Affies tackle Gimmies back to earth

Affies downed Paarl Gym 27-20 during day two of the Kearsney Easter Festival on Saturday.

The Pretoria school scored three tries to one in the second half to beat the opening day heroes. Paarl Gym, who gave Grey Bloem their first defeat in three years on Thursday, struggled in the forwards battle, which saw the victors captilise as they built on to their ascendancy up front.

Affies speedster Andries van der Merwe, who dotted down for one of his team’s four tries in the seven-point victory, was named Man of the Match.

In the other results, Paul Roos, Grey Bloem and EG Jansen all picked up convincing wins.

Paul Roos continued their impressive form this season as they scored six tries in their 40-8 mauling of Monument. The Stellenbosch school has now scored 12 tries in their two victories at the festival.

Grey Bloem bounced back from their disappointing defeat on day one to thrash Westville 43-8, while EG Jansen ran rampant against Selborne with a 42-24 triumph.

Hosts Kearsney beat Queen’s 18-3, while Dale and Glenwood shared the spoils in a 24-24 stalemate.

Test referee Craig Joubert lauded a second day of top schoolboy action.

‘I watched parts of the different matches and refereed the Kearsney-Queen’s match,’ Joubert told Schoolboy Derby. ‘Like day one, there was top talent on display and the teams really outdid themselves.

‘Kearsney did well in the forwards battle against Queen’s, which was the key factor in their win. The match of the day was definitely Affies’ win over Paarl Gym. Both teams performed really well, but in the end of the day, Affies took their chances.’

The third and final day will resume on Monday, which will include an awards ceremony.

Monument 8 Paul Roos 40
Dale 24 Glenwood 24
Grey Bloem 43 Westville 8
Affies 27 Paarl Gym 20
Selborne 24 EG Jansen 42
Kearsney 18 Queen’s 3

Dale vs Paul Roos (08:30 k/o)
Queen’s vs Glenwood (09:45 k/o)
Westville vs EG Jansen (11:00 k/o)
Selborne vs Paarl Gym (13 :15 k/o)
Kearsney vs Affies (14:30 k/o)
Grey Bloem vs Monument (15:45 k/o)
Awarding of Sharks Academy & Varsity College bursaries (17:00)

By Gareth Duncan