Crusaders cleared of foul play
9 Apr 2012
Crusaders coach Todd Blackadder has demanded an apology from the Bulls after eye-gouging allegations against his team couldn’t be substantiated by the Super Rugby citing commissioner.
Bulls forwards Chiliboy Ralepelle and Flip van der Merwe complained to referee Jaco Peyper that they had been eye-gouged during their match in Pretoria, won 32-30 by the Bulls. Peyper used a white card to refer the incidents to the citing commissioner.
According to reports in New Zealand, the commissioner has reviewed the video footage of the incidents in question and found the Crusaders not guilty.
‘The citing commissioner has reviewed it and after that review there was nothing in the video footage that would point to the allegation being substantiated,’ Sanzar chief executive Greg Peters said.
‘The citing commissioner also found it interesting that the Bulls did not follow through with a complaint within the four-hour window after the game.’
After the game, Blackadder said he was ‘bemused’ at the allegations and demanded an apology if they were found to be incorrect. Following the citing commissioner’s ruling and after looking at the footage, the Crusaders coach wonders why the Bulls would have made such claims.
‘The first one with Chiliboy, you would expect that the player would come out of the breakdown holding his eye, but he certainly didn’t. I wonder whether it was a negative ploy.’
Captain Kieran Read also said that he was disappointed with the Bulls for accusing the Crusaders of such tactics.
‘Initially I was really surprised at the allegations,’ he said. ‘It has now come out that there’s no case to answer.
‘It’s a kick in the guts to us because we’re men of integrity and it’s no surprise that it’s turned out the way it has.’

692 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All
8 Apr 2012, 14:52 pm
@bok2007(bok2007)-47:
yeah that was a good penalty by not contesting the maul.
8 Apr 2012, 14:53 pm
@cane(cane)-50:
8 Apr 2012, 14:53 pm
cane go visit news24, you’ll see there were 2 farm murders in 5 days. The last being a father, a mother and their 15 year old daughter … sick stuff you cannibals in NZ don’t see… Henry Tromp did what he did in self defense … no need to go deeper into it all … if you at the rate farmers are murdered in SA you’ll get the answers …. lets go to Robin Brooke shall we … touching and molesting 13 – 15 year old girls … forcing them to have s3x etc …. girls who can’t defend themselves! sick f*ck!!
8 Apr 2012, 14:56 pm
@cane(cane)-45:
i agree completely cane, he should not have been made a bok.
8 Apr 2012, 14:57 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-41: Proof is noy essential when these things happen to South Africans. The Irish mauled Brussow’s eye in 2009, nothing done. Giteau practically murdered Du Preez… nothing happened. Sheehan’s massive shoulder charge on Barrett that left him unconscious… unpunished (it was said Sheehan tried to get out of the way, lol). Te many dozens of shoulder charges by $onny Bill… unpunished., in fact, even praised often as showing “great attitude on defence”. I could go on and on.
8 Apr 2012, 14:57 pm
@grant10(grant100)-53:
Didn’t Trompy run the guy over in his ute or feed him to the Lions or was that another player?
8 Apr 2012, 14:59 pm
Why would the Saders do it?
Those are the two players they would like to stay on the field
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-49:
yu know the answer to this hurricane.
they are cynical dirty cheats
@cane(cane)-50:
i mean it cane, i really would.
for the last however many years the all blacks and the kiwi super rugby sides have been getting away with many questionable ‘pratices’… and I use the word deliberately because it is too widespread and consistent to be mere spur-of-the-moment indiscretions.
the most prevalent illegal strategy they use is to ‘over run’ every incident taking out opposition players along the way… for example… they will attempt a tackle and one player will actually tackle the ball carrier…whether it is successful of not, other players will run passed the ball carrier and continue to run for several paces and knock into, knock over, bump, obstruct or otherwise disrupt any other opposition player in the area… all very ‘accidentally’ you see… but what it does is break the continuity of the opposition play because there is no one left to offload to…
a similar strategy it employed at the breakdown where they run passed or over the breakdown point taking out opposition players in the area either waiting to clean out and/or waiting for the ball… this goes way beyond legal clean-outs at the breakdown and results in players several metres away from the breakdown being effectively tackled without the ball… again, all very ‘accidentally’ either way the start of the next phase is thus disrupted and slowed down…
very seldom are these illegal tackles on opposition without the ball penalized… or even recognized…
then there is the kiwi callous, cowardly penchant for shoulder-charging into the unprotected backs, ribs, necks of opposition players in rucks and mauls… usually from the side too… very seldom are these even picked up let alone penalized…
of course we all no about them lying in illegal positions at rucks to prevent the opposition ball coming out… or ‘lazy’ running back onsides… and they are very seldom penalized…
then yesterday’s stormers/highlanders game revealed a ‘new’ illegal strategy of the highlanders which went unrecognized and unpenalised for the whole game… there must have been 6 or 7 incidents in which the highlanders ‘mountaineered’ or trampled all over stormers players on the ground…
yes, it used to be legal if you were in the way… but it is now against the laws… and for so many highlanders to suddenly start raking stormers players makes it clear this was a team decision, probably in the knowledge that they would not be called out for it by the ref…
the reality is that with lyndon bray and paddy o’ instructing refs what to ‘focus on’ their attention is drawn away from the above incidents…
sour grapes…? indeed not… stormers won… but that doesn’t mean these incidents should not be highlighted… but as I said a few weeks ago, the only way to diminish the effect of these tactics is to be so accurate that the ref’s hand is largely forced… or tied behind his back…
carter’s interference yesterday was simply an extension of the above… and he clearly interfered with the bulls player… let’s face it… if he was running ‘in support’ of the ball carrier… he would have cut in-field to receive any pass… and make it impossible for the defender to close them both down… where he was, had he received the ball, the defender would certainly have tackled him…
sadly the end result of the refs being so ineffective is that rugby players will start to dive like soccer players to ensure they do indeed draw the ref’s attention to the incidents… because the players can’t/don’t trust that the ref’s will pick it up…
it really is time to use northern hemisphere refs… and it’s hardly more expensive to fly a pom or irish ref to new Zealand or south Africa than it is to fly southern hemisphere refs to each other’s countries…
8 Apr 2012, 15:00 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-54: Bakkies has been involved in far less incidents than many supposedly great or clean NZers. So’oialo being a prime example, but so too McCaw, Thorne and Collins. One incident in 2003 by Bakkies, nothing under Jake and only two for the Boks under Peter (one of which was more IRB stupidity).
Now were we talking about Bismarck…. but then the media does not work hard in portraying him as a thug, rather as a poor unloved victim. NZers got more dirty the more PIers they started fielding.
8 Apr 2012, 15:00 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-55:
Don’t forget Corne Kriger he was hard done by, a real gent of the game.
8 Apr 2012, 15:02 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-55:
And so could i.
Matfield high shot on Carter and Kelleher, i believe they went unpunished.
Anyway i agree with what you say,but honestly, no proof , no case.
Until then lets hope that if there was a gouge, the bugger gets banned a long time.
8 Apr 2012, 15:03 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-60:
You should be proud of Bakkies a great South African.
8 Apr 2012, 15:04 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-60:
Wow
8 Apr 2012, 15:05 pm
A Rugby World Cup broadcaster was killed after a work bonding session during some rare down-time in the tournament.
Billy Dawson, 34, died in Auckland Hospital on Friday night, about 16 hours after he was punched while enjoying a night out with colleagues preparing for the Rugby World Cup’s quarterfinal weekend.
Christchurch-born but living in Auckland, he was a respected member of Sky TV’s back-room production team, specialising as a replay operator.
His brother-in-law Coen Lammers said Dawson suffered the fatal injuries outside Spy Bar in Auckland’s Viaduct after becoming separated from fellow Sky TV employees, and later died after.
“They had a day off. So they had a barbecue and went into town. They got separated right at the end and that is when it happened … they [Dawson's colleagues] are very cut up about it.”
Auckland police confirmed yesterday that they were treating Dawson’s death as a homicide.
Three men have been charged with assault in relation to the incident, and one man also charged for possession of methamphetamine.
All three men appeared in the Auckland District Court on Friday.
8 Apr 2012, 15:09 pm
@ufo(ufo)-59:
@Alucard(Alucard)-60:
we need to remove these people from the important decision making processes or positions which relate to the laws and how its transgressions are punished in the law governing body for rugby (irb).
its the only way we can fix this cancer on rugby.
they must understand they are to blame and when guilty must be punished.
8 Apr 2012, 15:10 pm
@grant10(grant100)-65:
Sounds like a very dangerous country, isn’t NZ a top destination for South Africans to emmigrate to, someone should inform them how dangerous NZ is.
8 Apr 2012, 15:15 pm
Sh1tty thread.
8 Apr 2012, 15:15 pm
@ufo(ufo)-59:
theres so much complicity by the kiwi commentators in how they simply just move right on from such incidents most of the time or just ignore or not even mention it when it happens on screen.
i also notice they are aided by the camera crews quickly moving on from incidents and intentionally choosing not to replay them a lot of the time.
now had it been a saffa transgression on the other hand…boy oh boy….
which is why i dont like their commentators too.
i like the ozie commentators.
8 Apr 2012, 15:16 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-46:
Shall we look at what there is to admire in some of your lot:
Lets no F u c c K about here Houston………………….Lets look at who exactly has the problem………………………..Okes Dokes or Godzone.
YOU ARE THE BAD GUYS.:
You know it.
We know it.
Everybody knows it.
fact,
period,
full stop,
end of.
-Tromp,
-The Oke who bit Fitzpatricks ear off,
-Bakkies,
-Bakkies,
-Bakkies,
-Bakkies,
-The Gougers Bismark, and Burger.
-Peiterman Van Zyl , who attacked/assaulted an International Referee. (A guest in your Country).
Johannes Nel…………………………………who bottled Kevin a couple of weeks back……………………………………………………..egged on by some Bulls Witch.
Hansie…………………………………………perhaps the most dispicable of them all.
Then there was the Oke who would not share a room with an Ethnic African…………silly fcku ……………………………..he most likely has regretts now.
The National Coach who referred to 85% of South Africans with the K word.
And of course Winnie.
Well you cannot winnie them all I suppose.
8 Apr 2012, 15:18 pm
@grant10(grant100)-65:
methamphetamine is a huge problem in NZ, but atleast i can say it is. You seem to be the person thats blind to whats actually happening in your own country.
What are you trying to proving here. Surely you dont want the real facts and compare NZ to SA for muders,rapes,beating and child molesting. You are digging yourself a hole here.
8 Apr 2012, 15:20 pm
@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-68:
Sure is. We have a few that have gone off the topic here,including me.
LETS GET BACK ON TOPIC ALL.
8 Apr 2012, 15:20 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-60: Baakies got a yellow card for stamping in his VERY FIRST test!
Bokke have three current team playing that have all been banned for gouging – Baakies, Bismark and Burger. NZ has none. Baakie got banned for the Canon disgrace, banned for hitting Phil Waugh, banned for the Lions disgrace and banned for 9 weeks for head butting Cowan. Citing and judiciary panel watching closely these days. Either Bokke are filth or they’re stupid in not getting away with filth. Pick one.
8 Apr 2012, 15:22 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-60:
So bakkies has had 3 incidents in what 12 years you say.
Achievements of Bakkies Botha:
1. Dislocated Adam Jones’ shoulder
2. Almost crushed Shane Williams
3. Headbutted Jimmy Cowan
4. Eye gouged Brendan Cannon
5. Cheapshotted Stirling Mortlock
6.? Slapped rayan kankowski
7. Cheapshotted Gio Aplon
Could go on but i think you seem to have forgotten a few
8 Apr 2012, 15:23 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-74:
Actually, take off that Shane Williams one.
Williams was just monstered
8 Apr 2012, 15:26 pm
@Hurricane(Hurricane)-74:
He’d be a big star in the WWF with a roll of honour like that, what a guy he must be very busy come confession time every Sunday being the man of god that he is.
8 Apr 2012, 15:27 pm
@cane(cane)-70:
no cane, you are the bad guys who cheat your delusional selves out of trouble at every opportunity.
you mention individuals who when they transgressed and did wrong were rightly punished for their actions, full stop. all the people you mention were punished for their actions and payed a penalty and price.
some of them are even punished for doing absolutely nothing wrong a lot of the time.
do you really want me to list all your dirty play incidents?
mcaw’s keeing stuff, remember
thorns pick up from the ground wwe piledriver style spear move, remember
kevvie ‘i didna do it’ mealamu’s headbutts
umaga and kevvie’s spear tackle double act
i can go on and on and on…
8 Apr 2012, 15:27 pm
@cane(cane)-70:
Dingleberry
8 Apr 2012, 15:29 pm
but of course you people are never punished for your filth.
8 Apr 2012, 15:29 pm
@grant10(grant100)-53:
Easy Grantie…………………………………………………………………
easy….
read the other 20 posts before I made mine.
Then castigate all those arrseholes,
And when you finished with them…………………………….start on me.
At that point I will be happy to accept your criticism without rancour or malice.
8 Apr 2012, 15:30 pm
In the small land of marikiwis you play ¡¡¡¡only one sport!!!!! and STILL you need the help of the referees to win.
8 Apr 2012, 15:30 pm
@cane(cane)-70:
why is hansie the most despicable of all..?..
he’s not even a rugby player.
8 Apr 2012, 15:32 pm
Have to say, i didnt like Kieran Reads behaviour, bad captain, bad sportman and bad loser
8 Apr 2012, 15:34 pm
look, the way i see it you have one of two options here….either you clean yourselves up or we will have to do the cleaning up for you….
if you have any honour you will choose to the former.
8 Apr 2012, 15:36 pm
@Markel77(Markel77)-83:
and then, like reechie did in that sweet semi, he cried to the ref about how unfair it was on him and his team even though they were responsible for 85% of the filth on the field during the game…hahaha go figure….
8 Apr 2012, 15:39 pm
@grant10(grant100)-65:
Grantie really……………………………………………..
Lets see now……
” Rugby World Cup broadcaster was killed after a work bonding session during some rare down-time in the tournament”’.’
On this ONE SINGLE DAY IN NZ, a tragedy occurred.
On any single day in SA, how many tragedy’s like this occur.
6?
10?
20?
You tell me.
Smarty Pants.
I know this kind of shiit helps none of the victims.
and I should know better.
But so should you
8 Apr 2012, 15:41 pm
Yeah Houston, i remember our dear Richeat Mccaw.
8 Apr 2012, 15:42 pm
@Markel77(Markel77)-81:
One sport you say?
lol, strange how we have more gold medals than you lot in olympics, in fact we have more medals over all. Not bad for a population of around 4 million. In fact most of those medals were recieved when our population was alot less. Netball, Hockey, Rugby league, rowing world champs etc i could go on and on, but i think you get the idea.
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-84:
Like Bakkies did the cleaning out on Aplon?
8 Apr 2012, 15:42 pm
ok folks, i have work to do, cheers.
@cane(cane)-86:
just so you now i do like you caner, as well hurricane, and will never hold what the all blacks do against you guys.
8 Apr 2012, 15:45 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-85:
85% you say?
OK just leave it cos now you are venturing into the talking rubbish and making things up to make your little crusade sound better. In fact its now failing.
8 Apr 2012, 15:50 pm
Netball? italia, netherlands, Cuba are the best
Hockey? Russia, Sweden and Canada
Rowing what?
What are you talking about? you are nothing in sports
8 Apr 2012, 15:57 pm
@Markel77(Markel77)-91:
lol Netball we have won the owrld Champ 4 times since 1963
OZ have won it 10 times. The countries you have said……… a big fat 0
Hockey, we punch will above our weight like we do in most sports.
Wont explain what rowing is, you should have picked this sort of stuff up in school.
It consisits of water and a floating vessel that hold people and they race.
8 Apr 2012, 15:58 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-82:
Hansie is the epitome of all that is vile in Sport.
What Adolf was to Politics,
What Assad is to National Reconciliation,
What Roger Whittaker was to popular music,
What the Bulls are to fair play,
What that NY plonker, what’s his name………………Andy Whorehole, was to art.
What Bonnie and Clyde were to Bankers Confidence,
What Global warming is to an ice cube,
And so Hansie will be remembered among Sporting circles.
Without Hansie, Pakistan would stand alone as the most corrupt of all sporting Nations.
But one of Yours had to put his hand up…………………………………………..didn’t he.
One of yours always does.
8 Apr 2012, 16:00 pm
@Markel77(Markel77)-91:
Oh and hockey, Pakistan,netherland and germany are really the best in the world for that sport, once again the countries you mentioned are nowhere, lol Russia.
I know you have the internet as you are blogging on Keo, i suggest surf the net for other stuff,learn about other things. There is more to life on the internet than just Keo and p0rn.
8 Apr 2012, 16:00 pm
@Markel77(Markel77)-91:
“”Netball? italia, netherlands, Cuba are the best”"
You silly sausage.
Are you some kind of drug crazed idiot?
8 Apr 2012, 16:01 pm
@cane(cane)-95:
perhaps you are confusing Netball with Handball?
8 Apr 2012, 16:05 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-55:
Giteau “murdered” no one.
It was a high ball that both contested.
Once again…………………………….this ain’t tiddly winks.
Giteau was/is a fair player, who plays the ball.
8 Apr 2012, 16:06 pm
Why is everyone complaining? These cheeky filth masters from downunder have many lessons to teach us. We need to cultivate their image if squeeky cleanness while jooking til the cows come home. Look at RWC2011, that was arranged vernekery at the highest levels – our boys need to get sharp and stop crying – ever since that splendid operation with Suzie, our ability for real cunning filth has been dwindling – brycie Lawrence was a fkn deadringer – back to hometown refs.
8 Apr 2012, 16:06 pm
We need the Easter Bunny here
Too much wanger swinging
8 Apr 2012, 16:08 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-54:
Don’t going being “TOO REASONABLE” Bakkies.
Yuo’ll take all the fun out if it.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All