Crusaders cleared of foul play
9 Apr 2012
Crusaders coach Todd Blackadder has demanded an apology from the Bulls after eye-gouging allegations against his team couldn’t be substantiated by the Super Rugby citing commissioner.
Bulls forwards Chiliboy Ralepelle and Flip van der Merwe complained to referee Jaco Peyper that they had been eye-gouged during their match in Pretoria, won 32-30 by the Bulls. Peyper used a white card to refer the incidents to the citing commissioner.
According to reports in New Zealand, the commissioner has reviewed the video footage of the incidents in question and found the Crusaders not guilty.
‘The citing commissioner has reviewed it and after that review there was nothing in the video footage that would point to the allegation being substantiated,’ Sanzar chief executive Greg Peters said.
‘The citing commissioner also found it interesting that the Bulls did not follow through with a complaint within the four-hour window after the game.’
After the game, Blackadder said he was ‘bemused’ at the allegations and demanded an apology if they were found to be incorrect. Following the citing commissioner’s ruling and after looking at the footage, the Crusaders coach wonders why the Bulls would have made such claims.
‘The first one with Chiliboy, you would expect that the player would come out of the breakdown holding his eye, but he certainly didn’t. I wonder whether it was a negative ploy.’
Captain Kieran Read also said that he was disappointed with the Bulls for accusing the Crusaders of such tactics.
‘Initially I was really surprised at the allegations,’ he said. ‘It has now come out that there’s no case to answer.
‘It’s a kick in the guts to us because we’re men of integrity and it’s no surprise that it’s turned out the way it has.’

692 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All
8 Apr 2012, 08:10 am
gouging filthy kiwi dragons or whingeing punanipink dragons?
8 Apr 2012, 09:00 am
Flips eye did look like a squashed guava, so maybe some finger poked him in the eye
8 Apr 2012, 09:05 am
Nothing will be done about this because it is New Zealand players and they never do anything dirty on a Rugby field
8 Apr 2012, 09:30 am
@ShaunSwindon(Karma-zaf)-3: Go and count the shoulder charges in the Sharks/Hurricanes game. Hurricanes 11 Sharks5. Not a single penalty against the Hurricanes.JdP was seen ,but Taylor scored a try and nothing came of that one. That gives 16 incidents where Bakkies would have either been cited or penalized. Double standards! Brad Thorn just as “dirty”as Bakkies . NEVER properly penalized.
And what is this “demanding an apology” . If it proves to be wrong,let it go. It was never proven that Bakkies eye gouged Cannon,yet he got suspended(I think it was Cannon).
8 Apr 2012, 09:41 am
@optiplay(optiplay)-4: Yep here comes the revisionism Baakies was a clean as a whistle – squeaky clean never bit never gouged.
I hope the accusers have proof or it is just as likely one of the cheating mongrels from their own team did it. Let’s face it the Bulls have long standing form in this area.
8 Apr 2012, 09:47 am
and bulls players aren’t the sort to make up stories of eye gouging particularly when they actually won the game anyway.
the crusaders were very dirty and synical yesterday. There were many instances of tackles without the use of the arms. And how about kieren reid at the breakdown. When will refs wake up to the fact that kiwis roll into the scrumhalf to block the quick pass. Oh….and then carters desperate blocking of basson.
plenty went on withregards to the crusaders yesterday.
I’m completely pissed that the bulls let them leave loftus with a bonus point.
8 Apr 2012, 09:56 am
@Qrest(Qrest)-5: Show me a “clean” international lock. NZ teams are no more “clean”players than any other international team(exceptSamoa). Do yourself a favour and go through the game Hl/Sharks again. Very “clean”play by your team. But I forgot.your shoulder charges are actually “clean”charges. My mistake.
8 Apr 2012, 10:13 am
saders denying claims hardly surprising. they know full well there players are too clever to do anything that might actually get caught on camera
kiwis know how to niggle those bokke out of sight, to get retaliation in full view. much smarter in their dirty play than our boys. and if you’re caught, deny deny deny. meealamu a classic example.
8 Apr 2012, 10:21 am
Filthy kiwi poeslaps.
Its almost as bad as saying Christian Kevvie doesn’t headbutt people on purpose.
As for Slackbladder bleating for an apology he can go fist himself.
8 Apr 2012, 10:31 am
Demands an apology? Presumptious git.
8 Apr 2012, 10:32 am
@Qrest(Qrest)-5: HUH? Smoking something good on Easter aren’t you. What history of Bulls players eye-gouging team-mates? Twit.
8 Apr 2012, 10:41 am
The Crusaders are masters of the type of obstructive unsporting play that Carter was blown up for. Carter himself does it very often, with numerous of his so called brilliant moves leading up to tries involving him subtly holding a guy back or “assisting” the gap to open by obstructing an inside defender.
He just happened to get caught this time.
8 Apr 2012, 10:43 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-12: Welcome back.
8 Apr 2012, 10:55 am
Mikey
I’m away for the easter holidays, so typing from my Blackberry. Not really fun. Only saw the last 20min of the game yesterday, but I reckon we gave away 2 easy tries after thinking the game was in the bag and slacking off as a result. And Carter’s obstruction was cynical and utterly intentional. B*stard.
8 Apr 2012, 11:02 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-14: Urgh yes, I had a BB until 6 months ago and this site works horrible on it. I switched to a Windows Mobile HTC. The site is still not optimised properly for a mobile experience but it is better on non-BBs.
General thoughts on the game. Thought Spies played well. The locks were solid, not spectacular. Potgieter wasn’t great and he was outplayed by CJ Stander. Akona was industrious as always. Olivier had a good game; Sadie has some way to go to settle into the Bulls pattern of attack but is ok on defence. Chiliboy was fantastic; what a player. Hougaard was his busy self. Steyn was fantastic with the boot but poor in general play with Olivier making up for it.
Yes I agree, the players became complaicent on defense. Overall, another learning curve for the boys. Better to learn while winning and being in the top half of the log.
Spies is developing into a decent captain. I thought making him captain was a joke and I’m eating my words.
8 Apr 2012, 11:03 am
Happy Easter to all btw, including Skoppie
8 Apr 2012, 11:11 am
Thanks for the review Mikey. Didn’t see the first 60min, so appreciate your report.
8 Apr 2012, 11:20 am
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-17: The Bulls will be a threat in the second half of the competition. I will be helluva surprised if they do not reach the playoffs where anything can happen.
8 Apr 2012, 11:55 am
MacGyver scored a try.
8 Apr 2012, 11:56 am
They could’ve stopped the game right there.
A moment in time.
Epic.
8 Apr 2012, 12:05 pm
listen to all the above.
You all sound like a bunch of women in the toilets.
Blah blah blah
8 Apr 2012, 12:10 pm
Against who exactly are these allegations made?
The Inquisitors will quickly find the truth of the matter.
Then Chili and Flipper can apologise,
and all will be well in the world once again
Or then again:
They may not apologise………………………………………….and the Rugby World will once again see what sportsmanship means in Bulls Country.
8 Apr 2012, 12:15 pm
Aha. Two fave kiwis!
And they come out swinging!
8 Apr 2012, 12:19 pm
@Michael(mikeybrass)-15: Hougaard was immense. He was the difference between both teams in my opinion. I thought Spies was okay but do agree that he has the makings of a very good captain. Stander had a good game and I hardly saw Potgieter but maybe that is a good thing…..doing the hard yards for his team? Steyn kicked well but cannot unlock a backline. Just my opinion!
8 Apr 2012, 12:20 pm
This is going to be interesting hopefully there’s enough footage to make a conclusive decision. While I find it hard to believe the crusaders a dumb enough to do such a thing I find it even harder to believe chilli and flip would both lie knowing full well there are cameras everywhere.
Especially since this is the “justice for richie” law following the rwc it would be ironic that his own team mates get pinged for it.
Rugby is fast becoming a get away with what you can game especially at ruck and in broken play with obstructions ,late hits and shoulder charges going unnoticed.
Something else I didn’t get was why the hurricanes 7 wasn’t pinged for retaliation ???? Or is it now acceptable ?I distinctly remember Duane Vermulen against the highlanders being warned not to retaliate by the ref cause “he would deal with it” ofcourse the ref did nothing about the provoking offense . it’s really getting annoyingly inconsistent
Caner.
Flips eye looked like Ron Jeremy had stuck his morning glory into it.
Somewhere there is a piece of Crusader scum with a piece of his retina under his fingernail.
Some nasty late shoulder charges too.
A particularly bad one from the drunken scooter streaker.
(By the way which trailer park in Pongoland DOES he hail from?)
The citing officer should be busy.
@optiplay(optiplay)-4
Concerning your Champion Gouger Bakkies and Brendon Cannon:
Try this……………………………
………………… in August 2003 he (Botha) was accused of biting and then eye-gouging Wallabies hooker Brendan Cannon, and although there was insufficient video evidence to consider the biting charge, and he was found not guilty of gouging, he was still suspended for eight weeks for “attacking the face”.[4] Cannon has given interviews stating that Botha both bit and gouged him [1] [2], and Botha himself gave an interview to The Times saying that his ban was “for an eye-gouge” [3].
Good enough for me Opti.
Bakkies is perhaps the filthiest player to ever take the field in the Pro-era.
Biting and gouging all in one sequence. Pure poetry.
8 Apr 2012, 12:25 pm
@Dawn(Dawn)-23:
I cannot speak for Hurricane Dawn.
But I am no swinger,
Strictly monogamous.
8 Apr 2012, 12:26 pm
Hougaard is a legend!
8 Apr 2012, 12:30 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-26:
When the evidence is there for us all to see, I will join you in condemnation of any guilty party.
Until then, shiit happens……………………………………this ain’t tiddly winks.
I suspect contact has occurred, but perhaps not deliberately and with intent to injure.
8 Apr 2012, 12:38 pm
unlike last week’s match v the lions, this was a proper rugby match. i was at both coke park last week and loftus yesterday.
i hope flip and chilliboy are being sincere about their claims. it takes away from a really fantastic match. crusaders were in a lull during the third quarter of the match. and then they suddenly came alive again. typically all three of their tries scored by long range strike running. if they had replicated this style of play more often, they could have won. the bulls seem to have a built in weakness against long range attacks.
8 Apr 2012, 12:40 pm
@Tacitus(Deucalion)-12:
Crusaders ROBBED of an almost certain try, if this is the instance to which I think you refer.
How can a player be obstructing when he is behind the ball carrier.
Even when you Okes win you whine.
I’m sure if I went outside my house right now,
and cupped my ear to the west,
I would hear a faint but unmistakable low whine in the breeze.
8 Apr 2012, 12:41 pm
filthy kiwis
just filthy
unsurprising though
the usual old dirty, cynical stuff from the crusaders
fark i hate this team as much as i hate the all blacks, for what they’ve become.
these people are a blight on the game, when the poosy irb grow balls and actually do something about it.
enjoy when they lose sooooo soooo much
good luck on the weekend stormers.
8 Apr 2012, 12:41 pm
Ahah.
So when a kiwi does a bit of eyeball surgery….
Shiit happens.
8 Apr 2012, 12:46 pm
i have to really mention this. if you’re a true fan of rugby put this on your bucket list – watch dan carter live at least once. the great man is 30 this year and he might not play too many more years.
simply put (and what the TV cameras cannot accurately bring across) carter has the purest pass perhaps in the history of the game. and he just seems to always have that extra second on the ball that other players don’t.
he’s still getting up to speed post groin tear, because his goal kicking and kicking out of hand were below standard (zane kirchner in particular read his kicks very well all evening). other than that he was his usual self. his tackling is fierce and he took the ball up many times into tackles by the bulls heavies, without losing the ball or conceding a turnover.
8 Apr 2012, 12:52 pm
@cane(cane)-32:
With regards to obstruction I don’t think it’s about where the player is with regards to the ball carrier it’s about what action the impeding player has taken . In this case I agree with the touch judge Dan carter makes the pass but remains involved in the play by making deliberate blocking contact with basson who may or may not have got to the ball carrier .
Its like pulling a back or blocking a supporting runner on attack , obviously a supporting runner is behind the ball career so is the player pulling him back … So are you saying is that does not count as obstruction because they are behind the ball carrier?
8 Apr 2012, 12:53 pm
what match were some of you watching? ref and touch judges missed a couple of things, like when kieran read knocked on the ball (i think the ball almost bounced up twice after he dropped it
) i saw no cynical play from the saders. its a contact sport. where was all this obstruction
8 Apr 2012, 13:03 pm
the zac guildford hit on ndungane (or was it kirchner) could have been reffed because he got him super hard at about collar bone level and stopped him dead in the tracks. i have to say though, the bulls faithful are somewhat misrepresented in some quarters. they are more tolerant than they are given credit for.
8 Apr 2012, 13:53 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-33:
and you’re trying to tell us SA leads the way in clean play and fairness to all, have a think about it buddy or do I need to spell it out to you, heres a country that lets a convicted murderer play for the Bokke with approval full from management and fans
8 Apr 2012, 13:55 pm
Dammit to hell I knew poor old bakkies was not tge only one who brought tge filth – poor chilliboy , yip gotta watch those kiwis..
8 Apr 2012, 14:28 pm
We can see from here why SA justice system is shot.
Anyway if the person is not SA or an outsider, he will be found guilty no matter what.
Pathetic really.
Until they have proof on what happened, no one gouged at all.
I suggest you guys calm down. For all we know it could have been a Bulls player gouging the wrong player…..now wouldnt that be a shame. Gunther and his homies will go missing for a while.
And if it was a Kiwi, ban him for the rest of the year. Last thing we want is to be put in the same bracket as the South African players.
8 Apr 2012, 14:32 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-33:
“fark i hate this team as much as i hate the all blacks, for what they’ve become.”
And you know why you hate those 2 teams. I will tell you…….. your jealous.
You would love to back a team as successful as the ABs and the Crusaders.
Best ever international team to walk the green grass of rugby and of course the Saders that still cause problems even after coaches leaving and natural disasters.
8 Apr 2012, 14:36 pm
@greentea(greentea)-39:
who is the convicted murderer you are talking about? tromp? i think he went to jail for that and was picked after his release, but i agree… should not have been made a bok, some things are just too controversial to let be.
whether he did his time or not.
the springboks play hard but fair and are not low dirty cheats.
8 Apr 2012, 14:44 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-42:
no hurricane, i hate those two teams because they are cheats, plain and simple.
they make rugby unlikeable with their constant cynical, intentional and so often dirty play.
the shoulder charges, the holding back, the tugging, the stuff at the rucks, the obstructing…and on..and on….
why..?…why..?…
you have so much in the way of skill, talent, power, ability as a nation and canterbury as a region yet you waste what could be a glorious history written and spoken about by people the world over because of how they have come to play the game….really… people do not like the all blacks of today…at all…
8 Apr 2012, 14:45 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-43:
… tromp? i think he went to jail for that………. ”
How long do murders get in SA Bakkies?
Fook me…………………………….
A murderer anywhere else would either be either:
-fried,
-hung,
-garroted,
-or away for sooo long,
that being an International Sportsperson was unthinkable.
8 Apr 2012, 14:47 pm
there is no jealousy here, only dislike.
i wish it will change.
i would like to one day admire the all blacks and crusaders whether the boks and bulls win or lose to them, but for that to happen they will have to change their ways.
8 Apr 2012, 14:47 pm
Saders were a bit niggly. A smart bunch though. Love the way they got that penalty by not competing in the maul after the line out.
Met them in Jozi last year and chatted to Carter for a bit . A really nice bunch. Carter esp. is very humble and a gent.
8 Apr 2012, 14:49 pm
either be either:
Now there is something new.
8 Apr 2012, 14:51 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-46:
What ways do you speak off.
8 Apr 2012, 14:51 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-46:
“”…….would like to one day admire the all blacks and crusaders whether the boks and bulls win or lose to them, …………………….”
- yeah right.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All