No respite for Storming forwards

JON CARDINELLI writes the Stormers’ sustained forward aggression and attacking variation will be put to the test when they front the Crusaders this week.

The Stormers may have been feeling the pressure at the start of 2012, but there’s little doubt that each subsequent win has lightened the mental load. It could be said that after winning six from six, a record that makes them the only unbeaten team in the competition, there isn’t too much pressure on the Cape team to beat the Crusaders in Christchurch or the Reds in Brisbane.

During the planning stage of their campaign, the Stormers coaches would have identified these two league fixtures as the toughest. The Crusaders and Reds not only qualified for the 2011 final, but beat the Stormers in the build-up to the play-offs. They did so at Newlands, and so you would expect them to be even tougher to beat in Australasia in 2012.

But this season has seen the Stormers gaining something more than a six from six record. They’re constantly talking about a winning culture and the collective belief that has swelled with every victory. It’s for this reason that they won’t be looking at the coming game as one they can afford to lose, but indeed one they could well win.

The coaching trio of Coetzee, Matt Proudfoot and Robbie Fleck were speaking about the clash with the Crusaders during the Stormers’ bye week in round three. Listening to them talk, you got the sense that they wanted to make a statement against a Crusaders side that had beaten them twice in 2011, the second time through a dominant forward effort.

After the Sharks game, Proudfoot said that he had been impressed with the progress of the pack. In subsequent weeks, the forwards coach has spoken about tweaking the game in certain areas but has always commented on the growth of the unit as they overwhelmed the opposing pack on each occasion.

There were doubts that they would get up for a game against the Highlanders. They’d invested so much into the forward-oriented melee with the Bulls the week before. They’d endured a taxing journey to Dunedin. Surely the forwards couldn’t get up for another bout with a hard-nosed Highlanders pack?

There were instances where the Stormers were overpowered, and numerous examples of inaccuracies at the breakdown point. But apart from a few lapses and moments of indiscipline, the Stormers forwards again showed tremendous heart and no small measure of collective clout.

It bodes well for the coming match against the Crusaders, a match they have been looking forward to all season. They won’t have Schalk Burger, who is recovering from a knee injury, but they will feel confident that they can match the Crusaders, especially since their scrum has done so well in 2012.

The Crusaders started the season slowly but have become more of a force in recent weeks. They so nearly pipped the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld, and the result aside, they showed what they are capable of when their forwards fire.

While the Stormers will have recovered from their jet lag, the Crusaders will come into this match on the back of a long journey from South Africa. And yet, there’s good reason to believe the travel won’t detract from the Cantabrians’ performance.

The Crusaders showed their mettle last season when the effects of an earthquake forced them to play the majority of their matches outside of Christchurch. They eventually qualified for the play-offs, and flew to Cape Town to tackle the South African conference champions. They not only beat the Stormers on that occasion, they blew them away.

So the Stormers shouldn’t be counting on fatigue to slow the Crusaders down. They also shouldn’t be expecting the off-colour outfit that turned out for the first few fixtures. The determined showing in Pretoria was a powerful statement: the Crusaders are back. And after the eye-gouging allegations that have since been proved false, they are angry.

The Stormers will need to play out of their skins to match the Crusaders forwards. From there, they will need to do more with their attacking opportunities.

They were more clinical in turning turnovers into points against the Highlanders, and that showed how an aggressive defence can be used as a powerful offence. But they may not enjoy such dominance against the Crusaders.

They also won’t be let off the hook when they don’t protect the ball. The Highlanders put the Stormers under pressure at times but failed to earn much reward. They affected a series of breakdown turnovers and won numerous penalties in this area, but still struggled to breach the Stormers defence.

The Crusaders may boast a potent attacking unit, but they play a similar game to that of the Stormers and Bulls. They attempt to pressure teams with a dominant forward effort and savvy tactical kicking display.

Much will depend on the performances of both packs this Saturday, but if the respective heavies cancel each other out, then the Stormers backs will need to produce something different in order to compromise that impressive Crusaders defence.

Follow JC on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

193 Comments

• 1.Papoose: Reply to this comment

Undefeated pace setting DRAGONS

• 2.paradox of thrift: Reply to this comment

I was going for the Highlanders, but couldn’t help but enjoy the sustained intensity and accuracy of the Stormers. It was impossible to argue that the Stormers weren’t the best side on the night. The Highlanders actually played well, but the Stormers showed they are genuine title contenders this year.

They’ll go well against the Crusdaers and deserve the success they’ve had to date. They are good ambassadors for SA rugby too, especially DV and Habana who always show exemplary sportsmanship.

Well done Stormers.

• 3.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Crusaders backs will be lacking confidence after Greyling made Dagg his biiaatch.

Glorious.

• 4.paradox of thrift: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-3: Dagg basically said as much in the kiwi press! i don’t reckon he’ll be permanently damaged by it, but he reckoned that was not his best effort.

• 5.Sydney Shark: Reply to this comment

Stormers doing well. This is good for SA. I am always behind an SA team winning overseas. It helps the Boks in the long run. Provincialism goes out the window as far as I’m concerned. It was good to see Jimmy Cowan showing such sportsmanship congratulating JdV after the final whistle. Very gracious of him. It’s a pity the Stormers fans can’t be more like that instead of their incessant personal attacks against players of other SA teams. If you hate the way a team is playing and dislike a particular side then attack the coaching staff not the players. The buck stops with the coach. Its interesting how the Stormers capitalizing on Landers’ mistakes is applauded but when the Sharks or the Bulls score through turnover ball or pressure mistakes they’re heavily criticised because its not ‘the spirit of the game’. Absolute kak. Ask any team in any sports code in the world and they will tell you if the chance arises to capitalise on the oppositions mistakes they will say “fck yeah!”. Its part of the game. That’s what makes Union so interesting because at any time the attacking side can spill the ball and blam! The game is turned on its head. Those domkops who decry scoring against the run of play they either know sweet nothing about rugby or want Union to turn into another version of League where the defending team cannot steal the ball at any time or capitalise on mistakes.

• 6.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Thrifty my mate, I reckon he’ll wake up screaming in the middle of the night for some time to come.

• 7.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

…….And after the eye-gouging allegations that have since been proved false, they are angry……….

Being unable to find video evidence to support the claim does not make the accusations false JC. It just makes them unproven.

Get it right.

Stormers making me proud,

Keep it up lads!

• 8.ufo: Reply to this comment

yeah… i was very impressed with the players focus… especially after the long travel….

a very good sign for us supporters…

let’s just hope they can focus like this for the game against the crusaders too…

based on last year’s great record… we know the travel won’t effect the crusaders at all… so stormers will have to be top of their game…

• 9.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

As I do, here is the Rugby 365 team of the week:

Team of the Week – Round Seven:

15 – Joe Pietersen (Stormers):
    Having watched his form improve over the last few weeks, one wonders why his French club, Bayonne, allowed him to languish on the bench so much the past two seasons. Often players need to be given game time to find form and he has done that since his return to Cape Town.
    Bubbling under: Andre Taylor (Hurricanes)

14 – Lelia Masaga (Chiefs):
    He may be nicknamed the Flash, but he was pure class at the weekend as he showed that he is more than just a finisher.
    Bubbling under: Akona Ndungane (Bulls)

13 – Robert Ebersohn (Cheetahs):
    He certainly showed some of the ‘magic’ that made him a start on the IRB Sevens circuit. Admittedly, the Lions offered feeble resistance, but even when they did he still showed plenty of playmaking skills that confounded their defences.
    Bubbling under: Conrad Smith (Hurricanes)

12 – Jean de Villiers (Stormers):
    He was written off by many at the start of the season, but like a true professional he answered his critics in the best way possible – on the field!
    Bubbling under: James O’Connor (Rebels)

11 – Bryan Habana (Stormers):
    Another of the Stormers’ veteran who were told – repeatedly – that their ‘sell-by’ date was up. Yeah, right! He is still pure class.
    Bubbling under: Zac Guilford (Crusaders)

10 – Morné Steyn (Bulls):
    He had some ‘off days’ earlier in the season, but last Saturday was not one of them. What is most impressive is that he is silencing those critics who still claim he only has a metronomic boot and can’t get his backline going.
    Bubbling under: Beauden Barrett (Hurricanes)

9 – Francois Hougaard (Bulls):
    There are still those who feel he is better suited to playing on the wing, but what a talent to have – starting at scrumhalf, having a blinder and then shifting to wing without missing a beat.
    Bubbling under: Dewaldt Duvenage (Stormers)

8 – Scott Higginbotham (Reds):
    Like his team, he made a slow start to the season, but at the weekend he made great strides in taking his game back to the heights of 2011 – where he was a consistent performer in the championship-winning Reds outfit.
    Bubbling under: Kieran Read (Crusaders)

7 – Karl Lowe (Hurricanes):
    He made a mockery of the Sharks at the breakdown and won a number of crucial turnovers to help his team to an impressive win.
    Bubbling under: Tanerau Latimer (Chiefs)

6 – Siya Kolisi (Stormers):
    Without doubt one of the finds of the season.
    Bubbling under: Jack Lam (Hurricanes)

5 – Andries Bekker (Stormers):
    He laid down another serious marker in his quest to be the new Springbok No.5.
    Bubbling under: James Horwill (Reds)

4 – Eben Etzebeth (Stormers):
    The most consistent performer this season and he is also one of the youngest.
    Bubbling under: James Broadhurst (Hurricanes)

3 – WP Nel (Cheetahs):
    His powerful scrumming and ball-carrying ability played a big role in his team’s dominance.
    Bubbling under: Werner Kruger (Bulls)

2 – Adriaan Strauss (Cheetahs):
    For weeks now he has been knocking on the door, this weekend he simply bashed it down and walked into our team.
    Bubbling under: Chiliboy Ralepelle (Bulls)

1 – Steven Kitshoff (Stormers):
    Another one of those ‘just out of the teenage category’ that is entertaining us with his skills this season.
    Bubbling under: Coenie Oosthuizen (Cheetahs)

• 10.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

• 11.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Great. Another Stormers thread, Jon. Keep up the good work.

But one minute, Jon you say that the Stormers endured a “taxing journey to Dunedin” and then you say of the Crusaders that there’s “good reason to believe the travel won’t detract from the Cantabrians’ performance.”

What did you really mean to say? That the travel bug only effects saffa teams?

• 12.greentea: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-3:

Now you know how the Bokke backs feel.

• 13.Guns: Reply to this comment

Definitely Stormers Bogy team in 2011..Crusaders will be looking to bounce back after their loss to die pinkies, ag Bulla..

• 14.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@Sydney Shark(JayDaFiveOh)-5: I think you will find the majority of Stormers fans aren’t making any personal attacks against other SA players. They are just proud of their teams results so far, but realise that there is still a long way to go before the performance in attack and by the backs in particular is of a standard to be satisfied with. I think you’re taking your losses a bit worse then you should be. I know its bad with the conference system if other SA teams win and your team doesn’t, but that’s the fault of the system and the fools who came up with it and not the other teams themselves. SA talent pool is looking brilliant right now and for the future.

• 15.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Interesting that all six front rowers are Saffas.

• 16.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

well we do know the bulls have softened them up nicely.

thats half the job done right there.

• 17.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-15: Yes, and you;ll notice that none of them are currently first choice in their positions for the Springboks. If you want to know why the Bok scrum often struggles then there’s your answer. :)

The only on missing is of course….

Brock the Rock!

• 18.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-16: Yes thanks for that.

• 19.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

on = one

• 20.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I’m going to be a little controversial here and say that if I were AC I would have been considering this fixture as an opportunity to rest some players.

We have a long season and will lose a few along the way, but in order to be competitive at the business end of the competition, you need to have your first choice players in good condition.The Crusaders are likely to be the toughest overseas challenge on this tour and we risk going to Canterbury, throwing everything at the game, getting some niggles and still losing the game, ending up punch drunk for the Reds. It may be an opportunity to rotate some of the heaviest impacted players, like Kitshoff, Liebenberg, Etsebeth and JDV. Make sure they recover properly and are ready for the next games fresher.

However on this run of form I’d probably go for broke and try and run it in, and rest them later in the comp if we have established a decent lead, a-la Bulls before the final in 2010. It worked out for them well then.

• 21.greentea: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-17:

early days but your Stormers look very good this year don’t think anybody would mind if they took the title this year they deserve it after playing some great footy over the last few years

• 22.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

run=rub. Jeez it’s too early.

• 23.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-21: We live in eternal hope mate!

As you say, it’s still very early.

And as we say, this year will be our year!!

• 24.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Go Crusaders!

Crusaders by 15+

Franks
    Flynn
    Crockett

to do the damage

• 25.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-9:

IMHO Coenie Oosthuizen and WP Nel are the form and most destructive SA props at moment.

• 26.JL1: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-24: Around the eyes?????

• 27.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-25: They have been impressive for sure.

• 28.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Stormers the team to beat this year.
    That having been said, the Crusaders will be there at the business end of the competition, a win here will confirm the Stormers credentials.
    Traditionally they fare well in NZ though.
    Well, better than other SA sides.
    Stormers by 5 – 10.

• 29.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-25: There’s been talk of converting Coenie to 3.
    Your thoughts?

• 30.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-26:

WP and Oosthuizen do not play dirty (Western Province)

Oosthuizen is very handy at the breakdown as well.

• 31.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-29:

He is effective on both sides. But I feel he best suited to loosehead as his breakdown ability is best from loosehead then tighthead.

he has troubled the Franks boys on all occassions.

• 32.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@greatest13gerber(greatest13gerber)-24:
    no, they’ve been flat this season, especially franks.
    not looking the same as last season.

also, some of their cheating in scrum moves are being blown this season. what surprises me is that they haven’t come up with new and altered methods for cheating in the scrum to compensate… thats what they do.

blame blackadder, he’s all flash no substance. will go down as the southern hemispheres greatest bridesmaid coach at this rate.

• 33.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@Greased13gerbils. Got something you want to get off your chest?

• 34.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-32:

agree with that. The refs are getting hard now. Crockett too continues to be pinned. This will be big test for Kitschoff and co. I expect the Franks and co to target the setpeice.

• 35.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@stormer in a teacup(stormer in a teacup)-33:

yes. I still hate WP.

I expect Western Province bubble to burst against the Saders. Expect Dan Carter to dictate the game from start. Dagg and Fruen will test the Saders defence.

• 36.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

am really liking doodpoes coenie’s performances so far.

• 37.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-36: :D :D

• 38.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-20: The Crusaders are such a dangerous team come knockouts, but have had a few losses already this season. Any loss for them is hugely advantageous to other play off contenders, because you don’t want to be playing them in Canterbury come knock out time. No need to rest against the Reds either, better off resting against the force just before the bye, then 2 weeks off and the players will feel as good as new.

• 39.stew: Reply to this comment

Saders to hammer Stormers back to the ground – team starting to come together – was upset with the Bulls result ( carter missing 6 points in front of the pools didnt help ) But could have been better

• 40.stew: Reply to this comment

Saders to hammer Stormers back to the ground – team starting to come together – was upset with the Bulls result ( carter missing 6 points in front of the pools didnt help ) But could have been better

• 41.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs front row looking very good. They are two locks shy of a very good pack.

• 42.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-38:

agree. Saders have history of hitting their straps come knockout rounds

• 43.stew: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-11: We all know Saffa teams cant travel – LOL

• 44.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

Rest during the bye. Aim to win every game. Don’t expect to go through the season unbeaten, but still expect to win each game as you approach it. This game could go either way – both teams are strong all around the paddock.

• 45.garth: Reply to this comment

Stormers to take the comp unbeaten this year.

• 46.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-45:

Can’t see that happening.

Province have history of repeating ..history

• 47.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

And riding the wave if support from the likes of Gerbil, HG and Spooner it is a real possibility, Garth.

• 48.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

If = of

• 49.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-37:
    credit to you :grin:

• 50.greentea: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-32:

you should open a halo shop and sell to SA rugby players and coaches you’d make a fortune

• 51.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

I Luv the Stormers…

Not.

Actually,
    I Hate the Stormers…

But a good win on Saturday… if a trifle lucky with a very sympathetic ref…

• 52.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Farken Brokeback Bubble will burst sometime soon…

And I will be luvving it :lol:

• 53.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

I see our buddy in China has made a comeback.

Still trying to find validation on a South African website.

How them noodles noodle?

• 54.greentea: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-52:

Will the Kings replace the Sharks next year?

• 55.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-50:
    is it the last two sentences that stick in thine throat..?.. :grin:

suit yourself… the crusaders at some point will have to own up to the fact that they’ve won sweet fokkawl in the last four years and only one ltitle in the last six…
    for the crusaders that’s pathetic…really…once were warriors…

• 56.greentea: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-55:

it most be so difficult for teams from the republic to play other sides with your high levels of sportsmanship and morality, you guys have everything when its comes to rugby except the silverware

• 57.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

and when the review is done and dusted there’s only one name really that should be left on the plate….slackbladder….

• 58.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-54: When your little Donkey led Brokebacks get pumped 15+ points by Crusaders and that bubble starts deflating nicely then we speak properly.

But to answer simply… En Owe… spells No.

Sharks, surprisingly enough for your obviously anti-refugee metrosexual peanut upstairs, will be there in the knockouts… Remember this post. Copy and paste it too.

• 59.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@stew(stew)-43:

Here we go again, you talking history and all…

Cheetahs ended with 2/4 with the other two within 7 points.

Stormers 2/2 so far…

Sharks 1/3 but if you want to talk history they are on average the best ‘travelling side’ from SA.

Other two teams still to travel.

Then again it is hard to compare pples with pears seeing SA teams tour for 4 weeks and NZ teams usually 2.

• 60.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-58: whatever loser. You’ve got enough problems without worrying about us.

Ready for a resurgent Blues team next week?

I normally don’t like to laud it over other bloggers when their team loses.

But on your case I’ll make an exception.

• 61.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Where are my noodles?

Chop chop.

• 62.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-52: “Farken Brokeback Bubble will burst sometime soon…” hahaha this is getting close to Skop-like game predictions. you’ve been predicting this “burst” for a while now, i bet next monday i will be “anytime now”

mhlathi wembuzi!

• 63.garth: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-58: Seeing the Bulls managed to beat the Crusaders, it should be a walk in the park for the mighty Stormers.

• 64.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-56: Huh…? Silverware? You seem to forget that a few RWCs have been played before the corrupt, fixed to high heaven excuse for a fcked up World Cup in 2011.

SA won two of them pieces of silverware fair and square, long before the sheepshaggers ref assisted gimme cup last year.

• 65.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-60: I think you meant to say “Lord it”… But you can “Laud” the Sharks any time you want, as it should be…

Nevertheless it is understandable that you mountain brokebacks keep trying to “Lord” it over those other refugee teams outside the brokeback bubble… Only in your own minds… like mother leader Godzille

Dumbfck Keo “Captain” of Industry….

• 66.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-62: Watch… This weekend the brokeback slow puncture starts… Courtesy of the Crusading gougers…

• 67.ufo: Reply to this comment

It is said that defense and tackling is more about attitude than anything else… the stormers game revolves around their defense and Jean de Villiers said that the players demonstrate their commitment to the team by their defense…

So interesting to note that in tackles this weekend….

Siyamthanda put in 25… more than any other sa player… and missed 4
    Duane put in 21 and missed 3
    Jean put in 16 missed 3
    Rynhardt put in 15 with no misses…
    Andries and Frans Malherbe put in 14 each missing 2 and 1 respectively…
    Tiaan put in 13 with 3 misses
    Eben 13 with no misses…
    And Brok Harris put in 13 with no misses… in 29 minutes on the field…!! Which translates to about 1 tackle every 2:15 minutes…!! Really no other tighthead prop (or prop) in sa puts in as much effort around the park to get into position to make so many tackles… says much about his attitude…

Other tightheads…

Cilliers – 4 with 2 misses and 0 penalties (after putting in no tackles – according to the stats – the week before)
    WP Nel – 11 with 3 misses and 0 penalties…
    Werner Kruger – 5 tackles no misses 3 penalties…
    Jannie… 9 tackles 1 miss 2 penalties

Loose heads
    Dean grayling – made 9 missed 3
    Caylib oosthuien – made 7 missed 1 and 1 penalty
    Coenie – 11 tackles 0 misses 3 penalties…
    Chadwick – made 8 missed 2 1 penalty
    KidShove – made 11 missed 1 0 penalties…

It becomes obvious which props are really commited to putting in the hard yards… I know most dismiss brok harris… but for every tackle he makes… someone else doesn’t have to… for every tackle the other props in other teams don’t make… someone else has to…

Which props are demonstrating the best attitude…? Which props are really putting in the most effort for their team? Which props are a burden on their team…? Which props are not…? Which props should get a look-in at for the Boks…?

Now I know people will get all emotional and be quick to dismiss the stats and talk about effective tackles, knocking the player back in the tackle, preventing offloads etc…

but first and foremost… players have to commit to making a tackle… and then complete it… those are the only stats available at the moment…

But whichever way you look at it… Jean is correct… the players are showing their commitment to the side by the way they defend…

Good stuff… good to have 3 of the best props in the country playing for the stormers…

• 68.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-63: Yeah… right…

• 69.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-52: Keep it up, tje more you wish, the better for us. Sharks aren’t play off material for now so good luck to them balsak! :)

• 70.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-65: You are right. Lord it over …..

if you weren’t such a stranger to reality I’d offer you a job as one of my assistants.

You can check my spelling.

Nothing too testing though.

Maybe wash my car.

• 71.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-67: All that bunch of bullshitbaffles brains statistics tells me is that with the Stormers, the other teams are playing all the rugby…

Consequently this also tells me that reffing interpretations are fcked… The attacking sides obviously don’t get the benefit of the doubt and the Stormers have basically got away with murder by very sympathetic refs so far.

By contrast the other SA teams, in particular the Cheetahs, are really taking it to the opposition…

Actually playing rugby….

Soon teams will unlock the Stormers “D” and then they are fubarred… Because they actually can’t play rugby.

• 72.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-70: Like a good little Refugee ne?

• 73.ufo: Reply to this comment

your balls must be turning blue they’re in such a twist today…

monkee…

• 74.Pee Wee: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-51: So nice of you to make your customary “mid week” appearance again. Please stick around over the weekend. I’m sure you’ll have lots of fun! :)

• 75.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-65: If losing a game means breaking our bubble then you okes must be a little soapy mess on the floor by now,

I’m withdrawing my consideration of you as a possible employment option.

ET is threatening to strike if I take him away from his car washing job. I don’t know why he’s so upset, I keep telling him that washing dishes is not much different from washing Petri dishes. But he’s talking constructive dismissal and I don’t need the hassle.

Besides, I have enough whiney b itches working around me.

And just to make certain I have the correct context, I looked up the phrase in the Urban Dictionary and it fits like a glove, especially that last bit

“Whiney B itch
    Someone who exemplifies rather large amounts of crybaby-bullshit in order to: 1) get sympathy from the people around him/her.
    2) make them self feel like less of a dumbass”

• 76.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Pee Wee(Pee Wee)-74: Always my pleasure, Herman…

• 77.greentea: Reply to this comment

A mate has just popped over i’ve just put on a fresh pot of green tea and we’re settling into a rerun of the WC AB semi, perfect.

• 78.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-70:

wax on wax off.

• 79.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-67: Great post.

Brock the defensive Rock!

Has Eben missed a tackle the whole season yet?

• 80.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-75: WTF you talking about… You off on a tangent now… Actually you’re sounding more than a little like ET…

Which is good… Makes your posts more interesting at least…for a change.

• 81.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-77:

enjoy my china.

it’s great to have you back.

you sour littlecock.

• 82.greentea: Reply to this comment

Great try Nonu.

• 83.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-81: I’m not surprised, have you tasted that stuff?

Bitter as hell. ;)

• 84.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-79:

cheers bud…

eben’s only missed 1 tackle the whole season

brok has missed none…!!

• 85.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-83:

he’s leaving his teabag in too long.

probably distracted by his noodles.

• 86.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-85: :D

• 87.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@greentea(greentea)-77:
    what’s your mates name? mr han?..mr lee?.. chop su?… does he even understand rugby..?.. or does he just furiously nod approvingly with a smile on his face everytime you scream in excitement when reechee goes off his feet..?..

• 88.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

The Boks without Brokebacks…?

Refugee All Stars.

• 89.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

On this conference system:

As it stands on points at the moment the top ranked Aussie team, the Brumbies would not even make the play-offs, never mind a semi spot. They are 7th on the points table (level with the Saders but behind on points difference).

• 90.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-87:

He’s probably ordered a take-away

Cream of Sumyunguy.

• 91.greentea: Reply to this comment

Brilliant coaching Ted, Pocock nulified.

• 92.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-84: Ja amazing isn’t it?

The tight five are really making their mark this year!

• 93.spartan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-64:
    Poisoning the ABs
    dont sound too fair and square to me
    you ******** get your head out of your ***

• 94.greentea: Reply to this comment

Droppie learn’t the lessons from 07′ clearly.

• 95.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-90:

better watch out he doesn’t get squirted in the eyes with some Fu King hot sauce then.

i hear it burns like a beetch.

• 96.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-95: You “hear”?

You sure?

:D :D

• 97.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-92:

they certainly are…

but the great thing about it is that it’s not just the 5 starting guys… but the backups as well…

anyway… back-to-earth time…

we are gonna have a hellluva game this weekend…

crusaders would have learnt from the highlanders game…

gonna be very tough…

you’re right about your comments on the aus teams… and this is exactly why the conference system was introduced to ensure the aussies always do have a ‘qualifier’ no matter what…

super 9 is what we should go for… and yes, even if it means stormers don’t qualify some years…

• 98.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-95:

we’ll take your word for it.

if that’s the case then our buddy in china should look into soem goggles.

• 99.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-96:
    ja thats right, i heard it from friends in the cape :lol:

• 100.ufo: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-99:

your friends in the bar who felt you up…? :wink:

• 101.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-99:

how are grantie and JR?

• 102.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-98:
    @ufo(ufo)-100:

look, lets focus on the rugby… okay… soooo the stormers hey..?.. :lol:

• 103.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-99: Touche’

• 104.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

I wouldn’t usually say this but please please stormers hammer these low class crusaders. And,if the opportunity arises, ask the ref to white flag a potential eye gouging situation…..just to piss todd off,you understand.

• 105.ufo: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-102:

• 106.White Shark: Reply to this comment

Dan Carter should not allow himself to stoop to underhanded cheating tactics and get back that class that separated him from the rest.

• 107.greentea: Reply to this comment

Had to fast forward to the end, watching perfect rugby is too much, the black tide marches on, tomorrow he’s bringing over the final where we destroy the Frogs.

• 108.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-79: @ufo(ufo)-84: before you two get in a “air punching” frenzy :D

eben:
    attempted 14 tackles on sat and made 93%
    last week, attempted 8 tackles and made 88%
    week before last 11 tackles and made 100%

brock:
    on sat attempted 12 tackles and made 100%
    last week attempted 6 tackles and made 83%
    week before last attempted 8 tackles and made 75%

according to verusco

• 109.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

the air punch has been downgraded to a high five.

• 110.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-108: It;s interesting to see how different sites have different reporting on stats.

But totally air punching.

Almost pulled a muscle on Saturday morning.

• 111.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I see Gio and Koster still on the doubtful list for Saturdays game.

Johannesburg – Wing Gio Aplon and loose-forward Nick Koster are the only two players on the doubtful list for the Stormers’ second Super Rugby tour match against the Crusaders in Christchurch on Saturday.
    Aplon sustained a hip pointer injury shortly after half-time during the Stormers’ excellent opening tour victory against the Highlanders in Dunedin at the weekend.

Coach Allister Coetzee said after the 21-6 win that the Springbok’s condition would be assessed during the week, but Aplon has let it be known via Twitter that he is recovering fast and is no longer feeling the pain that he was.

Should he miss out, however, the Stormers do have a ready replacement in the shape of former Bulls star Gerhard van den Heever, who has impressed during the time that he has been working with the Cape franchise.

• 112.stew: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-104: Eye gouging is only proven if there is an eye ball on the end of your finger !

• 113.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-101:
    @stormersboy(stormersboy)-103:
    @ufo(ufo)-105:

• 114.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-108:

cool… just trying to get the emotion out of it…

i was using rugbystats…

good to know you took the time to go and find some more…

but whichever stats you look at… they’re still putting in a damn impressive effort…

• 115.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-110:

yeah…

i’ve always asked but no one seems to be able to answer what actually constitutes a ‘tackle’ and who get credit etc when two or more players tackle an opponent…

so sure the stats may differ…

but still tell pretty much the same story…

• 116.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-108:

could you post the stats for the other south african props…

would be cool to compare them with stats from the same source…

• 117.ufo: Reply to this comment

i asked Will, of Verusco, how they define a tackle and if i could share his reply..

Isn’t the tackle area complex!!!!
    What we provide to our customers and what is shown on our website are quite different in term of tackles…. The ‘tackles made’ stat includes any player (no matter how many are involved at the same time) that is involved in the attempt to bring a player to ground, and either does so successfully or impedes his progress substantially. We do split the statistics further up into 1st tackler, active tacklers and assist tacklers for our customers, as well as players who arrive in a position to tackle but are not needed and players who start a tackle and leave on their own accord, but making too many stats public would be against our own best wishes.

Dont mind at all you sharing that info, probably isnt the best definition in the world but is a start!! haha
    Great to hear you are enjoying the website, definitely looking at providing more stats in the future!!

Will

very helpful guy…!!

excellent site…!!

• 118.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-117: Ok so even a player being on the periphery will constitute a tackle attempt.

What is the website?

i googled it and got the site but not where they have stats.

• 119.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-117:

Yep exactly why the Statpro (or Sportsdata) stats are better… Verusco (free) only show you ‘total tackles’…. whereas Rugbstats (Sportsdata) can be broken down into ‘made’, ‘missed’ and ‘ineffective’…

‘Made’ tackle- where a player is taken to ground, stopped in his tracks and not able to break the line…

• 120.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-117: @bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-119: OK but really any way you break it down it comes down to :

Stormers = Gooooood
    Anyone else = Baaaaaad.

But then I don’t need a website to tell me that.

It’s plain to see.

:D :D

• 121.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-120:

Go Stormers… and Bulls… and Cheetahs…. and… Rebels :wink:

• 122.ufo: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-119:

thanks bryce…

so can a normal oke get on statpro… and rugbstats… sheesh… confusing between rugbstats and rugbystats… will tryu them both though…

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-118:

versuco.com

go to stats portal…

then enter competition… year… week… and game…

• 123.ufo: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-121:

cool…

i’ve backed the rebels and pleased to see them come good at last… hope they can keep it up…

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-120:

exactly… me neither…

but i just wonder why when guys pick ‘their’ teams what they make their selections on… so was trying to get some genuine comparative analysis going…

but your point is true… the difference seems to be the stormers attitude… collectively and individually… bulls have always had this attitude… and crusaders…

good to see stormers starting to exhibit the same stuff…

• 124.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-122: Cool, got it thanks!

• 125.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-122:

Yes… obviously like most suppliers they won’t give it all away (for free)… but for breaking down Sportsdata (statspro)…

Here for the top 20 lists after each round http://livescores.smh.com.au/rugby/super15/player-stats.html

Here for quick reference player/team stats http://www.smh.com.au/match-centre/rugby-union/match-2400105.html?

And here for breaking down all the individual player stats (eg types of tackles, rucks/mauls, turnovers conceded etc etc) http://www.rugbystats.com.au/matches/rugby/match15502.html

• 126.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-124:

plezsh…

• 127.ufo: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-125:

very cool…

thanks a STAT…!!

• 128.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-127: That’s quite interesting reading, Almost no Stormers players in the catagories that you would like, except for Tackles (Siya – 5th), Lineouts won (Andries- 3rd) and penalties goaled (Joe- 2nd).

I see peter Grant features quite highly in the tackles missed dept.

And in spite of all this we are leading the log.

In the most important stats of all: Games won, points earned and position on the log :)

• 129.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-128:

yeah… interesting hey…

guess they can’t factor game-plan into the stats…

and it’s also why i focus on tackles to compare players… it not only says a lot about the players attitude and commitment but also about his work rate… imo… because tackles don’t just come to those who wait (although sometimes they do) so to keep up with play and be in a position to make the tackles speaks volumes… to me anyway…

• 130.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-128: that is because they play as a team. For those guys with high tackle stats means someone else has missed a tackle or is out of position.

• 131.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

I bet if we got which team made the most tackles the stormers would be right up there.

• 132.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-128:

also because the players are sharing the load, i guess, throughout the team…

• 133.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-129: It;s a very good stat for the forwards particularly,

I see some Sharks featuring prominently. I guess they’ve been forced into making many tackles this year.

• 134.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-130: @SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-131: 100% agree with you.

Welcome to the madhouse Steve

• 135.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-132: And 100% with you too

As usual :)

Let’s have that beer this week. BOD has been scarce on the Blogs, he must be laying low.

• 136.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

I’ve lurked for a long time lol

• 137.ufo: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-130:

yeah… they do seem to be genuinely playing for each other…

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-131:

we are only 8th in tackles made… with 942… hurricanes tops with 1139… then cheetahs, sharks, rebels, reds, chiefs and brumbies…

• 138.ufo: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-135:

definitely… we must…

mail me where and when…

• 139.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-136: You a Stormers supporter?

• 140.ufo: Reply to this comment

yeah… welcome steve…!

• 141.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-138: will do

• 142.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-137: That suprises me, so we must be playing rugby unlike certain other supporters seem to sugest.

• 143.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

Born and bred WP supporter

• 144.ufo: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-142:

that’s why it’s so interesting as stormersboy said… watching the various styles and successes or failures we all expect one thing… but the stats don’t always support our opinions or thoughts…

• 145.ufo: Reply to this comment

good to have another wp rugby supporter aboard…

and about time we had another stormers thread…!

• 146.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

I think it’s also perception because we seem to be hitting people backwards and dominating the collision that it stands out more.

• 147.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-146: Correct. The Highlanders captain Joseph alluded to it in the post match interview when he said that they like to tackle the players abound the ankles and then compete for the ball, while the Stormers like to tackle the player, keep him upright and drive him back behind the advantage line. He admitted that they did not have an answer for that on Saturday.

• 148.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

Stormers looking really goo this year. They have threatened in recent years but this year they look a team that could go all the way. Long season ahead though. A lot can change.

• 149.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

On another note what has happened to wicus blauw and kritzingher

• 150.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-148:

absolutely 27…

think we’re all very aware of how far it is to go… and how quickly things can change…

so enjoyed our win… but realize another humdinger coming up this weekend too…

but your boys looking really REALLY good too…

playing the best rugby in the comp in my opinion…

really pleased for Adriaan… always liked the guy… carries himself with great dignity… and is the form number 2 in the country too…

and all this without juan… imagine if he was also available…??!

• 151.ufo: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-149:

wikus is/was playing vodacom cup…

but The KidShove has bolted the Number 1 jersey down good and tight…

kritzinger still injured last i heard…

• 152.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-149: Not sure but I’m happy to see them go, especially Blaauw. He was a terrible scrummager and the heart of all our problems IMO.

• 153.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-150: Yeah Juan is a unfortunate case. Lets just hope he can return to his best next year.

We are playing some really good rugger atm and quite a few of our players are being hyped as Springbok material. Just not sure how they will fit in with HM game plan. Eberson is having a great season thus far as he is benefiting from the game plan to give the ball some air. Goosen been awesome as well. Not a Springbok yet though. Not in June. Adrian has been performing a few years now. He deserves a chance but lets see how the rest of the season goes.
    Stormers must win this weekend. It will really send a message. However if they were to lose it does not mean the end of them as many on this site will predict.

• 154.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-152: I’m just worried about depth, it’s a very long season. How’s this new center? Jp du plessis. I’ve heard good things about him but I’ve never seen him in action.

• 155.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-153: The Cheetahs are awesome this year. For me the team with the best ball skills in the comp. I feel it’s the one area where the stormers are really lacking.

• 156.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-153:

yeah… would be so good to have juan back for one last hurrah… (which would hopefully last another 3 years…!)

what heyneke does is the big question… personally i don’t believe he will be as blue-eyed as some suggest…

and certainly the guys putting up their hands will make it harder for him when he does make his selections…

ebersohn is finally fulfilling the potential he showed a few years back in 7s… having a great season as you say… wouldn’t mind his boet coming down to cape town though… flyhalf really is our soft spot…

thing is… stormers are bound to lose some games… so are the other sides… and the season is still a way to go as you said… but would be great if we could beat the crusaders…

we will see…

you guys also got a big one… would be great for you to knock over the chiefs and give us and the bulls a hand…!!

i’m sure the cheetahs are gonna knock over many more teams… they did so well on their tour… would be great to see them step that form up even more at home… maybe they knock the stormers over… your guys have a been a bogey for us on many occasions… i know there’ll be many nervous stormers fans watching that game…

• 157.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-154: He’s young, played a year or two of league but has a long way to go in the development stakes.

He’s not a bad run on player but I’d be very reluctant to start with him.

I’d rather rotate Brian into 13 with Poolman on the wing, something like that.

Grant can cover 12, Burton at 10 maybe.

But the depth is a bit of a worry for sure!

The front row can rotate with Brok, Steven and Tiaan moving for Frans, Deon and that ex Natal prop we bought, can’;t think of his name right now.

Steenkamp and Elstadt in the 2nd Row, with Koster, Burger and Carr to provide cover in the loose, obviously with burger to start when he’s fit again.

So I think in some crucial areas we are better covered than last year IMO.

• 158.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-155: Yeah we playing great rugger at the moment. The Stormers play a much more structured game and they stick within those structures. And look where they on the log. We pay on defence when things don’t go our way as you would have seen in a couple of games thus far, most notable vs Bulls. I will take top spot any day over great running rugby. lol

• 159.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-157: old dog carstens

• 160.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-159: That’s the one!

My brain is tied up with a million things at the moment.

Thanks

• 161.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-156: I like HM. I do not for 1 sec think he will be blue eyed. I am just not sure how Cheetahs players will fit into the structure. They get a lot of freedom at Cheetahs.

I also like Sias. Look Goosen is going to be our no.1 as long as he is witht the Cheetahs so Sias might look for a move away. I don’t want him to but it’s best for his career. He finished the Super 15 so well last year. Pitty he started the CC so poorly. Think he would do well at the Stormers.

Yeah sure hope we can knock a couple of big names over this year still. The ultimate will be to finish 3rd ahead of the Sharks. lol. Not impossible.

Believe me that every year whether it be CC or Super 15 the game I look forward to most is the Cheetahs vs Stormers/WP. I live in Cpt so it is the one opportunity for me to see the lads live. After the humiliation a couple of years back in the CC semi when we got smashed and I had to sit through that surrounded by WP fans. I want revenge this year. lol. Still hope the Stormers win it if we don’t. lol

• 162.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-160: i hope none them have to do with samantha brick :lol:

• 163.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-161: Not impossible at all, in fact you guys are by far a better team at the moment. And getting better and better.

• 164.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-136:
    you keep on lurking but you only come when your team can win..?..
    (set to ‘you keep on knocking but you cant come in’)

dont go blowing your load too early now…we’re not even half way through…

• 165.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-162: Nah. Not my type.

Not even close.

• 166.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-161:

heyneke’s gonna make south african rugby proud… quite exciting waiting for him to ‘reveal’ his hand…

yeah… sias down in cape town would be very good…

the way the two teams are playing… and more importantly… the gees in the two teams… cheetahs could very well w=end up higher than the sharks… only one point in it right now…!

i will be VERY nervous for that game… we’ll have to be very disciplined and not give goosen any 70m chances… :wink:

• 167.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-160:
    six straight wins and you’ve lost your head already…tsk..tsk.. is it like 1999 all over again..?.. :grin:

• 168.ufo: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-164:

sheesh bud… be fair… nothing wrong with celebrating the cheetahs great form…

and 27′s not been at all arrogant or putting the cart before the horse… has acknowledged a couple times it’s a long season…

• 169.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-167: Ja about to go off half cocked.

• 170.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-166: Yeah ridiculous how far Goosen gets the ball of the tee. 12 May is the big date. Should be good. Hoping we can go into that with some momentum. Got a few home games vs teams from down under. Those are must win games. Still got to play Sharks twice so hoping we can knock them over there.

Btw has there been any confirmation yet with regards to if someone will be relegated or how the Kings will be accomodated?

• 171.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-168:
    nee man, the comment’s for stevewarren the stormers supporter. he said he’s been lurking around the site for a while.

• 172.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-163: Will be good to see how the Stormers defence goes against our attack. We will have to be careful of not being dominated at the breakdown. That will just nullify our attack.

• 173.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-169:
    premature expectation..?..

there’s a lot of that in the cape… is it contagious..?..

• 174.ufo: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-171:

i know it was… :wink:

and reiterate my comment… :lol:

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-170:

a big date it will be indeed…

as far as the relegation thing goes… who knows…? saru seems to change the line every time we look…

i really don’t know… saru have stuffed it up royally though…

but i think the cheetahs are or will be safe…

• 175.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-174:

• 176.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-173:

premature extrapolation.

• 177.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-173: Thankfully it’s not just me, it’s apparently fairly common in the Cape as you say.

• 178.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-172: I fear the cheetahs can beat our defence because they pass the ball so well after taking contact. I think carter is going to try and beat our defence with grubbers and little chip kicks this weekend. Duvenage is going to have to be sweeping behind the defensive line for the match against the crusaders.

• 179.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-174: Yeah sure we will be safe. Still got to make sure we get some wins to make sure. Though it cant be good for the Lions playing with that uncertainty. I am actually very surprised the Cheetahs have come out playing the way they have. Thought with possibe relegation we would be much more conservative. Very happy that we have stuck to our guns though.

• 180.houston, we have a problem...: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-176:

• 181.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@SteveWarren(SteveWarren)-178: You could be right but if you read what the Highlanders had to say about your defence then it could prove very difficult to offload. Stormers don’t go in low but rather hold the opponnent up and drive him back. Difficult to offload in those situations because generally you arms are tied up into the tackle. Just my point of view though…

• 182.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-179:

well that’s the way to do it hey…

actually a big lesson for all of sa rugby…

we’ve gotta be lose this attitude of playing not to lose… and play positively for the win…

must be honest and say i was very critical of goosen kicking that ball into touch… and said at the time it’s just not what we expect from the cheetahs… but good to see normal service since then…

certainly working for the cheetahs big time…

and kudos to them for that…!

• 183.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-182: Look a lot of people were very critical of that kick into touch vs the Crusaders. Also what compounded the situation was the fact that the week before we scored after the hooter to win the game. I could be wrong but we would have ran that ball if relegation was not hanging over our head. You never know how crucial that point can be. Put us in that situation now when we looking good after two wins on the trot and I think we would have ran it. Again it’s just my opinion.

Would love to see HM employ a more attacking approach. As you said we should play positively to win instead playing not to lose. I reckon the Stormers are concentrating on their defence at the moment but the balance will come within time and then they going to be a pleasure to watch. Good luck to them on Saturday…

• 184.Cheetahs27: Reply to this comment

Thanks for the good rugby chat guys. Gota bounce. Wana try and get on here more often.

• 185.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-184: Cheers

• 186.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-183:

absolutely…

@Cheetahs27(Cheetahs27)-184:

cheers… me too…

• 187.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-52:

Now now. That’s unlike you. I’ve always regarded you as a moderate sort of blogger. ;)

But to wish the Stormers winning streak to come to a halt is offsides. A red card offence.

Both the Blues and Sharks messed with my bru this weekend and now I see they’re up against each other this weekend.

So I’m not sure which way to go.

I reckon the Blues are just kakker than the Sharks. :D

• 188.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-187: apt estimation…but beware those keewees are wounded and their press is heaping the pressure on them…there’s a seige mentality at Eden Phaaak! :-)

• 189.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-188:

Did you see some of the Blues players went walk about in Melbourne after the game? And they were out drinking with the Rebels players? Poppa would be sick to hear of that.

But both sides need to bounce back strongly. Hope it’s the Sharks.

And i just love it when the Sharks supporters out there trash my team. It shows respect. :D

• 190.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@IAAS(I am a stormer)-189: where did you see them boozing? that doesn’t sound good at all.

• 191.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-190:

On the NZ Herald website.

I suppose the next day was a travelling day and a day off. But as a Blues supporter you don’t want your team going out celebrating another glorious loss with the opposition.

And once again it was twitter that caught them. They weren’t the first to get caught and they won’t be the last.

• 192.spartan: Reply to this comment

The Stormers have been very very impressive
    still, if the Saders click the Stormers will go down

• 193.Cantabrugby: Reply to this comment

Tough match for the Crusaders.. possibly the strongest part of the pack is now with Leinster – Brad Thorn – so the Stormers wont get dominated like last year. Not the most dominant in the lineout but he was a powerhouse in the tight. McCaw also out and Carter coming back to full fitness. Tough game for Cantabs but also tough for the Stormers going to the new ground with the fervent red and black supporters so close to the ground. The Bulls allegations will have done no favours to the Stormers as that will not be forgotten to quickly.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.