No respite for Storming forwards

JON CARDINELLI writes the Stormers’ sustained forward aggression and attacking variation will be put to the test when they front the Crusaders this week.

The Stormers may have been feeling the pressure at the start of 2012, but there’s little doubt that each subsequent win has lightened the mental load. It could be said that after winning six from six, a record that makes them the only unbeaten team in the competition, there isn’t too much pressure on the Cape team to beat the Crusaders in Christchurch or the Reds in Brisbane.

During the planning stage of their campaign, the Stormers coaches would have identified these two league fixtures as the toughest. The Crusaders and Reds not only qualified for the 2011 final, but beat the Stormers in the build-up to the play-offs. They did so at Newlands, and so you would expect them to be even tougher to beat in Australasia in 2012.

But this season has seen the Stormers gaining something more than a six from six record. They’re constantly talking about a winning culture and the collective belief that has swelled with every victory. It’s for this reason that they won’t be looking at the coming game as one they can afford to lose, but indeed one they could well win.

The coaching trio of Coetzee, Matt Proudfoot and Robbie Fleck were speaking about the clash with the Crusaders during the Stormers’ bye week in round three. Listening to them talk, you got the sense that they wanted to make a statement against a Crusaders side that had beaten them twice in 2011, the second time through a dominant forward effort.

After the Sharks game, Proudfoot said that he had been impressed with the progress of the pack. In subsequent weeks, the forwards coach has spoken about tweaking the game in certain areas but has always commented on the growth of the unit as they overwhelmed the opposing pack on each occasion.

There were doubts that they would get up for a game against the Highlanders. They’d invested so much into the forward-oriented melee with the Bulls the week before. They’d endured a taxing journey to Dunedin. Surely the forwards couldn’t get up for another bout with a hard-nosed Highlanders pack?

There were instances where the Stormers were overpowered, and numerous examples of inaccuracies at the breakdown point. But apart from a few lapses and moments of indiscipline, the Stormers forwards again showed tremendous heart and no small measure of collective clout.

It bodes well for the coming match against the Crusaders, a match they have been looking forward to all season. They won’t have Schalk Burger, who is recovering from a knee injury, but they will feel confident that they can match the Crusaders, especially since their scrum has done so well in 2012.

The Crusaders started the season slowly but have become more of a force in recent weeks. They so nearly pipped the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld, and the result aside, they showed what they are capable of when their forwards fire.

While the Stormers will have recovered from their jet lag, the Crusaders will come into this match on the back of a long journey from South Africa. And yet, there’s good reason to believe the travel won’t detract from the Cantabrians’ performance.

The Crusaders showed their mettle last season when the effects of an earthquake forced them to play the majority of their matches outside of Christchurch. They eventually qualified for the play-offs, and flew to Cape Town to tackle the South African conference champions. They not only beat the Stormers on that occasion, they blew them away.

So the Stormers shouldn’t be counting on fatigue to slow the Crusaders down. They also shouldn’t be expecting the off-colour outfit that turned out for the first few fixtures. The determined showing in Pretoria was a powerful statement: the Crusaders are back. And after the eye-gouging allegations that have since been proved false, they are angry.

The Stormers will need to play out of their skins to match the Crusaders forwards. From there, they will need to do more with their attacking opportunities.

They were more clinical in turning turnovers into points against the Highlanders, and that showed how an aggressive defence can be used as a powerful offence. But they may not enjoy such dominance against the Crusaders.

They also won’t be let off the hook when they don’t protect the ball. The Highlanders put the Stormers under pressure at times but failed to earn much reward. They affected a series of breakdown turnovers and won numerous penalties in this area, but still struggled to breach the Stormers defence.

The Crusaders may boast a potent attacking unit, but they play a similar game to that of the Stormers and Bulls. They attempt to pressure teams with a dominant forward effort and savvy tactical kicking display.

Much will depend on the performances of both packs this Saturday, but if the respective heavies cancel each other out, then the Stormers backs will need to produce something different in order to compromise that impressive Crusaders defence.

Follow JC on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

193 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

• 151.ufo: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-149:

wikus is/was playing vodacom cup…

but The KidShove has bolted the Number 1 jersey down good and tight…

kritzinger still injured last i heard…

• 152.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-149: Not sure but I’m happy to see them go, especially Blaauw. He was a terrible scrummager and the heart of all our problems IMO.

• 153.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-150: Yeah Juan is a unfortunate case. Lets just hope he can return to his best next year.

We are playing some really good rugger atm and quite a few of our players are being hyped as Springbok material. Just not sure how they will fit in with HM game plan. Eberson is having a great season thus far as he is benefiting from the game plan to give the ball some air. Goosen been awesome as well. Not a Springbok yet though. Not in June. Adrian has been performing a few years now. He deserves a chance but lets see how the rest of the season goes.
    Stormers must win this weekend. It will really send a message. However if they were to lose it does not mean the end of them as many on this site will predict.

• 154.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-152: I’m just worried about depth, it’s a very long season. How’s this new center? Jp du plessis. I’ve heard good things about him but I’ve never seen him in action.

• 155.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-153: The Cheetahs are awesome this year. For me the team with the best ball skills in the comp. I feel it’s the one area where the stormers are really lacking.

• 156.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-153:

yeah… would be so good to have juan back for one last hurrah… (which would hopefully last another 3 years…!)

what heyneke does is the big question… personally i don’t believe he will be as blue-eyed as some suggest…

and certainly the guys putting up their hands will make it harder for him when he does make his selections…

ebersohn is finally fulfilling the potential he showed a few years back in 7s… having a great season as you say… wouldn’t mind his boet coming down to cape town though… flyhalf really is our soft spot…

thing is… stormers are bound to lose some games… so are the other sides… and the season is still a way to go as you said… but would be great if we could beat the crusaders…

we will see…

you guys also got a big one… would be great for you to knock over the chiefs and give us and the bulls a hand…!!

i’m sure the cheetahs are gonna knock over many more teams… they did so well on their tour… would be great to see them step that form up even more at home… maybe they knock the stormers over… your guys have a been a bogey for us on many occasions… i know there’ll be many nervous stormers fans watching that game…

• 157.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-154: He’s young, played a year or two of league but has a long way to go in the development stakes.

He’s not a bad run on player but I’d be very reluctant to start with him.

I’d rather rotate Brian into 13 with Poolman on the wing, something like that.

Grant can cover 12, Burton at 10 maybe.

But the depth is a bit of a worry for sure!

The front row can rotate with Brok, Steven and Tiaan moving for Frans, Deon and that ex Natal prop we bought, can’;t think of his name right now.

Steenkamp and Elstadt in the 2nd Row, with Koster, Burger and Carr to provide cover in the loose, obviously with burger to start when he’s fit again.

So I think in some crucial areas we are better covered than last year IMO.

• 158.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-155: Yeah we playing great rugger at the moment. The Stormers play a much more structured game and they stick within those structures. And look where they on the log. We pay on defence when things don’t go our way as you would have seen in a couple of games thus far, most notable vs Bulls. I will take top spot any day over great running rugby. lol

• 159.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-157: old dog carstens

• 160.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-159: That’s the one!

My brain is tied up with a million things at the moment.

Thanks

• 161.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-156: I like HM. I do not for 1 sec think he will be blue eyed. I am just not sure how Cheetahs players will fit into the structure. They get a lot of freedom at Cheetahs.

I also like Sias. Look Goosen is going to be our no.1 as long as he is witht the Cheetahs so Sias might look for a move away. I don’t want him to but it’s best for his career. He finished the Super 15 so well last year. Pitty he started the CC so poorly. Think he would do well at the Stormers.

Yeah sure hope we can knock a couple of big names over this year still. The ultimate will be to finish 3rd ahead of the Sharks. lol. Not impossible.

Believe me that every year whether it be CC or Super 15 the game I look forward to most is the Cheetahs vs Stormers/WP. I live in Cpt so it is the one opportunity for me to see the lads live. After the humiliation a couple of years back in the CC semi when we got smashed and I had to sit through that surrounded by WP fans. I want revenge this year. lol. Still hope the Stormers win it if we don’t. lol

• 162.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-160: i hope none them have to do with samantha brick :lol:

• 163.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-161: Not impossible at all, in fact you guys are by far a better team at the moment. And getting better and better.

• 164.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-136:
    you keep on lurking but you only come when your team can win..?..
    (set to ‘you keep on knocking but you cant come in’)

dont go blowing your load too early now…we’re not even half way through…

• 165.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-162: Nah. Not my type.

Not even close.

• 166.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-161:

heyneke’s gonna make south african rugby proud… quite exciting waiting for him to ‘reveal’ his hand…

yeah… sias down in cape town would be very good…

the way the two teams are playing… and more importantly… the gees in the two teams… cheetahs could very well w=end up higher than the sharks… only one point in it right now…!

i will be VERY nervous for that game… we’ll have to be very disciplined and not give goosen any 70m chances… :wink:

• 167.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-160:
    six straight wins and you’ve lost your head already…tsk..tsk.. is it like 1999 all over again..?.. :grin:

• 168.ufo: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-164:

sheesh bud… be fair… nothing wrong with celebrating the cheetahs great form…

and 27′s not been at all arrogant or putting the cart before the horse… has acknowledged a couple times it’s a long season…

• 169.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-167: Ja about to go off half cocked.

• 170.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-166: Yeah ridiculous how far Goosen gets the ball of the tee. 12 May is the big date. Should be good. Hoping we can go into that with some momentum. Got a few home games vs teams from down under. Those are must win games. Still got to play Sharks twice so hoping we can knock them over there.

Btw has there been any confirmation yet with regards to if someone will be relegated or how the Kings will be accomodated?

• 171.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-168:
    nee man, the comment’s for stevewarren the stormers supporter. he said he’s been lurking around the site for a while.

• 172.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-163: Will be good to see how the Stormers defence goes against our attack. We will have to be careful of not being dominated at the breakdown. That will just nullify our attack.

• 173.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-169:
    premature expectation..?..

there’s a lot of that in the cape… is it contagious..?..

• 174.ufo: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-171:

i know it was… :wink:

and reiterate my comment… :lol:

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-170:

a big date it will be indeed…

as far as the relegation thing goes… who knows…? saru seems to change the line every time we look…

i really don’t know… saru have stuffed it up royally though…

but i think the cheetahs are or will be safe…

• 175.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-174:

• 176.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-173:

premature extrapolation.

• 177.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-173: Thankfully it’s not just me, it’s apparently fairly common in the Cape as you say.

• 178.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-172: I fear the cheetahs can beat our defence because they pass the ball so well after taking contact. I think carter is going to try and beat our defence with grubbers and little chip kicks this weekend. Duvenage is going to have to be sweeping behind the defensive line for the match against the crusaders.

• 179.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-174: Yeah sure we will be safe. Still got to make sure we get some wins to make sure. Though it cant be good for the Lions playing with that uncertainty. I am actually very surprised the Cheetahs have come out playing the way they have. Thought with possibe relegation we would be much more conservative. Very happy that we have stuck to our guns though.

• 180.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-176:

• 181.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-178: You could be right but if you read what the Highlanders had to say about your defence then it could prove very difficult to offload. Stormers don’t go in low but rather hold the opponnent up and drive him back. Difficult to offload in those situations because generally you arms are tied up into the tackle. Just my point of view though…

• 182.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-179:

well that’s the way to do it hey…

actually a big lesson for all of sa rugby…

we’ve gotta be lose this attitude of playing not to lose… and play positively for the win…

must be honest and say i was very critical of goosen kicking that ball into touch… and said at the time it’s just not what we expect from the cheetahs… but good to see normal service since then…

certainly working for the cheetahs big time…

and kudos to them for that…!

• 183.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-182: Look a lot of people were very critical of that kick into touch vs the Crusaders. Also what compounded the situation was the fact that the week before we scored after the hooter to win the game. I could be wrong but we would have ran that ball if relegation was not hanging over our head. You never know how crucial that point can be. Put us in that situation now when we looking good after two wins on the trot and I think we would have ran it. Again it’s just my opinion.

Would love to see HM employ a more attacking approach. As you said we should play positively to win instead playing not to lose. I reckon the Stormers are concentrating on their defence at the moment but the balance will come within time and then they going to be a pleasure to watch. Good luck to them on Saturday…

• 184.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

Thanks for the good rugby chat guys. Gota bounce. Wana try and get on here more often.

• 185.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-184: Cheers

• 186.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-183:

absolutely…

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-184:

cheers… me too…

• 187.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-52:

Now now. That’s unlike you. I’ve always regarded you as a moderate sort of blogger. ;)

But to wish the Stormers winning streak to come to a halt is offsides. A red card offence.

Both the Blues and Sharks messed with my bru this weekend and now I see they’re up against each other this weekend.

So I’m not sure which way to go.

I reckon the Blues are just kakker than the Sharks. :D

• 188.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-187: apt estimation…but beware those keewees are wounded and their press is heaping the pressure on them…there’s a seige mentality at Eden Phaaak! :-)

• 189.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-188:

Did you see some of the Blues players went walk about in Melbourne after the game? And they were out drinking with the Rebels players? Poppa would be sick to hear of that.

But both sides need to bounce back strongly. Hope it’s the Sharks.

And i just love it when the Sharks supporters out there trash my team. It shows respect. :D

• 190.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-189: where did you see them boozing? that doesn’t sound good at all.

• 191.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-190:

On the NZ Herald website.

I suppose the next day was a travelling day and a day off. But as a Blues supporter you don’t want your team going out celebrating another glorious loss with the opposition.

And once again it was twitter that caught them. They weren’t the first to get caught and they won’t be the last.

• 192.spartan: Reply to this comment

The Stormers have been very very impressive
    still, if the Saders click the Stormers will go down

• 193.Cantabrugby: Reply to this comment

Tough match for the Crusaders.. possibly the strongest part of the pack is now with Leinster – Brad Thorn – so the Stormers wont get dominated like last year. Not the most dominant in the lineout but he was a powerhouse in the tight. McCaw also out and Carter coming back to full fitness. Tough game for Cantabs but also tough for the Stormers going to the new ground with the fervent red and black supporters so close to the ground. The Bulls allegations will have done no favours to the Stormers as that will not be forgotten to quickly.

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.