Sexton to coach Kings

New Zealander Matt Sexton will coach the Southern Kings when they make their Super Rugby debut in 2013.

Sexton will start his two-year stint as head coach of the franchise this July. He will replace Alan Solomons, who will become the Kings’ director of rugby, as coach of the Kings in the Currie Cup and Super Rugby.

Sexton is currently the Rugby Academy manager of the Tasman provincial side. As a player, he represented Canterbury in 128 games and also played for Irish club Ulster while Solomons was the head coach.

Sexton’s management team will comprise former Border wing David Maidza (assistant coach), former Springbok centre De Wet Barry (defence coach) and New Zealander Brad Mooar (skills coach). Mooar is currently coaching the Canterbury U19s.

Former Springbok prop Robbie Kempson will be working with players at the Eastern Province academy.

85 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-46: no, not justifying anything. in the early 2000 the bulls were s(hit in super rugby but were winning or making finals in currie cups, the cheetahs have also won & drawn currie cups but that has never translated to them being a powerhouse in SR…

the franchise system in SA has to be equitable and not exclusionary.

• 52.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-51:

Backing you 100% on that one, Transie

• 53.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tuna(Tuna)-48: wasn’t the justification for imcluding both the force & rebels in super rugby DEVELOPMENT of aussie rugby in those areas and getting union a better foothold in the aussie market?

did the aussies promise SANZAR a winning team out of the blocks or did they promise them bums in seats and increased viewership?

why the reluctance to use super rugby for the same reasons in SA?

• 54.scar: Reply to this comment

Who, what?

• 55.Getafix: Reply to this comment

Only 10 months to wait here in PE for Some quality rugby at our beautiful stadium. We have been waiting a long time and it is almost here…. We will show the Lions supporters how to fill a stadium. At the end of the day it is all about bums on seats….

• 56.PatrickC: Reply to this comment

@ Bryce in OZ, why do the Lions deserve the franchise money to build a team that performs in the CC?
    The money is there to perform in Super Rugby which has not happened.
    No team in any division can perform without money in the professional era.
    Things are happening at EP and lets hope the same things start happening at SWD and Border in the near future.
    Doing so will improve the local talent for everyone sake.
    Some players below who were born and bred in the EC and lost to the Franchise money unions
    1.Ryno Gerber
    2.Bandisa Maku
    3. Michael Coetzee
    4.Daron Nel
    5. Rory Duncan
    6. Luke Watson/Siya Kolisi
    7. Jacques Potgieter/Dewald Potgieter
    8. Keegan Daniel/Ryan Kankovski
    9. Rory Kockett/JP Joubert
    10.Elton Jantjies
    11. Lwazi Mvovo/JJ Engelbrecht/ Bjorn Basson
    12.Tim Whitehead
    13.Zane Kirchner
    14. Odwa/Akona Ndungane/Jongi Nokwe/Lionel Mapoe
    15. Fabian Juries/Micheal Killian

• 57.CAPECRUSADER : Reply to this comment

the lions should be culled….end of story.

• 58.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PatrickC(PatrickC)-56: great question! without super rugby money the lions would be nowhere too, i doubt any of these franchises would be competitive.

give the kings the same budget & then ask for promotion/relegation games!

• 59.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

Strange choice for a Kiwi who hasn’t got any coaching experience of a professional team, or a senior amateur team for that matter.

I’d rather give him a job as a high school 1st team coach…

C’mon man, local is lekker!

• 60.Michael: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-20: Meyer was the forwards coach of the successful Stormers. He was by far the best forwards coach.

• 61.Getafix: Reply to this comment

@daydreamer(daydreamer)-59:
    Yes we should have given the job to pdiv(hear he is looking for a job)……..
    Now we have to settle for 2 Crusader boys… suppose they now nothing about winning…..

• 62.Leeubrul: Reply to this comment

What sense would another merging of the Lions and Cheetahs bring? Before the “Cats” both teams where competetive. After this merge both teams suffered in super rugby. I am a Lions supporter have been all my life. I’d rather merge into the Bulls franchise makes more sense being another gauteng franchise.

As bad as it may be some other franchise deserves a chance in SR as the Lions have been dismal the last 10 years in SR. Missing out on 2013 is not the end of the world for the Lions. The Stormers/WP lost out to the cheetahs in 1997 and they are today the leaders on th SA conference!

Kings, good luck in the 2013 series, if you are the deserved franchise to replace the Lions is questionable…..

End of 2013 you will play a relegation match and you will go back to the 1st division where you came from and then finally this ongoing joke will end!

SARFU will be dragged into a legal battle over this matter and they deserve it.

• 63.rugby_only: Reply to this comment

first team from East London in the Super Rugby and a kiwi coaches them….. Shame on you!

• 64.rugby_only: Reply to this comment

same as the chinese taking over all our production

• 65.4moreyears: Reply to this comment

Have to say i have done a complete 360 on this kings issue,was dead against it but now think it can only be a good thing for sa rugby.
    More players to get top level exposure and it cant be argued lions have not had their chances.
    Reminds me of what a friend of mine said when sa was readmitted to sport,he said never mind how well the boks will do its the soccer you will see with all that untapped populace and skill they will be up there with Brazil in 5 years,boy was he wrong.

• 66.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@4moreyears(4moreyears)-65: If you’ve done a complete 360, you’re headed in exactly the same direction you were before, pilgrim.

• 67.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-33: Because Canterbury Crusaders play serious deep-water rugby and the Border Bulldogs paddle in the kiddies’ pool, probably?

• 68.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

I’d say this is akin to appointing (and paying) a CEO and other company officials before you have a product or service to sell.

I’d say, too, that it is just another bit of propaganda from the de facto public relations company for the Kings and Watsons, otherwise masquerading as an independent, insightful and objective rugby blog known as keo.co.za.

Your vitriol towards the Lions clearly knows no bounds, your myopic view on the Kings and its entry into Super Rugby in 2013 will deliver nothing as this entire saga will again go to the courts – not just the SA courts but those of the SANZAR partners and their media partners – as it is, in its most blunt form, breaking a contract.

Don’t you guys get it? It may well be okay for SARU and its government lackeys to trash contracts and behave in illegal and unilateral fashion, but that only gets you over the first of four hurdles. The others reside in countries where the rule of law applies, where every citizen is subject to the law, where no-one, including SARU and the government, is above the law. In these countries, the legal system takes a very dim view of breakers of legal and binding contracts.

Well done, SARU, your sheer incompetence, backed by the keo PR machine, will land you in a long, expensive and embarrassing (for all of South Africa) legal battle that you are destined to lose.

Nothing in Super Rugby will change before the current contract has run its course and a new one is negotiated…unless all parties agree to the change and that simply will not happen. When this new contract is negotiated, the Kings might well get a look-in.

Purveyors of anything to the contrary are at best dreaming and, at worst, downright stupid and in the Comical Ali category of spin doctering.

• 69.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

That’s ‘doctoring’…

• 70.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@PatrickC(PatrickC)-56:

Er Patrick… because outside of the S15… the Lions are the best side in South African domestic rugby!

The Kings on the other hand are very far from it and behind at least 4 or 5 unions outside of the big 5.

It’s a rather simple innit.

• 71.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-67:

Nah just another shite Kiwi coach like Mitchell and PLumtree… far better coaches currently in RSA… Brendan Venter and Mallet to name just two within the borders…

• 72.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Getafix(phil72)-42:
    You sure ?
    I cant see Kings playing in super 15 If there is a play off Lions will maul them silly. They will play only if Lions are forced out
    Only good think is it will help SA teams because Kings will be so weak

• 73.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Goodbye Lions. Well tried. Welcome Kings, now let’s grab the popcorn, sit back and watch the spectacle. I personally will enjoy watching the mauling. Eish marra…..

• 74.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-51: Thickness – EP was never a powerhouse in SA rugby, dating back long before Super rugby started. I know more about EP rugby than your tiny little logic can possibly fathom, so moenie die kak praat nie ne….when they get in, we will all know the reason, just like so many other things in the banana republic.

• 75.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-70: Hold your horses there son. So, a team wins one Currie Cup and becomes SA’s premier rugby side ? Listen, go buy a bottle of Listerine and wash the kak smell out of your mouth. You’re about as accurate as your name sake.

At best, the Lions are SAs 4th best team. They scrap with the Cheetahs for that.

And before you go referring to the Super rugby log as it stands, remember – the Sharks haven’t had their first round of 4 free points yet.

• 76.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-75:

Are you illiterate (that’s rhetorical)!

Which part of ‘OUTSIDE OF SUPER RUGBY… THE LIONS ARE THE LEADING DOMESTIC SIDE’ don’t you get?

Furthermore OUTSIDE OF THE BIG 5… it’s Griqua’s next, then the Puma’s, then the Leopards… and… moving down a division then Boland… and then the lowly Kings!

Comprehension isn’t your strong point is it (that’s rhetorical too)!

• 77.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-76: Inside, or outside of Super rugby – the Lions are nowhere close to South Africa’s leading side. They won one Currie Cup in how many years ? That make it simpler for you to understand ?

• 78.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-77:

Jeez you really are an uneducated **** aren’t you… fortunately I’m feeling charitable this Sat night!

As of the end-of-season 2011 the South African team standings are as such…

1 Stormers
    2 Sharks
    3 Bulls
    4 Cheetahs (the above as per S15 conference standings)
    5 Lions (CC champs)
    6 Griquas
    7 Pumas
    8 Leopards
    9 Boland
    10 Kings

Now come back to me when the Kings are (if ever) threatening at around 5/6 on the log and we can talk about ‘promotion/relegation’…

Comprende’? (I’m not holding my breath)…

• 79.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-78: I wasn’t saying anything about the Kings dingbat. I was saying the Lions are nowhere close to being SAs leading local team, whether it be in Super Rugby or any other tournament involving rugby. Winning one Currie Cup in a blue moon does not suddenly escalate you up that ladder.

In Super rugby, its quite clear and I can see the argument from that perspective. The Lions have had a long time to turn up and they haven’t. Time for someone else to get a chance. Goodbye Lions – concentrate on the Currie Cup.

• 80.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@bryce_in_oz(bryce_in_oz)-78: At least the Kings are better than Border, Valke, Griffons and Eagles. At least in your opinion. I think they would appreciate that :-)

• 81.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Leeubrul(Chrisvn23)-62: You are right. It would make no sense. I think the Lions must just be relegated completely. I don’t think its fair to the Cheetahs or Bulls to force the Lions on them. Lions can become Currie Cup specialists.

• 82.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

political puppets

• 83.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

But it is Good see the Mighty Elephants rise again. I am sure it will made up of imports but I hope they target OP bred players with history.

• 84.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

@Getafix(phil72)-61: The best rugby coaches were never even top players…

The Kings should have a South African coach…your suggestion- PdV is a clown, not a coach, so he doesn’t count.

A Kiwi without any experience even was a very bad choice.

• 85.Getafix: Reply to this comment

I nominate the Lions for team of the decade……

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.