Slick Bulls smash Lions
14 Apr 2012
RYAN VREDE reports on the Bulls’ emphatic 32-18 bonus-point victory over a Lions side whose season hit a new low.
The Lions’ cause to retain their Super Rugby status weakens by the week. They continue to make the same errors and exhibit the same tactical naivety. There has been no progression in their game despite coach John Mitchell’s claims to the contrary. Injuries have undoubtedly undermined their cause but those have no bearing on their inability to do the basics of the game and the lack of appreciation for building the platform they need to play the expansive brand they want to.
Tonight they were confronted with a vastly superior opponent who simply smashed them into submission through their phase play, then cut them to ribbons in the back division. The Bulls led 20-10 at the break, but that scoreline flattered the Lions, who had been completely swamped for the majority of the half and who never looked like scoring after an early charge down saw Tian Meyer cross the whitewash.
The Bulls should have been further ahead but they were wasteful in some good positions and this allowed the Lions and their long-suffering fans to cling to the hope of a derby win. But the relative ease with which the Bulls scored their three first half tries should have been an ominous sign for the hosts. Akona Ndungane finished a move that featured a powerful Pierre Spies surge that decimated the defensive line. Francois Hougaard then snatched an overcooked lineout from the air 15m from the tryline and drove through the tackles of multiple Lions players to score. Their third came thanks to patient and powerful phase play that the Lions had no rebuttal for.
The Lions hadn’t been combative at the gainline and as a result were never able to stifle the Bulls’ attacking momentum. Furthermore they had kicked poorly all evening. These flaws accounted for the Bulls’ next two tries, Morne Steyn taking advantage of a depleted defensive line with a cross-kick to Ndungane who dished off to the excellent CJ Stander, then JJ Engelbrecht collected a miscued punt and broke from just outside his 22m and set up Juandre Kruger. Steyn kicked the conversion to give the Bulls a 32-13 lead.
It was no surprise that the Lions’ best period came when they played through 16 phases to score their second try. They have the personnel to play directly more often. Why Mitchell hasn’t instructed them to do this more often is perplexing.
His side gave the Bulls no headaches. Indeed the biggest one coach Frans Ludeke has is Morne Steyn’s indifferent goalkicking. He kicked three from eight, an unacceptable return by his high standards.
Mitchell’s problems are significantly more serious and encompass technical, physical and psychological issues that demands urgent addressing and decisive action.

330 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] Show All
15 Apr 2012, 01:23 am
@garth(garth)-297:
The charge of the Light (weight) brigade?
15 Apr 2012, 01:24 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-294:
“JdJ and habs are awesome.”
That is your view and I can respect that. However, your buddy Kleuter, does not agree with you re JdJ. He said, and I quote: “Suspect on defense and not the best hands in the business” (Read p278 in conjunction with p274)
All I asked of him was to elaborate but you had to make it into something that I did not intent it to be in the 1st place. (Naughty Kleuter. JDJ is the best 13 in the business.Did you not get Nama’s memo? P283)
Then of course you went ahead and made your foolish comment (p284). I even let that one go past, just for the sake of conversation but it seems to me that you just can’t help yourself.
Don’t try and deflect your issues on me sonnyboy. DEAL with them yourself. I can’t help you with them.
That’s what happen when you want to sit on the fence.
15 Apr 2012, 01:26 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-294:
“As for JFK and Clinton how many wives did they have?
To the nearest 10 to make it easy.”
How many women did they f.uck while president and married, is probably a much more relevant question?
15 Apr 2012, 01:35 am
@nama1(nama1)-303:
More than Zuma, less than Magic Johnson,,,
15 Apr 2012, 01:37 am
No no Nama.
If we are talking about women fucked JZ still wins.
Even if we limit it to friends relatives.
You still haven’t told me what you are going to do when the education budget is cut again?
Or will you bask in the presidential virility?
15 Apr 2012, 01:41 am
Nama and Hondo you have much in common.
Reach out and touch someone.
15 Apr 2012, 01:45 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-300:
You give me the hondo’s of this world and I’ll be happy.
At least I’ll always know where we stand with each other and that he’ll NEVER disappoint me.
Can’t say the same for the “progressive”types like you would like to believe you are>
Sleep tight, my boy.
@Hondo(Hondo)-299:
But I thought that JdV was the organiser! Him being vice captain or captain (in the absence of SB).
Between JF anf JdV there must’ve been a moerse confusion in the back line. Both being the organisers. No wonder WP/Stormers could not win anything while they were both there. Same for the Boks, I reckon if one are to believe your take on the whole set up.
15 Apr 2012, 01:54 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-305:
Can’t remember a time when the education budget has been cut in the past 18 years.
If you want to say something, come out and say it. Don’t hide behind obscure questions that don’t even make sense.
@Hondo(Hondo)-304:
Don’t tell Gunthertjie that.
15 Apr 2012, 01:55 am
@nama1(nama1)-307:
Not sure if you are serious?
JdV is no organiser except rearranging his hair style and its colour,
He is a junior partner to JF at the midfield division, on accounts of Tests played, tries scored and durability
15 Apr 2012, 02:04 am
@nama1(nama1)-293:
“I asked you to elaborate on your point regarding JdJ being suspect on defense and not having the best hands in the business. Now you are telling me that you CARE to tell me WHY you made that statement in the 1st place.
Is it because you actually don’t have any reason at all to make such a statement?”
You asked me, I said no (yes, I do… in the context). That was a request. I said no. Deal with it. As for my reason? I was busy scratching my balls.
“You know how you okes roll. The darker player misses one tackle (Adi), then he is branded for the rest of his career as a bad tackler. He doesn’t catch a ball from the air (Kirchner; Habana), than he is branded as a bad catcher for the rest of his career. He makes one kak pass (JdJ), then he can’t pass. He misses one/a few kicks to the poles (Jantjies in 2011), the he can’t kick for s.hit.”
My goeie FOK seuntjie, as jy nou hier voor my gestaan het het ek jou een moerse klap gegee.
Sleep well and don’t let the bedbugs bite.
15 Apr 2012, 02:08 am
@nama1(nama1)-293:
Let me repost that, seems a bit hard to read:
You said:
“I asked you to elaborate on your point regarding JdJ being suspect on defense and not having the best hands in the business. Now you are telling me that you CARE to tell me WHY you made that statement in the 1st place.
Is it because you actually don’t have any reason at all to make such a statement?”
Now I say:
You asked me, I said no (yes, I do… in the context). That was a request. I said no. Deal with it. As for my reason? I was busy scratching my balls.
Then you said:
“You know how you okes roll. The darker player misses one tackle (Adi), then he is branded for the rest of his career as a bad tackler. He doesn’t catch a ball from the air (Kirchner; Habana), than he is branded as a bad catcher for the rest of his career. He makes one kak pass (JdJ), then he can’t pass. He misses one/a few kicks to the poles (Jantjies in 2011), the he can’t kick for s.hit.”
Now I say:
My goeie FOK seuntjie, as jy nou hier voor my gestaan het het ek jou een moerse klap gegee.
Sleep well and don’t let the bedbugs bite.
15 Apr 2012, 02:10 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-309:
“JdV is no organiser except rearranging his hair style and its colourt”
Hahaha… that’s very funny, Hondo.
Just go by what was reported in the media. JdV being the back line organiser. Makes more sense that an inside back (flyhalf or inside centre) organises the back line rather than your outside centre, doesn’t it?
Jaques Fourie? Very good player but a bit overated imo.
Who would be your centre pairing if you were Heyneke Meyer?
15 Apr 2012, 02:34 am
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-311:
I take it then that you don’t have a reason for making that comment re JdJ.
I think I’d rather deal with the bedbugs than with the problem you seem to have.
Scratching your balls constantly, as you seem to do, maybe an indication that you have something that we call in Afrikaans “platluis.”
Wit spiritus is blykbaar ‘n goeie oplossing. Probeer dit.
15 Apr 2012, 02:43 am
@Hondo(Hondo)-309:
“He is a junior partner to JF at the midfield division, on accounts of Tests played, tries scored and durability”
Well, according to the stats, JdV played 72 tests compared to JF’s 69.
JF scored way more tries but be honest now, who would you expect to score the tries: the inside centre or the outside centre.
Who, of the following combinations, scored the most tries and where did they play?
Will Carling and Jeremy Guscott
Walter Little and Frank Bunce
Jason Little and Tim Horan
John Villet and Faffa Knoetze
Durability? JdV is still leading the Stormers in the toughest provincial competition in the world while JF is plying his trade in a Japanese league, probably the equal of our universities league.
15 Apr 2012, 02:43 am
@nama1(nama1)-313:

If you asked me in an informal way, I would be happy to give you my opinion. But when you restate what I said and then sort of demand an explanation on how I dare to have an opinion like that, well then I say no.
Bedbugs is a way of saying have a good night. I was not implying that you are dirty.
And no, no platluise nie. Net ‘n stywe onderbroek.
So that is what you’ve been drinking? Spiritus? That stuff will eat your braincells.
15 Apr 2012, 02:49 am
@nama1(nama1)-314:
If I had to guess, I would say Little and Horan.
15 Apr 2012, 03:41 am
Nama – the master at playing the race card. Do you not get tired of playing the same card for decades now?
15 Apr 2012, 06:40 am
Woza Kings Woza!!
15 Apr 2012, 07:52 am
Who needs extraball!
15 Apr 2012, 09:38 am
I’ve always believed the team with the best points difference is playing the best all round most balanced rugby on attack and defence… even though it may not top the log…
So… all banter aside… Congratualtions to the Bull for topping the log… They are indeed playing the best overall rugby and are full value for their top spot. Congratulations to their fans too.
====================================
But…
we’re not halfway through the season yet and hopefully the Stormers will push you all the way…!!
15 Apr 2012, 10:36 am
bulls need to beat the brumbies next week because there will not be much joy for them on the overseas leg.i expect them to lose against the tahs,chiefs,highlanders and to scrape through against the rebels.
15 Apr 2012, 11:33 am
Nama is the new ET.
Race seems to be his thing.
15 Apr 2012, 11:35 am
The Bulls aren’t topping the log. As the Stormers have won more games they are pipped to 2nd place behind the Chiefs. Bulls are …. 4th…. behind the top Aus team who have fewer points than them …. again evidence of this silly conference system (even though it was SARU who requested that pearl).
15 Apr 2012, 12:18 pm
@Kleuter(Kleuter)-315:
KWV boet. A proudly South African product…just like me.
@kwas(kwas)-317:
No need to take everything so seriously. If you want to take the bait, I can mos run with it, no?
@Dawn(Dawn)-319:
People like ET is sometimes needed to keep the other side honest.
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-322:
Coming from a guy like you, I don’t think I can take that seriously.
15 Apr 2012, 12:21 pm
If Bulls can top the log I dont see them getting beaten,shows how important bonus points are in this comp,gives you the luxury of being able to lose a few games.
Stormers lose their first game and drop to third behind 2 teams who have been picking up the 4 try bonus points.This will be the saders problem too as they are not putting teams away like they used to.
15 Apr 2012, 12:57 pm
@nama1(nama1)-324: Yoh, you seem to be doing a lot of defending there to a lot of people… Wonder why?
15 Apr 2012, 13:01 pm
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-326:
Ag man, we’ve been doing it since oom Jan arrived here on his cano’s some 350 years ago.
Nothing new.
15 Apr 2012, 16:08 pm
Don’t lie Nama.
At least 16% of you arrived in Oom Jan’s ballsack.
15 Apr 2012, 17:12 pm
:LOL:
15 Apr 2012, 22:18 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther(gunther)-328:
Hahaha
Yes, the bad 16%.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] Show All