Blues bench Weepu

Piri Weepu will start from the wood for the Blues against the Rebels after a disappointing start to the season.

Weepu is one of four personnel and two positional changes for the Blues, who languish at the foot of the Super Rugby table with just one win in five matches.

Alby Mathewson starts at scrumhalf and Gareth Anscombe at flyhalf. Rene Ranger and Keven Mealamu are back from suspension and injury respectively. Ranger starts on the wing.

Filo Paulo comes into the second row for Anthony Boric, who faces a lengthy spell on the sidelines with a neck injury. Rudi Wulf takes over at fullback from Lachie Munro who shifts to the right wing.

Meanwhile the Rebels welcomed back Danny Cipriani from injury. His return sees James O’Connor move to inside centre.

Rebels - 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Lachlan Mitchell, 13 Mitch Inman, 12 James O’Connor, 11 Mark Gerrard, 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Gareth Delve (c), 7 Michael Lipman, 6 Jarrod Saffy, 5 Hugh Pyle, 4 Luke Jones, 3 Rodney Blake, 2 Adam Freier, 1 Nic Henderson.
Subs: 16 Ged Robinson, 17 Laurie Weeks, 18 Alister Campbell, 19 Tim Davidson, 20 Richard Kingi, 21 Julian Huxley, 22 Lloyd Johansson.

Blues - 15 Rudi Wulf, 14 Lachie Munro, 13 Benson Stanley, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Rene Ranger, 10 Gareth Anscombe, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Brad Mika, 7 Daniel Braid, 6 Chris Lowrey, 5 Ali Williams, 4 Filo Paulo, 3 Charlie Faumuina, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Tom McCartney, 17 Tevita Mailau, 18 Liaki Moli, 19 Dan Pryor, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Michael Hobbs, 22 Hadleigh Parkes.