Bulls resist late Saders rally

RYAN VREDE watched the Bulls hold on desperately at the death for a 32-30 victory over the Crusaders at Loftus.

The Bulls led 32-16 with eight minutes to play and it seemed to be over as a contest at that stage. But the Saders refused to relent and in the end were denied by a knock on as they went in search of the decisive score. They were outplayed for large sections of the second half but will still feel gutted at coming so close and missing out. The Bulls, conversely, will take this win, even if their performance, particularly in the first half, lacked polish.

Like the Stormers last week, the Crusaders’ challenge was built primarily on an immense tackle fight. They pounded the Bulls’ strike runners consistently and brutally in the first 40 minutes, seldom allowing them momentum at the gainline, then flooded the breakdown, ensuring a slow recycle. As a result the Bulls simply were never allowed to settle into a groove and never posed any significant try-scoring threat.

Their kick-chase method was compromised by this stifled service to their halfback pair, with numerous kicks not finding their mark and offering the visitors opportunities from broken field. Francois Hougaard continues to struggle with the directive of launching the high ball. He isn’t as adept at that skill as he is running the ball and the Bulls would do well to better utilise his strengths. His performance when asked to shift to the wing late in the piece will fuel the fire of those who believe he is best deployed there.

The hosts also continued their uncharacteristically poor form on defence, allowing the Saders to breach their line on more occasions than they will be comfortable with. The tourists’ first try was a prime and the most costly example, Werner Kruger and Pierre Spies both failing to halt Kieran Read’s charge for the tryline. And the Saders’ two late strikes again featured some shoddy defensive work from the Bulls.

The Bulls trailed 13-9 going down the tunnel, Dan Carter adding a conversion and penalty to Read’s try, while Morne Steyn banked three penalties. The Bulls sparked to life early in the second half, running from broken field in a move that culminated in prop Dean Greyling selling Israel Dagg a dummy of note en route to the tryline. Steyn converted and later added three more penalties to give the Bulls a 25-16 lead going into the final quarter.

The Bulls had seemingly absorbed the best the Saders could offer and patently had the ascendancy as the match progressed. With 12 minutes to play they set up a rolling maul that drove them deep into the Saders’ territory and when the ball came out to Steyn the flyhalf chipped through a kick that bounced favourably for Wynand Olivier to collect and score.

Steyn kicked his 22nd point with the conversion but the Saders struck back immediately through a converted tries from Zac Guilford and Tom Marshall to set up a tense closing 30 seconds. But the Saders weren’t able to drive themselves into a kickable position or breach the Bulls’ defensive line to steal the win.

493 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All

• 451.nama1: Reply to this comment

At this stage one can probably say that Mickelson is the favourite to take the Masters title tomorrow evening. Just bacause he has been there and done it all in the past.

Hope that Louis can do it for us though.

Isn’t he a Stormers supporter?

• 452.nama1: Reply to this comment

Birdie Oosthuizen. One shot behind. You go boy.

• 453.nama1: Reply to this comment

Vokken mense kon mos maar die bal op die setperk gegooi het. :grin:

Two, up and down Louis. You can do it.

• 454.nama1: Reply to this comment

Demmit. On the fringe of the green.

• 455.nama1: Reply to this comment

Will struggle to make par here. Probably drop a shot.

• 456.nama1: Reply to this comment

Drop shot on the 18th. Two shots behind the leader.

Hold thumbs for Louis to bring glory to SA tomorrow evening.

• 457.nama1: Reply to this comment

@blueboy(blueboy)-353:

“…i remember the time at newlands when a certain section of the crowd broke onto the park and tried to STAB naas botha…”

Kak man.

Dit was ‘n skool laaitie wat Naas se hand wou vat na die wedstryd omdat hy ‘n Blou Bul ondersteuner was en Naas sy held was. Naas het hom met die skouer uit sy pad gestamp en die sekuriteitsbeamptes het toe sommer op die laaitie afgestorm. Die “wit” media het toe gekom met die storie dat die laaitie vir Naas wou steek.

Hy en sy pa het sy kant van die storie in die “bruin” koerante vertel, maar jy het natuurlik nie dit raak gelees nie, of hoe?

• 458.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Well done Bulls. Bad luck Saders, That was a valiant effort. Stormers will have to have their A game going on next week.
    The way the Cheetahs are starting to click we may have three teams in the semis.

• 459.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cooky(cooky)-440:
    you are correct. Carter passed the ball and held his line awaiting for the pass back, thats waht he is suppose to do. He cant stop let the guy go past and then start up again,pathetic.
    The ref pinged the Saders for some silly stuff.
    And please, if any of you have a replay, look at the Bulls Defensive line, most the time offside.
    The ref needed help with this. I think overall he did a really good job but the linesmen need to help a bit more, especially with the refs that dont have many games under there belts.
    Overall he reffed well when you think, this game we love probably has the most rules in any game.

• 460.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

The call against Carter at the end was correct
    If carter had not intentionally put his hands on Basson and tried to prevent him in defending then it was ok, but he did. If carter had simply supported the ball carrier he would not have been penalized
    Ok so they scored who knows what direction the game would have taken after that.

I thought the Stormers/landers reffing crew were excellent

• 461.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-458:
    Yeah Stormer, it was a good game.

• 462.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-459:
    Actually he is not correct at all
    Carter prevented Basson from defending that is very clear

• 463.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Why so many empty seats at Loftus for a home game vs the Saders?
    Bulls are traveling well. Where are the fans?

• 464.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

Bulls were lucky. The Crusaders looked too comfortable with respect to the way they got themselves back into the game..

• 465.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

It is easter weekend and a lot of people go away.
    simple logic.

• 466.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

Stormers were awesome. I’m a Shark but the Stormers and the Cheetahs are playng the best Rughby in SA right now. I hate what the Cheetahs stand for but they play a nice brand of attacking rugby.
    Stormers are a nice blend of youth and experience.

• 467.Tbozknows: Reply to this comment

SO chaps, who should don the Bok 10, 8,15 and 14?? I think those positions are up for grabs. Oh and 5 too.

• 468.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@Tbozknows(Tbozknows)-466: What on earth does the Cheetahs stand for in your mind that you hate so much?

• 469.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Good morning and Happy Easter to all to whom it matters.

Congratulations to the Bulls on the win, it was an exciting game.

More points for me on the ‘bru.

• 470.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Tbozknows(Tbozknows)-466: What they stand for??????

Explain that please, please do tell us what they stand for

• 471.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-459: Hahahaha, this is what this whole ref thing has created

You play here, local refs blow for the locals, we play there local refs ping the travelling team. Nice one that Paddy and Sanzar has lefts with all to save a few dollars

But Carter should have been pinged, slow mo revealed he changed lanes

• 472.JL1: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-457: Ja ek onthou daai storie, storm in a tea cup, geddit Storm in a Tea Cup

• 473.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Kuk man Hurricane ya one-eyed goonk.

Carter puts his shoulder into the defender and then shoves him away.

I’d hate to see you in a supermarket line.

It was completely cynical and the crusaders and the ball sacks have been getting away with that kind of malarkey for years.

Honestly together with your forward passing it’s a wonder your lot aren’t looking for an NFL franchise.

• 474.Michael: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-446: Get a grip on yourself. You’re not above criticism.

• 475.Michael: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-471: My first reaction on seeing it was that the Saders have been cheated out of a try. Now I am unsure but I do not have the move on video to refer back to. I recall the commentators saying that the decision by the officials was technically correct.

• 476.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

What criticism?

You’re not still sobbing about dogs nobody even knew you had?

Have your balls dropped yet?

Have a great Easter and I hope your Bunny is good to you.

Chat later.

• 477.Michael: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-476: Get over yourself, insensitive and arrogant windbag.

• 478.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

JdV showing he’s still the man for the 12 jersey

• 479.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@Tbozknows(Tbozknows)-466: Please tell us what the Cheetahs stand for that you hate so much???

• 480.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-473:
    lol your a blouse. If thats a shoulder from Carter and a shove, you best put your bib on and play netball.
    And as for forward passes, didnt the Bulls get pinged a couple of times for forward passes.
    I am now thinking you didnt even watch the game.

Dont bother Gunther, you didnt watch the game.

• 481.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Michael(mikeybrass)-477:
    Waste of time telling that old arrogant fool anything

• 482.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-478:

Olivier is playing well too

• 483.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-480: sorry bud, he is perfectly entitled to hold his line.

he is not entitled to use his shoulder and arms to obstruct a defender.

there is a difference and kiwi cheating is being watched ok?

• 484.rangerman: Reply to this comment

the most disgusting part of that carter obstruction was the beahaiour of the crusaders captain, kieran read.

is rugby now to become soccer, where players from the team being penalised are able to push their faces into the face of the ref and beg, plead, cajole or even strart to try and intimidate?

read should have been sent off, disgusting behaviour from a captain but once again, it shows the kiwi mentality in stark relief:

win at all costs, sportsmanship is for dumnmies.

• 485.greentea: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-484:

the rugby world should take a leaf out of SA rugby a shining beacon of fair play and sportsmanship to all, it must be very difficult for teams from the republic to play teams from NZ with your high standards of sportmanship and morality

• 486.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

What’s the matter Hurri you sour old holnaaier?

Watch the incident again.

Its illegal and cynical from Carter.

If you can see it you are either craven or stupid or both.

Rather go and wank off on you tube you old toss.

• 487.greentea: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-486:

Thats not very sporting old boy, Ranger would be disgusted.

• 488.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Be calm buddy.

Old Hurri loves to swim in the ditchwater.

He knows he’s bound to get wet.

• 489.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-487: ah, so shouting in the refs face is ok with you is it?

you prove my point teaman.

its the absolute efusal by you kiwis to see anything wrong with things like bryce lawrences reffing or glen jackson bs performance or even carters cynical blocking and reads soccer thug behaviour that i find dissapointing.

i will happily point out saffa thuggery or stupidity because it is not what i enjoy about rugby and i watch sport for sports sake buddy, if i wanted fixed outcomes or manipulated results i would watch american idols.

understand?

go ask paddy for an apology you wont get one from me.

• 490.greentea: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-489:

I don’t know why don’t you ask FDP he seemed to do it every game in 2011 but you probably missed it, I think you’ll find most NZ rugby fans thought Bryce had a poor game ( in SA he was a match fixer )in the 1/4 final unfortunately despite his poor game you should esaily have won that game, what did you make of the 07′ 1/4 when we got dumped out from poor reffing?

• 491.optiplay: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-459: Just watched the match again,and there are bad calls to both sides. 9 illegal tackles from the Crusaders not seen or penalized.However TOO MANY RULES . And the refs will never get everything right.We need more television refs with the amount of rules.If I were from the Crusaders I would also have complained about the Carter incident.It is a 50/50 call.The Bull deserved to win however.(from a Shark point of view)

• 492.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-486:
    lol Gunther, i will not put anything like that on you tube to get your thrill ups.
    You are on the worng site here brother to ask for that.

@optiplay(optiplay)-491:
    Yeah, Bulls did well and played well. The did deserve the win for sure. They came back into a game where it could have easily slipped away.
    But i am with you….rules….rules….rules

• 493.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-489:
    Ummm you believed Barnes was a great ref in 2007 then changed your mind after he reffed a loss for the boks a year later.
    FDP is the worst when it comes to screaming and complaining at the ref.

So if 2011 RWC was fixed then so was 1995.
    That was perfect timing and needed for SA, they paid a penny for that cup, even pure gold watches.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.