KeoTV: SA talent runs deep

RYAN VREDE celebrates the depth of talent on show in South African rugby and says Heyneke Meyer won’t be short of world-class options come the Test season.

208 Comments

• 1.jackbill: Reply to this comment

other guys that can be included in the future of Springboks:

Venter, Arno Botha, Whitehead, Minnie, Whiteley, le Roux, WP Nel

• 2.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

yes sure, but the trick is in blending young with old.

• 3.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Why can’t I watch this video on my Blacbberry?

Anyway, I agree with the heading. In SA we have more than enough players and possible overseas players:

Jaque Fourie
    Du preez
    Guthro
    Rossouw
    Scalk brits
    Mujati
    BJ botha
    Pienaar

Etc

• 4.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Guthro
    Scalk brits
    Mujati
    Rossouw
    Franciou Louw
    Ernst Joubert
    Robbie diack
    Claasens
    Ruan pienaar
    Brent russel
    Frans steyn
    Jaque fouri
    Watermeyer (scraping the barrel)
    Conrad jantjies

• 5.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

What happened to jaque loui potgieter? Is he getting some “game time” at the sharks?

• 6.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@jackbill(jackbill)-1:

WP Nel has ‘sort of’ committed himself to playing for Scotland, once he qualifies. He’s joining Edinburgh after this SR season finishes.

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-5:

He’s playing in Europe somewhere.

• 7.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-6: I think he is playing for Bayonne. Dude i was looking for you this past few weeks. You are killing it on Fox!

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-3: Yes agree those players still have something to offer. I would trial them in the series against England to see what they got.

• 8.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

WP Nel might be the 1st scottish player that don’t speak english ;-)

• 9.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Fox TV is so weird, I’ve been watching it for years but I have NEVER seen any foxes :-)

• 10.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-6: Big Loss for the Cheetahs and SA rugby but I would like to see what Nyakane can do.

• 11.Michael: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-8: Nah Scotland had two Kiwis playing for them a number of years ago :-)

• 12.Michael: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-9: Only a hair-raising fox :-)

• 13.kwas: Reply to this comment

What happened to Juan Smith? Did he retire from test rugby? Not sure what they are going to do about a Bok captain. Fourie DuP to make comeback as our captain fantastic ala John Smit? We all know how that story ended.

• 14.hendrikp: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-7:

Yeah not going too bad. I dropped Adam Thomson this past weekend, right before he scored by far the most (fantasy) points by any player this season :lol: but luckily I had Coenie who then scored almost as many.

• 15.kwas: Reply to this comment

RugbyGuru, quite a few non-English speaking Saffas playing for England these days…

• 16.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@hendrikp(hendrikp)-14: lol yes I saw that. I thought I had you beat after I got that points from Thompson and you had him on the bench. I brought Coenie into my team asap.

• 17.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@kwas(kwas)-13: Naka said yesterday they’re giving Juan 2 more weeks to recover. He should play in 2 weeks. Since there is a bye somewhere in between, that should mean good news.

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-8: Hah. The Scots love anyone who speaks English completely different from Englishmen. The more slang and accent, the better!

• 18.kwas: Reply to this comment

Thanks,Bouts. Juan probably the only player respected by both older and younger generations of Bok players. Just keep Fourie Dup away from the captaincy.

• 19.Dawn: Reply to this comment

It’s my birthday slackers!

Everyone sing!

• 20.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Happy birthday old lady, how old are you now dawn?

• 21.PrickBoks going South: Reply to this comment

ha

HA

HAAA

the leftovers of QuarterFinal chop suey are “World class”

L

O

L

• 22.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

****** alert

• 23.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

RE-Tard Alert

• 24.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@kwas(kwas)-18:
    fdp by all accounts is having a blinder of a season in japan and in the words of his coach (one eddie jones) is/has been the difference between his team being pretenders and contenders.. as well his stated view that fdp has a lot to offer the boks.

juan smith is a great player provided he gets back to his 2007 form and of course has been out of competitive level rugby fo a very long time so this wont be an easy thing to do, also remember his age. i do however hope the best for him.

• 25.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-19:

happy birthday

(smooch)

• 26.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-19:
    happy birthday, dawn.
    are you officially a cougar yet? hehe

• 27.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-5:

no, he’s earning euros

• 28.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Thanks Brigs

All the others, sod off!

• 29.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Happy birthday, Dawn. Are you sober?

• 30.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Bakkies no offence but rugby in Japan is not even Vodacom Cup standard!!

• 31.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Dawn, don’t be rude I was the 1st to wish you well. Such a fiesty cougar ;-) just remember the more birthdays you have the longer you live :-)

• 32.pakslae: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-24:
    Juan Smith turns 31 this year. I would like to see him move to lock during the latter stages of his career. I think it would prolong his rugby career.
    I guess it’s all up to the player himself. We have so many options at lock in the country, but they’re all inexperience at Bok level. it would be nice to have a guy with his experience in the second row to guide the youngsters coming through.

• 33.Beertjie: Reply to this comment

Whenever emerging talent is mentioned Johann Sadie is always listed. I am a Bulls supporter but i can seriously not see what the hype is about. He is a good player but is he a Bok contender at this stage? I was much more impressed with young Venter and JJ E was a better buy for the Bulls than JS.

• 34.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-4:

Earnst Joubert will soon be playing for England too. He becomes eligible in June and has said he would love to play for them.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/rugbyunion/club/9176628/Ernst-Joubert-prepares-for-Saracens-tough-Aviva-run-in-with-one-eye-on-England-future.html

• 35.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-29:

Completely!

• 36.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ pakslae, agree he played lock at junior level. I don’t think his age is the problem, simon shaw was one of the oldest players when the B&I lions toured SA but was the best forward.

If juan can gain his form and “hunger” for test rugby back then I will always have him in my starting team

• 37.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-35: I need to go into town in the next hour. Want me to drop off a little celebratory drink for you?

• 38.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-31:

Please.

Dont try and soft soap me now.

You called me old woman.

Underside of a maggot you are.

• 39.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-37:

I never drink during daylight hours!

• 40.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

I said “old lady” if you going to take offense to that then good for you ;-)

• 41.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Beertjie(Beertjie)-33: how many games has sadie played for the bulls? effectively one game if you put the minutes he’s been on the field in either a pink or blue jersey.

heyneke meyer created the hype and you know some here don’t like to think for themselves so sadie always makes everyone’s fantasy bok teams based on nothing but hype & future promise.

• 42.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-40:

Good grief you really are dof if you think it’s OK to call someone “old lady” unless it’s your geriatric aunt.

• 43.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-30:
    come on mauler, i think its higher than vc and is probably on par with cc first division at the least and maybe even aspects of cc premier division.

@pakslae(pakslae)-32:
    will always be a huge juan smith fan and not just because of his playing abilities but also his character as a person.
    ja, he could lock or maybe play a bench role as a loosie and be used sparingly…still will make an inpact imo.

• 44.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Happy birthday Dawn.

• 45.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-41:

Sadie had one good game against the blues last year and thats it.

Doesnt mean he will not be a good player going forward, but he is not special at the moment.

And dont forget the hype started in Stormer country. :lol:

• 46.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-28:

(cat sounds, cat sounds..!..claw..scratch..claw..!..)

• 47.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-45:

Anyway, at the rate that the Stormers backs are scoring tries at the moment Sadie might be a superstar in their eyes. :lol:

• 48.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-46:

As we say where I come from, he is the “Three D’s”

Dik, dom en dwars.

• 49.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Happy birthday Dawn. You type as young as you’ve typed when we met here on KEO years ago. :wink:

• 50.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-49:

Backhanded!

Thanks anyway.

Don’t mess with the Aries.

• 51.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Shame, you’re so insecure about your age.

Rather stick to the rugby news next time.

Work to do, later

• 52.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-50:

I cant say you look as young as whenever, ive never seen you.

• 53.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

And my take on Juan……

Had your time buddy, its over.

To many young talented players in SA at the moment.

Time to make some money overseas i think.

• 54.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-51:

I’m not insecure, you are onbeskof.

• 55.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Happy Birthday Dawn

• 56.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

12% reckon the Stormers will win all games overseas.

Who could it be?

Shampoo?
    Hoops?
    UFO?
    Ryan?
    Jon?
    Gareth?
    Robzim?
    Stormersboy?
    Provvas?
    AndreWP?
    Tacitus? (If the Bulls cant beat them no one can!)

Thats just a guess though.

• 57.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

Oh, forgot the smiley

• 58.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Mazeltov Dawnie!

• 59.Beertjie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-41: The hype Meyer created was obviuosly to get his signiture. However the impression was also created that JJ was sort of part of a package deal and that Sadie was the big signing.

• 60.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

The assshaompooist probably voted on each of his Nokia 3110′s.

There’s your 12 votes right there.

• 61.grant10: Reply to this comment

Dawn is so old, her first bday gift was fire ….

• 62.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Its a shame the talent in SA doesn’t extend to igovernment.

• 63.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-55:

Thank you SB

• 64.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-58:

Dankie!

• 65.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-62: i’m hoping this won’t be too much of a political discussion, but does the ruling party ever consider that some of it’s supporters will desert them? Or is it a case of a blind loyalty, because of the anc’s role in the end of apartheid. Will their supporters livelihood supersede that loyalty?

One could almost say they are trying to de-stabilise the country.

• 66.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-63: happy birthday dawn. If it weren’t for you and a few other of the fairer ***, this blog would be 1 huge sausage fest and might just play into the hands of some of our contributors.

• 67.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-56: Hahaha not the voting type. besides I’m not the unrealistic type either.

They can win all the games, but will they? Unlikely.

Hurricanes and Saders will be the toughest.

• 68.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Dankie mense.

• 69.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Well pompies the Zumanator says they will rule until ***** comes.

That’s the kind of arrogance and sense of entitlement we are dealing with here.

• 70.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant100)-61:

The idiot from the nearest village!

• 71.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Dawnie I’m trying to tie a ribbon around my bellend but it the ribbon isn’t long enough.

It’s the thought that counts though.

• 72.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

well in that case i farken hope jeezuz does come..and soon…

• 73.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-65: no they don!

you think mugabe thought someone would actually organised labour against his political elite and well fed soldiers & cops?

they actually believe it won’t happen “iANC izakuphatha kude kubuye uYesu” and they’ve turned into quite astute propagandists.

• 74.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-69: would it take a single event, like it did in Tunisia to ignite our ‘arab spring’? Would there be a homogenized effort to create a meaningful resistance to bring about positive change? or will it be each man for himself?

I’m not as skeptical as Tac was last week about barricading yourself in, the dam wall is taking some serious strain and will burst if the strain is not lessened.

• 75.Mr Black: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-67:

Just joking buddy, i voted for 4 wins by the way.

Yes they can!

• 76.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-74: where was the zimbabwean “arab spring”?

• 77.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

This Gunther is a real sour peos.He got his pink a rse kicked on Saturday,now he sets his sights on the government and Zuma….on a rugby blog.

• 78.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-73: Trans, how do black people, in general, feel about the value of their vote? Is it always a case of black vs white? If so, why do the IFP not get as many votes? Are there undercurrents of inherent tribalism, on a subconscious level, which influence those decisions?

• 79.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

I don’t know pomper.

It’s pretty much the story of Liberation movements across the continent.

The “it’s our turn to eat” mentality is universal.

The problem is due to cadre deployment avery single segment of our society has been politicised and is controlled by a mendacious political elite.

People are starting to understand that this and general lack of competence are behind the lack of progress.

What the tipping point will be who knows.

Will the people of south africa be as docile as our cousins across the limpopo?

• 80.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-76: I don’t recall one and that’s why i’m asking? Is there a critical moment or event which will trigger something bigger? Or is that not possible, because any resistance would be seen as a slap in the face of the people and organisation who fought for freedom?

I’m not trying to stir, only to understand.

• 81.jackbill: Reply to this comment

is anyone taking part in fox sport super 15 fantasy? if so, is there a keo.za league or another league i can join. and what rank are you guys?

• 82.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-79: True, more than anything, the end of apartheid gave previously oppressed the value of being seen as equal on a human level, but part of being human is living and part of living is livelyhood. that livelyhood needs to be obtained through effort and hard work.

What the latest government decisions do, is drive more people to and possibly over the brink of poverty and this has potential dangers.

• 83.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-80: well, you can ask yourself what happened to the people who were members of the PAC, Azapo? those were also legitimate political movements but their members “crossed floors” eg patricia de lille, taking with them “their” constituencies.

i don’t know what it will take for people rise against the current government because most people are afraid of being ostracised like holomisa, lekota, shilowa etc.

but the man in the street is buzzing though, there’s a real ground swell in most parts of the country where people are gatvol of the incompetence and excuses but there’s a big leadership vaccum and helen zille is still seen as a “madam” unfortunately. you speak to most people and they genuinely have a sense that the DA can bring good change but they’re not convinced of its non-racialist and class bona fides.

• 84.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-82: The challenge has to come from a credible alternative. The best governing party (the DA are still seen very much as a white elitist alternative, Cope are a mess, Inkatha are too tibal, etc etc)

You need to be able to give the voters something else, that in their eyes, makes sense. At this stage, as much as they know that the ANC is letting them down, they will continue to vote for them.

So in that sense the adage “you get the democracy you deserve” holds true unfortunately.

• 85.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-83: Agreed. If they wanted, the DA could essentially buy the poor vote. If they manage to convince, especially poor people, of the alternative to increasing levies and taxes, while also displaying a value for money capability, they could make drastic inroads. But like you say, the ‘madame’ tag the Zillenator has needs to be erased.

• 86.CAPECRUSADER: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-83: Good post.unfortunately, white refugees moving into the wc to live under zille’s da government,and boldly proclaiming it,will cause more harm to zille’s da in terms of being seen as a party for all sout africans.That is pity because she has done great work in the wc.

• 87.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

So when did this turn into a political blog?

About the youngsters, I for one has been really impressed at the how some of the youngsters have adapted to super 15 so quickly. Last year we had Lambie, Taute, Jantjies and Elstadt.

This year we have Venter 12 from the bulls, Trevor Nkahana, Kolisi, Estebeth, Kirtshof, Goosen, Coetzee

If we still had an under 23 team, who would you guys choose. I think that these guys would be good enough to beat most of the test nations.

1 – Kitshoff
    2 – ?
    3 – Trevor Nkahana
    4 – Estebeth
    5 – Elstadt
    6 – Coetzee
    7 – Kolisi
    8 – Stander
    9 – Duvenage
    10 – Goosen / Jantjies / Lambie
    11 – JJ Englebrecht
    12 – Venter / Whitehead
    13 – Sadie
    14 – Mvovo
    15 – Taute

• 88.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Exciting times indeed.

• 89.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Happy B-day Dawn. Mag jy so oud word dat jou ore oor jou poepol hang. ;)

Have a good one!!

• 90.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@kingcorn(kingcorn)-87: willie le roux before jj engelbrecht any day!

• 91.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-90: and anybody before duvenhage. he’ll joost, even with his condition will be better than duvenhage.

• 92.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-91: That must be the most confusing apostrophe I’ve seen all day.

• 93.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-90: Yeah Willie Le Roux is the man.

Do you guys think JPP’s Bok career is in Limbo or will he make the squad as a winger?

• 94.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-92: lol. it’s the duvenhage factor which makes me the moer in. i see his name in any side and i vomit a bit in my mouth.

• 95.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-93: As a centre I dont think he will make the squad. He will be competing with guys like de Jongh, Fourie, Sadie, JDV, F Steyn, Taute, R. Ebersohn.

• 96.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-94: Just don’t say that in front of Skoppie. He thinks that the light emanating from Duvenhage and Van Aswegen’s poepolle rival the brightest twin suns this galaxy has ever seen. He literally ***** his pants when someone disparages either of them.

• 97.Oranjebliksemblou: Reply to this comment

What I like about H Meyer is that he said on SuperRugby that loosing is not an option where as Snor said that we cant win all the time, I guess from Meyers side that is the Bulls temperment coming through(not a pink bulls fan).

• 98.John1976: Reply to this comment

hi all

• 99.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@John1976(John1976)-98: hi there

@Oranjebliksemblou(Oranjebliksemblou)-97: Both are correct. Winning must be the only option but you win some you lose some thats just the way things go!

• 100.John1976: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-90: Who would have thought that it is possible to punt one promising white winger over another given that dreaded article posted on this site not so long ago, quite amazing don’t you think?

• 101.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Oranjebliksemblou(Oranjebliksemblou)-97: all talk buddy, watch when the heat is turned up! pdv also started out talking bold plans etc then the vagaries of Test rugby became real even to an idealist like him. he’ll soon be complaining about how long the season is.

• 102.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Mr Black(Mr Black)-56: Add my name to that list.

@John1976(John1976)-100: True but talent cannot be denied. I am personally conducted a campaign to get Willie Le Roux in the Bok squad. I think that boy is class.

@Transformation(Transformation)-90: Transie did you see he took a few balls at 1st receiver against the Hurricanes he looked class there too. I think he will be able to play 15, 11, 14, 13 and 10. I also see he is a lefty. No wonder he is so skillful lefties are usually more skillful than there right handed counter parts.

His defence would be exposed at 12 and it will be too cramped for him.

• 103.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@John1976(John1976)-100: well ryan vrede and keo were playing to the paranoid gallery. that said, how WP/Stormers ignored le roux while he was at Boland (scoring 16 tries) is beyond me and all we heard was that Bolla was training with the stormers :roll:

admittedly le roux played mostly @ 15 for Boland.

• 104.John1976: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-102: Sasuke, it just shows you the bullshit that is disseminated on this website by the so called journalist. As you rightly pointed out, if an individual has talent and class, they will end up earning higher honours.

• 105.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Aplon is the likely 15 IMO, leaving JPP at 14 and Brian at 11, with Mvovo and Bjorn knocking on the door. I expect them to get some chances in the not too distant future.

13 is likely to be JDJ’s position for the near future, with Jaque possibly getting selected from overseas.

12 belongs to Frankie

10 belongs to Steyn, particularly with HM there, and 9 will go to either FDP or Hougaard (rightfully so).

• 106.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Lots of talent in SA especially at present,young talent too.Thats why I think likes of Du Preez,Rossouw,Bakkies,Habana,Jacques Fourie etc we must call it a day with them at Bok level and only use in extended squad in case of emergency.They are only useful for 12-18 months tops.In that time the youngsters would have adapted to Test rugby in blooded now and will be heading to their PEAK for next 3-4 yrs instead of plateauing or worse.

Kitshoff,Etzebeth,Kolisi,Marcel Coetzee,Jantjies,Goosen,Hougaard,de Jongh,Lambie,Taute,Juandre Kruger MUST BE BLOODED INTO TEST RUGBY THIS YEAR.

• 107.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Why do we need Du Preez with Hougaard there?

Why do we need Bakkies with Etzebeth & Kruger raising their hands?

Why do we need Rossouw when he has have Alberts,Elstadt,Kruger who can play the hybrid lock/loosie role as well?

why do we need Jaque Fourie when we have de Jongh,JPP,Sadie along hungry and YOUNGER?

Why do we need Habana with Mvovo,Basson,Willie le Roux all raising their hands?

Why do wen Need to start Morne with Goosen,Jantjes,Lambie all there?

Lets for once embrace YOUTH!!!!

If we have to have the old heads there,have them in extended squad as cover.

NZ/Oz never afraid to play laaitites,watch Barrett play AB’s behind Carter this year-they will never say hes too young.

• 108.Michael: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-106: Rubbish. Fourie is young. Habana isn’t 30. Both have years left in them. Fourie has yet to peak.
    12-18 months for those two my arse.
    Fourie is the best 13 we have. JDJ is the next best.

Do not chuck the baby out with the bath water.

• 109.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-102: he made total of 18 passes with 4 being “playmaker passes”, the week before he made 17 total with 6 being playmaker, benjamin on the other wing made a total of 3 passes with non of them in a playmaking position.

clearly he is under instruction to get in the mix & overload, creating overlaps.

• 110.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-107: Because Springbok Rugby is for the best, not the best up-and-coming.

Simple as that.

The youngsters will get their chance, some sooner than others.

• 111.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-105:

imo lambie at 15 rather with aplon and mvovo on the wings

• 112.John1976: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-103: That is always the case with WP; they simply act as though Boland is not part of the franchise. Last year they had a crisis at flyhalf but they continued to ignore Elgar Watts although he trained with them pre-season. It is absolutely ridiculous.

• 113.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-111: Aplon’s 15-14 debate is an interesting one. I don’t mind either way really. Lambie is solid at 15 and if you had to have him in the side then that’s where I’d play him.

Mvovo has had a good couple of weeks, if he continues his form he’ll be knocking hard on the established players for sure.

• 114.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-107: habana is like rokocoko or sivivatu needs to be put out to pasture.

• 115.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-109: will be interesting to see how many of them were when he’s coming off his blind-side wing into the 1st receiver position? Could explain how they are able to get width on their play. It also has to be noted that their passing accuracy and pace onto the ball is probably the best in the competition, even better than the highlanders. The foundation skills of backline play needs to be sharp to give yourself a chance.

• 116.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-114:

agreed

• 117.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Guys please not for the sake of an argument but Etzebeth’s name keeps popping up.
    Whilst I agree he certainly has shown glimpses, why the articles about him being the next enforcer and all that sh it? He has’nt empressed me to that extent yet.
    Good, yes but too early to stick him the big leagues imo.

• 118.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-108:

Fourie yet to peak? which Fourie have u been watching? He has lost a yard or 2 speed wise already. He is under 30,so is Habana but they have a lot of rugby theyve played in last 8 yrs. Joe Roff was 28/29 when he called it quits in Test rugby,same with Jeff Wilson-their abilities were dwindling and there were youngsters who were better athletes.. Christian Cullen was 28 when he was replaced with a young Mils Muliaina & Leon MacDonald.

Playing Test rugby for 10 years takes its toll mate,age isnt always the differentiator.

• 119.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-117:

Sam Whitelock was an All Black in his first full year of superrugby,had a similiar year to Etzebeth now-he is now premier no.5 lock in NZ…Juandre Kruger as well is ready-its his first year after a couple yrs overseas as well as Currie Cup.

Let the youngens play.

• 120.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-107: I mostly agree with you, but I’d certainly keep Jaque Fourie and Bryan Habana in the mix. They’re both still young and good enough to outplay their rivals for their respective positions.

• 121.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

in SA had Muliaina(100 test veteran) been our 15,we wouldnt have had the balls to bench him for the obvious;y more talented Israel Dagg….We are b*tches like than.No balls to back the MORE talented,explosive youngsters

• 122.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-113: Aplon would be my 15 all day. Decent enough boot. Good defender. We all know about his counter-attacking skills. His height could be seen as a problem, but if you have a taller wing, there would be some interchange of positions.

• 123.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-117: I disagree. He’s been a revelation. To me he’s been just about the best lock in the Super15.

• 124.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-120:

I agree,I said in my posts that i would select them in extended squad-keep them around in case of injuries and play them sparingly to keep competition in squad.But they wouldnt be unshakable starters as has been practice in SA for years.

• 125.Michael: Reply to this comment

@John1976(John1976)-112: Watts was injured too iirc.

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-117: He has impressed me.

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-118: Lost a yard of pace? Really? I suppose you have the stats to back up your assertion? And since when does playing test rugby for a number of years not mean your best year or years are ahead. Witness Timmy Horan at WC ’99. If you want to go down the age route, there are many others who played into their 30s (which Fourie isn’t there yet anyways) who played fantastic rugby.
    It is you who brought up age, not me.

• 126.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-122:

I agree 100% with that.

• 127.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-125:

Mate Horan was 29 at RWC 1999.After that he called it a day. Will be 29,I dont see him playing 13 for Boks for longer than next 12-18months. Younger guys are ready.Stop living in past glories.

• 128.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

15.Lambie
    14.Aplon
    13.JPP
    12.Steyn
    11.Mvovo
    10.Goosen
    9.Houggard

8.Spies
    7.Burger(c)
    6.Brussow
    5.Bekker
    4.Etzebeth
    3.Cilliers
    2.Bismark
    1.Beast

• 129.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-114:

That’s the best summary I’ve seen so far of the current Habana.

I’ve made peace with the fact that he’s first choice at Stormers but if he gets Bok colours this again playing like he is now then Meyer will be heading same way as Div.

• 130.Michael: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-127: No, the question is, “Is someone like JDJ better than Fourie?” No.
    Timmy had played for many many years.
    So far I have seen: when challenged on age, you revert to number of years played; challenged on years played (re player’s performance), you revert to age.
    It’s like trying to nail jello to a wall.

Whatever.

• 131.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

Jaques Fourie is one of the premier, if not the premier 13 in the world.

Yes, there are other contenders, we can talk about O’Driscoll or whoever. But he is up there for sure.

And he doesn’t get injured often. So he would have a good few more years in him, probably enough for another world cup.

I would keep him for sure, he was a rock for SA and the Stormers in the midfield defensively, and super exciting on attack.

• 132.Michael: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-128: Burger? The same guy who has played for more years than Fourie at test level and is basically the same age as Fourie? So you want to chuck Fourie but keep Burger. Consistency isn’t your strong suit.

Over and out.

• 133.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-127: I’m sorry, mate, but you’re dead wrong on Fourie. He’s arguably the best outside centre in the world, and you want to ditch him for the sake of a complete Bok make-over? I know it’s tempting to replace everything, but no coach in the world would do this. And thank god Heyneke won’t either.

• 134.Oranjebliksemblou: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-101:
    I realise that winning all your games is damn near impossible but its the attitude towards the game of being unstopable that counts and it is something that Meyer brought to the Bulls, I dont like the Bulls at all but one thing I do admire is that when they take the field, win or loose that day, they go with an attitude that they are unbeatable and I believe that is what Meyer will bring to the Boks.

• 135.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-132:

There you go using amateur tactics.

Everyone knows forwards have a longer shelf life than backs.Forwards reach their peak in their late 20′s,early 30′s coupled with their experience.Their play relies less on speed and explosiveness which is at its peak when younger which is what makes outside backs especially linebreakers like Fourie most valuable. Cant compare loose forwards to centre-three-quarters.

Different criteria all together. So next your going to compare frontrow forwards to wingers? Consistency is your strong suit indeed.

• 136.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-122: Agreed on Aplon. For me I’d then play JPP at 14 and Brian at 11, best defensive wings out there.

• 137.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-128: JPP at 13? Seriously?

• 138.greentea: Reply to this comment

Two Tri nations since the turn of the century, it aint that deep.

• 139.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

From the World Cup squad, some guys pick themselves:
    Brussow
    Bismark
    Spies
    Fourie
    F. Steyn
    Burger
    J. Smith (if fit)
    Bekker

Then you have guys that should be in the squad at the least:
    JdV
    Jpp
    Lambie

Maybe there are one or two more that I miss.

The likes of
    M. Steyn
    Habana
    J. du Plesis
    Ralapele
    Pienaar
    J de Jongh
    Ndugane
    Aplon
    could have a place or not, depending on Meyer and their form for the rest of the S15.

Who, in my view, there should NOT be
    F. du Preez (or maybe in the squad)
    D. Rossouw
    J. Muller
    G. Steenkamp
    B. Botha
    B. James
    CJ. van der Linde
    Some of them, like Steenkamp and du Preez still have a lot to offer. But they have able and experienced players to take their place, nevermind the young talent knocking on the door.

• 140.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-133:

Fourie while a very good midfielder-he was probably the best in world in 2009…the last 2 yrs or so Conrad Smith has arguably been the best 13 on the planet-the pattern the AB play along him to use his strengths as a playmaker(try assists,outside backs score hatloads of tries off him) and shut down defender-awesome deck player for a midfielder as well.

By the way Im not saying Fourie is rubbish no,I just feel we need to build for the future….

• 141.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@wpjoulekkading(wpjoulekkading)-139:Bekker slipped in there, he wasn’t at the WC of course. But he would be on my teamsheet for sure.

• 142.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-137:

Of the 13′s in SA conference Super 15,who has been the most enterprising best outside centre?

• 143.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-142: Probably Robert Ebersohn or JdJ. Dont get me wrong JPP has been good but he is still learning the position and he missed a few tackles over the weekend.

• 144.greentea: Reply to this comment

I see most are picking the same old backline that barely functioned at the world cup. ( Namibia and the other minnow didn”t count)

• 145.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

i will never play jpp at 13 for the boks ever he is still fat, still uninterested, still jogs never commits, he needs a flippen cracker up his arse to make him move, i honestly never understand why everyone continues to rave about him since ’09 he has become useless and im my view doesnt show signs of improving, i think plum knows this and thats why they are trying this switch

• 146.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-142:

id go with robert, but when whitehead was there for a few weeks id count him close, and jdj is looking good as always

• 147.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-143:

De Jongh has been quiet this season so far barring some flashes…Rob Ebersohn on defence is very very average and his lack of power/size in contact will always be a problem.

Fair enough though on the “JP still learning bit”…very quick learner though.

• 148.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-146:

Whitehead had 1 good game vs a depleted Reds team @ 13,even Wynand Olivier looked like a world beater against them. De Jongh is improving true,started season slow but with injuries thats to be expected i guess.

• 149.greentea: Reply to this comment

At international level does JPP ever beat his man on the outside and score tries.

• 150.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-147: Hence Jaque is still the best option at 13.

• 151.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-143: I think Rob Ebersohn, good as he is in super rugby, will struggle at test level. I could argue size, but then one could argue that JdJ is a bit smaller. My argument is that Ebersohn is most effective in broken play, but that doesn’t happen in test rugby much,so there needs to be another string to his bow. That string is explosiveness, which he lacks and which JdJ has. This quality allows him to dominate the tackle point more often than not, not allowing the opposition to gain momentum.

• 152.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-147: And you’d happily slot a “still learning” retread wing in ahead of Fourie? I bet you’ll also be first in line to complain when we wooden spoon the Tri-Nations again.

If we had a 13 who really set the S15 alight I can understand the desire to play him, but you want to replace Fourie with just about anyone who is not him. WHY?

• 153.Finfan: Reply to this comment

I agree with Keo, based on the talent at present, here is my preferred Bok 22:
    15: F Steyn
    14: O Ndugane
    13: J Taute
    12: T Whitehead
    11: F Hougaard
    10: P Lambie
    9: F du Preez
    8: W Alberts
    7: J Strauss (c)
    6: K Daniel
    5: B Botha
    4: J Kruger
    3: B Harris
    2: B du Plessis
    1: C Oosthuizen

16: B Maku
    17: CJ van der Linde
    18: A Bekker
    19: J van Niekerk
    20: R Pienaar
    21: W Olivier
    22: B Basson

This will be a winning team, even when they play first world countries.

• 154.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

15 Jaco Taute
    14 Gio Aplon
    13 Juan de Jongh
    12 Jean De Villiers
    11 Bryan Habana
    10 Patrick Lambie
    9 Francois Hougaard

8 Duane Vermeulen
    7 Joshua Strauss
    6 Heinrich Brussouw
    5 Andries Bekker
    4 Eben Estebeth
    3 Jannie Du Plessis
    2 Bismark Du Plessis
    1 Tendai Mtawarira

16 Chillyboy Ralepelle
    17 Coenie Oosthuzyen
    18 Juandre Kruger
    19 Willem Alberts
    20 Jano Vermaak
    21 Elton Jantjes
    22 JP Pietersen

Reserves:

23 Adriaan Strauss
    24 WP Nel
    25 Rynhardt Elstadt
    26 Marcell Coetzee
    27 Fourie Du Preez
    28 Johaan Goosen
    29 Johaan Sadie
    30 Lwazi Mvovo

Players to come in for the Rugby Championship:

Schalk Bruger, Francois Steyn, Danie Russouw, Peter Grant & CJ Van Der Linde

• 155.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-152:

The Japan situation also going to affect him I believe.Almost all players that go overseas especially Japan in diluted league come back a little bit underdone.

I just would for once like us to build for the future, I doubt that Fourie is all that MUCH better than current crop especially adding Japan situation and his losing a bit of his speed. But as i said not adverse to him being in squad. I just wouldnt like to see likes of Hougaard & de jongh spend another 18 months on sidelines or bench while we try play our “old heroes” back INTO form….

Thats rubbish

• 156.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-135:

Disagree with you on two issues here.

The shelf life of a rugby player is not so much determined by age, but by how quickly his body can recover from bumps and bruises and injuries.

This invariable takes longer with age as we all know, but in rugby it is also directly related to the amount of knocks the body sustains over a period and time.

The knocks, bumps and bruises forwards receive far outweighs that of backs in the game.

What you typically refer to when you say they ‘peak’ in the traditional sense of the word is when they reach a technical proficiency that only comes with age and experience. A froward, specifically tight 5 forward’s technical awareness and proficiency increases over time and used in highly specialised contact scenarios specifically scrums.

The second issue is Jaque Fourie (since he is the biggest talking point in this debate) or simply substituting players based on age or ‘the future’ and building for it.

At test level you do not have the luxury to build – or rather in a South African sense (and this stupid RWC cycle we swear by) – you should not be allowed to.

The best is selected for every game (or series), on every game (or series).

Currie Cup, Super Rugby and the likes are mediums in which you can gamble selecting players on gut-feel, or promise as the tournaments are generally quite long and you have time to assess a player’s aptitude to perform at these levels.

Test rugby offers no such luxury – and never should.

• 157.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Team to start in Rugby Championship

1. Beast
    2. Bismarck
    3. Jannie
    4. Etzebeth
    5. Bekker
    6. Brussouw
    7. Burger (c)
    8. Spies
    9. Hougaard
    10. M. Steyn
    11. Mvovo
    12. F. Steyn
    13. De Jongh
    14. JPP (I hope Plum moves him back soon)
    15. Aplon

16. Chiliboy/Adriaan Strauss
    17. Coenie
    18. J Kruger
    19. Alberts
    20. Du Preez
    21. Goosen
    22. Fourie

• 158.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Finfan(Finfan)-153: good luck with that team. Wales will be licking their chops if the Boks were to play them. Even England will beat that side.

• 159.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@pompies2(pompies2)-158: Thank you! I wish them every success too.

• 160.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-156:

Fair enough,BUT with backs there is also the issue of their physical abilities in this case speed and explosiveness coupled with the attrictional exposure/nature especially nowadays in midfield(15-20 tackles nowadays as well as additional cleaning required of them) which plays its part. Backs where speed and explosiveness is held at its premium especially where one’s role is one of linebreaking threat-age does play a huge role as barring a few special cases-that speed and explosiveness starts diminishing in late 20′s…Would still like and EXPECT a genuine linebreaking threat at 13 instead of one who looks for contact and recycle.

The increase in technical proficiency in forwards doesnt exclude loose fwds, where one has been the evolution of Burger game to being an allrounded loose forwarded having added link facet to his play. So not entirely dependent on attrictional aspect of his play and with him now not playing exclusively towards the ball(needs speed & understanding on routes) and more as a true blindside where speed isnt held at premium.

• 161.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-157: To fill out the squad

23. Chiliboy/Goosen
    24. Dean Greyling
    25. Flip van der Merwe
    26. Marcel Coetzee
    27. Siya Kolisi
    28. Pat Lambie
    29. Wille Le Roux
    30. Basson

• 162.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-160:

I think speed in rugby is a requirement that extends to all 15 players with the only possible exclusions being props (which some of them are damn quick too).

As you know speed bursts over the first 5 to 15 meters in rugby are far more crucial to speed over distances of 30 to 40 meters (this is where line-breaks occur).

No-one will argue speed is sacrificed with age but speed and conditioning of pro rugby players and the exercises or training they undergo to maintain or improve this is quite impressive.

For instance, Habana was the quickest guy in the Stormers pre-season in one of these speed tests – I can go dig up the stats it was posted before the season started.

Conditioning and training to maintain, or improve speed at an advanced age is much easier and shorter than rehabilitating broken bodies.

• 163.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

15.Lambie
    14.Aplon
    13.J.Fourie
    12.Steyn
    11.Mvovo
    10.Goosen
    9.Hougaard
    8.Alberts
    7.Coetzee
    6.Brussow
    5.Kruger
    4.Eztebeth
    3.Kruger
    2.Srauss
    1.Coenie

16.Bismaak
    17.kitshkoff / harris
    18.Bekker
    19.J.Poetgieter / Elstedt
    20.van zyl/Mcloed
    21.JDJ
    22.Joe Pietersen / Viljoen

• 164.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-163: LOL!

• 165.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-163: Not bad.

• 166.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-163: Except maybe your back up scrumhalf.

• 167.Finfan: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-163: With only two players of colour in your selected 22, do you truly believe your team is representative of SA society as a whole?

• 168.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-162:

It was actually Jean D V (with Shreuder and Aplon)… but that re-iterates your point in any case…

• 169.jackbill: Reply to this comment

@163

I really like this team however i’d still make a few changes:

15.Lambie
    14.Basson (instead of Aplon)
    13.J.Fourie
    12.Steyn
    11.Mvovo
    10.Goosen
    9.Hougaard
    8.Alberts
    7.Coetzee
    6.Brussow
    5.Kruger
    4.Eztebeth
    3.Kruger
    2.Bismark (guy needs to be playing the full game. He has the high energy to play the full 80 mins just like his 20 minute cameos during the WC)
    1.Coenie

16.Strauss (toss up between Strauss and Chiliboy. Chiliboy has been very impressive)
    17.kitshkoff (kitshoff no doubt over harris)
    18.Bekker
    19.J.Poetgieter (will be a huge factor off the bench with his high energy)
    20.Mcloed (van Zyl needs more gametime but he should be ready soon)
    21. JDJ
    22.Aplon (can run circle around tired legs)

• 170.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@seabiscuit(seabiscuit)-163: you a sharks supporter?

• 171.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Thanks Ryan.
    A heads up though, can you please put subtitles at the bottom.

• 172.seamus: Reply to this comment

22. Lambie
    21. De Jongh
    20. McLeod
    19. J. Potgieter
    18. Kruger/Elstadt (depending on the game they want to play)
    17. Oosthuizen
    16. Chillie
    15. Taute
    14. Aplon
    13. Sadie
    12. F Steyn
    11. Mvovo
    10. Goosen
    9. Hougaard
    8. Alberts
    7. Burger
    6. Brussouw
    5. Bekker
    4. Etzebeth
    3. Cilliers
    2. Bismark
    1. Beast

• 173.Saffex: Reply to this comment

I have seen some strange calls for sides on here. Cilliers or Brok Harris at 3, give me a break. The side should be:

15. Lambie 14. JP 13. Taute 12. Frans 11. Mvovo/Habana 10. Goosen/Jantjies 9. Hougaard 1. Beast 2. Bismark 3. Mujati 4. Etzebeth 5. Bekker 6. Brusouw 7.Schalk/J.Strauss 8. Spies

• 174.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-168:

Ah thanks!

But yeah the point remains the same.

• 175.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-162:

There used to be a rumour that Ollie le Roux was at one stage the quickest in the Springbok squad over 10m from a standing start?

• 176.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

If fit, this is the team I’d select for the England games.

1. Mtwarira
    2. B Du Plessis
    3. J Du Plessis
    4. Etzebeth
    5. Bekker
    6. Brussow
    7. Alberts
    8. Spies
    9. Hougaard
    10. M Steyn
    11. Habana
    12. F Steyn
    13. Fourie
    14. Petersen
    15. Aplon

16. Ralepele
    17. Steenkamp
    18. Kruger
    19. Vermeulen
    20. McLeod
    21. Lambie
    22. De Jongh

Notable youngsters to be included in broader squad:

Goosen
    Kolisi
    Taute
    M Coetzee
    Jantjies
    Kitshoff
    Mvovo

• 177.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Saffex(Saffex)-173:

Sorry, no Mujati allowed (no SA passport).

• 178.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-176:

Looks good.

However, I’d rather have Jean de Villiers at 13 outside Frans Steyn – Jean de Villiers does a lot of defensive organisation, and I feel he’s lost the acceleration to be an effective inside centre but you really want him there for his ability to marshal the backline defensive lines.

Juan de Jongh on the bench who can then come on either at inside or outside centre.

I’d really like the Stormers to try de Jongh at inside centre and de Villiers at outside centre…

• 179.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-175:

In his day Ollie was very fit – played underwater polo too that guy.

Would not surprise me.

• 180.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-177: Feckin xenophobe.

• 181.pompies2: Reply to this comment

irony????

fin24(dot)com/Economy/SA-at-corruption-tipping-point-20120403

• 182.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-179: Underwater Polo? Is that when you drive your VW into the pool?

• 183.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-179: And CJ supposedly anchored the Grey Bloem U19 4x100m relay team

• 184.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-179:

Don’t you mean water polo? I understood that, in addition to rugby, he had SA Schools colours for water polo and squash?

@>^..^< katman(katman)-180:

Don’t talk to me, talk to the Honorable Minister of Sport, Fikile Mbalula.

• 185.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

FYI it has been confirmed Titus resigned as WP president to take up his role on SA Rugby executive council.

Thelo Wakefield is acting president of WP Rugby… joy…

• 186.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-185:

O fok.

• 187.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Only the biggest feeding trough for our Tobie.

• 188.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-182:

Pretty much :)

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-184:

What is the one with the little sticks underwater? Underwater hockey I suppose…

Well it was one of those…

• 189.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-186: @>^..^< katman(katman)-187:

I wonder if Tobie will insist Heyneke appoints his family members as he did with Rassie at WP?

• 190.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-189: Which family members (and to which positions) did he enforce on Rassie?

• 191.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-184: the amendment was done to curb SAFA from getting players from elsewhere in Africa and pass them off as south africans, what is happening is that the PSL teams are encouraging their foreign players to take SA citizenship so they can have more “foreign players” in their run-on teams. government said “VOETSEK, develop local talent instead of luring good players from up north and naturalising them”

beast & mujati were collateral damage.

• 192.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-185: YIPPPEEE go Thelo! :D

• 193.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman(katman)-190:

Technical analyst I believe. That was the last straw for Rassie. Told to fire the guy he employed!

• 194.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-192:

Ja neh – careful what you wish for.

• 195.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-194: but this is mos democracy, if the ‘constituency’ wants Thelo then he must carry the mandate ;)

• 196.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-193:
    youre joking.
    wow!
    what were the guys qualifications and/or work experience/history as a technical analyst i wonder..?..
    does he at least have some grounding in the field or was he just gonna figure it out on the job?
    jeezuz…that leaves me cold…

• 197.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-193: um, wasn’t rassie also recommending his own family for the same post?

• 198.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-197:
    hey..?..
    now i’m confused.

• 199.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Thelo for President!

That is some funny kak.

God never sleeps.

Outsdtanding.

• 200.seabiscuit: Reply to this comment

@Finfan(Finfan)-167: i dont care about colour,all that matters is we have a wining team, black white purple or pink i dont care what u are as long as u produce the goods

@pompies2(pompies2)-170: yes what does that matter??

@Sasuke(Sasuke)-165: thanks boet, agreed van zyl needs game time but i really do think he could do the business once he has more match time under the belt

@Finfan(Finfan)-164: you laugh at my side yet you have daniels, maku ( who aint played , so i dont know what u have been watching )olivier???? pienaar???? joe???? wtf, dude seriously, are u maybe letting us know the team u pick on xbox??

@jackbill(jackbill)-169: shot boet, good opinion

• 201.carol: Reply to this comment

HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAWN

Did you get a Bulls ‘Away Pink Kit’ for your birthday?

Hope you are enjoying your day.

• 202.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Yeah! I trust you have a great day and that you are being spoilt rotten.

May the year ahead be a great one…

Happy B’Day Dawn…

• 203.IAAS: Reply to this comment

To my favourite Bulls babe.

Happy birthday Dawn.

Enjoy it with another stiff one – a Grouse that is.

• 204.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Congratulations Dawn.
    May the year ahead be just fantastic for you
    Except for the day the Stormers play the Bulls at Loftus :)

• 205.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Dawnie we have had a whip around on keo and have paid for Thelo to do his stripogram act.

Please provide your deatails and he will be over shortly.

PS because it’s your birthday he will be wearing (not for long) the bulls away kit.

• 206.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-205: He did say that he lost the tape with his song on, and he only does his routine to one song. Was wondering if Dawn still had the Dirty Dancing soundtrack at home. Without “I’ve had the time of my life” the show is off.

• 207.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Nobody puts Theo in the corner.

• 208.ashampoopaloo: Reply to this comment

to Jeanne d’Arc – HBD

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=favgoOn-U1I&feature=related

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.