KeoTV: Start Steyn at 12
4 Apr 2012
PERCY MONTGOMERY says Frans Steyn must rejoin the Sharks and play at inside centre for the Springboks.
18 Jun 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Newspaper, writes the Boks gained more the battle in Nelspruit. Rather a scrap than a sensational effort against a courageous but limited Scotland. The Springbok coaching staff gained more because of the struggle against Scotland and there certainly won’t be complacency against Samoa. South African rugby supporters tend to be reactionary and very different in their reactions every weekend. When New Zealand struggled to beat France in the first Test in Auckland and South Africa were brilliant in patches against Italy many on social networks expressed confidence ... Read Article1 Jun 2013
The Bulls are South Africa's best team and they proved it in Bloemfontein. The Cheetahs have been outstanding all season and they were as good on Saturday night as they have been at any stage. Still it wasn't good enough to beat the Bulls, who won 30-25 after leading 30-13 with 10 minutes to play. The Cheetahs finished brilliantly and deserved the bonus point, but the Bulls consolidated their top two league placing thanks to an imposing first hour. Pierre Spies was impressive as team and pack leader, Arno Botha was ever present and the No 9, 10, 12 Bulls axis of Francois Hougaard, Morne ... Read Article11 Jun 2013
Brendan Venter's appointment as Sharks Director of Rugby is a good one. But the decision to end John Plumtree's Sharks coaching tenure is not. Former Springbok and Italy coach Nick Mallett turned down an invitation for the role of Sharks Director of Rugby and Venter, formerly the head coach and Director of Rugby at Saracens, will start his job at the outset of the Currie Cup season. Plumtree remains the Super Rugby head coach until the end of this season's tournament but his contract has not been renewed. Plumtree is highly rated in Europe and will in all likelihood link up with a European ... Read Article8 Jun 2013
Rene Ranger was among the few highlights in New Zealand's 23-13 win against France in Auckland. The All Blacks led 17-10 at half time but France dominated field position for most of the match and enjoyed the greater quality in possession. However they couldn't translate the advantage in the set phase and at the breakdown into points. New Zealand defended well in a match of poor quality. France lead early through Wesley Fofana's try and it took Ben Smith's break to start up New Zealand's international season. Smith has been the form New Zealand back in Super Rugby and he looked a class ... Read Article27 May 2013
Kiwi Vern Cotter is Scotland's new head coach. Cotter will only take up the position in a year's time. He will see out his contact with French club Clermont. Cotter's appointment means that New Zealanders will coach Scotland, Ireland (Joe Schmidt) and Wales (Warren Gatland). New Zealander Robbie Deans has been at the helm of Australia for the last five years and current Blues coach John Kirwan coached Italy and Japan. Kiwi coaches have also been at the helm of Samoa and Fiji in recent years. Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article4 Apr 2012
PERCY MONTGOMERY says Frans Steyn must rejoin the Sharks and play at inside centre for the Springboks.
DavidSwart has written 13 articles.
7 Sep 2012
6 Sep 2012
Wales scored a last-minute try to sneak in for an 18-17 win over the Baby Boks in their Junior World...Read More
The Boks will not become the No 1 team on the planet until they become the world's leading team at...Read More
SARugbymag.co.za asked HSM sports editorial director GARY LEMKE and junior sports writer GARETH DUNCAN: Have the Sharks made the right...Read More
The Brumbies held on for a 14-12 win over the British & Irish Lions, having led 8-3 at the break....Read More
Brian van Zyl did an excellent job as Sharks CEO during his 19 years in charge, writes MIKE GREENAWAY in...Read More
The Bulls are South Africa’s best team and they proved it in Bloemfontein. Read More
MARK KEOHANE, in Business Day Newspaper, writes the Boks gained more the battle in Nelspruit. Read More
Kiwi Vern Cotter is Scotland’s new head coach. Read More
Rene Ranger was among the few highlights in New Zealand’s 23-13 win against France in Auckland. Read More

216 Comments
4 Apr 2012, 11:44 am
Percy not punting JDV??
4 Apr 2012, 11:51 am
Why the hell does Percy talk like Keo? Is it something in HSM’s building?
Good to have Francois back, let’s get him playing before we start picking him for the Boks.
4 Apr 2012, 11:54 am
Percy and Keo are spending too much time together.
They are even starting to dress the same.
4 Apr 2012, 12:02 pm
No no no noooo JDV playing on the wing. I’d have him play touch rugby on the beach.
We have wings ( Mvovo, Bason, Pietersen Habana, le Roux, JJ…..the list goes on and on) we don’t need to play guys out of position just to accommodate them, hopefully that frame of mind has passed.
4 Apr 2012, 12:02 pm
Poor Percy. Good rugby brain. But not much between the ears intellectually.
4 Apr 2012, 12:03 pm
Percy, lower your b1tc5 hand. It’s annoying enough when Keohane & Vrede do it.
Glad he’s coming back, and that it looks like he’ll finally be playing 12 exclusively.
But deep down I wish he’d join the Cheetahs
Him alongside Goosen would be a heck of a combination.
At least he isn’t joining the Lions. No point playing Vodacom Cup rugby in 2013.
4 Apr 2012, 12:06 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-3: As long as Percy does’nt wear Keo’s monster size pink tie he pulled out the cupboard last year.
4 Apr 2012, 12:06 pm
Come on, Percy. This is as dignified as George Foreman selling those grilling machines.
4 Apr 2012, 12:10 pm
You can’t blame poor Perce.
He went to SACS after all.
Hardly a giant amongst schools.
4 Apr 2012, 12:13 pm
percy is desperate, he needs money for ‘pap geld’…
4 Apr 2012, 12:13 pm
Well not a great deal of thinking there. Of course Fransie will play 12 for Boks if his world cup performance is anything to go on. He was sublime there.
And if he comes back to the Sharks that is a bonus for us Sharkies.
Welcome back Fransie.
4 Apr 2012, 12:15 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-6: Fransie alongside Lambie is just as brilliant.
4 Apr 2012, 12:16 pm
With JPP or Whitehead at 13 with Fransie at 12 and Lambie at 10. Awesome!
4 Apr 2012, 12:16 pm
everyone swooning doing triple backward somersaults to lay the red carpet down for this over fed koptoe meneer as if we don’t have sufficient talents here to fulfill the position
I say he turned his back on SA rugby to go chase the money.. let him keep chasing the money.. and those who stuck it out and stayed true to their franchises and their country should be given the opportunity ahead of him.. He ain’t the be all and end all of first centers in SA, we got others as good to do justice there.
4 Apr 2012, 12:20 pm
I would..uh.. play Frans..uh.. at 12 because..uh….
Ag nee fo kkit man. Rehearse julle nie bietjie nie.
4 Apr 2012, 12:20 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-14: kuk.
anyways, jdv went to munster didnt he?
and liebenberg went somewhere (who gives a toss?)
your team is full of mercs
4 Apr 2012, 12:21 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-14: Like you chasing millions building k akhuise in die platteland.
4 Apr 2012, 12:22 pm
internet download manager.
never download it people.
so the long and the short is i cant be arsed to download the vid, is fransie coming back home to the sharks or what?
(must be judging by skopkuks tirade lol)
Hougaard
Goosen
JdJ, JdV,
Engelbrecht, Aplon
Taute
(Duvenhage / Mcleod / Meyer / Shreuder),
Lambie,
(Habana / Basson / Fourie / Viljoen / Le Roux)
Percy, you’re a good bloke, but stick to kicking coaching bud. Commentating is not really for you…..
And whilst we’re at it, same goes for Vic. I hate it when they assume players will automatically be great commentators.
Glad Fransie is coming back to the Sharks though! Great news. Maybe they can ship off Timmie to the Stormers again…..The Grey PE boys are just no good.
4 Apr 2012, 12:24 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-17: heaven forbid fransie was lured by…..ech..blech….PROFIT!!!!!
****** commies shouldnt be allowed to use the internet, if iit was up to them we would all still be planting wheat and trudging back to our hovels to cuddle up next to a pig for warmth.
4 Apr 2012, 12:24 pm
Little Joe, Grant etc.
Fuckadilly is wishing he kept quiet.
4 Apr 2012, 12:25 pm
Funny how last year some bloggers were calling for his selection and now he is an over fed kop toe meneer??
4 Apr 2012, 12:25 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-20: haha, vic is the most arbitrary commentator on tv.
sure, his insights are great but he just doesnt have the……tv personality?
4 Apr 2012, 12:26 pm
JdV went to Munster toward the end of his career as a stop gap fill in for one season, he didn’t run after the mega buck bonanza at age 21 with his entire international career ahead of him..
F. Steyn reckons he’s bigger than the game and the big fish that SA rugby cannot do without.. I say bullshit there are plenty players here as good if not better to fill his overrated koptoe money grubbing booties…
4 Apr 2012, 12:27 pm
@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-23: because he isnt joining the stormers bud, thats all.
some like skop take it as a personal insult.
4 Apr 2012, 12:28 pm
Definitely should be first receiver. Francois is big and strong enough to take the first defender and in most cases pile drive through the first defender, which gives The Sharks backline go forward ball. Tim Whitehead and JP Pietersen to alternate for the 13 jersey and there you have the makings of a very healthy combination outside Fred (Lambie will be back eventually to add the extra X- factor).
Riaan Viljoen at fullback to add a supercharger to the backline engine will make this team one of the most dangerous in the Super 15.
Skoppie, engage that old melon of yours before typing.
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-19: Hougaard
Goosen
(JdJ / JdV ), (JPP / Fourie)
Engelbrecht, Aplon
Taute (Duvenhage / Mcleod / Meyer / Shreuder),
Lambie,
(Habana / Basson / Viljoen / Le Roux)
4 Apr 2012, 12:29 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-18: Sounds like Fransie is coming back to the Sharks Ranger. Not just from this clip, but reading it on all sites now. Would be awesome.
Yeah true… It means an all Stormers centre partnership no more…
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-29:
Hougaard
Goosen
(JdJ / JdV ), (JPP / Fourie)
Engelbrecht, Aplon
Taute / Viljoen
(Duvenhage / Mcleod / Meyer / Shreuder),
Lambie,
(Habana / Basson / Le Roux)
4 Apr 2012, 12:30 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-25: haha, jdv went at the end of his career and then returned, played in a world cup and is still playing for the stormers?
idiot.
fransie is very smart. his financial future is secure and now he can focus on being an even bigger legend, he has six years til he is where jdv is.
what a guy!
4 Apr 2012, 12:30 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-24: Exactly….No doubt he’ll get better, but he’ll never be a Hugh Bladen or Spiekeries. Lineout coaching is his forte.
4 Apr 2012, 12:31 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-26: haha. Was just about to post that. Definitely cause he is coming to the Sharks now some don’t rate him? Let them dream on. Fransie is the best inside centre in this country and one of the best in the world. For me he was the best 12 during the wc until he got injured. Pure class.
4 Apr 2012, 12:32 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-26: Had he gone to the stormers skop’s kortbroek’s zip would’nt be able to hold back the raging stiff he would’ve had for the rest of the day.
Hopefully Frans will be in the Sharks team when they play the Stormers later this season in Durban.
Then he can be measured against the real deals (de Villiers and de Jongh) and see if he can “re-produce” his world cup performance against minnows Namibia and Samoa.
If he can……. then we might be in business.
Stormers most definitely do NOT need another koptoe legend in their arsenal.. far better this koptoe mercenary joins the other koptoe mercenaries in Sharkievarkie country..
4 Apr 2012, 12:33 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-25:
No he just saw Pieter duh Villiers as an idiot and didn’t want to have his entire Bok career damaged because of one madhatter dingbat. He’s a smart kid. Like Fourie du Preez, he sees duh Villiers’ departure as a resurgence of his Bok career again.
Francois was the Boks only hope in the RWC until he was injured.
4 Apr 2012, 12:33 pm
@Puma(Puma)-30: man thats exciting news!
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-32: @ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-29: @ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-19: what is this sh i t? stop it immediately.
and where is peter grant?
4 Apr 2012, 12:34 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-40: en Bolla……
4 Apr 2012, 12:35 pm
@Puma(Puma)-35: yebo, has been for 4 years or more imo.
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-36:
and …..sies!
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-38: he didnt really give you that option now did he?
4 Apr 2012, 12:37 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-41: haha, not even skop is that insane surely?
dont forget, skop is the guy who told nick mallet what he was doing wrong.
once upon a time in a parking lot somewhere.
when nick was reversing.
4 Apr 2012, 12:38 pm
Lol @ Ranger! He has to add Grant!
4 Apr 2012, 12:39 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-37: The “real deal” Donkey…
The master of:
- The “no” pass
- Tuck and run, head down and fck the team mates
- On a rare break (as in WC QF) pass the ball forward
- The “no” tackle…
Yup, Fransie’s really going to “struggle” against this Munster “legend”…
LOL. Got to hand it to you, probably your funniest comment ever…
Numbnut
@rangerman(rangerman)-43:
Car guards think they know everything.
Skop, if you’re so dead set against money chasing mercenaries, why do you bracket Fourie’s name in at centre in all your fantasy teams. Doesn’t his R22mil over 2 years represent the biggest money chase in the history of rugby?
@White Shark(Predawn)-27: Tjoppie and Frans in the same team. Imagine the two of them having a pi ssing contest in a game to see who can nail the biggest penatly.
Farked from anything within 65m to 70m.
4 Apr 2012, 12:40 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-9: In your wet dreams.
4 Apr 2012, 12:40 pm
So the Sharks backline will consist of:
9. Mcloud
10. Pat
11. Mvvvvvvvovu
12. Steyn
13. Bosman
14. JP.
15. ???? (Taute once they’ve bought him
Not look bad thus far.
4 Apr 2012, 12:41 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-40: Imagine him at 12 with JPP or Whitehead at 13 and Lambie at 10???????????????? Bliksem that is awesome! Can’t wait for him to come. Wished they had negotiated him to come early. Otherwise he can’t play in the play offs if we make it. Has to play 3 games first with the Sharks I think.
4 Apr 2012, 12:41 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-43: Bwahahaha. Lapswaaier deluxe!!!
4 Apr 2012, 12:42 pm
Stormers way better off without this grootkop koptoe Mr. f’ng beesknees God’s gift to SA rugby himself
thank fck he’s joining those other koptoe money grubbing mercenaries who flock to that last bastion of proposed promises as their last hope to make some hay while the sun still shines…
all the Free State mercenaries flocking to Sharkievarkie country .. he’ll be quite at home with all his other old Grey College boeties wearing Black and White instead of the Orange and White his homegrown talents were nurtured by.
4 Apr 2012, 12:42 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-45: the “real deal” donkey
even SBW said jdv was the “real deal”
4 Apr 2012, 12:43 pm
gonna be good to have frans back playing his rugby in sa…
even if it is for the tjarks…
anyone know if he’s likely to play in this super tourney…?
would be very cool if he does…
4 Apr 2012, 12:44 pm
@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-44: we demand it!
@White Shark(Predawn)-46: yip, especially after a few puffs, its cold down there in the cape!
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-45:
i know you are frustrated because the Stormers are undefeated and because your predictions (as nearly always) are just not coming true.
So,in typical style, u turned to insult. Says a lot about you.
As I said, lets wait till he plays against Jean.
Maybe you can shout then— maybe not— who knows, surely not you.
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-19: Now you’ve had your fun with your fartsinthewind backline, here’s a proper one:
Hougaard
Lambie
Mvovo/Basson
Steyn/JdJ
JPP/Ebersohn
Aplon/Taute
Viljoen
4 Apr 2012, 12:45 pm
@Puma(Puma)-51:
hey puma…
he’ll certainly complete the back line… like brigit jones did to jerry maguire…!!
that will be an awesome lineup…!
Francois Steyn should fit in somewhere in the bok team even if its at 13.
Morne Steyn should not be in the team. End of.
Elton Jantjes is better
Patrick Lambie better
Peter Grant outplayed him on Saturday
Johaan Goosen is the future.
JDV, Frans, JDJ & Sadie the bok centres for the next 2 years atleast.
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-50: Whitehead or JPP at 13.
Jaque Fourie and Frans Steyn along with FdP should go and start a Kerry Packer type ou doos has been team with FdP as captain
we do not need any of those overrated self serenading self infatuated has beens stuffing up the works.. and make Smittykins the coach or the poster boy..
@>^..^< katman(katman)-47:
That guy is a f00l.
Difficult to comprehend how someone can be so full of himself that he can come on here everyday giving us a run-down on the players personalities.
Little does he know that Frans actually left because of the HUGE pressure he faced in SA, to go with the abuse he received after the Sharks lost the S14 semi to the Bulls.
If he was all about the money, he would’ve joined Toulon. Not come back to SA to play for far less.
But skop takes a look at him, doesn’t like his face, then goes about convincing us there are rugby reasons that he shouldn’t be playing for the Springboks.
Just can’t take the guy seriously.
Not playing rugby anymore seems to have confused Monty some what.
4 Apr 2012, 12:47 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-54: and SBW speaks from the position of………..?
playing here will force them all to up their games… frans, jean and every other no 12…!!
can only be good…
@Puma(Puma)-51: hopefully it materialises bud, we shall see i suppose.
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-52: ja nick left for italy as soon as he could
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-53: like tiaan and duane?
natal is simply glorious today,simply glorious.
4 Apr 2012, 12:48 pm
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-60:
Morne still adds value. And no, Jantjies & Grant are not better then him.
4 Apr 2012, 12:48 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-65: Ma’a Nonu also discribed JdV as the best center he’s played against.
4 Apr 2012, 12:49 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-58:
No Lambie and no Mvovo in the run on team
Goosen way better at 10, Lambie as reserve full back / utility back up.. not starting 10
Engelbrecht, Basson, Le roux, Aplon, JPP, Habana, all better than Mvovo for No.11
4 Apr 2012, 12:49 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-53: We must not bforget that those “homegrown” talents are often lured fro other provinces to the magic of Grey.
4 Apr 2012, 12:50 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-57: No frustration at all… Just waiting in expectation for the bubble to pop… and prodding the bubble a little bit before the inevitable happens…
I’m having fun… and will have more when the snot en trane flow from the Mountain to the Sea… in non-refugee land…
“He” plays Jean… You mean Heineke plays Donkey? Not going to happen… Heineke has quite obviously nailed his colours to a proper 12′s mast… Thus the Frankster’s return…
Oh yeah, now we can look forward to the Bok 13 and wings actually getting the ball this year…
Numbnut
@ufo(ufo)-59: Howzit Ufo, How you doing buddy? Hope well.
Yeah really hope he is coming to the Sharks. With that backline we will rock. Actually we have a good backline this year, but with Fransie it will make it even better.
If he is coming to the Sharks really, really hope they can negotiate for him to come earlier. Think he has to have played in 3 games for the Sharks to play in the play offs. Well that is a long shot now, but if we make it would really want him to be playing in it.
anyone remember that fransie is only 24 years old?
a kid still with plenty years ahead of him.
like jpp and lambie and mvovo and whitehead and hoffman.
natal could be building another backline like the great one of the 90′s.
4 Apr 2012, 12:51 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-67: Hope so buddy.
4 Apr 2012, 12:51 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-62: So I take it you have unbracketed Fourie from your Whimsy Team then? Because not even half an hour ago he was your man. I guess that’s how it goes in the topsy turvy world of the ***-shampoo.
4 Apr 2012, 12:52 pm
@Bismarck Burger(Bismarck Burger)-69: When he was still in top form sure. Coming from No’nu carries a bit more weight than Punchy.
No doubt he was great but he’s had his time and we can do better than him currently.
4 Apr 2012, 12:53 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-74: Frightening to remember he is that age. Has quite a CV already.
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-70:
Hey pooph0l.
Are you new to the game? Do you understand rugby? Have you ever stepped out on the field?
This ain’t fantasy rugby where each player gets a ranking and that’s where they belong for their entire careers.
I’m no Mvovo fan, and would pick some of the others ahead of him, sure… but you making your mind up about guys and not allowing their performances on the field to do the talking is getting really tiresome.
@rangerman(rangerman)-74: Very, very young. Imagine in the next world cup he will only be 28 and have been to 3 world cups by then! Unbelievable.
4 Apr 2012, 12:54 pm
@Puma(Puma)-61: I don’t rate Whitehead at all. Saw him play for Ikeys and still aren’t impressed. Rather go with bilton Bosman. (not that he would be my first choice)
@rangerman(rangerman)-74: Hy is van die tiet af reguit 1ste span toe!!!
JdV makes my team before Frans Steyn for many reasons.. notwithstanding his superior head and leadership qualities.. plus he’s a whole lot faster too..
JdV should play 13 and JdJ at 12.. the only place Frans Steyn can contribute is at 12 or 15. but I reckon JdJ is superior to the plodding Steyn at 12 any day… and he’ll still prove it
and we still got
Ebersohn, Venter, Le Roux, Coetsee (Lions 11), Strauss, Whitehead, JPP, Fourie, Sadie, Engelbrecht etc to fit in somewhere..
Goosen is automatic first choice for No. 10.. no ifs or any buts about that..
4 Apr 2012, 12:55 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-70: Goosen? The same Goosen I saw so bamboozled by the midget George Ford when Bokkies played young Pommies not too long ago…
The same Goosen who, when he’s run out of ideas puts tail between legs and displays a distinct lack of ballas…
The same Goosen who has defensive attitude worse than Morne Steyn… Yeah right…
You chaps are caught up in the big Gaffie-esque ido worship bubble… I will be laughing when this one pops.
FH Ranking:
1. Lambie
2. Jantjies
3. Steyn
4. Grant
5. Bosman
6. Goosen
Steyn may still hop to the run on side by virtue of Heinecke hero worship, which is coaches prerogative. So fair enough.
4 Apr 2012, 12:56 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-77: I am a big fan of Jean since school days and have to admit he is not at his best. I also think our pattern of play is not really helping and traditionally an SA 12 is a 4th loose forward setting up field position with ball carries.
But there are undoubtably other options and Frans has played awesome rugby for SA at 12
4 Apr 2012, 12:56 pm
@Puma(Puma)-73:
always good bud…! you…?
yeah… he’ll definitely add value wherever he goes and it looks like you guys are the lucky ones who’re gonna get him… like most fans i’m more than a little green
and just when bosman has been lifting his game too… good stuff…!!
can’t remember a time when there was such competition for places… not only in the bok team but also in so many of the provincial teams too…
and with heyneke coaching…
sa rugby’s in a good place right now…
lekker stuff…!!
4 Apr 2012, 12:57 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-72:
What gives you the most satisfaction in life:
1. A good win by the sharks against decent opposition (i know it does not happen often, but just try and imagine it for the sake of the argument)
2. An unexpected loss by the Stormers against a mid table kiwi or Aussie team.
Be honest.
4 Apr 2012, 12:58 pm
Now this would be a great Bok backline…
Coming to you soon…
9. MacLeod
10. Lambie
11. Mvovo
12. Steyn
13. JPP
14. Ndungane
15. Viljoen
Bench: Hoffman, Bosman, Whitehead
Its at least the most enterprising backline seen in Super rugby this year…
4 Apr 2012, 13:00 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-87: 1. followed by 2. with caveats…
1. Corrected… A win by the sharks against any opposition
2. Corrected… A loss by the Stormers against any team.
Clear now, yeah?
Numbnut
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-84: I think we need to see the Goosen potential but not relate this to being first choice for SA just yet. He has serious potential, but SA is famous for killing ability by messing with the youngsters too early BUT in my opinion Goosen has shown us more than Frans Steyn did before being selected. Frans controlled a wet Newlands game with the boot and Jake saw something and the rest is…welll we know the rest.
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-79: I played this game before you were ever dreamed of you piffle little snotty nosed fuckwit junior juvenile juniper twatass..
Goosen is way better than Lambie at 10
and
Engelbrecht, Basson, Le Roux, Habana, Aplon, JPP to name a few are better than Mvovo at 11 (or 14)
4 Apr 2012, 13:01 pm
@ufo(ufo)-86: Very well thanks.
Tells how good a state our rugby is in when there is so much competition for places in just about all positions.
Very, very good for Bok rugby and Meyer.
4 Apr 2012, 13:03 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-91: Oooooooo f ok hier gaan ons alweer………………………
4 Apr 2012, 13:04 pm
Nurse! He’s out of bed again!
4 Apr 2012, 13:04 pm
Okay off to lunch.
Cheers everyone.
4 Apr 2012, 13:05 pm
@Bismarck Burger(Bismarck Burger)-90: Fair enough… except the waffle about Goosen showing more than Steyn… No! no!
3 Hail Marys for you chap…
4 Apr 2012, 13:05 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-89:
You could have fooled me.
Maybe you just do not know how to express your feelings in words.
Unless you are a numbnut AND liar
4 Apr 2012, 13:06 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-91: (in an old f art’s voice) ……………jy het nog tanne gesny laaitie, toe sny ek al fo kken kabels op die myne **** jy!
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-91: Why don’t you tell us about the time you fought in a war, old man?
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-91: thats the problem right there.
you are simply lost in the mists of time.
its a pro game skop, seriously bud.
and guys like fransie are pros, sought after worldwide.
Sharks have some juniors in Mjekevu and Sithole who are also both better than Mvovo at 11 or 14
4 Apr 2012, 13:07 pm
@Puma(Puma)-92: The really good part of Meyer there is that it seems from his time at Bulls he really know how to keep players on the fringe motivated and involved. The Bulls in their heyday could sub any player seamlessly. This would be great if we see theis at bok level as aposed to Snor’s 55 min mandatory changes.
Goosen is the Naas of his generation.
@Bismarck Burger(Bismarck Burger)-90:
wise words…
@Puma(Puma)-92:
cool bud…
things definitely looking up… think the next few years are gonna be ones for us saffa supporters…
and 3 of the top 4 points s15 scorers are saffas… and would’ve still been 4 of the top 5 if patrick had not missed out…
4 Apr 2012, 13:08 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-83: I’ve heard some shizer in my life but yo take the cake!
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-91: Hey, talking out of your well roughaged dutpipe now regarding Mvovo…
And Lambie…
Lambighini is the new saviour at 10… The more you realise and accept this, the better for you in the long run…
Now where’s my packet of biltong chillisticks…
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-94: Kateter pyp her weer toegeknyp onder sy Zimmer se wiel
4 Apr 2012, 13:09 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-98: so jy’s n ouer doos as ek… congratulations..
4 Apr 2012, 13:09 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-96: Time will tell I suppose
4 Apr 2012, 13:10 pm
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-103: Not yet but might be
4 Apr 2012, 13:11 pm
The sooner Frankie Steyn comes back to SA, the better for Bok rugby…
How I long for the ball to be passed to 11, 13, 14 and 15 again in the Green and Gold…
How I long for no open barn door gaps at 12 which are always mistakenly blamed on Morne in the Green and Gold…
Frankie can make this happen…
And more.
Le Rocket Boot is back.
4 Apr 2012, 13:11 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-88: you mean other than the Cheetahs backline?
4 Apr 2012, 13:13 pm
Lambie is like Merhtens almost a carbon copy middle of the road safety first no great shakes Mr. reliability.. a slight improvement on dead eye d’ck Morne
Goosen is Naas Botha, Lynagh, Larkham, Carter, Wilkinson… all rolled into one.
4 Apr 2012, 13:13 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-101: there you go again spewing forth shize!~
4 Apr 2012, 13:15 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-62:
This is only relevant for FdP
JF and FS are the best we have, and by few miles, A. Strauss comes close 2nd
Watching over the weekend JP, JdJ, JdV and Sadie emulated watching uselessness and hopelessness itself
4 Apr 2012, 13:15 pm
Ek hoop net Frans het sy jakkalsdraaie in Frankryk laat staan….hy het dit nogals gereeld in die Sharks trui op die speelveld uitgevoer.
4 Apr 2012, 13:16 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-108: Miskien, maar defnitief nie n groter doos as jy nie. Sterkte
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-106: Lambie does look the part – his temperament being his greatest weapon..apart from the boyish good looks of course
Skop must just be a little slow.
Can barely understand half of what he says. Shocking grammar, even for a blog.
All his swearing doesn’t do him any favors either. Have to be a real arrogant douche bag to carry on like this muppet.
There are some real pearls on this thread.
Highly entertaining with lunch.
Carry on.
4 Apr 2012, 13:18 pm
morne and lambie would be my bok 10s right now…
jantjies and goosen to be phased in going forward… but wouldn’t use either against the poms in june… with them and lambie contesting for the boks jersey thereafter and for world cup places in the long-term…
4 Apr 2012, 13:19 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-113:
I saw Merhtens winning 4:1 against a very good Boks team – far better than today’s Boks – in 1996 and he hardly broke a sweat
4 Apr 2012, 13:20 pm
@ufo(ufo)-121: I think that’s the way forward. Morne will get his radar back and Hetneke already saying he picks his kicker first. Think that’s how it will pan out.
4 Apr 2012, 13:21 pm
Time to go. Adios
4 Apr 2012, 13:21 pm
@ufo(ufo)-121:
ummm…
that’s morne steyn…
not pissant…
no offence…
4 Apr 2012, 13:22 pm
@Bismarck Burger(Bismarck Burger)-123:
i reckon you’re right in your reckoning…!!
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE(KWAGGA ROBERTSE)-124:
adios compadre…
4 Apr 2012, 13:23 pm
winger pietersen is probably the most overrated player in a springbok jersey.
watch what he does during a game.
stands at rucks and mauls,tackles high if he ever does tackle and generally just walks around.
no use saying he is not a centre.
he is not a wing finish and klaar.
4 Apr 2012, 13:23 pm
@ufo(ufo)-125:
No worries, I cannot kick for ****. Although I would be Peter Grant in a game of force-back I am sure.
4 Apr 2012, 13:24 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-128:
Be=beat
4 Apr 2012, 13:25 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-128:
hahaha…
so would most of us i reckon…
(assuming be is beat…)
4 Apr 2012, 13:26 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-97: You asked… I answered… And then you don’t like?
That what happens at Firemans or whatever your local is: Make eyes at the Stud in the corner… Get rejection… and then tantrums?
Eish… Come now…
4 Apr 2012, 13:29 pm
@norman(norman)-127: ag norman, you make your name a r s e by just spewing the braai talk on here bud.
jpp is probably one of the most accurate defensive players in the world, not just in superrugby.
i guess his cover when he raced back and held off two brumbies players, in canberra, putting in a very good defensive clearance from his own 22m escaped you did it?
see what you want to see bud.
out to lunch
cheerio
@Bismarck Burger(Bismarck Burger)-118: You sir, are quite obviously a knowledgeable rugby connoisseur… As your first name suggests.
4 Apr 2012, 13:31 pm
Am afraid for the English test the BOK backine will be:-
9. FDP
10. M Steyn
11. Habs
12. F Steyn
13. J Fourie
14. JPP
15. Lambie/Viljoen
Reserve:-
JDV
Hougie
Heyneke would be mad to try anything else at this stage!!!!!!!
4 Apr 2012, 13:31 pm
I weed myself with laughter at that clip.
One can see that Keo has been coaching MOnty on how to finger point at the camera.
Monty’s first Keo TV experience was quite bland, now he is trying to be a mini-Keo! Waaaaaaahaaaaaaaa
Enjoyed the comments Monty – but just be your self you clown. No trying to dance around and stop being coached by Keo. There is only 1 Keo, try not be him
4 Apr 2012, 13:33 pm
Adding Frans to the Sharks backline would give them the most potent one in SA. Unfortunately they don’t have a pack good enough to give them decent ball to play with. Such a waste.
4 Apr 2012, 13:35 pm
@norman(norman)-127: Stormin Norman… you sir, are a purveyor of bullshit to the highest degree… JPP is the best 13 in Super Rugby at the moment – definitely out of the SA sides at least. Debatable for the whole S15 at most.
100 plus kilos of sub 11 sec Shark projectile… master of the match saving tackle… and the 80m breakout…
SA’s very own answer to Serge Blanco… but better… because when he hits… people stay hit.
4 Apr 2012, 13:37 pm
@David(David)-137: ja ja.
i almost entered into a discussion there but then i remembered that you support wp so what would you know about a decent pack?
4 Apr 2012, 13:37 pm
Some of you might find this interesting given what is debate here…
Goosen is the top points scorer, 2nd highest in conversions (behind Morne) and highest in penalties kicked. I think he averages 88%.
He also tops the list with most kicks from hand gaining the most kicking meters (by some distance over the 2nd placed Morne Steyn).
Don’t let that fool you in thinking he can just kick though – he is the SA flyhalf with the most runs (16th in the competition) and most run meters (5th overall) with no other SA flyhalf in sight.
So he kicks, he runs, but can he pass?
Indeed he can – he is top on the list for off-loads, even beating SBW, with no other SA flyhalf in the top 20.
I see someone said he cannot tackle, but I do not see his name in the top 20 worst tacklers in the competition – I do see Peter Grant’s though…
Food for thought…
4 Apr 2012, 13:38 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-133: Ja, since 1966.
4 Apr 2012, 13:38 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-138: haha, he surely does like to smash people in the tackle.
jpp has been a revelation at 13 imo, considering he has never played there before it is going to interesting to see how good he becomes as he gets more and more familiar with the position.
4 Apr 2012, 13:39 pm
@ufo(ufo)-121: Sorry, but all this talk regarding Lambie. Why on earth would you exclude 3 goalkickers with an 80% plus record to include Lambie, who is just not in the same league. Steyn to start most of the games this year, with Goosen slowly being brought in. Then Goosen to take over the world from next year onwards and Jantjes as backup.
Lambie should play fullback and with his vision and allround skills he could play the same role as a Leon McDonald for the Crusaders. He also was not the quickest fullback around, but was part of the best counteratacking team ever! Lambie’s backup should be Viljoen or Taute.
Mvovu does not have the allround game. Even Henry played guys with skills on the wing and left out the likes of Sivivatu, Gear, Rocokoco, Masanga. We should pick Pietersen, Aplon, JJ, Basson, etc on the wing. Please no Habana!
Centre is easy: Steyn, Fourie and JdJ (although he should work on his distribution). And just wait for Venter, Sadie and Serfontein. One of these youngsters will be better than both Fourie and JdV.
Hougaard is the future, but I am not sure about the 2nd best. FdP may play a huge role from the bench.
4 Apr 2012, 13:41 pm
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-140: very interesting PA thanks.
he surely is a talent but like any young player, he must be consistent over more than one season before i get misty eyed.
felt the same about lambie and will say the same about the goose.
4 Apr 2012, 13:41 pm
PA – Interesting. Heyneke has to do what White did and choose his future 22/30 players now and build them up over 4 years. If Goosen fits into this then he has to be chosen now and not later.
However we are still in this golden age of rugby players from the Jake White era and i feel Heyneke would be mad to not use them!!
However Heyneke need to know when to cut them and have capable backups alreay trained up!!!
4 Apr 2012, 13:42 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-139:
Luckily I’m old enough to remember back to the seventy and eighties.
4 Apr 2012, 13:43 pm
This thread is k ak funny!!!! Hahahahaha!!
4 Apr 2012, 13:44 pm
@Horings(Horings)-143: interesting points bud!
i am not sure that lambies kicking percentages are that shabby either tbho but i think you may be right about his eventual role at FB.
Horings Im sure Lambies kicking stats have been close to 80% lately…
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-140: Well coming from the most level headed blogger on this site it must say something. Some guys just want to overlook him scared that he will be exposed too soon. Heyneke however will make sure he is protected.
4 Apr 2012, 13:45 pm
@David(David)-146: well if memories are all you have david then i am not surpprised
4 Apr 2012, 13:46 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-144:
What is interesting is he is doing that with one of the kakkest 9′s around, Tewis… Imagine what Goosen could do with a Hougaard…
@race of tan(race of tan)-145:
I will still start Morne for now and I am not getting too excited about the stats.
What it does show me quite clearly is this lad has an all-round game which is above average – and that is exciting – it’s been a while since we had one of those in a 10 jersey.
4 Apr 2012, 13:47 pm
So this might be the Bok side to face England then…
15. Patrick Lambie.
14. J.P. Pieterson.
13. Jean De Villiers.
12. Francois Steyn.
11. Bryan Habana.
10. Morne Steyn.
9. Francois Hougaard.
8. Pierre Spies (c).
7. Willem Alberts.
6. Heinrich Brussow.
5. Andries Bekker.
4. Jaco Etsebeth.
3. Coenie Oosthuizen.
2. Bismark Du Plessis.
1. Dean Greyling.
16. Jannie Du Plessis.
17. Adriaan Strauss.
18. Juandre Kruger.
19. Duane Vermuelen.
20. Ashley Johnson.
21. Charl McLeod.
22. Jaco Taute.
4 Apr 2012, 13:48 pm
@Horings(Horings)-143: ons lees min of meer van die selle koor kart af
4 Apr 2012, 13:48 pm
Actually Goosen is looking very good with van Zyl at 9!!
4 Apr 2012, 13:50 pm
@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-149: I am not convinced. If he is standing over the ball I do not have the same confidence as with Steyn or Goosen. Goosen’s stats will be even better if he does not take on the most ridiculous kicks.
BUT, Steyn also had weaknesses with his goalkicking, so Lambie may become a very good goalkicker, but by that time all of you will defend Goosen against NZ bloggers when compared with Carter.
4 Apr 2012, 13:53 pm
I actually think Goosen is the real deal but i also think Lambie is getting better!! Specially his goal kicking…
4 Apr 2012, 13:54 pm
@ShaunSwindon(Karma-zaf)-153: JdV is probably the worst centre at this stage. I defended him in the past, but he has really slowed down and shows no contact skills. To put him at 13 will not be a good idea.
4 Apr 2012, 13:56 pm
Goosen is the real deal No.10 if they don’t grab the opportunity to blood the kid now the latent talent will stagnate and go dormant.. and then satrs the inevitable lack of confidence downswing.. Same as Mcqueen did with Larkham, and Woodward did with Wilkinson, Goosen must get chucked into the deep end sink or swim now…
Lambie is a much better back stop utility either off bench or at 15..
4 Apr 2012, 13:57 pm
@ShaunSwindon(Karma-zaf)-153:
I’m wondering if, due to the S15 schedule, Meyer might decide to include FdP and Jaques against England.
4 Apr 2012, 13:59 pm
JdV still got plenty to offer which he’ll continue to prove his detractors wrong.. so far under JdV Stormers are winning and that in itself says enough for both his overall leadership and back line defensive management capabilities, beside the fact that he probable has had more direct gain line breaching plays than most saffa backs this year already..
4 Apr 2012, 14:00 pm
Van Awswegen not the real deal anymore??
4 Apr 2012, 14:02 pm
Heyneke don’t need FdP.. he got Hougaard and plenty scrumhalf backup.. and he’s got JdV.. best captaincy material this country has by far.. way better than FdP in leadership mindset by light years..
4 Apr 2012, 14:04 pm
Van Aswegen is injured .. you obviously don’t read the blogging news..
and beside what kind ignoramus moron are you in any event? dumb idiot.!
4 Apr 2012, 14:04 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-163: Where does the backline play of the Stormers go wrong? It is either JdV, JdJ or both. If Heyneke picks JdV and JdJ the Boks will struggle even more.
4 Apr 2012, 14:05 pm
@Horings(Horings)-143:
i haven’t excluded them at all…
just said i wouldn’t use them against the poms… and would phase them in after that…
lambie is a quality player IMO… and has the temperament that few rugby players possess… also not too shabby with his kicking…
i would let goosen finish the super season before phasing him in… he is excellent no doubt… but has done a couple of silly things too… such as kicking for touch and shoving beauden barrett… not big issues either of them alone… but would suggest to me he needs more time to settle in before plutting him in the cauldron of test rugby…
he’s also been knocked out already on the field… twice… worrying for someone so young… i’d rather not rush him in and see him get maimed… he’s young… has time on his side… we have other excellent flyhalves… why rush this kid…?
same, to a lesser extent, for jantjies…
yes… lambie is a good option at 15 or 10… but no harm in all 3 contesting the 10 jersey though going forwards…
4 Apr 2012, 14:09 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-161: no, he hasnt.
and like last year, his play doesnt lead to tries now does it?
4 Apr 2012, 14:09 pm
@race of tan(race of tan)-135: Think you spot on. Just can’t see Meyer trying out new players at that stage. Will go with who played together in the world cup. Those players knows each others game well.
Pity cause think Hougaard should be starting, but against England especially in the first game think he will go with who you said and take no chances, without having much time with players.
4 Apr 2012, 14:10 pm
speaking of centres…
Johannesburg – A South African boxing promoter confirms talks have been held with Sonny Bill Williams’s agent for a fight that would clash with the All Blacks’ series against Ireland. Golden Gloves representative and former world champion Brian Mitchell was quoted as stating that his group has been speaking to Williams’s agent Khoder Nasser who was in Cape Town last week, about a fight on June 16. Williams, currently playing for the Chiefs in Super Rugby, may be unavailable for the All Blacks’ Tests against Ireland if a proposal to fight in South African is accepted. That date is in the middle of the All Blacks’ three-Test series against Ireland and it seems unlikely new All Blacks coach Steve Hansen would allow Williams to be available for only part of that Test window. It is also likely that Williams would want time off to prepare for such a bout – especially if he is matched against an opponent that can last more than a couple of rounds. The Chiefs’ Super Rugby campaign will take a break during June before cranking-up again in August. It has been stated that Williams has shown interest in the fight with promoters hoping to enter him in the cruiserweight division – a drop down from the heavyweight division he usually fights in. The winner of the cruiserweight tournament could win around R500 000. It has been speculated that Williams’s opponent could be South African Danie Venter. Given the number of rumours about Williams’s future, and strong hints he will sign with NRL club the Sydney Roosters after his contract with the New Zealand Rugby Union expires at the end of this year, the timing of this proposed bout could suggest he has lost interest in furthering his All Blacks career. If the fight went ahead it could mean Hansen may not want Williams to be part of his plans as be rebuilds for the future and ignore him for the Rugby Championship (old Tri-Nations) campaign and the northern hemisphere tour later in the year. Boxing is understood to earn a large chunk of Williams’s salary and these recent negotiations again suggest how much Nasser wants his client to corner this part of the sports entertainment market.
4 Apr 2012, 14:12 pm
Has Percy been drinking (hic)?
Jean on the wing? Good Lord. He’d make my bench… just
4 Apr 2012, 14:15 pm
Ignoramous!! Hahaha!! So what if he is injured!! You have been punting him all the time!! Tw at!!!
4 Apr 2012, 14:15 pm
Stormers were switching JdV and JdJ between 12 and 13 on certain plays, often JdJ would be brought into the crash ball at inside center with JdV further out,, this is my preferable role for both players, JdJ closer to the action JdV further out, though on defense they are both effective.
For Boks we got too many other options like Steyn, JPP, JdJ, Fourie, JdV all vying for the center positions.. beside the likes of Venter, Sadie, Engelbrecht, Ebersohn, Taute to consider.
But as captaincy capabilities and overall back line and overall team leadership and management go, JdV is head and shoulders best captain in the country.. by some distance.. way better than FdP could ever be.. or anyone else currently for that matter.
4 Apr 2012, 14:16 pm
@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-157: Yes Lambie’s goal kicking has been excellent this S15 of late. Such a pity he picked up a injury right now. Think though he will be ready to play against the Blues.
4 Apr 2012, 14:17 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-142: JPP has all the goods to do the switch permanently like Umaga for the AB’s.
Why the hell not have a 100kg + outside centre with top end speed faster than anyone on a rugby field and the ability to smash his opposition in defence…
Its been great for his game too – he can’t switch off there, like he sometimes can do on the wing… His boot has been quite good too – clearing and little roll-throughs on attack…
I can’t wait to see him have the opportunity to partner F Steyn in the midfield – POTENT!
4 Apr 2012, 14:18 pm
if Van Aswegen was not injured I would still punt him as a very potentially creative and capable No. 10 – twatass idiot…. fact is he is injured.. and likewise I was one the first to punt Johann Goosen.. long before the rest of some you Johnny come lately moron finally wiped the sleep from your dreary bewildered eyesight.
4 Apr 2012, 14:24 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-174: Agree totally. JPP is doing superb at outside centre. Big/Strong/Fast and potent in defence. Has it all really.
4 Apr 2012, 14:26 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-161: JDV Bok Captain…? FFS, have another beetroot juice… or chomp some spinach crackling or whatever other bunny hugging vege nonsense you reckon satisfies your food craving or anti-succulent great tasting meat conscience…
When the chips are down, JdV has always been one of the players who drops head and puts tail between legs in Green and Gold… Now you want him to Captain by virtue of an undeserved ref enabled 5 game lucky streak on home turf?
Come now… He aint got the ballas to be Captain…
4 Apr 2012, 14:27 pm
@ashampoopaloo(joel1yahoo)-175: You sir, are a moegoe of the highest order. Rarely do you find a man who knows so little and yet speaks so much.
And Van Aswegen is not even in the third tier of flyhalfs in SA. He’s down there with Earl Rose and Monty Dumond. No amount of twatassery and fuckadilification will change this.
4 Apr 2012, 14:28 pm
Beetroot juice!!!! Hahahahaha live it!!
4 Apr 2012, 14:30 pm
Van Aswegen is ok… Never a bok!!!
4 Apr 2012, 14:33 pm
@Puma(Puma)-176: I would have enjoyed seeing him turn on the afterburners if that pass from Bismarck was not judged forward during the game against the Brumbies…
He had a wing in front of him about 5m to his right, and another player about 2m to his left…
It would have been glorious…. big farken loping strides seemingly in slomo while the poor opposition look like they’re wading in quicksand…
4 Apr 2012, 14:38 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-181: Would have been awesome.
4 Apr 2012, 14:41 pm
You were slso “first” to punt Sadie… At the moment he looks like another Jaco Pretorius…
4 Apr 2012, 14:48 pm
@>^..^< katman(katman)-178:
From what I have seen of him Gary has all the potential to be at least the equal of Jantjes and Lambie. He is just incrediblky unlucky with injuries and might never realise his true potential.
For me:
First Tier : Goosen
Second tier:
Lambie, Jantjes, van Aswegen
Thirt tier:
Morne Steyn, Butch James (on current form- previously he was second tier)
Fourth tier
PeterGrant, Burton Francis,
4 Apr 2012, 14:50 pm
@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-183:
Sadie was awesome last year.
He will be back, it is only a matter of time.
4 Apr 2012, 14:52 pm
Rob 100% agree just biting Skop a bit… If nobody agrees with him then they are idiots ignoramous fuckwits etc
4 Apr 2012, 15:01 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-181:
You in love with JPP or something
4 Apr 2012, 15:06 pm
lol @ van aswegen being in the same league as earl, monty, naas olivier & that Lion Herkie Kruger
4 Apr 2012, 15:08 pm
@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-183: i think that was JustRugby
4 Apr 2012, 15:23 pm
Haha Im sure skop was also part of that…
4 Apr 2012, 15:49 pm
@hendrikp(hendrikp)-63:
Shampapoops has always had the classic case of Short Poppy Syndrome…
4 Apr 2012, 15:57 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-187: Naah… Maybe I fall for you instead, Prawny…
You and me…
Prawny and HG…
How about it…
4 Apr 2012, 16:16 pm
Steyn is a MUST for SA Rugby. Stands out as individual. However, Jean d V is the no 12 in the seat for very good reasons. The boks do not consist of only 15 players. Steyn is a tremendous asset to Boks at age 24; international experience; versatality and immense talent. Thumbs up to Coach Heyneke for his part in Steyns return as well as the wise ones in Shark country
4 Apr 2012, 16:52 pm
1.Beast
2.Strauss
3.Cilliers
4.Etzebeth
5.Kruger
6.Brussow
7.Alberts
8.Spies
0.Hougaard
10.Goosen
11.Mvovo
12.Frans Steyn
13.JPP
14.Aplon
15.Lambie
4 Apr 2012, 17:04 pm
I reckon that fellow from the Cheetahs, Andries Strauss looks very promising, he should definitely be in the mix at centre.
But a 95kg Fransie has to play at inside (emphasis on the 95kg’s)
4 Apr 2012, 17:08 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-194: you think this can beat Lancaster’s England>
4 Apr 2012, 17:12 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-194: Cilliers is not a good enough scrummager. Strauss is a distinct third behind Bismark and Chiliboy. And if Fourie is available, I’d play him ahead of JPP at 13. Otherwise, that’s a very good side.
4 Apr 2012, 17:15 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-195: well mark steele will have to condition him more than he did for both bosman & joubert because @ the wc steyn was 110kg.
dries strauss???? hehehe his ceiling is currie cup mate, hard worker but that’s all. he was hondkak against the barbarians.
4 Apr 2012, 17:17 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-198:
4 Apr 2012, 17:23 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-199:
Oops.
Dries Strauss looks like the only centre at the moment that can penetrate the backline.
I’m sure your mate Wayne Smith agree.
4 Apr 2012, 17:33 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-200: really? “penetrate”
Most Linebreaks
1. Andre Taylor (Hurricanes) 6
2. Hosea Gear (Highlanders) 5
2. Sona Taumalolo (Chiefs) 5
4. Adam Thomson (Highlanders) 4
4. Bernard Foley (Waratahs) 4
4. Christian Lealiifano (Brumbies) 4
4. Dom Shipperley (Reds) 4
4. Israel Dagg (Crusaders) 4
4. James Stannard (Force) 4
4. Luke Morahan (Reds) 4
4. Nick Cummins (Force) 4
4. Piet Van Zyl (Cheetahs) 4
4. Robbie Robinson (Chiefs) 4
4. Tim Nanai-Williams (Chiefs) 4
4. Tom Carter (Waratahs) 4
4. Willie Le Roux (Cheetahs) 4
4. Wynand Olivier (Bulls) 4
4. Zac Guildford (Crusaders) 4
19. John Hardie (Highlanders) 3
19. Phil Burleigh (Highlanders) 3
he can’t buy a linebreak though…or offloads either
Most Offloads
1. Johan Goosen (Cheetahs) 13
2. Sonny Bill Williams (Chiefs) 12
3. Andre Taylor (Hurricanes) 9
3. Ben Tapuai (Reds) 9
3. Keegan Daniel (Sharks) 9
6. JP Pietersen (Sharks) 8
6. Shaun Treeby (Highlanders) 8
8. Ben Mowen (Brumbies) 7
8. Digby Ioane (Reds) 7
8. Hosea Gear (Highlanders) 7
8. Mark Gerrard (Rebels) 7
8. Matthew Hodgson (Force) 7
8. Riaan Viljoen (Sharks) 7
8. Robbie Robinson (Chiefs) 7
8. Rod Davies (Reds) 7
8. Tawera Kerr-Barlow (Chiefs) 7
8. Tim Nanai-Williams (Chiefs) 7
18. Ben Smith (Highlanders) 6
18. Conrad Smith (Hurricanes) 6
18. Jaco Taute (Lions) 6
does he penetrate and recycle?
4 Apr 2012, 17:41 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-201:
Watch the movie Moneyball Trans.
Stats doesn’t paint the whole picture.
4 Apr 2012, 17:42 pm
Am I reading right Transie… No Bulls or Stormers on those lists??
4 Apr 2012, 18:47 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-138: You have the audacity to condescend other peeps yet you claim JPP is the best 13 in the SA conference? Kak jy deur jou bek miskien? You sir, have absolutely no rugby knowledge, but seeing you support the Sharks what the fark was I expecting? Fokkin balsak!
4 Apr 2012, 20:08 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-9: Its one of the oldest schools in the country and a very good one at that. Its not their fault he failed 3 times!
4 Apr 2012, 21:11 pm
Percy…you sweetie!!
4 Apr 2012, 22:58 pm
@Jeraldjay(Jeraldjay)-202:well the book MONEYBALL is the reason wayne smith helped develop the VERUSCO stats, so go figure
4 Apr 2012, 23:00 pm
@THE MAULER(THE MAULER)-203: crashball merchants these stormers…
5 Apr 2012, 02:51 am
Lambie
Aplon
JP
Steyn
Habana
Steyn
Hougaard
Spies
5 Apr 2012, 02:53 am
Brussouw
Bekker
Etzebeth
Du Plessis
Du Plessis
Oosthuizen
5 Apr 2012, 06:03 am
Etzebeth. Period. Weg is jy.
5 Apr 2012, 07:04 am
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-204: Pathetic post! Insulting someone because they support a team you don’t like? What are you 10 years old? Jassus there are some truly immature okes on this site!! So what if HG reckons JPP is a good centre, its his opinion. Someone else on here reckoned Strauss was the best centre in SA. People are entitled to their own opinions. There isn’t some all-seeing, all-knowing rugby brain out there. Although judging from your neanderthal dribblings you don’t have much of a brain at all!
These Stormpies are the biggest windgats around. Sitting at the top of the table you might be but you can’t score tries and have zero bonus points to your name. Sooner or later you’re going to get rolled like the Saders did twice last year. Defence will win you some games but it won’t bring home the champion. Right now it looks like only the Chiefs have the most balanced team this year.
5 Apr 2012, 07:19 am
@Sydney Shark(JayDaFiveOh)-212: you are defending HG!???
because someone insulted him hahaha
you are still.a funny guy jaydafiveoh even as sydney shark
5 Apr 2012, 07:31 am
@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-204: Squealing in protest that someone has “no rugby knowledge” is the refuge of a fool with more than a hint of a severe lack of imagination.
If you can’t see that JPP is at least as good as any 13 in SA after only 5 games in the position at Super rugby level then you are either blind, racist (since JPP is “bruin”, and not blonde like Donkey De Villiers), or just farken plain thick.
Nice that you referred to me as “Sir”. Keep it that way.
5 Apr 2012, 07:32 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-213: Ja, mhlati wakho umfaan…
5 Apr 2012, 07:32 am
@Sydney Shark(JayDaFiveOh)-212: Good man