Crusaders edge Christchurch epic
14 Apr 2012
JON CARDINELLI watched the Crusaders outlast a gritty Stormers side in a thrilling 31-24 win on Saturday.
Rarely do such hyped contests deliver such drama. The Crusaders had made a statement in last week’s game against the Bulls, while the Stormers had come to Christchurch determined to record their first win against the Cantabrians on New Zealand soil.
There were errors in this match that will be rightly criticised, but there were also superlative exhibitions of skill, unrelenting showings of power and no small measure of guts.
One team walked away with the spoils, and deservedly so, but the losing side overcame some injuries to key players early on. It was fitting that the Stormers ended the game with a bonus point, they earned it for never giving up.
Todd Blackadder’s decision to pick Tom Taylor as his starting flyhalf and first-choice goalkicker certainly paid off. The youngster turned in a flawless goal-kicking display, and ended up scoring all 31 of the Crusaders’ points.
The ploy to play All Blacks No 10 Dan Carter at inside centre also worked to an extent. Taylor, Carter, and other tactical kickers like Israel Dagg and Andy Ellis, bombarded the Stormers with high kicks and deep probes early in the contest. Some of these kicks were not accurate, but the Crusaders did enough to win the territorial battle.
Credit should go to the home side for a titanic forward showing and great tactical display, but the Stormers’ loss of Andries Bekker and Eben Etzebeth in the first half must be taken into account.
Bekker cried off with a lower back complaint while Etzebeth’s injury necessitated a forward reshuffle. Reserve hooker Deon Fourie came on as an openside flank while De Kock Steenkamp was asked to play a Bekker-type role at the lineout.
Somehow the Stormers managed to survive a shaky set-piece performance and go to the break only 19-13 down. The Crusaders were clinical early on, with Taylor finishing a trademark Crusaders counter-attack and converting every kickable opportunity. A mistake by Carter, however was pounced on by Juan de Jongh, while the Stormers’ goal-kickers also showed the necessary temperament in front of goal.
The Stormers’ depth was tested when both locks left the field and other players were forced to play out of position. The pack stood up to the test, but what the team will regret is the inability to punish the Crusaders in the first half.
Wyatt Crockett was yellow-carded, and dubiously at that, for a high hit, but the Stormers failed to take advantage as a penalty goal by Joe Pietersen was quickly cancelled out by Taylor’s three-pointer at the other end.
There were times when it seemed the forced forward reshuffle worked in the visitors’ favour. The Stormers don’t play with a specialist fetcher, but the skills and build of Fourie make him the closest thing to an expert forager in that match 22. He certainly made a difference in slowing down the Crusaders’ ruck recycle, although he wasn’t always accurate.
In one such instance, Fourie lost his footing when going for a steal at the crucial moment. He conceded a penalty that allowed the Crusaders to take the score to 22-16.
But it was here that the Stormers showed their mettle. Wave after wave of attack crashed into an equally determined Crusaders defence. The hosts effected one turnover and attempted to clear, but the Stormers hit right back, hammering into the Crusaders’ wall until Dewaldt Duvenage spotted some space. The Stormers scrumhalf chipped across field to an unmarked Bryan Habana, who obliged with the touchdown. Pietersen couldn’t convert, and so the Stormers still trailed 22-21.
Referee Chris Pollock was consistent in that he got a lot wrong on both sides. The first-half call to sin-bin Crockett, which was admittedly made with the assistant referee’s advice in mind, was a shocker.
The Stormers also benefited when Pollock missed a knock-up in the build-up to the Habana try. There would have been a public outcry had the Crusaders not managed to pull through.
Late in the piece Pollock decided that he needed to be fair to both teams, and sent Rynardt Elstadt to the bin for a similar offence to that of Crockett. It was another terrible call, and the Stormers, who had fought heroically to stay in the contest, spent a crucial period of the game with only seven forwards on the park.
This is where the difference between the two sides was clear, as the Crusaders made the advantage count. Through Taylor’s unerring boot, they scored nine points while Elstadt was on the sideline. At 31-21 the game was over.
Although they were beaten, the Stormers showed incredible resolve to fight back for a losing bonus point. They took the ball through numerous phases, showing great control and determination against a Crusaders side who looked just as keen to win the ball and end the game.
The Stormers eventually won a penalty inside the hosts’ half, and Grant, who has shown himself to be a great finisher at the death in 2012, kicked the goal that ensured the visitors collected a valuable log point from this massive contest.

993 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] Show All
15 Apr 2012, 08:56 am
@JL1(JL1)-950:
still sulking?
15 Apr 2012, 09:03 am
wow, i’m pretty embarrassed to be a rugby supporter after reading this thread.
15 Apr 2012, 09:21 am
so the Yappies are now lecturing to the cricket World about cheating.
That would be like the FBI hiring Frank Abagnale after a decade of cheque fraud.
15 Apr 2012, 09:23 am
greentea the only reason you come on here is because you and your countrymen have got small man syndrome and are like the little brothers to aussie so you have to keep on telling everybody how great you are and how great your country is.You are entitled to believe that you live in gods own as you lot say,even laying claim to gods home,but there are other people in the world and other countries in the world that believe they are better and they are entitled to that.Stop sniping and looking for compliments on here and we will all be better off.
15 Apr 2012, 09:24 am
@greentea(greentea)-951: No sulking, but something has to be done about the referees and the incompetence
Yellow cards for high tackles?
Calling advantage over and then changing his mind?
Letting the AR tell he because he gave a yellow in the first half he now needs to do as well, have you ever, as if the circumstances were identical
Skew feeds in lineouts
Crooked feeds at scrums
The whole scrum farce where refs just let a team get away with early engage and pushing before the ball is in
Forward passes
Knock ons
All the obstructive running, players blocking or running into other players
Hands in the ruck
15 Apr 2012, 09:26 am
@slavedriver(slavedriver)-954: I mean just look at 953s nic non here
These Kiwis have no idea that the game is not owned by them
Their sense of entitlement has got the backs up of many a NH supporter and scribe against their little frog island
15 Apr 2012, 09:36 am
hey, dumb Yappie whinger clone.
Firstly, Im not a Kiwi.
Secondly, of the entire truckload of incessant whinging and sewers’ful of blaming the ref for cheating and bias, not ONE whining whinging Yappie here seemed to have any problem with the clear knockon by Pieterson that lead directly to Habanas try.
Please explain why anyone should listen to even 1 sec of your girly lesbi@n-orgies of complaints.
15 Apr 2012, 09:36 am
@greentea(greentea)-951: Greenstew, are you ever going to answer or give light on your NAZI comment? You spent one night in some Pretoria brothel and you call the Bulls supporters names on that experience.I will call you out everyday on this site until you take that back.
By the way ,did you ever actually play rugby??
15 Apr 2012, 09:49 am
957.PrickBoks going South said
You may not be a kiwi but you sure are a kiwi clone.You dont have to listen to one second of anything but you keep coming on here so you must really love us.I can see you have got personality disorders but dont worry we understand,the problem is you are on the wrong site and this is not a help centre just to let you know.
15 Apr 2012, 09:56 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-957: Must be married to a sheep then
15 Apr 2012, 10:22 am
WOW
rrrrrrrreally intelligent responses from Yappieworld.
Noticeably, both ignore answering the question and, instead, choose to reach deeply in to their bucket of pooh instead. A bit like their self-serving righteousness when it comes to the referee then.
15 Apr 2012, 10:47 am
Got to keep the intelligence level down a bit for you as you dont seem to be the sharpest tool,just a tool.
15 Apr 2012, 10:53 am
@roobarb2(roobarb2)-952:
I’m with you on this.
Embarrassed, even, to be a human being – all this vitriol and classlessness, from supporters on all sides, because of a game of rugby?
I despair.
15 Apr 2012, 11:26 am
u-DUH
“keep the intelligence down”
so says those with an over-reliance on sheepshagging cliches repeated ad nauseum incl to those that arent even Kiwis/Aussies/Welsh.
no sign of intelligent life on Planet Yappie
15 Apr 2012, 11:32 am
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-961:
I’m South African. You’re insulting me directly with your stereotypes. You act like you’re better than the people you’re posting about but really you’re just the same.
15 Apr 2012, 11:52 am
how would you spot a sign of anything with your head nestled in the kiwi arsehole.
15 Apr 2012, 12:23 pm
@JL1(JL1)-960:
Is Frikkie de Prick your Dad or something?
15 Apr 2012, 12:25 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-918:
I love you too Bakkies.
15 Apr 2012, 12:31 pm
@kelefua(kelefua)-938:
I think he, (Houston we have a problem) was referring to ALL NZ’s and not just Pacific Islanders.
But good to see you give a little of the love back.
15 Apr 2012, 12:33 pm
@JL1(JL1)-950:
“……….. I am sure carries on in their cricket team as it is genetic for a Kiwi to cheat”.
Sure thing Hanse,……………………………. sure thing.
15 Apr 2012, 12:33 pm
@optiplay(optiplay)-958:
I wouldn’t **** an African hooker with yours.
15 Apr 2012, 12:34 pm
H OOKER
15 Apr 2012, 12:38 pm
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-964: are you english?
15 Apr 2012, 12:42 pm
@cane(cane)-968:
oh cane, i do like you but yesterday you gave me reason to ‘love to hate you’ too…
i will not forgive you for this, until you change.
your countrymen neither.
15 Apr 2012, 12:51 pm
@cane(cane)-969:
cane, i’ll give him some love he would not like if i did go over there because he would not have the advantage of hiding behind a biased ref or be able to cheat his way out of the love i would give him.
but ja, you are right the brown one’s are just as filthy as the white ones, so i refer to you all
15 Apr 2012, 12:52 pm
@houston, we have a problem…(i_love_u_bakkiesbotha)-974:
mate you were all bent out of shape yesterday
15 Apr 2012, 13:57 pm
@PrickBoks going South(PrickBoks going South)-964: So you’re still trawling around here like a lurid type who hangs around parks and playgrounds huh? “Plane Yappie” eh? – I’ll remember that. Next time I’m climbing off your mum. You said you were English, but actually you’re a Westie, low class Western suburbs scum and you can’t hide that!
15 Apr 2012, 15:06 pm
Keo
This prickbox Guy has got to go. His comments are ruining my experience of ur site. I know we have all run off about something but this trashtalk gutter talk has no place here. He can’t even spell Japie. Get rid of this teko
15 Apr 2012, 15:42 pm
Kick…..kick…..kick…….kick. Can’t believe I waisted 90 min of my life watching that “game”. Kakkest match ever.
15 Apr 2012, 17:03 pm
@Atlas(Atlas)-979:
Yep,aimless from both sides except for one decent kick from Carter.Both teams have good defensive systems in place so it seems like the plan is to kick and hope the opposition makes a mistake,makes for really boring rugby.Hope it’s not the future of the game.
15 Apr 2012, 19:10 pm
@Atlas(Atlas)-979: @skyewalker(skyewalker)-980: You summed it up..Disappointment.
15 Apr 2012, 19:27 pm
@greentea(greentea)-971: Your answer unfortunately confirms your opinion .On a one night post match braai at some place in Pretoria(you posted on what kind of group it was) you cemented your opinion that Bulls supporters are neo-nazis. All of them.So how can anyone take anything you say seriously?I was sure you were just joking, but now—.
15 Apr 2012, 19:31 pm
Thanks to this forum I’m starting to understand how the Safwit rugby brain operates.
Basically, if a Safwit fans team loses,then the ref in charge of that game is a cheating,biased scumbag who was probably bought by the opposition.
I realise the pressure of living in the 3rd world is intense,but you Saffies have to tone down the hatred you all seem to have.
You are very privileged to have World champion players from NZ visit your shores and I feel a little more respect should be given.
Little things count for a lot,NZ players should be met at Safwit airports by government officials and VIPs ,paraded down Safwit streets to adoring crowds,let’s face it ,it’s not everyday the best in the world are in town.
As for our referees,obviously they are the worlds best,they’re controlling games weekly involving World Champ players from the World Champ country
In conclusion,embrace the World Champions ,tilt your hats,we’re World Champ Kiwis and we don’t bite back(a little poem there).
15 Apr 2012, 20:07 pm
@bokke baiter(bokke baiter)-983: Good one.LOL . I will bow down to my superiors ,o great one.(Not you refs though . They are more the world chumps Not even humour can fix that.)
BTW Did you see the article by Ewen McKenzie on the rugby laws in SA Rugby.”There were 37 laws in 1845 and now they have145 pages made up of 22 law categories with 20-30 subsets each”This is what frustrates the viewer .We know halve the rules and the poor ref can’t see the hundreds of laws broken .Thus,being subjective, it looks like cheating.If you want this high amount of rules ,then there will have to be more Tele-refs.CAN THEY NOT MAKE IT EASIER AGAIN.
TOO MANY RULES!!!!
15 Apr 2012, 20:11 pm
@PrickBoks GoingSouth(PrickBoks GoingSouth)-977: That is sick!!!!
You are way out of line
15 Apr 2012, 20:13 pm
@JL1(JL1)-985:AGREE. No place for that .Can KEO do something about this?
15 Apr 2012, 22:44 pm
Wow a guy replied to his own comment
16 Apr 2012, 03:42 am
@JL1(JL1)-985:
Dont worry he cant even get it up his prick is staying south
16 Apr 2012, 05:27 am
@JL1(JL1)-985: Good! I am glad to hear it, for that was certainly my intention.@JL1(JL1)-985: @optiplay(optiplay)-986: I have been on this site since it’s inception and have over the years really enjoyed the insightful comments (admittedly almost exclusively by the bloggers), the banter and the humour. However, if the Keo crowd refuse to moderate the site and let the vitriolic, bigoted trailer trash (like the guy I’ve hopefully offended) free reign, then it’s essentially the Somali coast and anything goes. So, again, glad to hear I was way outt of line. I shall try to do so again. Outrage the good citizens of keo and maybe he will awaken from his slumber and do some moderation
16 Apr 2012, 07:04 am
@greentea(greentea)-976:
for good reason, china.
you and most of the rest of your islands inhabitants are disgusting, boorish, arrogant beer can throwing trollbits (a cross between a hobbit and a troll) who deserve to be told off for what you are, from time to time.
that neither you nor cane had the decency to admit the bottling incident let alone try to explain/excuse/apologise…. or at the least condemn it without feeling you were in some way losing pride (or whatever it is that keeps you from doing so) speaks the usual volumes of you as a people…..yes….you are a disgusting lot of filthy cheats, bottle throwers, cheap shotters, low, dirty unscrupulous liars and self delusional deceivers…..
you guys need to sort yourselves out…simple really….
then the world might actually start to like like you.
16 Apr 2012, 09:58 am
989.Prick
I dont know how anybody could get offended by this loser trying to stir it up.
16 Apr 2012, 11:58 am
@PrickBoks GoingSouth(PrickBoks GoingSouth)-977:
Is it your intention that, by mimic’ing my name and then insulting my family members, that I will then be so revolted that I will depart in a hissy fit ?
Maybe that technique works with minors ? it doesnt work on a blog where contributors are anonymous.
Im flattered by your attention but, seriously, there are better websites than this for meating likeminded males. Good luck with your continuing search.
16 Apr 2012, 16:58 pm
Jeepers, what is going on with people these days?
Rugby is a hard game played by tough people but generally people with a bit of pride and respect, the rubbish being commented here is flippin scary.
A real South African rugby supporter had bucketloads of respect for New Zealand and it’s proud rugby history and I am pretty confident in saying the same goes.
Obviously we have the usual twats who get their kicks from posting insults to rile people up but the amount of people rising to the bait and giving these tossers “airtime” is scary
Pages: « 1 … 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] Show All