Bulls, Boks lock horns

The Blue Bulls will not release four of their coaches earmarked for the Bok management team unless Saru pays big transfer fees.

According to SuperSport.com, the Bulls board of directors has asked for a R1-million transfer fee each for forwards coach Johan van Graan and fitness guru Basil Carzils, while asking for R250,000 each for defence coach John McFarland and backline coach Ricardo Loubscher.

The reason for the difference in asking price for them, according to the website’s sources, is that McFarland is seen as a Meyer loyalist while Loubscher is contracted to the Vodacom Cup team and therefore not as high profile as the other two.

Neither Saru nor the Bulls were prepared to comment on the matter.

84 Comments

• 1.ali: Reply to this comment

So loyalty to Meyer is estimated at R750 000?

Stingy dragons

• 2.Transformation: Reply to this comment

pay up SARU…you left this too late now meyer is fooked.

• 3.Transformation: Reply to this comment

maak die bulle almal bokke!!!

• 4.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Saru should try Hannes Coetzee, he’s for mahala!

• 5.blueboy: Reply to this comment

F##k saru i say the arseholes took our director of rugby and now they want another 4 of our backroom staff f##k i say in this for me the bulls come first.

• 6.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

I,d leave van grain with the bulls for the moment. the other 2 CAN join the boks.mallet can fill in as forwards coach for the next few months until he has something permanent.

• 7.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Eish looks like the bulls will receive favoritism from heyneke. No rassie?

We might see stegman on the openside.

Fark me :-(

• 8.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@NoRugby, stegman is to the boks what superugby is to lions. Means sweetfokkol.

• 9.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

Mcfarland yes! The rest??? Nah!

• 10.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ slappes :-)

• 11.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Stegman is to the boks what shampoo is to John mitchell :-)

• 12.Hondo: Reply to this comment

One of HM’s early big mistakes
    When Mallett picked him to be his forwards coach, it wasn’t related to any affiliation, Mallett picked his assistants purely on his assessment of their potential to contribute at a Test level.
    Meyer wants his men for the job, there is some sense into it, but the Bulls general play indicates they aren’t good enough
    What has Loubscher has to do at the test level is another question

• 13.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Ag Hondo go FY, inbreed.

• 14.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@NoRugby, lmfao! John mitchell

• 15.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Apparently john mitchell has enrolled for some afrikaans lessons to be part of the leeus. Though while coaching the leeus he finds it apt to only use these words : ” dom dose, morone, idiote, fokkenslegwerfbobbejane”

• 16.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

And “hulle het my ook nie betaal nie”

• 17.liefling: Reply to this comment

Blessing in disguise, dont want blue bulls rugby. Goosen is the future

• 18.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Stegman is to boks what jorrie muller is to rugby :-)

• 19.Transformation: Reply to this comment

SARU must pay them, heineken must get FdP from Japan & Victor to be lineout coach & make this a whole bulle breker fest :-)

• 20.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Johan Ackermann on boots & All dressed like a clown, talks like a clown and coaches like one as well.

Circus rugby.

• 21.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Well the Bulls have a point, you cannot just expect them to release 80% of their staff mid-way through a season.

But then, SA Rugby was clever enough to wait until the last minute to appoint Heyneke so suffer.

On the guys he wants – I hope he wins because fans and media will take him to the cleaners with an all-Bulls management team.

I have no problem with them except for Loubscher – if you want to go left-field then get a guy like Hawies Fourie in.

• 22.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-21: don’t think the cheetas will be interested as heyneke had already poached pine pienaar from the states to man his then new high tempo ball in hand approach @ the bulls.

• 23.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Boots & All is shiit! I cannot believe this is our premium rugby show.

Fark its embarrassing.

• 24.David: Reply to this comment

This shows Heynekes major management weakness. The fact that he wants to employ the whole Blue Bulls coaching team is a sign of his lack of judgement and confidence in his ability to control a team drawn from outside his traditional base. It certainly doesn’t give confidence to the rest of the non Bulls players and is similar to his stint at Leicester when he brought in Liefling and managed to p*ss off the bulk of the Leicester squad by not accepting their culture.

• 25.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@NoRugbyGuru_0_(RugbyGuru_0_)-23:

You still watch that kak?

@David(David)-24:

Two sides – surround yourself with people you trust and can work with. But the flip side is this is not provincial rugby anymore. As you eluded to, a national setup perhaps requires a national mindset…???

• 26.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-25: you mean alluded :-)

• 27.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-26:

And that Transie – Thanks bud :)

• 28.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-26:

I am kak tired – going to the farm tomorrow for some R&R – will come back next week with some proper spelling and grammar!

• 29.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

@ PissAnt, never again. They all just sit on the fence, there’s absolutely no analyst or proper predictions.

There’s this foreign holborsel that makes one prediction then refers you to the supersport website for the rest.

Naas botha’s didn’t ask one proper question, he was loving the fact that blackadder was stroking his ego.

After 6 years and owen still thinks the lions are building. The show needs to change, they need John robbie, Brendon venter and a proper rugby journo to spice things up a bit.

• 30.NoRugbyGuru_0_: Reply to this comment

Didn’t johan ackermann say he will resign as lions forwards coach if they don’t perform in super rugby?

He’s still there.. All smiles nogals

• 31.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-28: :-) same here, catching a 06:00 am flight to jo’burg en-route to hartees, will watch the 1st game @ ORT.

• 32.David: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-25:
    The national setup is what I’m worried about. Apart from the fact that the BBs must be p*ssed about possibly losing their whole management team, it also shows Meyers lack of sensitivity in wanting to impose the Bulls coaching structures on players who pride themselves on opposing them.
    When you add Victor to the mix and possibly FdP, I reckon we’re back to the “senior player” coaching problem that we had under PdeV.

• 33.David: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-31:
    What do you do?

• 34.Papoose: Reply to this comment

Is Loubscher Bulls backline coach?

• 35.David: Reply to this comment

@Papoose(papaown)-34:
    Loubscher is the Bulls Vodacom coach, according to the article.

• 36.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

A million is just an opening number. Now the bartering begins. Eventually they’ll get Van Graan and Cazrils for 3 new iPads and the other two for a meat voucher.

• 37.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

Ricardo Loubscher is an ex-national player (played for the Sharks)
    In 2011 he was backline coach for Tuks during the varsity cup
    In 2011 he was backjine coach for the Bulls U-21 team. They ended the compitition as champions.
    He is currently the backline coach of Tuks again.
    In 2007 he was assistant coach for Tod Louden in the Super 14.
    In 2007 he was backline coach for the Bulls during the CC
    During the period 2008 to 2010 he was the U-21 backline coach for the Bulls.
    during the period 2008 to 2012 he was the backline coach of the Vodacom side.

At least he has some experience as a coach.

Most importantly, he is a person of colour. Make no mistake, the coaching staff will not be acceptable as all white!

• 38.David: Reply to this comment

@dWeePer(dWeePer)-37:
    Playing for the Sharks is not being a national player, although I have no problems with him as a national backline coach, regardless of colour.

• 39.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Mmm a lot of eggheads here saying who he shouldn’t appoint.

I would be very much of interested to hear who he should appoint.

Answers on a postcard please.

• 40.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-39:

Would love to know your Bok management dream-team.

• 41.Transformation: Reply to this comment

maak die bulle almal bokke, the kiwis with hansen won’t smell us…

is nienaber now on the outer if mcfarland is the boytie?

• 42.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Indeed David.

Given that you have no issues with Ricardo’s appointment (regardless of colour)…

Which ones do you have a problem with and who wou you choose in their place?

Yours in insensitivity

Gunther.

• 43.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-42: ag cmon, dontg put people on the spot!

• 44.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-39:

Here is what I know, have been told over the last 7 years.

Van Graan is forwards coach in all but name – Victor ran/coached the forwards for the last 4 years at least (at the Bulls) – and that is according to the Bulls biggest praise-singer in the media since Quintus van Blouen.

Basil a respected bloke when it comes to fitness – no problem with him.

McFarland one of the better defense coaches out there, but given his situation and the Bulls not letting go of too many of their staff why not Nienaber?

Ricardo? There is no reason on earth that will convince me he belongs at this level as a specialised coach.

• 45.Transformation: Reply to this comment

with all these millions the bulls will buy etzebeth i tell you! :lol: goosen too

• 46.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Okay folks – this might turn out to be lots of fun but I am out.

Have a blessed Easter weekend, see you all next week.

• 47.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Tacitus will be pleased

• 48.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Indeed Pissant.

Name me a dream set up of those willing and available to work for the boks.

• 49.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-47: but ludekak will truly be the emperor with pink clothes if all these blokes leave…i think tac will be miffed.

• 50.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Floyd don’t go boasting about your exotic holiday destinations.

This is a rugby blog.

Say hello to Darren for me.

Mind he doesn’t run you over with his Jetski.

• 51.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-50: who is boasting? i was having a chat with pissant.

calm yourself Tweety.

are you in Arnies already?

• 52.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Who asked you where you were going?

Hartees is nothing to boast about indeed.

Lifestyles of the bitchy and nameless.

• 53.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-48:

Dream team on who is available or could be easily available?

I had to reply to this one…

Head honcho Heyneke obviously.

His management team:

Rassie, Mallet, Hawies, Brendon Venter.

Takes care of technical, forwards, backs and defense.

You can also look to consult Paul Treu and Dawie Theron if you want to since they are already employed by SA Rugby.

But with that, I am really out now.

• 54.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-52: why do you care?

we’re still waiting for your dream team Tweeters ;)

• 55.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-53: how much will that salary bill be?

nice dream team though.

• 56.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Pissant
    Are those guys available?

I’d definitely have Mallet if he was willing to commit to a formal role.

Same for Rassie.

Venter doesn’t seem keen.

Treu seems to want to stay in sevens with the Olympics looming.

• 57.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Nobody cares Floyd that’s the point.

Make sure you listen to the safety announcements on Velvet Sky.

And pack your water wings.

Hartees can get choppy at this time of year with all those Cadres learning how to waterski.

• 58.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

there was an old mindset

“NTvl first, SA second”

How the hell Louscher (average player) can be backline coach is beyond me.

• 59.nama1: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-53:
    “His management team:

Rassie, Mallet, Hawies, Brendon Venter.”

Who is actually the COACH with all these “I’m the head kakkeroller on the drol?”
    Except Hawies, of course. Remind me how far he got with the Boland team as head coach?

@Transformation(Transformation)-54:

Why do you even care what Gunthertjie thinks? Does he even think before he makes his “jokes”

• 60.nama1: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-58:
    “there was an old mindset

“NTvl first, SA second””

Daai was DAAAAAI jare.

“How the hell Louscher (average player) can be backline coach is beyond me.”

Why don’t you tell us what a great “forward player” Heyneke was in his days…or Alan Solomons as “backline player”.

You know… that time when they equaled the world record for the most consecutive victories in test matches… with Nick Mallet as head coach

• 61.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nama: i have to respond in order for my Tweety to keep chirping, you see? ;)

• 62.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

What next? Pink for the Bok’s away strip? Maybe Liefling as the new Bok anthem with all home games played at Loftus?

Hey Meyer, there’s a few other franchises out there tjop. Perhaps you should take your Bulls Supporter of the century badge off and look around?

• 63.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-60:
    There is a small difference though
    Mallett picked his assistants based on his assessment of their skills, intellects and their ability to contribute at the Test level
    HM seemed reluctant to pick anyone who isn’t among his own inner circle of trustees, so expect more of the same with FdP & M Styen leading the Boks vs the Poms.

• 64.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Howdy Nama.

How are you doing buddy?

Floyd cares very much.

His ikuku is damp with excitement as we speak.

When people bleat about how much they don’t care, that’s when you know you own their thoughts.

Did you make the trip down to the big smoke to watch the game last week?

• 65.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-63: kuk man, mallet picked a cape cabal (meyer too was coaching in the cape at the time) and proceeded to kick out the natal and bok captain for a fancy dan who was playing in the cape but was actually a natal boy too.

meyer is just doing what he was taught by nickolas.

• 66.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-64: nama cares even more.

gerber dared to question ricardo and nama was all over it like a bag of mccains skinny cut.

• 67.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

• 68.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Do these guys have any say on weather they want to join the Bok set up or not, surely they have more job security in the long run staying at the Bulls.

• 69.whatever: Reply to this comment

The usual bumbling train that is SA Rugby administration, late selection, late annoucement and now this……..no suprises there.

The question needs to be asked why he wants all the Bulls staff though?

You’d think he may want a blue Bok side………..faaak I hope not!

• 70.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Lets just wait and see. I don’t care where they come from as long as they get the right results.

• 71.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-58: How does a person’s skill as a player determine their skill as a coach.The last three national coaches came nowhere close to playing for the Boks. Straeuli, on the other hand, was a World Cup winning player. Martin Johnson too.

• 72.CAPECRUSADER : Reply to this comment

despicable bulls.in 2001 the lottery board bailed them out to the tune of 40 million.maybe time for tht money to be returned?

• 73.Transformation: Reply to this comment

that’s the Tweety i know, owning thoughts :mrgreen:

• 74.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

I agree… Give Meyer the chance to prove homself with whomever he chooses as his assisstants…

• 75.THE MAULER: Reply to this comment

I agree… Give Meyer the chance to prove himself with whomever he chooses as his assisstants…

• 76.CAPECRUSADER : Reply to this comment

ludekuk must be kukking in his broeks at the thought of running the ship alone. :D

• 77.ufo: Reply to this comment

the continuing bumbling and fumbling saga of sa rugby…

saru must pay the bulls for their staff… period…

as far as who heyneke picks… firstly he must be able to pick who he wants… secondly… it is entirely possible he wants these guys because he considers them to be the best in their respective roles… that they are bulls men may not necessarily be the reason he wants them…

and the bulls record over the last few years certainly qualifies their management team as the best in sa…

so let’s not get in a twist… and let meyer do his thing… bit crazy to start gritting him before he’s actually done anything…

• 78.ufo: Reply to this comment

gritting = critting

• 79.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-77: don’t lie, you’re just happy the stormers won’t lose nienaber ;)

• 80.ufo: Reply to this comment

*sigh*

pray tell… what exactly in my post was a lie…?

growthefuckup man

• 81.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-80: dat was net ‘n graapie…relax ou boet :-)

• 82.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-71:

Thats true. fair point. Lets not forget The coach before meyer was a quota.

• 83.Michael: Reply to this comment

People are screaming provincialism without much thinking that maybe just maybe Meyer believes the people he is working with are the best in the business and the ones who buy into his philosophies the most.

• 84.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-83: Good point Michael. Everyone is talking about ability and no one is acknowledging compatibility.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.