hiding on Saturday? you should support the Stormers

• 211.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-204: Not that any of these articles matter, are read, or are of any quality….

You could just do a headline like…

“Luke signs for the Bulls….” Discuss..

And then open the comments box

• 212.carol: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-208:
    Well if we have snow I now have a new JCB Loadall on the farm so at least we can dig our way out this time!!

@JL1(JL1)-210:
    Didn’t the Bulls look wonderful in pink? I think it was a great move. Spies wore it particularly confidently I thought!!

Winning/loosing…hey ho, it is just a game!! :lol:

• 213.JL1: Reply to this comment

@blue and white stripes(blue and white stripes)-202: Terrible team, absolute terrible

No wonder you support the Sharks, seems you know sweet fnny all of rugby

• 214.JL1: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-212: Hey, Pommie check your spelling, or do like a loose Spies?

I had to dim my brightness on my 55inch LED 3D TV, it was so pink

• 215.JL1: Reply to this comment

@carol(carol)-212: It is just a game? Very English

• 216.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Vol dinge vanaand

• 217.carol: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-214:
    My spelling is very slapdash…..and the Bulls were VERY bright!

Thinking I should mow the grass but you know what….I can’t be arsed!

Looks like you have got your feet up tonight and are in the mood for trouble!! ;-)

• 218.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-209: Lol Dawn, why would that comment make me mal? Rob is clearly looking for a fish to bite and besides, it aint true!

• 219.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Robzim 204 – lmfao! thats funny, but so true!

• 220.blue and white stripes: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-213:
    The team I chose is based on in depth examination of each game played throughout this current season.
    List your team and let’s see if you in actual fact know anything about the game.

• 221.Slappes: Reply to this comment

D@mn, now I have to wait till wednesday for a lions thread. Luv those lions.

• 222.garth: Reply to this comment

My bok picks:
    1. Beast
    2. Biz
    3. Coenie (no one sticking their hand up at 3)
    4. Estebeth
    5. Bekker
    6. Brusouw
    7. Burger
    8. Alberts
    9. Sarel
    10. Goosen (he is the general we have been looking for)
    11. Le Roux
    12. Steyn
    13. Fourie (JDJ is close, but has not been scoring thanks to his inside partner)
    14. Hougaard (a much better player with a little space)
    15. Viljoen

Its strange that we have so many quality looseheads compared to tightheads

• 223.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Stormers sitting nice and pretty. No other team has had so many home games so what a dream of a draw they have had… let’s wait a little first before we make sweeping statements!

Lack of bonus points may yet bite… hard!

• 224.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

55 inch LED TV?

How completely awesome are you?

Living the dream I’m sure.

• 225.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

1-Desre Greyling
    2-Cillygirl
    3-Wendy Kruger
    4-Phyllis v d Merwe
    5-Jenny Kruger
    6-Cindy Stander
    7-Jacky Potgieter
    8-Petro Spies
    9-Francis Hougaard
    10-Molly Steyn
    11-Blommetjie Basson
    12-Winny Olivier
    13-Johanna Sadie
    14-Aikona Ndungane
    15-Zelda Kirchner

• 226.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-223:

Nice home games to start off with but a heavy tour schedule. Crusaders in Christchurch must be the most difficult game to win in the competition.

• 227.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-226: I have watched my team play the Crusaders in Chch before. Shall we say they were “out-psyched” even before the kick off. That’s how intimidating the venue but mostly the calibre of the opposition are.

Still, can’t think of a better time to play them. They don’t look as hot this year.

This S15 format is a complete joke. The Sharks don’t even play the Crusaders this year!

• 228.JL1: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-224: Seems I gt a bite, thank you for not disappointing me

• 229.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-227:

Also not so fond of the format. The Australian conference is much weaker than ours or the Kiwi’s. I look at sides like the Force and Rebels , jeez even Griquas’s Currie Cup team in Kimberly would give them a good go.

Sharks in 2006 lost to the Saders in Christchurch to a last minute Carter drop , that’s the closest ive seen a SA side win there of what I can remember. I’m not feeling too confident against them after last year , we saved two of our worst performances for them.

• 230.JL1: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-222: Garth a good team way better than Black and Whites team

• 231.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-229: Rather surprisingly, the Lions have beaten the Crusaders in NZ! 32-31 in Nelson in 2001.

Even more surprisingly, as this was when they couldn’t buy a win at home not to mention away, the Bulls as N Tvl are the only SA team to have beaten the Crusaders in Christchurch. They won 34-18 in 1996, but don’t forget this was the year the Crusaders finished stone last!

@JL1(JL1)-230: if you look again you will see it is “Blue and White Stripes”. How embarrassing.

• 232.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

What an amazing record the Crusaders have! To be able to say they have lost only 2 games at homes since 1996 to a South African team is just incredible.

• 233.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Yoh in 1996 the Sharks smoked the Crusaders 58-26! The Lions smoked them 55-23 that year too.

• 234.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-229: oh and in 1997 the Sharks drew 26-26 with the Crusaders in Christchurch, and the Stormers as WP drew there 16-16 in 1996.

• 235.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

I think JL1 is a few floats short of a parade, a few sandwiches short of a picnic, the lights are on but no-one home and finally……..a few chocolates short of a Easter hamper.

• 236.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Robzim(Robzim)-204: ‘mid-table strugglers’ :lol:

• 237.JL1: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-231: Haha, blue and white, Eish even more tragic, how come he selects some Sharks in that team of his?

• 238.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-235: Ah, at least an opportunity to use all of those in a comment, you life is now complete

• 239.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-238:
    Nothing personal, just having a laugh.

• 240.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-234:

Wow you know your story. Yeah thinking back now in the mid 90′s the Blues were the New Zealand powerhouse team. They gave us a huge beating you probably remember that score too ? Jonah Lomu and that other Fijian wing Joeli Vidiri . eish!!!

• 241.blueboy: Reply to this comment

#225 wp boytjie very funny but you must have been referring to the 2nd raters first half performance where they were on top,and the only reason for that is because our two loosies potgeiter and stander and van der merwe were totally out of it.There was a HUGE improvement from them in the 2nd half and the bulls with 14 men for a while COMPLETELY dominated every facet of the play.The reasons are clear why we did not win the bulls never played as a team for 80 minutes, morne did not kick well and i do not slating referees but AGAIN joubert blew the bulls out of the game,even that last penalty the 2ndraters got according to commentator robbie kempson said it should have been a penalty for the bulls as malherbe scrummed ilegally against greyling,his words not mine.Joubert has really got it in for the bulls and i do not know why,have the bulls pissed him off somehow it is getting bad.

• 242.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-236: Let’s analyse that for a second:

Stormers table finishes:

96 – 11th
    97 – DID NOT QUALIFY!
    98 – 9th
    99 – 2nd
    00 – 5th
    01 – 7th
    02 – 7th
    03 – 9th
    04 – 3rd
    05 – 9th
    06 – 11th
    07 – 10th
    08 – 5th
    09 – 10th
    10 – 2nd
    11 – 2nd

Average – 7th (when they qualified lol!)

Looks rather “mid table” to me :lol:

Can’t argue with facts :lol:

Only a matter of time before the aberration is over and true form is restored :lol:

• 243.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-240: Nah, this is a good website that shows all the results!

http://www.lassen.co.nz/s14tab.php

• 244.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

You’d swear most Stormers fans either have short memories or are toddlers, the way they carry on. Or perhaps they have conveniently “forgotten” their rather mediocre history? ;-) Lol, with that history lesson I’m out, squabble nice!

• 245.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-231:

> Even more surprisingly, as this was when they couldn’t buy a win at home not to mention away, the Bulls as N Tvl are the only SA team to have beaten the Crusaders in Christchurch. They won 34-18 in 1996

They did a bit better in 1996, Northern Transvaal lost the away semi final against the eventual S12 winner Auckland

• 246.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-239: Then we are on the same wave length

• 247.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok(victoriabok)-245: True, the Bulls made the semi, and the Sharks made the final that year.

The Bulls’ woes commenced the very next year:

97 – 8th
    98 – 11th
    99 – 12th
    00 – 11th
    01 – 12th
    02 – 12th

They won a total of 10 games in these 6 years!

• 248.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@blueboy(blueboy)-241:

Oh cheer up Drama Queen , life goes on.

• 249.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-247:

> They won a total of 10 games in these 6 years!

Yes, the professional era hit them without money to pay players’ salaries, that’s why a lot of players went to Louis Luyt’s Transvaal.

NTRU added the Northern stands and with the high inerest rates at the time, rather “borrowed” the money by selling season’s tickets and “losies” for a fixed discounted price for a few years in advance, instead of going to the bank, this meant they had a paid new stand but no money

They only turned it around when the CEO (I think his name was Stefan Pretorius?) hired Heyneke

• 250.JL1: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-248: Hahaha, his life sucks right now, his life lost, got sucker punched, his lie life did not win against the Stormers

• 251.JL1: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok(victoriabok)-249: …is that an excuse?

• 252.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-248:
    Sat next to a Bulls supporter and his wife (dressed in pink).

They were very quite through out the game. But after the try in the corner and Steyn’s successful conversion, this oke went crazy.
    “Die Bulle, My Bulle, ek het julle gese ons gaan hulle opfok”

Loved the look on his face after Grant’s kick……

• 253.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-244:

fair enough , but we have never finished in the bottom 2.

• 254.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-252: hahaha, “Die Bulle, My Bulle,” A classic!!!!!!!!

This bulls team could not beat a Blues team and remind me where are the Blues on the log

• 255.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-252:

priceless!!

In 2009 i hear a Bulls supporter behind me as Kirchner takes a up n under and he shouts “lekka Zane-a” .

30 minutes later Bulls are swinging the ball down the line and it gets to Kirchner and he drops it. I hear a Province fan next to me shout “lekka Zane-a”.

Classic

• 256.JL1: Reply to this comment

“Liefling, kan jy maar nooit vergeet en vergewe?”

• 257.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-254:
    I find it quite odd that the Blues and Crusaders are under performing this season. But they shouldn’t be written off.
    The season is still in its infancy and with the incoming tours interrupting proceedings, I feel some teams are still holding their cards close to their chests.

Time will tell.

• 258.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-242: eina!

• 259.Horings: Reply to this comment

Busy watching the Manu game while remembering what City did to them earlier in the season. How did they come back to lead the league? How did the City supporters react after the old trafford derby? It just shows you how champions always find a way to come out on top and chokers always find a way to implode. Maybe some supporters on this site must remember which team they are supporting. The chokers or the champions?

• 260.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-257: Yes, very true, but you cannot be too far off the pace as you will not make up for lost ground

At this stage lying ing the top 7 and having rotated you squad will be good. I reckon losing flyhalves, props, locks and influential 14s will be costly blows to many a team

• 261.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-260:
    This competition is all about the depth of your squad and whether the inexperienced players can step up to the plate.
    Cant wait to see how Schalk fits into the current Stormers setup when his fit.

Anyway, 2nd half of Man United vs Blackburn is about to start.

Cheers.

• 262.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-251:

Yes, once you’ve lost talent and you’ve got no money to replace it with you’re screwed

If we didn’t have the money to contract new players, after a lot of senior players left at the end of last season, and we played you with Vodacom and U/20 players, could you imagine what would have happened on Saturday?

• 263.Horings: Reply to this comment

I think the English series and Meyer’s selections will have a huge impact on this year’s outcome. If he selects the entire Bulls teams for example it will be a 24 week long tournament. I will be pretty happy if Greyling, Ralepele, Kruger, Flip and Juandre can get a 3 week break after 15 rounds.

• 264.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Yussus… Got to love the windgat brokeback broadcasting…

Going to be heaven on this site when the Stormpoese fall on their collective dutpipes on tour…

And its going to happen…

0 from 4 will be schweet thank you very much….

• 265.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-264: Don’t worry Sharks are still 3rd best in SA

• 266.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

An appropriate Stormerpussy team:

1. Brokeback Floyd
    2. Fisted Floyd
    3. Bay of Pigs Floyd
    4. Farked Floyd
    5. Gangbanged Floyd
    6. Bukakked Floyd
    7. *****’d Floyd
    8. Bottom Floyd
    9. Tranny Floyd
    10. Crossdressed Floyd
    11. Pink Floyd
    12. Donkey drilled Floyd
    13. Deep throat Floyd
    14. Rimmed Floyd
    15. Doggy Floyd…

Just right… Best Stormer team ever….

• 267.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-265: Not for long… After the Stormpussys see their arseholes on tour its going to be very different…

• 268.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Oh wouldn’t it be nice to get on with me neighbours
    But they make it very clear
    They’ve got no room for ragers
    They stop me from groovin’, they bang on me wall
    They doing me crust in, it’s no good at all – ah

There’s no one to hear me, there’s nothing to say
    And no one can stop me from feeling this way – yeah

• 269.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

Stormers sure get the willies up Herr Gonads shorts

poor dearie there is nothing worse in the world to unsettle the poor chap’s metabolism as a Stormers win over the exalted enemy

Bullsharks are simply despicably unhappy at the proposition that Stormers are thus far undefeated.. they simply cannot wait.. and sit in their tail spinning turmoil with baited breath for the ultimate high to their unfulfilled lives.. the day the Stormers lose a game…

which might very well be the very next encounter for Stormpies in Dunedin…. and then again it just as might not … wouldn’t that be a disdainfully bewildering beastly shame..?

• 270.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-269: Ag, msunu wakho kehla…. uyalandela isitabani…

• 271.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Only the Lions and Rebels, in 14th and 15th place, have scored fewer tries than the Stormers.

Wow.

This must be worrying to some, no?

• 272.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Zero bonus points.

The only team not to have one.

• 273.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

rather concern yourselves with your own lucky packet team who were systematically fck’d up by some no name JW student converts only to get lucky.. same way as bully brekers were .. with breakaway tries against the run of play…

Sharkievarkies got a long way to go even to be classified as competitive vs Stormers.. and Bully brekers who thought their farts smelled like pienk pantoffels found out that when it comes down to who are the biggest bruisers in SA rugby.. Bully brekers are not…

So crow all you like about your lucky packet win against the Jakey Fakey Canberra universities team through some shoddy finishing by the students…

Was it not you.. and you … and you… and you … who said only a few measly weeks ago that Sharkievarkies will automatically top the SA log… the SA conference is only between Sharkievarkies and Bully brekers according your esteemed estimation.. No .. ?

• 274.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-264:

I don’t get this hatred of a local Saffa team just cause you from a different city??

What is it? Jelousy? or you just being a faaking doos?

• 275.whatever: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-271:

aaahh f uk, look at the scoreboard……………….

• 276.whatever: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-272:

But top of the table…….neh?

Idiot!

• 277.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Looking forward to the Stormers v Highlanders game this weekend, going to be a good one. Could go either way when you have two teams playing with confidence but home ground advantage may sway it Highlanders way.

• 278.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-277: Highlanders just like everyone else up until now will get beaten up badly up front and get nowhere.

• 279.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Come now Spooner, we expect better from you. For every one of your losing bonus points we have 4 for a win. I think we outh know which is better.

• 280.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-278:
    Will have to wait and see but me thinks Stormers wont know whats hit them come Saturday night, Highlanders by 20

• 281.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira(Te Rangatira)-277: aaron smith vs dewalt duvenhage hehehehe…. it should be a humdinger… i see the Landers have sent an SOS to mike delany.

• 282.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-242:

You are being very embraboer.

Don’t forget the Super 10 beforehand in your “analysis”.

The top three SA provinces from the previous year’s Currie Cup participated.

So in 1993 this was Natal, Transvaal and Northern Transvaal.

In 1994 this was Transvaal, Natal and Eastern Province.

In 1995 it was Transvaal, Western Province and Free State.

(I.e. Natal [b] DID NOT QUALIFY! [/b] in 1995 as you put it)

The Stormers franchise was only created in 1998. In 1996 we still competed as Western Province – and yes, we did miss out on Super Rugby participation in 1997 due to the 1996 Currie Cup results (Western Province had finished third on the B Log and lost in the quarter-finals to a very strong Gauteng Lions, which Natal ended up beating in the 1996 Currie Cup final).

However, the “Stormers” have never missed out on a Super Rugby season. The Stormers were only created in 1998.

• 283.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-272:

And also the only team that is still unbeaten.

Putthatinyourfockinpipeandsmokeit.

• 284.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-282:

Allow me to explain further.

You have to compare the Super 10 (1993 to 1995) and Super 12 (up to 1998) for your comment to hold water that the “Stormers” did not qualify.

Up until 1998 we did not follow the New Zealand franchise system. In the Super 10 the top three provinces from the previous year’s Currie Cup qualified. In the Super 12 in 1996 and 1997 the top four provinces from the previous year’s Currie Cup qualified.

So if you want to be accurate (which as an alleged barrister I’m hoping you will) you should actually state that:

1) The Natal Sharks DID NOT QUALIFY in 1995;
    2) Northern Transvaal DID NOT QUALIFY in 1994 and 1995;
    3) Western Province DID NOT QUALIFY in 1997.

Putthatinyourfockinpipeandsmokeit.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.